View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014
Pages :
[
16]
toffeejay
01/11/2014, 6:22 PM
Any news on tickets sales?
Heard Derry are expected to have about 8,000 heading down. Pat's sold out 3 blocks, which I'm estimating is about 3,500 sold at least on top of other sales.
PartySaint
01/11/2014, 6:31 PM
Heard Derry are expected to have about 8,000 heading down. Pat's sold out 3 blocks, which I'm estimating is about 3,500 sold at least on top of other sales.
3 blocks totally sold out with another 3 nearly sold out apparently. There was just over 16,000 at the 2012 final I reckon it will be lower this season even tho we've sold more so far than we did in 2012.
01/11/2014, 6:47 PM
Derrys ticket sales were around 2,000 a few days ago. It's looking like it could be the smallest attendance for a final since moving back to Lansdowne.
dundalkfc10
01/11/2014, 6:49 PM
Derrys ticket sales were around 2,000 a few days ago. It's looking like it could be the smallest attendance for a final since moving back to Lansdowne.
They are saying on ybig that Derry have sold 8000
toffeejay
01/11/2014, 7:07 PM
3 blocks totally sold out with another 3 nearly sold out apparently. There was just over 16,000 at the 2012 final I reckon it will be lower this season even tho we've sold more so far than we did in 2012.
How many did Pats have in 2012?
placid casual
01/11/2014, 7:37 PM
I estimate there will be 10,000 or so in attendance tomorrow, at best.
And pats will lose out. again. its what they do so well
CityRebel
02/11/2014, 8:45 AM
Will any pubs in Britain (Birmingham, like O'Neill's or somewhere like that?) be showing the match? Or will I have to make do with RTE Player?
Come on Derry!
manic da hoop
02/11/2014, 10:08 AM
Where are both sets of supporters located in Aviva Stadium? Anyone know where the designated neutral sections (if any) are?
Straightstory
02/11/2014, 11:12 AM
Are the league champions not the best team ffs
I did say 'at the moment'. Dundalk deserved the league over the season.
Yossarian
02/11/2014, 11:32 AM
I did say 'at the moment'. Dundalk deserved the league over the season.
So if Derry win it then they will be the best team "at the moment", I presume?
02/11/2014, 1:32 PM
Where are both sets of supporters located in Aviva Stadium? Anyone know where the designated neutral sections (if any) are?
Hop in with the Derry lads like me. Be great craic!
Yossarian
02/11/2014, 2:47 PM
Surtton's on form anyway. Great chance of a least one red card.
ger121
02/11/2014, 3:12 PM
The old cliche about not taking your chances coming back to haunt you, is one I hope doesn't end up happing to Pat's
White Horse
02/11/2014, 3:19 PM
Poor game, hope it picks up in the second half.
jinxy lilywhite
02/11/2014, 4:13 PM
Rotten game but sure "Pats are the best team in the country"
MeathDrog
02/11/2014, 4:26 PM
Worst final since it was moved to the Aviva.
Well done Pats.
Calcio Jack
02/11/2014, 4:27 PM
Nice of Christy Fagan to score two goals to ensure he'll be playing in Europe with Rovers next season.... As for Derry stupid the way they only tried to play once they went behind
White Horse
02/11/2014, 4:44 PM
Worst final since it was moved to the Aviva.
Well done Pats.
Congrats to Pats, but a rotten game with very little quality.
jinxy lilywhite
02/11/2014, 4:46 PM
Suppose pats are no longer the Mayo of the league of Ireland. Sham's probably hold that name now.
Well done Pats. Delighted that the Galacticos got their hands on some silverwear
SalvadorSanchez
02/11/2014, 4:52 PM
I'm chuffed for Pats. Hoodoo done away with and some deserved silverware. Better team on the day.
MattB11
02/11/2014, 4:58 PM
Poor game, Derry done nothing until they went a goal down, lovely to see them beaten well done Pats
02/11/2014, 5:02 PM
Dammit anyway. Worst game since it's been back at Lansdowne. Picked up in the final quarter. I've been enjoying the Cup hoodoo for Pats my entire life. I suppose I'll make do with Mayo for now.
Well done anyway, enjoy the celebrations!
How bored did Fahey sound at the end? thought it was a very strange tone he had as if he just played in a meaningless game, then again he looked a bit lazy on the pitch.
Not a good game, Derry left it far to late to start playing, but Pats did deserve to win it.
02/11/2014, 6:01 PM
I thought it was an alright game. Pats showed some real quality at times against an ultra-defensive Derry team. It was pretty clear once the Pats goal went in thought that Derry would only ever luck their way back in.
White Horse
02/11/2014, 6:07 PM
Pats showed some real quality at times against an ultra-defensive Derry team.
Derry's tactics were ridiculous, Hutton thought he was playing the Pats of 2013. This Pats team is only a shadow of that team.
I admire bravery in a team and Derry showed none.
D24Saint
02/11/2014, 6:27 PM
Awful game but couldn't give two shinny ****es, played better and lost cup finals , party time.
02/11/2014, 6:27 PM
Derry's tactics were ridiculous, Hutton thought he was playing the Pats of 2013. This Pats team is only a shadow of that team.
I admire bravery in a team and Derry showed none.
When they tried to up the tempo I think you could see why they played like that. Without McNamee they struggle to play through midfield.
Dalymountrower
02/11/2014, 6:56 PM
Great win for Rovers.
WoodquayBoy
02/11/2014, 6:57 PM
Delighted for Pats, my favourite 'other' team - congrats an well done on ending that 53 year wait
Pablo Escobar
02/11/2014, 10:40 PM
The 4 horsemen still haven't arrived. We may have dodged a bullet.
DannyInvincible
02/11/2014, 10:41 PM
Two shoddy goals to concede, but congrats to Pat's on the victory.
03/11/2014, 12:16 AM
One shoddy goal. The second was moot and likely given the way Derry had to attack in the end.
Eugh, thank god for future islands and letting me forget the horror of the result.
ger121
03/11/2014, 12:24 AM
Well done Pat's. Well deserved, even though the win was also beneficial to those of the hooped persuasion.
03/11/2014, 12:29 AM
Well done Pat's. Well deserved, even though the win was also beneficial to those of the hooped persuasion.
Sure half of our team next season was playing for them out there. What more motivation could they need?
ger121
03/11/2014, 12:39 AM
Sure half of our team next season was playing for them out there. What more motivation could they need?
Bonus points if you can name them?
03/11/2014, 12:49 AM
I'm a Shamrock Rovers fan, I don't know anybody's name.
Couldn't begrudge that Pats team any silverware as they have generally been a joy to watch over the last few years.
legendz
03/11/2014, 7:14 AM
Congrats to Pat's. Rovers obviously the big winners as well, starting off in EL Q1 I'd imagine. Best 4 in the league will be in Europe.
03/11/2014, 7:31 AM
Whilst not expecting a win, that was disappointing.
Poor goal to concede and only then did we start playing.
For all our possession in the last 20 odd minutes, we didn't create a single clear chance.
Thought Pats were fairly average, which makes it harder to take. If we'd have actually turned up (and been more attack-minded), we'd have had the beating of them.
But fair play to Pats, deserved it. Still the best team I've seen this season, they destroyed us in Inchicore earlier in the year.
Not having Europe will impact our budget next season, but we have the crux of a decent squad. A few extra signings could make the difference.
When Pizza took over after Roddy, no-one would predicted we'd reach the cup final. But still, a poor end to a poor season.
SwanVsDalton
03/11/2014, 10:00 AM
Congrats to St Pats. Well deserved. We were absolutely brutal.
El-Pietro
03/11/2014, 10:05 AM
very poor final. Neither team played particularly well, and neither team created many clear cut chances. Hutton would want to ask his defenders what they were doing for the first goal, and question why they did so little until that goal went in.
03/11/2014, 10:08 AM
One of the most disappointingly awful finals I've watched in a long time. Derry were so horribly negative and insisted on typical Pizza Hutton hoof football anytime they got near the ball. Pat's simply coasted throughout without really being challenged too much. Aside from McNamees awful miss from 8 yards, Pat's were relatively untroubled.
Very disappointing really.
The Donie Forde
03/11/2014, 10:09 AM
Derry's over-cautious approach cost them in the end, though they played a bit in the last 20 without ever testing Clarke.
You'd hate to lose a final to two goals like that, though Fagan missed a bucketful otherwise.
Some nice patches of football in it, but disappointing overall for a neutral.
Always nice to see a club end a long drought like that. 53 years, jaysus!
03/11/2014, 12:01 PM
went yesterday. poor game. delighted for pats. superb atmosphere pity crowd wasnt bigger.question- where was Keith Fahy in 06 when Pats lost cup final? Was he still at Drogs at that time?
wonder88
03/11/2014, 12:13 PM
Standard was poor yesterday, but still enjoyed the day as a neutral. I was with the Derry fans and it was a pity their team did not start to play until they fell behind. Saw Roddy Collins when getting off the bus on the Quays; so one of the guys with him was the Luton Town manager I take it. Lowry the Derry midfielder looked tidy to me, but I would not expect the English League 2 manager to get too excited about signing anyone on what he saw yesterday. He really would be looking for players who can do it at league 1 level as his club is likely to move up the leagues over there.
Two ex-Pats players; Noel Mernagh and Johnny Glynn were on the bus up as well, so they were happy with the result.
wonder88
03/11/2014, 12:17 PM
Also need to say, great atmosphere, fair play to both sets of fans. Way better than international games and All-Ireland finals, don't know about rugby.
The Donie Forde
03/11/2014, 12:23 PM
Standard was poor yesterday, but still enjoyed the day as a neutral. I was with the Derry fans and it was a pity their team did not start to play until they fell behind. Saw Roddy Collins when getting off the bus on the Quays; so one of the guys with him was the Luton Town manager I take it. Lowry the Derry midfielder looked tidy to me, but I would not expect the English League 2 manager to get too excited about signing anyone on what he saw yesterday. He really would be looking for players who can do it at league 1 level as his club is likely to move up the leagues over there.
Two ex-Pats players; Noel Mernagh and Johnny Glynn were on the bus up as well, so they were happy with the result.
He was on RTE radio 1 earlier bemoaning the poor game, poor atmosphere, and the fact that he had brought someone from Luton (manager?) to the game with a view to him signing a player or two. Luton guy thought the whole thing/standard was ****e. Thus, according to Rodders, as an outside pro had spoken so knowledgeably on the evidence of one game, the entire league was, in fact, ****e.
Oh, and Roddy claimed Derry would have won it if he was still in charge.
White Horse
03/11/2014, 12:47 PM
Luton guy thought the whole thing/standard was ****e. Thus, according to Rodders, as an outside pro had spoken so knowledgeably on the evidence of one game, the entire league was, in fact, ****e.
It was a crap game and Pats were muck.
However, this happens to even the best teams. I've seen Pats play some brilliant stuff over the last two years and yesterday was not represenative of the quality they have in their team.
MeathDrog
03/11/2014, 1:15 PM
Whatever about the final being poor, the claim that not one Pats player would make the Luton team is ridiculous.
desaintsno.12
03/11/2014, 1:20 PM
Oh, and Roddy claimed Derry would have won it if he was still in charge.
HA.... brilliant. Gotta love the Rodster