View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014
Pages :
[
14]
07/10/2014, 9:21 PM
What's a real hoop? Ffs it's not whether they are hoops or not it's whether they are good enough and for the club with one of the biggest budgets in the country your just not good enough.
In all fairness apart from a bad last 10 mins from us in the quarters rovers should of been dead and buried by HT in Oriel park
I wasn't at it but it looked from the coverage like Dundalk should have buried it. The only thing counting against Murphy is his height, but then again if he was taller he might not have the reflexes he does.
I almost didn't put in the Hoop thing because I figured somebody would take issue with it. Everybody likes having fans in the team, I'm sure Dundalk like when they have local lads in the team too (I don't know which current players are locals but I'm sure there are some). Obviously if there was a better goalkeeper I'd want him to play, but it's nice to have lads like Nutsy and Marty around who grew up supporting the club.
Obviously the current squad isn't good enough but Murphy is the one player nobody could make that charge against.
White Horse
07/10/2014, 9:28 PM
What's a real hoop? Ffs it's not whether they are hoops or not it's whether they are good enough and for the club with one of the biggest budgets in the country your just not good enough.
In all fairness apart from a bad last 10 mins from us in the quarters rovers should of been dead and buried by HT in Oriel park
If Fenlon put a man on the far post at corners, Rovers may well have won the EA Sports Cup and now be in the cup final.
If Croly or Kenny made those tactical blunders, people would be talking about it for years.
Sligo Hoops.
07/10/2014, 9:30 PM
What's a real hoop?
One who knew it was folly to get rid of Stephen Kenny. As for Barry Murphy, he represents the ego-less side of the club. How many of the team actually give a ****e on that bus back from the Brandywell ?
PartySaint
07/10/2014, 9:31 PM
Em, Rovers and Dundalk fans, could you please get out of our thread?
Ezeikial
07/10/2014, 9:34 PM
Derry for the cup!
07/10/2014, 9:38 PM
What's this "our" business? Derry just won the cup, we should all probably just let them celebrate in peace.
PartySaint
07/10/2014, 9:40 PM
Derry for the cup!
Cork for the league.
White Horse
07/10/2014, 9:43 PM
Should be a good final. I hope it attracts plenty of neutrals. I'll definitely go.
El-Pietro
07/10/2014, 9:54 PM
They spelled Drivefor25 wrong.
You spelled Drivefor26 wrong. The Cup Specialists have not won the Cup since Derry entered the league. One League Cup in that time. Derry on the other hand have 5 and 10, with a final against Pats to come.
07/10/2014, 9:59 PM
You spelled Drivefor26 wrong. The Cup Specialists have not won the Cup since Derry entered the league. One League Cup in that time. Derry on the other hand have 5 and 10, with a final against Pats to come.
Too many fouls, that's our problem. Well one is too many, really.
dundalkfc10
07/10/2014, 10:22 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152825462964078&set=vb.772024077&type=2&theater
Rovers fans at it again! Surely its time for their club to put a stop to this!
07/10/2014, 10:28 PM
Agreed, Rovers should be eliminated from the FAI Cup 2014 immediately :)
El-Pietro
07/10/2014, 11:28 PM
Too many fouls, that's our problem. Well one is too many, really.
If only you had the virtue of Cork City.
07/10/2014, 11:32 PM
If only you had the virtue of Cork City.
I hear Steve Bruce was undecided on Brian Lenihan until he was informed the young lad had gone 19 years without committing a foul. Now he's a senior international :p
SwanVsDalton
07/10/2014, 11:44 PM
Best night in the Brandywell in years. Place was rocking in a way it hasn't been in a long time. Brilliant stuff.
First half was very tight, scrappy, tentative. Poor football from both sides. If anything Rovers shaded it. I saw some evidence of what others mentioned, that they play a bit better away from home. Having said that, they played very direct balls into into Waters and Kelly. Very little came through Brennan, McPhail and Cregg.
Second half was a different story. Right from the whistle, the Derry players pushed further up, played at a better tempo. By the time of the penalty, and McGuinness sending off, Patterson had a penalty shout, Michael Duffy almost scored and McEleney almost turned in a free kick.
I was far away from the sending off, all I saw was a number of bodies go down in the box. The linesman flagged immediately though. I presume McGuinness was pushing/pulling.
After Patterson missed, I was certain it was for penalties (shades of being two men up against Drogs at United Park). Thankfully Mickey Duffy put his goal nightmare on Sunday behind him. And Patterson's second was a great strike, after he'd appeared to have lost the head a bit post-peno.
Can't wait for the cup final. Derry vs Pats - the trilogy capper. I put us as fairly heavy underdogs but we wern't far off that the last time either. But it's a great run, and testament to how Peter Hutton has gotten the team playing football again after the Showaddroddy circus rolled out of town.
08/10/2014, 12:06 AM
Best night in the Brandywell in years. Place was rocking in a way it hasn't been in a long time. Brilliant stuff.
First half was very tight, scrappy, tentative. Poor football from both sides. If anything Rovers shaded it. I saw some evidence of what others mentioned, that they play a bit better away from home. Having said that, they played very direct balls into into Waters and Kelly. Very little came through Brennan, McPhail and Cregg.
Second half was a different story. Right from the whistle, the Derry players pushed further up, played at a better tempo. By the time of the penalty, and McGuinness sending off, Patterson had a penalty shout, Michael Duffy almost scored and McEleney almost turned in a free kick.
I was far away from the sending off, all I saw was a number of bodies go down in the box. The linesman flagged immediately though. I presume McGuinness was pushing/pulling.
After Patterson missed, I was certain it was for penalties (shades of being two men up against Drogs at United Park). Thankfully Mickey Duffy put his goal nightmare on Sunday behind him. And Patterson's second was a great strike, after he'd appeared to have lost the head a bit post-peno.
Can't wait for the cup final. Derry vs Pats - the trilogy capper. I put us as fairly heavy underdogs but we wern't far off that the last time either. But it's a great run, and testament to how Peter Hutton has gotten the team playing football again after the Showaddroddy circus rolled out of town.
You only came to see the Rovers :p
Seriously speaking, it's great to see a good crowd in Derry. A strong Derry is good for the league (particularly when it's full of Derrymen) and another strong club will drive us all on to be better.
Rovers play better away from home because for three years we've been set up to be reactive and the players don't have the training to play positive football at home. It's no secret we score more goals away than at home. That will hopefully change next season.
DannyInvincible
08/10/2014, 1:31 AM
I was on a late shift this eve so was relying on updates via phone, but it sounded like it was a great night in the Brandywell and well-deserved for City. Could have been a few more goals by the sounds of things with the big penalty shout after half-time and the one that was awarded, of course, missed. In fairness, Murphy has long impressed as one of the top keepers in the league.
Just looking at the match stats again from the game in Tallaght and the crucial ones recorded (bar the even scoreline) favoured Derry quite a bit more than I'd originally thought:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/10151296_736772733059684_5834159934766666678_n.png ?oh=b6dd745cd45251186a8c0739594b7324&oe=54BD7D77&__gda__=1422820047_c95024b5733690ea43a21f311e697ca 4
Is there a possession stat from Sunday or any stats available from the Brandywell?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/10/2014, 7:46 AM
Shams won the first 2 FAI Cups Derry played in
Sligo Hoops.
08/10/2014, 8:36 AM
Shams won the first 2 FAI Cups Derry played in
We also won the cup with Derry, managed by McLaughlin, and the spine of the team including Brady, Neville, Doolin, Coady & Larkin. Hoops in Candystripes
Dalymountrower
08/10/2014, 8:55 AM
We also won the cup with Derry, managed by McLaughlin, and the spine of the team including Brady, Neville, Doolin, Coady & Larkin. Hoops in Candystripes
Doolin and Brady ex Bohs, Neville ex Drogs(?) Larkin ex Athlone. Coady is the only Hoop in that rogues gallery,
Sure coady is ex Chelsea!!!! 😜
El-Pietro
08/10/2014, 9:48 AM
I hear Steve Bruce was undecided on Brian Lenihan until he was informed the young lad had gone 19 years without committing a foul. Now he's a senior international :p
He almost didn't want him due to the 70 red Cards Padraig Sutton had given him but John Caulfield explained that Sutton is out to get Cork City and none of those were actually fouls.
punkrocket
08/10/2014, 10:55 AM
[QUOTE=SwanVsDalton;1782841
I was far away from the sending off........ QUOTE]
Even when you're close you're far from any action in the Brandywell
DannyInvincible
08/10/2014, 12:09 PM
Highlights from the Brandywell last night: https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152773385103523
08/10/2014, 3:54 PM
Derry will be the 'home' team for the FAI.
Does that mean the south stand?
El-Pietro
08/10/2014, 4:24 PM
I think it does. You have a season ticket for that end right?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/10/2014, 7:46 PM
Not unless they've changed it.
We were the away team last year and in 2011 for sure (we wore white both days) and ended up with the South Stand both times.
redobit
08/10/2014, 9:14 PM
Not unless they've changed it.
We were the away team last year and in 2011 for sure (we wore white both days) and ended up with the South Stand both times.
We've been the home and away side and still been in the south stand. Its up to the FAI as far as I know
08/10/2014, 10:27 PM
Still don't know south or North after 20+ years of Lansdowne but in 2012 Derry were home team and got the small end
Nailor
09/10/2014, 9:35 AM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152825462964078&set=vb.772024077&type=2&theater
Rovers fans at it again! Surely its time for their club to put a stop to this!
Derry Fans at it again!! Surely it's time for their club to put a stop to this!!
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/shamrock-rovers-team-bus-attacked-as-coach-company-warns-they-may-not-travel-to-the-brandywell-again-30649428.html
Just for balance there :)
DannyInvincible
09/10/2014, 9:46 AM
Derry Fans at it again!! Surely it's time for their club to put a stop to this!!
Did you miss these bits?
The Rovers squad and backroom team were leaving the Brandywell carpark following their team’s 2-0 FAI Cup semi-final defeat to Derry City when a group of youths, who are not believed to have been at the match, threw bricks at the bus.
“The team bus was attacked when it was exiting the carpark,” said Fergal Barton of Barton’s coaches.
“To be fair to Derry, they do everything they can inside the ground, but once you go outside it can be dangerous. It’s not the first time this has happened.
“More than likely, the people involved in this were locals who were not at the match.
With regards to the lack of police presence outside the ground, Barrett added: “We have our own security firm who look after everything inside the Brandywell.
“Outside the ground is fully controlled by the police.”
ahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
ha
09/10/2014, 10:04 AM
I don't think I've ever visited the Brandywell without a group of young fellas trying to cause some sort of bother in the carpark.
PartySaint
09/10/2014, 10:53 AM
I don't think I've ever visited the Brandywell without a group of young fellas trying to cause some sort of bother in the carpark.
It's a disaster up there, nearly every time I go up on the bus the windows get smashed coming out of the car park, the last time I went up they were throwing stones at the bus as we were coming into the car park then a big fight in the car park afterwards.
DannyInvincible
09/10/2014, 11:02 AM
ahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
ha
The behaviour is despicable, no doubt about that, but are the antics of an unrelated bunch of hoods on a public thoroughfare outside the stadium the responsibility of the football club? The police are supposed to be in control there. It's not a no-go area. They enter into the Bogside/Brandywell area plenty, although, sadly, it's most often when they, for strategic purposes, wish to provoke a riot down there in order to keep potential rioting youths distracted and out of the city centre when you've got bands of loyalists marching around it. What can the club do if the police aren't doing their proper job?
Ask the police to do a proper job?
DannyInvincible
09/10/2014, 11:06 AM
It's a disaster up there, nearly every time I go up on the bus the windows get smashed coming out of the car park, the last time I went up they were throwing stones at the bus as we were coming into the car park then a big fight in the car park afterwards.
Fair enough, if it was inside the car park, the stewards should be ensuring it's a safe area for those within.
vinnie
09/10/2014, 12:36 PM
Did you miss these bits?
Also from that article
“There were a few young locals hanging around and I think they threw some stones. Some Rovers fans approached them and there was a wee scuffle but nothing major at all. The Rovers fans were exemplary,” said Derry City’s Sean Barrett.
redobit
09/10/2014, 1:00 PM
I've been up to the Brandywell more times than I can count following Sligo Rovers and never once had any hassle, inside or outside the ground !
09/10/2014, 1:08 PM
I've been up to the Brandywell more times than I can count following Sligo Rovers and never once had any hassle, inside or outside the ground !
Same as that.
What can the club do if the police aren't doing their proper job?
Make sure that all visitors get in and out of the car parks and surrounds without being bricked. It happens WAY too often in Derry for the club to be allowed ignore it. Saying "sure it's outside" isn't good enough.
Every other club in the league pays for a police presence in/around their stadium. Derry don't do this apparently. If, and I'm not doubting you, the location isn't the problem, then everybody concerned needs to find out what is stopping the PSNI from having a presence there. If that's unacceptable then Derry need to pay for security for the surrounding areas.
White Horse
09/10/2014, 2:02 PM
I have been in Derry for games many many times over almost 30 years. I have never experienced anything other than friendliness.
DannyInvincible
09/10/2014, 5:42 PM
Also from that article
“There were a few young locals hanging around and I think they threw some stones. Some Rovers fans approached them and there was a wee scuffle but nothing major at all. The Rovers fans were exemplary,” said Derry City’s Sean Barrett.
Fair play! I never disputed that.
Make sure that all visitors get in and out of the car parks and surrounds without being bricked. It happens WAY too often in Derry for the club to be allowed ignore it. Saying "sure it's outside" isn't good enough.
Every other club in the league pays for a police presence in/around their stadium. Derry don't do this apparently. If, and I'm not doubting you, the location isn't the problem, then everybody concerned needs to find out what is stopping the PSNI from having a presence there. If that's unacceptable then Derry need to pay for security for the surrounding areas.
They do happen way too often - it's rotten behaviour - but just because these incidents happen too often doesn't necessarily make them the club's responsibility. Where does the club's supposed responsibility end if not at the boundary of the stadium and its related grounds? Those involved aren't even supporters who've just departed the stadium; they're local hoods who have nothing better to do. Are the club to act as local custodians of the peace?
09/10/2014, 11:33 PM
Random thought for the night
Are clubs happy in general with having finals in the Aviva as opposed to the days of tolka and dalymount before they became dangerous cess holes.
Like I know it's a nice stadium and all but there's a cost attached.
We're playing Derry tomorrow night. If the final was in a small venue and they were selling tickets in the ground they'd pack the place.
As it is will there be 1200 there??
In short you're down fifty grand for the honour of playing in the Aviva.
Candystripe
10/10/2014, 1:31 AM
.m
Good point Lim and very true. But as a spectacle for the blue ribbon game of the season it's a great honour and brilliant for the fans to get to our national stadium and watch our local club play there.
Ok, maybe their might be only 16-to 20,000 there but I've been going to Ireland games for a 30 yrs and only the game in Gdansk v Spain I thought was better in atmosphere but I had drove for 1,000km the day before to get there ;)
As much as we slag the FAI I think Landsdown rd is the place for our finals.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/10/2014, 7:33 AM
Lansdowne on cup final day with just the lower tiers populated is really good (obviously talking from someone who has had good days there).
10/10/2014, 7:39 AM
Random thought for the night
Are clubs happy in general with having finals in the Aviva as opposed to the days of tolka and dalymount before they became dangerous cess holes.
We're playing Derry tomorrow night. If the final was in a small venue and they were selling tickets in the ground they'd pack the place.
I don't think it makes much difference to clubs now it's a fixed amount of prize money for each club. It's not like the €50k saved would go back into the clubs' money. I enjoyed our two finals in Lansdowne, even apart from the fact that we won it just felt like a much bigger occasion than playing at a club ground.
Clubs aren't getting that 50 grand so it's not really a factor. All the cup finals in the Aviva have had decent attendances (well over 12k for each of them) and it being in Aviva helps that IMO
As someone who's been there as a fan, and then as a nuetral, it's far better there than elsewhere.
The fact that nowhere else is suitable means it's kinda moot anyway
Straightstory
10/10/2014, 10:16 AM
Dalymount used to be great if there were over 15,000 there.
Tolka and the RDS were awful.
The Aviva is a brilliant place for the final. The attendances have been much bigger than they would have been anywhere else (helped by the reduced admission). All LOI fans should go to the final, if they can. Impressive stadium; big crowd - the only time this happens all season.
10/10/2014, 12:35 PM
Interesting stat raised on DerryCityChat about our cup final jerseys:
1988: Wore specially made Cup Final candystripe jersey - LOST
1989: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
1994: Wore specially made Cup Final jersey (mostly white) - LOST
1995: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
1997: Wore yellow away rig - LOST
2002: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
2006: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
2008: Wore Argentina away = LOST
2012: Wore that season's candystripes = WON