View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17]

03/11/2014, 1:41 PM
It was a fine occasion, but a poor game -> somewhat compensated for, by the fine occasion. Well done to Pats, not a bad 2nd half of the season for them
I suppose Fahy will be considering a move to .... Dundalk for example.

Paddyfield
03/11/2014, 1:54 PM
Surely Derry would've won a European trophy if Roddy was manager?

Well done St Pat's. I didn't watch the game but the RTE radio commentary made it sound better than what some people are saying it was actually like.

03/11/2014, 5:16 PM
Thought Pats were fairly average, which makes it harder to take. If we'd have actually turned up (and been more attack-minded), we'd have had the beating of them.
That's complete nonsense, to be fair. Derry played the only tactics that had any chance of working - they set out to spoil the game, kill the tempo and stop Pats getting into any sort of rhythm, then pepper them with long balls. If Derry had set out to attack the game would have been over a lot quicker than it was.

PartySaint
03/11/2014, 5:37 PM
You can all feck off, we gave you 2 great finals already, it's our turn.

Unbelievable day it was.

Dave77
03/11/2014, 6:45 PM
Poor game but that happens, derry only played when went one down, huttons tactics were poor in my opinion. On a positive I thought the rte coverage was excellent. Especially liked cunninghams role (really gave it a big match sense) and McDonnell is a fantastic pundit.

04/11/2014, 9:13 AM
By far the best cup final there's ever been. Not even in question

04/11/2014, 9:33 AM
I liked the bit where the ball trickled and trickled and then broke Derry hearts :)

Put me in mind of a goal we conceded in the promotion relegation playoff many moons ago. :(

Congrats to St Pats. A few people mentioned to us that they'd quite like to win the cup when we were there.

04/11/2014, 9:46 AM
On a positive I thought the rte coverage was excellent. Especially liked cunninghams role (really gave it a big match sense) and McDonnell is a fantastic pundit.

100% on this point. RTÉ take a lot of flak for their coverage of League of Ireland, but the coverage of the whole day on Sunday was absolutely top notch. I've seen a few people on Facebook give out about George Hamilton and Brian Kerr too, which I found mind-boggling, as I thought the commentary was great compared to some of the second rate tripe that has been spurned out during league games.

04/11/2014, 10:52 AM
Watched everything yesterday (and parts of it hundreds of times!) and agree it was top class throughout.

Kerr during the game was as neutral but if you begrudge him celebrating at the end, then you really don't understand what that win meant to every Pats fan

seand
04/11/2014, 10:56 AM
Brian Kerr is an absolute legend of a co-commentator. He's extremely knowledgable, insightful and entertaining, at any level. It was a pity he exiled to the graveyard shift at the World Cup... I don't think there were too may commentator's on BBC/ITV who could casually drop in '...when I watched Korea's friendly against Vietnam' or comment on where some Russian bit part player usually plays for Rubin Kazan. He always good for a quality onomatopoeic comment... "Ronaldo got a bit of a doosh in the back there", "the lad Berezutsky gave him a little dunt as they went up for the ball"

04/11/2014, 12:12 PM
We were never going to win really.

Interesting stat raised on DerryCityChat about our cup final jerseys:

1988: Wore specially made Cup Final candystripe jersey - LOST
1989: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
1994: Wore specially made Cup Final jersey (mostly white) - LOST
1995: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
1997: Wore yellow away rig - LOST
2002: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
2006: Wore that season's candystripes - WON
2008: Wore Argentina away = LOST
2012: Wore that season's candystripes = WON

2014: Wore 2015 jersey = LOST

04/11/2014, 9:19 PM
We were never going to win really.

2014: Wore 2015 jersey = LOST

It should be pointed out that I hummed and hawed about getting up to the attic to root out my Derry scarf from 2012 and I didn't bother. Sorry lads.

PartySaint
04/11/2014, 10:38 PM
It should be pointed out that I hummed and hawed about getting up to the attic to root out my Derry scarf from 2012 and I didn't bother. Sorry lads.

Ah you should have done that, while you were up there you might have found a programme from the last time Shels were good.

04/11/2014, 11:25 PM
Ah you should have done that, while you were up there you might have found a programme from the last time Shels were good.

Oddly bitter comment? How hungover are ya?

None of my Shels programmes are in the attic. I usually commit them to the annual cleansing-pyre to erase the awful memories of the season just past. ****-all good that that's done for us.

seand
05/11/2014, 8:37 AM
Hard to believe it's over 50 hours since Pats last won the cup

ger121
05/11/2014, 9:06 AM
Hard to believe it's over 50 hours since Pats last won the cup

Long live the hoodoo voodoo!

Aaron
05/11/2014, 6:19 PM
Watched everything yesterday (and parts of it hundreds of times!) and agree it was top class throughout.

Kerr during the game was as neutral but if you begrudge him celebrating at the end, then you really don't understand what that win meant to every Pats fan

I wouldnt begrudge any Pats fan their moment, even if it was at our expense. If we were to lose a cup final, Pats is one team that didnt bother me as much

DannyInvincible
05/11/2014, 7:23 PM
A discussion on the cup final on Off the Ball between Ger O'Brien, Roddy and Stuey Byrne descends into farce: http://www.newstalk.ie/player/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Off_the_Ball39s_League_of_Ireland_Podcast/68182/2/Roddy_Collins_versus_St_Pats_captain_Ger_O39Brien_

05/11/2014, 9:19 PM
It was farcical before it began.

A N Mouse
06/11/2014, 12:05 PM
A discussion on the cup final on Off the Ball between Ger O'Brien, Roddy and Stuey Byrne descends into farce: http://www.newstalk.ie/player/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Off_the_Ball39s_League_of_Ireland_Podcast/68182/2/Roddy_Collins_versus_St_Pats_captain_Ger_O39Brien_

I have developed technique for reminding myself to ignore him. Something I shamefully, briefly, forgot to do this year :(

I'm sharing in the hope, I can help someone else. :D

Take a deep breath. Repeat to myself "His opinion doesn't matter. Junior was a suitable replacement for Madden, in his opinion"

wonder88
06/11/2014, 2:45 PM
I agree with Stewi Byrne, this is all about the loI establishment ganging up on Roddy, and no improvement will happen because of that groupthink. He is dead right also that what is needed is a complete overhaul of the league and not just "exciting plans for St Pats" by their owner and the legacy from John Deleaney.

06/11/2014, 3:10 PM
Roddy looks for controversy and is now complaining when it happens. But what does that mean and how do we do it? A complete overhaul costs vastly more money than is available. Realistically we need clubs to run themselves better (and we seem to be very gradually getting there although it's very difficult) and then hope facilities and standards gradually improve with the help of the FAI and the department of sport. Of course it'd be great to see an overall plan and roadmap from the FAI to drive all this.

06/11/2014, 3:31 PM
I agree with Stewi Byrne, this is all about the loI establishment ganging up on Roddy, and no improvement will happen because of that groupthink. He is dead right also that what is needed is a complete overhaul of the league and not just "exciting plans for St Pats" by their owner and the legacy from John Deleaney.
That's not even remotely close to what Stuey Byrne said.

disgruntled
07/11/2014, 10:35 AM
I can't see what all the fuss is about.
Roddy makes a statement & all of a sudden everyone throws a hissy fit.
He's just a football manager making a statement so what's so special about him ?
Just ignore him.

07/11/2014, 10:56 AM
It's Roddy. His existence winds up most people on here. Like yourself I don't see the big deal and the OTT criticism of him. It's Roddy, move on lads.

07/11/2014, 2:52 PM
True, and John O'Sullivan makes this point well: http://ninetyplusfour.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/dont-blame-roddy-we-created-him/

But here's the thing: every time a public figure, especially one seen as being from within the league, has a go at the league publicly it damages the image of the league and of our own clubs. That doesn't mean people can't be honest or point out were improvements are needed, but throwing a wobbly and talking about being embarrassed does damage the league. Maybe not much- but it all adds up. As clubs try to bring in new sponsors, investors and supporters we could do without intemperate attention seeking crap from people who have done rather well out of the league.

DannyInvincible
08/11/2014, 1:05 AM
And it's certainly not as if Roddy is above the league. He's made an embarrassing mess himself of a lot he's had to do with it.

disgruntled
08/11/2014, 11:53 AM
True, and John O'Sullivan makes this point well: http://ninetyplusfour.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/dont-blame-roddy-we-created-him/

But here's the thing: every time a public figure, especially one seen as being from within the league, has a go at the league publicly it damages the image of the league and of our own clubs. That doesn't mean people can't be honest or point out were improvements are needed, but throwing a wobbly and talking about being embarrassed does damage the league. Maybe not much- but it all adds up. As clubs try to bring in new sponsors, investors and supporters we could do without intemperate attention seeking crap from people who have done rather well out of the league.

To be honest I don't think anyone outside of the Soccer community even knows who Roddy is & those that do don't care about Soccer anyway.
The same might be said of Joe Brolly who seems to upset people in GAA circles.I've heard of Brolly but since I have no interest in GAA I never hear what he says & I care even less.
If I was in a position to invest in anything you could be sure I'd know exactly what I was getting into before I put up a penny & if I didn't do my research then I wouldn't be much of a business man anyway.
Roddy is like Dumphy, just a mouth & not many sensible people listen to him either.

08/11/2014, 12:54 PM
The issue there is that people may know Dunphy is just a mouth, but his opinions are still spewed out all over the country. He and his uber-negative mates in RTE have considerable influence even if few people would admit taking them seriously.

I don't think we can just write off the LOI's image and brand as being irrelevant to those outside the tent. We'll never be able to grow unless we can bring more people in.

White Horse
10/11/2014, 7:57 AM
Hoban confirmed that he has rejected the opportunity to go to Kilmarnock on trial because he found the offer disrespectful.

"I don't see why I should have to go on trial," said the Galwegian. "I have proved myself in two years in the league."For some reason the league doesn't get enough credit - I don't know why as we have done very well in Europe this year and I think the standard is quite high.

"I would go on trial obviously if it was a Championship or Premier League club. Who would refuse that? But when it is League One, League Two, SPL, no disrespect but I don't see why I should have to go on trial if they had done their homework.

"I think we would beat most teams in League One in England and most teams in the SPL as well, so we should be getting a lot more credit than we are at the moment."

The 23-year-old confirmed that he would ply his trade with Dundalk again next term if no suitable offer from across the water emerged.

"Stephen (Kenny) is not putting that much pressure on me. Obviously he wants me to stay but it has to be the right move for me at the end of the day as I'm not getting any younger."
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/richardson-coy-over-drogs-future-amid-cash-concerns-30731317.html

Patrick Hoban does not appear to share Roddy's dismal view of the league.

Straightstory
10/11/2014, 8:56 AM
Great - I like his attitude.

10/11/2014, 10:14 AM
Good to see players standing up to this attitude. Only wish this view was shared by the general public though.

ger121
10/11/2014, 3:12 PM
He's dead right too.

PartySaint
10/11/2014, 4:15 PM
Fair lay to Hoban, I hope it works out for him. I don't think he's good enough for Championship level but hopefully someone takes a punt on him and it works. Worse striker have left this league and done well across the water.

Pablo Escobar
11/11/2014, 6:50 AM
Hoban confirmed that he has rejected the opportunity to go to Kilmarnock on trial because he found the offer disrespectful.

"I don't see why I should have to go on trial," said the Galwegian. "I have proved myself in two years in the league."For some reason the league doesn't get enough credit - I don't know why as we have done very well in Europe this year and I think the standard is quite high.

"I would go on trial obviously if it was a Championship or Premier League club. Who would refuse that? But when it is League One, League Two, SPL, no disrespect but I don't see why I should have to go on trial if they had done their homework.

"I think we would beat most teams in League One in England and most teams in the SPL as well, so we should be getting a lot more credit than we are at the moment."

The 23-year-old confirmed that he would ply his trade with Dundalk again next term if no suitable offer from across the water emerged.

"Stephen (Kenny) is not putting that much pressure on me. Obviously he wants me to stay but it has to be the right move for me at the end of the day as I'm not getting any younger."
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/richardson-coy-over-drogs-future-amid-cash-concerns-30731317.html

Haha, my new hero!

11/11/2014, 7:18 AM
On another note it makes me feel extremely old to see a 23 year old talking about "not getting any younger".

disgruntled
11/11/2014, 10:24 AM

Good for him.
Great attitude from a League of Ireland player.
He obviously has confidence in his own ability & good luck to him.
Maybe Roddy could go to Kilmarnock.