View Full Version : FAI Cup 2014
Pages :
[
7]
oriel
28/08/2014, 10:17 PM
Unbelievably the replay is on youtube..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xerFWghIkbo
The volley wasn't quite as good as I recalled at the time. I remember thinking the crowd was huge there (I suppose I was quite small).
Thanks for putting that up even though we lost it was interesting to see it again, I was at that game, hard to believe it's almost 20 years ago. Drogs looked to be well on top from the second half onwards. We were the defending league champions and I recall a mate saying years later, this was around the time when things went down hill for us. Keely left a months later i think.
Interesting to note the 'away' end was used by home fans then, and i recall the other side was completely mixed, with pockets of home and away fans all over the place, plus behind the other goal was used too those days.
That was a proper winter cup replay match, cracking match.
29/08/2014, 4:08 PM
You've merged 3 items from about 10 years into 1 season there.
Yeah i'm getting to that age so maybe i should have looked it up first. I was sturring too but fair play for not taking the bait
30/08/2014, 6:32 PM
Avondale 2-0 St Michaels FT according to Intermediate forum.
I'm sure someone can elaborate further on proceedings, but St Michaels said to have missed two penalties and both teams ended with ten men.
Any truth in rumours the Avondale v Harps game to be held in Turners Cross?
Yeah Michaels missed a first half pen, great save from Podge.
After Dale went 2up Michaels had a lad put off for a 2nd yellow.
Then there was a big shout in the Dale box and Mulconroy got a straight red for an alleged handball.
He was incredulous coming off, said he headed it but no hand.
Cameras were there so that should clear it up,
This pen went off the cross bar and Dale hung on.
Spoke to Dale chairman after and he seemed to think the game would be in Avondale Park.
But the powers that be could decree otherwise.
30/08/2014, 8:50 PM
Have heard that Avondale want it at their own ground, but it's almost certain to be in Turners Cross on demand from FAI. If on a Friday or Saturday night in Turners Cross there's expected to be a pretty sizeable away support.
30/08/2014, 11:18 PM
With Cork out you might see a good few neutrals at it too. I assume Avondale Park has no proper spectator facilities?
Judging by the directions and google map image on there website, it seems to be just a pitch a small club house
http://www.avondaleunited.com/
patrickccfc
31/08/2014, 4:33 PM
With Cork out you might see a good few neutrals at it too. I assume Avondale Park has no proper spectator facilities?
I'd definitely go to it if it's on in the cross.. few minutes walk away and sure to be a good game
Correct, pitch with railings around on a country road, some parking inside the facility, main pitch, training pitch and clubhouse.
jinxy lilywhite
31/08/2014, 7:10 PM
More than Cork city
Correct.
31/08/2014, 9:58 PM
More than Cork city
Don't City own the ground out at Bishopstown?
disgruntled
01/09/2014, 8:09 AM
Don't City own the ground out at Bishopstown?
No. Only rented.
desaintsno.12
02/09/2014, 8:54 AM
glad to get through that round.we were far better and had a good few chances and some spectacular stuff from Forrester - who should have got man of the match.
At least getting knocked out in the QF, although painful once again, wont be embarrassing .
Shels have a right crowd of scum following them. a group of about 20 or 30 green street wannabes walked by me shouting "lets do them....lets hit them hard...do it " the cops eventually realised it might be worth following the large group of scum and i dont think anything happened
PartySaint
02/09/2014, 9:54 AM
Pats beat Shels 1-0 last night, probably should have been more than 1 but we were comfortable throughout, Shels had their moments in both halves without really creating anything.
Gary Dempsey could still comfortably player for a Premier Division side
PartySaint
02/09/2014, 10:06 AM
glad to get through that round.we were far better and had a good few chances and some spectacular stuff from Forrester - who should have got man of the match.
At least getting knocked out in the QF, although painful once again, wont be embarrassing .
Shels have a right crowd of scum following them. a group of about 20 or 30 green street wannabes walked by me shouting "lets do them....lets hit them hard...do it " the cops eventually realised it might be worth following the large group of scum and i dont think anything happened
We have our own scum as well going to matches these days.
desaintsno.12
02/09/2014, 1:57 PM
We have our own scum as well going to matches these days.
agreed. seems more prevelant this year
Kelevra
02/09/2014, 1:59 PM
The Rovers Dundalk match is being televised on the Friday apparently. Anyone know when the fixtures will be announced for the other games?
jinxy lilywhite
02/09/2014, 5:37 PM
Going to go out on a limb here but since Mayo are out of the all Ireland pats won't win the cup
Dalymountrower
02/09/2014, 6:54 PM
Pats beat Shels 1-0 last night, probably should have been more than 1 but we were comfortable throughout, Shels had their moments in both halves without really creating anything.
Gary Dempsey could still comfortably player for a Premier Division side
Has the game against Bohs been confirmed as 12 Sept?
PartySaint
02/09/2014, 7:56 PM
Has the game against Bohs been confirmed as 12 Sept?
It's down on our site as the 12th, I don't see why it would be on any other day.
02/09/2014, 8:27 PM
Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk Quarter Final live on RTÉ 12th Sept 7:05pm kick off.
04/09/2014, 9:38 AM
Still no date/venue confirmed for the Harps game.
We have fans looking to book flights home from England as well as groups of fans looking to travel down from Donegal and possibly book hotels.
Not to mention the players who need to possibly book a day or 2 off work.
Poor planning.
PartySaint
04/09/2014, 10:28 AM
The fans coming over from England should just wait until the semi final.
That would be a bit presumptuous. Avondale have won 4 intermediate cups and three Munster Senior League titles in a row. They did not concede a goal in the intermediate cup this year. Clearly a decent team.
04/09/2014, 2:55 PM
The fans coming over from England should just wait until the semi final.
We don't get many big-ish occasions as Harps fans, they all need to be embraced.
poster
04/09/2014, 2:58 PM
That would be a bit presumptuous. Avondale have won 4 intermediate cups and three Munster Senior League titles in a row. They did not concede a goal in the intermediate cup this year. Clearly a decent team.
So.... they're coming over to watch Harps lose?
Still no date/venue confirmed for the Harps game.
We have fans looking to book flights home from England as well as groups of fans looking to travel down from Donegal and possibly book hotels.
Not to mention the players who need to possibly book a day or 2 off work.
Poor planning.And the 80 year olds that need seats, don't forget them
PartySaint
04/09/2014, 3:13 PM
I'd still expect Harps to win.
Who would be your preferred choice in the semi-final?
Big home game to Derry?
Ideally- Away to Barcelona
PartySaint
04/09/2014, 3:15 PM
We have to beat Bohs first.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/09/2014, 4:18 PM
Cheaper to get too from London alright
Dale received the requirements for hosting a Quarter Final and have been in contact with the FAI about having it in Avondale Park.
I was listening to this during the week and have vivid memories of Harps coming to Cork to play a non league team on their own patch in the 1983 Quarter Final.
http://www.newstalk.ie/Documentary-on-Newstalk:-We-Can-We-Must-and-We-Will
04/09/2014, 6:31 PM
Dale received the requirements for hosting a Quarter Final and have been in contact with the FAI about having it in Avondale Park.
I was listening to this during the week and have vivid memories of Harps coming to Cork to play a non league team on their own patch in the 1983 Quarter Final.
http://www.newstalk.ie/Documentary-on-Newstalk:-We-Can-We-Must-and-We-Will
It's getting downright ridiculous at this stage. 8 days before the game, and nothing sorted yet. Avondale have had two full weeks to sort this out in the event of getting through against St Michaels and done nothing.
cheifo
04/09/2014, 8:34 PM
If Dale have already received the ground requirements from the FAI then three possible scenarios are being assessed?
1) The current ground already fits that criteria after an inspection.
2) Avondale have offered to upgrade the current ground to meet requirements (I.E. Temporary seating)
3) It will be played at Turners Cross.
Oh the intrigue.....
cobhlad
04/09/2014, 8:53 PM
It's getting downright ridiculous at this stage. 8 days before the game, and nothing sorted yet. Avondale have had two full weeks to sort this out in the event of getting through against St Michaels and done nothing.
More like Avon"fail" *waits for applause*
04/09/2014, 8:55 PM
Teams should always have the option of playing any home fixture at any stage of any competition at their regular ground IMO, even if it means restricting attendance to an indeterminate number of domestic animals. Anyone who bitches about that can feck off.
There wasn't a chicken counted til after the final whistle last Saturday.
A lot of this week was taken up with Micheal Mulconroys disciplinary hearing after he was incorrectly sent off last week as well as an away game in Youghal mid-week.
Details have been provided to the FAI, the ball is now in their court.
04/09/2014, 9:17 PM
Chickens or no chickens, they still should have planned for any potential home Quarter Final tie. Every eventuality has to be taken into account when planning ahead. It's very poorly planned now as a result and just over a week away from the game nobody seems to know what's happening.
04/09/2014, 9:20 PM
Teams should always have the option of playing any home fixture at any stage of any competition at their regular ground IMO, even if it means restricting attendance to an indeterminate number of domestic animals. Anyone who bitches about that can feck off.
I agree wholeheartedly, but at the end of the day, where are boundaries drawn? Temporary seating isn't that expensive to rent for one game and it's not like they need that many seats put in. As long as there's toilet facilities, a few seats, a reasonably sized media area and sufficient car parking in the area, the ground should be grand for use.
04/09/2014, 9:25 PM
I agree wholeheartedly, but at the end of the day, where are boundaries drawn? Temporary seating isn't that expensive to rent for one game and it's not like they need that many seats put in. As long as there's toilet facilities, a few seats, a reasonably sized media area and sufficient car parking in the area, the ground should be grand for use.
Surely that should depend on the tie. If putting in temporary seats is financially viable, by all means, but I don't think a club should be forced to shell out cash they don't have just because they've played well enough to get this far. I'd imagine there won't be a massive travelling support owing to the distance and travel/cash fatigue from the Harps fans, so they'd be relying on a big gate to cover the cost which isn't guaranteed by any stretch.
cheifo
04/09/2014, 9:34 PM
Yeh thats true Nigel and it makes sense that there is certain requirements depending on the category of the fixture or there would be no point in having licencing.
Finn Harps had a player sent off in contentious circumstances in the last round as well Razor and to my knowledge we can't appeal it.
Unless Mulcroney was given an additonal game (having served the first one in a MSL game) which is different of course.
Chickens or no chickens, they still should have planned for any potential home Quarter Final tie. Every eventuality has to be taken into account when planning ahead. It's very poorly planned now as a result and just over a week away from the game nobody seems to know what's happening.
If it's any consolation I bought 2 boxes of Complan today and I've half a dozen plastic chairs out the back that I can bring.
cheifo
04/09/2014, 9:59 PM
If it's any consolation I bought 2 boxes of Complan today and I've half a dozen plastic chairs out the back that I can bring.
You wouldn't mind fixing a few prawn sandwiches would ya?
04/09/2014, 10:22 PM
Surely the conditions for hosting such a game should be laid out for every club entering the competition before it starts! Only the FAI would leave it to chance that a team like Avondale won't make it to a quarter final. Laughable.
Here's the rules
14 Competition Fixtures
14.1 The Clubs which are in each instance first drawn in the ballot shall have choice of ground. In the event that the ground nominated by the team drawn at home in any given tie not being approved by the Committee within at least seventy two hours prior to the kick off time of the appointed match, the Committee shall have the power, at its discretion, to nominate an alternative ground or to direct that the match be played at the ground of the team drawn second in the tie provided that the said ground shall also be approved by the Committee and that both Clubs are given a minimum of seventy two hours notice of the venue and time of the match. Should a Club not have a private ground it shall be at liberty to procure one.
It's all in the "Committees" hands now
05/09/2014, 7:39 AM
So they can actually reverse the fixture to Finn Park??
That would be a great solution.........
El-Pietro
05/09/2014, 8:58 AM
Why is it such a problem for Finn Harps fan to not know which ground it is going to be played in? Just make your plans to get to Cork and then if its in Avondale Park you have to go a little further than you would if it was in the Cross.
The time and date also have not been set- that's the bigger issue IMO.
05/09/2014, 9:57 AM
Issue is most certainly date and time. At this stage I wouldn't care if it was played in a bog. Some people have work/college to sort out at short notice.