View Full Version : foot.ie Christmas Party - London - Also For Derry Lads
Pat O' Banton
11/01/2005, 12:44 PM
Something in early March would be ideal for me as I'm in Australia until the end of February and I wouldn't want to miss the meet-up. :)
:D PP
Feck sake you kept that quiet, don't worry I'm sure they have the internet in Oz so you can tell Mrs PP that your just going out for the paper and hey presto two hours in a cyber cafe looking at the goings on, on foot.ie :D
Okay we are looking a bit ropey for an AFC Wimbledaon game this side of March, how about scoops and sorting this out like men (oh and women Babysis) next Wednesday in the Porterhouse Covent Garden - with last orders meaning last orders! Any takers?
11/01/2005, 12:56 PM
I'm heading down to the Munster game as well with a couple of muckers, if you fancy a few cheeky beers before/afters ?
Not a bother boy.
I have your number so I'll give you a shout.
Hope the weather improves.
I'm a fair weather supporter when it comes to rugby.
Babysis
11/01/2005, 12:59 PM
Might need to do some candidate visits after work next week, but at the moment I can say yep!!
11/01/2005, 1:26 PM
Might need to do some candidate visits after work next week, but at the moment I can say yep!!
I thought yer candidate visits involved meeting them in a pub anyway ? :)
We could help you vet them.....
Is it next Weds we're talking about (have never been great with the Gregorian calendar) ? If so, I'm free - in a non-John Humphreys style.....
What's last orders....?
Babysis
11/01/2005, 1:33 PM
I thought yer candidate visits involved meeting them in a pub anyway ? :)
We could help you vet them.....
Listen, I need to get candidates on board, not scare them off, so no chance :) I should be able to re-schedule any appointments, cant have my job getting in the way of a beer. Yep, I think Mr Banton was talking about a week tomorrow
Pat O' Banton
11/01/2005, 1:36 PM
Another alternative is of course the London v Longford game on 13th February in Ruislip. The Londain Ultras (thats me) and the Londain Service Crew Casuals (thats Sylvo) will be in attendence as will some others from this board supporting the other lot! - this isn't stopping a meet next Wed though.
Whats last orders? - admittedly trying to explain the concept on this board will be like explaining the colour red to a blind person! :eek:
Babysis
11/01/2005, 1:42 PM
I think you are forgetting that there is going to be good show from north London Longford supporters association, gonna be a great day out :)
[QUOTE=Babysis]Listen, I need to get candidates on board, not scare them off,
Well in that case don't you show up, send someone else. :D
[QUOTE=Pat O' Banton]Another alternative is of course the London v Longford game on 13th February in Ruislip. The Londain Ultras (thats me) and the Londain Service Crew Casuals (thats Sylvo) will be in attendence as will some others from this board supporting the other lot! -
Ahhh man dat could be right naughty maaaate.
Feck sake you kept that quiet, don't worry I'm sure they have the internet in Oz so you can tell Mrs PP that your just going out for the paper and hey presto two hours in a cyber cafe looking at the goings on, on foot.ie :D
Okay we are looking a bit ropey for an AFC Wimbledaon game this side of March, how about scoops and sorting this out like men (oh and women Babysis) next Wednesday in the Porterhouse Covent Garden - with last orders meaning last orders! Any takers?
Sounds good to me.
Babysis
11/01/2005, 2:09 PM
[QUOTE=Babysis]Listen, I need to get candidates on board, not scare them off,
Well in that case don't you show up, send someone else. :D
ooo, take your knife out of my back!!!
11/01/2005, 2:20 PM
For the first week we're out there herself has to work (with a client in Melbourne), so they pay for her business-class flight whilst I self-fund a cattle class adventure. Oh joy. :) That means I have a week to potter around and explore on my own though. Dangerous. ;) And it also means I can use the wi-fi laptop when she's not looking. :D
Provisionally yes. I have a lot to do before heading for the southern skies the following week but I'm sure a few scoops would go down well.
:) PP
11/01/2005, 2:25 PM
For the first week we're out there herself has to work (with a client in Melbourne), so they pay for her business-class flight whilst I self-fund a cattle class adventure. Oh joy. :) That means I have a week to potter around and explore on my own though. Dangerous. ;) And it also means I can use the wi-fi laptop when she's not looking. :D
You're a kept man PP. ;)
11/01/2005, 2:45 PM
I'm worth it, I assure you. :D
11/01/2005, 2:53 PM
Another alternative is of course the London v Longford game on 13th February in Ruislip. The Londain Ultras (thats me) and the Londain Service Crew Casuals (thats Sylvo) will be in attendence as will some others from this board supporting the other lot! - this isn't stopping a meet next Wed though.
Whats last orders? - admittedly trying to explain the concept on this board will be like explaining the colour red to a blind person! :eek:
I've never been to a Londain Gaaah game, so would love to but am on me way back from a Stag weekend that day. Pants. Any chance they'll reschedule it for me...? :D
Pat O' Banton
11/01/2005, 3:28 PM
I've never been to a Londain Gaaah game, so would love to but am on me way back from a Stag weekend that day. Pants. Any chance they'll reschedule it for me...? :D
Believe me the crowds that attend I'm sure they'd be delighted to reschedule to accommodate another spectator! :eek: :D
12/01/2005, 12:48 PM
Peeps,
I've a winner suggestion to kick us off for drinks next Weds.
I've started going to a weekly seminar series on football at the University of London that Maribor (Derry fan on here) tipped me off about. It's run by their 'Football Governance Research Centre', and features a different guest speaker and topic each week. The seminars are open to anyone, as long as everything said within them is treated as 'off the record'. I went to one on smaller footballing nations last month by the former president of the FAW that was seriously interesting - an eye-opener into the workings of the FAW/FA/UEFA and FIFA, and lots of info that was relevant to Ireland.
Fortuitously, next Weds's seminar is by Kris Stewart - Chairman of AFC Wimbledon - on 'The problem with franchise football'. Kris is a very good speaker/rep for the club, and obviously the case of Wimbledon is the first of what may turn into 'franchise football' in England. Should be a very interesting session.
It's on from 6-8pm, after which the attendance and speaker usually head to a local pub for a few beers anyway. The University guy who runs the seminar series is an Irishman from Downpatrick (a very active Celtic fan, but be nice to him.... :o) .
Anyone else up for this as a prequel (note the clever use of Star Wars marketing terminology...) to beers next week ?
BTW - tonight's lecture is on Football Shirt Sponsorship. Full details of the seminar series can be found at :
http://www.football-research.org/seminars.htm
Pat O' Banton
12/01/2005, 1:39 PM
Sorry have to work late on Wednesday but would certainly be very interested in hearing what the upshot of the AFC WImbledon situation is and how this could affect other clubs in the future. Can head up that direction to meet up afterwards and will try to think of a decent pub to hook up in.
Babysis
12/01/2005, 2:26 PM
might be worth trying to check out this site to find a pub http://www.beerintheevening.com
12/01/2005, 3:14 PM
Longford GAA v Londain in Ruislip, count me in! I can wear my Town jersey to p!ss off the GAAHheads ;) ... as for next Wednesday, Covent Garden, sounds good to me, have to see how my evening job sorts out but ill let ye know, its sound good!
Pat O' Banton
14/01/2005, 9:09 AM
Okay whats the craic on Wednesday night are people still on for a pint? As the football research lecture is in UCL somewhere in Euston may not be a bad idea but I can't think of any pubs that way that would be worth the visit. Any ideas for anyone, how about Tommy Flynns in Camden or do we want to stick with Porterhouse?
Babysis
14/01/2005, 9:15 AM
Okay whats the craic on Wednesday night are people still on for a pint? As the football research lecture is in UCL somewhere in Euston may not be a bad idea but I can't think of any pubs that way that would be worth the visit. Any ideas for anyone, how about Tommy Flynns in Camden or do we want to stick with Porterhouse?
Tommy Flyns is sound by me, or anywhere else. Dont really mind, but im defo up for a beer. :)
liam88
14/01/2005, 9:17 AM
Longford GAA v Londain in Ruislip, count me in! I can wear my Town jersey to p!ss off the GAAHheads ;) ... as for next Wednesday, Covent Garden, sounds good to me, have to see how my evening job sorts out but ill let ye know, its sound good!
When is the London game? Peader can wear his "London GAA" jersey to it :D ;)
Re. Wed night probably won't be able to make it.....unless ya'll fancy heading down Guildford that is :D ;)
14/01/2005, 11:14 AM
Btw,What pub do you go to?Any fixed one,or 'moveable'?
Couldn't tell you the name of it Davros I'm afraid !
14/01/2005, 11:14 AM
Couldn't tell you the name of it Davros I'm afraid !
Sorry - that's becuase I don't know it ! I've not taken the 5th Amendment... :)
14/01/2005, 12:35 PM
The Lyric, Dav. You're probably barred anyway. :p :D
Babysis
17/01/2005, 4:23 PM
ok, I told Mr O'Banton I would ask everyone about the craic for Wednesday night.
How does 7.30 on wednesday suit at Tommy Flynn's in Camden?? If you want somewhere else or a different time, then work away :)
17/01/2005, 4:31 PM
I'll be doing that lecturey thing until about 8pm, with a quick drink or 2 afterwards down that way. Would probably make it up to Camden for 8:30-9pm.
Camden's grand for me. In fact - anywhere on the Northern Line is a winner in terms of getting from the Uni of London and then back home.
Yep, yep !
17/01/2005, 4:34 PM
BTW Pauro - got to the bottom of the Kingstonian fans problem with AFC Wimbledon. Basically, K's fans hate the millionaire guy who owns their club (Khosla), and are fecked-off that he sold AFC 'their' ground. Sounds to me like they should really focus their issue on him rather than AFC fans though, who aren't too keen on him either (apparently he's a bit of a cnut...)
Think I'm gonna head down to the derby game tomorrow night now if you're going along to it ? Will be a novelty to see 'away' fans at a game (albeit their home as well...)
17/01/2005, 5:27 PM
BTW Pauro - got to the bottom of the Kingstonian fans problem with AFC Wimbledon. Basically, K's fans hate the millionaire guy who owns their club (Khosla), and are fecked-off that he sold AFC 'their' ground. Sounds to me like they should really focus their issue on him rather than AFC fans though, who aren't too keen on him either (apparently he's a bit of a cnut...)
Think I'm gonna head down to the derby game tomorrow night now if you're going along to it ? Will be a novelty to see 'away' fans at a game (albeit their home as well...)
Is it all an ticket affair? Not 100% sure what im up ta, moneys tight and all that, but ill pm ya my mobile and let ya know what im up ta! Camden's fine with me too, if ive an underground pass its grand, but my relationship with alcohol have sharply declined after a hangover from hell Wednesday, hangover combined with start-of-flu Thursday, stuck-in-bed with flu Friday Saturday and relapse of flu Sunday after a few beers (on medication....). Beer is not my friend right now! ;)
17/01/2005, 8:49 PM
Is it all an ticket affair? Not 100% sure what im up ta, moneys tight and all that, but ill pm ya my mobile and let ya know what im up ta! Camden's fine with me too, if ive an underground pass its grand, but my relationship with alcohol have sharply declined after a hangover from hell Wednesday, hangover combined with start-of-flu Thursday, stuck-in-bed with flu Friday Saturday and relapse of flu Sunday after a few beers (on medication....). Beer is not my friend right now! ;)
Beer is always your friend. Embrace it. Sometimes the friendship can hurt, but it also feels just soooo right.... :D
17/01/2005, 9:08 PM
I'll try to make it along for 8.30 to 9-ish - I have a swimming lesson first. :cool:
sylvo
17/01/2005, 11:06 PM
This Weds?May pop in for a couple of red lemo's...... :rolleyes: what is the exact address of that joint?Or what it's next/close to?!
Tommy Flynns, used to be the Brighton on Camden High road, more down at the Camden Palace end of the High Street.
17/01/2005, 11:42 PM
I'll try to make it along for 8.30 to 9-ish - I have a swimming lesson first. :cool:
Good man PP - I can't swim either ! :o
Shocking really. The only people I've ever met in my life who can't swim have all been Oirish. And we living on an island and all (granted though - it's hardly Taihiti...)
Babysis
18/01/2005, 11:08 AM
Here you go http://www.beerintheevening.com/pubs/show.shtml/1284
Pat O' Banton
18/01/2005, 11:37 AM
People,Thanks for help.....think the cold lurgy will keep me away....apols.,if I don't make.....have one for me!
Will be there after 8.15pm due to Yoga (with PP's swiming and my yoga surely we're the most healthy group on the site!)
Dav are you just trying to keep an apperance of an international man of mystery?
Babysis
18/01/2005, 11:44 AM
In that case, lets say 8pm then
[QUOTE=Pat O' Banton]Will be there after 8.15pm due to Yoga (with PP's swiming and my yoga surely we're the most healthy group on the site!)
:eek: :eek:
18/01/2005, 2:16 PM
Taken more drugs than Michelle Smith,in the last 24 hrs
You must be taking the wrong stuff.
Have you tried what Waterford Crystal is on? :eek: :D
18/01/2005, 5:14 PM
Cheers,depends on imminent? 'flu'.......
If it was anything like my recent encounter with the 'flu', see ya next week! ;)
18/01/2005, 5:17 PM
So Tommy Flynn's, Camden so? Should be there around 8.30ish so! Think im at last over my flu... and at least ill recognise ye all this time. Not quite sure if i feel like the beer yet, seeing as im just over it, but no better company to get back on it..
Babysis
19/01/2005, 4:37 PM
Right, see you all in tommy Flynn's. I shall be there for 8 at the latest.
20/01/2005, 8:58 AM
Right, see you all in tommy Flynn's.
How did you all get on last night?
Any scandal?
Babysis
20/01/2005, 9:35 AM
Now you know the rules. what happens on a night out, stays on a night out. If you weren't at the party, you dont get to know any gossip ( Not there was any actually)!! :) Was a good night in a chilled out cosy little pub
20/01/2005, 9:49 AM
If you weren't at the party, you dont get to know any gossip
I was there in spirit though.
Any of the London crew going to the Portugal game in Dublin?
It would be taking things to another level if the London posse met in Dublin before or after that game.
Babysis
20/01/2005, 10:21 AM
I wanted to, but its the whole holiday situation with work. Im already booked off for a trip to Derry the following week, so no can do.
Im not sure if anyone is going. I think sylvo is, but dont quote me on that.
liam88
20/01/2005, 11:27 AM
How did the party go guys?
Sounds great craic-sorry I had to miss it....logistical probalems of travelling to London midweek at ma tender age can suck ;) :rolleyes:
How about the White Heart for the next one? A nice pub just near Francombe station-one stop form Guildford :D
20/01/2005, 12:07 PM
The Kildare :rolleyes: casual(s) are,I believe? ;)
Great stuff!
Speaking of casuals, go to the Argos website (http://www.argos.co.uk/) and type chav in the search.
It brings up bling!
I love it. :D
20/01/2005, 12:38 PM
No Portugal home game for this Derry man I'm afraid. Would be the financial straw that broke the greyhounds back for me....
Pat O' - what was that Viz-tastic quote from Davros at the end of last night again ? Something along the lines of 'getting himself lubed up for us all next time' or something. I've got a head like a boiled cabbage at the best of times, so can't remember....
20/01/2005, 12:44 PM
No Portugal home game for this Derry man I'm afraid. Would be the financial straw that broke the greyhounds back for me....
That's what you get for going to engagement parties after Munster games. ;)