View Full Version : foot.ie Christmas Party - London - Also For Derry Lads
19/11/2004, 8:31 AM
we can discuss the only team in Cork!
Better not let the folks in Queenstown hear that you've been discussing City. :p
liam88
19/11/2004, 8:35 AM
Better not let the folks in Queenstown hear that you've been discussing City. :p
To let the Folks in Queenstown know that I'll have to back to Vistoria's reign before we changed our name back to Cobh :D
20/11/2004, 8:41 AM
Hey there will be a few representing da town there that night :)
Excellent stuff Babysis, looking forward to meeting another exiled Town fan!
25/11/2004, 11:47 AM
what about getting the "absinthe bus" to collect the lot of yeh ............. ....who knows,you might never get off ........:D :rolleyes:
Pat O' Banton
26/11/2004, 7:51 AM
what about getting the "absinthe bus" to collect the lot of yeh ............. ....who knows,you might never get off ........:D :rolleyes:
Now listen 12th don't be encouraging them, judging by the ability of some people to get drunk and fall over while hugging their freinds - yes thats you Lopez, Peadar - oh and me :o - I think that this bus would be an express to A&E with all on board having one way tickets. :D
26/11/2004, 7:48 PM
Now listen 12th don't be encouraging them, judging by the ability of some people to get drunk and fall over while hugging their freinds - yes thats you Lopez, Peadar - oh and me :o - I think that this bus would be an express to A&E with all on board having one way tickets. :D
what about" drinking in moderation" pat :rolleyes: ,
you could always have an ould
"absinthe shandy" or the new "absinthe light" or if all else fails "absinthe l.a." :D :cool:
[QUOTE=the 12 th man]what about" drinking in moderation" pat :rolleyes: ,
12th there's more chance of Kildare County winning the champions league then that happening. ;)
28/11/2004, 11:03 AM
[QUOTE=the 12 th man]what about" drinking in moderation" pat :rolleyes: ,
12th there's more chance of Kildare County winning the champions league then that happening. ;)
think you'd struggle to get the games played at "stadio vis stazione" :D
28/11/2004, 3:26 PM
Arse- my work Christmas do's been scheduled for the 16th now, so I'm not gonna be able to make the London meet-up. Can't say I'm unhappy about not having to go to the Lyric though - as I mentioned in a previous note, the Landlord told me Irish football was ******** last time I was in there. Hardly a great reason for Eircom fans to patronise him....
Count me in for any future ****-ups being planned - would be good to meet a few other Eircom heads in the Big Smoke.
BTW - I have an Irish Sky card, so will be running an open house for the Setanta games and key live games (the few they show) on RTE-TV3 next season.
29/11/2004, 8:50 AM
BTW - I have an Irish Sky card, so will be running an open house for the Setanta games and key live games (the few they show) on RTE-TV3 next season.
Are you nuts!?
Don't let these guys anywhere near your gaffe.
They're all loopers! :D
29/11/2004, 12:13 PM
Are you nuts!?
No worries Peadar. Remember - Fred West ran an open house..... :D
liam88
29/11/2004, 1:35 PM
Are you nuts!?
:D PM us your adress then and will see ya up there!
:eek: ;)
29/11/2004, 2:53 PM
Fred West ran an open house..... :D
Fred West let men have a go off his missus while he watched through a peep hole. :eek: You might regret making a comparisson between yourself and him! :D
dublinred
29/11/2004, 4:26 PM
Arse- my work Christmas do's been scheduled for the 16th now, so I'm not gonna be able to make the London meet-up. Can't say I'm unhappy about not having to go to the Lyric though - as I mentioned in a previous note, the Landlord told me Irish football was ******** last time I was in there. Hardly a great reason for Eircom fans to patronise him....
Count me in for any future ****-ups being planned - would be good to meet a few other Eircom heads in the Big Smoke.
Will the Lyric be big enough ? Regarding the Irish sky card , how does it work do you need an Irish box or do you need to make any modifications to the UK box ?
29/11/2004, 11:14 PM
Will the Lyric be big enough ? Regarding the Irish sky card , how does it work do you need an Irish box or do you need to make any modifications to the UK box ?
Irish Sky card is dead easy to sort. Key thing you need is an address in ROI to use (shouldn't be too hard for your Free-Staters.... :D ) :
1) Get Sky over here (London).
2) After a while ring Sky up - tell them you've moved to Ireland, taken your box with you, that there's already a dish at the place you've moved into and it's all working, but you're not getting the Irish channels and still getting BBC London. When you ring them be sure to do '141' to stop your number showing up - otherwise they'll know you're ringing from a London number.
3) After a while the numb-nuts in the call-centre will click that there's a different card for Ireland. They'll then cancel your current card, set up a new contract for you at your supposed Irisih address, and send you a new card.
You may need to prompt them a bit - but make sure they don't try to tell you it's a technical problem and try to arrange an Engineer's visit !
4) Pay by either your credit card or through an Irish bank account if you still have one.
5) It takes about 4 weeks to sort out, so down-side is you don't have any Sky for that time. ****ed my housemates off a bit, but hey - the end justified the means.... :)
Again - can't disuade you all from the Lyric enough. Was in there for a Celtic Euro game once. After the match, when people were leaving, the landlord
was flicking around looking at other footie results on Sky text, and looking for something else to put on the telly. I politely asked him could I have a quick look at how the Irish teams had done in Europe that night, at which point he essentially told me in an aggressive manner to go feck myself, that Irish football was sh#t, and that he wouldn't have anything to do with it in his pub. He then completely ignored me and put it onto a DIY programme or something like that just to be even more thran. I went back to my seat and told my mate what had just happened and he confirmed that the person I'd been speaking to was the Landlord. We left. I haven't been back since.
The man does not deserve Eircom League fan's business, and I'd be disappointed if fellow fans gave him any.
Pat O' Banton
30/11/2004, 6:56 AM
Irish Sky card is dead easy to sort. Key thing you need is an address in ROI to use (shouldn't be too hard for your Free-Staters.... :D ) :
1) Get Sky over here (London).
2) After a while ring Sky up - tell them you've moved to Ireland, taken your box with you, that there's already a dish at the place you've moved into and it's all working, but you're not getting the Irish channels and still getting BBC London. When you ring them be sure to do '141' to stop your number showing up - otherwise they'll know you're ringing from a London number.
3) After a while the numb-nuts in the call-centre will click that there's a different card for Ireland. They'll then cancel your current card, set up a new contract for you at your supposed Irisih address, and send you a new card.
You may need to prompt them a bit - but make sure they don't try to tell you it's a technical problem and try to arrange an Engineer's visit !
4) Pay by either your credit card or through an Irish bank account if you still have one.
5) It takes about 4 weeks to sort out, so down-side is you don't have any Sky for that time. ****ed my housemates off a bit, but hey - the end justified the means.... :)
Again - can't disuade you all from the Lyric enough. Was in there for a Celtic Euro game once. After the match, when people were leaving, the landlord
was flicking around looking at other footie results on Sky text, and looking for something else to put on the telly. I politely asked him could I have a quick look at how the Irish teams had done in Europe that night, at which point he essentially told me in an aggressive manner to go feck myself, that Irish football was sh#t, and that he wouldn't have anything to do with it in his pub. He then completely ignored me and put it onto a DIY programme or something like that just to be even more thran. I went back to my seat and told my mate what had just happened and he confirmed that the person I'd been speaking to was the Landlord. We left. I haven't been back since.
The man does not deserve Eircom League fan's business, and I'd be disappointed if fellow fans gave him any.
Errr, should this Sky card business be on a message board?
Its a fair point regarding the Landlord if that was your experiance (and after my O' Raffs suggestion was so cruelly ignored, and the Guinness would have been £1.60 a pint, yes thats right folks £1.60 a pint Sunday to Thursday, [Pleeeeease give me a free pint now PF?]) but I think too start fecking around with the venue now would cause more trouble than it is worth.
Well as an alternative, we could see what people say to having it in the Porterhouse in maidens Lane, Covent Garden, bit pricey on the bev but not a bad spot all the same.
Pat O' Banton
30/11/2004, 9:20 AM
Well as an alternative, we could see what people say to having it in the Porterhouse in maidens Lane, Covent Garden, bit pricey on the bev but not a bad spot all the same.
No football tops though :eek: ;)
sylvo
30/11/2004, 11:14 AM
No football tops though :eek: ;)
I was thinking that myself as well. Anyway see what everyone else thinks on it, I don't mind either way.
30/11/2004, 12:02 PM
No football tops though
Were you planning on wearing one?
It's best to stick to the original plan.
We can always move on if needs be.
Pat O' Banton
30/11/2004, 7:29 PM
Were you planning on wearing one?
It's best to stick to the original plan.
We can always move on if needs be.
It could be my Versace jacket with a YSL jumper over my Finn Harps top possibly :eek: :D .
Rather; this was firstly a point of information for those coming and potentially wearing football tops then not getting in and secondly a reference to me being thrown out of the spot at 12 in the afternoon for wearing a Celtic top (no doubt an policy that many on here would enforce if ever the got hold of a licence to sell intoxicating liquior ;) )
I agree with keeping it in the Lyric, as this has been the venue we started out with and secondly its small so no one should have any trouble finding anyone. The Porterhouse is massive and it would be causing too much hassle to try to meet up.
DCFCSteve your point have been noted and we may well look for another venue for the next meet up.
Grand so, we'll have a look at somewhere else for the next meet up. I guess the porterhouse would be a bit of a pain to find everyone in.
Don't forget Pat, Pub's in London have a smoking ban just like they do in Troyes. ;)
Pat O' Banton
01/12/2004, 8:09 AM
Grand so, we'll have a look at somewhere else for the next meet up. I guess the porterhouse would be a bit of a pain to find everyone in.
Don't forget Pat, Pub's in London have a smoking ban just like they do in Troyes. ;)
Still trying to enforce one on myself :rolleyes:
liam88
01/12/2004, 6:06 PM
aye keeping at the lyric is a \good idea-sound a bit selfish but after convincing ma parents to let me meet ma brother in LOndon and then go drinking with you lot may mess 'em about to tell them i'll be somewhere else :eek: ;)
Lookin' foward to it! :D
Who's confirmed in? haven't seen PP aroun for a bit......... :confused:
Will miss dav :( but we'll drink a toast!
Lads sorry i ahven't been on much but comp isn't working so am using ma parents lap-tops whenever they arn't working!
07/12/2004, 12:37 AM
My work Christmas do has been shifted forward a night - happy days ! Can now come and help yee lot get drunk :) May drag another Derry fan along with me as well, but can't confirm yet.
07/12/2004, 8:31 AM
My work Christmas do has been shifted forward a night
I've got one on that night too.
Unfortunate thing is that I have to meet a customer early the next morning.
Nightmare!
Should leave me free for the rest of the week and weekend though.
liam88
10/12/2004, 8:29 AM
My regards to one & all.............I'll be in Auckland.......have a gallon for me....I would ;)
Btw,If the pseudo-Scotsman,DG,shows.......make sure ye all crack a pint of him.....look in his wallet & ye'll find 10-bob notes gathering dust.....Shona Nollaig!
Merry Christmas Dav-card on the way! :D
See the rest of ya Thursday! :D
12/12/2004, 10:36 AM
See you lads Thursday! Could one of you lads PM me your mobile number, my knowledge of Central London aint the best and it'd be good to know the arrangements when i get there, cant use email at work!
liam88
12/12/2004, 11:59 AM
Lookin foward to thursday! what time is it all kickin' off?
Pauro would give ya my number.....but ya'd probably be better with one of the other lads-I'm coming from Guildford tho pretty sure ma grandad knows the way fine from his decades up in Landan :D
What's the nearest tube staion?
Duncan Gardner
12/12/2004, 6:27 PM
Piccadilly Circus or Leicester Square. From Guildford get the train to Waterloo then the Northern Line to LS.
liam88
12/12/2004, 6:59 PM
Piccadilly Circus or Leicester Square. From Guildford get the train to Waterloo then the Northern Line to LS.
:D Cheers-be seeing you there!
What time we starting? whenever? rough time?
Pat O' Banton
12/12/2004, 7:06 PM
I'm in about 8.15pm, however would assume that most heads will be getting there before this.
13/12/2004, 8:43 AM
I'm in about 8.15pm, however would assume that most heads will be getting there before this.
I'm working near Liverpool St. Station and will probably be finished early enough. Could be in there by 18:00 ;)
liam88
13/12/2004, 4:22 PM
Cheers,Liam......send you DG as a 'virtual' Santa..........
Cannae help thinking your a bit harsh on DG.... ;)
When we were at Fulham he assured me he's never played a Lamberg drum in his life! :D ;)
We'll try for 8:00 methinks!
14/12/2004, 5:38 PM
I have Peadars and Plastic Paddy's numbers (thanks lads!).. Coming in from Kingston so providing im not too late coming in from work, should be there around 8? Looking forward to seeing yis for some banter, just like back home..... :cool:
14/12/2004, 5:51 PM
I have Peadars and Plastic Paddy's numbers (thanks lads!).. Coming in from Kingston so providing im not too late coming in from work, should be there around 8? Looking forward to seeing yis for some banter, just like back home..... :cool:
How'd you get my number, like?
:confused: PP
14/12/2004, 5:55 PM
Ah ****e, that was Pat O'Banton i meant!!! :D :eek: sorry lads...
Just in case anyone is not 100% sure where the pub is, nearest station is Piccadilly circus, take the Shaftsbury Avenue exit from the station and walk up the left hand side of Shaftsbury Avenue from Piccadilly Circus only for about 50-60 yards, the first turn on the left will have two road's that lead off Shaftsbury Avenue, and one of those will be Great Windmill Street, and the Lyric will be a small pub about 50 odd yards up Great Windmill Street on the left hand side.
Look forward to seeing yer all tomorrow.
Babysis
15/12/2004, 1:14 PM
Hopefully this should show a map of where the lyric is. see you all tomorrow.map (http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.srf?x=529556&y=180799&z=0&sv=W1D+7LT&st=2&pc=W1D+7LT&mapp=newmap.srf&searchp=newsearch.srf)
15/12/2004, 1:29 PM
walk up the left hand side of Shaftsbury Avenue from Piccadilly Circus only for about 50-60 yards.
45.72-54.864 metres. :D
15/12/2004, 1:58 PM
wow after all that info, ill still probably find myself lost! see yis tomorrow night, whats the numbers update?
15/12/2004, 2:00 PM
wow after all that info, ill still probably find myself lost! see yis tomorrow night, whats the numbers update?
This is a gathering of Irish people (and DG) the start time and attendance will be determined by who actully turns up and at what time. :D
45.72-54.864 metres. :D
No doubt at closing time it will seem a lot longer distance then that. ;)
15/12/2004, 2:07 PM
i take it all the parties that everbody starts off with a pims no 1 or similar xmas type drink ? :D
15/12/2004, 3:02 PM
absolutely old boy... followed by reruns of the Queen’s speech... err maybe not!
i take it all the parties that everbody starts off with a pims no 1 or similar xmas type drink ? :D
No way 12th, i'll be going straight from work so i'll be in the mood to get the party started with a nice vintage bottle of white lightning. :D
No way you can get lost Pauro, just come out of Piccadilly circus tube station and listen out for all the shouting, smashing glass and Police van's heading up Shaftsbury Avenue direction with the siren's blaring.
Ahhh on second thoughts Davros won't be there tomorrow so there'll be none of that carry on, so you better stick to the direction's that I posted instead.
liam88
15/12/2004, 10:23 PM
No way you can get lost Pauro, just come out of Piccadilly circus tube station and listen out for all the shouting, smashing glass and Police van's heading up Shaftsbury Avenue direction with the siren's blaring.
Ahhh on second thoughts Davros won't be there tomorrow so there'll be none of that carry on, so you better stick to the direction's that I posted instead.
Lads-anyone know if the lyric does food?
Plus is it 100% cert this landlord ain't goona kick me out? :eek:
Will getting up early and either eating there or eating at the Hargendaz Cafe up the road and rolling in by 7ish!
See ya'll there! :D
Lads-anyone know if the lyric does food?
Plus is it 100% cert this landlord ain't goona kick me out? :eek:
Will getting up early and either eating there or eating at the Hargendaz Cafe up the road and rolling in by 7ish!
See ya'll there! :D
Only in the afternoon does it do food, i'd say you will be all right seeing you'll be with older people :( , have you got Pat's mobile number cause I think he'll be getting there early, won't be there till about before 9 myself
16/12/2004, 11:32 AM
I'm gonna try and be there for 8pm. Will hopefully have thrown off the viscious hangover I woke up with this morning. Feckin Christmas parties.....
Is everyone wearing club tops ? If not, how will we recognise each other.... ? :)