View Full Version : Cork AUL 2012/13 (Forum ban for Infractions)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Horse24
08/10/2012, 4:28 PM
Agree with you there Parkboy. People will always disagree with certain players being omitted/included but overall i think he has picked from the best available. Thats not to say I think its a strong squad however and I think they will struggle to progress but Donal can only work with whats available. I do agree with the way he has done things, i.e. keeping players/clubs informed of latest developments through the AUL site. Best of luck to everyone selected and i hope ye prove me wrong and go all the way.

Hairy I thought you had gone. Just back to our chat about the differing websites. Lost some info on my pc, so had to check all AUL results this season - easy enough.

Tried to check a few results in the group stages of Munster Junior League Cup - gone from site!

Horse24
08/10/2012, 4:35 PM
Park should have more than 6 donaldinho just cos the league, are you serious?? They should only have 2 and that's it, the rest are not great players, whereas Babsy, Kearney, John Corcoran are, they've a park B player on it in fairness it's a joke, don't think Kinsale had more than 6 on it and they dominated the AUL for a few years, park wins one and they deserve 8-9?? No way!!!

It shouldnt matter what club they play for - if the 11 best players in the AUL play for one club.....they should only pick 2 of them to be nice?

Kinsale players said no on a few occassions.

Well, OBF, you obviously didnt see the Park game against us in the Mossie - Best Park player was niether of the two strikers...who both played well too.

Horse24
08/10/2012, 5:01 PM
MORK CALLING ORSON (those of a certain vintage will understand the reference) - can we have our forum name corrected please and the ban reference removed?

our_ball_ref
08/10/2012, 5:02 PM
There not good enough is my point, so he played well against ye, does one game make you a very good player these days??

overthehill
08/10/2012, 8:05 PM
What a load of huge games in the AOH draw!! Going to be some cracking games in that lot.

Horse24
08/10/2012, 8:07 PM
Dont think one game does. Maybe the three sessions after or winning the league made him a player. I can only judge on what I have seen.

the owl
08/10/2012, 9:14 PM
Horse, our request concerning the forum title is falling on deaf ears id say.

On the AUL Panel, i don't think 6 players would have been picked from the same club if they didn't think they were good enough. On the b player, questionable maybe. They haven't played a competitive game yet and a few on here have the Cork side written off which show a complete lack of respect for Donal and his team who have been straight and honest on their selection process. I think Overthehill,Radiostar,Horse and Sharpshooter are spot on, we have to give them a chance and support Donal in any way possible. After all, they are representing us !!!
Drag certain players to training, a rubbish statement to make.

Horse24
08/10/2012, 9:30 PM
[QUOTE=the owl;1633547]Horse, our request concerning the forum title is falling on deaf ears id say.

/QUOTE]

...............as we pass 200,000 views.................

our_ball_ref
08/10/2012, 9:30 PM
It's simple facts owl the 6 of em aren't good enough and the fact parks manager is involved makes it even worse, a B team player?? Come on in all fairness if he can't get into the A team how can he get into the Best the AUL have to offer?? It makes a mockery of the whole thing!! Didn everyone call for management with no ties to anyone this year?? Park had 2 on it last year and the game I seem in turners cross none of them played, so how can they go to having 6 this year??

the owl
09/10/2012, 7:10 AM
Ourballref, you have to remember Leeside,Wilton and Kinsale are now MSL and as you said yourself there are a fewshoe ins for the panal that have declared themselves out this year. Saying all that it was always going to be tough to get the right balance. In my opinion its a strong panal, and ok fair enough as i said i would perhaps question the B team player but i have never seen the guy play.

Innishvilla
09/10/2012, 8:48 AM
Yeah AOH is wide open now - some big names gone and plenty more to go in the next round. At the very most there can only be 8 Premier/Premier A teams left in last 16. There are 4 cracking All premier/premier a ties:

Macroom V Killumney
Pearse v Coachford
Innishvilla v Kanturk
Carrigtwohill v Glen Celtic

To be honest that would be a cracking 1/4 final line up never mind 3rd round (last 32)
Throw in a few trickey ties for the other premier teams - Glenvale v Blackstone, Cartleview v village, douglas hall v Dillons X...

09/10/2012, 9:33 AM
Thread title restored,keep it civil in here or it goes back on.

toto
09/10/2012, 11:13 AM
Carrigtwohill v Glen Celtic for me is the tie of the round and I reckon the Glen should edge that if they dont hit the self destruct button at anytime during the game. The Macroom Kilumney game wont be for the faint hearted either.....+ Reply to Thread (http://foot.ie/newreply.php?p=1633634&noquote=1)

the owl
09/10/2012, 11:56 AM
12th man, your a gent !;)

Triggs
09/10/2012, 1:11 PM
Very hard to win a double in any league Hubba not to mention the top league.Have seen Kilumney play this year and although they won I don't think they are that much stronger than everyone else.Having spoken with a few of there players recentley i think they might just be a bit too cocky as well.I reckon Coachford will be very hard to beat this year especially with there recent signings. And I wouldn't read too much into Park getting beaten last weekend they are still the team to beat. If anything that result on Saturday might be the wake up call they need cause they do seem to be slow out of the blocks this year. Same for Blarney St I saw them play Blackstone in the Mossy few weeks back and I thought they were just one or two players off being serious challengers this year. For me I think Coachford,Park, Killumney in that order for the Premier League. On the discussion about the squad for the Oscar Traynor team my only worry about it is the lack of experience of playing at that level. If I'm not mistaken only Peelo, Kearney, lynch and maybe Jeffers (not sure if he has played before while at kinsale) have played at this level before. I am open to correction on this lads but if I'm right then that would mean only 4 out of the squad of 20 have experienced this before. But obviously that's what the manager thinks is the best group available to him then we should all do our best to support him. I for one am looking forward to the 1st game and seeing all the new players on show. i just hope that little bit of experience doesnt come back to haunt them.. talking of that can anyone tell me if Derek Delea was available for selection or did he not want to be involved this year.

thebooboys
09/10/2012, 1:17 PM
I feel their is great opportunity for clubs to do well in aoh because the big clubs are gone like blarney st and park..my favorites would have to be killumney now for league and cup double..wonder did anyone ever win aoh 2 years ina row...

Leeside won AOH in 05 & 06, and think Greenmount in 2001 & 2002

Triggs
09/10/2012, 1:23 PM
Surely Kinsale won the AOH back to back at some stage

sharpshooter
09/10/2012, 3:27 PM
I'd say Macroom and Killumney are sick of the sight of each other,I'd say every cup competition in the last too years they ave met at some stage!!

K.C.
09/10/2012, 3:39 PM
[QUOTE=Triggs;1633729]If anything that result on Saturday might be the wake up call they needQUOTE]

Lets hope not. Looking forward to welcoming them Saturday. You want to be playing the top teams to see how you fair against the best and we will be well up for it. Bring it on!!

hitnhope
09/10/2012, 3:45 PM
Although I agree that 6 park players is a joke, clearly everyone who is giving out about the lad on parks B team has not seen him play. The lad is a class act and no doubt he will prove it if he is called upon. There is obviously a reason for him playing on the B team, work commitments, friends on the B team, it could be anything. Just because somebody is not playing premier it dont mean he is not good enough for the oscar traynor team. Simple fact is that there are players in the lower leagues who would walk into any premier team. Everyone has been calling for change and now that the change has come everyone is blasting the team before they even kick a ball. These lads are going to give it the best shot they can and I for one think they would try alot harder if they had everyones support rather than all this negativity from the very start.

our_ball_ref
09/10/2012, 5:44 PM
Could you make the argument hitnhope that if he is a good player he can't be as sharp as he should be by playing a poorer standard every week, you need to be playing against the best and the fittest week in week out to mix it with the Kerry team or the Tipp team, this is a cork team at the end of the day?? This is no disrespect to the lower leagues I know ye train and give 150% every week for yer clubs just like the premier teams but football is about standards and some are gonna be better than others that's football!! The tower players played MJL last year so obviously can play but will they be sharp enough against the top junior players in the country???

hitnhope
09/10/2012, 6:41 PM
Well from what I have seen from this so called "B" player he is as fit and sharp as anyone else out there. Clearly the lower leagues overall dont have the quality of premier teams but there are a good handfull of players down there who could quite easily play at any level, hense a few of them being selected for the squad. If these lads are fully fit and are good enough players then of course they should be given a chance, or would it make more sense to pick players who are not as good and not as fit just on the basis of them playing premier?? If these lads were not sharp enough it would have been noted at training or at the matches. I think people should at least wait until this selection of players play a tough practice match before criticising so much???

Muller
09/10/2012, 10:01 PM
I totally agree with hitnhope, everyone has been calling for a change with AUL squad over the past year and now its changed there is still people moaning, so leave the new management team at it and hope they do well. From looking at the first list released this season for the oscar traynor trials there was a lot of players with past experience on that, i take it they have decided to give it a miss this year. I think it was triggs there who mentioned Derek Delea, I actually watched the Carrigtohill/Knockraha game on Sunday morning in Carrig, good game of ball and carrig very lucky to come out of it with a win, Knockraha looked the better team on the day and missed 2 great chances to win the game in normal time, I seen carrig play earlier this season and it looked like they where missing a few sunday morning all right. Derek was a top player in the AUL over the years but you can see that he is loosing the yards all right so maybe thats why he did not make it to the Oscar traynor panel or not put himself forward. Was very lucky to stay on the pitch, 2 very bad tackles from him, 1 which could of been a straight red, Knockraha are a decent team for a such a small area to pick from and have a big lad in middle, I think they where calling him Buckley who was running the show for them.

the owl
10/10/2012, 7:18 AM
Muller, 2 bad tackles from Delea ? Not sure what game you were watching there pal. Was a very clean, competitive game from two strong physical sides. On the Cork AUL side, for whatever reason Derek isnt with the AUL side i dont think its any of anyones business why he isnt involved and not fair to be pressuming reasons as to why.
Lets not forget the cup shocks we had at the weekend, and ours could have been one too as it went to pens. You failed to mention that had we taken our chances in the first half the game could have been over as a contest. Knockraha too had their chances and will count themselves unlucky not to get out of Carrig with a win. They have a very good, strong and disiplined side that in my opinion will be there abouts come the end of the season. Would also like to mention that the referee had a super game, cutting out any niggle early on and let the game flow well.

Shilts
10/10/2012, 1:42 PM
Surely Kinsale won the AOH back to back at some stage

Kinsale won the AOH Cup in 2008 and 2009.
The last team to retain the cup.

Wilton won back to back in the 80s

levelheaded
10/10/2012, 2:54 PM
i see the main topic at the moment seems to be the selsection= of so called lesser league players for the aul team.

oldlegs
10/10/2012, 2:58 PM
I see that the tsdl beat the aul 2 nil last night

bullet
10/10/2012, 5:33 PM
muller think you must have been in the castle before the game because like the owl i didn,t see a bad tackle in the whole game good competitive game played by two sporting sides.

our_ball_ref
10/10/2012, 6:36 PM
Oldlegs what are you talking about?? The AUL didn't pla last night??

six-yard-box
10/10/2012, 6:47 PM
Oldlegs what are you talking about?? The AUL didn't pla last night??
michaels beat park 2-0 think hes making a joke about park being the aul as they have so many on the panel this year

oldlegs
10/10/2012, 7:20 PM
I wouldn't call what I said a joke to be honest . Park have 6 on AUL panel and St Micheals would have the same if not more on the TSDL panel so I would say its a fair reflection of both squads . What you think ?

six-yard-box
10/10/2012, 7:24 PM
fair enough it wasnt a joke. i dont see six from park starting to be honest.

six-yard-box
10/10/2012, 8:27 PM
old legs great comment..look lads i know i was probably one off the first fellas to slate the squad selection but at the end off the day i will hope they will do well i think we all should hope they do well i was talkin to someone on night shift with myself last night in work and he was sayin that he hopes that theylose by not one or two goals but more same guy is a manager off a premier a team he knows who he is not giving no names;)i think babsy is a cert for captain of the aul team..just a quick question how much are other clubs charging for script and for training just a quick question.
why would ya manage in a league and hope ur representive team loses? that is logic defying. we all have our opinions on the squad and think we know it all but dont think any of us want them to lose. i know a couple of teams are a 5er training (one night) 5er match. another 3 teams i know sell tickets and another 2 pay a tenner a week (2 nights training) + match.

oldlegs
10/10/2012, 8:46 PM
I hope they do well. But it won't stop me having my say on a team that represents the league I play in

K.C.
10/10/2012, 9:58 PM
Everyone has their own opinion lads. If they want them to do well or not is entirely up to the individual. I, for one, would like to see the team do well even though the team has not got anyone from my club on it. If someone says to me ''i hope they get hockeyed'' then fair enough. Each to his own.

Silly Billy G
11/10/2012, 11:13 AM
Leeside won AOH in 05 & 06, and think Greenmount in 2001 & 2002

i think i lost AOH final in 2001 to Leeside, i think ...

Kearney
13/10/2012, 4:42 PM
Heard Blarney were beaten today. Any other scores?

tricksey
13/10/2012, 5:02 PM
Pearse C 1-0 Coachford great result for Pearse down in Coachford not an easy place to get a win.

Kearney
13/10/2012, 5:27 PM
Fair result? Any report?

tricksey
13/10/2012, 5:47 PM
It was in fairness Coachford put us under fierce pressure at one stage in the second half alrite had a bout six corners in a row but we dealt with them, 1st half we by far the better team and they should have had a player sent off their manager was cute out tho and subbed him at half time.Our keeper made a few worldies aswell in the second half we hung on tho and deserved the win in my opinion anyway.

oldlegs
13/10/2012, 6:51 PM
It was in fairness Coachford put us under fierce pressure at one stage in the second half alrite had a bout six corners in a row but we dealt with them, 1st half we by far the better team and they should have had a player sent off their manager was cute out tho and subbed him at half time.Our keeper made a few worldies aswell in the second half we hung on tho and deserved the win in my opinion anyway.And ye had a shot that hit post aswell at start of second half was good game to watch keeper was very good yere number 4 6 and 8 stood out for me

tricksey
13/10/2012, 7:09 PM
And ye had a shot that hit post aswell at start of second half was good game to watch keeper was very good yere number 4 6 and 8 stood out for me
Does it surprise you old legs that we have nobody on the Oscar traynor? Not even a trial! Great game in fairness had that cup final feel about it.any other scores from around lads ?

schoolboygodno9
13/10/2012, 7:56 PM
buddy playing with everton utd msl were due to play tower today everton there ref there but no tower in o shea park seemingly tower called game off last night but told no one coincidence but they had a fundraiser last night in aunties everton players not happy six of them taking time off work to go and play big results today macroom and pearse big wins , tricksey did ye play three in the middle against coachford they struggled with this last season , street struggling two cup exits and losing a game they would have been favourites to win

tricksey
13/10/2012, 8:29 PM
buddy playing with everton utd msl were due to play tower today everton there ref there but no tower in o shea park seemingly tower called game off last night but told no one coincidence but they had a fundraiser last night in aunties everton players not happy six of them taking time off work to go and play big results today macroom and pearse big wins , tricksey did ye play three in the middle against coachford they struggled with this last season , street struggling two cup exits and losing a game they would have been favourites to win
Ya we played five in midfield because off missing a couple of key players, I don't know what's going on up in blarney st. But there not getting results as of yet like.

schoolboygodno9
13/10/2012, 8:34 PM
ya i partly i guessed that ye did theyll beat any 4 4 2 side on their day but anything different they struggle did they change it up or did they stick , ya we played the street a few weeks back lovely ball players but maybe they play too much ball

tricksey
13/10/2012, 9:18 PM
ya i partly i guessed that ye did theyll beat any 4 4 2 side on their day but anything different they struggle did they change it up or did they stick , ya we played the street a few weeks back lovely ball players but maybe they play too much ball
Ya they changed it and in my opinion they it worked against them bringing John Corcoran out wide.to be fair now tho they put us under a good bit of pressure in the second half but I think that was more to do with us relaxing more then anything good team tho they are in fairness not bad at all !

greengrass
13/10/2012, 9:19 PM

Buddy from tower said they called this game off at start of week over this fundraiser and were fined 100 quid over doing so,

schoolboygodno9
13/10/2012, 9:24 PM
Buddy from tower said they called this game off at start of week over this fundraiser and were fined 100 quid over doing so,

if so the aul have some explaining to do as ref and everton at the ground

schoolboygodno9
13/10/2012, 9:26 PM
Ya they changed it and in my opinion they it worked against them bringing John Corcoran out wide.to be fair now tho they put us under a good bit of pressure in the second half but I think that was more to do with us relaxing more then anything good team tho they are in fairness not bad at all !

yes there a good side alright will be right up in the mix good result for ye ,can ye do it on a consistent basis in the league as i know coachford will

oldlegs
13/10/2012, 9:43 PM
Does it surprise you old legs that we have nobody on the Oscar traynor? Not even a trial! Great game in fairness had that cup final feel about it.any other scores from around lads ?I get upset a lot over that aul team :) but every person has a differant view on players tactics and so forth . It would look to me that the aul management had their squad selected long before them 2 trail games . Its hard enough to manage a prem or any team and get your starting 11 right every week you'll always have guys that think they should start so imagine having the pick of over 1000 players or if you only look at top two prem and prem a you'd have 200 to 230 players to pick from . So I can see why everyone would back their own but back to your question your keeper your number 4 6 and 8 would have been worth a look in my eyes but I don't pick the team :) . A lot of crap involved with aul team I know I slagged Park for having 6 but if I was Park manager I would have pushed for my players to be picked . So a lot of politics involved but I'll be there on wednesday shouting them on .