View Full Version : David Meyler
Pages :
[
7]
In that his training programme for the next few weeks can be concentrated in building strength back in the knee. Im no expert but perhaps he was rushed back without sufficent training in building back up his knee after the initial injury. The lad is young and clearly talented, plenty of time to get long run of games in once he is 100% fit.
Alf Honn
08/01/2011, 2:11 AM
10 week lay off confirmed. Could be worse but won't make Macedonia late March.
David Meyler will be out for around 10 weeks, Sunderland manager Steve Bruce has confirmed.
It was initially feared Meyler had ruptured the cruciate ligaments in his right knee against Aston Villa, but scans have revealed no tear.
Meyler, 21, has only recently recovered from a cruciate knee injury sustained against Manchester United back in May.
He saw a surgeon earlier today who confirmed the diagnosis.
Bruce said: "The specialist has confirmed that David has stretched his knee ligament but fortunately there's no rupture, which is wonderful news for us and of course for the boy.
"He'll be in a leg brace for 6 weeks and we anticipate he'll be on the sidelines for around 10 weeks in total, which is nowhere as bad as we initially feared, thanks goodness."
legendz
08/01/2011, 12:26 PM
Is there a cap on the number of loans a club can have? Heard a rumour Sunderland are looking at bringing in a midfielder on loan but I thought with 3 loans already they cannot bring in any more.
08/01/2011, 12:30 PM
AFAIK it is 3, but if any of the loans are due to expire or the player is recalled by their parent club (possibly Wellbeck) then they can bring in someone else to replace him
08/01/2011, 12:32 PM
I think Bruce is looking to sign El-Mohamidy permanently.
legendz
08/01/2011, 5:53 PM
I think Bruce is looking to sign El-Mohamidy permanently.
Forgot about him, that's 4 players they have on loan: Mensah, Onuoha, Elmohamady and Welbeck.
gastric
09/01/2011, 9:31 PM
Lads, Been away and really appreciate the updates on Meyler. Great news considering the initial prognosis. Hopefully he doesn't play until late in the season.
The Fly
09/01/2011, 9:40 PM
I would be more happy with the pre-season.
gastric
10/01/2011, 3:02 AM
I would be more happy with the pre-season.
Fly, I feel you're being a bit pedantic as our sentiments are the same. From Bruce's comments I feel he will only play when ever he has passed every medical test available which is reassuring to know.
27/01/2011, 9:45 AM
Read this morning that sunderland are in for muntari.can't be good for meyler even if cattermole might be more suspect
AlaskaFox
27/01/2011, 11:46 AM
Muntari will hardly go there though, surely he's better than Sunderland?
SwanVsDalton
27/01/2011, 3:34 PM
Muntari will hardly go there though, surely he's better than Sunderland?
No games at Inter and it's still an upgrade from Portsmouth. Think his style would suit Bruce and the team too.
AlaskaFox
16/02/2011, 7:48 AM
From today's BBC Gossip
Sunderland midfielder Lee Cattermole is set to miss the rest of the season with a broken bone in his back. (the Sun)
Hope this doesn't mean Meyler is rushed back again.
16/02/2011, 10:16 AM
From David's twitter account: http://twitter.com/#!/DMeyler/statuses/37831252102877184
Imagine 6 weeks today I done my knee against Aston Villa. To be honest time has flew,can't wait to get back playing. How I've missed it!
16/02/2011, 10:26 AM
From David's twitter account: http://twitter.com/#!/DMeyler/statuses/37831252102877184
Is one of the 200 you follow or one of the 20 odd you follow regularily ;-)
Youthful enthusiasm, love it! just hope he is fully rehabilitated. We need these promising players like himself to start fulfulling themselves and edging out the mediocre players in our squad. God knows we could do with a battler that can play a bit of ball too.
16/02/2011, 10:32 AM
I cannot wait to see him play for us. From the glimpses I've saw of him in action so far he could be a key player for us these next few years if he can stay fit and healthy.
IsMiseSean
16/02/2011, 1:47 PM
I cannot wait to see him play for us. From the glimpses I've saw of him in action so far he could be a key player for us these next few years if he can stay fit and healthy.
My thoughts exactly. I've been looking forward to seeing Meyler in a green shirt more so than Coleman & Clark.
Sullivinho
16/02/2011, 2:10 PM
Emphasis on fitness. I really hope he can get these injuries behind him and get back to the level he was at in the later part of last season when he looked well capable of adding the kind of engine and aggression we need in midfield. Trap would surely fancy him. A five year contract and the speed at which he was thrown back into action last time would indicate Sunderland rate him fairly highly too.
16/02/2011, 3:21 PM
Is there a Tag function on foot.ie? So everytime tets posts, Kingdom is alerted and "thanks" is automatically applied to the post.
16/02/2011, 3:35 PM
Is there a Tag function on foot.ie? So everytime tets posts, Kingdom is alerted and "thanks" is automatically applied to the post.
Take it you didn't go for a roll in the hay with Stuttgart then?
Look I'll give you a sympathy thanks too. Leave me alone.
16/02/2011, 7:04 PM
Ah kingdom don't be so sensitive im only messin with ye with all the fuss over Mccarthy and what not a bit of escapism is good - even at your expense :-))
Crosby87
16/02/2011, 11:23 PM
Speaking of Kingdom did anyone see the movie "Animal Kingdom?" Check it out if not. Its like an Aussie 'Goodfellas.' Highly recommend it.
17/02/2011, 2:15 PM
Its about that guy in Melbourne isn't it?* I havent googled but i could be completely wrong. He was seriouslly sly, and he was sharing with 3 mates away from everyone else, one of the "3" mates, killed him in the end. They were a well known family. Ive read about that guy loads of time strangely enough and i dont know why, must have been on breakingnews
*if not ignore the rest of the paragraph, if you got here though there is a good chance you already read the whole lot.
Junior
17/02/2011, 2:29 PM
And wont need to watch the film now.
17/02/2011, 2:33 PM
Exactly, dont mind crosby its crap :D
17/02/2011, 6:30 PM
Eh?
I think my mate Junior was referring to the spoiler in the first sentence.
I doubt if film reviews/appreciation are your forte Paul but wtf goes on in your head?
BTW, I am not asking you to tell me.
17/02/2011, 7:14 PM
Yes he was and i was saying there is no need to watch it now that i told him the story as its crap.
I didn't know ye were mates though
17/02/2011, 8:41 PM
Seeing as it's a highly regarded film, forgive me if I don't take your word for it just yet.
Do something useful, like put the spoiler black shade over the spoiler text or remove the spoiler text from that reply.
Can't think which is worse, a spoiler or a snitch?
18/02/2011, 7:54 AM
I've added this film to my blockbuster list now to see what all the fuss is about! I've also tried my best to blank out Paul's plot summary.....quick google research = it has got a lot of good reviews.
18/02/2011, 9:37 AM
See it all worked :D Crosby was involved in producing the movie :D
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pettingill_family
its a different family its based on. I didnt give away anything, but they do get involved with the guy I mentioned above, at least in real life. Anyway its an Italian style mafia film, surely its not that difficult to figure out whats going on and what happens in the end :D
Crosby87
18/02/2011, 11:44 AM
Its just about this crime family where the woman (The family mother) who plays the lead is the worst of all. She is really good in it.
The first scene is hilarious/ Disturbing having to do with a Drug overdose... Check it out if ya haven't.
gastric
18/02/2011, 9:25 PM
I'm waiting to get an update from Barry Norman on this thread!
theworm2345
06/04/2011, 3:15 PM
Apparently has returned to training
http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?p=9703361
06/04/2011, 3:39 PM
Somebody in the thread said he's targeting Saturday's game against West Brom for a return. Hope he's not taking it too fast this time. Sunderland have more midfield options than they did before Christmas so hopefully Bruce is't forced to play him.
theworm2345
06/04/2011, 4:02 PM
Somebody in the thread said he's targeting Saturday's game against West Brom for a return. Hope he's not taking it too fast this time. Sunderland have more midfield options than they did before Christmas so hopefully Bruce is't forced to play him.
Not sure how accurate that is, there is nothing else about him training online. I even looked at his Twitter and theres nothing there about anything of the sort (maybe there wouldn't be anyway).
tommy_c12000
06/04/2011, 4:28 PM
Not sure how accurate that is, there is nothing else about him training online. I even looked at his Twitter and theres nothing there about anything of the sort (maybe there wouldn't be anyway).
Likewise, I've been monitoring any updates on his return like a hawk. He was injured on 5th Jan and was told it was to be "at least 10 wks." It is now 13 weeks later. He seems to be more concerned with his online gaming at the moment rather than returning to premiership football. There has been no sign of him in the reserves yet, including the 4-2 loss yesterday against Arsenal. So it is highly unlikely he will appear against West Brom
06/04/2011, 4:58 PM
i just hope he is back in time to get into the squad for the away games in the US, as i doubt he will be called in for northern ireland or scotland game.
rebelmusic
06/04/2011, 8:47 PM
He's officially expected back in April. I'd say he'll make the next reserves game unless Bruce bumps him up the queue like last time.
Crosby87
07/04/2011, 12:00 AM
He needs to get healthy and be involved so his page count can shoot up 50 or so like James McCarthy's. :party:
They are close in age but Mac is dominating.
I'm sure there will be some issue between he and Trap at some point however.
theworm2345
07/04/2011, 3:59 AM
He needs to get healthy and be involved so his page count can shoot up 50 or so like James McCarthy's. :party:
They are close in age but Mac is dominating.
I'm sure there will be some issue between he and Trap at some point however.
If he has become a naturalised British citizen he would be eligible for any of the Home Nations. A well placed comment from Steve Bruce and he'll surely reach McCarthy's level.
IsMiseSean
07/04/2011, 12:28 PM
Just seen on the twitter machine that he is back training again
tommy_c12000
16/04/2011, 1:14 PM
Makes the bench today for Sunderland! Yes boy!! Will be slowly re-introduced this time methinks. Best of luck with your latest comeback David!
Paddy Garcia
16/04/2011, 6:46 PM
Makes the bench today for Sunderland! Yes boy!! Will be slowly re-introduced this time methinks. Best of luck with your latest comeback David!
I'd worry that Bruce will view him as his get out of jail card!
tommy_c12000
16/04/2011, 7:24 PM
I'd worry that Bruce will view him as his get out of jail card!
Taking into account their current injury crisis and their continuing downward spiral, Bruce may well feel compelled to press him back into action sooner rather than later. Having said that I'm sure they won't take any risks with David and will ensure he is 100% before introducing him
Crosby87
16/04/2011, 10:21 PM
Just a matter of time before Smiley Meyley joins Coleman, McCarthy and Long as our Brazil 2014 core.
I hope.
Murfinator
16/04/2011, 10:33 PM
And by core you mean bench right? =P
Qualification for it starts next year, we'll have all our current squad bar Kilbane for it. If they do begin to get phased out would imagine guys like Doyle and McGeady would be our premier players before those guys.
Crosby87
17/04/2011, 2:23 AM
A year is a long time in the sports world, Muffler.
17/04/2011, 5:58 PM
Hasn't another Sunderland player just done his knee in when not fully ready? Misses another year. Sunderland's medical team obviously didn't read the"recovering from knee injury" chapter of their textbooks.
17/04/2011, 6:48 PM
Yes, Fraizer Campbell. A lot of knee injuries at that club recently and I remember Newcastle having a spate of them under Glenn Roeder. Maybe something to do with the hard surfaces in the north east? Who knows.
17/04/2011, 7:19 PM
Its in the water..