View Full Version : David Meyler
Pages :
[
13]
Lads, shut up. Only the two of you care.
07/01/2013, 7:39 AM
Hockey about to come back and you're still cranky. :)
07/01/2013, 9:35 AM
I care, a mortal kombat fight to the finish. The loser cast to the wilderness, never to return.
07/01/2013, 10:00 AM
I didn't rule out collapsing before April! My research shows they typically crash in March.
2006-07: Strong finish, undefeated in final 2 months
2007-08: Mediocre finish, 3 wins from final 12 games, 2 of them against already-relegated sides
2008-09: Horrific finish, 2 wins from final 16 games, including 8 losses. Getting Newcastle relegated a redeeming feature.
2009-10: Mediocre finish, 4 wins from final 14 games (2 against already-relegated sides) including 2 cup finals,
Needless to say those Villa squads were streets ahead of this Sunderland side.
Yet again you refuse to see your mediocre argument :) to support your contention that a MON team typically declines towards the end of the season, despite clear factual objectively assessed evidence.to the contrary.
I suppose you can go and twist Leicester City's consistent record under MON of finishing stronger than average in every season he was there, towards a complete horror show of ineptitude.
I picked a time date towards the end of the season that you had suggested and stuck to it for each season, regardless of what went on before or after that date.
I didn't go and switch the goal posts for each season and pick convenient times after Villa won or had a good spell, I don't know what morons you are used to arguing with but that takes a nice sized biscuit. :D
I care, a mortal kombat fight to the finish. The loser cast to the wilderness, never to return.
ybig.ie?
07/01/2013, 1:22 PM
I think its pretty clear CD won this argument anyway.
07/01/2013, 1:32 PM
ybig.ie?
Worse...
Boards football forum!
*shudders*
02/02/2013, 4:10 PM
Goal - David Meyler - Millwall 0 - 1 Hull City A goal is scored by David Meyler from inside the penalty box to the bottom right corner of the goal. Millwall 0-1 Hull.
IsMiseSean
02/02/2013, 4:11 PM
Just heard that Meyler was taken off with what looked like a knee injury in Hull's win at Millwall. Doesn't sound good....
IsMiseSean
02/02/2013, 4:19 PM
Quote from Steve Bruce "David Meyler's knee looks ok. I feared the worst but glad he's alright. He was fantastic today"
tommy_c12000
02/02/2013, 6:40 PM
Just needed some stitches apparently. No biggie
tommy_c12000
02/02/2013, 6:51 PM
Just saw his goal. Read a back pass well, ran onto the ball and cooly finished past the goalkeeper. Nice goal.
03/02/2013, 7:21 PM
Very composed finish, although it was a bit of a surprise to see him so far forward. Stephen Quinn went close to making it 2-0, while Robbie Brady almost gifted Milwall an equaliser when he was inexplicably last man back.
http://www.footytube.com/video/millwall-hull-city-feb02-156582
Crosby87
19/02/2013, 10:38 PM
Hull City fans (mostly) raving about David on a Hull Forum today....
http://www.not606.com/showthread.php/197488-The-David-Meyler-Appreciation-Society
Edit: Some borderline NSFW comments on there if you are a real stickler..
20/02/2013, 7:44 PM
Edit: Some borderline NSFW comments on there if you are a real stickler..
you mean the McClean bashing, right?
Crosby87
20/02/2013, 10:47 PM
You joke but some people are REALLY sensitive around here. Reminds me of a.....ah never mind.
Sullivinho
20/02/2013, 10:54 PM
Reminds you of what? What are you trying to say, like??
DannyInvincible
20/02/2013, 10:59 PM
Aye, what ye on about, hi?!
Crosby87
21/02/2013, 11:42 AM
Sully, you take everything i say offensively and i don't mean anything by it......I'm sorry, really.
Ill you two something funny though. Irish cops came here to train with the NYPD this week. So, a bunch of "Irish" in the NYPD took them out for a night and they had a great time. The next day was boxing. NYPD vs Irish cops. whatever you call them, garda or whatever. So the Irish cops box like....not like John Duddy. Like, a 1920s silent film, with their fists moving like the way a stereotype of wife beating would be. I guess. Anyway, everyone had a great time and the story is already legend.
DannyInvincible
21/02/2013, 11:46 AM
Ah, we were only pulling your leg in our own colloquial manners.
21/02/2013, 1:13 PM
Sully, you take everything i say offensively and i don't mean anything by it......I'm sorry, really.
Ill you two something funny though. Irish cops came here to train with the NYPD this week. So, a bunch of "Irish" in the NYPD took them out for a night and they had a great time. The next day was boxing. NYPD vs Irish cops. whatever you call them, garda or whatever. So the Irish cops box like....not like John Duddy. Like, a 1920s silent film, with their fists moving like the way a stereotype of wife beating would be. I guess. Anyway, everyone had a great time and the story is already legend.
Ya but who won, i always have it in my head americans cant fight. And a lot of my american friends agree with this.
A bit more handbags about them.
Bungle
21/02/2013, 1:53 PM
Anyone on here who remembers Lugs Brannigan will tell ya not all Garda punch like that :cool: Not personal experience thank god but viewed from afar!!
05/03/2013, 9:38 PM
Nodded in a last-minute consolation from Robbie Brady's cross as Hull lost 4-2 to Crystal Palace. They seem to have settled into a groove of losing or winning heavily. Like Kevin Keegan's teams of yore.
05/03/2013, 10:46 PM
It's a bit funny coming here right after you've been on the Brady thread, I suppose vice versa would have the same effect.
05/03/2013, 10:57 PM
It's a bit funny coming here right after you've been on the Brady thread, I suppose vice versa would have the same effect.
It's what we all do though. Though I tend to ignore them now until last knowing the crushing inevitability of an assist or goal is merely a click away.
Crosby87
03/07/2013, 11:26 AM
Positive Article but hopefully his Dad is not "over training" him.....could lead to injury.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/hull-citys-david-meyler-reckons-2020646
18/08/2013, 2:41 PM
Hangs on to his starting spot v Chelsea in spite of Huddlestone and Livermore's arrival - good sign. Brady also playing, Quinn out injured and McShane on the bench.
18/08/2013, 5:55 PM
Was subbed on about 60 mins but he was on a yellow so no great surprise and they were 2-0 down by then.
Huddlestone and Livermore came on then.
Rated a 6 on Sky sports as were the rest of the team apart form Brady 7 and the keeper 8.
Brady had a run or two at the defence and got past a couple of defenders but was still hard to create anything.
Obviously was always gonna be a tough game away to Chelsea.
18/08/2013, 6:18 PM
Brady got away with a blatant push in the penalty box. Don't think Trap didn't notice!
18/08/2013, 6:40 PM
Yes I saw the push, was on the borderline perhaps would need to see it again Trap might see the fact he got away with as a positive!!! I don't think he went down IIRC.
18/08/2013, 6:41 PM
Trap was criticising him for not doing his defensive job against Wales too, and he definitely lost concentration, though I think a penalty might have been harsh even if he did use his arms.
18/08/2013, 9:45 PM
Just saw the penalty incident on Match of the Day 2, definite push for me, should have been a spot kick
Crosby87
25/08/2013, 3:04 PM
Meyler enjoying opportunity:
http://www.thisishullandeastriding.co.uk/Born-Meyler-relishing-flight-challenge-Hull-City/story-19705061-detail/story.html#axzz2czehSu4E
Crosby87
18/09/2013, 11:26 AM
David wearing Rainbow shoelaces:
http://www.thescore.ie/david-meyler-right-behind-gay-footballers-paddy-power-1087378-Sep2013/
21/09/2013, 4:03 PM
Meyler on as sub for Brady today with the game at 2-2, probably to copper fasten a point, then Hull went ahead almost immediately.
Hull escaped with the win, Newcastle missed an absolute sitter to draw the game.
But the away team who manage to score 3 goals, generally will win :)
Bruce is doing very well with this team and it's a good place for the Irish lads.
21/09/2013, 9:59 PM
Steve Bruce for Ireland.
02/11/2013, 2:56 PM
A rotten vicious stamp on Meyler by some Sunderland hacker, just before half time.
If he survives this he'll survive anything the game can throw at him.
02/11/2013, 3:29 PM
Does he look ok?
He looks existential.
http://s0.thejournal.ie/media/2012/11/david-meyler-12112012-390x285.jpg
He was substituted on 57' due to injury. He continued after the stamp but the game was delayed for a couple of minutes. He should be grand.
02/11/2013, 3:49 PM
I didn't watch the game after the half time summary. I don't know how badly he was hurt.
mark12345
02/11/2013, 6:36 PM
Ya but who won, i always have it in my head americans cant fight. And a lot of my american friends agree with this.
A bit more handbags about them.
The two of you are kidding, I hope? Americans can't fight? Not any Americans that I know - some of the best fighters you'll ever see. And the Irish are right up there with them as we all know.
DannyInvincible
02/11/2013, 8:12 PM
Really nasty tackle. Can view a GIF of it here: http://balls.ie/football/gif-andrea-dossenas-horror-challenge-david-meyler/
http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/doss.gif
02/11/2013, 8:22 PM
That one can easily go into the Roy Keane ("take that ...you c*nt") hall of horror tackles.
02/11/2013, 8:39 PM
Holy sh1t. That was disgraceful. I'd like to see the dinosaurs on MOTD defend that, the ones who thought Meyler dived when evading an awful tackle from Robert Huth (who had the good grace to acknowledge he was in the wrong) and who defended Hutton when nearly breaking Shane Long's leg.
02/11/2013, 10:15 PM
match just starting on MOTD now
02/11/2013, 11:13 PM
Lucky to get walk away from that tackle, motd called it a horendus tackle to be fair
03/11/2013, 8:43 AM
Yep, they did. Robbie Brady hardly covered himself in glory either.
On MOTD they quoted a Meyler tweet thanking fans for their concern and that he hasn't got a serious injury.
DannyInvincible
03/11/2013, 8:53 AM
Yep, they did. Robbie Brady hardly covered himself in glory either.
Didn't manage to catch the highlights. What did Brady do?
03/11/2013, 11:39 AM
Flying lunge tackle that missed the ball, took the man and only avoided hurting him because he lunged so early he landed before hitting him!
Very likely red card in international football.
Beautiful goal from Meyler against Liverpool, his first in the Premiership. Ball broke on his left from his own shot and he rifled it with his left from the left of the area into the bottom right corner. Lovely goal. A la Sheedy against England.
He also waved what looked like an Irish shin guard at the camera in his celebration. Staunch.