View Full Version : David Meyler

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 2:51 PM
He's a box-to-box type. Strikes always hitting the post. He's been given plenty of cards for stamping. Yadda, yadda, yadda...

AlaskaFox
01/09/2012, 3:00 PM
Letter rip.

Manblue
01/09/2012, 4:23 PM
fair play on the call up, never like to see a player injured and it's good inspiration to others with similar setbacks in their career early. Credit to him the way he worked hard to get back.

I'm sure trap will rate him highly, strong, fit, decent tackler and very committed. Should keep his place if he is getting some game time.

Unfortunately it seems he had a poor game today and Sunderland fans were very unimpressed with what they saw.

Murfinator
01/09/2012, 5:35 PM
Presumably he'll get a start against Oman, can't see him having any involvement in the qualifier being behind 3 other CM's.

Edit: Just remembered Green is out too, why are we only bringing 3 CM's?

01/09/2012, 5:39 PM
Paul Green might be absent but his 'mentalitee' will still be there harrying and acting like an extra man.

03/09/2012, 8:50 PM
Meyler's introduction to the team
SYhLdLH_6V0

EastTerracer
04/09/2012, 2:40 AM
Meyler's introduction to the team.

It's not x-factor quality but it's a big improvement on Shane Duffy's performance.

04/09/2012, 10:19 AM
Obviously everyone wants to have a word with the new call-up and obviously the rte.ie LOI football show in particular wanted an interview with Meyler, who is a former LOI player, obviously. Interviewed on MNS last night. About 10 -15 mins in. Obviously.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=10046003

14/09/2012, 4:58 PM
Martin O'Neill reveals he's turned down loan offers for Meyler because he wants to keep him around:

Martin O'Neill has admitted he is now keen to keep David Meyler around after admitting he would loan (http://www.powerlinks.com/api/powerlink-click-custom?id=386&keyword=loan&advertiser_intext_ad_id=316&campaign_id=1229&type=null) the midfielder out in pre-season.

Meyler, 23, who won his first senior Ireland cap in the Republic's 4-1 win over Oman in midweek, has forced his way into O'Neill's thinking after looking destined for the Stadium of Light exit.

The central midfielder recovered from cruciate ligament damage towards the end of 2011 and was in and around the matchday squad (http://www.powerlinks.com/api/powerlink-click-custom?id=386&keyword=squad&advertiser_intext_ad_id=317&campaign_id=1229&type=null) for the remainder of the 2011/12 campaign.

However with a number of senior central midfield options available to O'Neill, the gaffer admitted that he would look to move the midfielder out on loan in order to get game time.

Since then though Meyler has featured prominently during pre-season and came on for the injured Lee Cattermole at Swansea City two Saturdays ago.

Speaking to The Sunderland Echo (http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/meyler-to-stay-at-sunderland-despite-hull-interest-1-4926091) , O'Neill revealed he has since turned down loan offers for Meyler:

"A number of teams have asked me about him and I mentioned it to him, but ideally I would like him to play (http://www.powerlinks.com/api/powerlink-click-custom?id=386&keyword=play&advertiser_intext_ad_id=317&campaign_id=1229&type=null) here,' confirmed O'Neill.

"At one stage he was almost going out on emergency loan where we would get him back after 28 days.'

The boss continued:

"He wouldn`t be averse to doing anything just to get games and if it`s games he needs in a while, we will see.

"But at the moment we need him around.'

Meyler has made just 14 Premier League starts for the Black Cats since moving to Sunderland in 2008 from his native Ireland, thanks largely to serious injuries suffered during his time here.

Read more: http://www.sunderland.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=293262#ixzz26SqHQzEh

gastric
27/09/2012, 10:48 PM
With Cattermole getting himself a holiday and O'Neill not very happy, is this the opportunity that Meyler needs to establish himself in the team?

27/09/2012, 10:50 PM
I'd say Gardner is still ahead of him. It depends on if O'Neill would be willing to put O'Shea back out at full back or if he wants to persist with him in the centre.

08/11/2012, 10:49 AM
signed for Hull City on loan until January 1st: http://www.hullcityafc.net/news/article/meyler-arrives-on-loan-441635.aspx

Manblue
08/11/2012, 1:18 PM
signed for Hull City on loan until January 1st: http://www.hullcityafc.net/news/article/meyler-arrives-on-loan-441635.aspx

Unless he has an absolutely smashing couple of months I cant see him playing for Sunderland again.

08/11/2012, 1:22 PM
He was linked with Hull earlier in the year and O'Neill turned it down as he was needed for cover. Steve Bruce has always been a big fan. I can definitely see him playing for Sunderland again - he is well capable of making that side. As it happens he might be better off at Hull next year if they continue this run of form.

Manblue
08/11/2012, 4:56 PM
He was linked with Hull earlier in the year and O'Neill turned it down as he was needed for cover. Steve Bruce has always been a big fan. I can definitely see him playing for Sunderland again - he is well capable of making that side. As it happens he might be better off at Hull next year if they continue this run of form.

Sunderland are having a shocking run. I'd have to guess O Neill has very little mass on him given the sides run of late, yet he still wasn't willing to give him a go. If he is "well capable" of making that side why hasn't he??
Sunderland's midfield is absolutely terrible, I'll grand you that, but I am sure they will look to strengthen this area in January. This will move Meyler further down the pecking order unless they offload some of the poor players that are already rated ahead of him.

08/11/2012, 5:46 PM
Sunderland are having a shocking run. I'd have to guess O Neill has very little mass on him given the sides run of late, yet he still wasn't willing to give him a go. If he is "well capable" of making that side why hasn't he??
When has Martin O'Neill ever changed his preferred line-up? Only when he signs a player. I'm not sure why he doesn't rate Meyler but if he plays well at Hull O'Neill will view him like a new signing when he comes back.

the bear
08/11/2012, 5:55 PM
When has Martin O'Neill ever changed his preferred line-up? Only when he signs a player. I'm not sure why he doesn't rate Meyler but if he plays well at Hull O'Neill will view him like a new signing when he comes back.

He promoted McClean out of the reserves but never really gave Meyler much gametime. As you pointed out yourself O'Neill needs to start rotating his squads

CraftyToePoke
08/11/2012, 5:58 PM
I'd back him to prove O'Neill wrong, I think he is picking worse at present but I am aware there may be green tinted spectacles involved there. He does need to be playing somewhere now though, again like Best, Brady, Andrews, it's a pity they have to drop a level. It is a bit of a mark against him that he wasn't deemed worth a run in the middle for Sunderland at present, it suggests O'Neil doesn't rate him or his style of play doesn't fit what he is doing there.

Manblue
08/11/2012, 6:06 PM

So your basically agreeing with me when i said he needs to play well at hull? To say he's well capable is pure speculation because unless you have watched them training you simply couldn't know due to lack of game time over the last 3 years and especially since injury. Frankly judging him on games against the like Oman is a no go for me.

08/11/2012, 6:18 PM
No, I'm judging him based on his obvious ability from all the games I've seen him in over the years and the fact the alternatives aren't great players. I like Larsson but he looks very uncomfortable in the centre, Cattermole has never performed to his ability and Gardner is a Match of the Day player. It's strange he hasn't at least tried Meyler because they lack a proper athlete in the middle.

Manblue
08/11/2012, 6:24 PM
No, I'm judging him based on his obvious ability from all the games I've seen him in over the years and the fact the alternatives aren't great players. I like Larsson but he looks very uncomfortable in the centre, Cattermole has never performed to his ability and Gardner is a Match of the Day player. It's strange he hasn't at least tried Meyler because they lack a proper athlete in the middle.

All those games could fit on one hand, and I wouldn't say obvious ability. The lad has a lot to prove. The fact he sees him in training everyday versus those players is worrying.

08/11/2012, 6:27 PM
Maybe those players are very good trainers then. The fact O'Neill's team are so abject and he refuses to make any changes is worrying.

liamoo11
08/11/2012, 7:26 PM
Maybe those players are very good trainers then. The fact O'Neill's team are so abject and he refuses to make any changes is worrying.
I think bruce used say meyler was the best trainer at club obviously o neill does not fancy him. O neill was creaming himself over cattermole on MOTD last week. With Sunderland sinking like a tellytubby you would have hoped meyler wood have had a shot.Hopefully him and brady get chance at hull.Could be good for quinn if trap goes there to look at brady/meyler

08/11/2012, 8:05 PM
O'Neill very rarely trusts younger players.

Crosby87
08/11/2012, 10:52 PM
O'Neill very rarely trusts younger players.

Sounds like someone we know!

tommy_c12000
01/12/2012, 2:03 PM
Two starts in a row for him today. Great to see it. There is some talk of him being recalled early next wk to Sunderland though. Brady starting again too.

01/12/2012, 3:49 PM
The win will put Hull 4th, 5 points off the top, probably have a home game next as away today.
Promotion possibilities.

tommy_c12000
01/12/2012, 4:20 PM
The win will put Hull 4th, 5 points off the top, probably have a home game next as away today.
Promotion possibilities.

Were you at it?

A lot of Irish on show . . .

01/12/2012, 6:30 PM
Were you at it?

A lot of Irish on show . . .

Nope, but you are right, lots of Irish playing.

Supreme feet
08/12/2012, 3:01 PM
Scores today for Hull against Watford. Plenty of Irish on show, with Brady, Quinn and McShane starting (McShane went off injured), and Yeates and Hoban starting for Watford.

08/12/2012, 4:22 PM
Bonham was on the bench for Watford as well. Brady scored from a free kick, but it might be given as an own goal

tommy_c12000
08/12/2012, 5:03 PM
I hope Meyler stays at Hull until the New Year at the very least. Great that he is playing 90 mins regularly and now scoring. I will be surprised if O'Neill does not call him back though given their current midfield deficiencies and the intense Christmas schedule

tommy_c12000
15/12/2012, 11:03 AM
Meyler set to be recalled next week for Sunderland's Christmas program. At least he will be going back with 7 games under his belt. He should get some Prem game time over Christmas so you never know what might happen if he does well. I would have preferred him to stay at Hull for the time being though.

http://www.shieldsgazette.com/sport/sunderland-boss-martin-o-neill-ready-to-recall-loan-star-meyler-1-5228684

tommy_c12000
15/12/2012, 11:07 AM
And he starts today alongside Brady V Huddersfield.

15/12/2012, 1:34 PM
scored the second hull goal. currently 2-0 up in injury time

15/12/2012, 1:48 PM
2 in 2, hopefully he can take this confidence back to Sunderland and not just be stuck on the bench again. Alex Bruce sent off after the final whistle for violent conduct - call him up Trap!

DannyInvincible
15/12/2012, 5:11 PM
2 in 2, hopefully he can take this confidence back to Sunderland and not just be stuck on the bench again. Alex Bruce sent off after the final whistle for violent conduct - call him up Trap!

I thought that gag was beginning to run out of gas, but the delivery of that one made me snort pretty loudly. Well played.

theworm2345
16/12/2012, 4:53 AM
scored the second hull goal. currently 2-0 up in injury time
Needs to work on the celebration :o

tommy_c12000
16/12/2012, 8:44 AM
Here's his goal: http://www.footreview.net/home/viewvideo/6453/championship-2012-13/hull-city-2-0-huddersfield

Judging by the Hull Forums, he played ok yesterday. Apparently he has been getting better with every game, so it's disappointing if he returns to Sunderland and ends up on the bench. He needs to be playing. Brady was best player on the pitch by all accounts yesterday. He's supposed to be a different player from the one had last year. Different class.

TrapAPony
26/12/2012, 1:53 PM
Why did Martin O'Neill call him back from Hull if he is not even going to put him on the Sunderland bench? No logic.

tommy_c12000
26/12/2012, 4:03 PM
Why did Martin O'Neill call him back from Hull if he is not even going to put him on the Sunderland bench? No logic.

That was my worst fear realised. Disaster for David

28/12/2012, 5:51 PM
According to some Hull messageboards DM is in the Hull squad tomorrow.

DannyInvincible
29/12/2012, 11:14 AM
He's definitely still at Hull. He starts for them against Leeds today.

harry crumb
29/12/2012, 12:48 PM
And scores....again.

NeverFeltBetter
29/12/2012, 1:08 PM
From a Brady corner too.

tommy_c12000
29/12/2012, 2:12 PM

Last time Im gonna trust this TrapAPony character . . .

liamoo11
29/12/2012, 3:55 PM
thats great they let him stay. Was watching the last 4 or 5 football league shows this morning and meyler really involved loads in hull highlights either scoring or having shots saved seems to be playing in advanced role. In the same shows garvan also hugely involved making chances and havin shots for crystal palace

DannyInvincible
29/12/2012, 4:39 PM
Meyler's goal is at 0:22:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JOOmBsi67eA

Crosby87
29/12/2012, 4:44 PM
Is "Goal" and Allah the same word?:want:

29/12/2012, 5:49 PM
It would be somewhat amusing if Sunderland got relegated and Meyler and got promoted!!