View Full Version : David Meyler

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

05/01/2011, 9:14 PM
Sounds like Meyler is well and truly fecked, did in his acl.

RIP.

irishfan86
05/01/2011, 9:21 PM
Terrible. Was his rapid return to blame for this? Did he come back too soon? Gutted for him.

05/01/2011, 9:26 PM
According to the lads on newstalk, the Sunderland Echo are reporting that its a cruciate injury again........not sure how they can make such a quick sharp diagnosis but the signs are not good.

Sullivinho
05/01/2011, 9:30 PM
Been nosing around for a bit of info and things like 'strange angle' and 'straight into the ambulance' don't make for good reading. Major disappointment, I was really enjoying his comeback. Can't imagine how the man himself feels about it.

brine3
05/01/2011, 9:35 PM
You forgot to mention Chris McCann and Joey O'Brien

Oh yeah, Joey O'Brien, whatever happened to him.

Don't forget Richie Sadlier too. Great player.

Even Roy Keane nearly had his career ended at 26.

05/01/2011, 9:35 PM
He spent months of hard work to get back and his knee just goes pop in an instant. I can imagine the lad is in shock.

brine3
05/01/2011, 9:38 PM
Questions need to be asked about Sunderland medical staff...

05/01/2011, 10:16 PM
Oh yeah, Joey O'Brien, whatever happened to him.

Don't forget Richie Sadlier too. Great player.

Even Roy Keane nearly had his career ended at 26.
Joey is still on the books at Bolton, physioroom has him down as "no return date"
according to his wikipedia page - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joey_O'Brien - his contract is up this summer :(

gastric
05/01/2011, 10:26 PM
This tragic injury reminds me more of Colin Healy than others mentioned above. Overcame one horrific injury and then just when it looked like he was back to action, he broke his leg again, at what club - Sunderland.

Eirambler
05/01/2011, 10:35 PM
This would be disasterous news on what has otherwise been an excellent night for Irish players in the EPL. Hopefully its not as bad as thought but you'd have to be fearing the worst unfortunately.

Jicked
05/01/2011, 10:51 PM
What an attitude this lad has, he's just posted this on twitter

Thanks to everyone for all the nice messages,I'll be back don't you worry!!

Some outlook to have, hope this comeback goes better this time. So much potential and seems to have the desire too

05/01/2011, 11:27 PM
Questions need to be asked about Sunderland medical staff...
I don't think so. He came through the first few games handy enough. He's always going to have a vulnerability in his knee and unfortunately he got caught out this time.

Alf Honn
05/01/2011, 11:30 PM
Strong mentality has Meyler, especially as his boss fears the worst:

http://www.safc.com/news/20110105/bruce-facing-nervous-wait_2256213_2259357

06/01/2011, 1:04 AM
poor guy - genuinely gutted for the lad. I wish him a speedy recovery.

The Fly
06/01/2011, 3:05 AM
If this is a recurrence of his cruciate injury, then it is absolutely awful news for young David. I would like to echo the sentiments already expressed, and wish him a complete recovery. Although, if I may diverge somewhat from the normal expression of well-wishing, I hope his recovery isn't a speedy one. I can't help but think that his recent return to first team football, was premature to say the least.

06/01/2011, 8:56 AM
If and (hopefully not) it is the cruciate again, he should not come back before the start of next season.

06/01/2011, 9:23 AM
Poor lad. I thought he was gonna be our saviour in MF. He's still young and he'll bounce back. I hope Sunderland send him to the best specialist money can buy

06/01/2011, 11:17 AM
http://www.shieldsgazette.com/sport/Bruce-questions-himself-over-Meyler.6681717.jp

Bruce questions himself over Meyler injury.

brine3
06/01/2011, 11:25 AM
And so he should, ligaments are never fully healed.

I did mine in when I was 12 and while I could skip, run and jump after 6 months, two years later I still felt a twinge every now and then if I did too much training or played too many matches. Even now, 16 years later, I can have trouble if I play too many matches.

There's hope for Meyler though, remember Van Nistelrooy at PSV? He did his knee in and recovered and Man Utd were on the brink of signing him. Then he did his knee in again and Man Utd called off the transfer. A year later they signed him. The rest is history.

Hopefully next time around he'll take it easy.

06/01/2011, 12:10 PM
Van Nistelrooy picked up a knee injury in a game and shortly after that he did in his cruciate while training.
Afaia, he only cruciated himself once.

Wolfie
06/01/2011, 12:22 PM
Must be cursing his luck but appears to have a great attitude.

Was this latest set back an impact injury due to a challenge or was it in the course of running - anyone know???

06/01/2011, 12:25 PM
All i could think reading this was Aw ffs.what is it with we Irish and our physiological makeup

06/01/2011, 12:28 PM
Was this latest set back an impact injury due to a challenge or was it in the course of running - anyone know???
No contact with another player, his injury came after innocuous impact, something akin to stubbing his foot on the hard turf.

06/01/2011, 1:15 PM
If there's any solace to be taken in the injury, it at least means he should have all of pre-season to ease himself back into action instead of the gruelling winter schedule. Can't imagine the hard ground helped him at all either.

06/01/2011, 1:22 PM
Absolutely disgusted with the news, and Bruce should look at himself. As Charlie D says above, at least it gives David an extended period to get himself in as good a position as possible before next season.
Hopefully the next comeback works out better.

ken foree
06/01/2011, 2:50 PM
good luck to david and a best wishes for a healthy recovery.

06/01/2011, 3:13 PM
Must be cursing his luck but appears to have a great attitude.

There was no impact, he was running towards the ball and his knee gave way and he collapsed in a heap.

kev mcq
06/01/2011, 4:44 PM
There was no impact, he was running towards the ball and his knee gave way and he collapsed in a heap.
Did he not catch his studs in the ground?

07/01/2011, 8:33 AM
maybe better news...
his dad was on the radio this morning and said it appears that all the ligaments are still intact and it appears to be a cartilage problem. this follows a scan yesterday and more detail should be available later today. fingers crossed!

07/01/2011, 10:08 AM
SSN now reporting that the injury may not be as bad as first fear. Thank heavens.

Supreme feet
07/01/2011, 10:45 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0107/1224286993599.html

Relieved.

legendz
07/01/2011, 11:15 AM
Bruce has to take some blame. He was in too much of a rush to play the Kerry Hurling manager's son. It's good to hear the injury is not as bad as first thought.

07/01/2011, 11:39 AM
He wrenched his knee - it could happen to any player at any time. His ligaments are fine.

LFCSixty/Eighty
07/01/2011, 11:52 AM
That is the best news I've heard in ages!!! So relieved, sitting here in work with a big grin on my face after hearing that.

Hopefully that will be a warning to Bruce to treat him with a bit more care than he did over the Christmas.

The young man obviously wants to play and play but it is up to the medical staff and Bruce himself to protect him a bit more. I'm dying to see him pull on the green jersey but would take waiting until the summer if it means he is 100%.

07/01/2011, 12:05 PM
Best news I've had this week! Was thinking last night we wouldn't see him playing again until the start of next season.

Wolfie
07/01/2011, 12:21 PM
That's great - I figured if the ligament had gone of its own accord it did not look good for him.

I can still dream of reading a match report that someday references the Ireland central midfield of Meyler and McCarthy.

legendz
07/01/2011, 12:29 PM
Meyler will be a great addition when fit.

The Fly
07/01/2011, 1:24 PM
Injury Boost for Meyler

http://www.shieldsgazette.com/sport/Injury-boost-Cats-duo.6683063.jp

TrapAPony
07/01/2011, 2:48 PM
I can still dream of reading a match report that someday references the Ireland central midfield of Meyler and McCarthy.

I agree. The sooner the better.

PS. Would like to see Marc Wilson get a chance there too.

07/01/2011, 2:58 PM
brief report on safc.com: http://www.safc.com/news/20110107/good-news-for-meyler_2256213_2260608

07/01/2011, 3:01 PM
Delighted for him that its not as bad as first thought. He is highly thought of at Sunderland.

legendz
07/01/2011, 3:38 PM
Delighted for him that its not as bad as first thought. He is highly thought of at Sunderland.

Quinn will love this when his profile rises more.

ken foree
07/01/2011, 3:48 PM
ah that is wonderful news!

Sullivinho
07/01/2011, 4:17 PM
Delighted! I feared the guy's career was in the balance tbh.

We share the same dream.

SwanVsDalton
07/01/2011, 4:26 PM

We share the same dream.

Guys that is one wacky dream. Best stay off the late night cheese.

07/01/2011, 4:34 PM
'Manager Steve Bruce has revealed that the signs are that the ligaments are intact'

Steve Buce doing his Al Pacino impression.

"This boy's ligaments are intact. They're non-negotiable."

Razors left peg
07/01/2011, 4:44 PM
Super news, I had visions of Colin Healy when it was thought it was gonna be another long term injury

legendz
07/01/2011, 5:00 PM
Thankfully there was no tackles involved like that of Youssef Safri.

07/01/2011, 7:19 PM
Great news, all the best with the recovery. The extra time off may be no harm for the cruciate and any return should be gradual and progressive.

legendz
07/01/2011, 7:23 PM
How's the extra time any good if he has an injury again? He needs to be playing, though gradually introduced. It's a pity Catt's has been out. Bruce didn't have much of an option.