View Full Version : David Meyler
Pages :
[
4]
That's irony, not sarcasm.
Recently, scientists in Britain determined how the brain interprets sarcasm, and plan to export the technology to Germany and other sarcastically impoverished nations. It is still patent pending however, though experts say this will be a formality, as a breakthrough regarding the brain's interpretation of irony - in all its forms, is imminent. The new coalition government believes that this will increase Britain's exports to America by some 200%. Various American think-tanks have expressed delight at the news, though sources indicate a deep lament that the breakthrough did not happen during the previous presidency.
rubbish - thats nothing like rain on my wedding day. Or a black fly in my chardonnay.
(its is an ironic statement expressed in a sarcastic manner)
The Fly
14/10/2010, 5:47 PM
rubbish - thats nothing like rain on my wedding day. Or a black fly in my chardonnay.
"The only ironic thing about that song is that it's called 'Ironic', and it's written by a woman who doesn't know what irony is, which is also quite ironic." ;)
21/10/2010, 8:27 PM
After a false start, this is the one we've been waiting for. Meyler poised to take part in a behind-closed-doors friendly against Leeds on Tuesday.
DAVID MEYLER is set to figure in a behind-closed-doors friendly next week – just five months after suffering potentially career-threatening knee ligament damage.
Meyler was stretchered off against Manchester United in Sunderland’s final home game of last season in May, and scans showed he suffered the worst kind of cruciate ligament injury.
The midfielder is still not expected to return to first-team football until the New Year, but his rapid progress during his rehabilitation is a massive boost for Sunderland and boss Steve Bruce.
[/URL]
[url]http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/2010/10/21/david-meyler-poised-for-friendly-game-return-72703-27518105/ (http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/2010/10/21/david-meyler-poised-for-friendly-game-return-72703-27518105/#ixzz131kH0x4t)
seanfhear
22/10/2010, 9:21 AM
After a false start, this is the one we've been waiting for. Meyler poised to take part in a behind-closed-doors friendly against Leeds on Tuesday.
[/URL]
[url]http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/2010/10/21/david-meyler-poised-for-friendly-game-return-72703-27518105/ (http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/2010/10/21/david-meyler-poised-for-friendly-game-return-72703-27518105/#ixzz131kH0x4t)Injuries like this just go to show how precarious the career of a professional footballer can be (even these days)
22/10/2010, 9:44 AM
Jaysus, I just hope they are not rushing this kid back too soon. It could destroy his career. I have high hopes he will go on to be a stalwart for Ireland for years to come.
dr_peepee
22/10/2010, 9:57 AM
Ridiculously unlucky timing for him given the break Green was afforded since.. Hope he picks up where he left off!!!
Crosby87
22/10/2010, 11:39 AM
I also hope they are not rushing him back from what is described in that article as "The worst kind of ACL injury."
Dr Peepee, what's your medical diagnosis?
22/10/2010, 11:58 AM
To be fair to Doc, he is more into the science of forensics
http://sites.google.com/site/targetpg/028.jpg
26/10/2010, 4:32 PM
Sunderland chief Steve Bruce has praised David Meyler's "staggering" recovery after the midfielder returned to full training.
Meyler, 21, sustained cruciate ligament damage during Sunderland's final home game of the 2009-10 season against Manchester United in May.
The Eire under-21 international has spent six months out and defied all expectations with the speed of his recovery.
But his hard work has paid off and the ultra-fit midfielder is back out on the training ground taking part in full sessions with his team-mates.
"It's staggering to see David back training with us now when you consider the extent of his injury," said Bruce.
"It's really nice to see him and it's incredible when you think that he has been out for almost six months but has only missed nine league games."
He added: "If anyone was going to come back ahead of schedule it would be David, due to the way he applies himself and his determination.
"He's worked around the clock to get himself back in good physical condition."
And Bruce is hoping to have his young charge back in action as soon as next week, as he revealed:
"The reserves have a home game against Liverpool next Tuesday and I would expect he will take part."http://www.safc.com/news/20101026/meyler-back-in-action_2256213_2197415
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 4:45 PM
And Bruce is hoping to have his young charge back in action as soon as next week, as he revealed:
"The reserves have a home game against Liverpool next Tuesday and I would expect he will take part."
Incredible stuff.
I can remember the same man saying the injury was about as bad as it could be around the time it happened. Hopefully there are no complications or setbacks now. Rate this guy very highly.
Docboy
26/10/2010, 5:18 PM
Yeah, have to admit that I loved his little spat with Barry last year during their game versus City. More than a touch of the Keano about him at that moment.
youngirish
26/10/2010, 5:25 PM
Amazed he's back so quickly. Hopefully he's eased back into the team. I fear a recurrence if he pushes himself too soon, too quickly but I'm sure the club and Bruce will be as cautious as they need to be.
Billy Clarke has a similar injury. It would be nice to see him back a little sooner than expected as it looks like he'll miss the entire season.
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 8:12 PM
Yeah, have to admit that I loved his little spat with Barry last year during their game versus City. More than a touch of the Keano about him at that moment.
He's got his stamina too. If I'm not mistaken he broke some record for distance covered during a game last season.
Colbert Report
27/10/2010, 4:00 AM
I know a close personal friend of Meyler's who told me that he was training as far back as July!
27/10/2010, 8:57 AM
I keep thinking of the passage in Roy Keane's autobiography where he's recovering from a similar injury, and a fellow football with the same injury comes to see him (possibly Lee Sharpe?) and says he'll be back training far ahead of schedule. So Keane questions his physio should he be where the other professional is, and the physio says he's out of his mind to be doing any kind of exercise like that at this stage of his recovery.
27/10/2010, 12:07 PM
I keep thinking of the passage in Roy Keane's autobiography where he's recovering from a similar injury, and a fellow football with the same injury comes to see him (possibly Lee Sharpe?) and says he'll be back training far ahead of schedule. So Keane questions his physio should he be where the other professional is, and the physio says he's out of his mind to be doing any kind of exercise like that at this stage of his recovery.
yes, but that was well over 10 years ago. when i started playing a cruciate injury was the end of your playing days but i know a couple of lads who were back training (at junior football level) well within 6 months about 6 years ago. the rehab work they know about now is light years ahead of keanes injury time
27/10/2010, 2:53 PM
I know a close personal friend of Meyler's who told me that he was training as far back as July!
According to the Sunderland boards he's been training all summer down the city's nightclubs.
Ozymandias
28/10/2010, 11:07 AM
According to the Sunderland boards he's been training all summer down the city's nightclubs.
wouldn't wish that on anyone....there as rough as a bears arse..the nightclubs that is
28/10/2010, 11:19 AM
I haven't a clue about Sunderland message board but I suspect 10 rumours about players for a penny, would be a rip off.
Bruce still thinks it could take up to the end of the season before he makes the first team.
28/10/2010, 11:21 AM
wouldn't wish that on anyone....there as rough as a bears arse..the nightclubs that is
yep they sure are, they are a very different breed altogether up there.
AlaskaFox
28/10/2010, 7:16 PM
He's got his stamina too. If I'm not mistaken he broke some record for distance covered during a game last season.
"Meyler made headlines for all the right reasons last season. He broke the Premiership record for distance covered in a match. Meyler then went out the next week and broke his own record! Steve Bruce is said to have been stunned when he studied Meyler’s ProZone stats."
From here:
http://greenscene.me/2010/10/david-meyler-set-to-return-from-injury/
Sullivinho
28/10/2010, 8:42 PM
"Meyler made headlines for all the right reasons last season. He broke the Premiership record for distance covered in a match. Meyler then went out the next week and broke his own record! Steve Bruce is said to have been stunned when he studied Meyler’s ProZone stats."
From here:
http://greenscene.me/2010/10/david-meyler-set-to-return-from-injury/
Cheers for that. :good:He's a right lazy ba**ard by the sound of it!
theworm2345
02/11/2010, 11:31 PM
Meyler made his return for the reserves tonight, playing 30 minutes
http://www.safc.com/news/20101102/luckless-reserves-slip-to-defeat-_2256213_2205792
As planned, David Meyler was replaced after 30 minutes after a steady comeback from long term injury. The midfielder showed his usual determination to win every ball, making a few brilliant sliding tackles and showing great bursts of pace when needed. Meyler was replaced by Nathan Wilson who pushed up plenty to support Healy in attack.
Sullivinho
02/11/2010, 11:34 PM
..making a few brilliant sliding tackles..
Yikes. Steady on Dave, that's what got you into bother in the first place!
CraftyToePoke
02/11/2010, 11:38 PM
Meyler made his return for the reserves tonight, playing 30 minutes
http://www.safc.com/news/20101102/luckless-reserves-slip-to-defeat-_2256213_2205792
Great news, Norway squad? Probably not, I realise, but on his showings late last season, if there ever was a case for fast tracking to the senior side, he is it.
irishfan86
02/11/2010, 11:46 PM
Yeah Crafty, Norway is definitely too soon unless he's only brought in for some light stuff. Probably best for him to complete his comeback with his club. Once he's back in the first team frame and fully fit, then he can join in with the senior team.
The last thing we need is him trying 100% when he's not fully there yet and overdoing it.
03/11/2010, 12:22 AM
Yeah, 30 minutes in a reserve match suggests they're taking it very slowly, which is 100% the right approach, and he will likely not even return for the first team before the Norway friendly. He definitely has the right manager in Steve Bruce on that score.
AlaskaFox
03/11/2010, 8:24 AM
It'd be nice to bring him along to train with Ireland ahead of the Norway game though.
CraftyToePoke
03/11/2010, 10:56 AM
It'd be nice to bring him along to train with Ireland ahead of the Norway game though.
Yeah, agreed. This is more like what I was trying to say originally.
03/11/2010, 12:13 PM
I'd have thought it'd be better for him to stay at Sunderland and integrate himself back into the team.
03/11/2010, 1:10 PM
I'd agree, there is little point in bringing him over for the squad sessions.
03/11/2010, 3:01 PM
There is, because as we know, not being in the squad in Traps logic, is reason for not being picked further down the line in important fixtures.
03/11/2010, 3:29 PM
Well thank you Paul and lets explore this logic a teeny weeny bit more.
If in your mind, Trap is not going to pick Meyler later on (presumably after getting into the first team at Sunderland), why on earth would he pick him now - a recovering cripple?
03/11/2010, 3:51 PM
Well, he loves to impart his knowledge and how he wants the team/game to be played by having players there, as he says he little time to impress himself and his strategy onto the players because they don't get together very often or for long periods of time. If meyler could at least be there to learn what Trap expects from him then by Traps previous form, he would then be included in future squads, even if he doesn't play very often(like kelly/foley for example).
I'm not saying its the right thing to do/but whatever gets him in future squads is what im worried about....
03/11/2010, 4:23 PM
Meyler's not going to get back to full fitness sitting on a plane. His interests at this moment in time are best served by sticking with his club and easing back into his club's structured sessions. I really can't see Trap disrupting that.
Sullivinho
03/11/2010, 7:40 PM
I'm not saying its the right thing to do/but whatever gets him in future squads is what im worried about....
I wouldn't worry about that too much. The guy is everything Trap looks for in a central midfielder, not least the mentalitee.
In an alternate universe, Meyler never suffered that injury and we never heard of Paul Green.
03/11/2010, 9:32 PM
Meyler has never let Trap down so his future is safe if he gets fit and regains form.
theworm2345
03/11/2010, 10:29 PM
Meyler has never let Trap down so his future is safe if he gets fit and regains form.
Lets just hope he doesn't play guitar :o
tommy_c12000
02/12/2010, 12:49 AM
Going from strength to strength according to his reserve team coach. Starred in Monday night's 3-1 Reserve win over Chelsea. Great to see it. Hopefully he will be touching on first team action before long. With McCarthy and Clark's emergence, the Irish midfield looks a lot more promising.
Article: http://www.safc.com/news/20101130/david-is-gaining-ground_2256213_2233742
Match Report: http://www.safc.com/news/20101129/reserves-notch-chelsea-win_2256213_2233526
02/12/2010, 4:47 PM
Remember.Clark is not a midfielder...8-O
he is just playing there for a bit of craic.
Paddy Garcia
02/12/2010, 8:15 PM
Remember.Clark is not a midfielder...8-O
he is just playing there for a bit of craic.
There's three of them at that - what with Green & Whelan.
The Fly
02/12/2010, 8:30 PM
http://www.sport.co.uk/news/Football/47570/The_next_big_thing_at_Sunderland_David_Meyler.aspx
05/12/2010, 1:41 AM
On the bench tomorrow v West Ham
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1335619/David-Meyler-set-extraordinary-return-Sunderland-bench.html?ito=feeds-newsxml
The Fly
05/12/2010, 4:35 AM
Does anyone else find Meyler's recovey to be worryingly quick?
05/12/2010, 4:46 AM
I would except I know how cautious Steve Bruce is and I really don't think he'd bring him back unless he was sure there was very little risk in it.
05/12/2010, 9:26 AM
Amazingly quick recovery from such a serious injury.
Paddy Garcia
05/12/2010, 2:43 PM
I dont think he made the bench.
TheBoss
05/12/2010, 2:44 PM
I dont think he made the bench.
Not there
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/9236003.stm
05/12/2010, 5:14 PM
No harm in that. His attitude seems to be spot on which is the main thing. A lot of games coming up over Christmas so I'm sure injuries will press him into action at some stage.
Crosby87
06/12/2010, 12:27 AM
Does anyone else find Meyler's recovey to be worryingly quick?
In fairness Fly, not having a go at ya, we have talked about this I think maybe one million times on here and certainly more in other subjects...
The difficulty of recovering from that injury to play, let's say, football, is vastly different from case to case. VASTLY different.
But they are getting way better at it.
There are a TON of different situations people can have when they injure that "area" of the body.
As far as Football goes, as discussed, it was a good sport for that particular part of the body. In his exact case...
It is different from "Tearing the knee" or even if he had played Quarterback for Ohio State.
They would NOT rush his injury, it makes 0% economic sense.
This has been...discussed at length.