01/12/2013, 3:03 PM
he is doing well mid table club!!

DeLorean
01/12/2013, 4:30 PM
http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/meyler.gif

01/12/2013, 5:21 PM
http://lh6.ggpht.com/-0ZJiz606Ljs/UptXF9KDCFI/AAAAAAAAA58/977Kk5617_w/s0/meow.gif

harry crumb
01/12/2013, 9:50 PM
Thought he was a bit of a passenger but that goal is probably the highlight his career so far.

Cracking finish in fairness.

01/12/2013, 9:55 PM
I thought he played very well. Any time Brady went forward looking for action, he dropped back to take his place at left back. He's a very impressive player I think and will benefit from a run of games alongside classy players like Huddlestone.

01/12/2013, 10:17 PM
Ya he was average in what I saw too. Great finish though.hopefully he can improve between Now and March.

harry crumb
01/12/2013, 10:32 PM
Just that I've seen him and he can really be an infectious player with this entusiasm. Today he was very standoffish....

Great that he has added goals to his game.

Shows that he is getting better.

01/12/2013, 11:14 PM
Ya he was average in what I saw too. Great finish though.hopefully he can improve between Now and March.

Wow. I wonder sometimes what people want from our players and if there is no understanding of the roles that players are asked to play. I watched the whole game and he and Huddlestone bossed Liverpool around in an unfussy but effective way. He held his defensive positions well, he picked simple passes and overall was very good. Would love to see him given a decent chance in an Irish jersey.

What aspect of his game is he supposed to improve between now and March, Paul?

01/12/2013, 11:16 PM
Well, he's added one goal. I think he was standoffish because that was the tactic require for this game, against a Liverpool aside who have a lot of the ball but don't create much, plus with Huddlestone and Livermore he would always be the defensive player.

ArdeeBhoy
02/12/2013, 12:20 AM
Not sure what his best position is in midfield, but at least as much use as Whelan?

02/12/2013, 1:43 AM
He also got an assist, a neat pass to set up the player who got the first goal.
From what I saw of him on the highlights he did nothing wrong and a lot right, some of the comments were IIRC, "neat touch from Meyler" and "fantastic ball from Meyler"
which is not bad going really given the highlights were only about 10 minutes.
So not at all bad against a team who would have been joint 2nd had they won.

02/12/2013, 7:25 AM
Wow. I wonder sometimes what people want from our players and if there is no understanding of the roles that players are asked to play. I watched the whole game and he and Huddlestone bossed Liverpool around in an unfussy but effective way. He held his defensive positions well, he picked simple passes and overall was very good. Would love to see him given a decent chance in an Irish jersey.

What aspect of his game is he supposed to improve between now and March, Paul?

My oracle has told me that in some unknown time in the future, this will happen,
"he's an average player, I told you people that he was average but you idiots who live a green bubble just didn't listen to me"
or "he's an improved player, I told you he had to work on parts of his game and he followed my advice".

02/12/2013, 9:50 AM
I thought he was a lot like how our midfield played under Trap, the standoffishness of McCarthy and the passing of Whelan. Which Whelan do we all prefer now? I certainly prefer the one I've seen since Trap has gone.

I want our midfield players to be able control the tempo and pace of the game, set the rest of the team up. IF Meyler in the future can't do that then if Hull go down we wont see him back in the Premiership - unless of course Hull or some other champsionship team that went in for him got promoted again.

Obviously though its great that he is getting a run of games in the Hull team, and hopefully that continues, but I think he needs to become a bit bossier and more like he used to be in the games I saw for sunderland where he was a more box to box player. It doesn't matter if he is more defensive or whatever, he can still bring this attribute to his game.

ArdeeBhoy
02/12/2013, 10:23 AM
Surely he's better for 'Ull than he ever was for the Mackems?

02/12/2013, 11:41 AM
Not sure what his best position is in midfield, but at least as much use as Whelan?In fairness to Whelan he has been a different player since Trap left.

I still have my doubts about how could Meyler could eventually become but on MOTD last night he did nothing wrong and plenty right. Very encouraging and I hope he can build on this.

02/12/2013, 2:21 PM
My oracle has told me that in some unknown time in the future, this will happen,
"he's an average player, I told you people that he was average but you idiots who live a green bubble just didn't listen to me"
or "he's an improved player, I told you he had to work on parts of his game and he followed my advice".

"everyone actually at the game and that I spoke to offline said the same thing as well" :D

DeLorean
02/12/2013, 2:27 PM
In fairness to Whelan he has been a different player since Trap left.

I can't help feel a sense of irony when reading this seeing as Whelan was Trap's undroppable golden boy. I'm not sure I really agree with it all that much either though but he did do a reasonably good job out of position in Cologne.

Fixer82
02/12/2013, 3:28 PM
I've always thought Whelan looks a better player in the Premiership than he did in a green jersey. I put it down to 'international football doesn't suit him'.
But since Trap has gone I see the type of player I recognise from Stoke ans he seems much more comfortable in his game

02/12/2013, 11:05 PM
Just been looking at a Hull City Forum MOM nominations, Meyler got quite a few mentions but it looks as though a few others
got more.

Here is one supporters opinion:-

1 Meyler - broke up Liverpool's attacking play numerous times when we risked being over-run in the first half. Speed, coverage, great timing. Possibly his best match for us.

Alex Bruce was probably the most popular choice, Meyler was probably 3rd or 4th choice. Bruce had played for ROI but was allowed to switch to NI as he had only
played friendly games, he has only played one friendly for NI so technically he could switch back!!!

03/12/2013, 12:17 PM
"everyone actually at the game and that I spoke to offline said the same thing as well" :D

Jest at your peril :D The reality of the situation is one of you are marooned on the island and the other some obscure place far removed from the realities of Irish football. Ye don't go to games and interact with fans of the national team on a regular basis, granted everyone has their own opinion, as I do, I just know that mine is definitely in tune with the average joe you meet at the games. :-)

03/12/2013, 1:36 PM
I would run kicking and screaming and yelling from anything you hear from the average Joe you meet at the games.

03/12/2013, 2:47 PM
Jest at your peril :D The reality of the situation is one of you are marooned on the island and the other some obscure place far removed from the realities of Irish football. Ye don't go to games and interact with fans of the national team on a regular basis, granted everyone has their own opinion, as I do, I just know that mine is definitely in tune with the average joe you meet at the games. :-)

Bolded bit - is just not true. Not today when I am engaging on a daily basis with all manner of fans and opinions on all matters related to Ireland and, in particular, Irish football. To suggest that you have a greater understanding of things because you are closer to home is such an inaccurate and arrogant disposition. I would imagine you are about as removed from the realities of Irish football by being marooned in England as I am being marooned in the armpit of Canada.

Underlined bit - so what? I spent years going to games home and away interacting with all sorts of people and I still made up my own mind and held my own opinions based on what I saw. You weren't rolling out this lame point when you were agreeing with me about Trappatoni needing to go. The misplaced arrogance in these arguments that you like to roll out from time to time is astounding. In fact, how can you pass judgement on any players ability or lack thereof unless, by your own standard, you attend in person every game they play and interact with the fans of the clubs on the ability of each of those players? Its a bizarre position to take.

03/12/2013, 5:30 PM
Bolded bit - is just not true. Not today when I am engaging on a daily basis with all manner of fans and opinions on all matters related to Ireland and, in particular, Irish football. To suggest that you have a greater understanding of things because you are closer to home is such an inaccurate and arrogant disposition. I would imagine you are about as removed from the realities of Irish football by being marooned in England as I am being marooned in the armpit of Canada.

It has nothing to do with arrogance, I mentioned before i lived away for a year in the States, and as much I might try see as many games and read as much as I could online or wherever possible, you are still most certainly out of touch. You can see it with many of the posters on here as well with some of the strange and bizare and plain wrong assessments of tactics or players or whatever else. If you think what the main stay average poster on here, is in touch with what the rest of the Irish public who support the national team think then you are mistaken. I could name a handful here who would have the same opinion as anyone I talk to offline. Mock it as you will but I regard expierences offline far more than I do on here. I enjoy discussion on here, but I wouldn't take it half as seriously as talking to those I engage with regularly offline related to football. What I do fine strange on here is how far or polar opinions can be when its generally as clear as the light of day most often than not.

I can't say I know anything about my local team at home other than what I read on their facebook page or speak to a couple of lads, as much as I might like to I don't,because i dont go to games and im not involved in a consistent manner in anyway with the team. Its a smaller scale but it resonates just the same.

03/12/2013, 6:16 PM
This message board is not my only source for debate or analysis of football and life, Paul. I have many multiple forums for that including my family and friends in Ireland. Or are they out of touch too? I am as much "in touch" with everything going on in Ireland, from politics and economics right through to football, as you are. How informed I choose to be on any given issue is no different to how informed I chose to be when I was in Ireland and is dependent on my interest in the issue and my opinions are not validated or changed based on water cooler chit chat or pub debates.

With regards to mocking, I am not mocking the value you place in your experiences - I am mocking the fact that you think that anyone else on foot.ie takes the opinions expressed here in any more serious a way than you do. At the end of the day, just like me, you're just another person talking sh!t.

03/12/2013, 6:22 PM
I actually included you in the handful skstu so dont be so upset ;-)

Precisely.one man's treasured opinion is another mans trash...just some trash is a lot stinkier than others ;-)

03/12/2013, 8:32 PM

Precisely.one man's treasured opinion is another mans trash...just some trash is a lot stinkier than others ;-)
and some trash is only so much bull****

03/12/2013, 8:54 PM
Out of nowhere, tets throws down the gauntlet!

SwanVsDalton
03/12/2013, 9:25 PM

'Application into the POS Credibility Club...'

http://www.thebdf.co.uk/sites/default/files/approved.png

*high fives*

03/12/2013, 9:28 PM
Total bull but priceless entertainment value from Paul.
Hard to top the upsides to the online world.

Junior
04/12/2013, 9:21 AM
Paul, Please tell me I'm not in that handful. Christmas would be ruined for me.

04/12/2013, 9:42 AM
No, keano is though, the only sensible one out of that group!

04/12/2013, 10:31 AM
'Application into the POS Credibility Club...'

http://www.thebdf.co.uk/sites/default/files/approved.png

*high fives*
They are known by their manbag attire.

04/12/2013, 2:57 PM
Total bull but priceless entertainment value from Paul.
Hard to top the upsides to the online world.

Its like turkeys voting for christmas.

26/12/2013, 12:06 PM
Sort of goal to put Hull 2-0 up at home to Manchester United. Evans came him cracks from 6 yards out before finally taking matters into his own hands and putting it past his own keeper.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/12/2013, 12:23 PM
What on earth is going on? I'll tell you what's going on, all right! Manchester United are all over the place and Hull lead the champions by two goals to nil! The state of this goal, though. Dear lord, what risible defending from United. They are struggling to cope with Hull's energy from midfield and the impressive Meyler broke away from Cleverley and Fletcher, before lobbing the ball over the United defence and through to Sagbo. He was just forced wide before he could shoot but he managed to turn the ball into the area, where Livermore made a nuisance of himself. The ball fell to Meyler on the left and he turned it towards the far post, only for Evans to knock it straight back to him. Meyler, sensing his chance, shot from the left but didn't catch it properly - the ball was dribbling towards De Gea at the rate of 2mph, at least until Evans stuck out a foot and diverted it past the United keeper and into the bottom-right corner, the ball dribbling in at the rate of 3mph.

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2013/12/26/1388063679963/6e5f075a-cb83-4bc7-bf5a-35eca589b969-460x276.jpeg Photograph: Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/dec/26/hull-city-v-manchester-united-live-premier-league-report

26/12/2013, 12:40 PM
It's being given as an own goal, but as the original shot was on target I think it's Meyler's.

26/12/2013, 1:05 PM
"they all count"

I've just started watching the game,
Meyler's off injured, is it anything serious?

26/12/2013, 1:20 PM
BBC give the goal to Meyler, didn't see the first half unfortunately, dunno why Meyler is off, but they are a goal down now without him so
I assume it might be an injury but it could also be tactical I guess. Given Man U came back form 2 goals it could well be they felt he was a
weakness, but as I said I have not see the first half.

26/12/2013, 1:54 PM
BBC give the goal to Meyler, didn't see the first half unfortunately, dunno why Meyler is off, but they are a goal down now without him so
I assume it might be an injury but it could also be tactical I guess. Given Man U came back form 2 goals it could well be they felt he was a weakness, but as I said I have not see the first half.
Is there an option you haven't covered?

26/12/2013, 2:47 PM
Is there an option you haven't covered?

Yes there are there several options not covered, but then it's not like I am sitting an exam is it?

Do you have a problem if I don't cover every option?

26/12/2013, 2:52 PM
Turns out a half time Meyler was bundled into the back of a van, which sped off at speed, by masked man.

He's not been see since.

26/12/2013, 2:55 PM
"they all count"

I've just started watching the game,
Meyler's off injured, is it anything serious?
The commentators said he had a problem with his knee but it's just precautionary according to Hull.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/12/2013, 2:55 PM
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-kHfiHYdFTVQ/UKKwtmEiI-I/AAAAAAAACu0/W7IeANlrNhM/s1600/Simpsons-huelga-strike-ultima-salida-springfield-last-exit-jimmy-hoffa.jpg

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/12/2013, 1:40 PM
Looks like the goal is going to Meyler. Any official confirmation yet?

He's out of the Fulham game at the weekend with a knee injury.

Brady, Meyler and Quinn all injured and McShane lost his place in the team due to injury.

The luck of the Irish!

27/12/2013, 3:53 PM
He is listed as a scorer on the Premier league's official site

http://www.premierleague.com/content/premierleague/en-gb/matchday/matches/2013-2014/epl.match-report.html/hull-vs-man-utd

They will be in big trouble missing so many Irish I imagine!!

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/12/2013, 3:59 PM
He is listed as a scorer on the Premier league's official site

http://www.premierleague.com/content/premierleague/en-gb/matchday/matches/2013-2014/epl.match-report.html/hull-vs-man-utd

They will be in big trouble missing so many Irish I imagine!!

Good job January is days away. Conor Henderson can pick up the slack.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/03/2014, 3:28 PM
Alan Pardew sent off for headbutting David Meyler.

You can't make this up....

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/03/2014, 3:49 PM
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/meyler-pardew-headbutt-1339671-Mar2014/

Footage of Pardew's latest display of petulance and Stelling's reaction.

01/03/2014, 3:53 PM
What an idiot. He is in serious trouble.

01/03/2014, 3:55 PM
Just seen tv coverage of the incident. Meyler is obviously astounded by what's just happened.

Idiot indeed.