View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2008/2009
Pages :
[
7]
09/12/2008, 11:01 AM
football365's top 10 players in the Championship: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8750_4611534,00.html
4) Stephen Hunt (Reading)
An unpleasant character he may be, and owner of a remarkably silly hat, but by golly he can play. The Championship is clogged with players you might describe as 'honest' (i.e. they work hard, but have somewhat limited ability), so it is little surprise that Hunt - a man who can play as well as run - stands out. His five goals only tell half the story, and it's his and Jimmy Kebe's contributions from wide that have proved crucial to Reading's strong first half of the season.
2) Kevin Doyle (Reading)
Will always be regarded as a terrific bargain, but that in some ways denigrates what an exceptional player Doyle is. Despite a slightly underwhelming season last year in the Premier League, Doyle is top scorer in the Championship, bagging 15 goals (including two hat-tricks) and lining up plenty more for Hunts Noel and Stephen. If Reading are to bounce straight back to the top flight, it will largely be down to Doyle's goals.
...And five youngsters to watch out for
Sean Scannell (Crystal Palace)
09/12/2008, 3:49 PM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 6th December 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-12-06
Robbie Keane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11957) was an unused substitute for the third time this season
Stephen Ireland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41708) picked up his fifth booking of the season, and his fourth in six games
Andy Reid (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23629) completed 90 minutes for Sunderland for the first time in more than two months
Glen Whelan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=26767) played his first minutes of Premiership football in almost a month
Clinton Morrison (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10566) scored his seventh goal of the season
Paddy McCarthy (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=26769) scored his second of the season, absolute cracker as well
Jon Daly (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=14662) scored his eighth of the season, and third in two games
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 7th December 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-12-07
Marc Wilson (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=45991) made his first appearance in a matchday XVIII for Portsmouth in the Premiership as an unused substitute
Trapattoni was in attandance for the Norwich - Ipswich game, which is joint top for the number of starting Irish players in a game this season with seven
Alan O'Brien (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40591) started his first game since the 23rd August, but has still to complete 90 minutes this season.
Aiden McGeady (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=38265) played his first minutes of football since the 2nd November
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 8th December 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Sean Scannell (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=48096) has not lost a home game he has started for Crystal Palace, but overall Palace are more likely to win if he starts than normal. Palace have won 41% of their games, Scannell has won 55% of his starts
Also, Palace are less likely to lose if Scannell or Paddy McCarthy start. Overall, Palace have lost 33% of their games this season, Scannell has lost 22% of the games he started, McCarthy has lost 26% of his starts
bohsRap
09/12/2008, 7:15 PM
garvan was well below par today distribution wasnt upto his usual high standard...on the other had hoolahan really impressed with his movement and linkup with lita
No I didn't think so, but granted I only watched the first half. He surprised me with his tackling and had some nice touches. Didn't give much ball away.
Paddy Garcia
09/12/2008, 9:21 PM
Lads that Kelly lad i mentioned on here a while ago and informed the Fai was on the bench last night for Liverpool...he is a defender , 6"4
Came on tonight - hey well done for prompting the FAI.
10/12/2008, 8:13 AM
Have to say I've watched Owen Garvan quite a few times before and his performance at the weekend was well below his usual performances.
bwagner
10/12/2008, 8:31 AM
Came on tonight - hey well done for prompting the FAI.
Your welcome Paddy :P but we need Brady to get his bald ass up there and talk to the kid no fecking crap like Kyle Naughton ...@ahh yea talks are going well with the lad and its looking good" lol same week he then played for England under 21s
10/12/2008, 10:15 AM
Eddie Nolan made his debut for Preston, as a first half substitute in their victory over Doncaster last night. He's on loan from Blackburn.
10/12/2008, 11:06 AM
Eddie Nolan made his debut for Preston, as a first half substitute in their victory over Doncaster last night. He's on loan from Blackburn.
He's been there since early October, and only makes his debut now :rolleyes:
According to this - http://www.setanta.com/uk/Articles/Football/2008/10/07/Premier-League-Nolan-joins-Preston/gnid-19385/ - the loan move is for three months, with a view to a permanent deal in January
the doc
10/12/2008, 7:35 PM
He's been there since early October, and only makes his debut now :rolleyes:
According to this - http://www.setanta.com/uk/Articles/Football/2008/10/07/Premier-League-Nolan-joins-Preston/gnid-19385/ - the loan move is for three months, with a view to a permanent deal in January
Did well last night, but has been unable to break into the side, due to the outstanding form of the North West Player of the Year, St Ledger.
Yet despite this Nolan has been called into recent Ireland squads including the recent "B" International!
10/12/2008, 7:44 PM
Did well last night, but has been unable to break into the side, due to the outstanding form of the North West Player of the Year, St Ledger.
Is Nolan not a RB and Ledger CB? Don't see how he is keeping him out of the team...
10/12/2008, 7:49 PM
Any excuse to promote Ledger. :D
SaucyJack
10/12/2008, 7:53 PM
Graham Gartland for Rangers? don't see it happening, but it could be interesting.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=35238
Paddy Garcia
10/12/2008, 10:09 PM
Graham Gartland for Rangers? don't see it happening, but it could be interesting.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=35238
Hey - why not - nothing wrong with living in Shepherds Bush!
11/12/2008, 2:14 AM
Yet despite this Nolan has been called into recent Ireland squads including the recent "B" International!
What about the other centre half at Preston? Is he playing well enough since October to deny Nolan even a substitute appearance?
livehead1
11/12/2008, 10:05 AM
Another 2 goals from Noel Hunt as Reading came from behind to beat Coventry 3-1.
Brady and Tardelli were at the game tonight and had plenty of Irish players to look at.
Kevin Doyle,Stephen Hunt, Noel Hunt & Shane Long for Reading
Kieran Westwood,Jay Tabb, Clinton Morrison, Michael Doyle & Leon Best for Coventry.
I was talking to Leon last week and asked him the story with the Irish underage setup. He said that he was dropped from a squad without any explanation whatsoever and it was quite a while ago. He also went on to say that nobody have contacted him since regarding a call up to any future squad or that he was still in their plans. Shame really as he has just turned 22 and could still have a bright future in the game.
11/12/2008, 10:37 AM
Young Mayo Lad signs for Derby.
http://i33.tinypic.com/28milgo.jpg
Was prominent in a recent FA Youth Cup game
http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/saints/news/3967134.Saints_Youth_through_after_extra_time/
bwagner
12/12/2008, 8:23 AM
Colchester sign Alan Maybury
irishblue
12/12/2008, 9:14 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=uhpu4J23dG0
the next steven gerard
12/12/2008, 11:52 PM
Young Mayo Lad signs for Derby.
http://i33.tinypic.com/28milgo.jpg
Was prominent in a recent FA Youth Cup game
http://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/saints/news/3967134.Saints_Youth_through_after_extra_time/
The secretary claremorris and the place Claire Morris,where many a man has been :D
13/12/2008, 10:51 AM
The secretary claremorris and the place Claire Morris,where many a man has been :D
How the hell did I not spot that first time round. How unusual is that?
irishultra
13/12/2008, 2:20 PM
Goal for McShane.
Assist for Foley.
irishultra
13/12/2008, 3:53 PM
An insane amount of goals today for Irish players. Kevin Foley according to Tony Cottee the 'best player on the pitch'
13/12/2008, 4:49 PM
Mark Yeates scored Colchesters winner at Elland Road against Leeds. Alan Maybury played for Colchester too.
Alan Sheehan apparently missed a very decent chance to equalise for Leeds.
irishfan86
14/12/2008, 9:59 PM
I watched a replay of Preston-Birmingham earlier.
Carsley did very well, and made some potentially goal-saving tackles as usual at the edge of the box. He definitely still seems up for it and would probably suit our system.
For Preston:
Eddie Nolan was the best Irish player in the game. He's a right back and he looks like he could be a real star. He did well in defense, and even better in attack. He made some great off the ball runs and really helped his winger out.
I hardly noticed Sean St. Ledger, but that's a good sign for a centre-half. Made one very good tackle that I can remember. I'd need to see more of him to say one way or another, but at the end of the day he was part of a back 5 that kept a clean sheet against one of the top teams in the league. Commentators seemed keen on him as well.
Stephen Elliott showed some nice touches and turns of skill, but it never really came to anything. It was a very tight game and it wasn't really the kind of open environment he can thrive in. The commentators were saying that he only made the starting lineup due to injury, and the guy who came on for him set up the winner, so he'll probably be dropped for their next match. Overall I wasn't too impressed with him, but hopefully he can re-discover the form that led to his first Ireland call up a few years ago.
Manc Irish Wolf
15/12/2008, 5:47 PM
An insane amount of goals today for Irish players. Kevin Foley according to Tony Cottee the 'best player on the pitch'
Sounds like Foley had an even better game that his usual excellent self at the weekend:
Foley - 9 - The guy is class at everything he does. Solid in the air stopped everything down the right and is so calm under pressure, My Man of the Season nevermind MOTM. The crowd gave him a tremendous roar when he scored
Foley - 10 - MotM. I've never given a 10 before but I don't know how he could better that performance. Absolutely oozes class. His first touch is outstanding and he thinks like a top class player with more years experience than he could possibly have at his age.
Foley - absolutely outstanding performance. I didn't see him make a single mistake, swept everything up at the back, and even looked more dangerous than Kightly going forward. Came close to scoring in the first half, but deservedly got his goal at the end. One of the most complete performances I have ever seen from a Wolves play - MOTM - 10
Foley - 9 - MOM - outstanding
Foley MOTM by a considerable distance - forget Kightly, SEB and Hennessey. We have got something very special on our hands in this guy.
The best right back performance at the Mol by one of ours for a long, long time superb game from Foley
Kevin Foley is without doubt the best right back i have ever seen at Molineux. What a player. We had better go up because the guy oozes class.
Potentially the best right back in England for me.
Already better than Luke Young without a shadow of a doubt.
"Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolv3nsam
The way he brought down the ball at one stage in the second half and kept it was superb. "
That was surreal, I've never known a situation where a player got applause from all four sides of the ground for his first touch! Foley was class and how he hasn't got an Ireland cap yet (I think) is a mystery.
http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=34152
http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=34151
Apologies if this fixation is becoming boring, however you must admit that there aren't many other rightbacks who could reap plaudits like that, irrespective of division.
bohsRap
15/12/2008, 8:40 PM
Apologies if this fixation is becoming boring, however you must admit that there aren't many other rightbacks who could reap plaudits like that, irrespective of division.
I have to say, he sounds like a great prospect. Long may his performances continue.
15/12/2008, 10:17 PM
John O'Flynn scored again for Barnet in a 2-2 home draw at the weekend with Gillingham. He's the club's top scored with 6 league goals in 11 appearances.
http://www.barnetfc.com/page/MatchReport/0,,10431,00.html
15/12/2008, 10:17 PM
http://www.barnetfc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10431~1488614,00.html
Gary Breen has joined Barnet as a player coach
16/12/2008, 7:17 AM
I was flicking through Charlton vs Derby last night and former Irish U19 Rob Elliott made his debut in goals for Charlton. They drew 2-2, conceding a 94th minute equaliser for which he was blameless. I didn't see the first goal.
From the little I did see he looked confident & assertive and he has a huge left footed kick.
It looks like Darren Randolph is out on loan at Hereford but threw his toys out of the pram on hearing that they were interested in another keeper and is unlikely to play for them again.
bwagner
16/12/2008, 8:45 AM
I cant understand why Dean Kiely never gets a game and all he did for them last year. Your another clown is let 3 or 4 goals in every 2 games
16/12/2008, 8:48 AM
I was flicking through Charlton vs Derby last night and former Irish U19 Rob Elliott made his debut in goals for Charlton. They drew 2-2, conceding a 94th minute equaliser for which he was blameless. I didn't see the first goal.
From the little I did see he looked confident & assertive and he has a huge left footed kick.
It looks like Darren Randolph is out on loan at Hereford but threw his toys out of the pram on hearing that they were interested in another keeper and is unlikely to play for them again.
They mightn't have a choice but to play him, or at least put him on the bench: http://www.worcesternews.co.uk/sport/3973546.Turner_facing_fresh_goalkeeping_problem/
I can understand his frustration at hearing that they wanted to sign another keeper, but to refuse to play is just plain stupid
frankbrett
16/12/2008, 9:18 AM
The list of Irish Abroad in the Irish Times includes Simon Cox, who has 16 goals for Swindon this season.
Haven’t seen any other source that suggests he is elibigle. Only 21 years old!
16/12/2008, 9:30 AM
They hardly got him confused with this lad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simon_Cox_%28footballer_born_1984%29)did they?
I remember there were two lads with the same name at Reading. But can't remember who. tetsujin1979 will no doubt have an answer.
Aye must of just got confused.
http://www.oufc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10342~27463,00.html
As is this page? Has him listed as a striker born in 87. I'm getting confused now.
16/12/2008, 10:04 AM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 13th December 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-12-13
Paul McShane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11080) had an interesting afternoon. He scored his first goal of the season, got booked, and then had to be substituted!
Glenn Whelan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=26767) started his first league game since the opening day of the season
Andy Reid (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23629) scored his first of the season
Alan Lee (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=9679) scored his first goal since moving to Crystal Palace
Paul Heffernan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17996) scored his first of the season
Eddie Nolan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=44386) made his first start on loan at Preston, almost two months after joining them on loan
Stephen Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17143) scored his fourth penalty of the season, he's now scored more penalties than goals!
Anthony Stokes (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42483) was introduced for Sheffield United on 80 minutes, and promptly substituted on 9 minutes later!
Similarly Karl Moore (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=49842) was introduced on 60 minutes, and then substituted on 89 minutes
JJ O'Toole (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=47180) scored for the first time since scoring seven times in his opening 11 games of the season
Alan Maybury (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=8906) made his first appearance of the season, after signing a new deal with Colchester
Alan O'Brien (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40591) completed 90 minutes for the first time this season
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 14th December 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-12-14
Shay Given (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=2898) made his 19th start of the season
Damien Duff (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10515) was an unused substitute
Since Shay has played every game this season for Newcastle, his season record is identical to theirs. However, Duff's presence has a much greater impact on the results for the Toon. Duff has won 42% of his home games, whereas Joe Kinnear's side have only won 33% of their home games overall. On the other hand, the Ballyboden winger has yet to start a win away from St James' Park.
Irish Abroad for Monday, 15th December 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
After 21 consecutive games on the bench, Robert Elliot (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40710) played his first league game of the season for Charlton
16/12/2008, 10:13 AM
They hardly got him confused with this lad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simon_Cox_%28footballer_born_1984%29)did they?
I remember there were two lads with the same name at Reading. But can't remember who. tetsujin1979 will no doubt have an answer.
Aye must of just got confused.
http://www.oufc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10342~27463,00.html (http://www.oufc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10342%7E27463,00.html)
As is this page? Has him listed as a striker born in 87. I'm getting confused now.
Can't remember 2 lads at Reading with the same name. There's 2 guys called James O'Connor, one is at Sheffield Wednesday, the other is at Doncaster, and 2 players called Kevin O'Connor, one is at Brentford, the other was at Wolves 2 years ago. He was released, and had a trial with Port Vale in the summer, but I don't know where he is now.
I'd actually never heard of Simon Cox, when I first read it, I thought of Simon Madden.
There's a mention of a Simon Cox with Reading in these articles:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=28501
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=28305
And according to his soccerbase entry - http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=42170 - he started his career with the Royals.
Possibly the same guy?
16/12/2008, 10:17 AM
Can't remember 2 lads at Reading with the same name. There's 2 guys called James O'Connor, one is at Sheffield Wednesday, the other is at Doncaster, and 2 players called Kevin O'Connor, one is at Brentford, the other was at Wolves 2 years ago. He was released, and had a trial with Port Vale in the summer, but I don't know where he is now.
They weren't two Irish lads with the same name, one was Irish and one was English, similiar to David Bell when he was at Rushden & Diamonds. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Rushden_&_Diamonds_F.C._players)
Fairly certain it was Simon Cox I was thinking of.
http://www.btinternet.com/~rfc1871/academy/squads200102.htm (http://www.btinternet.com/%7Erfc1871/academy/squads200102.htm)
Simon Cox is called "senior" to avoid confusion with the Under-15 player of the same name.
16/12/2008, 10:33 AM
The David Bells were both Irish. I think they were nephew/uncle. The Irish born one played for Pats and harps for a bit
17/12/2008, 9:00 AM
From Ipswich Town website:
ipswich Town, Hamilton Academical and St Johnstone have all made contract offers to former Drogheda central defender Graham Gartland, according to reports in the Irish Republic. Last week, TWTD revealed that the Irish B international had been training with the Blues.
The 25-year-old, who was first linked with Town in December 2007, has been granted early release from his Drogheda contract due to the club's major financial problems. Last year's Eircom Premier League champions recently went into examinership (Irish version of administration) having been unable to pay its players.
After TWTD revealed that Gartland had been training at Playford Road, boss Jim Magilton confirmed he had been at the club a fortnight ago, but said the move had not progressed any further than that at that point.
In addition to the interest from Town, Hamilton and St Johnstone, Swedish side Elfsborg are also said to be keen to take Gartland on trial, while fellow Swedes Helsingborg were previously linked.
Gartland played his youth football with Home Farm, where Owen Garvan's father is a coach, before spells as a youth player with Barnsley and Dundee United. He returned to Ireland to play with St Patrick's Athletic and Longford Town, joining Drogheda in 2004.
Last year, the Dubliner caught the eye of several English clubs when he played alongside Town’s Alex Bruce for the Irish B side in a friendly against Scotland.
In addition to his B cap, Gartland has represented the Republic at U14, U16, U18 and U20 levels, and was called into the senior squad for the tour of the US in the summer of 2007 but was forced to drop out due to injury.
Despite the 6ft 1in tall defender's contract coming to an early end, Town would be unable to sign him officially until the transfer window opens in January.
17/12/2008, 10:43 AM
In addition to his B cap, Gartland has represented the Republic at U14, U16, U18 and U20 levels, and was called into the senior squad for the tour of the US in the summer of 2007 but was forced to drop out due to injury.Not quite. He was at a wedding, and left his phone behind him. When the FAI rang him to join the squad, he missed the call! This was confirmed on NewsTalk by one of the board members at the time!
bwagner
17/12/2008, 11:09 AM
whats the latest on S Kelly ???
And why didnt we cap that Mc Ginn lad??
17/12/2008, 11:23 AM
Because he's an above average LOI player, who happens to be from Northern ireland
Oh and gartland wouldn't be in the top 3/4 centre halves in Ireland
irishultra
17/12/2008, 11:33 AM
couldnt disagree more. whose better than him?
17/12/2008, 11:44 AM
Gavin, Maguire, Oman, Burns, Peers
irishultra
17/12/2008, 11:54 AM
Maby on form Gavin yeah but the rest Gartland is better IMO.
17/12/2008, 12:51 PM
whats the latest on S Kelly ???Still nursing a thigh problem. No update on a return. According to a report in September it would be a month before he came back!
He played U-23's for the North, dunno if he played at any other underage levels. Might have something to do with it?
McGinn made his debut for the NI senior international team in their last game (Hungary?)
17/12/2008, 4:16 PM
3 Irish in the Telegraphs
Top 10: January Championship transfer targets (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/top10/3813310/Top-10-January-Championship-transfer-targets.html)
But thats quite regular fare at this stage
4. Kevin Doyle (Reading)
Currently the best player in the Championship, according to the Actim Index, the 25-year-old could very possibly celebrate the new year with Premier League football. As well as brief interest from Spurs, Aston Villa were linked with the striker all summer, but baulked at the £8m fee. That he signed a new contract recently would make him even more expensive. However, his performances so far this season – and 15 goals - could have proved he is worth the price.
5. Stephen Hunt (Reading)
It was Hunt who collided with Petr Cech back in 2006, but the midfielder will be remembered for more than just being the reason that the Chelsea goalkeeper wears a scrum cap. The Actim Index puts him as being the best midfielder in the Championship so far this season. Everton manager David Moyes could be persuaded to offer £6m. Sunderland were reportedly interested a few months ago, but presumably their managerial issues would leave the way open for Everton.
7. Owen Garvan (Ipswich)
Everton and West Ham are tracking this 20-year-old midfielder, who has already been included in Giovanni Trappatoni Ireland squad. Sunderland had been tracking Garvan, but his performances are sure to have alerted other top-flight teams. However, he signed a new three-year contract in the summer which ties him to Portman Road until 2011, so any interested clubs would have to stump up a hefty sum.
Gartland is not a particularly exceptional centre half in eL - as Dodge mentioned above Oman and Burns are better (havent seen enough of the rest). He is prone to losing the rag and making bad tackles/decisions.
That said, i think he could carve out a pretty decent career for himself in the Championship/Scotland.
the doc
17/12/2008, 5:00 PM
I watched a replay of Preston-Birmingham earlier.
Carsley did very well, and made some potentially goal-saving tackles as usual at the edge of the box. He definitely still seems up for it and would probably suit our system.
For Preston:
Eddie Nolan was the best Irish player in the game. He's a right back and he looks like he could be a real star. He did well in defense, and even better in attack. He made some great off the ball runs and really helped his winger out.
I hardly noticed Sean St. Ledger, but that's a good sign for a centre-half. Made one very good tackle that I can remember. I'd need to see more of him to say one way or another, but at the end of the day he was part of a back 5 that kept a clean sheet against one of the top teams in the league. Commentators seemed keen on him as well.
Stephen Elliott showed some nice touches and turns of skill, but it never really came to anything. It was a very tight game and it wasn't really the kind of open environment he can thrive in. The commentators were saying that he only made the starting lineup due to injury, and the guy who came on for him set up the winner, so he'll probably be dropped for their next match. Overall I wasn't too impressed with him, but hopefully he can re-discover the form that led to his first Ireland call up a few years ago.
Try looking at pne-online.net
17/12/2008, 9:54 PM
Shane Lowry on the bench tonight for Villa.
Good to see, but I wouldn'r read too much into it. O'Neill has already said he didn't care about the result, since they're already through to the next round.