View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2008/2009

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

15/10/2008, 11:50 PM
Did you see him play for Brighton? I doubt it!

He was player of the season at Brighton when he was there on loan

the doc
16/10/2008, 7:58 AM
We? I'd never have guessed you were an Ireland fan. :) It won't do you any harm to make posts that don't contain the words St Ledger every now and then. ;)

As I said to you before, McShane was bloody outstanding for Brighton in the Championship.

No doubt you were drooling over McShane's performance last night! Next you will be telling me all about Alex Bruce's wonderful achievements! :eek:

irishfan86
16/10/2008, 8:32 AM
No doubt you were drooling over McShane's performance last night! Next you will be telling me all about Alex Bruce's wonderful achievements! :eek:

I don't really know what you're at.

McShane is an inconsistent and mysterious player.

He can be your best defender or your worst.

He never shies away from things, and this sometimes ends up making him look worse than he is.

You never know how he'll perform, but he'll always be committed.

If you want to judge him on last night, go for it, but I don't believe in judging a player on one game.

I think he was our worst player last night, but there was a night against the Czechs in Croker during our last campaign when he was arguably our best player.

St. Ledger seems to be getting good reviews, and I'd love to see him get a chance to impress in the Poland friendly next month, because I'm not totally convinced with our defensive depth.

Here's my stance on McShane: he is a player who has done well at Championship level to the point where he has earned player of the year accolades.

At premiership level he is unproven. He has had some nightmare games (Everton-Sunderland), and some very good games (impressive by all accounts in the Arsenal-Hull match).

Once he gains some consistency he could develop into quite a player. Remember, he is still very young for a defender. Most peak in their late twenties.

For me, I would have him as cover for centre-half, and in a pinch at right-full during an injury crisis.

To be honest I would have probably gone with Foley or Joey O'Brien (was he injured?) at right-full for this match, but given his form with Hull recently I think Trap was not wrong to go with McShane on this occasion.

It worked out, but he was probably our worst player on the pitch. Doesn't mean he won't work out long-term, but I really don't see him as a full-back.

livehead1
16/10/2008, 9:42 AM
I don't really know what you're at.

McShane is an inconsistent and mysterious player.

He can be your best defender or your worst.

He never shies away from things, and this sometimes ends up making him look worse than he is.

You never know how he'll perform, but he'll always be committed.

If you want to judge him on last night, go for it, but I don't believe in judging a player on one game.

I think he was our worst player last night, but there was a night against the Czechs in Croker during our last campaign when he was arguably our best player.

St. Ledger seems to be getting good reviews, and I'd love to see him get a chance to impress in the Poland friendly next month, because I'm not totally convinced with our defensive depth.

Here's my stance on McShane: he is a player who has done well at Championship level to the point where he has earned player of the year accolades.

At premiership level he is unproven. He has had some nightmare games (Everton-Sunderland), and some very good games (impressive by all accounts in the Arsenal-Hull match).

Once he gains some consistency he could develop into quite a player. Remember, he is still very young for a defender. Most peak in their late twenties.

For me, I would have him as cover for centre-half, and in a pinch at right-full during an injury crisis.

To be honest I would have probably gone with Foley or Joey O'Brien (was he injured?) at right-full for this match, but given his form with Hull recently I think Trap was not wrong to go with McShane on this occasion.

It worked out, but he was probably our worst player on the pitch. Doesn't mean he won't work out long-term, but I really don't see him as a full-back.

I saw him play a couple of times at Brighton and he was very good. I also seem to remember him being absolutely outstanding for Ireland against the Czechs.

irishfan86
16/10/2008, 11:47 AM
I saw him play a couple of times at Brighton and he was very good. I also seem to remember him being absolutely outstanding for Ireland against the Czechs.

I mentioned both of these points within my post. Essentially I said he was a mixed bag, and lacks consistency. I wouldn't exile him from the squad altogether, but he wouldn't be in my first XI at this stage.

16/10/2008, 5:03 PM
No doubt you were drooling over McShane's performance last night!
I think everyone knows I don't rate McShane at right back and would have him as 5th or 6th choice for that position. Beside Richard Dunne in the centre I'd be more than happy with McShane though.

Next you will be telling me all about Alex Bruce's wonderful achievements! :eek:
That seems to be your answer for everything.

dr_peepee
17/10/2008, 9:29 AM
Stokes going on loan to Sheffield Utd

17/10/2008, 10:11 AM
Stokes going on loan to Sheffield Utd

Good move for him IMO, regular football with a competitive side.
Sunderland report on the move: http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=15924
Sheffield United report: http://www.sufc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10418~1423095,00.html
interesting that his loan deal is until January. When the sales are on....

18/10/2008, 11:31 AM
Vennegoor and Samaras are out for 4 and 3 weeks respectively for Celtic. Sheridan might just get a chance now. He's the only striker on the bench today and as we know Strachan rates him highly.

co. down green
18/10/2008, 1:50 PM
Vennegoor and Samaras are out for 4 and 3 weeks respectively for Celtic. Sheridan might just get a chance now. He's the only striker on the bench today and as we know Strachan rates him highly.

Sheridan came on for the last 25 mins. Had a good chance to make it 3-1.

18/10/2008, 5:15 PM
O'Shea introduced for Evra, Gibson still on the bench for United against West Brom.
All United so far, the Baggies can't get out of their own half

theworm2345
18/10/2008, 6:44 PM
Connolly out another month :mad:
http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/Connolly-suffers-new-setback.4606688.jp

the doc
18/10/2008, 8:31 PM
Yet another good performance today and would you believe it Alan Kelly was there too!

http://www.lep.co.uk/pnenews/St-Ledger-hopes-to-catch.4604425.jp

Carrigaline
18/10/2008, 8:36 PM
I see Graham Kavanagh nabbed a goal on his debut today for Carlisle.

FarBeag
18/10/2008, 8:52 PM
Chris McCann scored for Burnley and by all accounts was excellent again to-day. This guy has to be given a chance in the squad.

19/10/2008, 9:20 AM
Sheridan came on for the last 25 mins. Had a good chance to make it 3-1.
He made that chance himself too. Beat his opponent one on one for pace before shooting.

McDonald failed on his own up front yesterday. I wouldn't be surprised to see Sheridan starting against Man Utd on Tuesday!

zackmorris
20/10/2008, 12:50 AM
Hope this link works but Conor Clifford and Paul Murphy both got excellant goals in Chelsea under 18s win over Ipswich:

http://www.talkchelsea.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=2740

20/10/2008, 1:19 AM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 18 October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-10-18
Garry Doherty (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=12910) made his first appearance of the season for Norwich (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1855)
Chris McCann (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41613) scored his third of the season, and second in two games
Stephen Elliott (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=37913) scored his first for Preston (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2054), in his first start for his new club
Stephen Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17143) scored his third penalty of the season, which was also his sixth goal overall and his fourth goal in five games
Graham Kavanagh (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=4066) marked his first home appearance at Carlisle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=643) with a goal
Scott Davies (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46717) scored his fifth goal in nine games, on loan at Aldershot (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=92)

Irish Abroad for Sundate, 20 October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Rory Delap (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=1999) continued his recent good form with his first goal of the season
Anthony Stokes (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42483) came off the bench for his first appearance on loan at Sheffield United (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2328)

I've added recent U-21 call up Anthony Pilkington to the site: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=45924
If there's a big enough demand for it, I'll add his stats for the previous two seasons as well

20/10/2008, 8:33 AM
Hope this link works but Conor Clifford and Paul Murphy both got excellant goals in Chelsea under 18s win over Ipswich:

http://www.talkchelsea.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=2740
That's some goal from Clifford! Not many players would take that shot on.

He seems to be playing the deep playmaking role in midfield.

What a cracker by Murphy too. :eek:

20/10/2008, 9:20 AM
I wouldn't be surprised to see Sheridan starting against Man Utd on Tuesday!
Could happen according to this: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/champions-league/celtics-irish-teenager-backed-to-surprise-reds-1503505.html

20/10/2008, 10:57 PM
Irish Abroad for Monday, 20th October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Richard Dunne (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10583) scored his third OG in three seasons
Stephen Ireland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41708) scored his second goal in two games, his fourth of the season

Added John O'Flynn to this site: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=49962&seasonID=138

irishfan86
21/10/2008, 4:31 AM
Damien Duff had a pretty good game earlier. Did a lot of running as Newcastle played most of the game with 10 men.

Made some nice runs and hit some good balls into the box. He's getting that pace back now.

Stephen Ireland put in a typical performance- invisible for most of the match, and then springs up with the equalizer on a fantastic off the ball run from a Robinho through-ball.

Also nearly scored from a volley from the top of the 18 that a lesser keeper wouldn't have got to.

SHAY!

21/10/2008, 11:55 PM
Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 21st October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Ben Burgess (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=20396) scored his fourth of the season
After coming off the bench at the weekend, Gary Doherty (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=12910) completed 90 minutes for Norwich (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1855) for the first time this season
This was also the time this season that Wes Hoolahan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=43134) started a game that Norwich went on to win
Kevin Doyle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41354) scored his ninth of the season, in just 12 starts. Strangely, every one of those goals has been scored at the Madejski
JJ O'Toole (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=47180) notched his sixth of the campaign so far, almost a month to the day since his last goal
Lee Frecklington (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=36619) scored his first goal away from home, the previous two came Sincil Bank
Cillian Sheridan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46153) came off the bench for the third time this season, every one of these appearances has been away from Celtic Park. He's never even been in a matchday XVI for the Bhoys at home

22/10/2008, 11:09 PM
Alright Tets. Have you heard of IMScouting.com?
I registered earlier and it's quiet a good system. Its obviously not a comprehensive a list as yours but it looks a useful resource and one to keep your eye on.

Heres a lad I found on it.
Damien McCrory (http://www.port-vale.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10381%7E43990,00.html) (guardian stats) (http://touchline.onthespot.co.uk/guardian/StatsCentre.asp?Lang=0&CTID=11&CPID=69&pStr=Player&PLID=212146&TEID=467)
On loan at Port Vale from Plymouth (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/p/port_vale/7658957.stm)
He's made a senior appearance so I assume he's eligible for your site.

Anyone know what happened to Denis McLaughlin (http://touchline.onthespot.co.uk/guardian/StatsCentre.asp?Lang=0&CTID=16&CPID=53&pStr=Player&PLID=200824&TEID=1403) (It would appear he's still at Hearts (http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/HeartsNewsDetail/0,,10289%7E1414995,00.html)) and James Simmonds?

Travis Binnion (http://touchline.onthespot.co.uk/guardian/StatsCentre.asp?Lang=0&CTID=55&CPID=72&pStr=Player&PLID=208783&TEID=6774) has gone to Finland

23/10/2008, 9:18 AM
Alright Tets. Have you heard of IMScouting.com?
I registered earlier and it's quiet a good system. Its obviously not a comprehensive a list as yours but it looks a useful resource and one to keep your eye on.
No, I hadn't heard of that, looks an interesting site though. I use Football Talent Spotter - http://www.footballtalentspotter.com - which is along the same lines

Heres a lad I found on it.
Damien McCrory (http://www.port-vale.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10381%7E43990,00.html) (guardian stats) (http://touchline.onthespot.co.uk/guardian/StatsCentre.asp?Lang=0&CTID=11&CPID=69&pStr=Player&PLID=212146&TEID=467)
On loan at Port Vale from Plymouth (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/p/port_vale/7658957.stm)
He's made a senior appearance so I assume he's eligible for your site.Yep, I'll add him in today's update. Thanks for that. He's played for the U-19's a few times

Anyone know what happened to Denis McLaughlin (http://touchline.onthespot.co.uk/guardian/StatsCentre.asp?Lang=0&CTID=16&CPID=53&pStr=Player&PLID=200824&TEID=1403) (It would appear he's still at Hearts (http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/HeartsNewsDetail/0,,10289%7E1414995,00.html)) and James Simmonds?
There's a mention of him in this pre-match reserve build up from a few weeks ago here: http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/HeartsNewsDetail/0,,10289~1414995,00.html So it looks like he is still at Hearts
Simmonds was released by Chelsea in August - http://www.chelseafc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10268~1372331,00.html (http://www.chelseafc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10268%7E1372331,00.html) - but for some reason, Cardiff City still have his profile on their website - http://www.cardiffcityfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10335~38190,00.html (http://www.cardiffcityfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10335%7E38190,00.html) -

Travis Binnion has gone to FinlandEvery time I read his name, all I see is Travis Bickle :D

23/10/2008, 9:19 AM
Irish Abroad for Wednesday, 22 October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
After scoring a penalty at the weekend, Scott Davies (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46717) missed one for Aldershot (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=92) against Chesterfield (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=656)
Robbie Keane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11957) scored his second of the season, both coming in the Champions League

Added Plymouth (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2036)'s Damien McCrory (currently on loan at Port Vale (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2083)) to the site: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=50093
If anyone has his correct date of birth, could you let me know, and I'll correct the information on the site?

26/10/2008, 9:51 PM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 25th October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-10-25
Ben Burgess (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=20396) scored his second in two games
Andy Reid (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23629) was a late substitute for Sunderland. Trapattoni has been criticised for not playing Reid. Roy Keane has only started him in one league game since August
In an eventful game at Home Park, Owen Garvan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40419) scored twice and was booked, while David Norris (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=19144) was sent off
Clinton Morrison (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10566) scored his third of the season, his first in the league
Thomas Butler (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=14777) scored his first of the season
Mark Yeates (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=35004) scored his second brace, both came at home
Congratulations to Cillian Sheridan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46153) on scoring his first goal in his first start for Celtic
Congratulations to Roy O'Donovan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=47075) on scoring his first goal in British football in his 26th game across the water

Irish Abroad for Sunday, 26th October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Glen Whelan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=26767) made his first league appearance since the opening day of the season
Robbie Keane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11957) was substituted for the tenth time this season, he's completed 90 minutes only twice this season

Manc Irish Wolf
27/10/2008, 3:35 PM
17 Year Old Centrehalf called Sean Morrison coming through for Swindon. Scored on Saturday and appears to be rated by Malpas who presumably took him with him from his previous club (Plymouth). Could be one for the youth team bosses to keep an eye on as he's young to breakthrough (Has anybody had any joy on contacting the FAI on potential players? If so, have you got an email address?).

Also Foley, Butler and Garvan in Sun Championship Team of the Week with Foley again getting rave reviews for his consistently quality performances including two goal line clearances on Saturday. Appears that Brady was watching him on Saturday so will hopefully get his chance against Poland:

http://www.expressandstar.com/2008/10/27/foley-tipped-to-win-first-cap/

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=32699

27/10/2008, 4:06 PM
Also Foley, Butler and Garvan in Sun Championship Team of the Week with Foley again getting rave reviews for his consistently quality performances including two goal line clearances on Saturday. Appears that Brady was watching him on Saturday so will hopefully get his chance against Poland:

how is Ward doing at left back these days MIW? i heard he was doing great and im just wondering if he has kept up that level of performance?

Manc Irish Wolf
27/10/2008, 5:50 PM
how is Ward doing at left back these days MIW? i heard he was doing great and im just wondering if he has kept up that level of performance?

The team are suffering defensively at the moment (conceede 14 in 5) so he's having a bit of a testing time, however he is relatively new to the position so is still learning. After a great start he hasn't played badly recently, but the problem is that the centre of our defence has been weak so he is getting sucked into cover and his lack of positional sense has begun to show a little bit. Don't think that it's helped that he is getting doubled up on as a potential weak link due to a lack of experience in games, however if he learns to mark his man a bit tighter on crosses he'll be flying. I think he's quality as he's strong, fast, has a good range of passing and has shown that he's got character by bouncing back after being targeted by the boo boys. He's best playing behind an out and winger as he overlaps well, so if he keeps on learning he's definitely one for the future.

Foley is the shining light though - come on leaps and bounds this season and is definitely as good as Irwin and McNamara while they were here (admittedly at the end of their careers). Definitely should be given a chance.

27/10/2008, 9:04 PM
Has anybody had any joy on contacting the FAI on potential players? If so, have you got an email address?
Yeah, I mailed info@fai.ie about a potential player a few years ago. Got a mail back a few weeks later that they had checked him out, and he was unfortunately ineligible

Manc Irish Wolf
28/10/2008, 8:23 AM
Yeah, I mailed info@fai.ie about a potential player a few years ago. Got a mail back a few weeks later that they had checked him out, and he was unfortunately ineligible

Nice one, just emailed them about both him and Naughton at Sheff Utd, so hopefully they will check them out.

bwagner
28/10/2008, 9:34 AM

Who was the lads Tets??

28/10/2008, 9:43 AM
Who was the lads Tets??
It was Ishmael Miller, who was in the reserves at Man City at the time. When he broke into the first team, he was shunted out to the left, despite spending all his time for the reserves scoring all around him as an out and out striker. Did well in the Championship last season with West Brom, in and out of the first team so far. Wasn't bad at the weekend against Hull I thought.

bwagner
28/10/2008, 10:43 AM
Ahh yea I know the lad, I think we should make approaches for any young talented players esp in the defensive areas, Naughton and this Morrison lad but also I think we need to keep a better eye on our own league to.

third policeman
28/10/2008, 3:54 PM
[quote=Manc Irish Wolf;1047680]Also Foley, Butler and Garvan in Sun Championship Team of the Week with Foley again getting rave reviews for his consistently quality performances including two goal line clearances on Saturday. Appears that Brady was watching him on Saturday so will hopefully get his chance against Poland:

Pity he wasn't at the Ipswich game, Garvan's goals were both fantastic strikes. I hope Trap gets to see them on film. Its encouraging that Brady is getting to Championship games as I think that is where our better prospects are playing at the minute. O'Toole, McCann, Walters and St Ledger should also be getting the once over. I think they would all add more to the current squad than the likes of Andrews, Gibson, Whelan and Folan.

Carrigaline
28/10/2008, 7:17 PM
John O'Flynn has nabbed another two goals for Barnet after only 30 minutes.

28/10/2008, 8:47 PM
Duff playing fantastic for the toon tonight, must be in for MOTM?

<EDIT>

He did pick up the MOTM award, just got the champagne in the tunnel

29/10/2008, 9:32 PM
Nice blog post on BBC Sport about Lee Carsely.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/paulfletcher/2008/10/carsley_the_championships_most.html#040141

30/10/2008, 9:19 AM
Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 28th October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-10-28
Owen Garvan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40419) scored his third goal in two games, Ipswich have not lost a game in which he's scored
After opening his league account at the weekend, Clinton Morrison (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10566) scored his second goal in two games
After scoring just once this season so far, John O'Flynn (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=49962) notched two in less than half an hour against Shrewsbury

Irish Abroad for Wednesday, 29th October 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Kevin Kilbane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=4193) started his first game for Wigan in more than a month
Aiden McGeady (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=38265) scored his second of the season

bwagner
31/10/2008, 1:19 PM
There is a lad at Liverpool called Martin Kelly a defender squad number 34...any1 hear of him ??? he 18 and 6 foot 4

Manc Irish Wolf
31/10/2008, 2:13 PM
Got a response back from that info@fai.ie email address with regards to Morrison and Naughton. Apparently Morrison is inelligible, but they are still looking into Naughton (Hope he is elligible as apparently Villa & Spurs have been linked). Fair play to them for the quick response.

bwagner
31/10/2008, 2:35 PM
I sent a email to them just now re Kelly

theworm2345
31/10/2008, 4:04 PM
There is a lad at Liverpool called Martin Kelly a defender squad number 34...any1 hear of him ??? he 18 and 6 foot 4
So am I...

irishfan86
31/10/2008, 4:45 PM
So am I...

So the whole David Connolly obsession was just the logical search for the perfect strike partner to fit the "big man, little man" strategy?

theworm2345
31/10/2008, 4:59 PM
So the whole David Connolly obsession was just the logical search for the perfect strike partner to fit the "big man, little man" strategy?
Hehe no, but you're not the first one to remark on our height difference...and I do play well with someone who is shorter, I've never really had a tall strike partner

Carrigaline
02/11/2008, 9:45 PM
Keith Andrews scored a goal for Blackburn today.

02/11/2008, 11:42 PM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 1st November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-11-01
David Meyler (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=50157) was an unused substitute in his first matchday appearance for Sunderland
Keith Andrews (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17402) scored his first goal in the Premiership
Kevin Doyle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41354) scored his first goals of the season away from the Madjeski stadium, and now has 11 goals in 15 starts
Ben Burgess (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=20396) scored his third goal in four games
Mark Yeates (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=35004) scored his third goal in two games, and his seventh in 17 starts
Similarly, John O'Flynn (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=49962) scored his third in two games for Barnet
Incidentally, this was the third highest goals scored by Irish players in a single day this season with 14 goals. Second were the games on 30 August 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-08-30) with 15 goals, and there were more goals scored by Irish players on the 4th October 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-10-04) than any other day this season so far with 18

Irish Abroad for Sunday, 2nd November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Richard Dunne (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10583) scored his second OG of the season

bwagner
03/11/2008, 1:03 PM
Tony McMahon ???

03/11/2008, 1:05 PM
Tony McMahon ???
bwagner ???