View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2008/2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

26/11/2008, 8:57 AM
Scott Davies scores for Aldershot and Doyle also nets for Reading.

26/11/2008, 10:02 AM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 22 November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-11-22
Stephen Ireland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41708) scored his seventh goal of the season, but only his second at Eastlands
Sean Scannell (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=48096) scored his second of the season, and second in two games
Stephen Quinn (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41911) scored his fourth of the season, Sheffield United have won every one of these games
Gary Doherty was sent off, becoming the twelfth Irish player to be sent off this season in England and Scotland
In total, there were 14 goalscorers today, the second highest of the season so far. The current record is 17 on the 4th October 2008 (http://localhost:8080/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-10-04)

Irish Abroad for Sunday, 23 November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-11-23
Andy Reid (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-11-23) continues his record of losing every home game he's started for Sunderland, curiously he's won every away game he's started
Similarly, Keith Andrews (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerStats.xquery?playerID=17402&seasonID=138) has yet to win an away game he's started for Blackburn, with one draw and three losses in the four games he's started away from Ewood Park

Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 25 November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery
Alex Bruce (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40576) scored his first of the season
Kevin Doyle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41354) scored his 15th goal, in only 19 games. Amazingly, none of these are penalties
Kevin Foley (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=32354) continued his record of winning every game he gets booked in
Michael Liddle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=50551) slipped to his first loss on loan at Carlisle
Scott Davies (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46717) scored his first goal since the 18th of October
Darron Gibson (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42488) made his first appearance in the Champions League

Manc Irish Wolf
26/11/2008, 10:37 PM
More Kevin Foley stalking after Ireland's finest fullback had another storming game against Sheff U. Appears that he is equally adept in Midfield after a tactical switch by Mick at Half Time (A right back and a centre-back the perfect utility man right now). Few comments from fans who got to the game (as opposed to being stranded in traffic):

Foley - 8 - superb positional play again at right-back but gave away a couple of dangerous free-kicks. In central midfield second half he was sublime. Broke forward at every opportunity, tackled, passed well. The guy is quality!

Foley - 8 - What a player this guy is. Steady as ever at fullback and showed some real quality going forward in the 2nd half when he was playing midfield.

Foley – He just gets better and better, dealt well with the aerial bombardment in the first half, then excelled in midfield in the second half. He made numerous dynamic runs into the United penalty area in the second half, using skill and pace that we don’t get to see too often from right back. Given his age I see no reason why he can’t evolve into a central midfielder for Wolves he’s certainly good enough and given that Edwards and Jones may be injured for Saturday I would have no concerns about him playing in midfield with Henry (other than who we play right back). The second best player on the pitch! 9/10

Foley 9: Simply brilliant at full back and in centre midfield. A premier league player in every sense of the word.

Foley - One of the best players i have ever seen in a Wolves shirt - simply magnificent 9.5

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=33608

It's merely a matter of when, not if.

theworm2345
26/11/2008, 11:05 PM
More Kevin Foley stalking after Ireland's finest fullback had another storming game against Sheff U. Appears that he is equally adept in Midfield after a tactical switch by Mick at Half Time (A right back and a centre-back the perfect utility man right now). Few comments from fans who got to the game (as opposed to being stranded in traffic):

Foley - 8 - superb positional play again at right-back but gave away a couple of dangerous free-kicks. In central midfield second half he was sublime. Broke forward at every opportunity, tackled, passed well. The guy is quality!

Foley - 8 - What a player this guy is. Steady as ever at fullback and showed some real quality going forward in the 2nd half when he was playing midfield.

Foley – He just gets better and better, dealt well with the aerial bombardment in the first half, then excelled in midfield in the second half. He made numerous dynamic runs into the United penalty area in the second half, using skill and pace that we don’t get to see too often from right back. Given his age I see no reason why he can’t evolve into a central midfielder for Wolves he’s certainly good enough and given that Edwards and Jones may be injured for Saturday I would have no concerns about him playing in midfield with Henry (other than who we play right back). The second best player on the pitch! 9/10

Foley 9: Simply brilliant at full back and in centre midfield. A premier league player in every sense of the word.

Foley - One of the best players i have ever seen in a Wolves shirt - simply magnificent 9.5

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=33608

It's merely a matter of when, not if.

After Connolly, Keane, Breen, and Ndah of course, right? ;)

bwagner
27/11/2008, 8:07 AM
Lads that Kelly lad i mentioned on here a while ago and informed the Fai was on the bench last night for Liverpool...he is a defender , 6"4

27/11/2008, 10:47 AM
Did the FAI say anything back?

27/11/2008, 10:50 AM
I really wanna check Foley out more after reading a lot of the comments. I have seen him a couple of times but it was B Games etc and he appeared to be in the mold of Finnan and Irwin, would I be right.

bwagner
27/11/2008, 11:09 AM
They did ,they said that they will look into it

zackmorris
27/11/2008, 2:49 PM
Craig Mahon has joined Acrrington Stanley on a month's loan from Wigan.

bwagner
28/11/2008, 9:26 AM
Marc Wilson on the bench for Pompey last night

28/11/2008, 10:56 AM
Marc Wilson on the bench for Pompey last night
Disappointing if he didn't, Portsmouth could only name 6 subs due to injury.

Manc Irish Wolf
28/11/2008, 4:08 PM
I really wanna check Foley out more after reading a lot of the comments. I have seen him a couple of times but it was B Games etc and he appeared to be in the mold of Finnan and Irwin, would I be right.

Foley is the new Finann, who in turn was the new Irwin. Does the simple things well, harries wingers by getting tight, regularly initiates attacks by looking for the ball from the keeper, passes to feet which rarely goes astray and overlaps brilliantly with a great ability to dribble round players. Those factors combined with his quick reflexes which have saved us at least four times through goal-line clearances this season make him our most likeliest candidate for Player of the Season. Best defender I've ever seen down the Molineux by a long shot (some could argue that's not saying much), however I have no fears that he will be a success in the Prem, providing we get there.

Also, if you are looking to get in touch with the FAI - I got a prompt reponse from Gavin Costello GCostello@fai.ie (he probably won't be overjoyed that his email is posted on here - but seems like a sound lad and at least it will get the job done).

theworm2345
28/11/2008, 5:09 PM
Foley is the new Finann, who in turn was the new Irwin. Does the simple things well, harries wingers by getting tight, regularly initiates attacks by looking for the ball from the keeper, passes to feet which rarely goes astray and overlaps brilliantly with a great ability to dribble round players. Those factors combined with his quick reflexes which have saved us at least four times through goal-line clearances this season make him our most likeliest candidate for Player of the Season. Best defender I've ever seen down the Molineux by a long shot (some could argue that's not saying much), however I have no fears that he will be a success in the Prem, providing we get there.

Also, if you are looking to get in touch with the FAI - I got a prompt reponse from Gavin Costello GCostello@fai.ie (he probably won't be overjoyed that his email is posted on here - but seems like a sound lad and at least it will get the job done).
You really are rediculous, worse than I am with Connolly!

Manc Irish Wolf
28/11/2008, 5:31 PM
You really are rediculous, worse than I am with Connolly!

The difference being that Connolly is sh*te.

theworm2345
28/11/2008, 6:30 PM
The difference being that Connolly is sh*te.
If Connolly is ****e Foley is too right now because Connolly has performed extremely well on the same level that Foley has performed well but not as amazingly as you say he has (yes I'm a Wolves supporter). Foley is relatively young though and I certainly hope he gets a chance with Wolves in the EPL next year. If Connolly gets loaned to the CCC this year hopefully you'll see what he can do to Foley (maybe a 4-3 win for Wolves with a Connolly hat trick for the opposing team). As I recall Connolly scored twice against Luton when Foley was there back in 06/07

irishfan86
28/11/2008, 6:59 PM
theworm...I appreciate some of the things you do (capping games, sending me those Irish soccer songs), but I think you'd get a lot more respect around here if you just dropped the whole Connolly thing.

At his peak, he was a decent player, and I was happy to have him in the squad.

Before his latest injury run, he was a good player for Sunderland at Championship level- he still has those poaching instincts, and he's clever enough to bag plenty of goals against those Championship defenders; however, he's hardly played in over a year now, and at his age you've got to think his best days, and almost certainly his Ireland days, are behind him.

I'd like to see him make a miraculous recovery and become one of the best strikers in the world, as it would benefit Ireland, but unfortunately it simply isn't going to happen.

After McAteer left the Ireland scene, and was playing at Tranmere, I still followed him.

I'd read the match reports to see how he was playing, and if he scored.

But I'd never claim that he should be playing for Ireland at that stage, and he wouldn't have either!

By "supporting" Connolly on here like you do, you've probably provoked more vitriol towards the guy than would have existed without your support.

As I say, I enjoy your contributions minus the Connolly bit, and I appreciate what you do on the media front, so please don't take this as a kick in the teeth.

theworm2345
28/11/2008, 7:18 PM
Honestly, I could care less about how much respect I get from people I've never met and likely will never meet. I enjoy reading the opinions of (some) people on this site and find it to be a good source for news on the Irish team. The whole point of a forum is a place where people can express their opinions.

Manc Irish Wolf
29/11/2008, 12:18 AM
The whole point of a forum is a place where people can express their opinions.

In that case heed your own advice. I was merely giving my opinion on a player who I have seen blossom over the course of the last 2 years and who in my "opinion" deserves international recognition. This judgement is based upon watching him play 20 times and reciting the opinions of other Wolves Season Ticket Holders - On what basis do you judge that he hasn't performed as well as I (and they) say he does? I admit that he needs to prove this at a higher level, hence the reason why I am asking him to be given the opportunity; especially as I am confident that he is up to the task.

As for Connolly, personally I think he hit the pinnacle of his career with his move to Feyenoord and has simply been a journeyman ever since. Having seen him play various times, including down the Molineux, whereas he tries he is simply too lightweight.

However that is just my opinion - one that I am entitled to, as are you.

Colbert Report
29/11/2008, 1:58 AM
Honestly, I could care less about how much respect I get from people I've never met and likely will never meet. I enjoy reading the opinions of (some) people on this site and find it to be a good source for news on the Irish team. The whole point of a forum is a place where people can express their opinions.

I've never understood people who say this. Having lived in North America myself for quite a few years, it drives me nuts. Everyone over here says it. It doens't make a lick of sense.

"I couldn't care less" is the correct expression. It means you care so little you couldn't possibly care less. If you say "I could care less" that means you obviously care so much that it would be possible to care less. Think about it. Nobody in Ireland says "I could care less", for everyone would look at you as though you were daft.

theworm2345
29/11/2008, 6:24 AM
In that case heed your own advice. I was merely giving my opinion on a player who I have seen blossom over the course of the last 2 years and who in my "opinion" deserves international recognition. This judgement is based upon watching him play 20 times and reciting the opinions of other Wolves Season Ticket Holders - On what basis do you judge that he hasn't performed as well as I (and they) say he does? I admit that he needs to prove this at a higher level, hence the reason why I am asking him to be given the opportunity; especially as I am confident that he is up to the task.

As for Connolly, personally I think he hit the pinnacle of his career with his move to Feyenoord and has simply been a journeyman ever since. Having seen him play various times, including down the Molineux, whereas he tries he is simply too lightweight.

However that is just my opinion - one that I am entitled to, as are you.
I never said your opinion was worthless or that it was wrong. Anyway I've seen him play live a handful of times (Ireland B or u21s once I think and Wolves when they're on Setanta) as well as highlights. Believe me, I'd love to see Foley go on to be a top right back but he's not there quite yet.

I've never understood people who say this. Having lived in North America myself for quite a few years, it drives me nuts. Everyone over here says it. It doens't make a lick of sense.

"I couldn't care less" is the correct expression. It means you care so little you couldn't possibly care less. If you say "I could care less" that means you obviously care so much that it would be possible to care less. Think about it. Nobody in Ireland says "I could care less", for everyone would look at you as though you were daft.

Er...sorry? Well the Colbert Report drives me nuts so I guess we can call it even :)

29/11/2008, 2:25 PM
Craig Mahon has joined Acrrington Stanley on a month's loan from Wigan.
on the bench today VS Bury

Colbert Report
29/11/2008, 4:52 PM
Stephen Elliott comes on as a sub for Preston and scores within minutes. Great touch, he hit it first time for the opener.

Manc Irish Wolf
30/11/2008, 3:30 PM
Went to the Wolves v Birmingham game yesterday with Stephen Ward playing brilliantly in defence marking James McFadden out of the game - pin-point passing, regular forging runs as well as creating our goal with a run and cross from the byeline. Fans have already set up a thread questioning who the Irish left back is and why Ward isn't being given a chance. With Kilbane having to be content with the odd twenty minutes, the case is growing for my next campaign - "Ward for Left Back" - might not be too long before the pair of them are on the wings of our defence.

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=33752

Fans view of the game yesterday:

ward...im so impressed with him, i was not a fan untill today, worked his nuts off and backed up the wingers with some great runs and foward passes. 9

Ward - 8 - Can not say enough about Ward at the moment. He is playing awesome at left back and supports the forward runs superbly

Ward - Top class today, worked hard got the crowd going, superb football in making the equaliser (9) MOM

Ward - 8 MOM

Ward S- 8 great game, looked good on the rare occasions he went forward

Ward - 9 MOM I thought this was a great fullback performance and made the equaliser with supurb play

Ward - 9. My MOTM. Good defensively, and really made a difference when he got forward. One good overlap in the 1st half and set up the equaliser really well. Any doubters about this guy must still have their heads up their arses. He's a VERY good left back

Ward: Wholeheartedly excellent; very good distribution and a fantastic run from deepin the second half.

Ward: Great stuff. Clearly he's been a left-back filling in at centre-forward all these years. 8

Ward - 9. One of the players of the season and another top notch performance. Added something to our attacking play, which was reinforced with his delightful set-up play for SEB's goal.

Foley had another solid game. Keogh also gave us a bit of life coming on on right wing in 2nd half and kept possession well, although does have a tendency to negatively play the ball back a bit too much, probably as a result of a lack of confidence at the moment.

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=33742

30/11/2008, 6:31 PM
Keogh also gave us a bit of life coming on on right wing in 2nd half and kept possession well, although does have a tendency to negatively play the ball back a bit too much, probably as a result of a lack of confidence at the moment.

http://www.molineuxmix.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=33742
I'd imagine that's because he is a link man upfront, and most definitely not a winger. Most of his play would usually be with his back to goal and would rarely run at the opposition.

Manc Irish Wolf
30/11/2008, 7:03 PM
I'd imagine that's because he is a link man upfront, and most definitely not a winger. Most of his play would usually be with his back to goal and would rarely run at the opposition.

His style of play is not really back to goal either in the traditional target man style as he's not strong enough. If anything he's more reliant on his pace and intelligent runs in to the channels and clever link up play usually while forward facing, however he is not making the same incisive through balls he was making when playing up front a couple of years ago when coming deep, which is why I think confidence is a factor. Problem is that he misses too many chances in front of goal and is currently 4th choice striker. His all-round game is improving from playing on the wings though and he could become an effective midfielder, hopefully in the middle, in the long term, especially as he keeps the ball well. Just needs to assert himself more.

Lee Carsley also played yesterday and was immense. Guarded their back 4 brilliantly and stifled our attacking midfielder (David Jones) so much that he was generaly regarded as our worst player on the pitch with Carsley probably their best. Definitely too good for the Championship and on that viewing could (and probably should) be doing a job for Ireland in the middle.

01/12/2008, 7:24 AM
Great reporting from the Mancman. Thanks.

I never saw Ward for Bohs but saw him and Jay Tabb up front together for the U21s and I'd never have dreamt he'd ever be a left back. Mick tried Daryl Murphy at left back for a bit too at Sunderland I think. Fair play to Mick for spotting it and fair play to Ward for taking his chance. I saw highlights of Saturday's game and he did well for Wolves' equaliser, showing a neat turn of pace which I didn't know he had.

01/12/2008, 8:14 AM
Anybody here of Brendan Moloney who played for Notts Forest on Saturday. According to the link below he is Irish.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=46368

01/12/2008, 8:38 AM
Anybody here of Brendan Moloney who played for Notts Forest on Saturday. According to the link below he is Irish.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=46368
He's a defender, got called into the U-21s earlier in the year: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brendan_Moloney
Was on loan at Chesterfield last season: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46368&seasonID=137

01/12/2008, 8:59 AM
Scored a corker on TV for Chesterfield last year I believe.

bwagner
01/12/2008, 11:45 AM
Update on that Kelly lad, The fai guy got back to me , They spoke with him and he (Kelly) thinks its his great grandparent (which is no good for us) so I think he is still looking into it

01/12/2008, 1:03 PM
Few other loan deal from last friday:
Stack gone to Blackpool until the end of the season: http://www.blackpoolfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10432~1469246,00.html
Damian Scannell (Shaun's brother) gone to Brentford for a month: http://www.brentfordfc.co.uk/page/LatestNews/0,,10421~1468592,00.html
Marc Tierney gone on loan to Colchester: http://www.cu-fc.com/page/News/0,,10424~1468990,00.html

co. down green
01/12/2008, 9:48 PM
Another 2 goals from Noel Hunt as Reading came from behind to beat Coventry 3-1.

Brady and Tardelli were at the game tonight and had plenty of Irish players to look at.

Kevin Doyle,Stephen Hunt, Noel Hunt & Shane Long for Reading

Kieran Westwood,Jay Tabb, Clinton Morrison, Michael Doyle & Leon Best for Coventry.

irishfan86
02/12/2008, 2:31 AM
Did they all play?

02/12/2008, 6:59 AM
Did they know who was Irish?

The Fly
02/12/2008, 1:34 PM
First off, I bet this is one of the weirdest prefaces there has been on here.

I was reading the bio of the Hothouse Flowers on Wiki - don't ask! Anyway at the end it says that in late 2007 band member Peter O'Toole left the band as his son (Doolin) was scouted by Valencia FC.

* Probably a wiki-windup but there you go. I am braced for the ridicule :cool:

02/12/2008, 2:11 PM
Irish Abroad for Satuday, 29th November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-11-29
Liam Miller (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=20718) made his first appearance since 27 September (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-09-27)
After being an unused substitute for the previous four games in a row, Alan Mahon (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=4733) has come off the bench for Burnley for four games in a row
Stephen Elliott (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=37913) scored his third goal since moving to Preston, all of which have come at Deepdale
After a blistering start to the season, JJ O'Toole (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=47180) has faded from the starting XI at Watford. Today he came off the bench for the fifth game in a row.
Congratulations to Craig Mahon (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=50699) on making his league debut, on loan at Accrington Stanley
Jon Daly (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=14662) scored his fifth and sixth goals of the season, Dundee United have won every one of these games
Luton lost the first game in which Michael Spillane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=43110) scored, the Norwich youngster scored his third of the season in the 3-1 loss to Southend

Irish Abroad for Sunday, 30th November 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=138&date=2008-11-30
After starting the previous four games in a row, John O'Shea (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=18121) came off the bench for the first time since the 1st November (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-11-01)
Stephen Ireland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41708) picked up his fourth booking of the season. This was the first one at home, the previous three had been away from Eastlands
Keith Andrews (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17402) made his tenth start of the season, and continued his record of completing every game away from home.
Stephen McPhail (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=13638) was sent off for the second time this season

Irish Abroad for Monday, 1st December 2008:
Robbie Keane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11957) was substituted for the 15th time in 18 starts. He only completed one game in November for Liverpool
Noel Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=34469) scored his ninth and tenth goals of the season. Reading have won every one of these games
In the same game, Stephen Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17143) picked up his second booking of the season

02/12/2008, 2:50 PM
Irish Abroad statistics for November: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/november.xquery
Kevin Foley (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=32354) and Stephen Ward (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46039) strengthened their case for a call up by winning more games than any other players
Keith Andrews (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17402), David Bell (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23804), and Michael Spillane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=43110) all lost the most games
Despite the coverage Robbie Keane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11957) is getting, Noel Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=34469) was substituted more than him
JJ O'Toole (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=47180) and Andy Keogh (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=39039) were both introduced more than any other player
Kevin Doyle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41354) was the top scorer, Jon Daly scored the only penalty by an Irish player in November
Willo Flood (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=36241) and Stephen Ireland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41708) both picked up three bookings

Manc Irish Wolf
03/12/2008, 12:17 PM
Appears that McCarthy has a word with Brady about getting Stephen Ward in the squad......

http://www.expressandstar.com/2008/12/03/ward-tipped-for-republic-glory/

Wolves v QPR on TV on Saturday @ 5.15 on Sky with our future full backs coming head to head (Or alternatively watch Sunderland take a battering at United).

the doc
03/12/2008, 2:29 PM
Appears that McCarthy has a word with Brady about getting Stephen Ward in the squad

I wouldn't hold your breath Mancs! Alan Irvine did the same regards St Ledger, without anything happening.

Although recently Alan Kelly and Mick Martin have turned up at Deepdale. maybe alerted after St Ledger won the North West Player of the year.

For what its worth I think Foley deserves a chance too, but it seems Trapp is not prepared to travel to see players who are doing well, instead taking the easy option and picking the likes of the very poor McShane and Bruce!

My main concern with Trapp is what standard of squad will we be left with once he has taken his money and run?

There seems to be no long term plan or development regards the squad or bringing up and coming players players through, opting instead for brief glory by making it to the World Cup in South Africa.

irishfan86
03/12/2008, 2:42 PM
There seems to be no long term plan or development regards the squad or bringing up and coming players players through, opting instead for brief glory by making it to the World Cup in South Africa.

I've talked about this before:

Keogh, McShane, McGeady, and Gibson are all young players (22 or under) that Trap has in his first team plans.

It's not a matter of him not picking young players, it's a matter of him picking the wrong young players (with the exception of McGeady).

Considering those 4 are in the starting lineup or close to it, I don't think we can claim that Trap has no aims for building for the future.

If I'm being frank, I think we should play our best CURRENT lineup in every qualification game.

Leave the development to the clubs, our national team should be about qualifying, nothing more.

Trap can create a team structure, and he may pass on a tip or two, but a player won't be developed from a solid pro into a superstar by having two weeks of coaching by Trap each year.

the doc
03/12/2008, 6:19 PM
I've talked about this before:

Keogh, McShane, McGeady, and Gibson are all young players (22 or under) that Trap has in his first team plans.

It's not a matter of him not picking young players, it's a matter of him picking the wrong young players (with the exception of McGeady).

Considering those 4 are in the starting lineup or close to it, I don't think we can claim that Trap has no aims for building for the future.

If I'm being frank, I think we should play our best CURRENT lineup in every qualification game.

Leave the development to the clubs, our national team should be about qualifying, nothing more.

Trap can create a team structure, and he may pass on a tip or two, but a player won't be developed from a solid pro into a superstar by having two weeks of coaching by Trap each year.

Thats a fair comment, but what happens if and when we get injuries? what will Trapp do then? Considering he opted against giving other players games in the friendlies and B game.

Tell me this, how come Eddie Nolan gets a game for the B team, and St Ledger doesn't even make the squad.

Strange when you consider that St Ledger is 1st choice at Preston whilst Nolan is only seen as cover.

Trapp and his goons have got it all wrong!

03/12/2008, 7:27 PM
Thats a fair comment, but what happens if and when we get injuries? what will Trapp do then? Considering he opted against giving other players games in the friendlies and B game.

Tell me this, how come Eddie Nolan gets a game for the B team, and St Ledger doesn't even make the squad.

Strange when you consider that St Ledger is 1st choice at Preston whilst Nolan is only seen as cover.

Trapp and his goons have got it all wrong!

If I had to guess, it's because Nolan has played regularly at underage level, and the coaches are familiar with him, whereas they wouldn't know that much about St Ledger

the doc
04/12/2008, 8:45 AM
If I had to guess, it's because Nolan has played regularly at underage level, and the coaches are familiar with him, whereas they wouldn't know that much about St Ledger

So that makes it ok then? Whats that say about the professionalism of our scouting set up then?

04/12/2008, 9:25 AM
So that makes it ok then? Whats that say about the professionalism of our scouting set up then?
Where did I say it was right or wrong? How do you know nobody has been to watch Ledger? There's probably a hundred different reasons why Ledger wasn't called into the squad. Preston lost the previous 4 games in a row before the Forest game, maybe that had something to do with it?

04/12/2008, 12:53 PM
Blackburns Keith Treacy played a full game against Man U last night. Alan Judge was an unused sub.

07/12/2008, 3:54 PM
Trap and Tardelli at Norwich-Ipswich today. Doherty, Hoolahan, Garvan, Norris, Bruce and Walters all started.

Dr. Ogba
07/12/2008, 4:25 PM
Trap and Tardelli at Norwich-Ipswich today. Doherty, Hoolahan, Garvan, Norris, Bruce and Walters all started.

David Bell aslo started but he looked pretty poor playing out of position on the left...

Good to hear Trap and Tardelli finally getting off their ar$es and doing a bit of scouting...

Wexford Delboy
07/12/2008, 11:38 PM
garvan was well below par today distribution wasnt upto his usual high standard...on the other had hoolahan really impressed with his movement and linkup with lita

09/12/2008, 8:55 AM
Steve Claridges latest scouting report is on young Reading Tyro Scott Davies (http://chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46717&seasonID=138), currently on loan at Aldershot town.

Scouting report: Scott Davies, Reading (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2008/dec/08/steve-claridge-scouting-report-scott-davies-reading)

Trying to analyse Scott Davies is like trying to solve an enigma. During the course of a match he can go from playing the role of the protector in front of the back four to being so far forward that he is getting caught offside, such is his eagerness to reach the ball over the top. That is fine as long as Davies, who is currently on loan at Aldershot Town, learns to *balance his game and picks the right time to either hold his position or release himself forward.
In this regard, it should not be forgotten that Davies is still only a lad learning his trade and so will naturally do some really good things mixed with some things that are more ordinary. This was summed up best during Aldershot's 2–0 win against Lincoln at the end of last month when he slashed wildly at a bouncing ball with his weaker left foot and completely missed, before then in the very next move breaking forward, taking a first-time pass in his stride and whipping a fantastic cross into the box with the same foot.
Something that does really stand out about Davies' game is the distance he gets on headers from a standing position. He is also extremely competitive to the point of fearless when challenging for headers on the move. Another real plus of Davies' game is the quality of his dead-ball deliveries, particularly on corners from the left. He is able to whip in a cross with pace and accuracy and it was from such a ball that Andy Sandell scored Aldershot's opening goal against Lincoln on 36 minutes. The quality of the delivery proved too much for Rob Burch in the visitors' net.
Davies' ability to show his opponent one way or the other when defending in central areas according to the information he receives from his defenders is unusual but of great assistance to the people playing behind him. Less so, however, is the fact he only really gets tight to his marker when the opposition enter Aldershot's third of the pitch. This is something he really needs to work on as it can lead to his side losing ground.
But against Lincoln there is no doubt it was Davies' two moments of class, either directly or in*directly, that settled the match.
Having assisted Aldershot's first goal, he then scored their second on 60 minutes — and what a terrific effort it was. Davies followed a long diagonal pass forward from the back, the ball was headed down towards him and he took it into his path with a super first touch before then hitting a brilliant half-volley past the goalkeeper from 12 yards out. It was a goal to grace any match at any level.
Having all but tied up the victory for his side, Davies then concentrated on the more conservative side of his game to make sure Lincoln could not find a way back. He adopted a very deep midfield role to counter the man who had been pushed forward to play just behind the visitors' front two and did a very good job.
At 20 years of age, Davies is very much at the beginning of his career and, as mentioned, has weaknesses to his game that need addressing. But he is undoubtedly on the right path and judging by his manager Gary Waddock's reaction to his goal, the boss for one knows the value of Davies to his team.

09/12/2008, 8:58 AM
He seems to have a thing for Irish players.
Heres Billy Clarkes
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2008/nov/11/darlington-leaguetwofootball