View Full Version : 2008 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

red bellied
07/08/2008, 2:23 PM
Indo Loi average this season
Bohs 1800 approx
St pts 1900 approx
Cork 3200
Derry 2200
Drogheda 1600 approx
Shams 1600
Sligo Rovers 1200
Bray 1500
UCD 400
Galway 1300
Finn Harps 1900
Cobh 1300

07/08/2008, 2:24 PM
You've no idea how good the estimates are if there's no official figures to back it up.

I'm not saying they're 40% wrong and that the Indo is spot on, but I'd say they're still higher than the official figures.

Edit - thanks for that red bellied. UCD's wrong anyway; I get official figures for all games which I assume has to be the basis for this report to carry any credibility. Don't know about the others.

07/08/2008, 2:30 PM
Indo figures for first division:

Dundalk 1300 approx.
Waterford Utd 450
Sporting Fingal 450
Shelbourne 990
Limerick 37 400
Monaghan Utd 175 approx.
Longford Town 500
Athlone Town 407
Wexford Youths 800
Kildare County 250

red bellied
07/08/2008, 2:32 PM
First Division
Dundalk 1300 approx
Waterford 450
Sporting Fingal 450
Shels 990
Limerick 400
Monaghan 175 approx
Longford500
Athlone 407
Wexford 800
Kildare 250

07/08/2008, 2:38 PM
Comparison of actual v Indo figures very quickly. Clubs in bold give official figures for here.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,099 (foot.ie) v 1,800 (Indo)
Bray - 1,400 v 1,500
Cobh - 1,215 v 1,300
Cork - 3,503 v 3,200
Derry - 3,341 v 2,200
Drogheda - 1,800 v 1,600
Harps - 1,869 v 1,900
Galway - 1,300 v 1,300
Pat's - 2,021 v 1,900
Rovers - 1,705 v 1,600
Sligo - 1,927 v 1,200
UCD - 594 v 400

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 407 v 407
Dundalk - 1,268 v 1,300
Kildare - 189 v 250
Limerick - 494 v 500
Longford - 563 v 500
Monaghan - 175 v 175
Shels - 1,010 v 990
Sporting Fingal - 647 v 450
Waterford - 692 v 450
Wexford - 884 v 800

Overall, not too many differences in fairness. I'm missing some recent games (will drop Sporting Fingal down, for example, and bring up Bohs after the Rovers game); most of the official figuers appear good with the exception of UCD, which is confusing!

red bellied
07/08/2008, 2:43 PM
That Derry average doesnt like right either, anytime I am up there is 3000 plus and on the television the crowd always looks decent as well.

07/08/2008, 2:48 PM
That Derry average doesnt like right either, anytime I am up there is 3000 plus and on the television the crowd always looks decent as well.
That's taken from a quote bu the Derry chairman in a statement on their website.

ndrog
07/08/2008, 4:12 PM
explain?:confused:

your fans had bermuda shorts and no tops on , and were jumping up and down like mad yokes for 90 mins ,even when 2 nil down :D very funny actually ,fair play .Drogheda independant has the attendance at 1 ,200 .

sullanefc
07/08/2008, 4:28 PM
One suggestion for some of the discrepencies:

The attendances on here are league averages. The Indos might include cups. I know that Cork City's crowds were much lower in the Setanta cup and we had a league cup attendance of 290 against limerick. :o

On the ccfcforum:

Ave League: 3501
Ave Overall: 3090

Ave Setanta: 2081

07/08/2008, 4:30 PM
Possible. We had two League Cup games and one FAI Cup game against Monaghan which would have taken us way down. Puts a bit of a false tint on the figures really.

deecay
07/08/2008, 6:59 PM
One suggestion for some of the discrepencies:

The attendances on here are league averages. The Indos might include cups. I know that Cork City's crowds were much lower in the Setanta cup and we had a league cup attendance of 290 against limerick. :o

On the ccfcforum:

Ave League: 3501
Ave Overall: 3090

Ave Setanta: 2081
Dosent apply to us

pateen
08/08/2008, 8:39 AM
Hopefully see 4000+ at the cross tonight.

Many Bowes travelling for it, expect 100+, another guesstimate.

SMorgan
08/08/2008, 8:28 PM
1062 at Sporting Fingal v Dundalk according to DundalkFM.

08/08/2008, 9:34 PM
Official attendance at Turners Cross tonight. 4,200+. didn't catch the exact figure.

Paddyfield
08/08/2008, 9:49 PM
1480 GUFC V.UCDD at Terryland Park.

08/08/2008, 9:52 PM
1480 GUFC V.UCDD at Terryland Park.:eek:, what got the crowd out for that?

Paddyfield
08/08/2008, 9:55 PM
:eek:, what got the crowd out for that?

There were over a thousand visiting fans.

SPXcyan
09/08/2008, 12:20 AM
id of thought about 800 for the waterford v limerick game

deecay
09/08/2008, 12:21 AM
3-400 at Bray v Rovers

TheBoss
09/08/2008, 12:25 AM
3-400 at Bray v Rovers

Thats a bit disappointing

sonofstan
09/08/2008, 12:55 AM
Official attendance at Turners Cross tonight. 4,200+. didn't catch the exact figure.

Best part of 200 were us

Lamper.sffc
09/08/2008, 1:42 AM

Was at the game and thats the figure that was announced.

09/08/2008, 1:48 AM
But they don't so please move on.

Nothing to see here...
http://facilprogramacion.es/simpsons/images/Chief_Wiggum.png

adamd164
09/08/2008, 9:41 AM
Best part of 200 were us

Aren't you great? When did you last get 4000 home supporters out for a league game? In fact, between yourselves and Rovers in the local derby did ye even manage that?

09/08/2008, 10:12 AM
There were over a thousand visiting fans.
Not quite, but a good 40 of us. Good old Galway Cup bringing our local youth team (Mount Merrion) over for the day. :)

845 at Rovers-Harps.

Conroy
09/08/2008, 11:25 AM

49/51 with home and away fans:cool:

Patrick Dunne
09/08/2008, 11:36 AM
1480 GUFC V.UCDD at Terryland Park.

1489, if you want to be pedantic !

The figure of 950 in todays Star is incorrect, presumbaly a journalists guesstimate.

SMorgan
09/08/2008, 11:51 AM

The figure of 950 in todays Star is incorrect, presumbaly a journalists guesstimate.

Yes, lets take Nick's figure. Its more reliable.

dublinwanderer
09/08/2008, 3:24 PM
poor crowd in bray 500 tops.

Rovers fan
09/08/2008, 6:55 PM
Not quite, but a good 40 of us.

That's nearly as good as home games;)

09/08/2008, 8:51 PM
Best part of 200 were us

Not a hope. 80-100 Max.

Rovers and Pats brought at least twice the crowd ye did

09/08/2008, 8:56 PM

Just curious how you reckon that figure's made up. The video on YouTube shows the new stand no more than half full (750); I reckon there was 150 being generous in the new stand and about 200 around the ground, a total of 1100. I reckoned 1200 at the game. Bit of a gap up to 1500?

HarpoJoyce
09/08/2008, 9:08 PM
Just curious how you reckon that figure's made up. The video on YouTube shows the new stand no more than half full (750); I reckon there was 150 being generous in the new stand and about 200 around the ground, a total of 1100. I reckoned 1200 at the game. Bit of a gap up to 1500?

There was more than about 200 "around the ground". Large amount of fans behind the clubhouse-side goal. Between one or two deep along the lenght of the touchline on the Corribside Stand side.

09/08/2008, 9:10 PM
Would there have been 600 around the ground though?

Suppose we can see on MNS from the different angle. I know you hate when people say that! :)

Guitd
09/08/2008, 9:14 PM
Would there have been 600 around the ground though?

Suppose we can see on MNS from the different angle. I know you hate when people say that! :)

and ucd fans are so good at counting large crowds

deecay
09/08/2008, 9:31 PM
Not a hope. 80-100 Max.

Rovers and Pats brought at least twice the crowd ye did
Only picture ive seen

http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/uploads/1181072264/gallery_562_108_48228.jpg

sonofstan
09/08/2008, 9:51 PM
Only picture ive seen

http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/uploads/1181072264/gallery_562_108_48228.jpg

That picture is from before the game when the Cork stewards would only let us occupy the section on the extreme right of that stand - add to that a lot were late because of a delayed flight, and more were in the pub till the last possible minute - by the end, we'd filled two of those sections, so if any of you nice Cork people know how much they hold, then we could agree about this.

deecay
09/08/2008, 10:04 PM
That picture is from before the game when the Cork stewards would only let us occupy the section on the extreme right of that stand - add to that a lot were late because of a delayed flight, and more were in the pub till the last possible minute - by the end, we'd filled two of those sections, so if any of you nice Cork people know how much they hold, then we could agree about this.

http://corkcityfc.ie/gallery/albums/bohemians080808/aaD2H_4715.jpg

http://corkcityfc.ie/gallery/displayimage.php?album=44&pos=8

09/08/2008, 10:20 PM
There was more than about 200 "around the ground". Large amount of fans behind the clubhouse-side goal. Between one or two deep along the lenght of the touchline on the Corribside Stand side.

Thanks Harpo ive been involved in Matchday/Nights at Terryland for over 20 years and i felt the crowd was more than the figure reported by about 200. There was a good 400/500 in the old stand with 1,000 in the new stand plus what was around the ground.

Sad to see Stu trying to include an u13 side to boost your numbers (11 at the very most).

deecay
09/08/2008, 10:57 PM
Thanks Harpo ive been involved in Matchday/Nights at Terryland for over 20 years and i felt the crowd was more than the figure reported by about 200. There was a good 400/500 in the old stand with 1,000 in the new stand plus what was around the ground.

Sad to see Stu trying to include an u13 side to boost your numbers (11 at the very most).
I seen the video on youtube,a pretty big roar for the two goals:)

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yoysQPscI8w

09/08/2008, 11:45 PM
I'd estimate 500 at Cobh v Derry (57 away fans).

corkharps
10/08/2008, 12:27 AM
I'd estimate 500 at Cobh v Derry (57 away fans).
I was in Cobh last Monday, and there was advertisements on EVERY corner for the match, unfortunately people didn't turn up! BUT well done to the club for effort!

10/08/2008, 2:33 AM
845 at Rovers v Harps

SMorgan
10/08/2008, 7:23 AM
I seen the video on youtube,a pretty big roar for the two goals:)

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yoysQPscI8w

Why on earth was the Galway player not booked for that dive?

10/08/2008, 3:15 PM
Why on earth was the Galway player not booked for that dive?

Because he didnt dive and that Egotist Hanney knew he didnt (Thinks he is John McCain):eek:

10/08/2008, 4:20 PM
There was a good 400/500 in the old stand with 1,000 in the new stand plus what was around the ground.
The new stand was two thirds full?! Not looking at the video it wasn't. Nowhere near 400 in the old stand either. I'm quite possibly out on the number of people standing around the ground, but I'm not that far out on the stands.

Yeah, imagine me counting people who were cheering for UCD as UCD fans. :rolleyes: (And to get into pedantics very briefly, there were five of the squad on our side along with a supervisor, and two rows of them the far side. They kind of stood out when we scored. :) )

And the video shows it was a clear dive. The other penalty appeal is irrelevant as you scored immediately after.

deecay
10/08/2008, 5:44 PM
He jumped into the UCD players leg

Comic Book Guy
10/08/2008, 7:41 PM
I would have said about 750 at the Ramblers/Derry game but I suppose people are voting with their feet considering the fare that is being served up.

Lamper.sffc
12/08/2008, 3:36 PM
Correction for the sporting fingal v Dundalk. Official crowd was 1,262.

Marco
12/08/2008, 10:21 PM
I was in Cobh last Monday, and there was advertisements on EVERY corner for the match, unfortunately people didn't turn up! BUT well done to the club for effort!

Derry Attendance was 660, what can you do? shocking attendance, couldn't even blame the rain!!