View Full Version : 2008 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

higgins
30/08/2008, 4:08 PM
Fingal called out 1261 at their game last night.
I'd not have put it over 1000.

Not sure how they come up with the figures ?

30/08/2008, 4:23 PM
Fingal called out 1261 at their game last night.
I'd not have put it over 1000.

Not sure how they come up with the figures ?
Maybe they counted the tickets sold, whereas you were just guessing on the crowd you saw.

higgins
30/08/2008, 4:30 PM
You think ?

Spoke with a few others too that would have put the crowd under 1000. Last time we were there the crowd figures didn't add up with the official number either in my opinion.
They sell a family pass for a price that's less than two adults. I imagine when two adults buy one of those tickets it goes in as 4 people ?

Candystripe
30/08/2008, 4:31 PM
3,100 seats at the Brandywell.

I would say about 3,700 there last night. Has to be the worst ever Harps attendance there in years, Understandable though I supose.

30/08/2008, 4:33 PM
You think ?

Spoke with a few others too that would have out the crowd under 1000. Last time we were there the crowd figures didn't add up with the official number either.
Where are you getting your crowd figures from?

Did you go around and take a picture of every single person there? Or did you just stand up on your seat and have a quick glance, then pick a number based on what you think that many people would look like?

rebelarmyexile
30/08/2008, 4:38 PM
Any thoughts on the crowd at Tolka last night? Would have guessed around 1200 with around 100 Cork.

Should have been a big game for Rovers? What happened to their Support?

30/08/2008, 4:48 PM
Certainly not 6000 at Brandywell last night, I'd have put it at 4000.

higgins
31/08/2008, 1:36 AM
Did you go around and take a picture of every single person there? Or did you just stand up on your seat and have a quick glance, then pick a number based on what you think that many people would look like?

Of course I didn't take pictures!

I've been at a load of games in my time and know what a crowd of 1261 looks like. I didn't think there were that many there last night but could be wrong. If I am wrong then so are the others who I've talked to.

But no big deal, it doesn't really matter I suppose.

31/08/2008, 8:28 AM
I've been at a load of games in my time and know what a crowd of 1261 looks like.

Amazing! :p

Lamper.sffc
31/08/2008, 3:34 PM
Of course I didn't take pictures!

I've been at a load of games in my time and know what a crowd of 1261 looks like. I didn't think there were that many there last night but could be wrong. If I am wrong then so are the others who I've talked to.

But no big deal, it doesn't really matter I suppose.

No offence. but i think ill stick with the official attendance announced. Sporting have been honest with their attendances all season. When we got some really low attendances they where given. There was no attempt to announce the attendances higher than they where.

LeixlipRed
31/08/2008, 4:06 PM
What about this family ticket lark? That's definitely ambiguous so don't know how you can give exact attendances based on ticket stubs.

31/08/2008, 7:24 PM
no more than 700 at Colemans park last night if even that . Probably the worst 45 mins ive ever seen by a gufc team.

SMorgan
31/08/2008, 7:47 PM
no more than 700 at Colemans park last night if even that . Probably the worst 45 mins ive ever seen by a gufc team.

Good job I didn't say that!!!

31/08/2008, 8:18 PM
The official announced attendance for Limerick game lst night was 471. Thought it seemed a little high.

The freebies made it high (kids, local club freebies etc) our smallest gate it would seem for adults. fair play for bringing a gang though

31/08/2008, 8:30 PM
rough guess only 200-250 people at town mons game..

Inside Man
31/08/2008, 10:40 PM
2,050 For Sligo Rovers against Drogheda United.
150-200 away support.

Lamper.sffc
01/09/2008, 10:57 AM
What about this family ticket lark? That's definitely ambiguous so don't know how you can give exact attendances based on ticket stubs.

Fair enough point, presume you mean counting a family ticket as 4 when maybe only 3 came in but maybe 5 or 6 came in on some tickets aswell and an average is taken from these tickets. ( not sure if this is the way they do it, maybe they have a different method)
Im still going to believe the attendance given by the club rather than some person scanning the crowd and making a guess. The chances are that the clubs crowd announcement is closer than people guessing.
Just my opinion. Not a biased one either, if it was another club you where talking about, i would make the same argument

01/09/2008, 11:03 AM
2,050 For Sligo Rovers against Drogheda United.
150-200 away support.

Most reports say there was only 1600 in attendance.

01/09/2008, 11:44 AM
500 at Bray-UCD, I'd say.

01/09/2008, 12:28 PM
Most reports say there was only 1600 in attendance.
1800 mentioned on their forum.

01/09/2008, 1:28 PM
500 at Bray-UCD, I'd say.
Another absolutely shocking attendance for us. The crowds have been going down of late but I'd expect more than 500 (even) for a UCD match.

Inside Man
01/09/2008, 3:30 PM
1800 mentioned on their forum.

Figure given by mate who works the turnstiles was 2,047. I rounded it up to be nice but that is it defo. Go with whatever you like doesn't bother me I did my part by putting it up, thats all i can do.

Green&whitearmy
01/09/2008, 4:15 PM
terrible crowd at the bray game but there was more than 500 at it, i would prob say about 700-800.

02/09/2008, 12:59 PM
The new stand (capacity 985) is at most one third full (empty up the far end, maybe half full down where there were about 30 Bray fans making a bit of noise). Maybe 100 in the new stand and 100 behind the goal? That's my 500 anyways. The stand's emptier on MNS than it would have looked in the fuller end.

Edit - been told 450 for UCD-Derry.

02/09/2008, 2:16 PM
3,100 seats at the Brandywell.

I would say about 3,700 there last night. Has to be the worst ever Harps attendance there in years, Understandable though I supose.

3470 the official attendance.

the-blue-harp
02/09/2008, 3:45 PM
3470 the official attendance.

shocked at that. place was pretty well packed.:confused:

02/09/2008, 4:05 PM
That's pretty well what it holds so.

the-blue-harp
02/09/2008, 4:11 PM
That's pretty well what it holds so.

thats ok, we'll be pretty well relegating you on friday night!!:D

finnpark
02/09/2008, 4:16 PM
Our attendances are good at 1800. With our new stadium on the way it will be a shame if we are relegated

the-blue-harp
02/09/2008, 4:19 PM
Our attendances are good at 1800. With our new stadium on the way it will be a shame if we are relegated

thats is nowhere near our real attendance this year. we've been averaging 1,000 to 1,200 and thats being generous. whens the last time you've been to finn park finnpark

02/09/2008, 4:21 PM
He may be looking at the average which would include a (similarly inflated?) game against Derry to boost it.

higgins
02/09/2008, 5:32 PM
Did people claim the first Harps Derry game got 6000 ?
No way you'd get that into Finn Park!!

adamcarr
02/09/2008, 5:37 PM
Did people claim the first Harps Derry game got 6000 ?
No way you'd get that into Finn Park!!

It was in the Brandywell.

Inside Man
06/09/2008, 10:46 AM
Rovers -v- Bohs in the Showgrounds on Friday night was around 1,900. With maybe 100-150 Bohs Hooligans.

NavanBohs
06/09/2008, 11:07 AM
Rovers -v- Bohs in the Showgrounds on Friday night was around 1,900. With maybe 100-150 Bohs Hooligans.

I shouldn't really bite but you may as well elaborate on that...

red bellied
06/09/2008, 11:13 AM
I shouldn't really bite but you may as well elaborate on that...

Urinating and puking in peoples gardens on Churchill would hardly endear the Bohs support to Sligo people.

Inside Man
06/09/2008, 11:16 AM
Urinating and puking in peoples gardens on Churchill would hardly endear the Bohs support to Sligo people.
Not to mention what went on during the match.

06/09/2008, 11:32 AM
about 800 - 900 in Finn Park last night, better than expected with the conditions and the not so glamour tie.

redtildead
06/09/2008, 11:42 AM
Not to mention what went on during the match.

Damn all went on at the game

A few "tough" guys (a lot of whom were 12) decided to rattle the fence and then the bohs fans taunted them for a while.

Much ado about nothing

HarpoJoyce
06/09/2008, 12:14 PM

A few "tough" guys (a lot of whom were 12) decided to rattle the fence and then the bohs fans taunted them for a while.

Much ado about nothing

Fair Play for your post.

Was it a Summer Festival Shakespeare at the Showgies?

Inside Man
06/09/2008, 1:06 PM

Much ado about nothing

Exuse me so. I was on other side and saw everything. It looked as if Bohs fans were causing Havoc. Enticing Rovers Fans on other side and standing on wall and trying to pull down the fence between both sets of fans and causing trouble for the stewards. But if you had a closer view then I'll take your word for it.

redtildead
06/09/2008, 1:25 PM
Was it a Summer Festival Shakespeare at the Showgies?

Ya somethin like that :D

It prob looked like trouble from other parts of the ground inside man, but it was just a lot of shoutin and fist waving really.

I didnt see anything happenin with bohs fans on church hill so cant comment on that.

06/09/2008, 2:04 PM
Exuse me so. I was on other side and saw everything. It looked as if Bohs fans were causing Havoc. Enticing Rovers Fans on other side and standing on wall and trying to pull down the fence between both sets of fans and causing trouble for the stewards. But if you had a closer view then I'll take your word for it.

in fairness RTD is correct. Bohs always bring their fair share of knackers to Sligo, and all it was,was the younger lads our side getting upset because the Bohs lads on Bavaria were allowed stand on the wall, and there were 3 or 4 hard men our side getting their knickers in a twist, kicking at the fence and making noise over nothing really. The stewards couldnt have done anything except actually push the Bohs fans on the wall off the wall, but sure where would that get us...

06/09/2008, 4:25 PM
about 800 - 900 in Finn Park last night
Yeah, would have said 1000 myself.

bohs til i die
07/09/2008, 9:43 AM

Thats no worse then the behaviour of culchies up in Dublin for a GAA match in Croker who puke/**** in people's gardens, hang on that doesnt apply to Sligo tho.

bohs til i die
07/09/2008, 9:45 AM
Bohs v Drogheda was 1588 apparently

07/09/2008, 10:08 AM
Bohs v Drogheda was 1588 apparently

didn't look anywhere near that being there tbh - would've thought 1000 max at it :eek:

deecay
07/09/2008, 12:52 PM
Thats no worse then the behaviour of culchies up in Dublin for a GAA match in Croker who puke/**** in people's gardens, hang on that doesnt apply to Sligo tho.
GAA fans are the lowest of the low

07/09/2008, 6:15 PM

is that supposed to be a pop at Sligo gah?:eek:

JC_GUFC
07/09/2008, 6:24 PM
I wonder if we're getting close to a time when NOBODY will turn up for a game. A possible fixture next year - UCD v Kildare in the First division - could go close. Look out for it. Could be some kind of record, anyway.

A few years ago I was at an end of season game between St Francis and Cobh on a Friday night.
When the teams came out for the match there were 4 people in the ground. While the match was on there were 42 watching, including Brian Kerr & Noel O'Reilly.