View Full Version : 2008 attendances

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

10/03/2008, 2:43 PM
Jeez, half of this thread could be deleted, and for the record, there was 15,000 at Finn Park on friday night and only 2 of them were from Cobh.

are you for real?!

10/03/2008, 3:39 PM
are you for real?!

Sorry I forgot a zero :o It was 150,000 of an attendance.

10/03/2008, 3:40 PM
My guess for the Monaghan- Limerick game was about 120-150. Extremely poor. About 25 of those were Limerick fans

There is absolutely no way there was 150 at that game.

One of the lads counted 39 in the stand at kick off.

Add in people in the bar and people at the sideline and it's 100 tops.

10/03/2008, 3:49 PM
About a 100 at Monaghan alright, I thought there was more than 25 of us though? Not much more, but about 30-35? Still though, they have the infrastructure lads :D:D

10/03/2008, 5:42 PM
Out of a total crowd of less than 700? :eek:
Susprised at you of all people Dodge, paying attention to a random figure like that.

Update after week one; just waiting on St Pat's v Sligo to be confirmed.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - --- (2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - --- (1,200; 1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cobh - --- (681 FD; 368 FD; 403 FD; 240 FD)
Cork - 4,791 (2,897; 2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - --- (2,614; 3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 2,000 (1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Harps - 1,660 (1,164 FD; 428 FD; 1,347; 1,106 FD)
Galway - 2,193 (2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Pat's - --- (1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882) (missing Sligo)
Rovers - --- (1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - --- (1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 622 (663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - --- (670; 421; 316; 291)
Dundalk - --- (1,406; 1,078; 474; 591)
Kildare - --- (243; 265; 186; 298)
Limerick - --- (670; 364; 669; 188)
Longford - 700 (885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD; 1,131 PD)
Monaghan - 100 (292; 204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,606 (888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Sporting Fingal - --- (N/A)
Waterford - --- (1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD; 1,753 PD)
Wexford - 1,826 (810)

Premier Division average - 1,940 (1,687; 1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 1,058 (722; 570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,548 (1,235; 1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.

forza rovers
10/03/2008, 5:59 PM
we had about 280-330 supporters with us

KevB76
10/03/2008, 6:20 PM
About a 100 at Monaghan alright, I thought there was more than 25 of us though? Not much more, but about 30-35? Still though, they have the infrastructure lads :D:D

Yeah, 100 just about. There were 16 of us, dont think there were any more (not counting any L37 officials).

Sunny Jim
10/03/2008, 7:06 PM
Wexford - 1,626 (810)

Stu,

The official attendance for Wexford was 1,826.

stann
10/03/2008, 8:14 PM
Thanks for the positive feedback, but I would have to question 700 away fans there. The whole stand only holds 600 and WD had a quarter of that with others scattered around the side of the pitch. I'd say 300 in total. Kildare up next and you're right, that'll tell us what we should expect as typical

I thought we had nearer half the stand to be honest, judging by the reaction to the goals, most of the stand side of the pitch, and a good few at the clubhouse end I'm told. Might have been just a touch over the top with 700 alright :o , but I'd say I recognised more than 300 people there individually. :D
That's beside the point though, it was a great home turn-out that I hope holds up for ye. Should do too, ye already look a much better side than last season.

Sunny Jim, I would have said there was a few more there even, up towards 2000. How many season ticket holders have ye?

oldyouth
10/03/2008, 9:26 PM
Cheers Stann,

It doesn't really matter what the split was, as there were two sets of supporters making up a good crowd enjoying The Beautiful Game. The way the wind was blowing, we didn't really hear much of your songs but yez looked as if you were enjoying it.
Now I want an honest answer here, seeing that you said you recognised at least 300 of your lads at the game. Did any of you buy a pink shirt to bring home???:D

ForzaWexford
10/03/2008, 9:44 PM
Stu, I reported the figure of 1626 from the match report I read on extratime. 1826 was the official attendance reported. Sorry.

Not to go off topic, but heard we sold 140 pink jerseys at the match, so perhaps 1 or 2 made their way back down the Ross road!

10/03/2008, 10:52 PM
OK; changed now. Cheers.

Candystripe
11/03/2008, 3:00 AM
1748 away fans at Windsor park.

About the same home fans.

Sunny Jim
11/03/2008, 10:14 AM
Sunny Jim, I would have said there was a few more there even, up towards 2000. How many season ticket holders have ye?

I couldn't tell you. I live over 110 miles from the ground so I'm not exactly inside the loop. My season ticket number was 45 so I'd guess around 100. I'm sure someone else on here knows the exact figure.

Also I understand that season ticket holders weren't counted in the official attendance figure so you're probably right.

Mr_T
11/03/2008, 12:00 PM
Finn Harps FC have confirmed an official attendance of 1,961 for the club's opening Premier Division match against Cobh Ramblers.

The club are pleased with the level of support given that the atrocious weather conditions may have deterred fans from travelling across the county to the game.

The club hope these levels of support from the fnas of the Northwest will continue and increase as the season progresses

Harps have announced an official figure, I believe the figure Mr A gave on our forum excluded season ticket holders. Hopefully the club will continue to publish the official figures from now on.

T

11/03/2008, 12:09 PM
Susprised at you of all people Dodge, paying attention to a random figure like that.

Oh i always pay attention...

Just surprised that they had such a high percent of the crowd.

11/03/2008, 12:11 PM
Finn Harps FC have confirmed an official attendance of 1,961 for the club's opening Premier Division match against Cobh Ramblers.

My previous number did not include season ticket holders apparently.

11/03/2008, 12:27 PM
Oh i always pay attention...

Just surprised that they had such a high percent of the crowd.
FACT!;)

neutrino
11/03/2008, 12:30 PM
about 300+

There was nowhere near 300 of us in richmond park. I'd put it at 100-150 max. No point guessing crowds if just going to exaggerate them.

oldyouth
11/03/2008, 12:48 PM
I couldn't tell you. I live over 110 miles from the ground so I'm not exactly inside the loop. My season ticket number was 45 so I'd guess around 100. I'm sure someone else on here knows the exact figure.

Also I understand that season ticket holders weren't counted in the official attendance figure so you're probably right.
Last I heard, there were 75 individual season tickets issued. Also 2 corporate tickets are offered for sponsors and I know one of them is in the 120's.

LeixlipRed
11/03/2008, 1:14 PM
Who cares what the proportion of Sligo fans in Richmond on Friday was? Most important is that an official attendance figure is known so we can all keep track of it on here

Mr_T
11/03/2008, 1:25 PM
Just a suggestion stu, how about highlighting club's official figures from the guesstimates, maybe by putting those figures in bold.

T

stann
11/03/2008, 2:06 PM
Now I want an honest answer here, seeing that you said you recognised at least 300 of your lads at the game. Did any of you buy a pink shirt to bring home???:D

Not that I know of, though I'd be surprised if a novelty like that wasn't snapped up by a few of us. Down this way we're not as into the sad macho bull**** that Micko abhorred so much in his press release. In fact I'd have got one myself only the pink would clash violently with my hair. :D
Actually, that's not a joke. :o

11/03/2008, 4:49 PM
Just a suggestion stu, how about highlighting club's official figures from the guesstimates, maybe by putting those figures in bold.

T
Hmmm...Easier said than done, possibly, if I get some official and some guesstimates.

I'll make a note which clubs generally give official figures at the bottom of the post from next week.

Steve Bruce
12/03/2008, 11:33 AM
1748 away fans at Windsor park.

About the same home fans.

I don't know about that, I thought Derry could have possibly out numbered us.

It was hte worst attendance I have seen by Linfield in a Setanta cup match. But then again I do know quite a few people who go to every game and decided to give the Setanta cup a bye ball because of the draw.

Still suprised how poor our support was though. Our away support will be stronger I feel this year.

Mr_T
12/03/2008, 12:10 PM
Hmmm...Easier said than done, possibly, if I get some official and some guesstimates.

I'll make a note which clubs generally give official figures at the bottom of the post from next week.

Grand, it would just be interesting to see how figures compare, there are a few clubs now who give the official figures now, hopefully including ourselves.

PS; it was 1961 v Cobh official figure - FACT!! :)

12/03/2008, 12:28 PM
OK; will correct that next week (can't edit my post now)

14/03/2008, 10:17 AM
About 1,200 (http://www.dundalkfc.com/matchreports/080313_Monaghan.asp) at Dundalk FC vs. Monaghan United.

oriel
14/03/2008, 11:54 AM
About 1,200 (http://www.dundalkfc.com/matchreports/080313_Monaghan.asp) at Dundalk FC vs. Monaghan United.

I was going to agree with this and thought it was a bit poor for our first home game til i heard a good few hundred counln't be bothered leaving the clubhouse and watched some of the game from the away terrace or didnt bother coming out at all for the second half, so maybe another 200 on that figure ?

What is point paying into a match and staying in the pub ?

Kildare Lad
14/03/2008, 10:01 PM
Would say roughly 300 at County v Shels tonight.

LeixlipRed
14/03/2008, 10:42 PM
I'd say that's about right. Maybe 150 standing round the pitch plus another 150 in stand or there abouts

L37Ultra
15/03/2008, 12:18 AM
555 at Limerick 37 V Wexford.

Maroon 7
15/03/2008, 3:15 AM
555 at Limerick 37 V Wexford.

The number of the yeast.

Candystripe
15/03/2008, 4:15 AM
6,870 unofficial at the Derry V Harps derby.

Looked a lot more but thats what I heard.

A quick edit guys. Looked about the same as the last game of the 2006 season V Cork..(8,000)...considering I've only ever missed 6 games at home since '85 I reckon I'm a good judge of attendances.

About 1,500 at least away fans.

Any Harps fans care to comment?

Grey Boy
15/03/2008, 5:05 AM
About 1050 at the Carlisle to witness a shocking match.

mrtndvn
15/03/2008, 8:30 AM

A quick edit guys. Looked about the same as the last game of the 2006 season V Cork..(8,000)...considering I've only ever missed 6 games at home since '85 I reckon I'm a good judge of attendances.

I thought there was at least 7,000 at the game.

Flexy
15/03/2008, 8:45 AM
I thought there was at least 7,000 at the game.

On the radio they said they was 3500 at it with 1000 harps fans. I thought they would be wrong

WindmillWarrior
15/03/2008, 10:47 AM
Drogheda - 2,000 (1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)

Stu, see my previous post for the Rovers game:

Restricted capacity in United Park is now 3,000 with the new barriers put in the home terrace. With that I reckon there was 2,500ish at yesterdays sh*te.

15/03/2008, 12:11 PM

Any Harps fans care to comment?

I would have said at least 7000 alright and about 1500- 2000 Harps fans. Whats the capacity of the brandy? The stand was full and there was very little standing space left in the terraces.

LeixlipRed
15/03/2008, 12:12 PM
Fantastic to see such a huge crowd!

15/03/2008, 12:51 PM
now there is a real derby match, pity other matches around the country cannot pull the same crowds.

joey B
15/03/2008, 12:57 PM
A real derby match indeed! huge crowd great atmosphere and both sets of fans mingling freely with not a hint of bother a great advertisement for our league!

dortie
15/03/2008, 1:45 PM
Whats the capacity of the brandy? .

About 8,000

I have guessed 6,500 - 7,000 at last nights game.

15/03/2008, 2:07 PM
About 8,000

I have guessed 6,500 - 7,000 at last nights game.

Yeah that would be fair enough figure then so. There was very little standing room.

paulie_walnuts
15/03/2008, 2:25 PM
I was going to agree with this and thought it was a bit poor for our first home game til i heard a good few hundred counln't be bothered leaving the clubhouse and watched some of the game from the away terrace or didnt bother coming out at all for the second half, so maybe another 200 on that figure ?

What is point paying into a match and staying in the pub ?

As you said yourself, they watched it from the away terrace/area outside the bar. Disappointing crowd I thought.

pateen
15/03/2008, 2:44 PM
Cork V Rovers attendance anyone?

I wish th same could be said about this game (great advert for the league). Schooligans at it again last night outside Fagans aparently. Both Rovers a Cork kids as bad as each other so not blaming either side.

A shame really!

4 in a row
15/03/2008, 3:20 PM
Cork V Rovers attendance anyone?

I wish th same could be said about this game (great advert for the league). Schooligans at it again last night outside Fagans aparently. Both Rovers a Cork kids as bad as each other so not blaming either side.

A shame really!
my estimate woul be 2000, 2500.
send in one paper that the attendance was 3, 700 but i doubt that

rebelarmyexile
15/03/2008, 3:23 PM
my estimate woul be 2000, 2500.
send in one paper that the attendance was 3, 700 but i doubt that

Sure the main stand (roadside one) was 80% full, about 100 in the stand opposite and 250-300 in the new goal end one.

Some muppet let off a few smoke bombs at the start in the Cork end, could breathe or see anything.

Though i thought the bangers were class

niallsparky
15/03/2008, 3:26 PM
About 4000 at Bohs/Pats I'd say.

15/03/2008, 3:31 PM
About 1050 at the Carlisle to witness a shocking match.
Wouldn't have given you the 50, but I'd agree with you more or less on that.

Decent game, with us playing some very nice football at times. Bray were awful.

Stu, see my previous post for the Rovers game:
Missed that; cheers.