View Full Version : 2008 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

SPXcyan
09/05/2008, 9:06 PM
900!! not even close! try 1800! main stand about 700 new stand about 1100 would be my guess!! great crowd definately not 900 thats pathetically wrong! pictures will be up anywayz soon! seen alot of people with cams so ye shall see :)

09/05/2008, 9:17 PM
900!! not even close! try 1800! main stand about 700 new stand about 1100 would be my guess!! great crowd definately not 900 thats pathetically wrong! pictures will be up anywayz soon! seen alot of people with cams so ye shall see :)

Maybe he meant 1,900? I though 900 sounded a bit disappointing.

Paddyfield
09/05/2008, 9:26 PM
1276 official attendance at GUFC V. Harps.

5ForKeeps
09/05/2008, 9:27 PM
There was definitely 1200 at the Wexford/Waterford game tonight. Someone in the main stand was recording the game as well. I was in the new stand with all the Waterford fans, our fans did us proud in the main stand.

oldyouth
09/05/2008, 11:27 PM
What does your new stand hold. I'd estimate 1/3 full at best

SPXcyan
10/05/2008, 12:00 AM
1700 it holds! hmm I dunno how empty it was but a youths fan in the main stand estimated 1100 to me :p

10/05/2008, 2:01 AM
Would guess at 1500 for Pat's - UCD tonight.

oldyouth
10/05/2008, 10:05 AM
There was definitely 1200 at the Wexford/Waterford game tonight. Someone in the main stand was recording the game as well. I was in the new stand with all the Waterford fans, our fans did us proud in the main stand.

5, what were you doing over there???

If the new stand holds 1,700, I'd have to estimate 700 over there. Probably 1,200 in total then

MickNolan
10/05/2008, 10:22 AM
1,301 Shamrock Rovers - Derry

5ForKeeps
10/05/2008, 10:31 AM
5, what were you doing over there???

I live in Waterford and was at the game like the Wexford home game with a few of me mates i work with. There as a few more Wexford fans in the new stand. OldYouth, credit to our fans in the main stand as usual kept singing throughout.

oldyouth
10/05/2008, 10:34 AM
I live in Waterford and was at the game like the Wexford home game with a few of me mates i work with. There as a few more Wexford fans in the new stand. OldYouth, credit to our fans in the main stand as usual kept singing throughout.

As long as you wore the colours 5:D:D:D

5ForKeeps
10/05/2008, 10:37 AM
As long as you wore the colours 5:D:D:D

Of course but i had to be careful i wasn't too far away from the hardcore Blues fans though lol, seriously i had me Jersey which is miles to big for me where was the medium sizes when they were been handed out lol

LeixlipRed
10/05/2008, 10:46 AM

That's a shocking crowd. Tallaght couldn't come sooner.

wonder88
10/05/2008, 10:47 AM
Looked like no more than 900 at Galway Harps game, but official figure 1276. About 70 harps fans.

pól-dcfc
10/05/2008, 11:37 AM
That's a shocking crowd. Tallaght couldn't come sooner.

That is a terrible crowd for a game between two teams that don't have any great love for each other alright. Can't wait til Tallaght gets going.

MickNolan
10/05/2008, 12:06 PM
That is a terrible crowd for a game between two teams that don't have any great love for each other alright. Can't wait til Tallaght gets going.

We only had over 2000 for the match v Pats

10/05/2008, 1:21 PM
Looked like no more than 900 at Galway Harps game, but official figure 1276. About 70 harps fans.

You said 350-400 for Sligo v UTD the last day when there was about 800 there.
You really haven't got a good eye for crowds.

Green&whitearmy
10/05/2008, 1:28 PM
Good crowd last night, i would say about 1800 at it with about 500 or even more drogheda fans. 5wins on the trott and unbeaten in 7, its looking good.

defo a peno as well, worst decision ever.

L37Ultra
10/05/2008, 3:47 PM
Cant' remember the exact figure but there was something like 460 at Limerick-Monaghan last night. It was annonuced at half-time.

higgins
10/05/2008, 4:08 PM
Judging the crowd in oriel from the away end can be difficult. For a start you cant see into the stand which holds 1,300, Im told it was 3/4 full last night, the shed side usually gets around 800, and im guessing the away support was around 200, so maybe 2,000 is a more accurate figure ?

Anyway great win for shels, shocking result for us.

Yeah, as I said 2000 max.
I was in the stand for the game. 3/4 full ? maybe but there didn't look to be 800 on the far side.

Anyway, who cares ,,, we won 3-1 :)
An 8 point lead for you would have been too much to claw back I felt,, lets see now how you react to that defeat!

stann
10/05/2008, 7:17 PM
900 announced on the radio for Wateford v Wexford.

900!! not even close! try 1800! main stand about 700 new stand about 1100 would be my guess!!

What does your new stand hold. I'd estimate 1/3 full at best

There was definitely 1200 at the Wexford/Waterford game tonight.

Nowhere near on the new stand SPX, sadly, but ye're all right otherwise. :)
920 paid in through the gate Friday night, hence that number floating around. With season tickets and the first-child-free scheme the actual attendance was just over 1200, cigar for 5forkeeps.
The new stand had about 500 in it, maybe a smidge more, another cigar for oldyouth. :D

oldyouth
10/05/2008, 8:58 PM
Nowhere near on the new stand SPX, sadly, but ye're all right otherwise. :)
920 paid in through the gate Friday night, hence that number floating around. With season tickets and the first-child-free scheme the actual attendance was just over 1200, cigar for 5forkeeps.
The new stand had about 500 in it, maybe a smidge more, another cigar for oldyouth. :D
Seriously, Oldyouth is a year off the tipped cigars on 29th May. I had 6 sponsors tickets (thank you) for the extended family last night. Enjoyed the craic but the far stand was nearer Ferrycarrig Park than where we were sitting:D and had to be 1/3 full at best

stann
10/05/2008, 9:23 PM
Seriously, Oldyouth is a year off the tipped cigars on 29th May. I had 6 sponsors tickets (thank you) for the extended family last night. Enjoyed the craic but the far stand was nearer Ferrycarrig Park than where we were sitting:D and had to be 1/3 full at best

It holds 1700-and-odd, and I made it a bit over 500 in there, does that not square with a third full at best? Don't make me take that cigar back! :p :D
(and fair play, may think about jacking them soon meself!)

SPXcyan
10/05/2008, 10:15 PM
hmmmmm well I didnt guess there were 1100 in the new stand I only went on what a youths fan in the main stand told me :p tho been in the stand looked more than 500 in it! hmm 1200 isnt a terrible turn out I spose :p

oldyouth
11/05/2008, 10:06 AM
hmmmmm well I didnt guess there were 1100 in the new stand I only went on what a youths fan in the main stand told me :p
You don't want to listen to those lads:p

Comic Book Guy
11/05/2008, 8:27 PM
Open to correction but I recon about 1,400 at Ramblers/Bohs last night.

11/05/2008, 11:17 PM

How many of those were City fans...?

mrtndvn
12/05/2008, 1:36 AM
How many of those were City fans...?

slightly over 200 i would say, not a lot mind.

oriel
12/05/2008, 11:23 AM
Stu - what figure are you taking for the Dundalk v Shels game ?

Battery Rover
12/05/2008, 1:37 PM
Not very good at judging crowds at away ground but would estimate about 140 at Kildare vs Athlone friday night. 30 plus of them from Athlone

13/05/2008, 3:53 PM
Pats's official attendence now up on their site.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/attendances.php?id=79&comp=league

13/05/2008, 7:28 PM
Stu - what figure are you taking for the Dundalk v Shels game ?
Going to go with 2000; there's nothing up on the Dundalk website, and most seem to be in agreement at about 2000.

13/05/2008, 7:31 PM
Update after week ten. Clubs who give official figures are in bold.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 3,153 (2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340) (missing Bray and Derry)
Bray - 1,383 (1,200; 1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cobh - 1,518 (681 FD; 368 FD; 403 FD; 240 FD)
Cork - 3,882 (2,897; 2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 4,080 (2,614; 3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 1,980 (1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Harps - 1,929 (1,164 FD; 428 FD; 1,347; 1,106 FD)
Galway - 1,557 (2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Pat's - 1,944 (1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 2,067 (1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 2,260 (1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 717 (663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 461 (670; 421; 316; 291)
Dundalk - 1,600 (1,406; 1,078; 474; 591)
Kildare - 189 (243; 265; 186; 298)
Limerick - 585 (670; 364; 669; 188)
Longford - 680 (885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD; 1,131 PD)
Monaghan - 146 (292; 204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,054 (888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Sporting Fingal - 873 (N/A) (missing Longford)
Waterford - 860 (1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD; 1,753 PD)
Wexford - 1,163 (810)

Premier Division average - 2,136 (1,687; 1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 763 (722; 570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,507 (1,235; 1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.

Recent games missing -
Fingal v Longford

Estimates in but official figures missing -
Bohs v Harps
Harps v Pat's
Fingal v Dundalk
Cobh v Bohs

16/05/2008, 10:24 PM
Poor crowd in Finn Park tonight, roughly 1500 with about 50 Rovers fans.

monutdfc
16/05/2008, 11:30 PM
Monaghan United v Dundalk 502 official
I guessed 350-400 so I am rubbish at estimates. I have since learned that my guess for the Sporting Fingal game was well under too.

17/05/2008, 1:04 AM
395 for UCD v Galway. About 15 Galway fans, including squad members. Still up 50% on the crowd last season.

oldyouth
17/05/2008, 10:13 AM
I would guesstimate approx 650 at Youths V Lim 37 last night, with approx 630 going home very happy indeed:D

sfc red
17/05/2008, 11:24 AM
905 announced at Shels v Kildare.

Buller
17/05/2008, 4:49 PM
395 for UCD v Galway. About 15 Galway fans, including squad members. Still up 50% on the crowd last season.

Up 50%?! What was it last year? That crowd is really pathetic for a premier division match... was it really worse last year?

17/05/2008, 6:11 PM
Up 50%?! What was it last year? That crowd is really pathetic for a premier division match... was it really worse last year?
284 last season.

JC_GUFC
17/05/2008, 6:54 PM

I know 3 Galway United fans who were at the match so does this mean we beat you with a squad of 12?!?!

WoodquayBoy
17/05/2008, 9:17 PM
395? Did ye count everyone twice? And judging by the number of people who got to their feet when Glynn scored from my vantage point behind goal opposite corner to ambulance, there was more than 15 United fans there.
First visit to ground, nice stand, crap surface

17/05/2008, 9:20 PM
I know 3 Galway United fans who were at the match so does this mean we beat you with a squad of 12?!?!
Obviously we weren't counting players on the pitch in that. We haven't started Inflating Attendances 101 with Professor Galway yet.

Maths not your strong point? ;)

Course it's a poor crowd. But if it's up 50% (and all our games this season have been up on the past two seasons, bar Drogheda, which was down by 9), it's good to see.

Paddyfield
17/05/2008, 10:15 PM
Obviously we weren't counting players on the pitch in that. We haven't started Inflating Attendances 101 with Professor Galway yet.

Course it's a poor crowd. But if it's up 50% (and all our games this season have been up on the past two seasons, bar Drogheda, which was down by 9), it's good to see.

Yeah yeah, point taken.

Of course I mean 3 points. And maths isn't my strongest subject either.

PS If you believe Galway United are inflating/exaggerating official attendances figures, you should report it to the FAI.

PPS Our attendance figures are way down on last year. I'm getting good at this maths lark.

Battery Rover
18/05/2008, 8:36 AM
Official attendance at last nights game between Athlone Town and Sporting Fingal was 347.

Hope Shels bring a big crowd next week as after what people saw last night we will be lucky have the 47.

Buller
18/05/2008, 9:55 AM

On the contrary, it is! Im one of the 11 people in my year who do honours maths for the LC... The way it was put wasn't clear. (Just clarifying that)

And we brought up about 100 hoops up to Finn Park, not 50, but it was still the worst crowd in years...

18/05/2008, 11:43 AM
Of course I mean 3 points. And maths isn't my strongest subject either.

I'm getting good at this maths lark.
The maths jibe was to Buller.

Reading not your strong point? :p

dublinwanderer
18/05/2008, 12:32 PM
decent crowd at the showgrounds last night, maybe 1800 is i'm sure a sigo fan will comment.... decent crowd up from bray too

red bellied
18/05/2008, 1:11 PM
decent crowd at the showgrounds last night, maybe 1800 is i'm sure a sigo fan will comment.... decent crowd up from bray too

About that I would say too, around fifty or sixty from Bray.

18/05/2008, 2:33 PM
That crowd is really pathetic for a premier division match...

And what did you expect? I can tell you now, home crowds against Bray, Sligo, Cobh and Harps are going to be within 300-500, probably at the lower end. You can post your indignation in advance because I can shockingly tell you that UCD attract low crowds to Premier Division soccer matches.