Urlar v Westport B - Draw

crossmolina v manulla b (home)
fahy rovers v s+f (home)
glenhest v celtic b (draw)
swinford v kilmore (draw)
urlar v westport b (away)

Kilmore Fan
16/04/2008, 11:31 AM
Hello all! I see our side lacks representation so here I am. Looking forward to meeting some new teams this season

r.rover
16/04/2008, 11:57 AM
Hello all! I see our side lacks representation so here I am. Looking forward to meeting some new teams this season

welcome, good ta have a few from the different teams in the division!!

FahyForever
16/04/2008, 2:40 PM
Crossmolina v Manulla B - Home
Fahy Rovers v S & F - Home
Glenhest v Celtic B - Away
Swinford v Kilmore - Draw
Urlar v Westport B - Away

pool 7
16/04/2008, 3:42 PM
Crossmolina v Manulla b -home
Fahy v S & F - away
Glenhest v Celtic b -draw
Swinford v Kilmore -home
Urlar v Westport b -draw

Cloggs
16/04/2008, 7:21 PM

as r.rover said welcome to the forum and all new views are more than welcome.i see we're down to play yee saturday week in milebush.is david sweeney still playing at centre back for yee?as i remember from our previous games he was probably your best player along with tony geraghty (although i see that he's still playing with yee)best of luck for the season ahead.

Kilmore Fan
17/04/2008, 8:32 AM
Thanks for the welcome r.rover and cloggs!

To answer your question Cloggs;
I take it you mean Brendan Sweeney and if so he hasn't played with us in years. He lives in England now! but to be honest even if he was still around he would have a few challenges to that "best player" title you gave him.We have some excellent players now and we have a few youngsters coming through that are really beginning to shine. The morale is great this season (it was great last season too)and it's great to meet some new teams and play at some different pitches! We were really getting sick of the same ones. When you consider we had two neighbouring teams in our division last year that also use the Kilmore grounds.

Thanks for the well wishes for the season! Best of luck to you too and looking forward to the game in Milebush!

Bandit
17/04/2008, 8:06 PM
Well guys just got registered there now,looking forward to getting into this whole forum thing..I am a Swinford fan by the way looking forward to the kilmore game on sunday should be a good one.
Not a great start by our lads so far, new manager in so will take a while to knit in.They are getting better every week so beware Kilmore..:)

Bandit
17/04/2008, 8:20 PM
Crossmolina v Manulla B ( DRAW )
Fahy v S & F ( AWAY )
Glenhest v Celtic B ( AWAY )
Swinford v Kilmore ( HOME )
Urlar v Westport B (AWAY)

r.rover
18/04/2008, 9:08 AM
Crossmolina v Manulla B ( DRAW )
Fahy v S & F ( AWAY )
Glenhest v Celtic B ( AWAY )
Swinford v Kilmore ( HOME )
Urlar v Westport B (AWAY)

i see were not been givin much of a chance in the predictions table against s+f! :(hope everyones wrong!!!:eek:

pool 7
18/04/2008, 9:32 AM
r.rover think predictions of game are close.i think the game will be close.should be a good one!!

theboy
18/04/2008, 9:49 AM
r.rover think predictions of game are close.i think the game will be close.should be a good one!!

Ya should be a good game alrite, both teams doin well. think the astro mite suit fahy more. some other good games this weekend as well. time for swinford to get a win, or they could be in bother. even tho its way to early to say who'll win or go down...

pool 7
18/04/2008, 9:58 AM
ya must agree,good games in the prem.i think the quality of teams is high.Watch swinford and i think they will be ok.They are due a win!!! Too early to predict winners/losers yet.its going to be close!!

mayo-man
18/04/2008, 10:22 AM
ya must agree,good games in the prem.i think the quality of teams is high.Watch swinford and i think they will be ok.They are due a win!!! Too early to predict winners/losers yet.its going to be close!!

Lads i have to agree we(Swinford) started off slow but i think we are going to get going from now on. As you say a must win game against Kilmore already this early in the season, but i think if we win we can kick on from there.

r.rover
18/04/2008, 10:31 AM
Lads i have to agree we(Swinford) started off slow but i think we are going to get going from now on. As you say a must win game against Kilmore already this early in the season, but i think if we win we can kick on from there.
true lads, look at us last season, i think we were 2nd from bottom after 5 games and nearly got promotion, the table can change a whole lot in two games, the level of football seems to have improoved this year anyways..

pool 7
18/04/2008, 12:00 PM
There are alot of quality players in the prem.if you were to pick a prem team it be a hard task!!! Good players, Good games. must agree the level of football has improved.

the grape vine
18/04/2008, 12:29 PM
There are alot of quality players in the prem.if you were to pick a prem team it be a hard task!!! Good players, Good games. must agree the level of football has improved.

ya , the gap in the quailty of the players on the team at the top of the table and the team's at the bottom of the table isn't as big in the premier league as in the super league

18/04/2008, 1:16 PM
Agreed, standard from top of Division 1 to bottom of Super League is very similiar, anyone can win on any day. Teams can get stuck in the premier league for years, never making serious promotion challenges or getting into relegation difficulty. Snugboro were lucky to only spend one season in there. Although I enjoyed playing in the Premier League, it was a tough game every week. Thats all you need in Junior football.

Norm
18/04/2008, 2:23 PM
Agreed, standard from top of Division 1 to bottom of Super League is very similiar, anyone can win on any day. Teams can get stuck in the premier league for years, never making serious promotion challenges or getting into relegation difficulty. Snugboro were lucky to only spend one season in there. Although I enjoyed playing in the Premier League, it was a tough game every week. Thats all you need in Junior football.

I agree Joe.
Don't know how long you are with Snugboro, but its hard to believe its not very many years since we played ye in a Mayo Cup semi final in our then "home" pitch - Balla. The prize being a place in the final against Westport United!! I'm nearly sure we were both division 1 that year?? could be corrected. We lost on penos.
Anyway, my point is, whilst the standard is very similar between top of div one and bottom of super league. There is a very fine, yet very difficult line to be crossed in order to establish yourself as a "Super League Club."
Tough matches every week will without doubt, prepare a team for a battle. Essentially though, it is a robust club set-up with proper facilities and one eye on the future that will reap the rewards.
I've said it before, but Snugboro FC are working hard both on and off the field and the fact that they are sitting pretty on the top of the super leagus is testiment to all that work.
Can we justifiably claim that the standard of football is improving in the P.L.?
I'm not sure that we can.
This years P.L has 10 teams that, on any given day, will produce some good football, great games and quality entertainment. Any of which are capable of winning promotion.
The real challenge however, is not just promotion, it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club.
In recent years, apart from Snugboro, I cannot think of any club who has achieved this.

Bandit
18/04/2008, 3:19 PM
I agree Joe.
Don't know how long you are with Snugboro, but its hard to believe its not very many years since we played ye in a Mayo Cup semi final in our then "home" pitch - Balla. The prize being a place in the final against Westport United!! I'm nearly sure we were both division 1 that year?? could be corrected. We lost on penos.
Anyway, my point is, whilst the standard is very similar between top of div one and bottom of super league. There is a very fine, yet very difficult line to be crossed in order to establish yourself as a "Super League Club."
Tough matches every week will without doubt, prepare a team for a battle. Essentially though, it is a robust club set-up with proper facilities and one eye on the future that will reap the rewards.
I've said it before, but Snugboro FC are working hard both on and off the field and the fact that they are sitting pretty on the top of the super leagus is testiment to all that work.
Can we justifiably claim that the standard of football is improving in the P.L.?
I'm not sure that we can.
This years P.L has 10 teams that, on any given day, will produce some good football, great games and quality entertainment. Any of which are capable of winning promotion.
The real challenge however, is not just promotion, it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club.
In recent years, apart from Snugboro, I cannot think of any club who has achieved this.

I agree with you there Snugboro have come on leaps and bounds in both play and facilities in recent years its great to see fair play to Johan and all involved.We used to have great battles in Division 1 hopefully we can get up and get another rattle at them ;). I know our manager at the moment ( ex captain Sean Kavanagh ) would love to renew his " Friendship " with Johan..:D Keep up the good work Snugboro.

Kilmore Fan
19/04/2008, 12:55 PM
Well guys just got registered there now,looking forward to getting into this whole forum thing..I am a Swinford fan by the way looking forward to the kilmore game on sunday should be a good one.
Not a great start by our lads so far, new manager in so will take a while to knit in.They are getting better every week so beware Kilmore..:)

Welcome Bandit! Looking forward to the game on Sunday!:)

Kilmore Fan
19/04/2008, 12:57 PM
Crossmolina v Manulla B - Home
Fahy Rovers v S & F - Home
Glenhest v Celtic B - Home
Swinford v Kilmore - Away
Urlar v Westport B - Draw

Kilmore Fan
19/04/2008, 1:00 PM
To what everyone is saying I agree. There really isn't much of a gap between those at the top and the bottom of the table. This is promising to be a really tight season! There are alot of well established teams and all I can say is that it is really going to be an interesting season! Bring it on!!!

theboy
20/04/2008, 4:49 PM
S&F beat fahy 5-2 today, i went to watch this game today to see how good fahy really were, and to be honest they were very very poor to say the least. S&F were a by far a better team and will take beating. football wise fahy were no where near them or fitness wise. S&F were with out both paul fitzpatrick and alan mc donnell. so they can only get stronger.

any other results lads?

Bandit
20/04/2008, 7:51 PM
We (Swinford) beat kilmore 2-0 today:D,the boys played really well and could have had a few more. Kilmore are a nice footballing team and will easily hold their own this year..

ExCiTeD
20/04/2008, 11:26 PM
celtic won 7.1 away in glenhest.celtic were good but hest have real problems.they was infighting before and during the game, there a club in real trouble based on todays evidence.young rowland is a decent player and needs to get himself out of there and join a club that can coach him and let the lad play at a standard that merits his talent. unfortunately for him family reasons may prevent that which would be a shame for the lad he deserves better than his club showed today. celtics campaign is up and running!!

Kilmore Fan
21/04/2008, 7:54 AM
We (Swinford) beat kilmore 2-0 today:D,the boys played really well and could have had a few more. Kilmore are a nice footballing team and will easily hold their own this year..

Well done Bandit!! Ye have a good team there! We were simply missing too many of our first team, all for good reasons!!! So beware when we meet again. Nice to see another team who can have a laugh (I hate to see infighting in a team)and it's clear to see you are gelling well with your new manager! Good luck with the rest of the season!:)

Kilmore Fan
21/04/2008, 8:00 AM
S&F beat fahy 5-2 today, i went to watch this game today to see how good fahy really were, and to be honest they were very very poor to say the least. S&F were a by far a better team and will take beating. football wise fahy were no where near them or fitness wise. S&F were with out both paul fitzpatrick and alan mc donnell. so they can only get stronger.

any other results lads?

The results can be found on aertel network 2 page 440.(Also online on the same)

I was quite suprised with that result. I thought Fahy wiuld be the team to beat this season!!! But by the sounds of that it's S&F.:confused:

irishyop
21/04/2008, 8:06 AM
celtic won 7.1 away in glenhest.celtic were good but hest have real problems.they was infighting before and during the game, there a club in real trouble based on todays evidence.young rowland is a decent player and needs to get himself out of there and join a club that can coach him and let the lad play at a standard that merits his talent. unfortunately for him family reasons may prevent that which would be a shame for the lad he deserves better than his club showed today. celtics campaign is up and running!!

Great win that, that will be a sore one down in Glehest :D
Any idea who did the scoring?

Leveller
21/04/2008, 8:29 AM

What position does rowland play?

theboy
21/04/2008, 9:48 AM
Crossmolina 0-2 Manulla B
Fahy 2- 5 S&F
Glenhest 1 - 7 Celtic B
Swinford 2 - 0 Kilmore
Urlaur 3-2 Westport B

theboy
21/04/2008, 9:51 AM
Team Pts

S&F 12
Fahy 7
Crossmolina 7
Manulla B 7
Glenhest 4
Swinford 4
Celtic B 3
Urlaur 3
Westport B 1

the grape vine
21/04/2008, 10:54 AM
whats the story with the champions westport, sitting at the bottom of the table ??

GoodFootball
21/04/2008, 11:00 AM

any other results lads?

S & F were by far the better team on the day, that was plain to see. But I wouldn't base your opinion of Fahy on this display. Fahy were without 4 or 5 influential first 11 players. Also about 6 of the first 11 which started were at a stag the night before. Dont get me wrong I am not saying that Fahy could have beaten S & F on another day (I think there is a certainty of S & F going up as champions this year) but it was a case of bad timing for a big game in Fahys defence.

Still in 2nd place and im sure Fahy will learn from the game...

Kilmore Fan
21/04/2008, 11:19 AM
Team Pts

S&F 12
Fahy 7
Crossmolina 7
Manulla B 7
Glenhest 4
Swinford 4
Celtic B 3
Urlaur 3
Westport B 1

Have you forgotten about us?

GoodFootball
21/04/2008, 12:32 PM
Have you forgotten about us?

S&F 12
Fahy 7
Crossmolina 7
Manulla B 7
Glenhest 4
Swinford 4
Celtic B 3
KILMORE 3
Urlaur 3
Westport B 1

Bandit
21/04/2008, 9:55 PM
What position does rowland play?

He plays left midfield i think,he was their best outfield player by a mile if its the same lad,serious potential alright.We only drew one all with them but their keeper was unreal in the second half saved at least three certain goals..

Leveller
22/04/2008, 8:34 AM
He plays left midfield i think,he was their best outfield player by a mile if its the same lad,serious potential alright.We only drew one all with them but their keeper was unreal in the second half saved at least three certain goals..

Their keeper is class, we played them last season away and he made a name for himself.

r.rover
22/04/2008, 4:20 PM
S & F were by far the better team on the day, that was plain to see. But I wouldn't base your opinion of Fahy on this display. Fahy were without 4 or 5 influential first 11 players. Also about 6 of the first 11 which started were at a stag the night before. Dont get me wrong I am not saying that Fahy could have beaten S & F on another day (I think there is a certainty of S & F going up as champions this year) but it was a case of bad timing for a big game in Fahys defence.

Still in 2nd place and im sure Fahy will learn from the game...

cheers gf, yea ya got it rite there we were poor all over the pitch the last day, but it is true we were missin a good few, incl keeper and a few sick heads from the stag, as you say wel put it down to a bad day at the office and try move on, still in second and hopefully that will be a once off.

GoodFootball
23/04/2008, 12:35 PM
For straight red how much games do you get? For 2 yellows how much do you get etc?

Is there an appeal process for dodgy decisions?

I probably just gave away my identity :D

r.rover
23/04/2008, 12:49 PM
anyone know if the k.o times in mayo news are correct for sat 6pm?

Norm
23/04/2008, 1:15 PM
Youse look stronger this year alright. Have ye any of the gaelic lads from Kilmeena? Heard Davy Feehan has committed fully.

Stephen O Malley - Dessies brother?? He played a few years ago in the premier for ye at centre back?? What sort of shape he in now after England?

Sounds like ye're on the up... all the best

You gave up your identity a long time ago GoodFootball.:p (See Above)

Not sure what the situation is regarding sendings off and suspensions.

irishyop
23/04/2008, 1:48 PM
Is it 3 games for straight red and 1 game for 2 yellows?

All rules here:

http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affederation/federation/laws_of_the_game_0708_10565.pdf

GoodFootball
23/04/2008, 3:53 PM
You gave up your identity a long time ago GoodFootball.:p (See Above)

Not sure what the situation is regarding sendings off and suspensions.

HAHA it appears your the only one who copped it, i was expecting a bit of slagging but none at all :D

Good work Norm

3 matches is so harsh for that tackle :confused:

ExCiTeD
23/04/2008, 4:10 PM
i know this has been mentioned before on this forum but the coverage this league gets in the papers is a joke. not a single game featured this week.surely as the second tier of the mayo league the clubs involved deserve better particularly the clubs whose first team are in this division ie.... fahy kilmore swinford etc.surely the papers could do a report on at least one game a week and spread the featured game between the clubs. god knows every gaa pre season back garden c**k fight gets covered in all the rags surely we're not askin for too much

GoodFootball
23/04/2008, 5:22 PM
Predictions:

Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (DRAW)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (AWAY)

GoodFootball
23/04/2008, 5:25 PM
i know this has been mentioned before on this forum but the coverage this league gets in the papers is a joke. not a single game featured this week.surely as the second tier of the mayo league the clubs involved deserve better particularly the clubs whose first team are in this division ie.... fahy kilmore swinford etc.surely the papers could do a report on at least one game a week and spread the featured game between the clubs. god knows every gaa pre season back garden c**k fight gets covered in all the rags surely we're not askin for too much

Good point, but soccer will alwaysbe a second to GAA in Mayo in terms of media coverage and general support too. Its a pity but c'est la vie...