View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

irishyop
23/04/2008, 10:47 PM
Good point, but soccer will alwaysbe a second to GAA in Mayo in terms of media coverage and general support too. Its a pity but c'est la vie...

That the issue alright, its probably a 70/30 split as regards "public interest" and the papers split this further to an 80/20.

Personally I think it has got worse, there was better coverage of the games up until the last 2 years or so, what the reason is I dont obviously know but it is no incentive for any young players when they weigh up which code to play in order to see their "name in lights"

As regards Celtic B or C I cannot remember the last time a report was in the paper, maybe 2 years ago?
In fairness to Fahy and Swinford they do regular submit a report of their matches to the papers, maybe that the problem that the only way to get in their is to get each club to do up a report and force it on the papers, then they cannot ignore us.

So Excited out of pure interest maybe for the game on Saturday, do a report, email it into the Connacht and see if that rattles their cage, it will prove whether they have any interest in publishing it. Worth a try anyway.

irishyop
23/04/2008, 10:48 PM
Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (AWAY)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (HOME)

Ranger
24/04/2008, 8:22 AM
i know this has been mentioned before on this forum but the coverage this league gets in the papers is a joke. not a single game featured this week.surely as the second tier of the mayo league the clubs involved deserve better particularly the clubs whose first team are in this division ie.... fahy kilmore swinford etc.surely the papers could do a report on at least one game a week and spread the featured game between the clubs. god knows every gaa pre season back garden c**k fight gets covered in all the rags surely we're not askin for too much

To be fair the papers will only print what information they get. The role of P.R.O. in any club should be taken seriously if the clubs want to be taken seriously. If you think about it, even a small 300 word update of activities about your club will be read by a few thousand readers all across the region. Websites are also becoming more popular but the problem I see with most of them is that after all the hype of the "offical launch" has died down they are rarely updated.(In my opinion,the worst culprit here is the Mayo League itself. The Schoolboys/girls League tried but likewise is totally out of date. Where on this super highway of information (internet) can anyone read about what is happening on the Mayo Leagues (bar foot.ie)????? The only website I see regular updates on is the Castlebar Celtic one. I'm sure this also contributes to their sucess on and off the field.
Rant over..........!!

No. 7
24/04/2008, 9:25 AM
S & F were by far the better team on the day, that was plain to see. But I wouldn't base your opinion of Fahy on this display. Fahy were without 4 or 5 influential first 11 players. Also about 6 of the first 11 which started were at a stag the night before. Dont get me wrong I am not saying that Fahy could have beaten S & F on another day (I think there is a certainty of S & F going up as champions this year) but it was a case of bad timing for a big game in Fahys defence.

Still in 2nd place and im sure Fahy will learn from the game...

I find this hard to understand, you are playing probably the favourites for the title and half of the team goes on a stag the night before, where do their commitments lie? Last year a bad start cost the team promotion, i hope its not the same this year?

r.rover
24/04/2008, 9:38 AM
celtic b vs swinford (home)
crossmolina vs s+f (away)
glenhest vs westport(draw)
fahy vs kilmore9(home)
urlar vs manullab (away)

r.rover
24/04/2008, 9:42 AM
I find this hard to understand, you are playing probably the favourites for the title and half of the team goes on a stag the night before, where do their commitments lie? Last year a bad start cost the team promotion, i hope its not the same this year?

well i think its fairly simple, fahy done thier best to get the game changed, but it wasnt possible, it was one of their best mates stag and they chose to go and get drunk, i cant see a whole lot wrong with that, more to life than premier division mayo football, im not sayin its not important to these lads, but there not professional footballers

theboy
24/04/2008, 9:43 AM

Exactly, its takes a bit more effort than that. Maybe the fahy players are quite happy to finish 2nd or 3rd and go up.

Norm
24/04/2008, 10:01 AM

Their commiments lie, like most normal people, with their family & friends then football. If a stag, or a wedding, or any other occcasion is looking like it will effect the squad, normal practice is to try have the match called off or re-scheduled.
Fahy tried this, but unfortunately it wasn't possible. Therefore, as r.rover stated, life goes on. The boys went on the sauce, turned up for the match, and got walloped.
unfortunate timing, no regrets, great weekend.
It's still a long season.

the grape vine
24/04/2008, 11:05 AM
this is a snip'it of one of your post "it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club".

by the looks of things i dont think Fahy Rovers will make the step up to a super league club, with the players having attitude's like that, i can bet you that any super league players would make that sacrifice!! (could go on the beer on sunday after the game )

mayo-man
24/04/2008, 11:49 AM
celtic b vs swinford (Away)
crossmolina vs s+f (Draw)
glenhest vs westport(Home)
fahy vs kilmore9(Draw)
urlar vs manullab (Home)

r.rover
24/04/2008, 12:22 PM
this is a snip'it of one of your post "it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club".

by the looks of things i dont think Fahy Rovers will make the step up to a super league club, with the players having attitude's like that, i can bet you that any super league players would make that sacrifice!! (could go on the beer on sunday after the game )

i can bet you they wouldnt, im friends with plenty of them! dont worry we went on the beer sunday too! anyways no-one at the club is upset over it so thats what matters, i think we can let it lie now and look forward too weekends games, or we could open a fahy rovers disiplinary thread!not!

GoodFootball
24/04/2008, 12:39 PM

Contrary to what you may believe, this Fahy team are serious about winning the league and going up! We have high hopes of ourselves, last weekend is a once off in the season. As a player of the team I can say that none of us go out the night before games, and some us make the trip from Dublin, Sligo, Cork back to Westport every weekend to play games in the hope of playing in the super league next season.

The players have the belief and so do the management and we will do our best to be a super league team next season and if we aren't it wont be from lack of effort or bad attitude...

Norm
24/04/2008, 1:52 PM

8 Fahy Rovers players showed up at 1pm Saturday for a fun bus. Commitment I think you'll all agree.

8 Fahy Rovers Players battled the mud and the blood and the beer all day and night. Attitude.

7 Fahy Rovers Players showed up to a match on sunday and got beat. Costly.

8 Fahy Rovers Players hit the sauce again Sunday and had a good oul weekend. Priceless.

In refenence to the quote you used, it is not relevant.
Whither or not we sucessfully establish as a super league club in the future is not entirly dependant on last Sunday.
My point in that post were the numerous factors both on and off the field that are instrumental in the long term establishment of a S.L club and a sucessful club.

Its a long season. How we react to the defeat will give a better idea of our attitude and character then the actual defeat itself.

Cloggs
24/04/2008, 5:07 PM

in fairness if we were a super league club we might not have had to encounter the difficculties of having to choose between a best mate and a game of ball as we should have been able to get the game postponed.but we're not a 'celtic' so we just have to make do with who turns up on the day and hope that they're in relatively good shape for the game!;)
the lads all stay in on the night before a game generally and there is a number of players making a massive effort each weekend to travel down-a lot of clubs have players travelling long distances to play games at the weekends and fair play to them-its what keeps a club going and keeps a good spirit in a club.as gf has already stated if we can bounce back with a win on saturday against kilmore everyone will be happy (in fahy anyway!!:D)

FahyForever
24/04/2008, 7:12 PM
in fairness if we were a super league club we might not have had to encounter the difficculties of having to choose between a best mate and a game of ball as we should have been able to get the game postponed.but we're not a 'celtic' so we just have to make do with who turns up on the day and hope that they're in relatively good shape for the game!;)
the lads all stay in on the night before a game generally and there is a number of players making a massive effort each weekend to travel down-a lot of clubs have players travelling long distances to play games at the weekends and fair play to them-its what keeps a club going and keeps a good spirit in a club.as gf has already stated if we can bounce back with a win on saturday against kilmore everyone will be happy (in fahy anyway!!:D)

I'm glad to see the best team in the league are now the most talked about anyway!

Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (Home)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (AWAY)

Kilmore Fan
25/04/2008, 8:28 AM
Celtic B V Swinford (Away)
Crossmolina V S & F (Away)
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (Draw)
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (Away)
Urlaur United V Manulla B (Away)

Kilmore Fan
25/04/2008, 8:35 AM
It must have been the weekend for stag's!!! Seriously guys would ye ever chill. I'm glad to see that Fahy value their friends more than one game. I don't doubt their commitment or their hunger for the super league so why on earth is everyone making such a big deal of one game! From what I can tell they have players travelling from all over the country (like we do) to get home for a game at the weekend. Does this not show commitment? I have no doubt that Fahy will do well this season.....

Cloggs
25/04/2008, 4:17 PM
It must have been the weekend for stag's!!! Seriously guys would ye ever chill. I'm glad to see that Fahy value their friends more than one game. I don't doubt their commitment or their hunger for the super league so why on earth is everyone making such a big deal of one game! From what I can tell they have players travelling from all over the country (like we do) to get home for a game at the weekend. Does this not show commitment? I have no doubt that Fahy will do well this season.....

hopefully we will on saturday evening anyway!;):D

Cloggs
25/04/2008, 4:19 PM
Celtic B V Swinford -home
Crossmolina V S & F -draw
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B -draw
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore -home
Urlaur United V Manulla B -home

Bandit
25/04/2008, 5:37 PM
Celtic B V Swinford -home
Crossmolina V S & F -draw
Glenhest Rovers V Westport B -draw
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore -home
Urlaur United V Manulla B -home

Celtic B V Swinford- Away
Crossmolina V S & F- Away
Glenhest V Westport B- Away
Fahy Rovers V Kilmore- Home
Urlaur United V Manulla B- Away.

ExCiTeD
26/04/2008, 9:47 PM
That the issue alright, its probably a 70/30 split as regards "public interest" and the papers split this further to an 80/20.

Personally I think it has got worse, there was better coverage of the games up until the last 2 years or so, what the reason is I dont obviously know but it is no incentive for any young players when they weigh up which code to play in order to see their "name in lights"

As regards Celtic B or C I cannot remember the last time a report was in the paper, maybe 2 years ago?
In fairness to Fahy and Swinford they do regular submit a report of their matches to the papers, maybe that the problem that the only way to get in their is to get each club to do up a report and force it on the papers, then they cannot ignore us.

So Excited out of pure interest maybe for the game on Saturday, do a report, email it into the Connacht and see if that rattles their cage, it will prove whether they have any interest in publishing it. Worth a try anyway.
haha dont think my report would be printable

TheBoss
26/04/2008, 10:45 PM
Not sure if any of guys would know this, just going through some reports in the League Cup in 2006 when Mayo League played Longford, I can not seem to find any info on these players that can came as subs (Fitzpatrick and Napier), I can not get their first names as that is the main reason.

Thanks

Bandit
27/04/2008, 8:16 AM
Not sure if any of guys would know this, just going through some reports in the League Cup in 2006 when Mayo League played Longford, I can not seem to find any info on these players that can came as subs (Fitzpatrick and Napier), I can not get their first names as that is the main reason.

Thanks

I would say its Paul fitz of S & F and Tarren Napier of Kiltimagh and Knock, 2 very good players..

Cloggs
27/04/2008, 9:51 AM
fahy beat kilmore 2-0 last night in a tough enough game.we played some of the best football that we've done for a long time and only for the kilmore keeper stephen o'boyle (i think thats his name) we would've scored a lot more.nice to bounce back with a win after last weeks minor setback!
i hear that s and f beat crossmolina 2-0 in cross-good win for them especially as they were away form home.westport b beat glenhest 1-0 and i think that celtic beat swinford 4-1.celtic going very well in the league but glenhest look to be in serious trouble at the moment.they only seem to have a couple of players that are of any real quality from what i've seen.they probably need a bit more of a blend of youth and experience as the current crop have potential but need to be brought on.
anyone know how the urlar and manulla b game went?

irishyop
27/04/2008, 11:06 AM
haha dont think my report would be printable

:D Go on chance it, how bad could it be :o

Kilmore Fan
28/04/2008, 7:43 AM
fahy beat kilmore 2-0 last night in a tough enough game.we played some of the best football that we've done for a long time and only for the kilmore keeper stephen o'boyle (i think thats his name) we would've scored a lot more.nice to bounce back with a win after last weeks minor setback!
i hear that s and f beat crossmolina 2-0 in cross-good win for them especially as they were away form home.westport b beat glenhest 1-0 and i think that celtic beat swinford 4-1.celtic going very well in the league but glenhest look to be in serious trouble at the moment.they only seem to have a couple of players that are of any real quality from what i've seen.they probably need a bit more of a blend of youth and experience as the current crop have potential but need to be brought on.
anyone know how the urlar and manulla b game went?

Not that it's an excuse but we were missing most of our team as they were gone to a wedding!! and I really mean most of the team. We were expecting to lose by a hell of alot more! We tried getting it postponed but mayo league were having none of it. I guess you must have to be in the superleague before they listen to you:(. Yes it's Stephen. He had a good game surely!! Some suprise results this weekend. It's really going to be an exciting season. Anything could happen;)

Leveller
28/04/2008, 8:49 AM
Westport beat Glenhest 1 - 0 with a Joe Kelly goal,a result, but not a great one, from what I saw Westport need to improve significantly in order to survive

theboy
28/04/2008, 4:24 PM
Castlebar Celtic B Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30
Urlaur United Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30
Kilmore Glenhest Rovers Drum. Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30
Westport United B Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30
Crossmolina Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30

Has the draw been done yet for the winners of the 1st round of the cup??

28/04/2008, 5:22 PM
Castlebar Celtic B Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30 Match A
Urlaur United Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30 Match B
Kilmore Glenhest Rovers Drum. Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30 Match C
Westport United B Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30 Match D
Crossmolina Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30 Match E

Has the draw been done yet for the winners of the 1st round of the cup??
The second round game on June 5 involves the winners of match D against the winners of match E(Wesport/S&F V Crossmolina/Swinford)
The semi-finals(don't know the draw) are scheduled for June 16 with the final on July 20

mayo-man
30/04/2008, 10:36 AM
Lads, did Urlar and Munalla not play at the weekend?
Any reason for that.

Also are these results correst:

Fahy 2 v Kilmore 1
S&F 2 v Crossmolina 0
Westport 1 v Glenhest 0
Celtic 4 v Swinford 2

theboy
30/04/2008, 10:42 AM
Castlebar Celtic B 4 -2 Swinford
Crossmolina 0- 2 Straide & Foxford
Glenhest Rovers 0 -1 Westport United B
Fahy Rovers 2 -0 Kilmore
Urlaur United 1- 3 Manulla B

These are the results from the snugboro website.
looks like kilmore and urlaur under pressure already, celtic comin back into a bit of form, with S&F lookin strong. but early days yet.

theboy
30/04/2008, 10:44 AM

anyone goin to chance sayin who'll be in the final and go on to win it!!!

30/04/2008, 10:56 AM
We were really getting sick of the same ones. When you consider we had two neighbouring teams in our division last year that also use the Kilmore grounds.
Hows it going Kilmore Fan, welcome to the board, best of luck this season.

Quick question, think I've only played away to Kilmore once(how long are ye in the league 2003/2004). Where is your pitch and who else shares the ground? Cheers.
Trying to get an accurate location for all clubs in Mayo for this page
http://map.snugboro.com (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=6940&map=1&sportid=8&club_id=3994&countyid=37)
Theres a good few wrong because of low resolution images(and Fahy where I just threw it anywhere, didn't want to put you in Milebush)
Anyone who wants to help can add a pin to

http://pininthemap.com/pp3bee12a188d328405
password: mayo

GoodFootball
30/04/2008, 12:37 PM

anyone goin to chance sayin who'll be in the final and go on to win it!!!

Too hard to nail it down to final as we dont know structure of semis yet! Or do we? I'd say it will be one of 3: S & F, Fahy or Celtic B.

GoodFootball
30/04/2008, 12:39 PM

Quick question, think I've only played away to Kilmore once(how long are ye in the league 2003/2004). Where is your pitch and who else shares the ground? Cheers.
http://map.snugboro.com (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=6940&map=1&sportid=8&club_id=3994&countyid=37)
Theres a good few wrong because of low resolution images(and Fahy where I just threw it anywhere, didn't want to put you in Milebush)

JD good map, suggestion is to move Fahy south about half the distance between where it is now and where Westport is :)

pool 7
30/04/2008, 3:38 PM
think it could be a castlebar celtic b v straide & foxford final !!! provided they dont meet in early rounds.would be a good final..

Norm
30/04/2008, 3:58 PM
Fahy v Kilmore Final. Provided they avoid each other on route. You read it here first........

Good work on the location map Joe. Great idea. Reckon you are near enuf spot on where ya tossed Fahy..!

Kilmore Fan
01/05/2008, 8:20 AM

Firstly thanks for the welcome joe! We joined the league in the 2002-2003 season. Our home pitch is the Kilmore Community pitch in Drum. Inver united and Valley Rovers (used to) use that pitch too.

Kilmore Fan
02/05/2008, 9:18 AM
Fahy v Kilmore Final. Provided they avoid each other on route. You read it here first........

Good work on the location map Joe. Great idea. Reckon you are near enuf spot on where ya tossed Fahy..!

I like that prediction! Ye were lucky we didn't have a full team the last day. If ye were delighted with that preformance, ye will have a seriously tough match against our full team. It would be nice to meet in a cup final again!;)

pool 7
02/05/2008, 12:28 PM
just wondering whos S&F manager.seems to be doing a good job getting the team back on track!!

Cloggs
02/05/2008, 3:08 PM
just wondering whos S&F manager.seems to be doing a good job getting the team back on track!!

as far as i know its james larkin

on another note i see that the the mayo oscar traynor team are looking for nominations from all the clubs around the county for players that they feel are up to the standard and declan kilkelly will go and have at least one look at each player recommended.it gives players from the premier leaguea chance to get on the mayo squad.i think that its a great idea and it gives the smaller clubs a chance to showcase some of their more talented players.and it should cut down on the amount of giving out about whatever squad is picked.fair play to the mayo management on that one.

theboy
02/05/2008, 3:55 PM
S&F manager is Aiden Flatley, ya he's doin very well to get them back on track. i think this year was make or break for them.

pool 7
03/05/2008, 10:11 AM
Yes Aiden Flatley.Its a big step for him moving from the womens game to the mens.Its going the right way for him so far!!He was very successful with the ladies game can he do it in the mens???? o nly time will tell,

ExCiTeD
03/05/2008, 10:59 PM
Urlaur 0-3 Celtic This eve.this was a posponed game from a few weeks ago

pool 7
06/05/2008, 9:39 AM
Good win for celtic b.They are going well.could win the league.

johnmayo
06/05/2008, 12:22 PM
<quote>Yes Aiden Flatley.Its a big step for him moving from the womens game to the mens.Its going the right way for him so far!!He was very successful with the ladies game can he do it in the mens???? o nly time will tell, </QUOTE>

A big step ???

FAI Senior Cup Win with a junior/Intermediate team. Beating UCD twice in two seasons - both games in Dublin.

UEFA Cup qualifying group against International standard players (hibs had nine starting Scottish internationals, Neulengbach with 6 Austrian, Internationals, three Brazilians incl. Rosanna who came on as a sub in the Womens World Cup final)

yeah I think Aidan stays awake at night worrying about Crossmolina and Fahy Rovers.:D

pool 7
06/05/2008, 12:48 PM
Thanks for the info johnmayo.Some record winning a senior cup.etc
He is building a quality team with S & F with fine players,but some of them tend to wonder off!!! and make a return alot.He must have his handfull with some of them.Just remenber its S & F hes managing now JOHNMAYO????

GoodFootball
06/05/2008, 1:30 PM
<quote>Yes Aiden Flatley.Its a big step for him moving from the womens game to the mens.Its going the right way for him so far!!He was very successful with the ladies game can he do it in the mens???? o nly time will tell, </QUOTE>

A big step ???

FAI Senior Cup Win with a junior/Intermediate team. Beating UCD twice in two seasons - both games in Dublin.

UEFA Cup qualifying group against International standard players (hibs had nine starting Scottish internationals, Neulengbach with 6 Austrian, Internationals, three Brazilians incl. Rosanna who came on as a sub in the Womens World Cup final)

yeah I think Aidan stays awake at night worrying about Crossmolina and Fahy Rovers.:D

Im sure he was a class player and looks like a good manager too but what does it matter what your background, we all play for a team or manage a team or support a team in the MAYO LEAGUE.

I find thats one of the problems in Mayo soccer, its not how ya play, its who you've played for. Hopefully the Oscar traynor selection chooses players based on current form and not on past glories. I'm sure Kilkelly has this in mind and looks to be doing a good thing by asking clubs to nominate players to be watched. Step forward :)

pool 7
06/05/2008, 3:04 PM
IF he gets s&f up to the super league,they might have a job keeping him,i hear one of the big guns are watching!!! Good to hear that kilkelly is going out to look at players.Big step foward

pool 7
06/05/2008, 3:10 PM
Castlebar Celtic B Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30 WINS; CELTIC B
Urlaur United Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30 MANULLA B
Kilmore Glenhest Rovers Drum. Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30 KILMORE
Westport United B Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30 S&F
Crossmolina Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30 SWINFORD
COME ON CELTIC!!!!!