View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008
Pages :
[
3]
HeadDBall
20/03/2008, 10:10 AM
This weeks connaught telegraph have printed the fixtures for all divisions as well as rounds 1 & 2 of the Chadwicks Cup
GoodFootball
20/03/2008, 3:28 PM
This weeks connaught telegraph have printed the fixtures for all divisions as well as rounds 1 & 2 of the Chadwicks Cup
And up go the sales of the Connaught Telegraph...:D
swinfordfc
23/03/2008, 10:48 AM
Play a friendly against fahy last night and they be thereabouts for the Premier Division title - very physical, however scoring goals might be a problem. Defence is sound but playing 5 across the middle at times might prevent ye scoring enough goals. - Best of luck in the forthcoming season. :D
23/03/2008, 12:06 PM
This years Premier Division Fixtures (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=6940&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&sportid=8&countyid=37&club_id=3994&compid=6508&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Word Document Download (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/uploaded/37/8/File/FixturesPD.doc)
http://i29.tinypic.com/2dm6wdi.jpg
Castlebar Celtic B (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3391&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Crossmolina (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3998&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Fahy Rovers (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4004&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Glenhest Rovers (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3996&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Kilmore (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4011&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Manulla B (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3992&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Straide & Foxford (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4002&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Swinford (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4003&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Urlaur United (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4007&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Westport United (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3993&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
juan pablo
24/03/2008, 9:41 PM
We played Crossmolina yesterday in a friendly, was an open enough match but they made very few chances and failed to hold possession, good performance from our own lads who are firmly ready for next Sunday. Nothing to lose so we will give it everything.
Won the game 3-1 but should have been a cricket score by half time if one of our striker's took his chances.:):)
GoodFootball
25/03/2008, 12:40 PM
This years Premier Division Fixtures (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=6940&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&sportid=8&countyid=37&club_id=3994&compid=6508&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Word Document Download (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/uploaded/37/8/File/FixturesPD.doc)
http://i29.tinypic.com/2dm6wdi.jpg
Castlebar Celtic B (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3391&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Crossmolina (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3998&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Fahy Rovers (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4004&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Glenhest Rovers (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3996&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Kilmore (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4011&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Manulla B (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3992&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Straide & Foxford (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4002&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Swinford (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4003&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Urlaur United (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=4007&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Westport United (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?userid=&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&clubid=3993&countyid=37&sportid=8&club_id=3994&from_date=23/03/2008&to_date=23/03/2009)
Surely we cant be playing at 7.30pm this weekend?? Anyone know if the times got brought back as its going to be dark at 7.30!!
Cloggs
25/03/2008, 12:44 PM
Play a friendly against fahy last night and they be thereabouts for the Premier Division title - very physical, however scoring goals might be a problem. Defence is sound but playing 5 across the middle at times might prevent ye scoring enough goals. - Best of luck in the forthcoming season. :D
was a decent enough runout the last day alright but thought that we looked far more threatening when we reverted to a more conventional 4-4-2 in the second half and should have won by a lot more in the end had we taken even a few of our chances.i do agree that we need much more of a cutting edge up front though.could be an interesting game on saturday evening against crossmloina.best of luck in your game against glenisland at the weekend:ball:
jp-fair play to yee with the win the last day.what were crossmolina like?did they have the gaa lads out for the game?as they make a huge difference to the team.what are their strengths/weaknesses?
Cloggs
25/03/2008, 12:48 PM
Surely we cant be playing at 7.30pm this weekend?? Anyone know if the times got brought back as its going to be dark at 7.30!!
all the saturday evening games are down for a 5.15pm kickoff according to the teletext so we should get the games over before it gets too dark hopefully!;)
Whats is the story with the venue for all Kilmore's home games?? They are down to play in Drum. Clogher Ballina. When we played them a few seasons back it was way down North Mayo, I can't remember the name of the pitch but we had to go a good bit past Bangor Erris. Have they moved grounds or is this the same ground as previous seasons. It's just the Ballina part of the address that is confusing me.
Decent run out for the Rovers on Saturday night against Swinford B. Good numbers, lads are looking keen & fit. We started with an unusual line-up, but we worked hard and got our win.
Anyone got any clarification as to whither or not the Mayo league require us to wear high-vis vests and flashing lights for our 1st round of matches on Saturday night??
Ignore the last question on my previous quote...
Cheers Cloggs..
25/03/2008, 1:24 PM
The fixtures I posted are not officially from the Mayo FA lads, I just copied them from the connacht and gave standard times to all games, a lot of the times will be wrong but there was no way I could guess what scheduling the Mayo League would enforce. Don't take any of my fixtures as official, do what you always do, check the connacht, mayo news, western, star, aertel the week of the game to see times and venues. Also the venue for Kilmore was taken from their address on the old soccerbot website. I don't know the official address for their ground. I merely uploaded the fixtures as a guideline for people. Didn't mean to confuse anyone.
On a sidenote, I heard the Mayo League were going to use a new content management system to soccerbot this year to keep the league tables, fixtures, results, news etc updated. And it won't be eSports Manager or a2zsoccer. Does anyone know who they are using? I noticed the fixture grids in the Connacht last week were print screens of an online system, so the Mayo League have the fixtures uploaded somewhere. I'd be interested to find out where.....
FahyForever
25/03/2008, 5:33 PM
was a decent enough runout the last day alright but thought that we looked far more threatening when we reverted to a more conventional 4-4-2 in the second half and should have won by a lot more in the end had we taken even a few of our chances.i do agree that we need much more of a cutting edge up front though.could be an interesting game on saturday evening against crossmloina.best of luck in your game against glenisland at the weekend:ball:
jp-fair play to yee with the win the last day.what were crossmolina like?did they have the gaa lads out for the game?as they make a huge difference to the team.what are their strengths/weaknesses?
I agree wholeheartedly Cloggs, Fahy looked a lot more likely to score with those two red-headed lads upfront in the second half! The poor buck in the first half could have been there till kingdom come.... Actually, just remembered missing from four yards so I take that back before I get slated tomorrow from the man in question!!! Ten Four.
juan pablo
25/03/2008, 10:38 PM
Well it would be unfair of me to criticise Crossmolina based just on a friendly match but they did have a number of players who beat us in the Tuohy Cup almost 2 and a half years ago playing: Let me see, Pierce Loftus, Stewart Griffin, John Duggan, Paul Mcguinness(GAA) , Derek Greham were all present and playing so i suppose they did have a strong squad out, they left alot of space in the defense though so a pacey forward could really do damage if they dont tighten up but as i said, we are only concerned on our own performance and all the best to 'Cross' in the Premier League this season, i see the Super League dominated the 3 Local newspapers this week, here is hoping that the other clubs below us get more coverage this season.
GoodFootball
26/03/2008, 8:01 AM
I agree wholeheartedly Cloggs, Fahy looked a lot more likely to score with those two red-headed lads upfront in the second half! The poor buck in the first half could have been there till kingdom come.... Actually, just remembered missing from four yards so I take that back before I get slated tomorrow from the man in question!!! Ten Four.
All in all defence is probably the most important thing in the premier division with most teams conceding an average of more than 1 a game, the 4-5-1 formation could work as long as you have a hard working forward and midfielders who can chip in with goals too!! With 4-5-1 you tend to have more possession of the ball and if you dont concede a goal you will at least get a draw in the words of some manager (currently out of work).
Fahy do look strong when the full squad is there and hopefully can maintain the squad free of injury this season, if they do so it could mean promotion is on the cards...;)
gola11
26/03/2008, 11:08 AM
What are Celtic B like this year? Anybody drop down from last years A panel?
GoodFootball
26/03/2008, 12:51 PM
What are Celtic B like this year? Anybody drop down from last years A panel?
Well they beat Castlebar Town 7-0 in a friendly a couple of weeks ago. Other than that I dont know much about them :)
GoodFootball
26/03/2008, 12:53 PM
Anyone know much about Westport B this year? heard a few of them have been promoted to the A team because of injuries so they might not be that strong to start with?
r.rover
26/03/2008, 3:36 PM
Anyone know much about Westport B this year? heard a few of them have been promoted to the A team because of injuries so they might not be that strong to start with?
westport b will be there or there abouts, they have a few young lads with them this year, but theyl always be strong because they always try to play good football
Celtic B v Urlar - Home
Crossmolina v Fahy Rovers - Away
Glenhest v Kilmore - Draw
Manulla B v Westport B - Away
S+F v Swinford - Home
Have our fixtures for this Saturday been confirmed as 17.15pm kick off's??
r.rover
27/03/2008, 3:16 PM
Celtic B v Urlar - Home
Crossmolina v Fahy Rovers - Away
Glenhest v Kilmore - Draw
Manulla B v Westport B - Away
S+F v Swinford - Home
Have our fixtures for this Saturday been confirmed as 17.15pm kick off's??
yea they have
pool 7
28/03/2008, 11:42 AM
celtic b will be the team to beat,hear they are flying,big panel,lot of players back,the super league team before mr dykes time.
the grape vine
28/03/2008, 1:00 PM
celtic b will be the team to beat,hear they are flying,big panel,lot of players back,the super league team before mr dykes time.
what players they got back ?
pool 7
28/03/2008, 2:03 PM
Just heard in general terms.players who played on the super league team before mr dykes time.maybe it was wrong info???
the grape vine
28/03/2008, 2:18 PM
Just heard in general terms.players who played on the super league team before mr dykes time.maybe it was wrong info???
ya !! and who they ?
pool 7
28/03/2008, 3:09 PM
As i have said,heard it in general terms,no one player named
ExCiTeD
29/03/2008, 8:25 PM
Manulla 0 Westport 0 Tough Conditions Port Had Better Chances.
Any Other Results From This Eve?
GoodFootball
30/03/2008, 2:28 PM
fahy went 2 up and should have closed off the game but cross had 2 long range efforts to make 2-2 with 5 mins to go..
GoodFootball
30/03/2008, 2:29 PM
fahy went 2 up and should have closed off the game but cross had 2 long range efforts to make 2-2 with 5 mins to go..
it finished 2-2 :D
Cloggs
30/03/2008, 7:03 PM
have to agree with you there good football.we should have been a few more goals up before the late late show by cross.fair play to them for keeping their heads up after going two down but really felt like we left two points behind us in the end.we hit the post and also had a call for a goal waved away by the ref after it looked like it crossed the line after spilling out of the keepers hands.still its a better start last year and we've a stronger squad of players this year than last so it gives us something to build on for nexts weeks game with urlar.any urlar representitives on the site?how do yee see your season going this year?
theboy
31/03/2008, 9:22 AM
Crossmolina 2- 2 Fahy
Glenhest 3-1 Kilmore
Manulla B 0 - 0 Westport B
S&F 2- 0 Swinford
Celtic B p-p Urlar
theboy
31/03/2008, 9:48 AM
Does it now mean that when Cetlic A are involved in external cups the B&C team games will be called off??? great start to the new season with fixtures piling up already....
irishyop
31/03/2008, 10:22 AM
Does it now mean that when Cetlic A are involved in external cups the B&C team games will be called off??? great start to the new season with fixtures piling up already....
I looks like it, same as last year, no games, B & C teams left sitting with no games which will not help win any trophies.
pool 7
31/03/2008, 11:04 AM
Are celtic A team playing in connacht cup next sunday.
theboy
31/03/2008, 11:19 AM
Ya as far as i no they are, games shouldnt be called off for Con-Cup games what ever about FAI games.. Ur rite playin catch up for the year wont help the cause.
Cloggs
31/03/2008, 4:43 PM
surely are all teams not supposed to have a squad of 16 players signed for each team before the start of the season?if thats the case then both the b and c teams should be able to play their games?although last year we ended up playing against a celtic b team containing five of the first teamers!we still won though!!:D
irishyop
01/04/2008, 10:15 AM
surely are all teams not supposed to have a squad of 16 players signed for each team before the start of the season?if thats the case then both the b and c teams should be able to play their games?although last year we ended up playing against a celtic b team containing five of the first teamers!we still won though!!:D
5 of the first teamers???? Who was the 5? At a very max 3, never was there 5 A team players who played for the B team, maybe these were not regular A teamers?
pool 7
01/04/2008, 1:49 PM
just heard from a celtic A player they have no game this weekend.
pool 7
01/04/2008, 2:01 PM
fahy v urlaur draw
kilmore v manulla b home
s&f v celtic b home
swinford v glenhest draw
westport b v crossmolina home
fahy v urlaur draw
kilmore v manulla b home
s&f v celtic b home
swinford v glenhest draw
westport b v crossmolina home
Fahy v Urlar - Home
Kilmore v Manulla B - Home
S&F v Celtic B - Draw
Swinford v Glenhest - Away
Westport B v Crossmolina - Home
Anyone wish to comment on the leagues ruling that untucked jersies and socks not pulled up at any stage during a match will result in an automatic €100.00 fine for the club. The ref is not even obliged to warn a player, just note it and send in the report. Positively nuts if ya ask me.
r.rover
01/04/2008, 3:46 PM
Fahy v Urlar - Home
Kilmore v Manulla B - Home
S&F v Celtic B - Draw
Swinford v Glenhest - Away
Westport B v Crossmolina - Home
Anyone wish to comment on the leagues ruling that untucked jersies and socks not pulled up at any stage during a match will result in an automatic €100.00 fine for the club. The ref is not even obliged to warn a player, just note it and send in the report. Positively nuts if ya ask me.
my boot sponsors request i have my socks pulled up at all times anyways! sounds daft surley!!!
r.rover
01/04/2008, 3:48 PM
fahy v urlar (home)
kilmore v manulla b (away)
s+f v celtic b (home)
swinford v glenhest (away)
westport b v crossmolina(home)
my boot sponsors request i have my socks pulled up at all times anyways! sounds daft surley!!!
They are also talking about banning long sleeved jersies in order to eliminate cases of pulling & tugging on the sleeves.. supposedly gonna try get this one through by giving each club one postal vote.. at least its a democratic process..
irishyop
01/04/2008, 4:01 PM
They are also talking about banning long sleeved jersies in order to eliminate cases of pulling & tugging on the sleeves.. supposedly gonna try get this one through by giving each club one postal vote.. at least its a democratic process..
Ya, but the fact is 1st April now............
Fair nuff.. A pretty lame effort I will concede!!
FahyForever
02/04/2008, 12:03 PM
Men and others. Here are the scores after round one predictions. One point for getting the correct outcome. Castlebar match called off so it was out of four. If anyone has any complants, don't come to me with them!
Norm -1
Pool7 -2
Goodfootball -2
Fahyforever -2
R.Rover -3
Cloggs -3
Anyone who wants to start now can, unless too many do, in which case I will probably be too lazy to count them all up....
FahyForever
02/04/2008, 12:05 PM
fahy v urlar (Home)
kilmore v manulla b (Draw)
s+f v celtic b (Draw)
swinford v glenhest (Away)
westport b v crossmolina (Away)
the grape vine
02/04/2008, 12:30 PM
fahy v urlar (Home)
kilmore v manulla b (Draw)
s+f v celtic b (Draw)
swinford v glenhest (home)
westport b v crossmolina (home)
Whipitin
02/04/2008, 2:19 PM
Predictions for superleague games at the weekend... any takers???
the grape vine
02/04/2008, 2:27 PM
Predictions for superleague games at the weekend... any takers???
ya,on the super leageue theard !!!
threefivetwo
03/04/2008, 2:14 PM
irishyop whats the b team like this year? how's trainin goin?