View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008
Pages :
[
12]
theboy
23/06/2008, 9:35 AM
Can't put a finger on it. Another disaster of a result. No excuses, Crossmolina were good for the win, a silly late goal made an ass of the scoreline altogether.
Not great preb for the semi final thursday..will ye be at full strenght for it, manulla b will be a tough test, they'll be up for is after there loss at the weekend.
GoodFootball
23/06/2008, 9:58 AM
Not great preb for the semi final thursday..will ye be at full strenght for it, manulla b will be a tough test, they'll be up for is after there loss at the weekend.
A bad patch I think, 3 losses in a week is never good but still maintaining 3rd position so we have to hold it together. We're making stupid errors and getting punished for them, while failing to put away any chances we get.
Wont be full strength on Thursday, but wont be far off either! Have a few players back but a few away too. It should be a good game though.
r.rover
23/06/2008, 9:59 AM
we should have a full team alrite, were kinda hopin that a good performance on thurs mite put our season back on track! a cup final mite bring us back together,
theboy
23/06/2008, 10:09 AM
A bad patch I think, 3 losses in a week is never good but still maintaining 3rd position so we have to hold it together. We're making stupid errors and getting punished for them, while failing to put away any chances we get.
Wont be full strength on Thursday, but wont be far off either! Have a few players back but a few away too. It should be a good game though.
exactly holdin 3rd isnt bad after havin a bit of a bad run. ya manulla will be up for it as well, then a cup final against kilmore or s&f.
r.rover
23/06/2008, 12:50 PM
another good win for celtic b, could be a good one next weekend against s&f, fahy seem in trouble.... wots goin on there lads???
we were all knackered from the westlife concert sat night
swinfordfc
23/06/2008, 1:26 PM
Fahy Rovers v Crossmolina -draw
Kilmore v Glenhest Rovers -home
Westport United B v Manulla B -home
Swinford v Straide & Foxford -away
Castlebar Celtic B v Urlaur United -home
how goes the points system does anybody know or has that gone out the window at this stage?
wasn't at the game last night either but did hear that we probably deserved a point-what do you think swinford lads?
hopefully swinford don't do a glenhest and come straight back down after they walked the premier league a few seasons back and they've gone into freefall.they seem to be trying to integrate a few new young lads into the team and credit to them for doing that but they really are struggling.as for ourselves i reckon we should play for fourth and a playoff game to get promoted to the super duper league!!:D
Sorry correct me if i wrong but we did beat ye 1-0 and ye slip again yestarday. s+f utd are flying and good luck to them - celtic b will finish second and then its open to everyone! :D
robben 11
23/06/2008, 1:54 PM
Sorry correct me if i wrong but we did beat ye 1-0 and ye slip again yestarday. s+f utd are flying and good luck to them - celtic b will finish second and then its open to everyone! :D
The way swinford set out against Straide & Foxford they didnt deserve anything from the game and the scoreline was justified..! in the first few min of game the challenge on Paul.Fitz looked a obvious attempt to take him out of the game, when Paul was down inj your centre midfielder turned to your tall striker and clinched his fisth as if to say yes hes out of the game with a dirty smile on his face...It was crazy to see 4 of our players booked in the 1st half and the tackles swinford players were getting away with wthout a booking...We were up against 12 men, half time 0-0....
I think that alone was enough to get us ready and reved up for the second half and we just let the football do the talking..
GoodFootball
23/06/2008, 2:42 PM
The way swinford set out against Straide & Foxford they didnt deserve anything from the game and the scoreline was justified..! in the first few min of game the challenge on Paul.Fitz looked a obvious attempt to take him out of the game, when Paul was down inj your centre midfielder turned to your tall striker and clinched his fisth as if to say yes hes out of the game with a dirty smile on his face...It was crazy to see 4 of our players booked in the 1st half and the tackles swinford players were getting away with wthout a booking...We were up against 12 men, half time 0-0....
I think that alone was enough to get us ready and reved up for the second half and we just let the football do the talking..
Personally I think some of your players are a little bit "I should be playing at a higher standard than this" but your not playing at a higher standard than us so live with it!!! Ye do like to roll around a bit on the ground when a challenge comes in and ref's are probably sick of it now. When you get kicked its like a complement to your skill or speed :D So thank them and get on with it ;)
What ye think of the chadwicks cup draw, tough one for the premier teams...
GoodFootball
23/06/2008, 2:46 PM
Draw is:
Glenhest Rovers v Ballyglass 7.00pm H. Loftus
Manulla v Achill Rovers 7.00pm A. Nevin
Urlaur Utd. v Snugboro Utd. 7.00pm T. Cosgrove
Castlebar Celtic v Westport Utd. ‘B’ 7.00pm McCay J. Cawley M. Regan
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd. v Glenisland Utd. 7.00pm P. Foley
Ballina Town v Fahy Rovers 7.00pm D. McGrath
Iorras Aontaithe v Straide & Foxford Utd. 7.00pm M.Walsh J. Blake K. Cox
Mulranny Utd. v Charlestown Athletic 7.00pm M. Halligan
GoodFootball
23/06/2008, 2:50 PM
another good win for celtic b, could be a good one next weekend against s&f, fahy seem in trouble.... wots goin on there lads???
Yeah think its been a mid season break from winning, it gets boring after a while ;)
Have to make the premier division look like a contest, otherwise none of the hundreds of fans turn up every week...
theboy
23/06/2008, 2:57 PM
Personally I think some of your players are a little bit "I should be playing at a higher standard than this" but your not playing at a higher standard than us so live with it!!! Ye do like to roll around a bit on the ground when a challenge comes in and ref's are probably sick of it now. When you get kicked its like a complement to your skill or speed :D So thank them and get on with it ;)
What ye think of the chadwicks cup draw, tough one for the premier teams...
"roll around a bit" thats rich comin from a fahy player... ive seen ye a few of ye're games this year and some of ye're lads are like a bag of cats out on the pitch..and by lookin at s&f this year they'll never be playin at ye're level.
pool 7
23/06/2008, 3:01 PM
Cup semi finals on thursday.
kilmore play s&f at home,can there be an upset??? Manulla play fahy, should be a good game.Manulla a good cup team,are they 2007 winners.....
theboy
23/06/2008, 3:01 PM
Draw is:
Glenhest Rovers v Ballyglass 7.00pm H. Loftus
Manulla v Achill Rovers 7.00pm A. Nevin
Urlaur Utd. v Snugboro Utd. 7.00pm T. Cosgrove
Castlebar Celtic v Westport Utd. ‘B’ 7.00pm McCay J. Cawley M. Regan
Kiltimagh/Knock Utd. v Glenisland Utd. 7.00pm P. Foley
Ballina Town v Fahy Rovers 7.00pm D. McGrath
Iorras Aontaithe v Straide & Foxford Utd. 7.00pm M.Walsh J. Blake K. Cox
Mulranny Utd. v Charlestown Athletic 7.00pm M. Halligan
interesting draw alrite, have to see celtic, ballina and the boro winning. after that anything could happen..
Kilmore Fan
23/06/2008, 3:09 PM
Table Played Pts
[/list]
Straide & Foxford 10 30
Castlebar Celtic B 9 21
Fahy Rovers 10 16
Manulla B 9 13
Swinford 10 13
Westport United B 10 13
Urlaur United 10 12
Crossmolina 10 11
Kilmore 10 9
Glenhest Rovers 10 5
It really is still very open at this stage. We've had a few slip ups but hopefully things will come good. I was suprised at Fahy slipping up this last week but they are still looking good. Celtic look good but it must sicken them that they cant go up! That second and (possible)third promotion spot is open for anyone!
pool 7
23/06/2008, 3:09 PM
Ya interesting draw,must agree big guns should win.Iorras Aontaithe v Straide & Foxford Utd should be a good game.Hard one to call...
Kilmore Fan
23/06/2008, 3:18 PM
Ya interesting draw,must agree big guns should win.Iorras Aontaithe v Straide & Foxford Utd should be a good game.Hard one to call...
The way Erris's season is going I would put my money on S&F. I've no idea what's happening there.....It's not looking good for them and if they go down their B team can't come up. Maybe their experience will pull them through?
Kilmore Fan
23/06/2008, 3:20 PM
Cup semi finals on thursday.
kilmore play s&f at home,can there be an upset??? Manulla play fahy, should be a good game.Manulla a good cup team,are they 2007 winners.....
Ya never know:)
robben 11
23/06/2008, 3:41 PM
Ya never know:)
Kilmore game is going to be a very tough game for us, they wont roll over like they did in foxford last week, they will be well up for it and S'nF know that too well...
Bandit
23/06/2008, 3:59 PM
Short term memory there robben if you were at the first meeting of these 2 teams our centre forward was getting the better of his man until he came in ten seconds late with a headbutt to the side of the lads temple leaving him out cold for a few mins:mad:....So what comes around goes around..
I dont understand what you mean by "The way Swinford set out" ??.:confused:
We all know Paul fitz is so fast he gets caught with more tackles than anyone i cant see manager Sean Kavanagh sending out his team to do anyone..
robben 11
23/06/2008, 4:06 PM
Short term memory there robben if you were at the first meeting of these 2 teams our centre forward was getting the better of his man until he came in ten seconds late with a headbutt to the side of the lads temple leaving him out cold for a few mins:mad:....So what comes around goes around..
I dont understand what you mean by "The way Swinford set out" ??.:confused:
We all know Paul fitz is so fast he gets caught with more tackles than anyone i cant see manager Sean Kavanagh sending out his team to do anyone..
short term memory...??? ah no that was my 5th game for S'nF as iv only joined, and as for whatever incident happened im sure our centre half whoever it was didnt intend on hurting him! however it was the reaction of yer centre midfielder to paul fitz inj that concerns me not actually the tackle itself i know paul is lighting quick and he gets caught more often than any of our players..but can you explain a reaction like that to a player getting badly inj??? no theres no excuse at all or a place for that in football...disgusting
Cloggs
23/06/2008, 4:58 PM
sorry meant to say s and f but the way they seem to be playing this season i cant see them coming staright back down when they get promoted.dont know how we're still third after the dismal run of results we've had lately!hopefully a win in the cup will galvanise the team and see us move onto bigher and better things.as for the game yesterday we were quite simply appalling.couldn't find each other with a 5 yard pass and are currently making far too many mistakes and getting punished for them.it was easy to see that we were missing three out of our regular first choice back four but crossmolina were well worth their three points.you're only as good as your last game so roll on thursday so we can get the last few results out of the system!!
Cloggs
23/06/2008, 4:59 PM
you'd have to fancy s and f for that one on current form....
Bandit
23/06/2008, 5:19 PM
short term memory...??? ah no that was my 5th game for S'nF as iv only joined, and as for whatever incident happened im sure our centre half whoever it was didnt intend on hurting him! however it was the reaction of yer centre midfielder to paul fitz inj that concerns me not actually the tackle itself i know paul is lighting quick and he gets caught more often than any of our players..but can you explain a reaction like that to a player getting badly inj??? no theres no excuse at all or a place for that in football...disgusting
I agree that there is no place in football for that alright but your centre half craig reape made no attempt WHATSOEVER to play the ball that day and knew exactly what he was doing so i dont think any S & F player can give out about any hard tackling and as i said before i totally agree there is no place in the game for that other carry on.
GoodFootball
24/06/2008, 1:00 PM
I agree that there is no place in football for that alright but your centre half craig reape made no attempt WHATSOEVER to play the ball that day and knew exactly what he was doing so i dont think any S & F player can give out about any hard tackling and as i said before i totally agree there is no place in the game for that other carry on.
When you play in this division you get kicked, simple as...if you try to take on a player someone always lunges, and this happens whether you play a team at the top of the table or at the bottom of the table. Everyone has a butcher in their team ;) unfortunately its part of football, as they say GO HARD OR GO HOME...
theboy
24/06/2008, 1:27 PM
Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers
Manulla B vs Kilmore
Castlebar Celtic B vs Straide & Foxford
Glenhest Rovers vs Swinford
Crossmolina vs Westport United B
some nice games lined up for this weekend. urlaur could cause problems for fahy away from home, big game in celtic park could have a big say on the league top 2. a win for swinford and crossmolina could put them back in the chase for big 3 or 4.
Bandit
24/06/2008, 1:55 PM
Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers
Manulla B vs Kilmore
Castlebar Celtic B vs Straide & Foxford
Glenhest Rovers vs Swinford
Crossmolina vs Westport United B
some nice games lined up for this weekend. urlaur could cause problems for fahy away from home, big game in celtic park could have a big say on the league top 2. a win for swinford and crossmolina could put them back in the chase for big 3 or 4.
I agree fahy will find it hard against urlaur alright they have 2 very solid centre backs and a right winger called Nero i think, fecking rocket is the only words to describe him.When Swinford played them he broke their hearts nearly on his own.Hopefully our boys can get back to winning ways but Glenhest away is always a tough one.
theboy
24/06/2008, 2:15 PM
I agree fahy will find it hard against urlaur alright they have 2 very solid centre backs and a right winger called Nero i think, fecking rocket is the only words to describe him.When Swinford played them he broke their hearts nearly on his own.Hopefully our boys can get back to winning ways but Glenhest away is always a tough one.
Ya glenhest can be up and down, but ye should be strong enough to get a win down there.. i can urlaur doin well against fahy.
GoodFootball
24/06/2008, 4:21 PM
Ya glenhest can be up and down, but ye should be strong enough to get a win down there.. i can urlaur doin well against fahy.
Someone doesn't like Fahy anyway ;)
Is it because we gave ye 2 good beatings in Celtic Park? :D
Cloggs
24/06/2008, 5:00 PM
cheers for the tips bandit-will pass them onto the gaffer!;)
GoodFootball
25/06/2008, 11:18 AM
Winners tomorrow:
Fahy
S & F
pool 7
25/06/2008, 11:30 AM
Cup Semi s
Manulla V Fahy Manulla win
Fahy v S & F S & F win
pool 7
25/06/2008, 11:32 AM
Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers home
Manulla B vs Kilmore home
Castlebar Celtic B vs Straide & Foxford away
Glenhest Rovers vs Swinford away
Crossmolina vs Westport United B draw
irishyop
25/06/2008, 11:33 AM
Castlebar Celtic B vs Straide & Foxford home
r.rover
25/06/2008, 12:02 PM
urlar v fahy (away)
manulla v kilmore (home)
celtic b vs s+f (away)
glenhest v swinford (draw)
cross v westport b (draw)
GoodFootball
25/06/2008, 12:20 PM
urlar v fahy (away)
manulla v kilmore (home)
celtic b vs s+f (away)
glenhest v swinford (home)
cross v westport b (home)
robben 11
25/06/2008, 12:21 PM
will you be between the sticks saturday evening?? will your squad be raided by the 1st team or will ye be strong? be a tough game in Celtic Park
Bandit
25/06/2008, 2:59 PM
[quote=pool 7;968821]Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers home
Cloggs
25/06/2008, 4:54 PM
Cup Semi s
Manulla V Fahy Manulla win
Fahy v S & F S & F win
surely we'll hardly make both games??;)squad may well be stretched pretty thin at the mo as it is let alone if we'd to play two games tomorrow night!!
fahy at home to manulla also which should make a difference.fahy and s and f to win for a place in the final in july
Cloggs
25/06/2008, 4:56 PM
Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers draw
Manulla B vs Kilmore draw
Glenhest Rovers vs Swinford draw
Crossmolina vs Westport United B home
Kilmore Fan
26/06/2008, 7:15 AM
Cup Semi s
Manulla V Fahy Away
Kilmore v S & F Home
Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers away
Manulla B vs Kilmore away
Castlebar Celtic B vs Straide & Foxford draw
Crossmolina vs Westport United B home
mayo-man
26/06/2008, 7:20 AM
Cup Semi's
Manulla V Fahy Away
Kilmore v S & F Away
Urlaur United vs Fahy Rovers Home
Manulla B vs Kilmore Home
Castlebar Celtic B vs Straide & Foxford Away
Glenhest Rovers vs Swinford Away
Crossmolina vs Westport United B Away
robben 11
26/06/2008, 10:22 PM
Tough game down down down in Kilmore...! who ever wound them up before kick off did a good job, however no point been so wound up for a game when ya aint got a bit of football in ye!! Pat Foley was referee and he was terrible, the man was seeing foul throws all day against S'nF he obviously wanted to see an upset happen with some decisions he was making..! Never mind game was over at half time S'nF were with the strong breeze, 2 goals by johnney.j and 1 by Fitzi who ran the defence into knots all day, johnney is catching up to fitzi in the goal department be a tug of war for the 'golden boot' :D
They went down to 10 men in second half and did apply a good deal of pressure on our defence, but we weathered the storm and look forward to meeting Fahy 27th July in Milebush.....
theboy
26/06/2008, 11:21 PM
Tough game down down down in Kilmore...! who ever wound them up before kick off did a good job, however no point been so wound up for a game when ya aint got a bit of football in ye!! Pat Foley was referee and he was terrible, the man was seeing foul throws all day against S'nF he obviously wanted to see an upset happen with some decisions he was making..! Never mind game was over at half time S'nF were with the strong breeze, 2 goals by johnney.j and 1 by Fitzi who ran the defence into knots all day, johnney is catching up to fitzi in the goal department be a tug of war for the 'golden boot' :D
They went down to 10 men in second half and did apply a good deal of pressure on our defence, but we weathered the storm and look forward to meeting Fahy 27th July in Milebush.....
Good win for ye 2nite s&f, kilmore tough place to go alrite, there pitch is so open there's always a strong wind. ye'll be lookin forward to a cup final against fahy, ye deserve a cup final this year after ye're great season preformance's. one bit of advice dont say to much on this website, u dont no who'll be reading it;) plus you seem to give alot of info on players performance's, other clubs will be reading ur reports on player!!! big game saturday nite... tough one to call.
Fair play. Good result for ye.
Can you or anyone else confirm that the final is to be played on 27th July?
I was sure it is was to be played on the 20th July.
GoodFootball
27/06/2008, 8:14 AM
Any report on our game against Manulla? Score? Scorers?
BallyBoy
27/06/2008, 8:28 AM
1 -0 Win for Fahy
Cloggs
27/06/2008, 10:36 AM
didnt make it down to the game myself lastnight but heard that we played manulla off the park and completely over ran them in the first 15-20 minutes when we scored our goal by davey feehan with a bullet header after a great ball in from colin napier.apparantly we retained possession well and the passing was far better than its been for a long time.missed a couple of decent chances and hit the crossbar.manulla had one very good chance that was saved by our keeper but all in all a fully merited win.is the final on the 27th of july as(guess what!!)we've another wedding coming up!!:D
Cloggs
27/06/2008, 10:41 AM
Good win for ye 2nite s&f, kilmore tough place to go alrite, there pitch is so open there's always a strong wind. ye'll be lookin forward to a cup final against fahy, ye deserve a cup final this year after ye're great season preformance's. one bit of advice dont say to much on this website, u dont no who'll be reading it plus you seem to give alot of info on players performance's, other clubs will be reading ur reports on player!!! big game saturday nite... tough one to call.
i'd suspect there might be a few people from the premier league reading the posts!;)you're starting to sound a bit like jim corr with your conspiracy theory there the boy!:Dsurely anyone thats played in the premier this year knows all about who the best players are for s and f at this stage and haven't been able to a lot about it in fairness!so the mentioning of the lads names there isn't really of any surprise-they'll be the players to watch along with at least five more lads!!:D
No. 7
27/06/2008, 10:47 AM
didnt make it down to the game myself lastnight but heard that we played manulla off the park and completely over ran them in the first 15-20 minutes when we scored our goal by davey feehan with a bullet header after a great ball in from colin napier.apparantly we retained possession well and the passing was far better than its been for a long time.missed a couple of decent chances and hit the crossbar.manulla had one very good chance that was saved by our keeper but all in all a fully merited win.is the final on the 27th of july as(guess what!!)we've another wedding coming up!!:D
I thought Feehan was yer goalie, who's in goal so?
Cloggs
27/06/2008, 1:14 PM
I thought Feehan was yer goalie, who's in goal so?
a lad called steven moran from westport.played in goal for westport at underage but hasnt played for the last 9 or 10 years.hes very good keeper although feehan would still argue that hes the best keeper in connacht!!:D