View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

theboy
06/05/2008, 3:48 PM
IF he gets s&f up to the super league,they might have a job keeping him,i hear one of the big guns are watching!!! Good to hear that kilkelly is going out to look at players.Big step foward

Who's the big guns pool7??? u've seemed to have taken an interest in S&f and there management...

ya its good kilkelly is lookin out for players but to be honest lads, the amount of quality players in the premier league is low and very low at that, the mayo team will be made up mostly of super league players and rightly so, thats where the majority of quality players are, and there playin with the top teams ie. westport, celtic and ballina.

Kilmore Fan
07/05/2008, 7:17 AM
Castlebar Celtic B V Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30 Fahy
Urlaur United V Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30 Manulla B
Kilmore v Glenhest Rovers Drum.Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30 Kilmore:)
Westport United B V Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30 S&F
Crossmolina V Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30 Swinford

GoodFootball
07/05/2008, 8:27 AM
Celtic B V Fahy - AWAY
Urlaur V Manulla B - AWAY
Kilmore V Glenhest - HOME
Westport B V Straide & Foxford - AWAY
Crossmolina V Swinford - HOME

mayo-man
07/05/2008, 12:27 PM
Celtic B V Fahy - Home
Urlaur V Manulla B - Away
Kilmore V Glenhest - Home
Westport B V Straide & Foxford - Away
Crossmolina V Swinford - Away

pool 7
07/05/2008, 12:37 PM
theboy wouldnt say i have taken an interest in s&f,i have seen them play and they look a good team, like i have seen fahy, celtic, etc.s&f struggled last year and are a changed team tis year,this must be down to the manager.as for the big guns!!! alot of them out there??? Standard of the super league games that i seen have been poor,

theboy
07/05/2008, 2:43 PM
theboy wouldnt say i have taken an interest in s&f,i have seen them play and they look a good team, like i have seen fahy, celtic, etc.s&f struggled last year and are a changed team tis year,this must be down to the manager.as for the big guns!!! alot of them out there??? Standard of the super league games that i seen have been poor,

fair point, and ur rite S&F did struggle last year and by the looks of things the manager has changed it around, by him keeping a few big names it seems to be paying off.

GoodFootball
07/05/2008, 3:05 PM
Who's the big guns pool7??? u've seemed to have taken an interest in S&f and there management...

ya its good kilkelly is lookin out for players but to be honest lads, the amount of quality players in the premier league is low and very low at that, the mayo team will be made up mostly of super league players and rightly so, thats where the majority of quality players are, and there playin with the top teams ie. westport, celtic and ballina.

I dont agree, I have been to a couple of Westports games against Ballina and Erris (all part of top 5 in Mayo), out of them games I seen maybe 3 or 4 players who are playing good enough to be called county players! You have to see the potential in players from other divisions to be able to play with good players.

Obviously you think if your not playing in the super league your not worthy of Mayo, but what about players who dont jump ship when their team goes down or who play year in year out with their club because of pride. There are players from as low as division 1 (Claremorris's Derek Glynn) whom when given the chance proved he could play with Mayo, Celtic and Galway United!!

There are about 3 or 4 lads in the Fahy lineup who are worthy of at least a chance to trial for Mayo and hopefully they get the chance.

S & F have 5 or 6 and Crossmolina 2 or 3 from what i've seen so far this season. Obviously B team players would try and make their A team first (No disrespect intended).

theboy
07/05/2008, 3:33 PM
I dont agree, I have been to a couple of Westports games against Ballina and Erris (all part of top 5 in Mayo), out of them games I seen maybe 3 or 4 players who are playing good enough to be called county players! You have to see the potential in players from other divisions to be able to play with good players.

Obviously you think if your not playing in the super league your not worthy of Mayo, but what about players who dont jump ship when their team goes down or who play year in year out with their club because of pride. There are players from as low as division 1 (Claremorris's Derek Glynn) whom when given the chance proved he could play with Mayo, Celtic and Galway United!!

There are about 3 or 4 lads in the Fahy lineup who are worthy of at least a chance to trial for Mayo and hopefully they get the chance.

S & F have 5 or 6 and Crossmolina 2 or 3 from what i've seen so far this season. Obviously B team players would try and make their A team first (No disrespect intended).

Thats a very fair point with regards to the mayo manager been able to see the potential in players which i hope he does.
its just that ive seen more superleague games this year than premier games, and theres more than 20 players in the super league which will fill the mayo squad.

like last year the was 1 premier league player in mayo squad, alan mcdonnell from S&F. S&F have at least 3/4 more that are well good enough.

London-Irish
08/05/2008, 9:32 AM
Where can I find the Mayo League fixtures for the whole of this month please?

08/05/2008, 10:02 AM
You can get them here (http://www.sportsmanager.ie/uploaded/6940/fixturesmay.htm) London-Irish. Times are subject to change and the second round of the McDonnell Cup is on Thursday the 29th of May.

London-Irish
08/05/2008, 5:48 PM
Thanks Joe. Its a shame there are no games on Saturday May 24th as that was the day I was hoping for.

By the way, how many Mayo League clubs have good grounds with seated grandstand and/or covered accommodation?

Bandit
08/05/2008, 8:28 PM
Celtic B V Fahy - Home
Crossmolina V Swinford - Away

Winners......:D
Celtic B
Manulla B
Kilmore
S & F
Swinford.

Bandit
08/05/2008, 8:33 PM
Anybody have any comments on cross our boys are playing them the weekend..

08/05/2008, 10:47 PM
Thanks Joe. Its a shame there are no games on Saturday May 24th as that was the day I was hoping for.

By the way, how many Mayo League clubs have good grounds with seated grandstand and/or covered accommodation?

On the contrary, there will be some games on the 24th. That weekend is a cup weekend and I don't know the exact time and dates of the games, only that they are on that weekend. Because of referrees and matches being played on the same ground, the games will be on Saturday Evening, Sunday noon and Sunday afternoon. Westport United, for example, all 3 of their teams are at home so one of their games will fill each slot.

Grounds with seated grandstand:
Ballyglass
Manulla
Milebush(Mayo FA)
Can't think of any others but could be wrong.

Covered Accomodation?
If you haven't seen the Mayo League before or not for a while, you'll be pleasantly surprised by the standard of facilities and pitches(maybe not by the football though)

r.rover
09/05/2008, 9:48 AM
celtic b vs fahy (draw)
urlar vs manulla b (away)
kilmore vs glenhest (away)
westport vs s+f (away)
crossmolina vs swinford (draw)

London-Irish
09/05/2008, 10:14 AM
Thanks for all the information lads. My grandmother was from Mayo so I take an interest in the football. By the way, why are there no games on Saturday May 24th? Or are some of the Sunday games likely to be switched to the Saturday?

GoodFootball
09/05/2008, 12:45 PM
Anybody have any comments on cross our boys are playing them the weekend..

Their a footballing side, not very physical or dirty. Their decent at centre back and centre mid. They have a good free kick taker too! We out played them completely in the first game and were leading 2 nil when we should have been 5 or 6 up. They came back, both from set pieces!!

But if there is a gaelic match on they will be missing about 4 or 5 key players.

All the best, see ye the following weekend :D

FahyForever
10/05/2008, 3:22 PM
Celtic B V Fahy - Away
Crossmolina V Swinford - Home

Cloggs
10/05/2008, 5:29 PM
Celtic B V Fahy - away (hopefully!!:D)come on the rovers!!
Urlaur V Manulla B - away
Kilmore V Glenhest - away
Westport B V Straide & Foxford - away
Crossmolina V Swinford - home

mayo-man
12/05/2008, 7:47 AM
Lads, can anyone tell me if there are game's going ahead on the June bank holiday weekend (31-05-08). There down for that weekend on the fixture's but i didn't think we played game's on Bank holidays. Need clarifacation on this quick if anyone can help.

theboy
12/05/2008, 8:45 AM
Lads, can anyone tell me if there are game's going ahead on the June bank holiday weekend (31-05-08). There down for that weekend on the fixture's but i didn't think we played game's on Bank holidays. Need clarifacation on this quick if anyone can help.

Ya according to the fixtures there's league games to be played on the saturday evening. So id say u can take it there's games.

theboy
12/05/2008, 8:48 AM
Westport B 1 - 2 S&F
Celtic 0-1 Fahy
Urlar 1-2 manulla B
Kilmore 3-0 Glenhest
Crossmolina 2-1 Swinford

theboy
12/05/2008, 8:52 AM
Round 2: Thursday 5th June
S&F vs Crossmolina

Semi Finals:26th June
Kilmore vs Cross/S&F
Fahy vs Manulla

Final:
20th July

Footy Mad
12/05/2008, 11:14 AM
Round 2: Thursday 5th June
S&F vs Crossmolina

Semi Finals:26th June
Kilmore vs Cross/S&F
Fahy vs Manulla

Final:
20th July

Do you have the fixtures for the Westaro and Tonra Cups or do you know where I can find them?

theboy
12/05/2008, 11:29 AM
Do you have the fixtures for the Westaro and Tonra Cups or do you know where I can find them?

Westaro Cup:
A: Port vs Boro
B: manulla vs Ballyheane
C: Ballina vs Claremorris
D: Bangor vs Erris
E: Celtic vs Ballinrobe

Round 2: 5th june

F: D vs A

Semi: 26th june
G: B vs C
H: F vs E

Final 7th sept
C vs H

Tonra Cup
A: KK utd vs killala
B: Inver vs erris B
C: Ballina town b vs Achill
D: ballyglass vs charlestown
E: moy villa vs partry

F: E vs A

Semi final 19th june
G: d vs c
H: b vs f

final 13th july
H vs G

Footy Mad
12/05/2008, 11:54 AM
Westaro Cup:
A: Port vs Boro
B: manulla vs Ballyheane
C: Ballina vs Claremorris
D: Bangor vs Erris
E: Celtic vs Ballinrobe

F: D vs A

Semi: 26th june
G: B vs C
H: F vs E

Final 7th sept
C vs H

Tonra Cup
A: KK utd vs killala
B: Inver vs erris B
C: Ballina town b vs Achill
D: ballyglass vs charlestown
E: moy villa vs partry

F: E vs A

Semi final 19th june
G: d vs c
H: b vs f

final 13th july
H vs G

Thanks

theboy
13/05/2008, 8:50 AM
Crossmolina vs Glenhest Rovers 18/05/2008 14:30
Fahy Rovers vs Swinford
Manulla B vs Castlebar Celtic B
Urlaur United vs Straide & Foxford
Westport United B vs Kilmore

mayo-man
13/05/2008, 10:22 AM
Crossmolina vs Glenhest Rovers - Home
Fahy Rovers vs Swinford - Away
Manulla B vs Castlebar Celtic B - Away
Urlaur United vs Straide & Foxford - Away
Westport United B vs Kilmore - Home

Fahy do ye still play on that fecking astro turf, awful hard on the knee's. Is there any pitch in the pipeline.

Norm
13/05/2008, 12:09 PM
Fahy Rovers vs Swinford - Away

Fahy do ye still play on that fecking astro turf, awful hard on the knee's. Is there any pitch in the pipeline.

I'm afraid we do Mayo-man. It's tough on the joints alright, but at present its all we got so its hard for us to complain.

swinfordfc
14/05/2008, 10:57 AM
I'm afraid we do Mayo-man. It's tough on the joints alright, but at present its all we got so its hard for us to complain.

Why is fahy v swinford game off this weekend?

GoodFootball
14/05/2008, 11:18 AM
Fahy Rovers vs Swinford - Home
Manulla B vs Castlebar Celtic B - Draw

GoodFootball
14/05/2008, 11:23 AM
Why is fahy v swinford game off this weekend?

First I heard, where you get the info from?

pool 7
14/05/2008, 12:57 PM
Crossmolina v Glenhest Rovers - Home
Fahy Rovers v Swinford - Home
Manulla B v Castlebar Celtic B - Draw
Urlaur United v Straide & Foxford - Away
Westport United B v Kilmore - Home

14/05/2008, 1:08 PM
First I heard, where you get the info from?
Its not listed on aertel?
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/rte2/440-02.html
Fahy have a stag or anything?

r.rover
14/05/2008, 2:19 PM

funny you should say that!!

14/05/2008, 2:25 PM
funny you should say that!!
funny how?, I mean funny like I'm a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I'm here to feckin' amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?

Norm
14/05/2008, 3:47 PM
funny how?, I mean funny like I'm a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I'm here to feckin' amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?

Shoot him Joe.....!

Cloggs
14/05/2008, 8:35 PM

no fahy have a wedding.sent in a request to the mayo league at the beginning of the season to have the game on this weekend changed and fair play to them they did.don't know when the game will be played now though

Cloggs
14/05/2008, 8:36 PM

i'd say funny like a clown myself!!:D only messin!

No. 7
15/05/2008, 9:01 AM
in fairness if we were a super league club we might not have had to encounter the difficculties of having to choose between a best mate and a game of ball as we should have been able to get the game postponed.but we're not a 'celtic' so we just have to make do with who turns up on the day and hope that they're in relatively good shape for the game!;)
the lads all stay in on the night before a game generally and there is a number of players making a massive effort each weekend to travel down-a lot of clubs have players travelling long distances to play games at the weekends and fair play to them-its what keeps a club going and keeps a good spirit in a club.as gf has already stated if we can bounce back with a win on saturday against kilmore everyone will be happy (in fahy anyway!!:D)

Sorry Cloggs, even the great Celtic can't get match's called off for a stag and a wedding within the same season, nevermind the space of three weeks.

Norm
15/05/2008, 10:24 AM
Sorry Cloggs, even the great Celtic can't get match's called off for a stag and a wedding within the same season, nevermind the space of three weeks.

This is the first match we have had called of this season for any reason.

London-Irish
15/05/2008, 12:16 PM
Any more news please on the possibility of matches on Saturday, May 24th?? The link is still showing all matches to be played on the Sunday but I am not sure if that is true of not. Thanks lads.

GoodFootball
15/05/2008, 12:31 PM
Any more news please on the possibility of matches on Saturday, May 24th?? The link is still showing all matches to be played on the Sunday but I am not sure if that is true of not. Thanks lads.

The matches follow a pattern of sat, sun, sat, sun. So if you play this Sunday (as the premier league are) then you will play the following sat evening.

So far thats the way its gone anyway, hope this helps ;)

FahyForever
15/05/2008, 2:31 PM
This is the first match we have had called of this season for any reason.

Fahy Rovers vs Swinford - Home
Westport United B vs Kilmore - draw

r.rover
15/05/2008, 3:25 PM
crossmolina v glenhest home
fahy v swinford home
manulla v cetic draw
urlar v s+f away
westport v kilmore away

Cloggs
15/05/2008, 5:36 PM

fair enough thats what i was told.maybe you know more than me about why it might have been called off?you might be able to shed some light on the matter for us?whatever the reason the games not being played this weekend anyway.surely the great celtic have had a scatter of games postponed in the last two seasons?could be wrong though.i know that erris definitely got a game postponed last season for a wedding but they went through all the correct channels and informed the league before the season even began.thought that was what we had done

Cloggs
15/05/2008, 5:39 PM
Crossmolina vs Glenhest Rovers - home
Fahy Rovers vs Swinford - home
Manulla B vs Castlebar Celtic B - draw
Urlaur United vs Straide & Foxford - away
Westport United B vs Kilmore - home

anyone have any update on how the scores are going for the predictions in the league?

FahyForever
15/05/2008, 5:43 PM
thyis is the state of play after the cup fixtures in the old predictions league. Some people didn't do every game... Joint first between two Fahy Men... !!! :)

R.Rover - 14
GoodFootball - 16
Pool7 - 12
FahyForever - 16
Cloggs - 12
Norm - 5
Juanpablo - 3
Irishyop - 7
Mayo-man - 10
Grapevine - 3
Kilmore fan 7
Bandit - 11