View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20

GoodFootball
11/09/2008, 10:17 PM
firstly congrats to fahy on your promotion i really hope ye get the pitch issue sorted yer a good bunch and deserve your crack at big boys.
on the team of the year id agree with most candidates however cant believe the names not being mentioned. celtic finished second in the division and quite a few of the team that played most of the season with us have gone on to hold their place in the super league team and danny fallon and eoin torpey have just signed for sligo rovers how in gods name can they not be in the team of the year? eamonn crean has been our captain and probably our most consistant performer all year along with the lads already mentioned and the outstanding peter drevins who somebody else has already proposed.one other player i feel deserves a mention is 16 year old james mcgurrin he has come from nowhere this season to establish himself as one of the best full backs in the club through playing for the b team and will certainly be a first team regular next seaon as has already proved his worth in the super league this season.mark towey another teenager at only seventeen has also been promoted from our squad to play regularly at left back for declans first team and should have a big shout to make this team. i may be a little biased towards my club but we finished second and therfore we are the second best team in the division and i feel the players that achieved that should get their deserved recognition

Cheers buddy, hopefully we can get a pitch ;)

I think torphy and fallon are good players but did they play enough games in the premier league to be on the team of the season? If they play games in the super league it doesn't count to this selection. Played 3 times against Celtic B this year but didn't really notice alot outside Drevins and McGurrin. Crean, Torphy and Fallon did not stand out against us anyway, but maybe it was different in other games...obviously the 2 boys impressed enough to make sligo rovers but just didn't see it in our games.

GoodFootball
12/09/2008, 11:18 AM
ML should just ask the referees to pick the prem team of the season, they the only ones who watch the games :D

r.rover
12/09/2008, 12:36 PM
ML should just ask the referees to pick the prem team of the season, they the only ones who watch the games :D

youve a great sense of humor gf! we all know the refs dont be watchin these games!!

kingkong
12/09/2008, 3:35 PM
yes mark towey and thorphy should have a shout of gettin into this team,seen them play a few times and ive been impressed.

pool 7
13/09/2008, 9:39 AM
Crossmolina v Castlebar Celtic B away
Westport United B v Fahy Rovers draw
Manulla B v Glenhest Rovers home
Kilmore v Straide & Foxford away
Urlaur United v Swinford draw

FahyForever
13/09/2008, 4:47 PM
S & F: Costello, Alan Mc, Fitzpatrick, G Gaughan
Celtic B: E Crean,D Kirby,P Drevins
Fahy: Joe Keane, other centre back and small midfielder
Westport B: Colin Cameron

The ´small midfielder´ you´re on about is Tomas Keane and he´s a class act alright, defensive midfielder with an unreal engine and great balance. His brother, Joe Keane would walk into any team in Mayo in my opinion and should have been in last year´s team of the season as well as this year´s one. Hopefully he´ll get a chance at the Mayo team if he gets watched playing Super league football. I agree with the assessment of James Mc Gurrin, I was impressed with him against us a couple of weeks ago.

kingkong
13/09/2008, 6:49 PM
yes the tomas keane is a nippy little player that id say would be hard to play against,always making it hard. Joe keane is a big strong defender who rarely misses a header. i can only see james mcgurrin gettin better all the time since he arrived out of no where.

Kilmore Fan
13/09/2008, 7:52 PM
We beat S&F 3-0. How did the Urlar v Swinford game go?

kingkong
13/09/2008, 7:56 PM
ur joking?????

Kilmore Fan
13/09/2008, 7:59 PM
Oh ye of no faith:):):)

Kilmore Fan
13/09/2008, 8:10 PM
Welcome to the forum KingKong! What team you with? And yes we really beat S&F 3-0. Did you hear any other results?

13/09/2008, 8:48 PM
Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to playoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?
http://i34.tinypic.com/2yowow1.jpg

Kilmore Fan
13/09/2008, 9:13 PM
Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to playoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?
http://i34.tinypic.com/2yowow1.jpg

OMG can't believe it! Looking at the other results we had to win!!! Crazy league.... we were sitting in relegation a couple of weeks ago and now we could go to the super???

Bandit
14/09/2008, 10:23 AM
[quote=joe_denilson;1020766]Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to plafitzyoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?

From what i heard Ye will be playing a different team to what played yesterday against kilmore,no paul fitz,no alan mac,and 4 more first teamers missing..
We had a good win yesterday against should have got 2 or 3 more but we were sloppy in front of goals.Believe ot or not it was the first game all season we had our full team out(due to injuries),our manager even had to leave 2 lads off the sub bench.
Celtic did not do us any favors sending a very young team down to cross and losing 4 nil,we will just have to stay upthe hard way..

mayomaniac
14/09/2008, 11:42 AM
swinford won 3-1 no complaints and were easily the better team

thekop
15/09/2008, 8:59 AM
[quote=joe_denilson;1020766]Well done Kilmore fan, I believe that victory puts you into the playoff. And consigns Swinford and Urlaur to plafitzyoff for safety. Why were S&F off form today? How were your goals scored? Any tips for the Boro?

From what i heard Ye will be playing a different team to what played yesterday against kilmore,no paul fitz,no alan mac,and 4 more first teamers missing..
We had a good win yesterday against should have got 2 or 3 more but we were sloppy in front of goals.Believe ot or not it was the first game all season we had our full team out(due to injuries),our manager even had to leave 2 lads off the sub bench.
Celtic did not do us any favors sending a very young team down to cross and losing 4 nil,we will just have to stay upthe hard way..

Ya we only started 5 first team players. so yes the team that starts against the boro will be alot different... when are the playoff's to be played? so will the winner of the swinford vs urlaur game, play then in the playoff with the team that finished 3rd highest in division 1??

Kilmore Fan
15/09/2008, 10:22 AM
Our play off v Bangor is set for the 5th on the Erris pitch!

BallyBoy
15/09/2008, 3:42 PM
Looks like Urlar may rue not travelling to Kilmore a couple of weeks back!

Cloggs
15/09/2008, 5:06 PM
Our play off v Bangor is set for the 5th on the Erris pitch!

best of luck lads.hope yee can beat them and get promoted.would be good to have yee up with us in the super league after starting off the same year as ourselves

FahyForever
15/09/2008, 5:20 PM
best of luck lads.hope yee can beat them and get promoted.would be good to have yee up with us in the super league after starting off the same year as ourselves

Hear hear. Ye were unlucky this year with injuries and everything. Surely ye will have the first eleven for the play-off? Hope ye do it anyway...

mayomaniac
15/09/2008, 8:29 PM
Looks like Urlar may rue not travelling to Kilmore a couple of weeks back!
true our manager did'nt think we could get relegated and did'nt try to hard to get a team together will struggle in playoff match if our league game with Swinford is anything to go by

Kilmore Fan
16/09/2008, 7:17 AM
Hear hear. Ye were unlucky this year with injuries and everything. Surely ye will have the first eleven for the play-off? Hope ye do it anyway...

Cheers lads! We will deffinately give it our all. Would be cool goin up the same year after starting the same year. Any luck with getting a pitch sorted. Surely someone will offer to pitch share with ye. I think Drum would be a bit too far for ye to travel for home games:) Lets hope it doesn't come to that.

Norm
16/09/2008, 9:17 AM
true our manager did'nt think we could get relegated and did'nt try to hard to get a team together

Awful decision by your manager.
Ye don't deserve to wait up.
There should also be greater penalties for teams failing to show for fixtures.

Bandit
16/09/2008, 6:13 PM
Awful decision by your manager.
Ye don't deserve to wait up.
There should also be greater penalties for teams failing to show for fixtures.

Here here,,,,we will be doing our best to make sure of that.Any word where the playoff will be played.

mayomaniac
16/09/2008, 8:57 PM
not that we have hears will yere right back be suspended for the match

Bandit
16/09/2008, 9:03 PM
not that we have hears will yere right back be suspended for the match

not that we have hears:confused::confused::confused:
Manager said he did not know if he would be missing or not..We have a good man to fill in for him if he is.

mayomaniac
16/09/2008, 11:09 PM
sorry not that we have heard:p

The Don
22/09/2008, 8:21 AM
If Fahy are not allowed into super league, does that mean the winner of the urlar swinford game gets a shot at the play off ass kilmore would get the second promotion place.

theboy
22/09/2008, 8:54 AM
Fahy what happened ye against s&f??? 7-0 i thought it would have been 4th time lucky for ye...

GoodFootball
22/09/2008, 12:48 PM
Fahy what happened ye against s&f??? 7-0 i thought it would have been 4th time lucky for ye...

6-0 but maybe I lost count ;)

Serious lack of committment to finish out the season...

We strung 11 players together (just about) in order to fulfill fixture, 4 of the normal starting 11 were there, played a goalkeeper up front.

Never has been much interest after the league season finishes! Oh well...

GoodFootball
22/09/2008, 1:00 PM
If Fahy are not allowed into super league, does that mean the winner of the urlar swinford game gets a shot at the play off ass kilmore would get the second promotion place.

If we are not allowed play in super league it will be a disaster. Im sure they wont decide that until jan or feb anyway. Id say if it came to us not be allowed in there, they would let bangor hibs and kilmore both into the super league. Thats fairest...

thekop
22/09/2008, 2:06 PM
6-0 but maybe I lost count ;)

Serious lack of committment to finish out the season...

We strung 11 players together (just about) in order to fulfill fixture, 4 of the normal starting 11 were there, played a goalkeeper up front.

Never has been much interest after the league season finishes! Oh well...

sorry to say it was lucky number 7, johnny jordan 3, fitz 2, alan mc 1, declan tigue 1.

has it been a case of get to the super league and forget about everything else?

GoodFootball
22/09/2008, 3:38 PM
sorry to say it was lucky number 7, johnny jordan 3, fitz 2, alan mc 1, declan tigue 1.

has it been a case of get to the super league and forget about everything else?

7 years ago the goal of the club was to make it into the top tier of the ML. We have done that, so I guess we're happy with that.

Lack of interest in general since the break for holiday...when we have a full squad we will do well but it seems it has been hard to get that for the last 6 weeks or so.

Did JJ score in the 2nd half? He scored 2 in the first anyway...I missed a sitter at 3-0 :D

keith.henn
23/09/2008, 2:25 PM
are crossmolina any use lads?? I play for Ballygawley in the Sligo prem and we are away to them in mid Oct in the Connacht cup?? didnt they get relegated last year? did they go up this year??

Cloggs
23/09/2008, 3:24 PM
are crossmolina any use lads?? I play for Ballygawley in the Sligo prem and we are away to them in mid Oct in the Connacht cup?? didnt they get relegated last year? did they go up this year??

i'm afraid that we can't go divulging details of a mayo club to a 'foreign' team!;)

Kilmore Fan
24/09/2008, 11:05 AM
i'm afraid that we can't go divulging details of a mayo club to a 'foreign' team!;)

Nicely put Cloggs;)

couchpotato
26/09/2008, 8:03 AM

Hey,
to see crossmolinas full results this season, check out www.snugboro.com,
has all results and tables.

i myself wouldnt have too many worries, as similiar to many other teams in mayo, once they drop out of the super league, they just spiral down the leagues.

Cloggs, youll be the first man on other threads looking for info if ye get out the mayo section of the cups, but that doesnt look likely. Eight defeats from eighteen games and automatic promotion-wat a joke, looks like ye may be following crossmolinas path.

GoodFootball
26/09/2008, 8:50 AM
Hey,
to see crossmolinas full results this season, check out www.snugboro.com,
has all results and tables.

i myself wouldnt have too many worries, as similiar to many other teams in mayo, once they drop out of the super league, they just spiral down the leagues.

Cloggs, youll be the first man on other threads looking for info if ye get out the mayo section of the cups, but that doesnt look likely. Eight defeats from eighteen games and automatic promotion-wat a joke, looks like ye may be following crossmolinas path.

Crossmolina are a decent team when they have all their players, most of the main lads play gaelic and soccer. They tend to choose gaelic over soccer...

couchpotato, who do you play for? 8 defeats but we still made it into the super! We done "enough" which is fine by me :D

Super team super league!!!

FahyForever
26/09/2008, 1:27 PM
Cloggs, youll be the first man on other threads looking for info if ye get out the mayo section of the cups, but that doesnt look likely. Eight defeats from eighteen games and automatic promotion-wat a joke, looks like ye may be following crossmolinas path.[/QUOTE]

Couchpotato, (which I guess from your last post is more a lifestyle choice than a nickname) if you knew your stuff here you would know that Cloggs is as friendly and helpful as anyone on the thread. The winking face denotes a bit of fun. As for your atack on Fahy, it´s not our decision that the fourth place team goes up if there are B teams in the other higher positions. What do you expect us to do, refuse it? As you would say yourself - ´Wat [sic] a joke´

No. 7
29/09/2008, 4:05 PM
Alan Macdonald, Fitzi, Craig Reape, Ger Gaughan....mayo squad[/quote]

Based on yesterdays performance in Milebush only Paul Fitz would come near the Mayo Squad...

GoodFootball
29/09/2008, 6:32 PM
Alan Macdonald, Fitzi, Craig Reape, Ger Gaughan....mayo squad

Based on yesterdays performance in Milebush only Paul Fitz would come near the Mayo Squad...[/QUOTE]

Didnt watch the game yesterday but S & F should have 2 players in the mayo squad, Fitz and Alan Mc.

Right about the other 2.

At centre back Craig Reape would have to get in front of Joe Lawless, Martin Geraty, Eoghan McHale, Peter Burke, Sean Reilly...hardly! Joe Keane from Fahy has a better chance of making it, in my opinion.

Alan Mc will find it difficult to get in with the likes of Danny Scahill, Stevie Gavin, Stevie Ryan and David Horkan in his way but might make it, dont think Ger Gaughan will make it this year.

All depends on how DK wants to play it though...might give some lads a chance to prove themselves!

FahyForever
30/09/2008, 5:59 PM
All joking aside, fair play to S+F, great treble and end to a fantastic season. Should shake up the Super league next year. Would like to say it was a pleasure having ye in the division but four defeats from four leaves a bad taste! Very best of luck next year and congrats again..

El-Hero9
30/09/2008, 6:50 PM
All joking aside,but the cup final on sunday had to be the worst cup final in the last decade.I cannot remember either side getting five passes in a row together,no football being played just hoofball!fair play to s+f on their win but it the end it was a lottery!as we have seen before boro just choked with a good lead and obviously are very poor without the influencial steve gavin who was missing last sunday!Keeper gets all the praise from his penalty heroics but during the course of the game he was poor, but looked ok compared to Ruddy who was diabolical looked dodgy from the start!Boro were found out sunday by a poorer side so things look bleak for the yellow bellys!!
also its sad to see tom kelly on the ct go on about hw it wasnt the best final but most eventful.....surely we pay 10euro to see a bit of football!in my opinion for all the hype nd build up it was a let down to say the least!

nevjo
02/10/2008, 6:40 AM
All joking aside,but the cup final on sunday had to be the worst cup final in the last decade.I cannot remember either side getting five passes in a row together,no football being played just hoofball!fair play to s+f on their win but it the end it was a lottery!as we have seen before boro just choked with a good lead and obviously are very poor without the influencial steve gavin who was missing last sunday!Keeper gets all the praise from his penalty heroics but during the course of the game he was poor, but looked ok compared to Ruddy who was diabolical looked dodgy from the start!Boro were found out sunday by a poorer side so things look bleak for the yellow bellys!!
also its sad to see tom kelly on the ct go on about hw it wasnt the best final but most eventful.....surely we pay 10euro to see a bit of football!in my opinion for all the hype nd build up it was a let down to say the least!

el hero what club you come from??

Cloggs
02/10/2008, 2:58 PM
Based on yesterdays performance in Milebush only Paul Fitz would come near the Mayo Squad...

Didnt watch the game yesterday but S & F should have 2 players in the mayo squad, Fitz and Alan Mc.

Right about the other 2.

At centre back Craig Reape would have to get in front of Joe Lawless, Martin Geraty, Eoghan McHale, Peter Burke, Sean Reilly...hardly! Joe Keane from Fahy has a better chance of making it, in my opinion.

Alan Mc will find it difficult to get in with the likes of Danny Scahill, Stevie Gavin, Stevie Ryan and David Horkan in his way but might make it, dont think Ger Gaughan will make it this year.

All depends on how DK wants to play it though...might give some lads a chance to prove themselves![/QUOTE]

from what dk was saying at the cup semi final he doesn't rate ger gaughan at all so can't see him getting anywhere near the mayo squad at the moment.could well be wrong though!i didn't think that eoghan mchale was playing with westport anymore?thought that he'd moved to dublin and was playing with st kevins boys club?
when is the squad for the upcoming oscar traynor being picked anyway?

keith.henn
02/10/2008, 10:12 PM
If any of you Mayo teams have drawn Sligo/Leitrim teams in the Conn Cup let me know and I'll give you an idea of what you are in for, pitches, facilities, standards and of course boozers..............

Are Crossmolina still in the Mayo Senior Championship?? will that still be going on by the 19th?

Cloggs
03/10/2008, 2:21 PM
If any of you Mayo teams have drawn Sligo/Leitrim teams in the Conn Cup let me know and I'll give you an idea of what you are in for, pitches, facilities, standards and of course boozers..............

Are Crossmolina still in the Mayo Senior Championship?? will that still be going on by the 19th?

dont know if crossmolina are still in the championship in the gaa but i think that the soccer club hasnt really been relyin on the gaa lads this year at all in the league and to be honest its shown in their league form.what level are yee playing at yourselves?didn't think that crossmolina were up to all that much this season but still they beat us at home!
by the by was only messing when i said we couldn't possibly be giving any information to you on this site,which i'm sure you understood but unfortunately one of the lads on the site doesnt have much of a sense of humour and failed to pick up on the wink at the end of my comment.

Cloggs
03/10/2008, 2:28 PM
best of luck to kilmore in their derby playoff game on sunday against bangor hibs in erris.at least yee havent too far to travel and if it is as wet as you're expecting then yee could nearly swim home!:Dhope yee manage to get promoted lads and we can renew rivalries again next year!:ball:

Kilmore Fan
03/10/2008, 2:57 PM
best of luck to kilmore in their derby playoff game on sunday against bangor hibs in erris.at least yee havent too far to travel and if it is as wet as you're expecting then yee could nearly swim home!hope yee manage to get promoted lads and we can renew rivalries again next year!

Cheers! As I said we deffinately up for it.:D As for swimming home, lets hope it's to the local where we will be celebrating into the wee hours;) Our games v Bangor are always lively so should be a good game. Lets hope we will be meeting again next year.Good to keep the rivalry going:)

Footy Mad
05/10/2008, 3:18 PM
Kilmore 1, Bangor Hibs 0.
Kilmore promoted to the Superleague. Well done