View Full Version : Mayo Premier League 2008
Pages :
[
18]
Kilmore Fan
01/09/2008, 11:29 AM
Ye'll have to win next week now to do us a favour, good man ;)
Did you or did you not say that Crossmolina were the strongest out of what's there!!!!! We're obviously looking for a win so will try to do ye the favour;) Next weeks fixtures will certainly make things clearer with Swinford v Crossmolina to be played and of course us v Urlar. Is it true that if two teams end up on even points that goal difference doesn't count that they have to play each other?
Holy God. What happens if we all end up on the same points? Toss of a coin, draw straws, rock scisscors paper.
I say we all have a darts competition some Sunday in an agreed pub. Beer, Food and the winner goes to the SuperLeague.
Providing the M.L don't decide that anyone fininshing on a double 7 must drink 3 fatfrogs off the head and playoff in a game of 3 and your in with the team who scored the most away goals out of the bottom 3 teams in the Super League.
Thats just what I think anyway.
FahyForever
01/09/2008, 12:04 PM
Fahy 0 - 2 Celtic B
Good football played by both sides, celtic got early goal and then sat on it. We were gulity of missing a sh*t load of chances, including myself!! Celtic sneeked one in at the end.
Always hard to take when you play well and lose but thats life!! Automatic spot between us and Urlar now (who beat Glenhest 4-1 yesterday). They have to take maximum points and hope that we draw and lose our last 2 games.
In other games, Westport drew with Swinford, Cross lost to Kilmore and dont know about S & F and Manulla?
I enjoyed the match yesterday but felt it was impaired considerably by an absolute shocking performance from the referee. He gave at least four blatantly incorrect offside decisions against Fahy, two of which were about 3-4 yards on, with only the keeper to beat. I was level with the last line for both of them and they were truly incomprehensible calls. Also, shouting ´shut your mouth, shut it!´to a player is not appropriate either. It felt like an ironic twist of faith when Celtic got their second, with minutes to go, from a patently offside position.
That´s not Celtic´s fault of course, I thought they did well, considering they´ve lost Torphy and Fallon in the last few weeks. They had a nice blend of youth and experience yesterday and played some good football. However, I found one element of the match disconcerting, as I have every time we´ve played Celtic B for the last five years: having to hear the word ´nigger´being shouted sporadically at full volume throughout the game, by both the man whose nickname it is and the fans. Now I know it´s not intended as racism, but I think it´s time to put this one to bed. I saw lots of young kids running around at the match, overhearing one of the most hateful words available being shouted out. Would it be accaptable if people were running around roaring ´chink´or ´paki´ or ´faggot´on a field in Mayo on a Sunday afternoon?
The man in question has been a stalwart in the celtic defence, organising them and inspiring them for years now. He was even on hand to give some help to one of our players when he cramped up towards the end of the game! I´m sure, like everyone else with a nickname, he didn´t pick it himself, but I think he should send a message out to the younger players in what is an ethnically-diverse club, that it should stay where it assuredly belongs - in the past.
Well done to Straide and Foxford in lifting the title, they fully deserve it. Hoping they can do the Premier League proud in the final against Snugboro!
Kilmore Fan
01/09/2008, 12:23 PM
Holy God. What happens if we all end up on the same points? Toss of a coin, draw straws, rock scisscors paper.
I say we all have a darts competition some Sunday in an agreed pub. Beer, Food and the winner goes to the SuperLeague.
Providing the M.L don't decide that anyone fininshing on a double 7 must drink 3 fatfrogs off the head and playoff in a game of 3 and your in with the team who scored the most away goals out of the bottom 3 teams in the Super League.
Thats just what I think anyway.
That sounds good to me!!! darts and drinking comp it is then. It seems to be that if teams end up even they play each other.Ye could only end up even with Urlar if ye lose 2 and they win one&draw 1 or if ye draw 2 and they win 2. We gonna do our best to make sure that don't happen. There is however a chance that we could end up even with Crossmolina Urlar and Swinford!!!!! I'm guessing that out of 4, two teams are surely going to end up even..... The darts and drinking comp might be an idea if all 4 of us end up even!!! Whoever wins goes to SuperL and whoever loses goes down????????Now That would be some end of season party.
I enjoyed the match yesterday but felt it was impaired considerably by an absolute shocking performance from the referee. He gave at least four blatantly incorrect offside decisions against Fahy, two of which were about 3-4 yards on, with only the keeper to beat. I was level with the last line for both of them and they were truly incomprehensible calls. Also, shouting ´shut your mouth, shut it!´to a player is not appropriate either. It felt like an ironic twist of faith when Celtic got their second, with minutes to go, from a patently offside position.
That´s not Celtic´s fault of course, I thought they did well, considering they´ve lost Torphy and Fallon in the last few weeks. They had a nice blend of youth and experience yesterday and played some good football. However, I found one element of the match disconcerting, as I have every time we´ve played Celtic B for the last five years: having to hear the word ´nigger´being shouted sporadically at full volume throughout the game, by both the man whose nickname it is and the fans. Now I know it´s not intended as racism, but I think it´s time to put this one to bed. I saw lots of young kids running around at the match, overhearing one of the most hateful words available being shouted out. Would it be accaptable if people were running around roaring ´chink´or ´paki´ or ´faggot´on a field in Mayo on a Sunday afternoon?
The man in question has been a stalwart in the celtic defence, organising them and inspiring them for years now. He was even on hand to give some help to one of our players when he cramped up towards the end of the game! I´m sure, like everyone else with a nickname, he didn´t pick it himself, but I think he should send a message out to the younger players in what is an ethnically-diverse club, that it should stay where it assuredly belongs - in the past.
Well done to Straide and Foxford in lifting the title, they fully deserve it. Hoping they can do the Premier League proud in the final against Snugboro!
Thats a big one. Refs need to respect the players. Players need to respect the refs. A player should be allowed to question a refs decision providing he does it in an acceptable manner. The ref should have the courtesy to give him reason. Fans on the sideline abusing refs is unacceptable and gives the wrong impression to young kids at matches.
Cloggs
01/09/2008, 8:16 PM
We beat Crossmolina 2-1 today. Should have beaten them by alot more but their keeper played a blinder and made some excellent saves. Credit where credit is due. Things are still very open!!!!!
now now,self praise is no praise!:D:D
Cloggs
01/09/2008, 8:19 PM
yes that was me playing right back, behind hughes great man to have in front of ya! no theres no chance of taking foot of pedals at all its gonna run nice for us preperation wise our last game against kilmore is week before chadwicks final and we should be well prepared and hopefully with no injures, doubt the manager would change too much its nice to keep the flow of winning going and playing well as a starting 11 like we have done all season, if you change too much it would upset rythem and if we got beat confidence might dip slightly so id say you need not to worry cloggs!
good to hear!true the team would be disrupted alright,was just wondering if the lads who might not have been getting much of a run in the league might be a bit disgruntled with little match action during the season
on the game yesterday against celtic.thought that it was a good game but was very disappointed to come off the pitch on the losing side,particularly with the amount of chances that we had and the offside decisions but such is football and we have to get a win next weekend against manulla b,hoping that kilmore can do us a favour(just in case)it'd be better to make sure of it ourselves though!!
Kilmore Fan
02/09/2008, 7:11 AM
now now,self praise is no praise!:D:D
Read it again. I was praising their keeper !!!!! I'm hoping he will be as good for their game v Swinford.
GoodFootball
02/09/2008, 10:37 AM
Hoping ye'll beat Urlar, but they look good lately so will be tough for ye. If Urlar win its all over for ye and Cross as I assume Cross will be beaten by S & F this weekend...
Promises to be an exciting weekend though...
Kilmore Fan
02/09/2008, 11:45 AM
Hoping ye'll beat Urlar, but they look good lately so will be tough for ye. If Urlar win its all over for ye and Cross as I assume Cross will be beaten by S & F this weekend...
Promises to be an exciting weekend though...
We'll certainly do our best! This wkend should decide alot.Three big games
Us v Urlar
Swinford v Crossmolina (not S&F as you said)
Fahy v Manulla
As you can see from the table below it's sooooooooo close. It's a crazy league when teams that are fighting for the possible third promotion spot are also fighting against relegation. If Erris b get promoted (currently looking that way)that will be yet another b team in premier. Something needs to change! This league is being treated as a joke and that's unfair to the non b teams in it.
TeamPWLDFA+/-Pts
Straide & Foxford
Castlebar Celtic B
Fahy Rovers
Westport United B
Urlaur United
Manulla B
Crossmolina
Kilmore
Swinford
Glenhest Rovers
Kilmore Fan
02/09/2008, 11:53 AM
Apologies, for some reason the table didn't com out right
Its as follows
Straide & Foxford 45
Castlebar Celtic 34
Fahy Rovers 25
Westport B 24
Urlar United 21
Manulla B 20
Crossmolina 18
Kilmore 18
Swinford 17
Glenhest Rovers 9
celtic92
02/09/2008, 3:49 PM
You got ran over by a 14 year old :D
There are 3 of them, 1 u-14, 1 centre back about 6' 4" and then the fella who played against us...
good football who do you play for? how many b teams are in the premier league now?
Cloggs
02/09/2008, 4:02 PM
Read it again. I was praising their keeper !!!!! I'm hoping he will be as good for their game v Swinford.
i read it again and you can see why i thought that:oapologies all the same though!hope yee can beat urlar on saturday evening.i hear that our game has been moved from the original 6pm kickoff to a 7pm kickoff instead presumably because of the ireland game against georgia.presume all the other games have been changed also?
Cloggs
02/09/2008, 4:20 PM
anyone have any idea of when the fai junior cup games will be taking place and when the draw is?
GoodFootball
02/09/2008, 8:25 PM
good football who do you play for? how many b teams are in the premier league now?
3 B teams in premier, westport, celtic and manulla. Erris B might come up this year, then again is 20 pts enough to keep manulla B in the premier.
I play for Fahy Rovers...
r.rover
03/09/2008, 3:49 PM
who are urlar playing last day of season?
Kilmore Fan
03/09/2008, 3:52 PM
who are urlar playing last day of season?
They have Swinford at home.
GoodFootball
04/09/2008, 12:23 PM
CONNACHT CUP DRAW SEASON 2008/2009
First Round 22nd/23rd September 2008
No Home Team Versus Away Team
1 Cam Celtic V Colemanstwon Utd
2 Mulranney Utd ` V Manor Utd
3 Cloonamahon Celtic V Chafpool Rovers
4 Ballymote Celtic V Medtronic
5 Ahascragh Utd V Clew Bay Utd
6 Chois Farraighe V Glenisland Utd
7 Moyne Villa V Swinford
8 Ballygawley Celtic V Kilkerrin Utd
9 Cregmore/Claregalway V Achill Rovers
10 St Bernards V East Utd
11 Kilalla V Kilshanvey Utd
12 Straide &Foxford Utd V Fahy Rovers
13 Coolera Rovers V Mannions
14 Glenhest Rovers V Aclare Celtic
15 Ballina Utd V Quayside Celtic
16 Crossmolina V Ballaghderreen FC
17 Inver V St Ellens
18 Moylough 79 V Ballyglass
19 Glenview Stars V Mac Dara
20 Coolaney Utd V O.L.B.C.
21 Roscommon Town V Knocknacarra
22 Conn Rangers V Partry Athletic
23 Moy Villa V Urlaur Utd
24 Kilmore V Glen Celtic
25 Lisnamult Cel` V Castlebar Town
26 Dromore Villa V Oranbay 90
27 Kiltullagh V CB Trotters
28 Tuam Celtic V Innisfree Celtic
29 Corrib celtic V Loughglynn
30 Renmore V Carrick Town
31 Lough Harps V Ballymoe FC
32 Kiltimagh/Knock Utd V Charlestown Ath
33 Erisssons Athlone V Galway Bohemians
34 Dunmore Town V Western Rovers
35 Ballyvary B.B V Cartron Utd
36 Hollister V Craughwell Utd
37 Gilglass/Enniscrone Bye
38 Gort Bye
39 Grange Utd Bye
40 Chafpool Utd Bye
41 Conn Rangers Bye
42 Maugherouw Utd Bye
43 Crumlin FC Bye
44 Milltown Bye
45 Ballisodare Utd Bye
46 Merville Utd Bye
47 St Patricks Bye
48 Cliffoney Celtic Bye
Second Round 18th/19th October
49 35 V Chafpool Utd
50 14 V 32
51 Cliffoney Celtic V 21
52 16 V 8
8 5 V 22
54 13 V 1
55 11 V St Patricks
56 26` V Maugherouw Utd
57 27 V 30
58 9 V 4
59 23 V 28
60 19 V 31
61 15 V Milltown
62 Ballisodare Utd V Gort
63 Crumlin FC V 3
64 34 V Conn Rangers
65 2 V 33
66 Merville Utd V Kilglass/Enniscrone
67 36 V 18
68 12 V 29
69 10 V 6
70 17 V 24
71 Grange Utd V 7
72 25 V 20
GoodFootball
04/09/2008, 12:29 PM
ROUND 1---Sunday 14th September 2008
Clew Bay Utd. v Ballyglass
ROUND 2---Sunday 12th October 2008
Ballyvary Blue Bombers v Westport Utd.
Kilmore v Partry Athletic
Swinford v Charlestown Athletic
Mulranny Utd. v Ballinrobe Town
Achill Rovers v Bangor Hibs.
Crossmolina v Claremorris
Iorras Aontaithe v Ballyheane
Snugboro Utd. v Castlebar Town
Cross Celtic v Ballina Utd.
Inver Utd. v Ballina Town
Manulla v Hollister
Moy Villa v Killala
Glenisland Utd. v Castlebar Celtic
Conn Rangers v Urlaur Utd.
Clew Bay Utd. or Ballyglass v Fahy Rovers
Straide & Foxford Utd. v Kiltimagh/Knock Utd.
theboy
05/09/2008, 8:39 AM
So what are the dates for the 1st round of both the Fai and connacht cups? there seems to be different dates floating around..
pool 7
06/09/2008, 12:11 PM
Swinford v Crossmolina home
Fahy Rovers v Manulla B home
Glenhest Rovers v Straide & Foxford away
Kilmore v Urlaur United home
Castlebar Celtic B v Westport United B draw
FahyForever
06/09/2008, 10:22 PM
Fahy Drew 1-1 with Manulla b. I heard that means we're promoted. Can anyone verify this?
celtic92
06/09/2008, 10:26 PM
celtic b beat westport b 3-0 at celtic park
Kilmore Fan
07/09/2008, 9:46 AM
Urlar were a no show!!! So I guess that means congrats Fahy! Does anyone know how the Crossmolina v Swinford game went?
Cloggs
07/09/2008, 11:36 AM
Urlar were a no show!!! So I guess that means congrats Fahy! Does anyone know how the Crossmolina v Swinford game went?
Celtic b 3-0 Westport b
Fahy 1-1 Manulla b
Glenhest 0-2 S and F
Kilmore 3-0 Urlar
Swinford 2-2 Crossmolina
cheers!hopefully we are up and get into the super league now.surely we'll be able to do something to secure our place there with regards to a pitch and facilities.can't believe that urlar didn't even bother to show up for their second last game of the season!thats rediculous and completely unfair on the teams that are trying to avoid getting relegated.obviously its worked out well for yourselves kilmore fan and theres nothing yee could do about it other than being delighted with the three handy points!;)(and promotion for us!!:D)that leaves yee safe from relegation.so congrats to yourselves also.final relegation spot is between swinford and crossmolina now.does anyone have any idea why urlar didn't show up?
07/09/2008, 1:31 PM
Celtic b 3-0 Westport b
Fahy 1-1 Manulla b
Glenhest 0-2 S and F
Kilmore 3-0 Urlar
Swinford 2-2 Crossmolina
cheers!hopefully we are up and get into the super league now.surely we'll be able to do something to secure our place there with regards to a pitch and facilities.can't believe that urlar didn't even bother to show up for their second last game of the season!thats rediculous and completely unfair on the teams that are trying to avoid getting relegated.obviously its worked out well for yourselves kilmore fan and theres nothing yee could do about it other than being delighted with the three handy points!;)(and promotion for us!!:D)that leaves yee safe from relegation.so congrats to yourselves also.final relegation spot is between swinford and crossmolina now.does anyone have any idea why urlar didn't show up?
Kilmore aren't safe yet! The permutations are numerous. Lets go through them: Final Day scenarios
Swinford beat Urlaur
S & F beat Kilmore
Crossmolina lose.
This would leave urlaur, swinford and kilmore on 21 points and need some sort of playoff to see who gets promoted.
Swinford beat Urlaur
S & F beat Kilmore
Crossmolina win.
Similiar scenario to last one but this time, Crossmolina are promoted and urlaur, swinford and kilmore all still on 21 points need some sort of playoff to see who gets relegated!
If Urlaur or Kilmore win they'll probably go up, unless they both win and then there would be another playoff. Then you've got Manulla B and Westport B who could finish level on points with someone and maybe they would have to be involved in some sort of playoff also? Who knows what the rules are. Interesting.
Kilmore Fan
07/09/2008, 6:51 PM
Does anyone have any idea what happens if a few teams end up on equal points? when will the decision be made? How do you find out?
swinfordfc
07/09/2008, 7:42 PM
Celtic b 3-0 Westport b
Fahy 1-1 Manulla b
Glenhest 0-2 S and F
Kilmore 3-0 Urlar
Swinford 2-2 Crossmolina
i tell you why - and its from a reliable source - they wont paid the money for the bus down to kilmore! - what you think of that!
Kilmore Fan
07/09/2008, 7:45 PM
i tell you why - and its from a reliable source - they wont paid the money for the bus down to kilmore! - what you think of that!
You have got to be taking the ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
swinfordfc
07/09/2008, 7:50 PM
You have got to be taking the ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wish i was!
Bandit
08/09/2008, 8:26 AM
Celtic b 3-0 Westport b
Fahy 1-1 Manulla b
Glenhest 0-2 S and F
Kilmore 3-0 Urlar
Swinford 2-2 Crossmolina
Our manager got told (from the ref supposed to be doing the game) that Urlar rang Kilmore and said they were safe and didn't care about the points cause they dont want to get promoted so they were not going travelling all the way to kilmore....If they get away with that its a disgrace,it affects every team below them and its just unfair..
mayomaniac
08/09/2008, 9:45 AM
I'm afraid your reliable source is wrong, I have being playing for Urlaur for 5 years and we have never got a bus to travel to the game the reason we did' nt travel is too make a match at 6 in Kilmore we would have to have left sometime before 4 and with most of our team working we only could get around 8 people so had to call it off. Apologies to all the teams battling with Kilmore
Kilmore Fan
08/09/2008, 9:47 AM
The story I heard is that they couldn't get enough to field a team.
robben 11
09/09/2008, 2:18 PM
Well done to fahy on getting promoted, cloggs,fahyforever,goodfootball,
say ye are well pleased finaly getting into the super league..
Ment to post this last week but better late than never,
whats the situation on a pitch is it in the process??
GoodFootball
09/09/2008, 2:59 PM
7 years since Fahy reformed, its been a long wait alright, cheers ;) And we made tough work of it :D
Dont think we will have our own pitch for next season, but the lads will be working hard behind the scenes to insure we can play super league with pitch rental or share with another club.
thekop
09/09/2008, 3:17 PM
Is it true S&F play Fahy in the con cup saturday the 20th of sept at 5.30 in foxford??
theboy
09/09/2008, 3:52 PM
Now that the league is nearly at an end, whats ye're team of the year?
Cloggs
09/09/2008, 4:23 PM
cheers mate.don't think that 7 years is all that long to have to wait though gf.a lot more teams have been around longer than us and have never made it so to be promoted with the catchment area that we have is some achievement.really looking forward to the games next year against the top teams (even if i'm not playing!!-had to get that one in before somebody else did:D)i see we're down to play yee again in the con cup on the 20th in straide.getting kind of sick of playing yee at this stage!!:pmaybe it'll be fourth time lucky for us!;)
GoodFootball
10/09/2008, 8:03 AM
Is it true S&F play Fahy in the con cup saturday the 20th of sept at 5.30 in foxford??
Yes, I think so, loving the Saturday games...
GoodFootball
10/09/2008, 8:06 AM
cheers mate.don't think that 7 years is all that long to have to wait though gf.a lot more teams have been around longer than us and have never made it so to be promoted with the catchment area that we have is some achievement.really looking forward to the games next year against the top teams (even if i'm not playing!!-had to get that one in before somebody else did i see we're down to play yee again in the con cup on the 20th in straide.getting kind of sick of playing yee at this stage!!:pmaybe it'll be fourth time lucky for us!
7 years as a player is long enough to be waiting to play in the best league ;)
Started with Fahy at 17, about time to play at least 1 season there :D
Cloggs you have a few more years in ya yet...
GoodFootball
10/09/2008, 10:25 AM
theboy, robben11, goodfootball, norm, kilmore_fan, cloggs, swinfordfc, fahyforever, r.rover, celtic92, no.7 :D
robben 11
10/09/2008, 1:58 PM
theboy, robben11, goodfootball, norm, kilmore_fan, cloggs, swinfordfc, fahyforever, r.rover, celtic92, no.7 :D
thats a good starting 11...:D
G. Byrne
S. Walsh C. Reape M. Costello A. Atkinson
S. Hughes G. Gaughan A. Mc Donnell C. Downey
P. Fitzpatrick J. Jordan
By the way, im not an snf man!! just a fan....
GoodFootball
10/09/2008, 3:41 PM
thats a good starting 11...:D
...i'll get the ball rolling with a few candidates IMO
S & F: Costello, Alan Mc, Fitzpatrick, Jordon
Celtic B: Drevins
Fahy: Joe Keane, Colin Napier
Westport B: Colin Cameron
Manulla B: quick fella up front
Kilmore: Kiaran Kelly (Goalie)
Swinford: Nobody outstanding
Urlar: Same here
Crossmolina: Tall guy in centre mid
Glenhest: Nobody
Kilmore Fan
11/09/2008, 7:08 AM
...i'll get the ball rolling with a few candidates IMO
S & F: Costello, Alan Mc, Fitzpatrick, Jordon
Celtic B: Drevins
Fahy: Joe Keane, Colin Napier
Manulla B: quick fella up front
Kilmore: Kiaran Kelly (Goalie)
Swinford: Nobody outstanding
Urlar: Same here
Crossmolina: Tall guy in centre mid
Glenhest: Nobody
Never heard of a Kieran Kelly, But if it's the goalie you're after that would be Stephen O'Boyle.
GoodFootball
11/09/2008, 8:18 AM
Never heard of a Kieran Kelly, But if it's the goalie you're after that would be Stephen O'Boyle.
My mistake, there is another keeper called kiaran kelly I think but I did mean your keeper :D
I reckon our own keeper would have been keeper of the season if he joined us at the begining of the season...
Cloggs
11/09/2008, 2:09 PM
My mistake, there is another keeper called kiaran kelly I think but I did mean your keeper :D
I reckon our own keeper would have been keeper of the season if he joined us at the begining of the season...
i'd agree although i am of course biased!hes saved at least 6 penalties for us this year
kingkong
11/09/2008, 4:48 PM
S & F: Costello, Alan Mc, Fitzpatrick, G Gaughan
Celtic B: E Crean,D Kirby,P Drevins
Fahy: Joe Keane, other centre back and small midfielder
ExCiTeD
11/09/2008, 9:35 PM
firstly congrats to fahy on your promotion i really hope ye get the pitch issue sorted yer a good bunch and deserve your crack at big boys.
on the team of the year id agree with most candidates however cant believe the names not being mentioned. celtic finished second in the division and quite a few of the team that played most of the season with us have gone on to hold their place in the super league team and danny fallon and eoin torpey have just signed for sligo rovers how in gods name can they not be in the team of the year? eamonn crean has been our captain and probably our most consistant performer all year along with the lads already mentioned and the outstanding peter drevins who somebody else has already proposed.one other player i feel deserves a mention is 16 year old james mcgurrin he has come from nowhere this season to establish himself as one of the best full backs in the club through playing for the b team and will certainly be a first team regular next seaon as has already proved his worth in the super league this season.mark towey another teenager at only seventeen has also been promoted from our squad to play regularly at left back for declans first team and should have a big shout to make this team. i may be a little biased towards my club but we finished second and therfore we are the second best team in the division and i feel the players that achieved that should get their deserved recognition
celtic92
11/09/2008, 9:47 PM
well said excited im sure youll get stick for being biased but you are 100% right james mc guerrin has been brilliant and he has been with us since he was a 'youngin' and its great to see local lads making the step up