View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34

footymad
06/04/2008, 8:44 PM
well footmad,who scored for prospect today,i am assuming kelly got on the scoresheet again.looks like he could be the key to your promotion hopes....didnt ye sign a few other fowards lately.
Danny Colbert got the first one and ya Kelly got the 2nd. He should have got a couple of more. The man is a great goalscorer very clever and he,s even carrying an injury at the moment. Ya signed skinner aswell the 2 of them are linking up nicely. Signed a few good players alright but lost a few key players through injury's Wayne O'Donnell broken ankle ,mala ankle ligaments and Steven Long broken leg. Just aswell there is a very strong B squad there aswell they will have a big impact especially with the games coming thick and fast.

Pike B
07/04/2008, 6:33 AM
Pike 0 - 4 Holycross.
A disaster for us. They were very poor, but with only ten men we couldn't cope. We are struggling to field a team. It is getting worse each week. I'd say we'll be lucky to see out the season. We've never been in such bad shape.Our only hope is if Abbey and Holycross keep losing. Can't see where the points are going to come from for us.

gaiscíoch
07/04/2008, 8:28 AM
Murroe vs Park match was abandoned after 5mins. One of the Murroe players picked up a very bad injury to his left leg in a challenge. Hope he is ok.
Seen a small bit of the Prospect-Abbey game. Lads the game was awful but it's a good result for Prospect who look in good shape overall.

Pike B
07/04/2008, 9:26 AM
Murroe vs Park match was abandoned after 5mins. One of the Murroe players picked up a very bad injury to his left leg in a challenge. Hope he is ok.
Seen a small bit of the Prospect-Abbey game. Lads the game was awful but it's a good result for Prospect who look in good shape overall.
Don't be too nice, KingofKilteely don't like it ;)

The Kaiser
07/04/2008, 1:34 PM
Whats gone wrong at Shelbourne? Have they lost players? Good win again for Prospect. Reckon they will pip Park for second.

Yeah i agree mate Prospect are peaking at the business end of the season and should go up.

Pike B
07/04/2008, 1:36 PM
Yeah i agree mate Prospect are peaking at the business end of the season and should go up.
Oh what an Andy Gray like comment.. Very nice ;)

footymad
07/04/2008, 4:38 PM
Your right it was a terrible game the conditions made sure of that. It was one of those games where u get your 3 points and run.

gerrard27
07/04/2008, 5:23 PM
Well lads, does anyone have the updated table after the weekends games.

abbeyvale
07/04/2008, 5:56 PM
Croom...Pl 15 / Pts 37 (Max 58)
Park.....Pl 16 / Pts 31 (Max 49)
Fairview...Pl 17 / Pts 28 (Max 43)
Prospect...Pl 14 / Pts 27 (Max 51)
Coonagh...Pl 15 / Pts 24 (Max 45)
Shels.......Pl 15 / Pts 21 (Max 42)
Knockainey...Pl 15 / Pts 18 (Max 39)
Pike B.......Pl 15 / Pts 15 (Max 36)
Holycross...Pl 15 / Pts 15 (Max 36)
Murroe.....Pl 14 / Pts 14 (Max 38)
St.Pats....Pl 14 / Pts 13 (Max 37)
Abbey.......Pl 15 / Pts 10 (Max 31)

Fixtures
Sunday 06/04/08
Murroe AA Park
Prospect 2-0 Abbey
Croom 3-1 Shelbourne
Pike 0-4 Holycross
Knockainey 1-3 Fairview

Tuesday 08/04/08 (18.30)
Kncokainey v Holycross
Fairview v Prospect
Coonagh v Shelbourne[/QUOTE]

hoops12
08/04/2008, 12:15 AM
Pike 0 - 4 Holycross.
A disaster for us. They were very poor, but with only ten men we couldn't cope. We are struggling to field a team. It is getting worse each week. I'd say we'll be lucky to see out the season. We've never been in such bad shape.Our only hope is if Abbey and Holycross keep losing. Can't see where the points are going to come from for us.

whats gone wrong up there with our b team.iv been away for last few weeks but how come we can,t field a team i thought we had 20 odd plus signed.i heard paul coffee and daglish had to tog out recently .they must,nt have played in nearly 3 years and isnt pauls knee giving him trouble.we should never have blaguarded darre and jaffa,darren was keeping that team going when no one had interest.

Pike B
08/04/2008, 7:20 AM
We sign 20 plus every season bud, but when the sun goes in and it gets cold, most of them go into hibernation, and only the players who give a damn turn up.
As for those two players you mentioned togging out for us a few weeks ago, it's only a pity we haven't more like them. They would play for us on one leg, whilst other so called players couldn't be bothered even showing up.
We signed one too many wasters this season. And now we're suffering.
As for blaguarding as you put it, those two other lads, well all I can say to that is, when they played for us, they were two you could rely on for sure,aswell as Kieran Stewart and Rob Sheedy. All we are trying to do now, is hang onto 1B status and organise ourselves in the Summer for next season. But it's proving a real struggle. Can't tell how it's going to go. All we few players left can do is dig in and hope for the best at this stage. Not enough people within the club, give a damn about the B team. It's always the way up there.

Pike B
08/04/2008, 12:08 PM
Any fixtures for w'end lads??

abbeyvale
08/04/2008, 4:47 PM
Fairview...Pl 17 / Pts 28 (Max 43)
Prospect...Pl 14 / Pts 27 (Max 51)
Coonagh...Pl 15 / Pts 24 (Max 45)
Shels.......Pl 15 / Pts 21 (Max 42)

Fixtures
Tuesday 08/04/08 (18.30)
Kncokainey v Holycross
Fairview v Prospect
Coonagh v Shelbourne

Sunday 13/04/08 (10.30)
Prospect v Coonagh
Shels v Abbey
Knockainey v Pike
Murroe v Park (2.30)

Tuesday 15/04/08 (18.30)
Prospect v Murroe
Abbey v Park
St.Pats v Croom

Thursday 17/04/08 (18.30)
Shels v Fairview

Raúl Madrid
08/04/2008, 7:07 PM
Fixtures
Tuesday 08/04/08 (18.30)

Coonagh v Shelbourne

Coonagh were winning 2-0 with 20 minutes to go when the ref abandoned the game following a dispute with one of the Shelbourne management team on the sideline ...

larrywhite
08/04/2008, 8:19 PM
Prospect...Pl 15 / Pts 30 (Max 51)
Fairview...Pl 18 / Pts 28 (Max 40)
Coonagh...Pl 16 / Pts 27 (Max 45)
Shels.......Pl 16 / Pts 21 (Max 39)

Table updated with the two results in.

Tuesday 08/04/08 (18.30)
Knockainey v Holycross
Fairview 2 Prospect 4
Coonagh 2 Shelbourne 0

footymad
08/04/2008, 9:04 PM
View 2 Prospect 4
Prospect led 1 nil at the break.View got 2 goals in the first 10 mins of the second half. Prospect equalised a cracker from Declan McCormac who got a brace on his return to the team. It looked as though it was heading for a draw and up popped kelly again and prospect got the 4th with 2 mins to go. View were very unlucky not to get something from the game.
Very interesting at the top now...........

gerrard27
08/04/2008, 9:09 PM
View 2 Prospect 4
Prospect led 1 nil at the break.View got 2 goals in the first 10 mins of the second half. Prospect equalised a cracker from Declan McCormac who got a brace on his return to the team. It looked as though it was heading for a draw and up popped kelly again and prospect got the 4th with 2 mins to go. View were very unlucky not to get something from the game.
Very interesting at the top now...........

We definitely deserved at least a draw after been 4-2 down.If we had taken the chances in the first half it could have been a different game.But fair play to Prospect they just about hung on.:(:(:(

Final Frontier
08/04/2008, 9:17 PM
We definitely deserved at least a draw after been 4-2 down.If we had taken the chances in the first half it could have been a different game.But fair play to Prospect they just about hung on.:(:(:(

Looks defo like a 4 horse race now...Huge game for Prospect and Coonagh this Sunday...

Shels at it again...not surprising....!!!

abbeyvale
08/04/2008, 9:19 PM
Coonagh 2 Shelbourne 0[/QUOTE]

will coonagh get the points?????

larrywhite
08/04/2008, 10:23 PM
Most definitely. Seeing as it was the Shels sideline who caused the game to be abandoned.

hoops12
08/04/2008, 10:48 PM
We sign 20 plus every season bud, but when the sun goes in and it gets cold, most of them go into hibernation, and only the players who give a damn turn up.
As for those two players you mentioned togging out for us a few weeks ago, it's only a pity we haven't more like them. They would play for us on one leg, whilst other so called players couldn't be bothered even showing up.
We signed one too many wasters this season. And now we're suffering.
As for blaguarding as you put it, those two other lads, well all I can say to that is, when they played for us, they were two you could rely on for sure,aswell as Kieran Stewart and Rob Sheedy. All we are trying to do now, is hang onto 1B status and organise ourselves in the Summer for next season. But it's proving a real struggle. Can't tell how it's going to go. All we few players left can do is dig in and hope for the best at this stage. Not enough people within the club, give a damn about the B team. It's always the way up there.

thats true,is dobber still involved he,d be the right man with p coffee helping him out,

Pike B
09/04/2008, 7:20 AM
Ya he's still playing!! As I said, next season is when we hope to get it sorted. Just try to survive the rest of this.

Pike B
09/04/2008, 7:21 AM
Some result for Prospect that. They are hitting form now alright. Anybody get the result of Knockainey - Holycross?

gaiscíoch
09/04/2008, 7:38 AM
Most definitely. Seeing as it was the Shels sideline who caused the game to be abandoned.

I know exactly what your talking about. When we played away to them, What they didn't say is not worth repeating..... There is slagging, but then there is ignorance and they definately are the latter.
Obviously the ref was on the wrong side of it last night.
I think one the Star Rovers players got a few digs as he was leaving the ground after the Lawson Cup game.
Why don't the LDMC do something about them?:rolleyes:

Pike B
09/04/2008, 8:34 AM
Automatic relegation :D :D :D

Pike B
09/04/2008, 9:26 AM
Sunday 13/04/08 (10.30)
Prospect 2 v 2 Coonagh
Shels 3 v 0 Abbey
Knockainey 2 v 2 Pike
Murroe 1 v 3 Park (2.30)

Tuesday 15/04/08 (18.30)
Prospect 3 v 1 Murroe
Abbey 1 v 2 Park
St.Pats 2 v 3 Croom

Thursday 17/04/08 (18.30)
Shels 1 v 2 Fairview

Predictions for up coming games

shanman2
09/04/2008, 11:50 AM
I know exactly what your talking about. When we played away to them, What they didn't say is not worth repeating..... There is slagging, but then there is ignorance and they definately are the latter.
I think one the Star Rovers players got a few digs as he was leaving the ground after the Lawson Cup game.

If you can give it you can take it!!!
Grow up.

kingofkillteely
09/04/2008, 12:50 PM
If you can give it you can take it!!!
Grow up.

Think your way off the mark. Shels have constantly broken rules. We are trying to play football. Intimidation is fair up a point, but threats and bullying of referees is unacceptable. As a walked to the dressing room he was hounded to a level i have never witnessed. I still cant see their problem, there was nothing to complain about. Pike B aint far off the mark in calling for them to be relegated.

gerrard27
09/04/2008, 12:57 PM
Looks defo like a 4 horse race now...Huge game for Prospect and Coonagh this Sunday...

Shels at it again...not surprising....!!!

It definitely is a big game for both teams.If Coonagh play ball at pace they'll come away with 3 pts.To be honest Prospect aren't fit at all.You could see it with a few of there players last night against Fairview.The Fairview lads could have played for another 45 mins.

Pike B
09/04/2008, 2:20 PM
It definitely is a big game for both teams.If Coonagh play ball at pace they'll come away with 3 pts.To be honest Prospect aren't fit at all.You could see it with a few of there players last night against Fairview.The Fairview lads could have played for another 45 mins.
No good when your 4-2 down though bud ;)

gerrard27
09/04/2008, 4:49 PM
No good when your 4-2 down though bud ;)

I know that but if you had seen the game you'd know what im on about.We dominated the game but didnt take our chances which is no good.Well its behind us now.Its true for the sane 'no point in crying over spilled milk'.:):)

footymad
09/04/2008, 4:51 PM
I agree Prospect are not very fit but neither were fairview. Prospect finished the stronger scoring 2 goals in the last 2 mins so what does that tell u:p:p:p. You got to remember its tough playing 2 games sunday and tuesday u only have 1 day to recover maybe that took its toll on both teams.....

Pike B
09/04/2008, 5:07 PM
I know that but if you had seen the game you'd know what im on about.We dominated the game but didnt take our chances which is no good.Well its behind us now.Its true for the sane 'no point in crying over spilled milk'.:):)
A lot of teams have that problem. Dominating but not taking their chances. We on the other hand don't get any chances!!! :D

Sods Law
09/04/2008, 5:10 PM
Coonagh have the following games

Home - Prospect, Pike B, St. Pats
Away - Abbey, Croom and Murroe

Park and Prospect who have ye left to play. Hopefully the final spot will go to the wire. Has the makings of a great finish and who ever goes up will deserve it.

abbeyvale
09/04/2008, 5:12 PM
A lot of teams have that problem. Dominating but not taking their chances. We on the other hand don't get any chances!!! :D

Its up to the MIDFIELDERS to create the chances for the strikers.

Pike B
09/04/2008, 5:14 PM
Its up to the MIDFIELDERS to create the chances for the strikers.
I'm crossing balls in and trying to get on the end of them man!! Gimme a break!! :D

gerrard27
09/04/2008, 5:24 PM
I agree Prospect are not very fit but neither were fairview. Prospect finished the stronger scoring 2 goals in the last 2 mins so what does that tell u:p:p:p. You got to remember its tough playing 2 games sunday and tuesday u only have 1 day to recover maybe that took its toll on both teams.....

I have to disagree with you there.two of the Prospect players were f#####d after 15 mins of play.One of the players couldn't even get back to defend.Their left and right full players didnt pass the half way line for the whole game for the simple reason as the wouldnt have been able to get back.WERE YOU AT THE GAME????

footymad
09/04/2008, 6:16 PM
I have to disagree with you there.two of the Prospect players were f#####d after 15 mins of play.One of the players couldn't even get back to defend.Their left and right full players didnt pass the half way line for the whole game for the simple reason as the wouldnt have been able to get back.WERE YOU AT THE GAME????
Was there ya Daithi stewart was playing left full he was struggling a small bit for fitness alright he,s only back after been out for a few weeks so its understandable. The right full was Francis Kett Who in my opinion is the best right full in the division at the minute i've seen him in a number of games vey solid and is very fit, so i don't know why u say he was struggling. As i said in a previous post it was a great win for prospect who are struggling to get the same 11 each week. They have a lot of injuries at the minute players that did'nt play last night Anthony Falahee (mala), Alan Daly, Skinner McCormac, Danny Colbert, Wayne O'Donnell (broken leg),Steven long (broken leg), David Colbert. With their centre of midfield duo out Alan Daly and Mala they had to shift the whole team around last night so as i said great result.......
If these players were so bad does'nt look good for ye that ye could'nt capitalize on it.

gerrard27
09/04/2008, 7:41 PM
Was there ya Daithi stewart was playing left full he was struggling a small bit for fitness alright he,s only back after been out for a few weeks so its understandable. The right full was Francis Kett Who in my opinion is the best right full in the division at the minute i've seen him in a number of games vey solid and is very fit, so i don't know why u say he was struggling. As i said in a previous post it was a great win for prospect who are struggling to get the same 11 each week. They have a lot of injuries at the minute players that did'nt play last night Anthony Falahee (mala), Alan Daly, Skinner McCormac, Danny Colbert, Wayne O'Donnell (broken leg),Steven long (broken leg), David Colbert. With their centre of midfield duo out Alan Daly and Mala they had to shift the whole team around last night so as i said great result.......
If these players were so bad does'nt look good for ye that ye could'nt capitalize on it.

Sure didnt daithi play against Shels last Tuesday night and i dont agree with you by saying that ye have the best right full in the league.We'll just leave it go,Match is over now.Need to look ahead to the weekens fixtures.

footymad
09/04/2008, 8:51 PM
Sure didnt daithi play against Shels last Tuesday night and i dont agree with you by saying that ye have the best right full in the league.We'll just leave it go,Match is over now.Need to look ahead to the weekens fixtures.
Ya he came on with 20 mins to go. It seems to me u dont agree with a lot of things but sure as u said look forward to weekend fixtures.

3 Heroes
09/04/2008, 8:55 PM
Think your way off the mark. Shels have constantly broken rules. We are trying to play football. Intimidation is fair up a point, but threats and bullying of referees is unacceptable. As a walked to the dressing room he was hounded to a level i have never witnessed. I still cant see their problem, there was nothing to complain about. Pike B aint far off the mark in calling for them to be relegated.

Do you not remember when we played Shelbourne B in the LPYMA and I was being strangled as the whistle went and Paddy O'Brien nearly assaulted?

abbeyvale
09/04/2008, 9:27 PM

One of our players got thumped during the game and the coward that done it kept away from our player for the rest of the game.

After the game as we walked off the pitch the same coward threw another sly dig at our same player, but this time our player caught him and as he was getting the better of him in a fair tussle, 3 other Shelbourne players jumped on our players back, and at that time we stepped in to break it up.

The LDMC just dont want to know about it.

So unless clubs put in a complaint straight after the game or unless its on the Ref's report, then the LDMC won't/can't do anything about it.

larrywhite
09/04/2008, 11:11 PM
I dont want to go into it here but I cant see the referees report from Tuesday night being in any way lenient towards the two Shelbourne officials on the sideline and one or two players. What they were saying was disgraceful and nothing to do with football at all.

It makes me a laugh how they can go to Prospect last Tuesday and you dont hear a word from anyone on the pitch or the sideline and then they come to Coonagh and think they can intimidate us and the referee. Best thing for that is match them physically, beat them at the football and let the ref handle the rest, which is what we did. :D

Pike B
10/04/2008, 9:09 AM
Do you not remember when we played Shelbourne B in the LPYMA and I was being strangled as the whistle went and Paddy O'Brien nearly assaulted?
STRANGLED??? You serious man?? Anyway lads, this isn't the Anti Shel thread so how bout a few predictions for the weekend games? Anyone fancy us in Knockainey:D

larrywhite
10/04/2008, 9:49 AM
STRANGLED??? You serious man?? Anyway lads, this isn't the Anti Shel thread so how bout a few predictions for the weekend games? Anyone fancy us in Knockainey:D

I agree. This isnt the 2006 4A thread so no point posting that here 3 Heroes. It also isnt the anti Shels thread but if a match is blown up early guys are naturally going to talk about it.

Anyway, tough one for Pike alright on Sunday. Im certainly glad we dont have to go out there again. Unfortunately I cant see ye getting anything out there with the form ye are in.

As for ourselves and Prospect, Id rather not predict in case I put a hex on us. :D

Pike B
10/04/2008, 10:19 AM
I agree. This isnt the 2006 4A thread so no point posting that here 3 Heroes. It also isnt the anti Shels thread but if a match is blown up early guys are naturally going to talk about it.

Anyway, tough one for Pike alright on Sunday. Im certainly glad we dont have to go out there again. Unfortunately I cant see ye getting anything out there with the form ye are in.

As for ourselves and Prospect, Id rather not predict in case I put a hex on us. :D
I have that down as 2-2. Would ye take that??

kingofkillteely
10/04/2008, 10:29 AM
I have that down as 2-2. Would ye take that??

No way, it's win or bust. We have no chance if we drop points against them.

Pike B
10/04/2008, 10:41 AM
No way, it's win or bust. We have no chance if we drop points against them.
If ye are full strength, and they are too, I'd go for ye by the odd goal.. 2-1. But I don't know if that is the case.. And with their form, I am sticking with 2-2...

kingofkillteely
10/04/2008, 11:05 AM
If ye are full strength, and they are too, I'd go for ye by the odd goal.. 2-1. But I don't know if that is the case.. And with their form, I am sticking with 2-2...

As i know only too well, any result is possible with Coonagh. If i was going on form i'd say a draw also.

Pike B
10/04/2008, 11:27 AM
As i know only too well, any result is possible with Coonagh. If i was going on form i'd say a draw also.
Who asked your opinion you f...er... (that evil enough for you) :D