View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34

abbeyvale
24/04/2008, 9:16 PM
The updated table should look like this after tonight's games so ...

Croom...Pl 17 / Pts 43 (Max 58)
Fairview...Pl 21 / Pts 37 (Max 40)
Prospect...Pl 18 / Pts 33 (Max 45)
Park.....Pl 18 / Pts 32 (Max 44)
Coonagh...Pl 18 / Pts 31 (Max 43)
Shels.......Pl 18 / Pts 24 (Max 36)
Knockainey...Pl 18 / Pts 24 (Max 36)
Pike B.......Pl 17 / Pts 15 (Max 30)
Holycross...Pl 16 / Pts 15 (Max 33)
Murroe.....Pl 15 / Pts 15 (Max 36)
St.Pats....Pl 16 / Pts 14 (Max 32)
Abbey.......Pl 18 / Pts 11 (Max 23)

Results
Thursday 24/04/08
Fairview 3-0 Park
Coonagh 3-0 Pike

See above updated,
Who do Fairview have in their last game?

abbeyvale
24/04/2008, 9:18 PM
If Croom beat Pike next Thursday night (01st May), not only will they be promoted, but they will be crowned Div 1B Champions as well.

Best of luck Pike B, ye'll need it, and it just goes to prove how big a game ye have against Murroe this Saturday evening, coz I can't see ye getting anything away to Croom next Thursday evening.

gerrard27
24/04/2008, 9:38 PM
See above updated,
Who do Fairview have in their last game?

Fairview have to play Holycross in their last game at Fairview.

abbeyvale
24/04/2008, 9:43 PM
Fairview have to play Holycross in their last game at Fairview.

In fairness that should be 3 pts for ye, and then the pressure is on the others to match or beat 40pts........its a close call, but I still think Prospect will do it, sorry bud........

Final Frontier
24/04/2008, 10:00 PM
In fairness that should be 3 pts for ye, and then the pressure is on the others to match or beat 40pts........its a close call, but I still think Prospect will do it, sorry bud........

those results tonight have opened it up big time..... if prospect and park draw advantage coonagh....they should get 9 points...bring them level with fairview but also have game in hand...maybe against croom???
all will depend on fixture dates...if croom have it wrapped up then they may not give a ****..hope they do tho as its great run in....

Pike B
25/04/2008, 7:35 AM
Poor result last night for us, but I can't fault the 11 players who could make it, for their effort's.
We held Coonagh at bay for 40mins before they scored. Then our tired legs cost us two goals in last quarter of the match. Coonagh were not at their best in fairness but still strong.
We lost 4 players from the cup win last week to a funeral so again, great effort the lads who were there.
And yes Abbeyvale, Saturday night is the big one. I think nothing more than 3 points will do.

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 8:15 AM
Well Lads,
Does anyone have the fixtures for:
Park
Prospect
Coonagh
:cool::cool::cool:

Pike B
25/04/2008, 8:48 AM
(5) Pike : Murroe, Croom, Shels, St. pats :Away.
Abbey :home

Points needed at Murroe, St. Pats and at home to Abbey to be safe in my opinion.

Raúl Madrid
25/04/2008, 9:02 AM
Coonagh have 4 games left ...

Along with Murroe (away), Coonagh still have away games at Abbey and Croom and a home fixture versus St Pats ...

gaiscíoch
25/04/2008, 9:47 AM
Well Lads,
Does anyone have the fixtures for:
Park
Prospect
Coonagh
:cool::cool::cool:

Parks last few games....
Home; St. Pats and Prospect
Away; Murroe and Croom
We must get 12 points from them games or it's a no go for us.

Pike B
25/04/2008, 10:15 AM
Parks last few games....
Away; Murroe and Croom
Any input on what went wrong last night then??

gaiscíoch
25/04/2008, 10:25 AM
Any input on what went wrong last night then??

Beaten fair and square. Fairview were better and hungrier than us simple as that.

Short word on the Ref, for both sides, He had a shocker to be fair more than a few dodgy frees against both teams. Letting things go when he needed to pull them back, stopping play when he should have let things go.

Pike B
25/04/2008, 10:29 AM
Beaten fair and square. Fairview were better and hungrier than us simple as that.

Short word on the Ref, for both sides, He had a shocker to be fair more than a few dodgy frees against both teams. Letting things go when he needed to pull them back, stopping play when he should have let things go.
Refs are getting a pretty bad doing on this thread lately. We had Jimmy 'The Legend ' Clancy last night!! He was gas. But did a good job. At one stage the ball went thirty yards out of play, and when nobody on the Coonagh side showed any intrest in retrieving it, Jimmy took flight!! Sprinted over and got it himself.. Not bad for a man of 59 he said to me when he got back!! Great character... :D

larrywhite
25/04/2008, 11:13 AM
Refs are getting a pretty bad doing on this thread lately. We had Jimmy 'The Legend ' Clancy last night!! He was gas. But did a good job. At one stage the ball went thirty yards out of play, and when nobody on the Coonagh side showed any intrest in retrieving it, Jimmy took flight!! Sprinted over and got it himself.. Not bad for a man of 59 he said to me when he got back!! Great character... :D

Hes mad alright. He lets on hes strict when he was telling our sideline to shut up but 2 minutes later hes back having a laugh.

Still quick over 30 yards. He will be the danger man if he plays that refs game on Sunday :D

Pike B
25/04/2008, 11:20 AM
Hes mad alright. He lets on hes strict when he was telling our sideline to shut up but 2 minutes later hes back having a laugh.

Still quick over 30 yards. He will be the danger man if he plays that refs game on Sunday :D
Ha ha ha.... I wouldn't fancy marking him.. Great bloke though. Good time for Jimmy. Hope he refs for another ten years!!

Final Frontier
25/04/2008, 11:31 AM
Ok Lads...Neck on the block time for 2nd spot....!!!

Im reckoning a playoff between Coonagh and Fairview...opinion based on fact that prospect park play each other and Croom...

Could be totally wrong but I said it from Start ....

Pike B
25/04/2008, 11:32 AM
Ok Lads...Neck on the block time for 2nd spot....!!!

Im reckoning a playoff between Coonagh and Fairview...opinion based on fact that prospect park play each other and Croom...

Could be totally wrong but I said it from Start ....
Mister fancy pants... If your so smart what are the winning lotto numbers for 2mor night:D :D

larrywhite
25/04/2008, 12:29 PM
If Croom beat Pike next Thursday night (01st May), not only will they be promoted, but they will be crowned Div 1B Champions as well.

Best of luck Pike B, ye'll need it, and it just goes to prove how big a game ye have against Murroe this Saturday evening, coz I can't see ye getting anything away to Croom next Thursday evening.

Well you cant see Pike getting anything off them so it should be theres next week.

If they lose to Park in the cup at the weekend their season is basically over if they beat Pike and with Coonagh, Park and Prospect due to play out there it will be interesting to see the teams they put out. After a long season guys might be more inclined to keep celebrating and take a break from playing before starting up again next season.

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 12:36 PM

It was an enjoyable game for the neutrals.Some great football from both teams.I think one or two of yer players lost the head after ye conceded the second goal.
Question for you????What was the REF up too when he showed one of yer players the red card.I thought if the ref showed a red card that your sent off eventhow he made a mistake.Is it not the rule???

gaiscíoch
25/04/2008, 12:46 PM
It was an enjoyable game for the neutrals.Some great football from both teams.I think one or two of yer players lost the head after ye conceded the second goal.
Question for you????What was the REF up too when he showed one of yer players the red card.I thought if the ref showed a red card that your sent off eventhow he made a mistake.Is it not the rule???

The lads were just laughing about it.... But your right he had to send him off once he took out the card.
The second goal was always going to be the most important of the night Fairview got it and that's what won the game for them.
It was a hard game very sore and soar this morning:D:D.
I hope to god if we don't make it up that Fairview do. Some of the football played last night was great to watch in comparrison to some of the teams we've played against.

larrywhite
25/04/2008, 1:05 PM
So had ye a man sent off by mistake Axe Man?

Pike B
25/04/2008, 1:20 PM
The lads were just laughing about it.... But your right he had to send him off once he took out the card.
The second goal was always going to be the most important of the night Fairview got it and that's what won the game for them.
I hope to god if we don't make it up that Fairview do. Some of the football played last night was great to watch in comparrison to some of the teams we've played against.
Not Pike in that surely :D

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 1:31 PM
Parks last few games....
Away; Murroe and Croom

Prospect could be a sticky one.Murroe and Croom could be even tougher.
All ye can is take each game as it comes to ye.

Pike B
25/04/2008, 1:41 PM
Prospect could be a sticky one.Murroe and Croom could be even tougher.
All ye can is take each game as it comes to ye.
Wisdom beyond your years!! :D

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 2:44 PM
Wisdom beyond your years!! :D

Who do you think will take the second spot???

You seem to like predicting games!!!:D:D

Jock MIB
25/04/2008, 3:09 PM

If the referee is made aware by fellow officials or he has realised he has made a mistake and if the game has not been restarted then a official is allowed to overturn as they say any decision he or she has made.

Law 2 states a referee may only change a decision on realising that it is incorrect or, at his discretion, on the advice of an (independent) assistant referee, provided that he has not restarted play or terminated the match.

Also Law 2 provides that the referee enforces the Laws of the Game and
takes disciplinary action against players guilty of cautionable and sending-off offences. He is not obliged to take this action immediately but must do so when the ball next goes out of play.

Hope this helps

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 3:16 PM
If the referee is made aware by fellow officials or he has realised he has made a mistake and if the game has not been restarted then a official is allowed to overturn as they say any decision he or she has made.

Law 2 states a referee may only change a decision on realising that it is incorrect or, at his discretion, on the advice of an (independent) assistant referee, provided that he has not restarted play or terminated the match.

Also Law 2 provides that the referee enforces the Laws of the Game and
takes disciplinary action against players guilty of cautionable and sending-off offences. He is not obliged to take this action immediately but must do so when the ball next goes out of play.

Hope this helps

Cheers for that.

I wasn't a 100% sure if the REF had to go with the card that he produced first.One thing i will say is that the REF just pulled the card out of his pocket.Do the not keep the yellow and red card in separate pockets.:confused:

Jock MIB
25/04/2008, 3:27 PM
Cheers for that.

I wasn't a 100% sure if the REF had to go with the card that he produced first.One thing i will say is that the REF just pulled the card out of his pocket.Do the not keep the yellow and red card in separate pockets.:confused:

there is no rule on that :D but i do so if you ever see me going for my back pocket BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID :D

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 3:46 PM
there is no rule on that :D but i do so if you ever see me going for my back pocket BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID :D

You'll take out a weapon is it ha ha:D
Only joking pal.

Jock MIB
25/04/2008, 4:14 PM
Here is the referee theme tune found it in another thread

http://www.youtube.com/v/Vh6V3_WLkb4&hl=en&rel=0

gerrard27
25/04/2008, 6:30 PM
Here is the referee theme tune found it in another thread

http://www.youtube.com/v/Vh6V3_WLkb4&hl=en&rel=0

Very good:D

kingofkillteely
25/04/2008, 8:39 PM

I have great time for Jimmy but he is not one who understands the offside rule. At least when he is screwing you, you know he is not doing so on purpose.

kingofkillteely
25/04/2008, 8:42 PM

Remember your visit to the Stadio Del Coonagh? ;)

Final Frontier
25/04/2008, 10:30 PM

Its comments like that (Axe Man) make the neutrals hate Park......

Credit where credit is due to teams tha beat ye in the beautiful game....There have been a few now...with more to come...!!!!

Come on Croom tomorrow night and your season is over....

kingofkillteely
26/04/2008, 9:35 AM
Its comments like that (Axe Man) make the neutrals hate Park......

Credit where credit is due to teams tha beat ye in the beautiful game....There have been a few now...with more to come...!!!!

Come on Croom tomorrow night and your season is over....

Actually hope Park win. If they do it will prove that home advantage really does count. Cup king Finnan to mastermind a shock.:cool:

gaiscíoch
28/04/2008, 9:41 AM

Why do you always seem to think I'm having a dig at Coonagh?
Yes I remember the game I've had nightmares ever since literally:eek:

kingofkillteely
28/04/2008, 10:23 AM
Why do you always seem to think I'm having a dig at Coonagh?
Yes I remember the game I've had nightmares ever since literally:eek:

I dont. Ye did well the other night. Croom were looking for war, ye did well not to respond.

gaiscíoch
28/04/2008, 10:33 AM
I dont. Ye did well the other night. Croom were looking for war, ye did well not to respond.

You know yourself it's hard not to react sometimes. All you can do really is just keep playing the game. Good result however I remember two of their playing talking on the half way line saying "I've no interest in this at all" and "We shouldn't have bothered coming". Just doesn't look good for whoever has them left to play??:ball: Now I'm sure it was the circumstances at the time and they will give their best lets hope they will anyway.....

holyx
28/04/2008, 11:08 AM
Morning boys & girls, Cross lost to Shels at weekend and Murroe lost to Pike. Anyone got updated tables?

abbeyvale
28/04/2008, 1:14 PM
Shels.......Pl 19 / Pts 27 (Max 26)
Pike B.......Pl 18 / Pts 18 (Max 30)
Holycross...Pl 17 / Pts 15 (Max 30)
Murroe.....Pl 16 / Pts 15 (Max 33)

Results
Saturday 26th April (18.30)
Holycross v Shelbourne (away win, no result yet)
Murroe v Pike (away win, no result yet)

Fixtures
Thursday 01st May (18.45)
Croom v Pike
Shelbourne v St.Pats
Murroe v Coonagh
Prospect v Knockainey

Remaining games: HOME GAMES IN CAPS (BOLD means fixture list completed)
(5) Croom : PIKE, COONAGH, murroe, park,
(1) Fairview : HOLYCROSS
(4) Prospect : KNOCKAINEY, park,
(4) Park : PROSPECT, ST.PATS, croom, murroe
(4) Coonagh : ST.PATS, murroe, abbey, croom,
(3) Shels : ST.PATS,
(4) Knockainey : prospect,
(5) Holycross : ST.PATS, fairview
(6) Murroe : COONAGH, CROOM, PARK,
(6) St Pats : shels, holycross, coonagh, park,
(4) Pike : croom,
(4) Abbey : COONAGH,

The above table is updated with wins for Pike and Shels as previously stated, will confirm this evening.

gaiscíoch
28/04/2008, 1:48 PM
Shels.......Pl 19 / Pts 27 (Max 26)
Pike B.......Pl 18 / Pts 18 (Max 30)
Holycross...Pl 17 / Pts 15 (Max 30)
Murroe.....Pl 16 / Pts 15 (Max 33)

Results
Saturday 26th April (18.30)
Holycross v Shelbourne (away win, no result yet)
Murroe v Pike (away win, no result yet)

Fixtures
Thursday 01st May (18.45)
Croom v Pike
Shelbourne v St.Pats
Murroe v Coonagh
Prospect v Knockainey

Remaining games: HOME GAMES IN CAPS (BOLD means fixture list completed)
(5) Croom : PIKE, COONAGH, murroe, park,
(1) Fairview : HOLYCROSS
(4) Prospect : KNOCKAINEY, park,
(4) Park : PROSPECT, croom, abbey, murroe
(4) Coonagh : ST.PATS, murroe, abbey, croom,
(3) Shels : ST.PATS,
(4) Knockainey : prospect,
(5) Holycross : ST.PATS, fairview
(6) Murroe : COONAGH, CROOM, PARK,
(6) St Pats : shels, holycross, coonagh,
(4) Pike : croom,
(4) Abbey : PARK, COONAGH,

The above table is updated with wins for Pike and Shels as previously stated, will confirm this evening.

I'm really sorry for correcting you Abbeyvale but our last games are
St. Pats and Prospect at home.
Murroe and Croom away.

Spudd
28/04/2008, 2:06 PM
How come prospect and park have the same amount of games played and park have 4 games left and prospect have 2 games?? :confused:

abbeyvale
28/04/2008, 2:09 PM
I'm really sorry for correcting you Abbeyvale but our last games are
St. Pats and Prospect at home.
Murroe and Croom away.

Not a bother bud, Ive updated the above now. Thanks

Jock MIB
28/04/2008, 2:11 PM
How come prospect and park have the same amount of games played and park have 4 games left and prospect have 2 games?? :confused:

i will get in here before someone makes smart comment :) the two fixtures beside prospect is what is know they have left meaning the other two fixtures are unknown so not printed but the four fixtures park have are known and are printed in bold :) both teams have four fixtures left

abbeyvale
28/04/2008, 2:19 PM

Spudd, read my post in full, and you'll see.
The fixtures in BOLD mean that the team in question have their fixture list complete,
In otherwords, if a team and their oppenants are not in bold, then there are fixtures missing.

Spudd
28/04/2008, 2:22 PM
Spudd, read my post in full, and you'll see.
The fixtures in BOLD mean that the team in question have their fixture list complete,
In otherwords, if a team and their oppenants are not in bold, then there are fixtures missing.

Apologies abbeyvale didnt read it properly.

Pike B
28/04/2008, 2:48 PM
Well well well.. we aint gone yet!! Great effort out in Murroe Saturday by our lads. Everyone gave 100 percent and we got a huge win. The Golden Nugget got the winner again and is playing like it was 1988!! Croom Thursday night for us is a tough one, but we know now if we get another win we may just be ok. Looking forward to having a crack off them, because nobody expects us to win out there, so pressure is off.

Pike B
28/04/2008, 2:51 PM
Who do you think will take the second spot???

You seem to like predicting games!!!:D:D
Honestly, I don't know. I hope Prospect get it as I know a few of them, good lads. But as Axe Man will tell you I've made several predictions on this and the form keeps changing so I don't know. I think looking at the table and fixtures left Prospect or Coonagh.

kingofkillteely
28/04/2008, 11:53 PM
Honestly, I don't know. I hope Prospect get it as I know a few of them, good lads. But as Axe Man will tell you I've made several predictions on this and the form keeps changing so I don't know. I think looking at the table and fixtures left Prospect or Coonagh.

What position were you playing against us. Very upset you didnt say hello. Even Fitzy didnt know who you were. I would guess right mid?

abbeyvale
29/04/2008, 7:06 AM
Well well well.. we aint gone yet!! Great effort out in Murroe Saturday by our lads. Everyone gave 100 percent and we got a huge win. The Golden Nugget got the winner again and is playing like it was 1988!! Croom Thursday night for us is a tough one, but we know now if we get another win we may just be ok. Looking forward to having a crack off them, because nobody expects us to win out there, so pressure is off.

Who is the golden nugget?