View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2007/08
larrywhite
29/03/2008, 7:52 PM
Are you for real Johnny Carey has to be one of the worse refs in town.
I think the sarcastic wink at the end of his statement means exactly that. :D
We had him for a game last season and there was a referees inspector at the match and I later heard from another ref that the report he received for that match was one of the worst ever read out at a referees meeting. Didnt surprise me in the slightest.
footymad
29/03/2008, 9:05 PM
I think the sarcastic wink at the end of his statement means exactly that. :D
We had him for a game last season and there was a referees inspector at the match and I later heard from another ref that the report he received for that match was one of the worst ever read out at a referees meeting. Didnt surprise me in the slightest.
Cheers did'nt realise it was a wink. I'd believe the report but why is he still reffing then. Whats the point in having these inspectors if the ldmc don't act on their reports. Maybe its because they need all the refs they can get?
footymad
29/03/2008, 9:10 PM
There is cup games tomorrow so if an away team travels and the ref deems the pitch unplayable do the home team lose home advantage anyone know ?
kingofkillteely
29/03/2008, 10:05 PM
Are you for real Johnny Carey has to be one of the worse refs in town.
I was joking. He is dangerous, no protection for players.
Jock MIB
29/03/2008, 10:23 PM
Aren't you the ref that gave a free for a back pass last weekend when the player tried to clear the ball and the wind caught it and blew it back to the goalie?
thats me and nice discription there, strecthed the truth a bit there i saw something slightly different but looking back at it, i shouldnt have given free kick. Sorry :) is there any other decisions you would like me to apologise for? :-)
larrywhite
29/03/2008, 10:41 PM
There is cup games tomorrow so if an away team travels and the ref deems the pitch unplayable do the home team lose home advantage anyone know ?
I think the home team gets two chances to play the game at their place then its switched.
Raúl Madrid
30/03/2008, 11:50 AM
Sun 30/03/08
Croom v Coonagh
Croom - Coonagh was off this morning. The ref walked the pitch and then called it off ...
kingofkillteely
30/03/2008, 12:12 PM
Sun 30/03/08
Croom v Coonagh
Croom - Coonagh was off this morning. The ref walked the pitch and then called it off ...
And rightly so, pitch in a bad way. Same old story, should of been called off yesterday.
footymad
30/03/2008, 1:39 PM
Knockainey 2 Prospect 1
Prospect led 1 nil at the break and playing well missed a couple of chances to stretch the lead in fairness knock had aswell but prospect keeper pulled off great saves.Both teams were fairly depleted had bare 11. Prospect were fairly comfortable in second half and u could'nt see knock get back into it .When they eventually did get back into it , it was a scrappy goal gifted by the ref, knock player crossed ball into the box centre forward lands on the ball and while lying on the ground palms it back to an incoming player and scores right in front of the ref dont want to be goin on about refs again but something needs to be done all they want is there money and G.Hourigan was perfect example of that he had no interest in the game whatsoever and could hardly get around the pitch. For the winning goal there must have been 3 knock lads offside and it looked as though the ref left it go cause there was only 3 mins left and he did'nt want extra time. He blew up the game then with 2 mins remaining.Nothing worse than this when players are busting there ass out there and to be screwed like that. In fairness Prospect should have put the game away before that with numerous chances missed.Best of luck to knockainey in the remainder of cup they have a good chance now few shocks heard view lost 3 nil and shels were beaten on pens.
footymad
30/03/2008, 1:43 PM
I think the home team gets two chances to play the game at their place then its switched.
Thanks.
kingofkillteely
30/03/2008, 2:17 PM
Knockainey 2 Prospect 1
Prospect led 1 nil at the break and playing well missed a couple of chances to stretch the lead in fairness knock had aswell but prospect keeper pulled off great saves.Both teams were fairly depleted had bare 11. Prospect were fairly comfortable in second half and u could'nt see knock get back into it .When they eventually did get back into it , it was a scrappy goal gifted by the ref, knock player crossed ball into the box centre forward lands on the ball and while lying on the ground palms it back to an incoming player and scores right in front of the ref dont want to be goin on about refs again but something needs to be done all they want is there money and G.Hourigan was perfect example of that he had no interest in the game whatsoever and could hardly get around the pitch. For the winning goal there must have been 3 knock lads offside and it looked as though the ref left it go cause there was only 3 mins left and he did'nt want extra time. He blew up the game then with 2 mins remaining.Nothing worse than this when players are busting there ass out there and to be screwed like that. In fairness Prospect should have put the game away before that with numerous chances missed.Best of luck to knockainey in the remainder of cup they have a good chance now few shocks heard view lost 3 nil and shels were beaten on pens.
Shock results all round then. Good job i didn't do the pools :)
3 Heroes
30/03/2008, 2:39 PM
thats me and nice discription there, strecthed the truth a bit there i saw something slightly different but looking back at it, i shouldnt have given free kick. Sorry :) is there any other decisions you would like me to apologise for? :-)
Well the one where you threatened to book me unless I took "that face off" me, I was wondering what exactly that would be - ungentlemanly conduct or dissent:D
Jock MIB
30/03/2008, 3:42 PM
Well the one where you threatened to book me unless I took "that face off" me, I was wondering what exactly that would be - ungentlemanly conduct or dissent:D
it would have came under unsporting behaviour :-), but i was glad to see you did calm down.
gaiscíoch
30/03/2008, 4:03 PM
Croom...14/34
Park...16/31
Fairview...16/25
Coonagh...15/24
Shels...13/21
Prospect...12/21
Knockainey...14/18
Pike B...13/15
Murroe...14/14
St.Pats...14/13
Holycross...14/12
Abbey...14/10
Sun 30/03/08
Croom v Coonagh (10.30)
Pike1 v 5 Park (2.30)
Tue 01/04/08 (18.30)
Prospect v Shelbourne
Pike v Abbey
St.Pats v Croom
Good win today conditions were awful.... Pike had a man sent off after a half hour. Ended the game as a contest really...
Knockmad
30/03/2008, 8:17 PM
Its not great at the moment and as others have said the forecast for tomorrow is very bad.
Does anyone know for sure if games can be called off Saturdays by the home team again or will we have to travel out to Croom on Sunday no matter what?
Knockmad seemed to suggest the rule had been changed back to what it was but does anyone know for sure?
ya guys as far as i know (99%) the home eam can call off the game but of cource you dont want to be doing that for a cup game as you will loose home advantage for the reply.....
Knockmad
30/03/2008, 8:20 PM
yes thats correct......
Knockmad
30/03/2008, 8:33 PM
Knockainey 2 Prospect 1
There was a great fair game played this morning lads in Knockainey. Prospect took the lead against the run of play. The prospect keeper was very good he saved some point blank shots from the knockainey lads. Ye missed some chances we missed some chances but of course we will take the result. The game was played at a great tempo and friendly professional manner. It was a pleasure to see every player and officials shake hands at the end of the match. what is the story lads trying to get players to come to games and training.........the managers are busting their buts twice a ween saturday to line the pitch and then the game on sunday but the players dont seen to give a ****.....it seems to be the case in all clubs am i correct?????????? Dan Hourigan for fifa ref of the year..... best of luck to Prospect in the promotion stakes.........
Final Frontier
30/03/2008, 9:00 PM
Am I correct in saying that Park play Croom....?
With the shock results today and some clubs getting byes the teams left are:
Murroe,Abbey, StPats, Holycross, Knockainey, Coonagh Pike
What are the fixtures...Think Murroe now play Coonagh....big shock them beating Fairview
Anyone could get to the final....on form though you would have to say favourites would be winners of Park Croom , Coonagh and Knockainey....interseting..home advantage might be crucial.
footymad
30/03/2008, 9:11 PM
There was a great fair game played this morning lads in Knockainey. Prospect took the lead against the run of play. The prospect keeper was very good he saved some point blank shots from the knockainey lads. Ye missed some chances we missed some chances but of course we will take the result. The game was played at a great tempo and friendly professional manner. It was a pleasure to see every player and officials shake hands at the end of the match. what is the story lads trying to get players to come to games and training.........the managers are busting their buts twice a ween saturday to line the pitch and then the game on sunday but the players dont seen to give a ****.....it seems to be the case in all clubs am i correct?????????? Dan Hourigan for fifa ref of the year..... best of luck to Prospect in the promotion stakes.........
Fair assesment.Would have to agree with u there played in a professional manner alright credit to both teams. Pity the ref did'nt show the same professionalism but thats another story...Your right about the players dont seem to give a #### Prospect were the same last week were struggling for players aswell they'd want to get their act together or kiss promotion good bye.
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 7:30 AM
Croom...14/34
Park...16/31
Fairview...16/25
Coonagh...15/24
Shels...13/21
Prospect...12/21
Knockainey...14/18
Pike B...14/15
Murroe...14/14
St.Pats...14/13
Holycross...14/12
Abbey...14/10
Sun 30/03/08
Croom OFF Coonagh
Pike 1-5 Park
Tue 01/04/08 (18.30)
Prospect v Shelbourne
Pike v Abbey
St.Pats v Croom
Andyryan24
31/03/2008, 11:06 AM
Am I correct in saying that Park play Croom....?
With the shock results today and some clubs getting byes the teams left are:
Murroe,Abbey, StPats, Holycross, Knockainey, Coonagh Pike
What are the fixtures...Think Murroe now play Coonagh....big shock them beating Fairview
Anyone could get to the final....on form though you would have to say favourites would be winners of Park Croom , Coonagh and Knockainey....interseting..home advantage might be crucial.
does any one have the next round off this cup
Knockmad
31/03/2008, 11:20 AM
does any one have the next round off this cup
I know Knockainey have Murroe next and Knockainey are at home
kingofkillteely
31/03/2008, 11:31 AM
I know Knockainey have Murroe next and Knockainey are at home
I don't think so. Im sure it's Coonagh v Murroe.
ParkLife
31/03/2008, 1:39 PM
PikeB..I just think that if we get about them early, mix it up and try and break up their game, we can unsettle them and get a result. We managed it for 40 minutes out there early in the season, but a shocker by our stand in keeper let them go one up. After that we had to try and force it and they pulled away. But we can take hope from our performance against Prospect. I'd take a point from the Park game, but we will try to get all 3.
Anyone seen PikeB lately ;-)
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 2:14 PM
Hes at home, with no access to a computer.
He starts work at 4pm and it will be interesting to hear what he has to say for himself.
riverside
31/03/2008, 2:41 PM
He starts work at 4pm and it will be interesting to hear what he has to say for himself.
To be fair they got off to a bad start concedeing a penalty, which was saved but had to be retaken because one of their players stepped into the box. The next two goals were good ones and then another penalty which saw one of their players sent off. The second half started with an early goal for us and they got one back, but it was blown up early because of the conditions,still a good win for us though.
Pike B
31/03/2008, 3:05 PM
No excuses or complaints from me lads. 1-5 was a fair reflection. We are well and truly in the s#$t now..
Knockmad
31/03/2008, 3:09 PM
I don't think so. Im sure it's Coonagh v Murroe.
ohhhhhhhhhhh i thought i was correct .....where can we find this one out for sure?
Knockmad
31/03/2008, 3:10 PM
ohhhhhhhhhhh i thought i was correct .....where can we find this one out for sure?
Are the next rounds in todays paper? anyone ?
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:05 PM
I'll keep you to that :)
You had a lot to do in a one sided game, but I didn't disagree with any of your decisions. Our groundsmen aren't too happy with you though! ;)
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:05 PM
your uncle will be well impressed
Whatever do you mean my good man?? ;)
larrywhite
31/03/2008, 4:07 PM
We knew we were home to winners of Murroe v Fairview since draw first came out.
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:11 PM
Good win today conditions were awful.... Pike had a man sent off after a half hour. Ended the game as a contest really...
I was impressed with how ye played good football, on what after 20 mins was a bog. We didn't help ourselves with our defending but ye showed real class cutting us open. Continue playing like that and I reckon ye will go up. Even though I backed Shels and Croom a few weeks ago. Yesterday changed my view.
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:15 PM
I'm still here pal!! Ya was very disheartened with us yesterday but take nothing away from ye at all. Horrible day, for us not just weather wise!! We really are in the relegation fight now. Two huge home games left. Holycross and Abbey. Going to be tough for us.
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:16 PM
Would you like to give them my home phone number and measurements aswell??? Privacy please!!!! ;)
ParkLife
31/03/2008, 4:47 PM
Yeah the pitch was in a right state by the end..unplayable for a few weeks I'd say. Defence really let ye down..ye have some handy players in the middle of the park.. I think it was number 10 that really stood out.
Pike B
31/03/2008, 4:49 PM
Yeah the pitch was in a right state by the end..unplayable for a few weeks I'd say. Defence really let ye down..ye have some handy players in the middle of the park.. I think it was number 10 that really stood out.
Our little Kosovan? Arthur. Lovely footballer. Great first touch, and for a small lad incredibly hard to knock off the ball. He's one of our best for sure. We need serious work all round if we are to stay up though.
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 6:51 PM
Would you like to give them my home phone number and measurements aswell??? Privacy please!!!! ;)
most of them know who you are already, you kinda gave it away yourself, and unless they're a bit slow, they already know, bud
Pike B
31/03/2008, 6:52 PM
most of them know who you are already, you kinda gave it away yourself, and unless they're a bit slow, they already know, bud
I aint got nothing to hide anyway, but just for the few who don't know, humour me partner!! ;)
abbeyvale
31/03/2008, 6:56 PM
I aint got nothing to hide anyway, but just for the few who don't know, humour me partner!! ;)
go back to work:mad:
Pike B
31/03/2008, 6:57 PM
go back to work:mad:
Ha ha ha.... On my way!!!!! ;)
gaiscíoch
31/03/2008, 7:02 PM
I was impressed with how ye played good football, on what after 20 mins was a bog. We didn't help ourselves with our defending but ye showed real class cutting us open. Continue playing like that and I reckon ye will go up. Even though I backed Shels and Croom a few weeks ago. Yesterday changed my view.
I hope we get up god knows we need it.... For the record there are worse teams than Pike B in the division..... The important thing for us is putting the Coonagh result behind us.... Some of the critism was way over the top in particular the critism of the manager. All the players have taken full responsibilty and turned the results around. The response since then has been excellent from all the players I just hope we can keep it going....
Quick question where were you palying?????:ball::p
Pike B
31/03/2008, 8:01 PM
I hope we get up god knows we need it.... For the record there are worse teams than Pike B in the division..... The important thing for us is putting the Coonagh result behind us.... Some of the critism was way over the top in particular the critism of the manager. All the players have taken full responsibilty and turned the results around. The response since then has been excellent from all the players I just hope we can keep it going....
Quick question where were you palying?????:ball::p
Midfield..
abbeyvale
01/04/2008, 7:36 AM
Midfield..
jesus, ye must be badly stuck for players;)
kingofkillteely
01/04/2008, 3:48 PM
What are the fixtures for the coming week?
kingofkillteely
01/04/2008, 3:52 PM
I dont know who you are. At training last week we agreed that you were too nice for your own good. So can we get some evil in your posts please:cool:
hoops12
01/04/2008, 4:30 PM
I dont know who you are. At training last week we agreed that you were too nice for your own good. So can we get some evil in your posts please:cool:
oh he can do evil,surprised abbeyvale is letting at computer for so long,must be quiet up there
gerrard27
01/04/2008, 7:38 PM
Prospect beat Shelbourne 4-1.Shelbourne had all the play.Got caught on the counter attack.
Pike B
01/04/2008, 7:40 PM
Hey hold it there bud. Nobody said this thread had to be hostile. I give an honest opinion from a Pike B perspective and that's it. No bull, no biased, just my opinions. If you want to argue with someone then that's your perogative. I'm not going to pick fights to please you. I talk football that's it.. You are welcome to give your opinion, as hostile as you want to. But if you need an arguement to enjoy football, your in the wrong game. Try boxing... ;)
Pike B
01/04/2008, 7:43 PM
jesus, ye must be badly stuck for players;)
We are badly stuck for players. But I aint one of them bud.. Mr. Versatility me ;) All for the cause...