View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2007/08
Pike B
26/03/2008, 5:29 PM
With my yellow boots anything can happen:) We will give it everything, thats for sure.
Yellow boots... There's a guy with us has orange, another bright red.. Another white.. Whatever happened to good old black boots.. I'm gettin old....
hoops12
26/03/2008, 5:32 PM
Yellow boots... There's a guy with us has orange, another bright red.. Another white.. Whatever happened to good old black boots.. I'm gettin old....
thats what married life does to you
abbeyvale
26/03/2008, 5:33 PM
Ah but once again you forget... I have great bosses... ;) ;) Understanding, football loving handsome bosses....
Ha ha, did you have a change in one boss lately? I agree the other one is a handsome chap though;)
Pike B
26/03/2008, 5:35 PM
thats what married life does to you
:) :) Maybe maybe...
Pike B
26/03/2008, 5:36 PM
Ha ha, did you have a change in one boss lately? I agree the other one is a handsome chap though;)
As long as I get 2 hours off Tuesday, all my bosses are beautiful ;) :)
abbeyvale
26/03/2008, 6:01 PM
As long as I get 2 hours off Tuesday, all my bosses are beautiful ;) :)
we'll see:p
gerrard27
26/03/2008, 6:09 PM
All it takes is for the ref to travel to the home ground for 0945 and then make contact with the away club, before they start their journey. (would that work??)
That's exactly what i was saying.I think its the only solution to be honest
Knockmad
26/03/2008, 7:49 PM
All it takes is for the ref to travel to the home ground for 0945 and then make contact with the away club, before they start their journey. (would that work??)
Again i agree the ref was in Knockainey at 9.10 to be fair but when i suggested he contact Shels he said we could not as if they did not turn up we could have requested the match card and got the points......what a load of bull.......i went to the field for 9am and i knew then the field was unplayable.....but they have now changed the rule again so its up to the home team again......
Final Frontier
26/03/2008, 9:33 PM
I really find it hard to see how Coonagh can get a point out in Croom. It's a very tough place to get any kind of result. I remember a few seasons ago we went 3nil up out there and thought 'what's all the fuss about Croom.' Final score in that game??? 3-3.. They seem to just wear teams down out there. Has anyone taken points off them out there this season???
Are you mad Pike B.......? Why would Coonagh not be able to get a point out there...They seem to be playing well and will not fear Croom and will probably have a plan for the goal machine "Pip"....If it comes down to a battle Coonagh should be able for them and may nick it with superior football....
Im looking forward to the Cup tho...good games and anyone can win it even my old team...
Love these threads ..great for the old footballers like myself to go watch games and see how peoples opinionss differ...:p
footymad
26/03/2008, 9:37 PM
From what i heard they were missing a few A players last sunday.Would i be right by saying they had the bare 11
Ya they were missing a few as stated in my previous post and they had the bare 11. Thats why i said it was a good win for them.
abbeyvale
26/03/2008, 10:19 PM
Sun 30/03/08
Croom 1 Coonagh
Pike 2 Park
Tue 01/04/08
Prospect 1 Shelbourne
Pike 1 Abbey
St.Pats X Croom
Pike B
27/03/2008, 7:12 AM
Are you mad Pike B.......? Why would Coonagh not be able to get a point out there...They seem to be playing well and will not fear Croom and will probably have a plan for the goal machine "Pip"....If it comes down to a battle Coonagh should be able for them and may nick it with superior football....
Im looking forward to the Cup tho...good games and anyone can win it even my old team...
Love these threads ..great for the old footballers like myself to go watch games and see how peoples opinionss differ...:p
We'll see old timer. I reckon Coonagh will make a game of it, but go down by the odd goal.
Pike B
27/03/2008, 9:12 AM
Ya they were missing a few as stated in my previous post and they had the bare 11. Thats why i said it was a good win for them.
Who were they missing?
Jock MIB
27/03/2008, 9:22 AM
Seems we cannot win with this debate, we get grief when we call games off and sometimes get grief when we let them go ahead.
Process is we are told to be at the pitch on Sunday morning to inspected pitch for dimensions , condition and safety of equipment.
If we find all to be satisfactory we allow match to go ahead , if not we dont.
What else can we do???? we have life as well why should i leave earlier, rather than spendin some time with my family, to satisfy teams?
i respect the situation is difficult but it is also difficult on our side as well.
It goes both ways LADS
Pike B
27/03/2008, 9:24 AM
Seems we cannot win with this debate, we get grief when we call games off and sometimes get grief when we let them go ahead.
Process is we are told to be at the pitch on Sunday morning to inspected pitch for dimensions , condition and safety of equipment.
What else can we do???? we have life as well why should i leave earlier, rather than spendin some time with my family, to satisfy teams?
i respect the situation is difficult but it is also difficult on our side as well.
It goes both ways LADS
I agree. Refs are actually human lads. It's the Ldmc that are the problem.
gaiscíoch
27/03/2008, 10:14 AM
It goes both ways LADS
Your damn right on this as a whole but I can't agree with all the arguements. I have never seen any Ref checking the dimensions of the pitches. Don't know how that is for other lads.
Calling off all the matches is the only way to go that way the Refs are not responsible and the clubs are not responsible. Do you think that might work? It works in Clare...
Jock MIB
27/03/2008, 10:23 AM
Your damn right on this as a whole but I can't agree with all the arguements. I have never seen any Ref checking the dimensions of the pitches. Don't know how that is for other lads.
Calling off all the matches is the only way to go that way the Refs are not responsible and the clubs are not responsible. Do you think that might work? It works in Clare...
Not for me to comment on, thats for the LDMC to dicuss, with the referee's checking dimensions. look closer when you see them pacing between the goals there are checking the width of them and also the height by strecthing up hand, also when they are walking from one end of pitch to other to inspect they are also pacing out dimension:).
ps take a look at this weekend match i can be positive that the ref will do that
Pike B
27/03/2008, 10:26 AM
That wouldn't work. Pike Fairview and a few other pitches can often be playable even after the worst weather. Where as other pitches wouldn't be. So you would be calling games off that could go ahead.. I don't know the answer, but maybe the ldmc should think of a solution. Isn't that their purpose??? Anyway, back to 1b lads, are Park at full strength for Sunday?
gaiscíoch
27/03/2008, 12:58 PM
That wouldn't work. Pike Fairview and a few other pitches can often be playable even after the worst weather. Where as other pitches wouldn't be. So you would be calling games off that could go ahead.. I don't know the answer, but maybe the ldmc should think of a solution. Isn't that their purpose??? Anyway, back to 1b lads, are Park at full strength for Sunday?
Our pitch is playable nearly all the time too. But I think everyone would benefit from such a desicion in that no-one would go games ahead and you find out the day before.;);)
I think we will be at full strength which is great. We seem to get results when we have the full compliment.
Looking forward to the game Sunday.... I think it will be enjoyable and it's another must win game. "Every game is cup final" from here on in. We need to stay on track.
How bout Pike? Will your players stay honest Saturday night?
Pike B
27/03/2008, 1:35 PM
Our pitch is playable nearly all the time too. But I think everyone would benefit from such a desicion in that no-one would go games ahead and you find out the day before.;);)
I think we will be at full strength which is great. We seem to get results when we have the full compliment.
Looking forward to the game Sunday.... I think it will be enjoyable and it's another must win game. "Every game is cup final" from here on in. We need to stay on track.
How bout Pike? Will your players stay honest Saturday night?
Our boys will be honest on Saturday night alright ;). In terms of full team, we should be near full strength for first time in awhile, so considering we beat View and gave Prospect a game with 80% of full team, I would look forward to Sunday with optimism..
kingofkillteely
27/03/2008, 4:10 PM
Paddy Walsh...... He checks everything.
Pike B
27/03/2008, 4:12 PM
Paddy Walsh...... He checks everything.
As does Trevor Hoare. Top ref..
abbeyvale
27/03/2008, 4:43 PM
As does Trevor Hoare. Top ref..
you would say that! ;)
Pike B
27/03/2008, 5:22 PM
you would say that! ;)
Of course. He's a top ref. Nothing but respect for the man. ;)
abbeyvale
27/03/2008, 5:27 PM
Of course. He's a top ref. Nothing but respect for the man. ;)
i wonder why you have respect for him??;)
Pike B
27/03/2008, 5:28 PM
i wonder why you have respect for him??;)
The way he carries himself during games.. Rarely makes mistakes and is firm but fair.. Why else?? ;) ;)
abbeyvale
27/03/2008, 6:43 PM
The way he carries himself during games.. Rarely makes mistakes and is firm but fair.. Why else?? ;) ;)
please, give me a break!!:rolleyes:
gerrard27
27/03/2008, 8:42 PM
please, give me a break!!:rolleyes:
I have to agree with PIKE B there.Personally i think he's one of the best referee's in 1B.
abbeyvale
27/03/2008, 9:12 PM
I have to agree with PIKE B there.Personally i think he's one of the best referee's in 1B.
I dont disagree at all, its just the way Pike B is posting, he really is kissing ar*e,
You'd swaer they were related or something!!!!
hoops12
27/03/2008, 10:26 PM
I dont disagree at all, its just the way Pike B is posting, he really is kissing ar*e,
You'd swaer they were related or something!!!!
hmm hmm i wonder
summervilleman
27/03/2008, 11:03 PM
Yeah he is a pretty good referee now in all fairness and there are far worst them him out there but he is somewhat arrogant on the field...If he does make a wrong decision and he probably knows he made the wrong decision he won't leave u even argue your case and he'll book u...I think there is no harm in a ref saying(i got it wrong there)...We are all human after all!!!
Goals4fun
28/03/2008, 7:16 AM
Yeah he is a pretty good referee now in all fairness and there are far worst them him out there but he is somewhat arrogant on the field...If he does make a wrong decision and he probably knows he made the wrong decision he won't leave u even argue your case and he'll book u...I think there is no harm in a ref saying(i got it wrong there)...We are all human after all!!!
there is no point inarguing , they wil never change their mind as otherwise all players would be trying to change every decision.
Trevor is a good ref and one of the best in town. You can actually talk to him on the pitch.
Pike B
28/03/2008, 7:42 AM
I rest my case Abbeyvale.. ;) ;)
Pike B
28/03/2008, 7:44 AM
I think you need a touch of arrogance as a ref. With all the abuse they get you need to be somewhat thick skinned. Just look at refs in the English Premiership. Now that's arrogance!!!
Anyway more to the point, back to 1B. Weather is looking OK so far, I fancy the pitches to be just right Sunday, make for good fast football.
gerrard27
28/03/2008, 8:33 AM
there is no point inarguing , they wil never change their mind as otherwise all players would be trying to change every decision.
Trevor is a good ref and one of the best in town. You can actually talk to him on the pitch.
That's correct.Wasting your time arguing with the ref.Your team can suffer over this.Sure look what happened MACHERANO for asking a simple question.I know it was the premiership but it happens in 1B football as well.
gerrard27
28/03/2008, 8:35 AM
I think you need a touch of arrogance as a ref. With all the abuse they get you need to be somewhat thick skinned. Just look at refs in the English Premiership. Now that's arrogance!!!
Anyway more to the point, back to 1B. Weather is looking OK so far, I fancy the pitches to be just right Sunday, make for good fast football.
Just got the weather fore cast for the weekend.Tomorrow is meant to be very bad.Sunday not as bad but Saturday's rain could F**K everything up.
Pike B
28/03/2008, 10:24 AM
Just got the weather fore cast for the weekend.Tomorrow is meant to be very bad.Sunday not as bad but Saturday's rain could F**K everything up.
Balls....
larrywhite
28/03/2008, 12:00 PM
Its not great at the moment and as others have said the forecast for tomorrow is very bad.
Does anyone know for sure if games can be called off Saturdays by the home team again or will we have to travel out to Croom on Sunday no matter what?
Knockmad seemed to suggest the rule had been changed back to what it was but does anyone know for sure?
KevB76
28/03/2008, 12:24 PM
Its not surprising refs become arrogant, when a young ref possesses the goodwill to say to a manager "I'm apologise if I got it wrong but i thought it was onside" then it ends up on a public internet forum as "I got it wrong for the second goal". Not quite the same thing and he was none too impressed with the misinterpretation, thats bad form PikeB :(
Pike B
28/03/2008, 12:34 PM
Its not surprising refs become arrogant, when a young ref possesses the goodwill to say to a manager "I'm apologise if I got it wrong but i thought it was onside" then it ends up on a public internet forum as "I got it wrong for the second goal". Not quite the same thing and he was none too impressed with the misinterpretation, thats bad form PikeB :(
OK ref. I apologise for putting it wrong. I guess we players hear what we want to hear sometimes!! Peace.. :) :)
gerrard27
28/03/2008, 12:50 PM
OK ref. I apologise for putting it wrong. I guess we players hear what we want to hear sometimes!! Peace.. :) :)
Fair enough if he said he got it wrong but this is happening alot of times in games when the ref can be the cause of a team not winning.For example Fairview played Croom earlier on in the season at Croom and one of the Croom players handled the ball on his line right in front of the ref and he didn't want to know about.I think myself he let it go because of the game been on at Croom's pitch.
KevB76
28/03/2008, 12:52 PM
Thanks bud, sound :)
Pike B
28/03/2008, 2:24 PM
Fair enough if he said he got it wrong but this is happening alot of times in games when the ref can be the cause of a team not winning.For example Fairview played Croom earlier on in the season at Croom and one of the Croom players handled the ball on his line right in front of the ref and he didn't want to know about.I think myself he let it go because of the game been on at Croom's pitch.
The old Istanbul syndrome. ;) Ya it can happen, again ref's are human, and human's can get worried about their safety... But my last word before weekend is simply, give your ref a break!!! :) :)
kingofkillteely
28/03/2008, 4:00 PM
I wouldn't blame him. In a hostile atmosphere like Galatasary you need a strong ref. Thankfully the LDMC got it correct by appointing J Carey for Sunday against Coonagh. Hope your logged in Mr.Carey. I think your excellent....;)
Jock MIB
28/03/2008, 6:28 PM
The old Istanbul syndrome. Ya it can happen, again ref's are human, and human's can get worried about their safety... But my last word before weekend is simply, give your ref a break!!! :)
I'll keep you to that :)
3 Heroes
28/03/2008, 9:48 PM
Is the St Pats pitch seriously legal? I mean you're practically taking a penalty on the half way line the pitch is that small
hoops12
29/03/2008, 12:11 AM
The old Istanbul syndrome. ;) Ya it can happen, again ref's are human, and human's can get worried about their safety... But my last word before weekend is simply, give your ref a break!!! :) :)
your uncle will be well impressed
footymad
29/03/2008, 2:26 PM
I wouldn't blame him. In a hostile atmosphere like Galatasary you need a strong ref. Thankfully the LDMC got it correct by appointing J Carey for Sunday against Coonagh. Hope your logged in Mr.Carey. I think your excellent....;)
Are you for real Johnny Carey has to be one of the worse refs in town.
Jock MIB
29/03/2008, 5:57 PM
Is the St Pats pitch seriously legal? I mean you're practically taking a penalty on the half way line the pitch is that small
Pace it and tell me if its less than 90 metres (99-100yards) and if it is you have answered your own question :)
3 Heroes
29/03/2008, 6:14 PM
Pace it and tell me if its less than 90 metres (99-100yards) and if it is you have answered your own question :)
Aren't you the ref that gave a free for a back pass last weekend when the player tried to clear the ball and the wind caught it and blew it back to the goalie?