View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11

casso36
27/08/2007, 12:27 PM
I enjoyed the game but Kerry can rough it up with the best of em. They have the experience and bench to win close games. The Dubs played well but those first 10 minutes in the 2nd half cost em.

Every Dublin fan knew how rough Kerry would be. Why didn't the dublin team and management? There whole game was based on f****** with dublin players head's and getting them to give away free kicks, bookings, etc and it worked for them.

Dublin get a free and you have the likes of Jayo and co, jumping into the tacklers face and slagging, whats that all about, they needed to keep the cool and play the ball.

Beavis
27/08/2007, 12:54 PM
Terribly disappointing as a Dublin fan. It though we would definitely do it with a few minutes left at 1 down and having the momentum. Cluxtons mistake was crucial, if he had found a Dublin player at that time I think we would have gone up and scored and probably won it.

Starting to doubt whether this current crop are capable of an All-Ireland win.

27/08/2007, 1:05 PM
LOL at this

http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_scope=Tribune/Sport/GAA&id=76084&SUBCAT=Tribune/Sport

That's unbelievably funny.
I was convinced it was a blog until i checked again.

27/08/2007, 2:02 PM
Terribly disappointing as a Dublin fan. It though we would definitely do it with a few minutes left at 1 down and having the momentum. Cluxtons mistake was crucial, if he had found a Dublin player at that time I think we would have gone up and scored and probably won it.

Starting to doubt whether this current crop are capable of an All-Ireland win.Deluded.

When the Dubs similarly went 7 in front against Derry (as Kerry did yesterday) before shipping late points that was presumably Dublin easing up whereas in this case Dublin threw it away?!

Roadend
27/08/2007, 3:30 PM
Every Dublin fan knew how rough Kerry would be. Why didn't the dublin team and management? There whole game was based on f****** with dublin players head's and getting them to give away free kicks, bookings, etc and it worked for them.

I take it you're joking? Dublin started woth the rough house tactics. Kerry stood up to them.

27/08/2007, 3:32 PM
I think he is serious.

If Gaelic was a sport played with minimal physical contact Kerry would have had another 20 Sams

Soko
27/08/2007, 3:52 PM
Hardly shocking and it's not the bookies' fault. Odds reflect the money being placed on the contenders, Dublin are always poor value because so much is placed on them by punters who are easily parted from their cash.

Thats true to an extent and much more relevant in the odds before the game. This was at HT, a price that will stand for 10 minutes and only subject to people who actually have PP accounts, are near a phone/computer and willing to get up and make a bet. Millions of Dublin punters were hardy salivating at HT gagging to get a bet on. Dublin would have been a bigger liabilty and they wanted Kerry money, but still. 11/8 was too big. The game dictates the largest portion of the price and it was a bad effort as Kerry clearly looked like they had extra gears. I'm not complaining, I hope they continue doing it

Any comment on your buddy Mark Vaughan? He looked lost yesterday, poor little boy

Marked Man
27/08/2007, 5:25 PM
I take it you're joking? Dublin started woth the rough house tactics. Kerry stood up to them.

It was Kerry started that, once Dublin started to come into the game after the first few minutes of Kerry dominance.

Don't like to get into discussions about the ref, but I can't see where people are getting the idea that the ref favored Dublin (though you do hear this after every Dublin game...). Two incidents spring to mind: Galvin (I think it was) putting the head on Casey, but staying on the pitch, and Ryan being called back for a free when he was bearing down on goal. Surely if the ref was favoring Dublin, those calls would have been different?

Anyway, congrats once again to Kerry.

Soko
27/08/2007, 5:54 PM
Dublin got more decisons than Kerry, I have no doubts about that

Both teams were as bad as each other, even though it was hardy a war. I'd have to have seen the ref act on the Dublin goading though, that needs to be stamped out for next years championship

27/08/2007, 6:50 PM
two great games, in the minor that wing back scored 2 -2 in the leinster final kingston scored something similar, laois backs very poor, but i see them wining the all-ireland, and if they beat the ros then obviouslly they are going to :D

dublin match was like the monaghan one, kerry always did enough to stay ahead. However I do reckon if cluck-ton had not being messing the momentum was with dublin to get another score at that vital time.

27/08/2007, 7:57 PM
LOL at this

http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_scope=Tribune/Sport/GAA&id=76084&SUBCAT=Tribune/Sport

that has to be a joke? Or one deluded Dub!!!

Marked Man
27/08/2007, 11:59 PM
I'd have to have seen the ref act on the Dublin goading though, that needs to be stamped out for next years championship

Didn't notice much in the way of goading yesterday. I mean, there was plenty of mouthing from both teams, but shouting at a player (a la Cluxton to Gooch, for example) isn't goading.

Clifford
28/08/2007, 12:35 AM
It was Kerry started that, once Dublin started to come into the game after the first few minutes of Kerry dominance.

Don't like to get into discussions about the ref, but I can't see where people are getting the idea that the ref favored Dublin (though you do hear this after every Dublin game...). Two incidents spring to mind: Galvin (I think it was) putting the head on Casey, but staying on the pitch, and Ryan being called back for a free when he was bearing down on goal. Surely if the ref was favoring Dublin, those calls would have been different?

Anyway, congrats once again to Kerry.

Jayo smacking a player in the chin while on a yellow is the one I found funny yet hard to comprehend why he stayed on the park. I watched it happy to play either side in the final, but couldn't believe how hard the ref tried to let the Dubs win it.

Had not seen a full Dubs game this summer and now realise what all the fuss is about. Talk about in your face, the barrage of abuse to Declan O Sullivan when he missed a sitter early on really must be an example of he who laughs last laughs longest. He was smiling all the way to the bank when racking up his 1-3. Surely these guy's will see it wins no battles to be so in your face. It only winds opponants up. The Brogan at 11 looks good, but had a shocking attitude, get on with your own game sunshine.

Roadend
28/08/2007, 8:41 AM
Marked man, you'll need to remove the blue tinted specatacles and watch that match again. The Dubs were mouthing off and goading Kerry players from the get go.

Docboy
28/08/2007, 10:37 AM
Kerry only won by 2 points but they were a much better team thought the Ref give the Dubs everything that was possible.

The ref happened to let quite a lot of Kerry fouling flow so I wouldn't agree with that. More experienced side won on the day.

28/08/2007, 10:48 AM
It seems to be inbred in to most Dubs that they think that they're actually intimidating, and **** of the walk.

The two biggest culprits in all of this on Sunday were a flaky free-taker with peroxide hair and a past-it, has been wannabe soccer player (he did play with UCD and Rovers you know).

When are they ever going to learn that teams like Kerry simply do not get ruffled, or intimidated? Dublin GAA will always be the same. Superbly supported with an overwhelming expectation amongst the masses who are ultimately going to go home crying.

28/08/2007, 11:45 AM
When are they ever going to learn that teams like Kerry simply do not get ruffled, or intimidated? Dublin GAA will always be the same. Superbly supported with an overwhelming expectation amongst the masses who are ultimately going to go home crying.

LOL, just like the English. I actually wanted them to win though to be honest, but the dubs always put themselves up for the fall and then they wonder why their is anti-dub sentiment amongst the "culchies". To be honest I think they love the us V them thing.

28/08/2007, 12:03 PM
There is no amount of a physical game that could ruffle Kerry. Their hard men are carved, not manufactured posturers.
I think the Dubs did ruffle Kerry a bit in the first half with their goading. Got a player booked for reacting. Kerry for the rest of the first half started to protest to the ref about decisions while the Dubs got on with the quick free kick.
In the second half, A. Brogan and Ryan were single minded and inspirational but the Dubs have not enough of players with that mettle. At present they still look like a team in the top 4 but not good enough to be nr.1.
Kerry were emphatically superior in the second half and won pulling away.

28/08/2007, 12:06 PM
Can we move on to a 'real' GAA matter now....like Limericks first Liam McCarthy Cup victory since 1973 which is imminent.:D

C'mon Limerick...............

28/08/2007, 12:12 PM
it would be good to see limerick win alright. but it wont happen i dont think.

woody27
28/08/2007, 12:30 PM
ya id say the cats to win by 6 or 8 points at least. limerick are lucky to be there it was unfair on waterford to meet both cork and limerick twice. Every team has an off day and pulls through but waterford could not afford one this time round with having to play teams twice. But the best of luck to them but i think it will be a sad journey home.

28/08/2007, 2:47 PM
some good pics here of croker:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2007/0820/crokepark.html

Marked Man
28/08/2007, 4:39 PM
Bernard Brogan had the ******** sign flashed at him by a Kerry back after he missed an easy first half point attempt. Doubt it bothered him, it didn't bother me, but I would have thought it would have bothered the "goading" police posters. I guess not...

booster 03
28/08/2007, 5:15 PM
ya id say the cats to win by 6 or 8 points at least. limerick are lucky to be there it was unfair on waterford to meet both cork and limerick twice. Every team has an off day and pulls through but waterford could not afford one this time round with having to play teams twice. But the best of luck to them but i think it will be a sad journey home.

like waterfords one a few weeks ago is it??? stop cribbin about losin to us, we gave ye enough credit for beating us in the munster final!

28/08/2007, 5:51 PM
Bernard Brogan had the ******** sign

What's the ******** sign :confused:

Docboy
28/08/2007, 6:13 PM
Have to laugh at a lot of the comments from the non-Dubs on here. Does anyone seriously think that Jayo, all 5 ft 5 inches of him, goes out of his way to intimidate & goad players. What happens year on year is that the opposition hard men show how tough they are by targeting him. Sure a bit of goading goes on but it only seems to be remarked upon if it's "one of the jackeens". Get over yourselves.

Brogan and others allowed these tactics to upset them which they really should be able to see for what they are & avoid. Oh well, maybe next year. And of course there'll be no intimidation or rough-house tactics in the final now will there?

kingdom hoop
28/08/2007, 7:32 PM
Have to laugh at a lot of the comments from the non-Dubs on here.

Have to laugh at a lot of the Dubs comments on here!! Check out second 11 of this video(http://youtube.com/watch?v=MWZ0erH4a-E) to realise how butter-wouldn't-melt-in-his-mouth-Sherlock felt the brunt of Kerry's hard men!

Every Dublin fan knew how rough Kerry would be. Why didn't the dublin team and management?

I would suggest that this is because Dublin management know more about the Kerry team's habits than the supporters do!:p

On the ref, I can safely say that he is pathetic. He's reffed many a Kerry game, is always bad, and usually goes against us. Yet again on Sunday he was very poor, and again was that bit worse for Kerry, especially in the first half. Sitting in a pretty mixed part of the Cusack Stand, it was blatantly apparent that the Kerry crowd were more vociferous than Dublin, many Dubs around me agreeing that John 'Bad One' Bannon gave them some very soft frees. There only, from my vantage point, seemed to be one time(Shane Ryan) where Dublin were hard down by. (then again, I'm not sure the advantage rule is written into GAA rules, its probably down to the common sense of the referee, so it can't come as a surprise there was no advantage played!!)

However, as far as I'm concerned, I was delighted with the way Kerry played and the spirit and endeavour shown. Losing our talisman, Dara O'Sé, early in the game could have rocked the team, especially our two new young defenders. But to their credit they played very well, never letting their man, if he did win the ball, to go past them.

I think Dublin have a very good team and aren't at all far off the top. It just seemed that the Kerry team could tap into the store of teams of yore, relax, and seize victory. Sunday was one of the best days in Croker I've had for a while. The sense of achievement I felt is perhaps a mark of the strength of the Dublin team. We were just quietly confident, half fearful, and so when we won in the pleasing style of the second half in the face of 60,000 baying Dubs an exhilarating rush washed over me. I didn't quite shed a tear but the manner of the victory genuinely did fill me with enormous pride and the pleasing realisation that each and every player seemed to think that donning a Kerry jersey is indeed something special! A great history can do this, as can a great manager. This year we seem to have the beautiful balance necessary to house Sam for another year.:)

--------

Grace is an undervalued word in sport. Grace in victory, grace in defeat. Anyone who read Keith Duggan's Sideline Cut in Saturday's Irish Times will appreciate the effortless grace Kerry football radiates. He closed the article with an immortal line(in my book at least!) Kerry folk. If they weren't so likeable you would really have to hate them. :)

28/08/2007, 8:00 PM
very good post hoop. fair play.

scummy dubs. :D only messin though i think any kerry supporter would agree that shane ryan deserves a shot at sam and a winners medal.

woody27
28/08/2007, 9:49 PM
like waterfords one a few weeks ago is it??? stop cribbin about losin to us, we gave ye enough credit for beating us in the munster final!

I am from wexford not waterford. How many times did you have to play tipp??? and a brutal wexford team beat them You had your all ireland against waterford. I would put my house on the cats beating you they have not even got outta first gear yet sheff will outscore limerick on his own. Remember 1996 yee bottled it then and the same will happen against the cats i cant believe you think you even have the slightest chance against them. Put a 50 euro double on kerry and the cats to sweeten the journey home from croker.

28/08/2007, 11:08 PM
I was sure we were going to get the win until Cluxton had a rush of blood. Had them on the ropes.

29/08/2007, 12:06 AM
Check out second 11 of this video(http://youtube.com/watch?v=MWZ0erH4a-E) to realise how butter-wouldn't-melt-in-his-mouth-Sherlock felt the brunt of Kerry's hard men!

On the ref, I can safely say that he is pathetic. He's reffed many a Kerry game, is always bad, and usually goes against us. Yet again on Sunday he was very poor, and again was that bit worse for Kerry, especially in the first half.
That link doesn't do it
"This video has been removed due to terms of use violation."

On the Ref conspiracy against Kerry, an analysis of all the incidents by 3 ref observers (including one Kerryman) have the opinion that he got the vast majority of decisions right.
Probably the Kerry bias thing, is that either he is very sharp at picking up on the Kerry strokes or Kerry are not very good at getting away with foul play.

Usually moaning about a ref's appointment before a game is to put extra pressure on the ref in the Dubs backyard or to get your excuses in early.

Definitly not in the proud Kerry tradition to be whinging about the ref before a game. Betrayed a lack of total faith in their own abilities to overcome the Dubs. Kerry players spent too much time in the first half questioning the ref's decisions while the Dubs just got on with the quick free kick. I'd expect their manager to sort that one out before the final.

kingdom hoop
29/08/2007, 1:25 AM
On the Ref conspiracy against Kerry, an analysis of all the incidents by 3 ref observers (including one Kerryman) have the opinion that he got the vast majority of decisions right.

:confused: Not sure of what you speak but if you're talking about the Sunday Game analysts, bear in mind the lambasting the ref got on RTE after the game. I wouldn't be surprised if a complaint was made by the GAA telling RTE to put a nicer sheen on things so that everyone goes to bed without doubts as to the ref's competence. This quote would, reading between the lines, seem to evince as much;

Referees spokesman Fr Seamus Gardiner said: Pat Spillane summed it up when he asked the panellists if they felt that John did OK and they said ‘yes’.

Having watched the replay I'm in no doubt the ref, probably unwittingly, gave Dublin three of four soft frees within scoring distance while it seemed a Kerryman had to be fouled twice to win a free. The foul count was Kerry 27, Dublin 17, which does seem a bit off. I know Kerry are a tough team, you have to be, but I really, tinted glasses cast aside, don't think we are dirty or cynical(watch the way the defenders defend and its evident they are honest).

Anyway, all this talk detracts from what was a great performance from a team that is endearing itself in a big way to the Kerry public. Legend status is being assured for a few while others are becoming great players.

Aberdonian Stu
29/08/2007, 8:16 AM
Any comment on your buddy Mark Vaughan? He looked lost yesterday, poor little boy

He wasn't great and Dublin needed more than a 3 point haul from him, even if one of them was brilliantly struck, to challenge. That said there weren't many frees/45s in scoring range (though he did miss one howler) and that's what he's there for mainly so he was always likely to struggle to rack em up. Still himself and Cluxton, who got far too much abuse over one mistake after an otherwise excellent season, should get nods for All Stars.

29/08/2007, 8:54 AM
ryan would be way ahead on the all star list

29/08/2007, 9:15 AM
Anyway, all this talk detracts from what was a great performance from a team that is endearing itself in a big way to the Kerry public. Legend status is being assured for a few while others are becoming great players.
Even when a Kerryman wins they have a go at the ref :)
The free kick statistic is unbalanced but you might have noted that Vaughan hardly had any frees within his range. (anyway, Sheehan's? 55m was the real thing)
The one thing I can't take is the cynical thuggery to put a player out of the game and into hospital, I won't mention the old Meath team here.
IMO Kerry play the game as close to perfect for winning these days as is possible. Hard as nails but fair with a quality versatile squad capable of playing the best football. As a team, always aware of where the game is at in any phase and enough of them know what they need to do in order to win it before the end.
They have dropped the cynical stuff - from the previous manager?

29/08/2007, 9:32 AM
The free kick statistic is unbalanced but you might have noted that Vaughan hardly had any frees within his range. (anyway, Sheehan's? 55m was the real thing)

Yes and did anyone notice what Mooney said after that? It still doesnt compare to a certain free from 65 yards out to earn a replay in a Connaught final :)

Or in the semi-final against meath in 91 when the same player hit another mighty free.

Aberdonian Stu
29/08/2007, 9:34 AM
ryan would be way ahead on the all star list

He had an awesome game on Sunday and he's long due one but I don't think this was one of his better years. The man is a legend and the cult hero of long suffering Dublin fans so there's no-one I'd rather see get one but I can't see him getting it.

Paul Griffin though should definitely be up for consideration, had a great year when the rest of the Dubs defence floundered.

29/08/2007, 10:02 AM
He wasn't great and Dublin needed more than a 3 point haul from him, even if one of them was brilliantly struck, to challenge. That said there weren't many frees/45s in scoring range (though he did miss one howler) and that's what he's there for mainly so he was always likely to struggle to rack em up. Still himself and Cluxton, who got far too much abuse over one mistake after an otherwise excellent season, should get nods for All Stars.

Have I read this wrong or are you really suggesting that Mark Vaughan should be getting an All Star this year :confused::eek:

There are at least 6 and probably 10 corner forwards ahead of him on this season's performances.

Aberdonian Stu
29/08/2007, 11:38 AM
Well you're half reading it wrong. The otherwise excellent season refers to Cluxton not Vaughan so my apologies for any confusion there.

I do think Vaughan should be in the reckoning for an All Star, he was a difference maker when he played this season. Hence nod was the term I used rather than definite win. Right here, right now I'd probably give it to him but that could easily change come the 16th of September.

In hindsight I should have put Griffin ahead of him in the pecking order for an All Star as well. It's a pity he's played in such a poor defence this year because he's been astounding, comfortably his best season to date.

Soko
29/08/2007, 11:42 AM
Vaughan wouldn't make 4th string All star if they were handing them out. He takes frees, thats it. Nothing more to his game except his horrible personality

29/08/2007, 11:57 AM
Cluxton is sound.
I don't know if there will be that many all star vacancies left after Kerry get their due share.

29/08/2007, 12:32 PM
geysir, will you not be up for one this year?

At the very least for your allstar posts on these forums!

Marked Man
29/08/2007, 2:08 PM
One major reason for the difference in numbers of frees awarded is that Kerry players get much tighter on their men than Dublin players do. Time and again in the second half, Kerry forwards had acres of room, as Dublin backs stood off their men. Conversely, from the middle of the field on, Dublin players got very little room from their markers coming forward. Obviously you're more likely to concede a free when you're marking tightly than when you're inviting your man on to you.

Btw, Vaughan got 3 points on Sunday. Not up to his usual standard, but not awful, by any means.

inexile
29/08/2007, 3:07 PM
as a non pale person i can honestly say that alan brogan is a very nice fella, dont know ryan, and cant stand vaughan, but brogan is 100 %

30/08/2007, 1:39 PM
He looks mean as hell on the pitch :)
Dublin's best footballer imo.

I see TG4 won't be able to show the Minor replay on Saturday, with the ladies AI final being transmitted.

30/08/2007, 1:57 PM
laois will win it anyhow, that kingston is class ( beanos cousin ) was devastating against roscommon as is tuohy and meredith. A bit of controversy surrounding meredith too, as he is from carlow.So looks like a final of the two teams that beat roscommon. :(

30/08/2007, 7:41 PM
Cluxton is sound.
I don't know if there will be that many all star vacancies left after Kerry get their due share.

Here's my nominations for this year:

Stephen Cluxton

Marc O'Se
Graham Canty
Barry Cahill

Tomas O'Se
Ger Spillane
Caoimhin King

Dara O'Se
Nicholas Murphy

Alan Brogan
Leighton Glynn
Declan O'Sullivan

Colm Cooper
Paddy Bradley
Thomas Freeman

30/08/2007, 8:18 PM
Paddy Bradley is a class act but I don't know if he played enough to get it. After injury, he was barely involved in the USF, good game against Dublin though.
I think we will have to wait until the final, if Donaghy performs again then
I'd have him just ahead of Bradley.

Would Byron run Cluxton close?

Aberdonian Stu
31/08/2007, 5:28 AM
There's no way Cahill should get in, the corners needn't be in their normal position for the All Stars (as in you can have 2 rights or 2 lefts) so I'd easily stick Griffin in ahead of him.

31/08/2007, 2:26 PM
did any of ye spot ricky hatton at the DUbs match?!

“As I told you I had Ricky Hatton in my corner on Saturday night. I told him not to go back to England until Sunday because I wanted him to go to Croke Park and see the Dublin/Kerry match. He was never at a GAA match before. He came along with me and he was bowled over by the intensity of it all. He was so impressed that he wants to come back again!”