View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11

31/08/2007, 2:46 PM
I object to your use of the exclusive term "DUbs match.
Are you one of those culchie dub wannabees :)

31/08/2007, 2:51 PM
I object to your use of the exclusive term "DUbs match.
Are you one of those culchie dub wannabees :)

ah you outed me geysir :)
tell me what gave it away?

02/09/2007, 10:27 AM
I see Derry won the Minor SF replay in a reported thriller. I wouldn't have expected less than a thriller, but feck that it was played in a tv blackout. Some of the best flowing football is played at this minor championship level.

gilberto_eire
02/09/2007, 2:43 PM
12mins in and limerick look dead and buried!.... that clown should have put that free over when it was 0-2 - 0-0

terrible team, and waterford nearly beat them with 20 wides.

Rovers fan
02/09/2007, 8:30 PM
a terrible all ireland final. kilkenny not at their best were way better. they were cruising. begley was brutal! kilkenny full back line won everything!

02/09/2007, 8:30 PM
Credit to Limerick for giving it all. Despite the gulf in class, despite a bad start, despite Kilkenny backs winning almost everything, they kept a neutral hurling ignoramous like me captivated to the end. They never gave up and were worthy enough of their place in the final.
There will be no danger of the McCarthy cup being dumped in the boot of some Kilkenny players car. It was some emotional cup presentation, like no other.

02/09/2007, 9:00 PM
Emotional alright.
I was just listening to the chat in the Burlington and they were rightly saying that they don't get the credit that Cork and Waterford do considering what they've won.
That's fairly true but you can't blame the media really when the Munster Championship is the only show in town until late August.
The final was awful though. Hurling Championship isn't exciting anymore.

02/09/2007, 11:20 PM
Emotional alright.
I was just listening to the chat in the Burlington and they were rightly saying that they don't get the credit that Cork and Waterford do considering what they've won.
That's fairly true but you can't blame the media really when the Munster Championship is the only show in town until late August.
The final was awful though. Hurling Championship isn't exciting anymore.
I assume you mean Leinster Championship hurling! :confused:

There were some great championship games this year albeit mainly involving the Munster teams. 2 games with Waterford and Cork, the 3 Limerick/Tipp games, the Tipp/Cork game and the Tipp/Wexford game.

Kilkenny can only play whoever are put up in front of them and only Galway for the first 60 minutes of their game gave them any real test.

L37Ultra
05/09/2007, 11:12 AM
Haha - Limerick don't have a chance.

2 pretty average teams played out a pair of draws. Neither will even get close to winning the Munster final.

Galway are the dark horses this year. The only team that will challenge us.

Hurling: Kilkenny
Football: Donegal

How wrong were you? :) :D

10/09/2007, 8:28 PM
For what's its worth the Irish News have awarded their Ulster All Stars.
I'd say that some thought that was an oxymoron :)

All Star of the Year award goes to Monaghan's Tommy Freeman, well done Tommy, we have known about his ability for years and deservedly is a shoe in for the real All Star awards later this year.

The All Star team is noteworthy for the Ulster champions only having 3 players and Monaghan sweeping the team awards with 7 players.
with Derry taking the remaining 5 places.

John Devine (Tyrone)
Michael McGoldrick (Derry), Kevin McCloy (Derry), Dessie Moan (Monaghan),

Conor Gormley (Tyrone), Gary McQuaid (Monaghan), Damien Freeman
(Monaghan),
Fergal Doherty (Derry), Eoin Lennon (Monaghan),
Enda Muldoon (Derry), Rory Woods (Monaghan), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Paddy Bradley (Derry), Vincent Corey (Monaghan), Thomas Freeman (Monaghan).

Not surprising really as Monaghan were the Ulster team of the year but next year should see the Farneymen move up a gear with their eyes firmly fixed on winning the Sam Maguire. Relief is in store for a nation fed up with Kerry always winning and the Dubs always overhyped.

ollie
11/09/2007, 6:27 PM
Do they base their selection on the ulster championship or the whole championship?

Very low key build up to the AI next Sunday. Kerry are huge favourites but do people think Cork can take them now with Masters available for selection? He scored 8 points in an A vs B game at the weekend, the same game that Lynch got injured in.

11/09/2007, 7:47 PM
Is there any chance Lynch could play any role?
If not then I reckon Corks small chances have diminished.

11/09/2007, 10:45 PM
Do they base their selection on the ulster championship or the whole championship?
The whole Championship and the League as well.

Very low key build up to the AI next Sunday. Kerry are huge favourites but do people think Cork can take them now with Masters available for selection? He scored 8 points in an A vs B game at the weekend, the same game that Lynch got injured in.
The bookies are holding the line with 4/9 on Kerry, not quite red hot.
Myself, I think they are the 2 best teams, Cork, being better than Dublin, will give Kerry a harder game.
Following on that, then I think we will have a good final. 2 great rivals battling it out in the final for the biggest prize. The rest of us can just sit back and enjoy.

Masters broke his jaw? hasn´t played since the Munster final? So he is fit?
Then it will be Marc O Sé against Masters.
Will O´Sé pull his punches? your vote would have to go to O´Sé in this duel.

gilberto_eire
11/09/2007, 11:51 PM
The whole Championship and the League as well.

The bookies are holding the line with 4/9 on Kerry, not quite red hot.
Myself, I think they are the 2 best teams, Cork, being better than Dublin, will give Kerry a harder game.
Following on that, then I think we will have a good final. 2 great rivals battling it out in the final for the biggest prize. The rest of us can just sit back and enjoy.

Masters broke his jaw? hasn´t played since the Munster final? So he is fit?
Then it will be Marc O Sé against Masters.
Will O´Sé pull his punches? your vote would have to go to O´Sé in this duel.

when it happened it was stated at the time he was out for the rest of the championship!!. he couldnt go out with a weak jaw if its still not 100%

ollie
12/09/2007, 1:56 PM

They are giving him every chance to prove his fitness. If he plays it will be with a guard. I'm not so sure if he should play if not 100% fit especially after Derek played an AI semi against Kerry a couple of years ago with an injury and got cleaned out(granted it was an injury of a different nature). I really he's ok to play though after all the years of service he's given to Cork, he deserves it.

If he doesn't play Miskella isn't a bad replacement. It'll be interesting to see if they start Masters or Goulding. With the naming of the team being delayed, it would suggest that they might start Masters now IMO.

when it happened it was stated at the time he was out for the rest of the championship!!. he couldnt go out with a weak jaw if its still not 100%

Well its said that 4-6 weeks is the time thats needed to heal a break. Sunday will be exactly 4 weeks after the Sligo game in which he broke his jaw.

13/09/2007, 12:46 PM

I heard Lynch had an operation on his hand yesterday. Possible he might play wearing a glove or something.

He is the reason Cork's team announcment has been delayed. I think its taken for granted that Masters will start.

Big risk playing 2 players so soon after serious injuries. If they have to be taken off early subs will be wasted.

Rovers fan
13/09/2007, 8:22 PM
id bet my house on lynch playing in the final. players always seem to make miraculous recoveries coming up to all ireland finals

ollie
13/09/2007, 9:48 PM
the naming of the team has been delayed another 24hours to let Anthony prove his fitness. I'm not confident about it though obviosuly as a fello club man I hope he makes it

gilberto_eire
13/09/2007, 11:07 PM
i have to say its not saying much about corks full panel if fellas with broken jaws and arms are in contention if they show any signs of been able!...

id rather a 100% player then a 60-80% especially in a final....subs must'nt be up to much although i know that the 2 involved are massive players they are both carrying serious injurys!!

Soko
13/09/2007, 11:22 PM
Lynch and Masters are both top players for their positons in the country. Any team, including Kerry, would give them every chance to be fit and play

14/09/2007, 8:14 AM
id rather a 100% player then a 60-80% especially in a final....subs must'nt be up to much although i know that the 2 involved are massive players they are both carrying serious injurys!!

Kerry brought Dara O'Se back on against the Dubs after he couldn't walk in the first half!

Masters is the top scorer in the championship. If we get a good half from him great. Then bring on Goulding.
Babs got roasted for leaving Eoin Kelly on the bench against wexford.

If you win the game these are "gambles that paid off". If you lose "X should never have started - he wasn't 100% fit."

14/09/2007, 9:44 AM
Brian Dooher in the QF is a good example of that. Obviously not fit, Harte still picked him. When he had to go off after 30 mins to be replaced, Tyrone by some miracle were only 2 points down but well in the game. Yet Harte had to take a ship load of criticism for that gamble which played only a small part in their defeat.

A top player leaving the field can have a downer effect on the team but returning to the field of play again seems to work very well:)

16/09/2007, 4:17 PM
What a win! Great performance from Kerry. Cork never rally got going. The goals decided it. Well done to Donaghy and the Gooch for following up.

Happy days for the Kingdom!

16/09/2007, 5:14 PM
The Minor game was the one to savour although today there was no competition. Derry again letting go of a game they had already gift wrapped. Galway had to play some good football to get back into it and saved their best for the last 10 minutes. Well deserved win.

The Final was brutal, Cork were a farce from back to front.
Kerry ruled without even breaking practice stride. Dara O Sé, Tomas O Sé, O Mahony and Scanlon were on top throughout, Cooper was sublime.
When Donaghy won that ball and lined up to shoot, with no goalkeeper to even challenge him, brings questions of football sanity to the equation.
It was a shame that Kerry didn´t face decent opposition on the day. Anyway they are the best team in the land by a mile.

Not many great games this year, the best of them involved Kerry, against Monaghan and Dublin.

16/09/2007, 5:59 PM
God I thought we were bad last year in the final!!! I love the way Kerry players now copy Ronaldo/Drogba whenever they get touched by the opposition.

16/09/2007, 6:41 PM
2 poor championship finals this year.

red bellied
16/09/2007, 8:13 PM
I reckon the red lad for Kerry called the Gooch would cut in the LOI if he was interested.

17/09/2007, 9:54 AM
Time to pick the allstars.
All star of the year. Imo, it's a toss between Declan O´Sullivan and Colm Cooper, I´d go for Cooper.
In 3rd spot - Tomas Freeman -

1. Cluxton - Dublin

2.Marc O'Sé - Kerry 3. McCloy - Derry 4. Gormley - Tyrone

5.Cahill - Dublin 6. Tomas O'Sé - Kerry 7. Young - Kerry

8. Dara O Sé - Kerry 9. Cavanagh -Tyrone

10.D.O'Sullivan - Kerry 11. Moyles - Meath 12. D. O'Connor - Kerry

13 Cooper - Kerry 14. Donaghy - Kerry 15. Freeman - Monaghan

The debates
Full back - Kevin McCloy - outstanding all year
Midfield Cavanagh - has to be somewhere
No N. Murphy midfield Cork - did nothing in the Final

Other notables from the "small" counties
Keenan MF Louth
Ross Donovan - Sligo
any one of 6 Monaghan players, Woods, Lennon, D Freeman, Corey, Moan and Mc Quaid

Aberdonian Stu
17/09/2007, 12:08 PM
I wouldn't be too high on Donaghy at full forward. Also it's criminal to exclude Paul Griffin from the backs while I fail to see how Cahill impressed you.

17/09/2007, 12:43 PM
I reckon the red lad for Kerry called the Gooch would cut in the LOI if he was interested.

Why would the best GAA player in Ireland want to waste his time in LOI?

17/09/2007, 2:19 PM
I wouldn't be too high on Donaghy at full forward. Also it's criminal to exclude Paul Griffin from the backs while I fail to see how Cahill impressed you.

I'm agreed about Donaghy, but its a question of who will get the all star. He is not much different now than when he won the all star player of the year. On a simple football skill graph, Paddy Bradley is way out ahead.
It's the fashion to have a giant at full forward.

Cahill is an outstanding Dublin defender. I'ts fair enough to spread some all stars around the fine players in the also rans.
I can exclude Griffin because his manager excluded him yesterday.
And just how many Kerrymen can a nation handle on an all star team?

Haven't we suffered enough?

red bellied
17/09/2007, 10:24 PM

Sorry, I didnt know that Kerry Gaa are now issuing their players with payment.

18/09/2007, 7:52 AM
Sorry, I didnt know that Kerry Gaa are now issuing their players with payment.
I am sure Cooper is as well off working in the bank and being the highest profile GAA player in Ireland, than he would be if he was a full time pro in the LOI.

18/09/2007, 7:58 AM
This from today's Indo is the ultimate in whinging:

Cork captain Derek Kavanagh says Kerry indulged in gamesmanship to protect their hefty lead in Sunday's All-Ireland football final.

After "a pretty sleepless night" in the Burlington Hotel where the Cork team had gathered to lick their wounds, Kavanagh reflected how his team had succumbed to the best and most experienced team around.

But he also highlighted how Kerry threw down the barriers once they went ahead by persistently "faking injuries every time we got going."

The Cork midfielder recalled how Kerry players were going down "left, right and centre" to break any momentum Cork were trying to establish.

Kavanagh feels it is the mark of a team that knows how to win and has had the benefit of so many All-Ireland appearances, but insisted it wasn't a complaint, merely a fact of the game.

"We were lucky to be only three points down after playing so badly and we were confident that there was a load more left in us. You have to hand it to them they are the best team in Ireland. They are the most experienced team in Ireland having played four All-Irelands in-a-row. When they get a lead like that up on you they know what to do. They had fellas going down faking injuries every time we got going.

"That's what they were doing and it's impossible to play against. They are masters of it, they were doing it left, right and centre, but that's sport and they're very good at it."

18/09/2007, 2:14 PM
He has a point though. I just wish Kerry met Armagh at the quarter final stage. Would be like throwing Drogba on a pitch with the 1970s Leeds team :)

kingdom hoop
18/09/2007, 3:09 PM
I smile at the irony of Kavanagh's whine. In that Cork couldn't front up to Kerry's aggressive passion in the first half and then he moans that we were too soft in the second. I really don't think your point is relevant Shakermaker, Kerry have learnt, the hard way, that you need to be physically robust. If you go back five years this was patently absent from their play, now it is the making of a near perfect team, and anyway we played Armagh in the quarter's last year and did not have to resort to theatrics. I think the comparisons with Drogba start and end with Donaghy's proclamation that he didn't think Drogba would have swivelled as well as he did for the third goal!

As for the match itself, I'd imagine it was awful for anyone not from Kerry, bar delighting at the Gooch's magnificence. It seemed to me that Cork, for some bizarre reason, weren't really 'up for it' enough. Were they too relaxed or over-confident? I thought Morgan would've had them ready to break down walls. Their play in attack, in the telling opening exchanges, was laboured and lacking vim. The parallel of the previous evening's Ireland rugby match struck me as appropriate, only that on Sunday it was the favourites that played with all the pride and passion. No complaints from me though!

The over-riding feeling for me was just that it is a joy and a privilege to support that team, especially after the week Ireland had in the two 'foreign' sports. Their attitude is exemplary. To hear them talk about the pride and honour of wearing the jersey tugs at one's heartstrings, it's all about the team, never individuals. Maybe that can be attributed to tradition but I think the innate humility of Kerry people goes a long way too. Finally, and ominously, you get the feeling that this team thrives on success and now that they've got consecutive titles it will take a bit of luck, Dara O Sé's retirement, or a herculean effort to wrestle it away from them. A great team and, bar Paul Galvin, likeable fellas too.:)

18/09/2007, 3:37 PM

To prove himself as an all round sportsman where others have failed?

18/09/2007, 6:34 PM
To prove himself as an all round sportsman where others have failed?
It would be more impressive if he took over from Peter Stringer on the Munster rugby team and cut it in the Heiniken Cup rather than the LOI.

18/09/2007, 6:42 PM
.....As for the match itself, I'd imagine it was awful for anyone not from Kerry, bar delighting at the Gooch's magnificence. )
Don't you believe it! There were plenty, myself included, who took great delight watching Cork getting their asses spanked. :D

.......A great team and, bar Paul Galvin, likeable fellas too.:)
Galvin is a real warrior. Every successful team has one. Nobby Stiles and Gennaro Gatusso come to mind.

If you don't want him any more in Kerry, send him up to us in Wicklow! :D

18/09/2007, 6:42 PM
It would be more impressive if he took over from Peter Stringer on the Munster rugby team and cut it in the Heiniken Cup rather than the LOI.

Agreed. And he's as likely to fail at it too

18/09/2007, 11:54 PM
He has a point though. I just wish Kerry met Armagh at the quarter final stage. Would be like throwing Drogba on a pitch with the 1970s Leeds team :)
Is that supposed to be a joke?
Kerry met Monaghan in the QF, they couldn't have had a harder game.
Even Galvin couldn't last the pace and had to be carried off :)
In the end, Kerry took all the hits and stood strong.
It was then I knew the Dubs didn't stand an earthly chance.

Kerry are, the fittest, the most skillfull, the second hardest team in Ireland and totally deserving to be AI champions.

gilberto_eire
19/09/2007, 10:44 PM
have no fear ireland...Gaillimh will be back next yr(or defo within 2/3 years), we are near enough now having a completly differant 15 that even started back in 2001.

Gooch??.... wait till Damien Reddington hits the senior panel....some player, best ive seen in minor for a long time(2 footed, very fast)!!. plus we might get what we've been missing the past few years..... A MID-FIELD!!.

i feel the dubs have missed there chance the past yr or two, there not a young team and they have still failed to deliver!.

i think a few teams will come out of the pack next yr

23/09/2007, 10:48 AM
Galvin is a real warrior. Every successful team has one. Nobby Stiles and Gennaro Gatusso come to mind.

If you don't want him any more in Kerry, send him up to us in Wicklow! :D

yeah he is some player, but did he really have to roll around like a girl! (similar to Gattusso there alright)

kingdom hoop
26/09/2007, 6:15 PM
The football All-Star nominations were released this evening. Ten in total for Kerry, no major complaints. Of those omitted from the starting fifteen only maybe Pádraig Reidy could have a slight quibble after two very good showings in the semi and final and he was pretty good in the Munster final as well, but a poor display against Monaghan has seemingly come against him. Tom O'Sullivan and Eoin Brosnan didn't have vintage years so no surprise there. Seamus Scanlon was excellent in the final but that rightly isn't enough for a nomination. I hardly saw any of the other counties in action so I won't pretend I know what I'm talking about any further.

Goalkeepers: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin); Brendan Murphy (Meath); Diarmuid Murphy (Kerry).

Full-backs: Marc O'Se (Kerry); Kevin McCloy (Derry); Graham Canty (Cork); Darren Fay (Meath); David Henry (Dublin); Conor Gormley (Tyrone); Ross Donovan (Sligo); Dessie Mone (Monaghan); Karl Lacey (Donegal).

Half-backs: Tomas O'Se (Kerry); Aidan O Mahony (Kerry); Killian Young (Kerry); Barry Cahill (Dublin); Michael McNamara (Sligo); Noel O'Leary (Cork); Gary McQuaid (Monaghan); Damien Freeman (Monaghan); Caoimhin King (Meath).

Midfield: Ciaran Whelan (Dublin); Darragh O'Se (Kerry); Nicholas Murphy (Cork); Fergal Doherty (Derry); Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone); Paddy Keenan (Louth).

Half-forwards: Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry); Paul Galvin (Kerry); Alan Brogan (Dublin); Bernard Brogan (Dublin); Anthony Moyles (Meath); Stephen Bray (Meath); Raymond Mulgrew (Tyrone); John Doyle (Kildare); Nicky Joyce (Galway).

Full-forwards: Colm Cooper (Kerry); Kieran Donaghy (Kerry); Thomas Freeman (Monaghan); Paddy Bradley (Derry); Donncha O'Connor (Cork); James Masters (Cork); Michael Cussen (Cork); Graham Geraghty (Meath); Mark Vaughan (Dublin).

gilberto_eire
26/09/2007, 6:36 PM
my problem with the ALL-STARS is that your inclusion depends on your counties progression in the championship!!...

Call me biased here but anyone who watched Nickey Joyce this year would not vote against him getting one even, but since we didnt even make the 1/4's he doesnt have a hope of getting one!. he was by far our best player all year and kicked us to victory in virtually both games we won and nearly the ones we lost!!

he scored the most poins in a single game this year of 9.

im sure there are plenty of other players in the same boat the only one i can see getting one who didnt get to the semi's is paddy bradley!!

time they accesed the players on the individual performances and not there counties, any player who plays over say... 3 games should be accesed on a fair basis!!

26/09/2007, 6:43 PM
The reason for that gilberto is that the players selected would have produced the required form consistently against stronger opposition.

gilberto_eire
26/09/2007, 7:23 PM
The reason for that gilberto is that the players selected would have produced the required form consistently against stronger opposition.

i get your point but thats kind of what im agruing against, your accessed more on how your team performed rather then your individual performance as such!... i dont think its a fair reflection of the best players all year..... even in football you get the team of the year, if someone is setting the world alight he will get his reward..... we're 4th bottom and i wouldnt be surprised if one of our boys(reggie imo) got the nod for the team of the yr... or mooney for longford. the players individual achievements are recognised ''significantly'' more in other codes then the GAA!!

kingdom hoop
26/09/2007, 8:16 PM
the players individual achievements are recognised ''significantly'' more in other codes then the GAA!!

Poppycock. The problem is that the championship system knocks teams out. Maybe a better way of looking at it would be when trying to pick a team of the World Cup as against the eL. That should be simple enough that I don't need to explain it.

At any rate, a player who is outstanding in the winter during the league and backs it up with a few reasonable performances in summer will usually be in with a shout. I'd imagine Donegal's Karl Lacey will get a spot on that basis, as Matty Forde did in 2004. It is a fair system, the judges are right, the players are only human and shur once there's food in the cupboard what more do you want.

Oh, and it's assess, not access. Spelling like that, while sometimes amusing, is pretty annoying when not in isolation. Cheers buddy. :)

26/09/2007, 8:27 PM
Delighted for Conor Gormley's nomination, coming back to top form after a double leg break.
Good recognition for O'Donovan and Paddy Keenan from the also rans. I am now hopeful for a second all star for Monaghan, Dessie Mone could sneak in there. The back lash against Kerry winning every thing begins, possibly a max of 6 for Kerry.

kingdom hoop
26/09/2007, 8:49 PM
The back lash against Kerry winning every thing begins, possibly a max of 6 for Kerry.

Kerry certs; Marc and Dara O'Sé, Declan O'Sullivan, Gooch.

Possibles; one, or perhaps two if we're very lucky, of Tomás O'Sé, Killian Young or Aidan O'Mahony. (Mahony at CB would be my selection) Maybe Paul Galvin. So yeah, probably max six but definitely five. I don't think Donaghy is deserving of one, or even near it.