View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

27/07/2007, 1:43 PM
So it's nothing to do with the sacred turf, the soft lushious green grass, the lovely predictable bounce effect. The love affair with Semple is all down to the basics - size matters most with Hurlers.

Roadend
27/07/2007, 1:46 PM
The last Cork-Waterford game should have no bearing on Sunday. Given the full back deficencies and Curran's recent woeful form, the Waterford forwards could potentially go to town on Cork on Sunday. That said Cork did bring back in the first choice full backs so it migh steady the ship. If their forwards play like they did against Tipp they can forget about any semi final.

noby
27/07/2007, 1:49 PM
Size isn't everything. Yes, it suits the game of hurling more, but in all my years going there, in all conditions, I can't recall the pitch being commented on in a bad way, by players or on-lookers. There's never a sod out of place, the bounce is always true, and players don't seem to end up on their arse as much as other pitches, no matter what the conditions.
Whatever they do up there the groundskeepers always have it in top notch.

ollie
27/07/2007, 2:28 PM
On top of it all thurles is the best place in the country for any game. It has a lot of history too and the craic in the square is only mighty..how I'd love to be at home at the moment...
I have never seen the Thurles pitch in average not to mention poor condition in all my time going there.

27/07/2007, 2:41 PM
what is "the square" :o

a place where you go for a few beers beforehand?

ollie like that song, where are you now?

27/07/2007, 10:13 PM
minor hurling is starting back, im interested to see if you will get a call up;)

sligobrewer currently training with minors..
on the squad for future matches.. starting tomorrow:p:D

Rovers fan
27/07/2007, 11:54 PM
its sligo hurling its if you play hurling your on the team. id be on the team if i wasnt away

Rovers fan
27/07/2007, 11:57 PM
predictions for the weekend:

hurling: galway,tipp,clare,cork
Gaelic: Donegal,laois

28/07/2007, 11:35 AM
my predictions>>>>>>>>>

Kilkenny..............dont know how people are tipping galway
Cork
Limerick
Tipperary
the thing about hurling is you can bank on the old reliable's

and in the Ga
Derry
and Monaghan

Torn-Ado
28/07/2007, 12:57 PM
my predictions>>>>>>>>>

Kilkenny..............dont know how people are tipping galway

I know. The Galway hurlers are rubbish and have been for quite some time.

ollie
28/07/2007, 2:34 PM
what is "the square" :o

a place where you go for a few beers beforehand?

ollie like that song, where are you now?

The square is the town square where Hayes hotel(where the GAA was founded) and a pile of of other pubs are.

I'm in Boston at the moment. I will be returning towards the end of September though..hopefully in time for an AI football final involving Cork though that might be wishful thinking.

Huge win for Wexford there over Tipp. 3.10 to 1.14. Delighted for them. Thought there was nothing in them after the display in the Leinster final.

28/07/2007, 2:46 PM
Just got off the phone with my granda. He's fuming. Calling the Tipp lads a disgrace, etc.

I think Wexford earned it in the second half. I thought Gerry Kennedy was doing well until the second goal when he turned his back on the sliotar.....Then in the last few minutes he rushed his pucs and every one went straight to Wexford players.

Aberdonian Stu
28/07/2007, 2:48 PM
Thurles is definitely one of the best towns for pre/post game festivities in the country, really well suited to it.

finlma
28/07/2007, 7:28 PM
Galway put it to us today. Good game. The standard of hurling in the Wexford Tipp match was attrotious - 2 poor teams. We shouldn't have too many problems beating the yellow bellies. Hoping for a Waterford Kilkenny final.

28/07/2007, 7:59 PM
predictions for the weekend:

hurling: galway,tipp,clare,cork
Gaelic: Donegal,laois

Four losers out of four so far! Limerick and Waterford must be good things :D

danonion
28/07/2007, 8:00 PM
Monaghan just humbled Donegal :)

28/07/2007, 8:31 PM
Monaghan got out of the traps early this time, were ahead all through the game and won in a canter. They had Corey starting up front and he created all sorts of problems. I'm surprised, Donegal didn't even have enough in them to get a man sent off.

29/07/2007, 2:05 AM
sligobrewer currently training with minors..
on the squad for future matches.. starting tomorrow:p:D

if you can prenounce 'sliotor' in sligo you can get on the hurling team brewer

Torn-Ado
29/07/2007, 9:49 AM
Galway lost as expected. Not too bothered as I had given up on the Galway hurlers sometime in the mid-ninetys.

Firsty, I think those games should have been played somewhere else where the stadium would have been full or nearly full. Watching games in a half empty Croke park looks soulless and drab. IMO anyways.

Secondly, the GAA should do something about their jerseys. The O Neills rip off of the three stripes looks cheap and tacky and they dont miss a chance to put gammy stripes and colours in where they can. They should tone them down a bit. IMO anyways. :)

29/07/2007, 10:11 AM

and if you can spell 'sliothar' correctly you will be captain :D

cheifo
29/07/2007, 10:54 PM
Rumours again circulating in Donegal about players social activities.Anyway I am sick of people talking about their talent/potential, we gave another spineless display.Fair play to Monaghan.Fascinating matches in store for quarter finals.The four provincal winners must be favourites altough Meath and Sligo might be worth a punt.Sligo need to sort their free taking out however.

30/07/2007, 5:36 AM
Fascinating matches in store for quarter finals.The four provincal winners must be favourites altough Meath and Sligo might be worth a punt.Sligo need to sort their free taking out however.
Sligo are the provincial champions but are probably the weakest team left. Although it galls me to think it, I fancy Cork to beat them. The other 3 provincial champions should win, although like you I think Meath might might run Tyrone close.

30/07/2007, 9:15 AM
Wexford v Tipp - Wexford by 2 points to restore some pride
Kilkenny v Galway - Galway have the ability but Kilkenny should take it by 4 points
Limerick v Clare - Will probably be a horrible match, Limerick should have just enough.
Cork v Waterford - Cork will bounce back and win by 5 points, a pity because Waterford have been the team of the year.

Not bad on the old predictions there was I :)

oooh your a funny person...wexford and offaly have fallen so much the last 3 yrs they arent far of the dublin/antrim standard..... tipp will make bits of them.... back us at 4/1.... 2yrs ago we were the same price and beat them in croker.... thurles just does'nt suit us plus we dont play there as much as KK do!!

Now who's the funny person Gilberto? :D

30/07/2007, 10:02 AM
you wont see gilberto back here now, just like after the football, all talk until schhhhlllligo beat them.

BTW lads, i had this discussion about the semi-final, with ardent GAA men on yesterday and they were 100% sure that Kerry and Dublin could play in the final or semi-final. Based on Cork could represent Connaught ( if they beat sligo ) etc.

30/07/2007, 10:11 AM
you wont see gilberto back here now, just like after the football, all talk until schhhhlllligo beat them.

BTW lads, i had this discussion about the semi-final, with ardent GAA men on yesterday and they were 100% sure that Kerry and Dublin could play in the final or semi-final. Based on Cork could represent Connaught ( if they beat sligo ) etc.

The semi-finals are already seeded (Munster-Leinster, Connacht-Ulster) so the winners of the Kerry tie were always going to play the winners of the Dublin quarter-final, regardless of actual results. If Cork beat Sligo they will take the "Connacht" spot in the semi, likewise Meath would "represent Ulster".

cheifo
30/07/2007, 11:18 AM
In that case a Kerry -Dublin final is proably the best bet.

noby
30/07/2007, 11:35 AM
Did you read the last post?

beautifulrock
30/07/2007, 12:47 PM

No, no and no, the draw has been already made. How many times have you been told this already:confused: Kerry and Dublin should they both win their quarters will meet in the semi.

30/07/2007, 12:56 PM
No, no and no, the draw has been already made. How many times have you been told this already:confused: Kerry and Dublin should they both win their quarters will meet in the semi.

I know :o i realise the mistake i was making.....I was saying they cant meet in the semi i think....so i was arguing the opposite to what i was arguing here and got all conflustered. Ah the wonders of drink

noby
30/07/2007, 1:11 PM
Any news on next weeks fixtures? Particularly the hurling replay. I'm hoping it will be Thurles on either Saturday evening or Monday, but there are rumours of Croke Park, Sunday at 4pm.

30/07/2007, 1:31 PM
Interesting everyone is assuming a Dublin-Kerry semi-final in the football.

Suits Derry down to the ground.

noby
30/07/2007, 1:35 PM
From Breakingnews:

Waterford and Cork will replay their All-Ireland hurling quarter-final next Sunday at 4pm in Croke Park.

The game will unusually be preceded by the semi-final between Kilkenny and Wexford at 2pm.

Balls.

30/07/2007, 1:49 PM
i dont think anyone was assuming anything redarmy. It was just the possible outcomes of fixtures. I could see derry winning, however realistically I dont!!!

Looks like I was wrong again, the ros game i think is on in semple stadium at 2 on saturday.

30/07/2007, 2:57 PM
i dont think anyone was assuming anything redarmy. It was just the possible outcome. I could see derry winning, however realistically I dont!!!:confused:Any philosophers care to untangle the contradictions?

30/07/2007, 2:58 PM
redarmy, i was trying to be smart, i was saying its possible, but it wont happen. Just like george bush to become a Saint, its possible......

30/07/2007, 4:01 PM
Jaysus lads, you're bringing down the standard of the GAA thread discussion :)

Then the Monaghan Kerry QF game is on the Sunday 12th, before the 2nd hurling semi final.
Monaghan are about 5-1 and Kerry 1-5.
There is usually one upset in the QF's
Kerry could trip over their confidence, could be rusty after 6 weeks while Monaghan are fighting fit. Midfield will have a big say in how the game goes, D O'Shea against Eoin Lennon / Clerkin.
There's a lot of if's, if Monaghan don't fall too far behind and if they can score the kickable frees that they have been missing then Kerry will be stretched to their limit.

mr.miagi
30/07/2007, 4:02 PM
sligo hurling minors in all ireland C final!!!!give us some credit atleast we try to play the worlds greatest game

30/07/2007, 4:10 PM
well done miagi, the ros are in the nicky rackard final as well!!! up the wesshhht and f the rest.

30/07/2007, 8:43 PM

i know well.. but the free gear is handy for club training.

woundnt dare wear it outside of training though...it's the exact same as the footballers get:mad:

31/07/2007, 12:24 PM
According to the GAA website details of venues/times will be confirmed on 30th July.

Details of draws/venues/dates/times for minor football:

Laois v Roscommon on Saturday 4th August in Thurles at 2pm
Carlow v Galway on Sunday 5th August in Tullamore at 2pm
Tyrone v Kerry on Sunday 5th August in Tullamore at 3.45pm
Cork v Derry on Saturday 11th August in Croke Park at 11.30am

That last fixture must be the craziest piece of match scheduling there has ever been in the history of the GAA.

It is on before the Nicky Rackard final between Armagh and Roscommon, which itself is on before the Dublin v Derry senior game at 3pm. It will be interesting to see how many people will be in CP at 1130 in the morning, probably more players/team offcials than supporters. If it had to be part of a triple header you would think they would have played the three games in Tullamore on Sunday next.

31/07/2007, 12:49 PM

I said that yesterday :p

though ive been getting a bit mixed up on this thread that no one would prolly have taken any notice at this stage to what i say :D

31/07/2007, 12:51 PM
here are my predictions:

Carlow v Galway on Sunday 5th August in Tullamore at 2pm
Tyrone v Kerry on Sunday 5th August in Tullamore at 3.45pm
Cork v Derry on Saturday 11th August in Croke Park at 11.30am

Roscommon ( i hope im right for once )
Galway
Kerry ( though this will be the closest i reckon, but kerry have lost a lot of minors from last year )
Derry

31/07/2007, 2:08 PM
A minor team does tend to lose players :)
How many of the reigning All Ireland Champions (sounds good?) are still on the Roscommon team this year?

31/07/2007, 2:47 PM
well lose could be the wrong word, moved on then geysir ;)

6 were eligible, but 2 played at senior already ( supid or what ). think only 3 played in the connaucht final though that played in the all-ireland replay in ennis.

http://www.tonygriffinfoundation.com/images/tony%20griffin.wmv

31/07/2007, 7:20 PM
Laois v Roscommon
Carlow v Galway
Tyrone v Kerry
Cork v Derry

Roscommon ( i hope im right for once )
Galway
Kerry ( though this will be the closest i reckon, but kerry have lost a lot of minors from last year )
Derry

I'll have a bit of Laois Galway Tyrone and Cork. Kerry were woeful in the munster and Cork have a massive team. Laois are quite big Paul and I'll fancy them over the Rossies.

As for the Seniors, I don't think the matches are going to be as evenly contested as people are making out. Since my last post about the seniors in this thread, I think the quality of the games (the quality now not the excitement) has been gash.

Take the last round of the qualifiers for example, the only really good quality game was the Laois Derry match. The Monaghan game was absolutely dire. They showed a behind the goal still of the monaghan goal. There were 4 players inside the donegal 45 and the end line. the same in the monaghan half. Ugly.
Added to the fact that Donegal actually haven't played well for more than 10 mins (at the start of the Tyrone game) since they won the league, Monaghan beating them hypes them up more than they should. I honestly don't believe they will come near Kerry, and neither would I worry about Dick Clerkin troubling Dara. As far as I'm concerned Clerkin is a gurrier, in the David Batty Robbie Savage mould, and with tommy griffin doing the donkey work in midfield I fancy a big score from the Kingdom.
The cork/louth game was cack too. Ok was exciting until Cork pulled away, but without a doubt showed Cork as being arrogant perhaps, but also showed that up front they are weak. The fact they have the weakest of the provincial winners should be enough for them, but I wouldn't be sure.
Meath are physically good but they unconvincingly beat an ageing disinterested Galway team with 2! decent players. I just don't think they have the quality to beat tyrone.
The one Match where I do see a qualifier winning is Derry. They are physically immense, and technically very good, and have a set of forwards that will trouble any defence. The propaganda machine, sorry Dublin, are being hyped up to the hilt, and having played against nothing so far, I do think they are there for the taking.

So my predictions are
Kerry v Monaghan
Derry v Dublin
Tyrone v Meath
Cork v Sligo

cheifo
01/08/2007, 1:07 AM
No offence to either county but I hope its not a bloody Kerry V Tyrone final.On their day proably the two best teams in the country(well nearly every day)but would like to see a couple of big upsets
A Monaghan v Sligo final would be good crack:).
I think it could be a Meath -Kerry final though.

01/08/2007, 7:38 AM
Dubs apparently getting 65,000 tickets for the QF leaving 12,000 to divide between, Derry, Cork (MFC QF) Roscommon and Armagh (Nicky Rackard Final).

Ridiculous.

01/08/2007, 9:07 AM
geysir it is special to hear that alright, even if it is only kids :D

1939 1940 1941 1943 1944 1951 1966 1978 2000 2006
the years we won Football All Irelands
4 Minor
2 Senior
2 U 21
2 Junior.
I believe we are one of only about 6 Counties who have won more than 1 All Ireland at the four Grades of Football.
As far as I know - Kerry Galway Mayo Cork Meath Dublin - maybe Tyrone and Down?? have equalled our feat.

Anyhow, Kingdom, you could be right, laois backline is very weak though, as proved against Carlow, but ramsbottom in midfield and that other fella with a weird surname in the forwards is savage. However if mckeague plays well he will limit him, savage player and i hope he becomes so at senior level. I do fear our backline isn't anywhere near as strong as our forward line. Its a bit sad also to be looking up to kids for glory, but still its very difficult to win 2 all ireland minor titles in a row, prolly more so than a senior all ireland so heres hoping.

OneRedArmy, its totally unfair, and why there is no point in having so many matches in croke park as the dubs would sell it out anyhow. Why they didnt play a few of those matches somewhere else or play the DUblin v Derry in clones ( more than fair and we know the dubs dont like to travel :p leaving more tickets for derry ) then play 2 or 3 matches in croker to bump up the numbers baffles me. Instead the dubs who would sell out most grounds at this stage, will get a load of tickets for croker and leave a sh1te atmosphere for the other games as they wont arrive till 15 mins after everyone else ( Derry fans having travelled 3 hours further than them and all ).

Aberdonian Stu
01/08/2007, 9:33 AM
Where did you see that 65,000 figure? Seriously where?

My old lad organises the tickets for our club and it's not a small club and I know we're going to be struggling ticket wise as we have with every game this season.

01/08/2007, 9:37 AM
Kerry v Monaghan
Derry v Dublin
Tyrone v Meath
Cork v Sligo

One upset there but hoping for more!!!