View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Sumac
15/06/2007, 1:53 PM
Early days in the GAA Football and Hurling Championships. So who do you think will win it.

Football

Ulster - Tyrone
Leinster - Laois
Munster - Kerry
Connacht - Galway

All Ireland - Armagh
Runners-up - Kerry

Hurling

Leinster - Killkenny
Munster - Tipperary

All Ireland - Kilkenny
Runners-up - Waterford

Louth4sam
15/06/2007, 2:52 PM
Football

Ulster - Donegal
Leinster - Dublin
Munster - Kerry
Connacht - Galway

All Ireland - Kerry
Runners-up - Dublin

ollie
15/06/2007, 5:10 PM
Football

Ulster - Donegal
Leinster - Laois
Munster - Cork
Connacht - Galway

All Ireland - Cork (heart ruling my head a bit here but i believe theres an AI in them)
Runners-up - Donegal

Hurling

Leinster - Killkenny
Munster - Waterford

All Ireland - Waterford
Runners-up - Kilkenny

16/06/2007, 8:22 AM
Jayz, Tipp are very poor Sumac.

16/06/2007, 6:08 PM
Jayz, Tipp are very poor Sumac.

Limerick are defending better so far anyway

* jesus i shouldn't have jinxed us like that

16/06/2007, 6:26 PM
do you guys think Laois have a chance of upsetting the odds this year in Leinster?

Tyrone/Donegal will be very interesting tomorrow.

L37Ultra
16/06/2007, 8:45 PM
Well done Limerick, proof that we have the most passionate players in Ireland!! cant wait till next saturday in the gaelic grounds

L37Ultra
16/06/2007, 8:48 PM
Football

Ulster - Armagh
Leinster - Dublin
Munster - Kerry
Connacht - Galway

All Ireland - Dublin
Runners-up - Kerry

Hurling

Leinster - Killkenny
Munster - Cork

All Ireland - Kilkenny
Runners-up - Limerick

gilberto_eire
16/06/2007, 9:04 PM
Football

Ulster - Donegal
Leinster -
Munster - Kerry
Connacht - Galway

All Ireland - Galway(and you'd be stupid not to lump on us at the price)
Runners-up - Donegal

Hurling

Leinster - Killkenny
Munster - Tipperary

All Ireland - Galway
Runners-up - Kilkenny

lim abroad
16/06/2007, 9:41 PM
richie bennis' interview after the limk-tipp game was nothing short of hilarious

17/06/2007, 2:13 AM
Early days in the GAA Football and Hurling Championships. So who do you think will win it.

Football

Ulster - Tyrone
Leinster - Laois
Munster - Kerry
Connacht - Galway

All Ireland - Armagh
Runners-up - Kerry

Gonna show myself to be totally out of touch with GAA, but you have Tyrone winning Ulster, yet Armagh winning the All-Ireland. How does that work?

As far as I remember, only 1 county per province (in football, unless they now have a backdoor system also).

17/06/2007, 3:14 AM
I was in Thurles tonight, at half time we (semi-jokingly) discussed leaving!!
Some comeback, both in normal and extra time.
Oddly enough the last time I was at a Limerick game in Thurles we looked like getting hockeyed early on and came back to draw!!

finlma
17/06/2007, 10:27 AM
All Ireland - Kilkenny
Runners-up - Limerick

Haha - Limerick don't have a chance.

2 pretty average teams played out a pair of draws. Neither will even get close to winning the Munster final.

Galway are the dark horses this year. The only team that will challenge us.

Hurling: Kilkenny
Football: Donegal

17/06/2007, 11:32 AM
I didn't catch all the match last night but who else thinks Tipp threw it away? They're turning into the Dubs now.

Ceirtlis
17/06/2007, 12:55 PM
I didn't catch all the match last night but who else thinks Tipp threw it away? They're turning into the Dubs now.

Ya Tipp bottled it twice in normal and extra time. 10 points up with about 15-20 minutes to go still managed to draw even though they had Limerick pretty much underwraps all game. Then in extra time were ahead for most of it but still managed to be caught on the line although having said that Limerick should never have got the 65 at the end. It was a classical case of the benefit of the doubt going to the team that was behind. I think Tipp are the better team but cant kill off a determined limerick team. Maybe Ger Loughnane is right that Babs Keating day in management has come and gone.

17/06/2007, 2:04 PM
Then in extra time were ahead for most of it but still managed to be caught on the line although having said that Limerick should never have got the 65 at the end. It was a classical case of the benefit of the doubt going to the team that was behind.

Agreed but it happens constantly in the GAA

Couple of points in it with a couple of minutes left?? Shur feck it we'll call it a draw, another big payday, everybody's happy :rolleyes:

Also anybody notice how the GAA have been under-estimating the crowds all year?? That 27k yesterday was at least 32k-35k. Similarily the official attendance given of 26k at the first game was laughable.

I wonder are their figures put under half as much examination as Eircom League clubs??

Cash on the stiles ;):rolleyes:

Monkfish
17/06/2007, 6:21 PM
Ya Tipp bottled it twice in normal and extra time. 10 points up with about 15-20 minutes to go still managed to draw even though they had Limerick pretty much underwraps all game. Then in extra time were ahead for most of it but still managed to be caught on the line although having said that Limerick should never have got the 65 at the end. It was a classical case of the benefit of the doubt going to the team that was behind. I think Tipp are the better team but cant kill off a determined limerick team. Maybe Ger Loughnane is right that Babs Keating day in management has come and gone.

I agree with most of that, Tipp looked the better team all game, another inconsistant Ref (from the town end terrace anyway) id say we wouldnt have got that 65 at the end if it wasent for John lahey, thanks John!!!

gilberto_eire
17/06/2007, 6:25 PM
Agreed but it happens constantly in the GAA

Couple of points in it with a couple of minutes left?? Shur feck it we'll call it a draw, another big payday, everybody's happy :rolleyes:

Also anybody notice how the GAA have been under-estimating the crowds all year?? That 27k yesterday was at least 32k-35k. Similarily the official attendance given of 26k at the first game was laughable.

I wonder are their figures put under half as much examination as Eircom League clubs??

Cash on the stiles ;):rolleyes:

what did ya count them all yourself??

17/06/2007, 6:54 PM
what did ya count them all yourself??

The Ground Capacity at Semple Stadium is 55,000

The Ground Capacity in Limerick is 52,000*

Look at the tapes. Do they look just over half full to you ;)

*or 49,000 I forget which but either way my point stands

17/06/2007, 9:55 PM
Football- Tyrone
Hurling- Kilkenny

18/06/2007, 6:11 AM
A bit late seeing this thread.

Football.
Munster Kerry
Connaght Galway
Leinster Laois
Ulster Derry (Would have said Donegal before yesterday)

Sam Kerry
R/Up Galway

Hurling
Munster Waterford
Leinster Kilkenny

All Ireland Waterford
R/Up Kilkenny

18/06/2007, 7:57 AM
Tyrone were brilliant yesterday. I think a team from Ulster will win the Sam this year and not necessarily Tyrone but still early days. Donegal was getting the hype treatment before yesterday and looked what happened! I imagine Dublin will the big write up hereonin but I have my doubts they can make an impression once they get to the Q finals and beyond.

Sumac
18/06/2007, 8:15 AM
Gonna show myself to be totally out of touch with GAA, but you have Tyrone winning Ulster, yet Armagh winning the All-Ireland. How does that work?

As far as I remember, only 1 county per province (in football, unless they now have a backdoor system also).

There is a back-door system in both football and hurling, so even though Armagh have already been beaten, I think they could go a long way through the qualifiers.
Having said that, after yeasterday, I think Tyrone are now th efavourites. I thought all the injuries would be too much for them

18/06/2007, 8:55 AM

Hey, they have the Internet on computers now:confused: :D

Backdoor/Qualifier system was introduced to the football championship in 2001.:)

18/06/2007, 9:42 AM
Hey, they have the Internet on computers now

LOL. that post is quality. :D

18/06/2007, 9:55 AM
LOL. that post is quality. :D

Unlike Roscommon yesterday :)

18/06/2007, 11:17 AM
draw for qualifiers is gonna be interesting. Open draw this season so potential for a big clash in round 1.

18/06/2007, 11:53 AM
Unlike Roscommon yesterday

3 points up and we still lose by 2 points....terrible. what was the match like( was in rome so didnt hear or read about it )? I didnt think you like Gaelic gustavo - or was it just to get one in at me ;)? supposedly we were pure sh1te. Hope ye beat galway though, hate those shower of arrogant CTs. Eamon o'hara deserves a connaught title.

18/06/2007, 1:03 PM
All Ireland Waterford
R/Up Kilkenny

Would be great if it happened. My mother was from Waterford (Lismore) and my cousins played in the county team but Waterford don't win All Irelands alas. They won the league ok this year so perhaps a miracle is on the cards - I saw them lose to Clare in a semi-final a few years back (my first visit to Croke Park since the Primary School games donkey's years ago) but hope springs eternal.

18/06/2007, 1:23 PM
3 points up and we still lose by 2 points....terrible. what was the match like( was in rome so didnt hear or read about it )? I didnt think you like Gaelic gustavo - or was it just to get one in at me ;)? supposedly we were pure sh1te. Hope ye beat galway though, hate those shower of arrogant CTs. Eamon o'hara deserves a connaught title.

I dont mind the gaelic at all , Always like to see Sligo do well , it was probaly just to get one in at you yes:)
Roscommon were poor apparently , we were first to every ball in the 2nd half , could have and should have won by more yea i hope we win it for the likes of O'Hara McGuire and Davey who have been trying for a decade and more.

Roadend
18/06/2007, 2:09 PM
Would be great if it happened. My mother was from Waterford (Lismore) and my cousins played in the county team but Waterford don't win All Irelands alas. They won the league ok this year so perhaps a miracle is on the cards - I saw them lose to Clare in a semi-final a few years back (my first visit to Croke Park since the Primary School games donkey's years ago) but hope springs eternal.

If they met Cork again, its very likely that cork would turn them over.

Torn-Ado
18/06/2007, 3:10 PM

envy is a deadly sin you know ;)

18/06/2007, 3:34 PM
roscommon's performance yesterday was the worst i've ever in my life.great comeback by sligo after an absolutely awful 1st half

Ceirtlis
18/06/2007, 5:59 PM
If they met Cork again, its very likely that cork would turn them over.

Very possible alright. Cork were practically missing their whole defence but still almost got a draw yesterday. I dont think Waterford are any better than they were in the last few years when they have always fallen short up in Croke Park and with some of their older fellas pushing on i dont think they will get to the final this year either.

gilberto_eire
18/06/2007, 6:10 PM

we dont like ye either............. but ye still move here as much as ye hate us!!

danonion
19/06/2007, 2:18 AM
Monaghan for Ulster!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

19/06/2007, 9:47 AM
we dont like ye either............. but ye still move here as much as ye hate us!!

I don't.

gilberto_eire
22/06/2007, 12:09 AM
I don't.

ya well i had the un-fortunate luck of living in mayo for 3yrs and even all the ones who ''hate galway'' still come up and live here, ive seen quite a few. ye'r all the same ye despise us but yet ye all come here for one thing or another...but hay its not our fault ye havent won an all-ireland since 55 even though thats the only sport ye play...no need to hate us cause were better at everything

22/06/2007, 7:10 AM
ya well i had the un-fortunate luck of living in mayo for 3yrs and even all the ones who ''hate galway'' still come up and live here, ive seen quite a few. ye'r all the same ye despise us but yet ye all come here for one thing or another...but hay its not our fault ye havent won an all-ireland since 55 even though thats the only sport ye play...no need to hate us cause were better at everything

bit of a generalization.

Every Mayo man I know wanted Galway to win the Sam in 2001, 2000 and 98. Why because it was good for Connaught. Can I say the same about Galway fans when Mayo were gunning for it? Can I ****. One Galway **** I know said he'd rather see England win the world cup than Mayo ever win the Sam again!!!!!!

Sumac
22/06/2007, 9:55 AM
All galway people want mayo to win the football All-Ireland and Tipperary to win the hurling All-Ireland;)

22/06/2007, 10:20 AM

I'm not from Mayo!!!!

RogerMilla
22/06/2007, 1:15 PM

no one hates galway in mayo , they probably just hated you

MyTown
22/06/2007, 2:18 PM
Hope ye beat galway though, hate those shower of arrogant CTs.

Paul,

Do you never miss an opportunity to treat us to your anti-Galway bile?

The great thing about last summer where I live was that thanks to the World Cup, flags from Brazil and Poland FAR FAR outnumbered the natives from Roscommon trying their peculiar brand of one upmanship on us native Galwegians.

Your well deserved All-Ireland minor triumph unleashed new sightings of your county colours, not least from one of my neighbours, who was so cocky last weekend he managed to get his flag out on Friday evening. Funny it was gone by tea time on Sunday ‘though.:)

Your nasty sentiments and attitude towards us are fairly typical of your native insecurity and insularity. While we have been – so far- spared a spell from yourself in our city and county, many of your fellow countymen and women are happy to come and take what they can out of here economically while moaning incessantly about the traffic, the hospitals, and how unfair it is that Galway gets everything.

Your usual anti-Galway snipes such as this one shows what a tolerant and balanced individual you are – a chip on each shoulder.

Maybe megabucks Mulryan, (you know the Roscommon property magnate who owns a share of Sunderland) will send some of his helcopter fleet to transport all those anti-Galway Roscommon natives who rely on the county for their livelihoods back to the aul sod?

Now for my top five people from Roscommon:

Dermot Earley – who couldn’t wait to get to Kildare
Brian Carthy – who couldn’t wait to get to Dublin
Luke Flanagan aka Ming the Merciless – who couldn’t wait to get to Galway
John Waters – who couldn’t wait to get to Dublin
Paul O’Shea – ah well it’s obvious isn’t it……..?

Jiving at the Crossroads? You’re not joking.:rolleyes:

22/06/2007, 2:32 PM
just to add a few to that list:

douglas hyde
johnathan swift
oscar wildes father
the woman from the first tarzan! she was hot too......

to name but a few off the top of my head. im sure there is more. who is brian carty by the way.

unfortunately most rossies arent as well travelled as myself MyTown, and hence their insecurities etc brings them to galway......thats why they fit in so well and more importantly why they stay there.

ah well, good post all the same. Unfortunately I dont have the same amount of time to respond to posts, if i had I might be able to offer/formulate some form of a response....alas time is of the essence, unlike all the crusties up around your part of the world.

MyTown
22/06/2007, 2:57 PM
who is brian carty by the way.

:D Are you serious? A Roscommon native posts on a GAA thread and doesn't know who Brian Carthy is? Well - AFAIK, he's a Strokestown native with a very distinct nasal twang who gets the second string GAA gigs on RTE radio at the weekend and rarely lets a commentary go by without mentioning the great Jimmy Murray who led Roscommon to back-to-back All Ireland titles in......when was it again? Oh yea - the 1940s!

unfortunately most rossies arent as well travelled as myself MyTown, and hence their insecurities etc brings them to galway......thats why they fit in so well and more importantly why they stay there..

About as lame a come back as your boys managed in 'The Hyde' last Sunday.

alas time is of the essence, unlike all the crusties up around your part of the world.

Well you're nothing if not consistent. You could be right 'though - there's a serious amount of weekend parole from Castlerea.:D

22/06/2007, 3:09 PM
About as lame a come back as your boys managed in 'The Hyde' last Sunday.

it wasnt meant to be a comeback.

i dont listen to the radio as i am out of the country - on a permanent basis. I may have heard him but not realised!

crusties dont make it even as far as jail, they get to galway and thats far enough.

RogerMilla
22/06/2007, 3:59 PM
lads in fairness how could any of us have anything against the other connaught counties ? any fella who wouldnt cheer for another western team needs to have a right look at himself

gilberto_eire
22/06/2007, 4:05 PM
bit of a generalization.

Every Mayo man I know wanted Galway to win the Sam in 2001, 2000 and 98. Why because it was good for Connaught. Can I say the same about Galway fans when Mayo were gunning for it? Can I ****. One Galway **** I know said he'd rather see England win the world cup than Mayo ever win the Sam again!!!!!!

I'm not from Mayo!!!!

no one hates galway in mayo , they probably just hated you

well i was living in mayo frm 99-02 so i was there when we lost/won- 00/01 and no they didnt want us to win it actually, ive experienced it at 1st hand as ive lived there so i think i know what im talking about....what mayomen said they'd like to see us win??.... cause ppl IN mayo didnt and hate us...and frm all the ppl i know who used to ''hate'' galway ive seen LOADS of them up here college/work/shopping etc....

ur not frm mayo??... well thats what your location says though.... roscommon so??.... didnt know ye didnt like us, not our fault ye'r county is terrible no need to envy us!!. another user of the word ''crusty'' you do know thats an american phrase btw. looks to sligo for his insults and mayo for his accomadation just frm what i can see here..... god your a real patriot to roscommon.

your very funny roger milla......crawl back under the rock frm which u appeared good man!!:rolleyes:

22/06/2007, 4:12 PM
ur not frm mayo??... well thats what your location says though.... roscommon so??.... didnt know ye didnt like us, not our fault ye'r county is terrible no need to envy us!!.

gilberto i didnt mean to confuse you, location doesnt necessarily have to mean where you are from/living/born etc, but it could mean one ;)
ah gilberto i love galway really, its a love-hate relationship.

Galway is great....:

If you are a hippy
If you are a crusty
If you want to be one of the above
If you dont have to worry about time, getting something done on time, the effects of time or generally anything
to do with time
If you are a college student who wants to study "how to be a hippy" - arts -
If you are a person that wears a shirt, trousers and shoes every time they plan on going out, just in case
they plan to go to a niteclub afterwards
If you always wear "shoes" when going out
If you are planning on going out to a niteclub ensuring there is no big group of lads(i.e. more than 2) or that you leave it too late i.e.
anything after 12.30.
If you like to go for a fight after a night out after getting your chips
If you look down your nose at anyone from "outside " Da Town.
If you think "galway is the best city, man" , no place as good - pre-requisite having travelled as far as dublin or
limerick previouslly
If you are on a stag/hen and want to get ****ed and not walk far
If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and think because tourists or stags crack onto you, that you are inevitably hot when you are really a minger
If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and you are stuck up and you are a minger
If you think Supermac's is haute cuisine,
If you've never heard of "haute cuisine",
If you want to pronounce Galway 'Gaulway'

the list is endless but thats just a quick few i was thinking of.

gilberto_eire
22/06/2007, 4:22 PM
gilberto i didnt mean to confuse you, location doesnt necessarily have to mean where you are from/living/born etc, but it could mean one ;)
ah gilberto i love galway really, its a love-hate relationship.

Galway is great....:

If you are a hippy
If you are a crusty
If you want to be one of the above
If you dont have to worry about time, getting something done on time, the effects of time or generally anything
to do with time
If you are a college student who wants to study "how to be a hippy" - arts -
If you are a person that wears a shirt, trousers and shoes every time they plan on going out, just in case
they plan to go to a niteclub afterwards
If you always wear "shoes" when going out
If you are planning on going out to a niteclub ensuring there is no big group of lads(i.e. more than 2) or that you leave it too late i.e.
anything after 12.30.
If you like to go for a fight after a night out after getting your chips
If you look down your nose at anyone from "outside " Da Town.
If you think "galway is the best city, man" , no place as good - pre-requisite having travelled as far as dublin or
limerick previouslly
If you are on a stag/hen and want to get ****ed and not walk far
If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and think because tourists or stags crack onto you, that you are inevitably hot when you are really a minger
If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and you are stuck up and you are a minger
If you think Supermac's is haute cuisine,
If you've never heard of "haute cuisine",
If you want to pronounce Galway 'Gaulway'

the list is endless but thats just a quick few i was thinking of.

im convinced you have to be a hermit!!:confused:
you dont have a clue about the outside world.
your views on places in modern ireland are quite disturbing and you should seek medical help IMMEDIATELY!!.
i was just waiting for you to say things like.......i wont even go there actually for the sake of us all!!.
remind me not to visit where your actually frm and cross the street if i see you....''sorry mate aint got no change''