View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

12/08/2007, 6:38 PM
It's losing a world cup penalty shot out type pain.

I don't know about the ref, I'm biased so I thought every 50/50 decision went to Kerry and he would have to be looking elsewhere when there was a flying boot into the face at a crucial time. No use moaning about that. Monaghan had their chances to equalize
The game had plenty of hits and Kerry took it well, it's only some of their supporters when they do come out of their caves do all the whining. This Kerry team are disciplined and sporting. The game never looked at any time that it would flare up, a credit to both teams. Real manly hits with none of this handbag shíte and diving around.

Rovers fan
12/08/2007, 7:01 PM
didnt think kerry got all the decisions. they could have had a lot of frees in the 1st half that werent given. im a bit dissapointed for waterford,especially for the likes of shanahan and mcgrath, it looks like its kilkennys all ireland now. kerry and dublin will be a great game, i can see kerry lifting themselves for it.

Torn-Ado
12/08/2007, 8:16 PM
Great game of hurling. Limerick were outstanding. Hopefully they can go on and win the all Ireland now.

danonion
12/08/2007, 10:59 PM
Im completely gutted. If they hadda been hammered it would be easier. Monaghan were the better team and the officiating maybe could have been better. Either way we should have put them away. I'm sick we arent through the semis. Gaelic is a funny game and I don't know if the team can build on this. We might not have a late summer in 2008

noby
13/08/2007, 12:07 AM
Great game of hurling.

Are you mental? Obvioulsly I'm bitter because Waterford lost, but it was far from a great game. Waterford took 25mins before they got going, so deserved to lose, but Limerick just spoiled the second half as that suited their tactics. Fair play to Limerick, and I hope they finish the job now, but that was a world away from a great game.

Roadend
13/08/2007, 9:06 AM
It was very exciting if not the most skillful game in the world. Waterford should have taken more points instead going for goals at times. Wayward shooting from the half backs and midfield killed them.

13/08/2007, 10:21 AM
It was very exciting if not the most skillful game in the world. Waterford should have taken more points instead going for goals at times. Wayward shooting from the half backs and midfield killed them.

it is and it isnt, to the untrained eye some of the stuff that went on yesterday looked like a load of grannys running round with their walking sticks....still 2 points in 25 mins is not going to get you anywhere near an all-ireland or for that matter 5 goals.....its not going to happen against kilkenny.

Monaghan, unfortunately were not good enough to equalise, in any other game where the team is good enough they equalise, ref blows up and the gaa get another replay and lots of money for that big black well or coffers as its otherwise known :) Having said that, the corner forward for monaghan had a clear chance but the dope panicked and shot to early, if he had settled himself ( lack of experience maybe ) he would have pointed it. great game of football all the same. Dublin i reckon will be too up for it against kerry and will win. Meath v Dublin final.

Torn-Ado
13/08/2007, 11:13 AM
Are you mental? Obvioulsly I'm bitter because Waterford lost, but it was far from a great game. Waterford took 25mins before they got going, so deserved to lose, but Limerick just spoiled the second half as that suited their tactics. Fair play to Limerick, and I hope they finish the job now, but that was a world away from a great game.

It was damn exciting with plenty of goals. I was happy.

:cool:

13/08/2007, 11:52 AM
Monaghan, unfortunately were not good enough to equalise, in any other game where the team is good enough they equalise, ref blows up and the gaa get another replay and lots of money for that big black well or coffers as its otherwise known :) Having said that, the corner forward for monaghan had a clear chance but the dope panicked and shot to early, if he had settled himself ( lack of experience maybe ) he would have pointed it. great game of football all the same. Kerry were fortunate that that chance fell to the guy who had gotten the flying boot in his face a minute earlier who probably still didn't know where he was with triple vision, he was subbed immediatly.
Monaghan have finished strongly in all their games up to yesterday but
all those previous hard games took their toll on Monaghan in the last 10 minutes whereas Kerry were still fresh as a daisy.

13/08/2007, 11:58 AM
ya there are two sides to that though, one could say that kerry were ring-rusty and werent at their best geysir.....anyhow im not taking away from monaghan i was hoping they would win, but they just didnt have enough in the end.

13/08/2007, 12:03 PM
I just hate Kerry winning the bloody thing nearly every year!!! Monaghan had em there for the taking but stumbled at the finishing line.

Will be interesting to see how they cope with the Dubs though. The hype starts now......

13/08/2007, 12:33 PM
Paul, don't believe the ring rusty bit. The Kerry trainer in the days before the game said no way would it be an issue, the players had been training hard and had plenty of competitive club games going on, they were match sharp enough to satisfy his criteria.
Ring rusty doesn't hide that
Kerry tactically were naive pumping high balls to Donaghy.
Monaghan workrate and pressure disrupted Kerry's attempts to play quality.
Kerry dug deep, fresh quality from the bench, only got their game going when Monaghan burnt out 10 minutes from the end, 4 tough Ulster games had kicked in on a team which was renowned for fitness levels previously.

13/08/2007, 12:41 PM
I just hate Kerry winning the bloody thing nearly every year!!! Monaghan had em there for the taking but stumbled at the finishing line.

Will be interesting to see how they cope with the Dubs though. The hype starts now......

If the Dubs can play for 70 minutes instead of their usual 60 they have every chance of winning. There is no use playing great football for an hour and fading in the last 10 minutes as Kerry proved yesterday. Kerry kept pegging away and were always in touch despite how well Monaghan played. When it came to the last 10 minutes and Monaghan lost their shape, Kerry took advantage.

The other advantage that Kerry has is they have good players on the bench, probably better in depth than Dublin. The 2 O'Sullivans, Brian Sheehan and Tom Griffin had a big influence in the last 10 minutes.

13/08/2007, 12:57 PM
Paul, don't believe the ring rusty bit. The Kerry trainer in the days before the game said no way would it be an issue, the players had been training hard and had plenty of competitive club games going on, they were match sharp enough to satisfy his criteria.

ah everyone knows the step up from club to intercounty is huge. Plus no matter how well trained and conditioned you are, ye cant compare to actually playing a game geysir, and 6 weeks without playing together is a very long time.

I dont think it was to do with monaghan having a load of games moreso that they gave their all for 60 mins and werent able to keep to that level for the whole game, it shows the effort though required to beat kerry.

13/08/2007, 3:01 PM
I'm agreed on one thing, nothing could have prepared Kerry for meeting face to face with Monaghan except maybe running backwards up Croagh Patricks in their wellies.

Monkfish
14/08/2007, 5:19 AM
Lads, with this business of every club in the country getting all Ireland final tickets i thought id ask if any of you come across a ticket with your local clubs or otherwise will you give me a shout, thanks.

mon_cutie07
14/08/2007, 8:45 AM
monaghan were the better team should have won. they played very well and have done our county proud. as for kerry they were terrrible, played very bad. well done lads!!! ya never kno we mite make it nxt year.

mon_cutie07
14/08/2007, 8:45 AM
Lads, with this business of every club in the country getting all Ireland final tickets i thought id ask if any of you come across a ticket with your local clubs or otherwise will you give me a shout, thanks.

nah:p

14/08/2007, 8:49 AM
monaghan were the better team should have won. they played very well and have done our county proud. as for kerry they were terrrible, played very bad. well done lads!!! ya never kno we mite make it nxt year.

NO, you didnt, if you had you would have won. Kerry kept close enough throughout without over exerting themselves. As much as I would have liked to see monaghan win, kerry were the better team and they won fairly. Monaghan just didnt have/do enough to win it.

14/08/2007, 11:36 AM
Sure, but Kerry had to dig deep, they brought on the quality subs.
Kerry experience and craft won them out. If Kerry had not that overall quality they would have been dead and buried.
As for Kerry playing shíte, I dont agree, there are not many teams in the country who could have overcome Monaghan, a top 8 team in form, on Sunday the way Kerry did.

14/08/2007, 12:01 PM
i never said they did, i assume you are talking to mon_cutie there. kerry did enough to win it.

btw did anyone hear whelan say " we had to do a job against derry and we did that job" . it annoys me on two fronts using soccer parlance in gaelic and the fact they were obviouslly being cocky in that they had one eye in the semi-final. I heard that out of context so maybe it was meant in terms of the second half but if not its not on.

14/08/2007, 12:15 PM
It's the commentators who drive me demented with their cute expressions, strangely enough it's the soccer commentator, Maloney, who does the best commentary.

Monkfish
14/08/2007, 5:01 PM
All credit to Mon they deserved to win but have to say i thought Kerry were poor on the day (Cooper and Russell come to mind) they seemed to be lumping the ball again and again into the box hoping for it to break to one of their players, only when they started taking their points in the last 10 mins did they take the lead. Still its a sign of a good team if they played like that and still beat a very good Monaghan side, acually there was periods of the Munster final were they were poor aswell but i think the fact they didnt panic and their experience and confidence have seen them through.

Thats just the opinion of someone who aint mad about the sport tbh:)

14/08/2007, 5:58 PM
NO, you didnt, if you had you would have won. Kerry kept close enough throughout without over exerting themselves. As much as I would have liked to see monaghan win, kerry were the better team and they won fairly. Monaghan just didnt have/do enough to win it.

yeah i agree 100% with that
Kerry actually played very well in the last 10 mins.....when they were under pressure........as they always do when they have to play
otherwise they are like galway and Cork, in that they cant be ar sed to play unless they are under extreme pressure, which they werent really

But fair play to Monaghan they played well, and im sure they will be around again

still think Kerry will win the all ireland:)

14/08/2007, 6:28 PM
yeah i agree 100% with that

...oh look a blue moon, oh and theirs a pig flying.....;)

14/08/2007, 7:19 PM
I would just like to point out, poor consolation I know,
Vincent Corey was player of the month last month and this month the accolade went to Tommy Freeman.
Tommy had taken off a cast on his arm in order to play on Sunday.

Not to mention the burly Rory Woods, awarded the MOM on Sunday.
A scrap of comfort in the recognition.

Rovers fan
14/08/2007, 9:49 PM
If the Dubs can play for 70 minutes instead of their usual 60 they have every chance of winning.

i think thats complete bull everybody saying dublin are having bad patches in games. no team can possibly dominate a game for a full 70 minutes. Sure didnt monaghan lead kerry 1-2 to 0-1. if that was dublin everybdy would have been sh1teing on about how dublin had drifted out of a game once again. i dont buy any of that bull.

Monkfish
14/08/2007, 10:51 PM
nah:p

Thanks pal, guess you'll keep the ticket for yourself seeing as we're now your adopted county!;)

14/08/2007, 11:43 PM
i think thats complete bull everybody saying dublin are having bad patches in games. no team can possibly dominate a game for a full 70 minutes. Sure didnt monaghan lead kerry 1-2 to 0-1. if that was dublin everybdy would have been sh1teing on about how dublin had drifted out of a game once again. i dont buy any of that bull.

Not sure if you actually watched the game on Saturday but with about 10 minutes to go Dublin led by 0-18 to 0-11. They let Derry back into the game by conceding the last four points of the game. In that same period, Eoin Bradley forced two great saves from Stephen Cluxton and Barry Cahill blocked a goal bound effort from Paddy Bradley. A game Dublin should have had wrapped up, they could have easily lost.

You might also remember last year's semi-final against Mayo, when Dublin led by 7 points after 45 minutes. 10 minutes later they were 1 point down after Mayo scored 1-5 without Dublin scoring. Dublin lost.

When Dublin played Tyrone in the League in the first floodlight game at Croke Park back in February, at half time, after 35 minutes Dublin were 0-7 to 0-2 ahead, after 55 minutes they were 0-9 to 0-8 down. Tyrone got 6 of the last 7 points scored. Dublin lost.

If those three examples are not bad patches, fading out of a game or switching off or whatever you want to call it, then I don't know what is.

Like it or not, Dublin have a tendency to do this. You might think it is 'bull', but if they have any spells like this against Kerry, Dublin will lose.

Rovers fan
15/08/2007, 1:05 AM
but you could say the same for any team if you were looking back over the last year or so. mayo 1st half against kerry in all ireland final, galway 2nd half gainst sligo this year. etc etc etc.

15/08/2007, 11:16 AM
I'd agree with Superhoops, Dublin are an exception, when Dublin turn off they go into some dead zone. It's inexplicable, one long period they are supreme, game won no question, then some form of paralysis sets in.
The 2 certainties about recent GAA championships, the Dublin dormant phase and a Mayo AIF performance.
I'd expect that the Kerry game plan has to change with Donaghy, possibly play a role like O'Rourke effectivly did for Meath against Tyrone.

mon_cutie07
15/08/2007, 12:48 PM
Thanks pal, guess you'll keep the ticket for yourself seeing as we're now your adopted county!;)

hmm maybe, maybe not, have to see what happens!!;)
adopted? wouldnt go that far:p

Marked Man
15/08/2007, 3:49 PM
I don't think Saturday's performance is comparable to Dublin collapses in previous years. 7 points down with 10 minutes left, Derry always needed a goal, and the fact that they had earlier been unable to convert two good chances didn't help their case. Moreover, Dublin showed both this weekend and during the Leinster final that they are excellent at defending their goal.
I suppose it could have backfired, but you never really got the feeling that Dublin were going to lose this one; it was always more of a case of job done, wind down.

15/08/2007, 11:36 PM
...oh look a blue moon, oh and theirs a pig flying.....;)

funny, but really it was that good:)

16/08/2007, 11:12 AM
it was always more of a case of job done, wind down.Was it really? Tell that to the screaming Dubs sitting beside me who couldn't watch when Derry had the goal chances at the end.

I'm not sure you can describe a team who were only one blocked goal chance away from not winning it as having "the job done".

The game SHOULD'VE been over, but Dublin's inherent psychological flaws mean't that they nearly cocked it up.

Typical post-fact rationalisation....

16/08/2007, 12:02 PM
The game SHOULD'VE been over, but Dublin's inherent psychological flaws mean't that they nearly cocked it up.

Typical post-fact rationalisation....

or arrogance? ;)

Docboy
16/08/2007, 2:53 PM
On a different tack did anyone notice the Monaghan player laughing & pushing Donaghy twice when he shot wide of the goal in the 2nd half. Had a wry smile on my face thinking of the headlines if a Dub had the temerity to do that.

Marked Man
16/08/2007, 4:13 PM
Certainly not arrogance; I've been watching the Dubs far too long to feel arrogant about them. The fact is, they won by 3 pulling up. Yes, they tuned out towards the end, but that was at least in part due to Caffrey making a rake of subs. Why did he do this? Because the game was won.

Mayo last year was very different--their comeback started with goals (similarly the disastrous second half start against Kildare in the Leinster final back a few years ago). Those goals rattled Dublin.
Now if Derry had taken one of their earlier goal chances, Dublin would probably not have had a 7 point lead going into the last ten, and we would have seen a very different last few minutes (of course, if we hadn't had that lead, we wouldn't have switched off...). But Derry didn't take those chances, and they just weren't going to come back into the game.

In any event, I think this whole "switching off" will be irrelevant come Sunday week, as Dublin only switch off when they have a big lead, and it's highly unlikely that they'll find themselves in any such situation in the semi.

Marked Man
16/08/2007, 4:14 PM
By the way, ORA, you must be looking forward to a handy day out on Sunday, since, as you mentioned earlier in the thread, Leinster football is muck.

16/08/2007, 4:23 PM
By the way, ORA, you must be looking forward to a handy day out on Sunday, since, as you mentioned earlier in the thread, Leinster football is muck.Ulster football is also muck, and has been for the last few years since Armagh and Tyrone started to decline.

Difference is that you didn't get any Derry fans labouring under the impression we were world beaters. QF was as far as we deserved and we got there and came away with a respectable result.

You've had 3 handy provincial championships in a row and have done nothing of note, despite having a ridiculous home advantage in almost every game (still complaining about being made to go to Longford?).

Face it, the Dubs recent record is pitiful.

I actually like the football Dublin play when they are on form, very fast paced and good to watch, but I still think Caffrey is a poor tactician and the psychological backbone is missing from a lot of the players.

Go ahead and win Sam and prove me wrong!

Marked Man
16/08/2007, 4:47 PM
Ulster football is also muck, and has been for the last few years since Armagh and Tyrone started to decline.

Difference is that you didn't get any Derry fans labouring under the impression we were world beaters. QF was as far as we deserved and we got there and came away with a respectable result.

You've had 3 handy provincial championships in a row and have done nothing of note, despite having a ridiculous home advantage in almost every game (still complaining about being made to go to Longford?).

Face it, the Dubs recent record is pitiful.

I actually like the football Dublin play when they are on form, very fast paced and good to watch, but I still think Caffrey is a poor tactician and the psychological backbone is missing from a lot of the players.

Go ahead and win Sam and prove me wrong!

Any Dublin fan who knows anything about the game will admit that Dublin's recent record is bad (2 wins in 24 years); pitiful seems a bit strong. We've only missed the quarters once since 2000, and are facing our third semi. We've been beaten only by the teams who, between them, have contested every final for the last five years (Armagh, Tyrone, Kerry, Mayo).
I would agree that Caffrey is questionable (moving Ryan out of m/f against Mayo last year and putting him in the back line essentially lost us the game), but I think he is getting better. He had to make positional changes in both the last two games, when (respectively) Laois and Derry started well against us. He reacted well.

btw, I'd love to know who are these Dubs who allegedly complain about going to games outside of Dublin? Everyone I know loves the day out.

16/08/2007, 5:21 PM
When a team like Derry perform the way they have been performing for years it's only natural that your supporters have minimal expectations.

It's a valid point though that competitive teams from recent years like Laois, Westmeath, Mayo, Galway, Armagh and Tyrone have dropped off the pace.
Marked Man, Dublin so far have done what was expected and did it handy enough. It's just that with all that dominance in the game against Derry and they were pulling up, Paddy Bradley a crafty class act, had a chance that 9/10 he would have put away.
I'm easy either way in this game but I expect the Kerry front line to show no such mercy in front of goal.
I hope it is a cracker.

booster 03
16/08/2007, 9:32 PM

" i cant make the semi final, but i hope to be off for the all ireland final".. john o shea in last sundays star!!

waterford and kilkenney final... michael duignan

"every man woman and child will hope waterford go on and beat kilkenney and win the all ireland".... gerald macarthy

it makes last sunday all the sweeter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
and to those of little faith in limerick who didnt travel to thurles and gaelic grounds in may, stay at home now again for the all ireland again please... so as not to hog the disgarceful amount of tickets distributed to the county board!!

16/08/2007, 11:31 PM
Certainly not arrogance; I've been watching the Dubs far too long to feel arrogant about them. The fact is, they won by 3 pulling up. Yes, they tuned out towards the end, but that was at least in part due to Caffrey making a rake of subs. Why did he do this? Because the game was won.

Mayo last year was very different--their comeback started with goals (similarly the disastrous second half start against Kildare in the Leinster final back a few years ago). Those goals rattled Dublin.Now if Derry had taken one of their earlier goal chances, Dublin would probably not have had a 7 point lead going into the last ten, and we would have seen a very different last few minutes (of course, if we hadn't had that lead, we wouldn't have switched off...). But Derry didn't take those chances, and they just weren't going to come back into the game.

In any event, I think this whole "switching off" will be irrelevant come Sunday week, as Dublin only switch off when they have a big lead, and it's highly unlikely that they'll find themselves in any such situation in the semi.

I think you have this wrong. In the game against Dublin last year Mayo only scored one goal (final score was 1-16 to 2-12).

At half time Mayo led 0-9 to 1-5. After five minutes of the second half, Dublin scored 1-4 without reply to lead by 2-9 to 0-9. Mayo got a point, then Dublin got 2 points to lead by seven points with only 10 minutes of the second half gone.

Then in a 10 minute spell, Dublin went comatose and Mayo scored 1-5 without Dublin scoring to lead by a point. Alan Brogan equalised for Dublin and from the kick-out McDonald got what proved to be the winning point for Mayo. That point by Brogan was Dublin's only score in the last 25 minutes.

Marked Man
16/08/2007, 11:48 PM
I think you have this wrong. In the game against Dublin last year Mayo only scored one goal (final score was 1-16 to 2-12).

At half time Mayo led 0-9 to 1-5. After five minutes of the second half, Dublin scored 1-4 without reply to lead by 2-9 to 0-9. Mayo got a point, then Dublin got 2 points to lead by seven points with only 10 minutes of the second half gone.

Then in a 10 minute spell, Dublin went comatose and Mayo scored 1-5 without Dublin scoring to lead by a point. Alan Brogan equalised for Dublin and from the kick-out McDonald got what proved to be the winning point for Mayo. That point by Brogan was Dublin's only score in the last 25 minutes.

Sorry, confused myself in that paragraph. I was thinking of the two games I mentioned (Kildare, Mayo) and the goals in those games. Didn't mean to say that Mayo scored more than one goal; only that Dublin collapses in big games have typically started with goals conceded.

17/08/2007, 8:53 AM
I still have that DVD of Mayo/Dublin last year!!! Just a pity we met Kerry in the final.....

17/08/2007, 9:31 AM
just a pity "we" werent good enough to beat the best. as usual.

Soko
17/08/2007, 6:11 PM
I still have that DVD of Mayo/Dublin last year!!! Just a pity we met Kerry in the final.....

Ye could have met a Junior B team and lost. Woeful would be a compliment

19/08/2007, 5:31 PM
Never any doubt that Meath would be favourites and hot favourites as well. They have too many big guns and a much stonger bench than Cork.

On the evidence of last Saturday what would make anyone think that Cork would beat Meath. The only danger to Meath winning is complacency and can't see Colm Coyle letting that happen. For Cork to have any chance they would have to raise their game by at least 20%, I dont think there are capable of that, and for Meath to lower their game by 20%, and I can't see that happening.

Meath to win comfortably by 6 or 7 points. At 8/11 with Paddy Power, I rate them a great bet.

How wrong can you get. :o

An embarrasing day for Leinster Football. The only hope now is that Dublin put one over on Kerry. I am not that confident they will. :(

It would be a poor reflection on GAA football if the All-Ireland final ends up being a repeat of the Munster final. You could just about stomach it in hurling but in football, desperately sad.

The thought of it is made even worse with the SKY fixtures that day, sh*te games; Watford v Southampton and Man.City v Villa :eek:

Torn-Ado
19/08/2007, 5:37 PM
I hope Dublin beat Kerry.

Just so we are not subjected to another Cork Kerry match.