View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

15/07/2007, 12:36 AM
Leinster Final tomorrow. Can't see the Dubs winning it though.:(

15/07/2007, 9:14 AM
I was wondering how bad a Mayo team who were hammered by a Galway team that couldn't beat Sligo were. Poor poor showing by O'Mahony's side this year. I don't know if it's the lack of McDonald or if the manager should just stick to the Dáil. As usual, Mayo's league form flatters to deceive.:(

Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 9:54 AM
i think mayo missed mc garrighty(cant spell his name) this year.

15/07/2007, 10:23 AM
he got testicular cancer didnt he the poor lad?

is your father upset stu? mayo are sh1te and bringing in a load of minors isnt the way forward....

dman, i think dublin could win it, everyone is saying that laois are better footballers but im not too sure they will be able handle the dubs today. The GAA love the DUBS :D

I see they haven't publicised the 4.15 kick off, so ye might get in there on time for once.....

15/07/2007, 11:29 AM
is your father upset stu? mayo are sh1te and bringing in a load of minors isnt the way forward....

Well he knew what was coming after the Galway game but it's still disappointing, we were looking forward to losing the All-Ireland final again this year. He's annoyed they swapped Moran for O'Mahony. Sure Mayo showed poorly in last season's final, but when have they done better than that in the last half century? Also, I know there was huge money donated to and spent by the county board last season, if that was the case this year then it'll be a lot of money wasted. To the best of my memory Mayo haven't done much at minor level for the last while? So the future could be a bit bleak.

15/07/2007, 5:41 PM
Well done to Derry - I hope they go far. I fancy Tyrone myself to win the Sam but Derry could be the dark horses.

We needed to blood the young lads during the league fixtures instead of relying on the old heads and it has come back to haunt us. Brady, O'Neill, Heaney and co have been great servants but are on the slide. I still think Kieran Mac has one or two seasons left in him if he can stay clear from injury. Whatever happens we need an all new back line with a bit of height and menace. Too many Mayo players are brushed off the ball with ease.

It's a long wait now till Jan 08 but my allegiance for this years Sam now goes to my missus' County - Tyrone!!!

Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 5:51 PM
dont think tyrone have a hope unless he likes of mcguigan and oneill return. cant see past kerry this year. the dubs are being over hyped as usual, although maybe not as much as other years. dark horses:cork(im going to back the cork double, hurling and gaelic)

15/07/2007, 7:54 PM
I didn't see the first half of the Ulster final but fair play to Monaghan, they gave it a good go. Their approach was predictable and they made far too many school boy errors in their passing but they managed to hang on in there to the end. If only that final chance was put away. Tyrone were very susceptible at the back to the high ball. Like Rovers fan, I can't see past Kerry. I'd like Monaghan (my never mentioned and previously completely ignored other roots) or Dublin to lift the Sam in the absence of Mayo though.

15/07/2007, 9:15 PM
Those Dubs are a dislikeable shower of ponces taunting the Laois lads like that

It says a lot for how distasteful I found the whole thing that I can't wait for Kerry to hammer them :eek:

Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 10:44 PM
i think the hurling championship, well munster, has been very exciting. i fancy galway to upset kilkenny. kearins and wade both scored around 8 or 9 points from play against antrim. thats good going against any team.

Marked Man
16/07/2007, 4:06 AM
[QUOTE=Lim till i die;724874]Those Dubs are a dislikeable shower of ponces taunting the Laois lads like that
QUOTE]

That's right, those poor Laois lads were all just minding their own business, when, for no reason whatsoever, the Dubs started taunting them...

16/07/2007, 8:55 AM
nah marked man but yer winning be the bigger man and then fisting to the crowd was not on, along with brogan raising his arms up and down like a chicken.....its not on.

having said that the Dubs are good for the GAA and they do add another level to the championship.

i think if its a dublin v kerry final dublin will win it, because the support will make that bit of difference to them.

Roadend
16/07/2007, 8:57 AM
i think the hurling championship, well munster, has been very exciting. i fancy galway to upset kilkenny. kearins and wade both scored around 8 or 9 points from play against antrim. thats good going against any team.

Galway showed against Clare that if the game is physical they weren't up fot it. Kilkenny are both a phsical and extemely skillful side so I'd be surprised if they caused an upset. Here's hoping though.

16/07/2007, 9:39 AM
I didn't see the first half of the Ulster final but fair play to Monaghan, they gave it a good go. Their approach was predictable and they made far too many school boy errors in their passing but they managed to hang on in there to the end. If only that final chance was put away. Tyrone were very susceptible at the back to the high ball. Like Rovers fan, I can't see past Kerry. I'd like Monaghan (my never mentioned and previously completely ignored other roots) or Dublin to lift the Sam in the absence of Mayo though.

Shame on you!

I was supporting Monaghan yesterday obviously but all 3 strands of my heritage were represented in Clones yesterday am half Monaghan half Tyrone by parentage and was born in Fermanagh (the band were from Enniskillen!) but even my Tyrone born mum and aunt were hoping Monaghan would do it yesterday.

My mum decided to wind my dad up a bit tho by putting her Tyrone flag in his side of the bed for when he would go to get in last nite. Havent heard if they are heading for the divorce courts or not yet!

If Monaghan dont get through the next round (which they should I think as Donegal will poop their pants I think) I will be backing Tyrone all the way.

Soko
16/07/2007, 9:47 AM
Mark Vaughn makes me feel ill, he is a pest and the game or society doesn't need his people of his ilk. Scumbag through and through

16/07/2007, 9:48 AM
i thought you hated the GAA magicme? i wish i could be arsed to fish out te post but im pretty sure you did!!!! ah well when a team is doing well and all that sure we all have short memories ;) :D

i was in the pub watching it with a few monaghan lads, but i can safely say everyone was up for monaghan in the pub, great thing about irish people and the underdog. Had monaghan taken their chances and not being going for goal with 12 minutes left they might well have won it.

16/07/2007, 9:49 AM
there is one of him on every team soko, or at least one of him on certain teams......in fairness he is a decent player by all accounts though.

16/07/2007, 9:50 AM
I am not a fan of GAA you are rite, but my family are and you always like to see your county do well even if it was for throwing clods of turf the furthest.

So while I dont like GAH as a sport I will cheer on my county at anything.

16/07/2007, 9:54 AM
i dont know any sport called 'GAH'!

16/07/2007, 9:55 AM
You dont listen to many Monaghan accents then do ya Paul!

monutdfc
16/07/2007, 11:49 AM
Those Dubs are a dislikeable shower of ponces taunting the Laois lads like that

It says a lot for how distasteful I found the whole thing that I can't wait for Kerry to hammer them :eek:
What goes around comes around - I recall a Laois player doing the exact same thing after scoring to Tyrone last year

16/07/2007, 11:49 AM
Monaghan did very well, at least they knocked 6 bells out of Tyrone.
The ref did well to keep the lid on tight and no sending offs.

I don't know about beating Donegal, they have got a bit of wind now
but I'd predict Donegal won't end the game with 15 players.

Aberdonian Stu
16/07/2007, 12:24 PM
Very poor defensive performance by the Dubs in spite of the margin of victory, Paul Casey was particularly brutal. Need to step it up a notch in the next round.

Louth4sam
16/07/2007, 1:01 PM
We got the worst draw possible. Id fancy having at least a chance of beating any of the other three losing provisional finalists but we have no hope in hell against cork.

16/07/2007, 1:03 PM
I don't know about beating Donegal, they have got a bit of wind now
but I'd predict Donegal won't end the game with 15 players.

Donegal wern't tested in the slightest against us on Sat.
We were pathetic, if it wasn't for Gary Connaughton (ex ATFC) it would
have been an even bigger embarrasment. Saved a peno inside the opening
30 seconds and made some top class saves including catching 2 certain points!

Both sending offs were 2nd yellow so the lads will back for the Mons game

Donegal weren't great, Ref was brutal ... but we were worse :eek:

At least our Hurlers won :D

mon_cutie07
16/07/2007, 1:06 PM
we were very unlucky and it was disappointing the end result,but we'll do it against Donegal! sam maguire is comeing to Monaghan this year lads!!

16/07/2007, 4:14 PM
i dont know any sport called 'GAH'!

funny, i usually call it the ga myself!:)
you would hardly call it football now would you?

By the way............it was shocking to see laois give up with 20 minutes to go, there were only 6 points in it, my god what a let down
Dublin are still rubbish and i would have every confidence in Kerry, Cork or Tyrone in murdering them
Saw Tyrone for the first time yesterday, very impressed, controlled the tempo of the game, and their defence is rock solid, and fair play to monagahn for making a game of it

Marked Man
16/07/2007, 4:29 PM
Dublin are still rubbish and i would have every confidence in Kerry, Cork or Tyrone in murdering them

I don't know about that. We have run Kerry and Tyrone close in recent years, and our main failing over the past 5 yearsor so--the lack of a consistent free taker--seems to have been addressed. Kerry and Tyrone are still the teams to beat, and I wouldn't be particularly confident against either team, but I doubt we'd make it easy for either.

16/07/2007, 5:00 PM
Leinster football is muck again this year and I had to laugh at the Dubs rubbing it into the Laois lads yesterday.

The game was desperately poor with awful marking and abysmal shooting (Laois particularly, but Jayo managed at least 3 wides to the same side of the posts).

Whilst Whelan and Vaughn played well for the Dubs both of them are notorious for blowing hot and cold and I doubt if they get beyond a semi-final again this year.

The standard in Ulster has dropped a notch or two and whilst Armagh were hard to watch, the province does miss their competitiveness.

Thus far Cork (admittedly purely based on one game against Kerry), Kerry and Tyrone are miles ahead of the rest.

16/07/2007, 5:04 PM
Laois were very bad losers yeterday. THey only through a few digs when the game was over. If it was Meath the fighting would have started much earlier and they would have rattled the Dubs when it mattered but instead they only had the balls to do it when the game was over. Their supporters were the greatest whingers, getting all upset because a few fans were shouting Cheerio to them. They would not last ****ing time and a football match.

16/07/2007, 5:27 PM
.......i think if its a dublin v kerry final dublin will win it, because the support will make that bit of difference to them....
It can't now be a Dublin v Kerry final.

The draw for the semi finals is that the winner of Connaught (Sligo or the qualifier) plays the winner of Ulster (Tyrone or the qualifier) in the first semi on 19th August and the winner of Munster (Kerry or the qualifer) plays the winner of Leinster (Dublin or the qualifer) on 26th August.

16/07/2007, 5:44 PM
funny, i usually call it the ga myself!:)
...Saw Tyrone for the first time yesterday, very impressed, controlled the tempo of the game, and their defence is rock solid, and fair play to monagahn for making a game of it...

Dont think many would think that Tyrone's defence is rock solid. Their full back line is the weakest part of their team and were exposed several times yesterday under the high ball, particularly by Freeman and Corey when he moved up from full back. It was poor finishing by Monaghan that cost them the game in the end. Corey missed 2 great goal chances, one of which was a great save by Devine.

Tyrone have great forwards and Sean Kavanagh is probably the best footballer in Ireland, he is certainly the best midfielder, but Monaghan showed yesterday they are vulnerable. You have to wonder when a team like Tyrone is eight points ahead why they did not put it away more convincingly that they did. Maybe they are not as good as many of us thought.

16/07/2007, 5:51 PM
i think the hurling championship, well munster, has been very exciting.....
Some good games all right.

The only problem with the way the GAA has structured the hurling is that Cork could still win the all-Ireland even though they have lost 2 games. I just hope Waterford can beat them again, but I have a horrible feeling that Cork will be in Croke Park again on 2nd September.

ollie
16/07/2007, 6:18 PM
1st time cork and Louth have crossed paths since 1957 AFAIK in championship.

What do people think of the draw?
Good draw for us. Would have prefered to have drawn Meath due to the history between the sides. I just hope Cork wont get complacent as I'm sure a lot of the unknowledgeable cork public will rubbish Louth. They seem to have recovered well since their Leinster championship loss. Of the 6 that left the panel since that game, how many of them started?

Aghada are threatening to pull Kieran O Connor and Pierce O Neill out of the Cork panel for the Louth game due to the Cork County board refusing to move their hurling championship game scheduled to be played the day after the Louth game.

16/07/2007, 6:41 PM
superhoops i didnt think that structure was in place, i remember it being drafted in after we beat galway in 2001 con final and then they came back to beat us in the quarters because of an open draw......and then the bastids went on and won the all-ireland ( though im sure we wouldn't have been able so fair play :) ) but i thought it was gone again this year.

16/07/2007, 7:28 PM
It can't now be a Dublin v Kerry final.

The draw for the semi finals is that the winner of Connaught (Sligo or the qualifier) plays the winner of Ulster (Tyrone or the qualifier) in the first semi on 19th August and the winner of Munster (Kerry or the qualifer) plays the winner of Leinster (Dublin or the qualifer) on 26th August.
Where did you get that info from? It might well be so, but AFAIA the QF are an open draw with the one exception that Provincial champions cannot meet the team they beat in their provincial final.

Rovers fan
16/07/2007, 9:36 PM
Galway showed against Clare that if the game is physical they weren't up fot it. Kilkenny are both a phsical and extemely skillful side so I'd be surprised if they caused an upset. Here's hoping though.

Yes but that was on a smaller pitch(made even smaller:mad::mad:). with the size of croke park and the speed of the galway forwards no matter how physical the kilkenny backs are they wont stop galway in full flow. i dont think kilkenny are a particularly physical team anyway

Rovers fan
16/07/2007, 9:39 PM
Where did you get that info from? It might well be so, but AFAIA the QF are an open draw with the one exception that Provincial champions cannot meet the team they beat in their provincial final.

provinsial champions cant play each other. its a provincial chamion vs a qualifier. info at www.gaa.ie

16/07/2007, 11:19 PM
superhoops i didnt think that structure was in place, i remember it being drafted in after we beat galway in 2001 con final and then they came back to beat us in the quarters because of an open draw......and then the bastids went on and won the all-ireland ( though im sure we wouldn't have been able so fair play :) ) but i thought it was gone again this year.

According to the GAA, that's how the semi-finals are. See here (http://www.gaa.ie/page/fixtures_august_2007.html) (Look for fixtures on 19th and 26th August)

For the quarter finals the provincial winners cannot be drawn against a team they have already beaten. For example:
- if Laois beat Derry and/or Meath beat Galway, then Dublin cannot be drawn against either of them.
- if Galway beat Meath, then Sligo cannot be drawn against Galway.
- if Cork beat Louth, then Kerry cannot be drawn against Cork
- Tyrone cannot be drawn against Monaghan or Donegal.

16/07/2007, 11:43 PM
THey only through a few digs when the game was over.
You missed their captain throwing 2 digs at Shane Ryan in the first half.

17/07/2007, 12:05 AM
Didn't catch any games yesterday, though glad to see ourselves still have a chance of winning something.

I've noticed that the Ulster teams seem very strong this year. IIC, Monaghan, Tyrone, Derry and Donegal are still in it, yeah? I know Mayo have been dire this year but Derry seemed to brush them aside with ease.

Rovers fan
17/07/2007, 12:40 AM
I've noticed that the Ulster teams seem very strong this year. IIC, Monaghan, Tyrone, Derry and Donegal are still in it, yeah? I know Mayo have been dire this year but Derry seemed to brush them aside with ease.

dont think any of them re capable of getting to the final. donegal have flattered to deceive, monaghan arent a great team, tyrone not as good as they used to be. derry are the best of the lot imo.

monutdfc
17/07/2007, 8:55 AM
Didn't Longford play Westmeath both in the Championship and then in the Qualifiers this year? I thought that couldn't happen anymore.

Louth4sam
17/07/2007, 9:00 AM
1st time cork and Louth have crossed paths since 1957 AFAIK in championship.

What do people think of the draw?
Good draw for us. Would have prefered to have drawn Meath due to the history between the sides. I just hope Cork wont get complacent as I'm sure a lot of the unknowledgeable cork public will rubbish Louth. They seem to have recovered well since their Leinster championship loss. Of the 6 that left the panel since that game, how many of them started?

As far as i know all 7 were involved against Wexford. Something was rotten in the Louth camp. Happened half way through the the league. We were playing great stuff for the first few games then were rubbish with players that didnt seem interested for the last games. We carried that on into the championship and it remained there until the 7 players withdrew. Last couple of games there was a great hunger about the team some of the players really putting their bodies on the line for the county. The young players that have come in have done an unbelievable job, playing way better then the senior players they replaced. I cant see us beating you but if the cork team comes out complacent we may give you a bit of a shock. Most of our team are in their very early 20s so it definitely looks good for the future.

17/07/2007, 10:20 AM
Didn't Longford play Westmeath both in the Championship and then in the Qualifiers this year? I thought that couldn't happen anymore.

Yep, they knocked us out at the 1st round of Leinster but then we beat
them in the 1st qualifier game.

17/07/2007, 11:35 AM
As long as the Dubs don't win it...... I couldn't stand the thought of Whelan having an All Ireland medal.

Kerry-Tyrone final would be a good way to close the championship.

17/07/2007, 11:54 AM
dont think any of them re capable of getting to the final. donegal have flattered to deceive, monaghan arent a great team, tyrone not as good as they used to be. derry are the best of the lot imo.
If Donegal get into gear they'll do well. I think Tyrone are good too.

17/07/2007, 9:42 PM
Shame on you!

Look, I know it's embarrassing to have roots there but I wouldn't go that far.;)

17/07/2007, 11:05 PM
For the quarter finals the provincial winners cannot be drawn against a team they have already beaten. For example:
- if Laois beat Derry and/or Meath beat Galway, then Dublin cannot be drawn against either of them.
- if Galway beat Meath, then Sligo cannot be drawn against Galway.
- if Cork beat Louth, then Kerry cannot be drawn against Cork
- Tyrone cannot be drawn against Monaghan or Donegal.

Thanks for the clarification. it is pretty much pre-determined as it always use to be.
Still I think that there is a bit more openess in the draw for the QF. I think that Dublin can still meet Meath and Tyrone can still meet Donegal. It is only the losing prov. finalists that can't be drawn against the team that beat them in the prov. final.The GAA site doesn't give much away, information is given only on a desperate need to know basis.

I share Shakermakers sentiments,
Tyrone are the only team ATM who have a serious chance to dethrone Kerry.

18/07/2007, 8:13 AM
The GAA site doesn't give much away, information is given only a desperate need to know basis.

and you know why that is.....