View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

22/06/2007, 4:25 PM
eire notice the shoes in quotes part, think a little and you will get me, it has two meanings.

but just not to confuse you more, i wear shoes every single day to work, and a suit or sometimes just a shirt and trousers, so you might see me and not realise that you need to cross the street, what will you do then? :D

gilberto_eire
22/06/2007, 4:38 PM
eire notice the shoes in quotes part, think a little and you will get me, it has two meanings.

but just not to confuse you more, i wear shoes every single day to work, and a suit or sometimes just a shirt and trousers, so you might see me and not realise that you need to cross the street, what will you do then? :D

what ya wear doesnt change the fact im afraid!!. anyway most of the things you say about galway which you despise are in fact perpetrated by fellow country folk like yourself who decide to grace our fine land!.
they can be seen boarding/un-boarding buses at our bus station every friday/sunday on clogging up our roads to the point where we need an outer by-pass......
you actually hate country folk not us, judgeing by your points there:rolleyes:

22/06/2007, 4:40 PM
so why do they go there then eire? is it the promised land for crusties and young ones ( male and female ) with attitudes?

gilberto_eire
23/06/2007, 3:11 AM
so why do they go there then eire? is it the promised land for crusties and young ones ( male and female ) with attitudes?

i dont know ask your family/friends..... anyway do yourself a favour and watch the champs elect hammer leitrim on sunday on our way to yet ANOTHER connacht title, before we go all the way..... im sure ye'll manage another some day...keep the faith;)

23/06/2007, 1:21 PM
Jesus will the 2 of you shut up?

gilberto_eire
23/06/2007, 1:33 PM
Jesus will the 2 of you shut up?

take a hike 37!!. ill call ye a ''shower of arrogant cts'' and see how you like it and if ye read my last post i ended my part of the argument and put it back on topic..... you could have said that a while back!

01/07/2007, 10:24 AM
Cork or Kerry lads for today?

Have to say Dublin and Galway were below par last week. Tyrone/Kerry must be big favourites this season.

01/07/2007, 11:18 AM
Cork or Kerry lads for today?

Doesn't really matter at this stage as both teams will still be in the mix for Sam. Last year, Cork beat Kerry in Munster final after replay, then Kerry beat them easily when it mattered in All Ireland semi.

The qualifiers have devalued the provincial finals to some extent and there is no doubt Kerry benefitted from the extra game in the qualifiers.

kingdom hoop
01/07/2007, 10:59 PM
Yeuch! That was some frightful bickering from Paul o Shea and Gilbertoeire! Some quick points I must make; Roscommon, perhaps reflective of thier populace's psyche, have always played unattractive brutish football; Jonathon Swift from Roscommon??:confused:. ; and, I think, Galway is meant to be said as Gaul-way. I won't get involved any deeper!

Doesn't really matter at this stage as both teams will still be in the mix for Sam. Last year, Cork beat Kerry in Munster final after replay, then Kerry beat them easily when it mattered in All Ireland semi.

The qualifiers have devalued the provincial finals to some extent and there is no doubt Kerry benefitted from the extra game in the qualifiers.

I can imagine that today's match may not appear to have mattered in the greater scheme of things. However to so believe grossly underestimates the perenially bubbling rivalry between Cork and Kerry (may I add that this is a gaelic football-only rivalry and that there is no resentment of the 'big city folk' from those in their neighbouring county, Paul:)) that, over the decades, has festered and boiled, with a regularly heightened, always thumping, pulse. Losing stings, losing to Cork lingers like a terminal scorpion sting only remedied by the soothing antidote that in the next incarnation you will return as a scorpion to kill the, now human, scorpion. I can't say those were my exact thoughts as, nearing the games close, Cork looked like they may snatch victory, but the sentiment holds true! Of additional importance was the rahter treacherous looking qualifier route. The attitude that 'oh Kerry won't mind losing too much they could do with a few games' is not one people here would prescribe to with the likes of Armagh, Donegal and Mayo ominously lurking in the shadows of the qualifiers.

As for the game itself, it was thoroughly enjoyable despite an overly whistle-happy ref and was a match I felt Kerry just about deserved to win. Cork were impressive, but perhaps lack a forward with real class. Put a Cork jersey on the Gooch (perish the thought!) and I'd favour them. Masters is obviously a fine score-taker but in general play doesn't strike any fear into the opposition. The height of the Cork team is incredible, making the midfield battle a fascinating one and was a tussle that Kerry should be satisfied to have come out of on a par with a side I'd expect to seriously trouble, if not significantly dominate, opponents in future matches. A quick look at the All-Ireland odds show Dublin at 11/2 and Cork at 12/1; in terms of quality of the teams I'd reverse the odds but of course the circuitous road Cork must now travel works against them. Still, I'd throw a few bob on Cork a lot sooner than Dublin.

I was pretty happy with Kerry's performance and obviously over the moon to get the win. I wouldn't be over-confident of retaining Sam but you know that if our forwards (with a reserve six forwards that would be better than most counties') get a decent supply of ball they have the ability and understanding to run riot. I suppose one of the big tests today was for our new manager, Pat O'Shea. I think his counterpart, the wily old wan_er, Billy Morgan, won the tactical battle in the second half by crowding the midfield and implementing a short pass strategy allowing Cork to garner a supremacy that Kerry had no direct answer to. Cork began to win all the breaking ball but our goalie wasn't told to kick out short, while our full-back was left on his own guarding ground that no long pass was going to be kicked into. Not great Pat.

All in all it was a great weekend and it was nice to see that a strong Cork contingent travelled down. However I would just hope that the lure of Killarney was not the reason but rather that the supporters are giving, and, more importantly, continue to give, the team the support they deserve. That said, I wouldn't be surprised if very few Corkonians go to the next match(es).

Ciarraí abú:)

ollie
02/07/2007, 5:31 PM
It's going to be a hard month ahead for the Cork GAA suporter with both teams in the qualifiers.
This Cork team seems to improving ever year. I thought we were dead and buried in the second half but fair play to them they dug themselves out of it and were almost a width of a goalpost(or shrill of a whitle) away from winning it.
Cussen showed up very well and is showing encouraging signs and I was impressed with Miskella also who deserves his chance after being on/off the panel with years! Great to see Canty back playing against the green and gold after last year!
Hopefully we'll avoid the big guns in the qualifiers but it could be potentially be very tricky.

08/07/2007, 4:21 PM
great result for sligo no better and deserving man than eamon ohara to get a connaught medal

08/07/2007, 4:46 PM
Great hurling match today. Shanahan had a great game but I thought the two Morans were very quiet for Limerick. If Limerick could have gotten those two goals in the first few minutes it would've made an even better game. I think Limerick just fell away towards the end. They just didn't seem up to it for the last 15 minutes.

08/07/2007, 6:30 PM
I don't think Limerick can have too many complaints. I'll concede I know little about the sublties of hurling but watching Limerick today for the fourth time in the last few weeks -they're actually quite a limited team and got as far as the did with huff and puff.

They don't seem to win many breaking balls, their control seems iffy, they run up a shocking number of wides and as seen today again -can't take their chances with any consistency.

I don't think Waterford were in any real danger at any point today.

noby
09/07/2007, 7:43 AM

I don't know about that. Limerick stuck with them for 3/4 of the match. A very physical and scrappy match for large spells.
If anything Limerick are limited in the same way Waterford were a few years ago. This was the first time in a while you were able to look at the Waterford subs and see half a dozen players that could have started the game. That's foreign territory for Waterford.
But what Limerick do they do well. They hustle for everything around the half back/midfield area, and have two dangerous, if very different forwards to aim for. A couple of weeks off and they'll be rearing to go again.

09/07/2007, 4:31 PM
great result for sligo no better and deserving man than eamon ohara to get a connaught medal

Delighted for Sligo where my brother was born and where many of my forefathers come from. However, thanks be to God we won't have to listen to the dirge played on the radio recently about the last time Sligo won a Connaught Championship: mind numbing stuff.

My mother is from Waterford and my cousins have played for the county team so even more thrilled for them. But it's been at least a generation since they've played in an All Ireland Final. Fingers crossed this is the year. It would mean so much to them.

09/07/2007, 5:29 PM
I don't think Limerick can have too many complaints. I'll concede I know little about the sublties of hurling but watching Limerick today for the fourth time in the last few weeks -they're actually quite a limited team and got as far as the did with huff and puff.

They don't seem to win many breaking balls, their control seems iffy, they run up a shocking number of wides and as seen today again -can't take their chances with any consistency.

yeah exactly how i would call it too.................Limerick were terrible with the breaking balls, lost nearly everyone

Dont think Cork and Killkenny have too much to worry about from the other counties

As regards the other stuff.............jesus Sligo were brutal, and galway were asleep
Sligo will be a handy team for whoever draws them in the next round

Cork and Kerry have played the best so far IMHO

09/07/2007, 5:30 PM
Well done to Sligo I was rooting for em yesterday. Nice to see an upset now and again in the championship. Have they announced next Saturday's RTE game yet?

Surely Derry and ourselves will get the time slot?

09/07/2007, 5:38 PM

The man is just an ego...a good player and well done to him, but as a aperson he can leave a lot to be desired...

09/07/2007, 6:46 PM
The man is just an ego...a good player and well done to him, but as a aperson he can leave a lot to be desired...

i second that..

must have shares in piz buin as well.:p

09/07/2007, 7:37 PM
......Cork and Kerry have played the best so far IMHO...
Assume you didn't see Tyrone play!

10/07/2007, 12:06 AM

pretty irrelevant if you ask me

10/07/2007, 8:31 AM
lads no offence, but i always hear that from every county where a fella plays, whether a lad is like that or not it usually comes out that he is, so i dont pay too much heed to it. I am not saying ye are wrong, but grapevine stuff you have to ignore really.....

Anyhow was michael mcnamara first choice CB for Rovers?

Has anyone noticed there hasnt been any galway lads on this thread since.....as i expected might i add.

10/07/2007, 9:25 AM
O'Hara is a legend to be fair and wont be properly appreciated till he is gone , Up there with O'Dowd and Kearins as the greatest ever Sligo footballer,
Micheal was first choice yea last season and was club captain for us

10/07/2007, 9:50 AM
he must have been a big loss, was it going professional that put him off or what? id say he might come back in time, possibly even next year.

WHo was the sligo forward paul something i think that got injured a couple of years ago but they reckoned was going to be class ( not paul taylor ), whats his name?

10/07/2007, 11:00 AM
Championship has been good this year, each province hasd been exciting, even Munster! Leitrim have been good. Monaghan getting to Ulster final is excellent. Cork have shown themselves to be a force to be considered (still need a class forward capable of scoring from open play).

Good to see Sligo win, even though whoever draws them in the quarters will more than fancy their chances.
Most notably can't believe no-one has mentioned the Armagh game. That defeat will see the break up of probably the unluckiest team of the last 10 yrs. A shower of cnuts at the best of times but as a footballing team they have been fantastic. Given that most of these boyos have been around since 96/97 I find it hard to see the veterans hanging on much longer. I certainly think Kernan will go as manager. Its unfortunate but the return of 1 All-Ireland for the players they have, and more importantly for the effort they continually put in, is not good enough. The matches we played against them in 2000 and 2002 gave me some of the best and worst memories as a Kerry fan.

After all is said and done its hard to look past the big two. Kerry and Tyrone. I honestly thought Donegal would take Tyrone but man they were impressive.

Of the qualifiers this weekend I would fancy
Derry to take Mayo
Donegal to take Westmeath
Kildare to take Louth
As for Meath game I know this probably would sound stupid but if Geraghty is taken back tonight I'd back Fermanagh but if he's rightly told to fcuk off by the players I'd have Meath.

As for the two county finals I reckon LAois will take Dublin. I've seen this team train and they are far bigger than they've been since they came on the scene. They are a better footballing side than Dublin are, as many are I'd add, but they should have the physicality to stay with Dublin.
Tyrone will take Monaghan without too much hassle I think.

So that would leave
Cork, Monaghan, Dublin, Galway to face Derry, Donegal, Kildare and Fermanagh, which is a decent set of final qualifiers.

10/07/2007, 11:18 AM

The better team won on the day, but in no way were or are they a 9 points better side than Limerick. Limerick can have complaints, well the fans can anyway. The referee was very poor and certainly did them no favours. Limericks decision making on the sideline was atrocious. Barry Foley wouldn't play well in a camogie match and how he was left on the field for so long amazes me. We should have been seven points up without reply in the first three minutes but for Foley and Begley.

It has been proven that the most effective way to deal with Waterford is to eliminate Shanahan and Mullanes threat. Limerick would have been far better served by man marking both of them with Geary and Hickey for the entire game. The space afforded the pair of them from 20 mins onwards was shocking. They are class acts and will punish any side that lets them.

The Morans did not play on Sunday. They are normally good for 8-10 points from play between them when on song, but Waterford identified this and nulled them out. How? By man-marking them the way Limerick should with Shanahan and Mullane.

This hurling championship is still an open book, with Kilkenny, Cork and Waterford very much in the running. Limerick will beat Clare and make the semi-final. An upset against whoever they meet will be unlikely, but at least they are turning the corner...slowly.

10/07/2007, 12:17 PM
Joe spot on there with that analysis. Limerick seemed to tire towards the end I thought as well. I thought the gk was poor for Shanahans second goal.

Common consensus was with a break Limerick will take CLare which means they'd play Kilkenny which they shouldn't win.

10/07/2007, 12:29 PM
The better team won on the day, but in no way were or are they a 9 points better side than Limerick. Absolutely. When I said Waterford were in no danger I was just pointing out that when Limerick managed a score Waterford consistently went straight back down the other end and clawed it back.

Once Waterford started to pull away I couldn't see Limerick claw the scores back in similar fashion. The lad who got Waterfords goals consistently went through us like a dose of the sh1ts.

noby
10/07/2007, 12:46 PM
Most of those 9 points were tacked on in the end when Limerick were chasing the game.
From a Waterford point of view it was good to see them responding with two quick points after Limerick's goal, as the tendency in the past was to lose concentration.

10/07/2007, 5:44 PM
gutted they aren't showing Derry/Mayo. Tie of the round and they stump for the hurling.

10/07/2007, 6:14 PM
Championship has been good this year, each province hasd been exciting, even Munster! Leitrim have been good. Monaghan getting to Ulster final is excellent. Cork have shown themselves to be a force to be considered (still need a class forward capable of scoring from open play).

After all is said and done its hard to look past the big two. Kerry and Tyrone. I honestly thought Donegal would take Tyrone but man they were impressive.

Of the qualifiers this weekend I would fancy
Derry to take Mayo
Donegal to take Westmeath
Kildare to take Louth
As for Meath game I know this probably would sound stupid but if Geraghty is taken back tonight I'd back Fermanagh but if he's rightly told to fcuk off by the players I'd have Meath.

As for the two county finals I reckon LAois will take Dublin. I've seen this team train and they are far bigger than they've been since they came on the scene. They are a better footballing side than Dublin are, as many are I'd add, but they should have the physicality to stay with Dublin.
Tyrone will take Monaghan without too much hassle I think.

So that would leave
Cork, Monaghan, Dublin, Galway to face Derry, Donegal, Kildare and Fermanagh, which is a decent set of final qualifiers.

havent enjoyed a lot of the championship games so far, very little football, too much basketball skills
But have yet to see Tyrone, looking forward to seeing them

this weekends games.........
Derry should beat Mayo,
Donegal to beat Westmeath
Kildare and Louth equally bad, but probably Kildare just to nick it
And i have to agree with you, geraghty does make a difference to the Meath team, and going by what happened it wasnt much, a storm in a tea cup...some young fella thought he was great with his heavy tackles.......you know the usual meath training
but it will be a tough one to win, and Fermanagh could do it

Also agree with you on Laois, they always play good at Croker, and can score goals, I reckon they could keep Hill 16 quiet:)

10/07/2007, 8:50 PM
gutted they aren't showing Derry/Mayo. Tie of the round and they stump for the hurling.

the hurling will always be way more entertaining to watch.
plus they have to have nearly a 50/50 split

Rovers fan
10/07/2007, 11:43 PM

If you find it entertaining to watch why did you go on a rant about the GAA on the rovers forum?:confused:

11/07/2007, 7:34 AM

A meaningless game or a do or die tie? They just couldn't be arsed trecking up to Derry.

Roadend
11/07/2007, 9:31 AM
. The referee was very poor and certainly did them no favours. Limericks decision making on the sideline was atrocious.
Actually I though Waterford would have more reason to complain about the referee, they had at least 3 clear cut frees not given by the ref, not to mention the square ball for the Begley goal.

11/07/2007, 10:48 AM
bennocelt, when did you get into bogball and bogstick?

Midgit
11/07/2007, 10:54 AM
Eamon O'Hara. People may not like the man. But he has been a great server of Sligo Gealic and there was no man who deserved it more.

11/07/2007, 5:25 PM
bennocelt, when did you get into bogball and bogstick?

I follow all sport, Christ even cricket and tennis on a bad day
Mostly for betting purposes
But a good hurling game beats all

12/07/2007, 10:57 AM
Monaghan play Tyrone in the Ulster Final on Sunday.
The Monaghan captain Damien Freeman was interviewed and asked about his worst day, considering that he has any number of painfull defeats to choose from, he is quoted as replying,

"We (Monaghan) weren't having success and the way it is, you support an Ulster team when they do head up to Croke Park," he explained.
"Fair play to teams like Armagh and Tyrone, they deserve all the credit they got, but it was hard when you saw Monaghan people going up to support the neighbouring teams and maybe having on their jerseys. That was hard to swallow," he confesses candidly.

12/07/2007, 5:43 PM
If you find it entertaining to watch why did you go on a rant about the GAA on the rovers forum?:confused:

I'm sick of it.. they win 2 games and now they're the greatest thing ever. the worst is the bandwagon jumpers, the "I've
been going to every championship match since I was 3" brigade..

The bonfires on the news were embarrassing, that report made us look like slap-jawed yokels who'd never even won a raffle in our lives..yeah it's good but they won 2 games!
The over-reacting by 70 percent of Sligo is cringe-worthy... in the big picture of the all-ireland, we've been at this stage before.

How many pages of the weekender were dedicated to the win? It's a Championship among 5/7 teams, talk about mickey bloody mouse.

Plus, the way people of my age used it as an excuse to drink themselves stupid afterwards is truly embarrassing. Going to a match an seeing it as an opportunity to get bladdered..Grow up ffs

where did i mention hurling in that post?
i hate bogball and its ignoramus singleminded supporters..with a passion.

but i was an underage county hurler last year, and love playing it.
pity if i want to play hurling here i've to play senior for my club and not the u-16/minor i should be playing

13/07/2007, 8:35 AM
havent enjoyed a lot of the championship games so far, very little football, too much basketball skills
But have yet to see Tyrone, looking forward to seeing them

And i have to agree with you, geraghty does make a difference to the Meath team, and going by what happened it wasnt much, a storm in a tea cup...some young fella thought he was great with his heavy tackles.......you know the usual meath training
but it will be a tough one to win, and Fermanagh could do it

Also agree with you on Laois, they always play good at Croker, and can score goals, I reckon they could keep Hill 16 quiet:)

I've seen a few games bennocelt and while the majority were predominantly "southern" I've thought that the quality has been decent. There has been more evidence of the basic skills this year than in a long time. The amount of fielding blocking and, mercifully dispossesion of play through the punch has increased dramatically I think, and while the antitesis of this, Tyrone, has probably been the most impressive so far, it has to be welcomed.

another I'd like to see change is this boll*xology of importing managers. The sham of Paudi and Micko with their respective counties is horrible and if the Wickla and Clare county boards used the resources they spent on the "mileage" into development squads it would be far more beneficial. Likewise Bealin with Wexford. He's on crazy money and is shyte to boot!

As for your take on my opinion on Geraghty, I think you took me up wrong. While undoubtedly a good player, I just don't see how kicking him off and then bringing him back will do Meath any good. Meath, to be a force again, need to place trust in the very good crop of youngsters they have, and with bringing Geraghty back has to be putting it up to them. If he is to start against Fermanagh there are a few hardy fellows who will work on Geraghty and I think its going to blow up in their faces.

Ps Sligobrewer,
Your comment is a silly one. While you might distinguish between "bogball" and its singleminded supporter, and the hurling which gives you so much enjoyment, tell me this, which sport is making you play two grades ahead of which you should be playing?
Do you think Kilkenny supporters are not singleminded? Of course they're not.:rolleyes:

13/07/2007, 9:10 AM

pity if i want to play hurling here i've to play senior for my club and not the u-16/minor i should be playing

Shock footage has emerged of SligoBrewer actually in the dressingroom celebrrating Sligo's victory

13/07/2007, 10:04 AM
LOL, quality gustavo.

Rovers fan
13/07/2007, 5:00 PM

minor hurling is starting back, im interested to see if you will get a call up;)

13/07/2007, 10:22 PM
minor hurling is starting back, im interested to see if you will get a call up;)

nah i probably wont seeing as i gave up hurling this year cause its ridiculous that a 16 yr old play senior.. and i'm still u-16 as well

Torn-Ado
13/07/2007, 11:45 PM
Don't mean to sound patronising or anything, but how, in the name of Christ could Galway lose to Sligo of all teams in Connacht final.

Its a disgrace to all Galway people to lose to such a small footballing county. Shame on them :(

14/07/2007, 9:58 AM
good man torn-ado thats not patronising at all, just typical galway expectancy and arrogance.

Torn-Ado
14/07/2007, 1:19 PM
good man torn-ado thats not patronising at all, just typical galway expectancy and arrogance.

Ta

Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 12:19 AM
nah i probably wont seeing as i gave up hurling this year cause its ridiculous that a 16 yr old play senior.. and i'm still u-16 as well

scoed a goal in a senior match the other dat;). not bad for a fella of my height. the keeper said he didnt see me:D

Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 12:21 AM
Don't mean to sound patronising or anything, but how, in the name of Christ could Galway lose to Sligo of all teams in Connacht final.

Its a disgrace to all Galway people to lose to such a small footballing county. Shame on them :(

Galway are a tired team. i think its time for joyce, ja and a few others to hang up their boots. sligo showed way more effort,heart and determination and should have won by more tbh. You could count on one hand the number of scoring chances galway had in the 2nd half.