View Full Version : Gaa 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

18/07/2007, 9:39 PM
Thanks for the clarification. it is pretty much pre-determined as it always use to be.

Still I think that there is a bit more openess in the draw for the QF. I think that Dublin can still meet Meath and Tyrone can still meet Donegal. It is only the losing prov. finalists that can't be drawn against the team that beat them in the prov. final.The GAA site doesn't give much away, information is given only on a desperate need to know basis...
You are right. :)

I checked with Croke Park earlier today and they confirmed the latest and final version. I suggested they put something on their website for clarification and they appear to have added a paragraph here (http://www.gaa.ie/page/football_qualifier_structure.html), (the second NB under the Quarter Final section).

RTE have just added a much more comprehensive explanation on their website here. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2007/0718/draw.html?gaa)

19/07/2007, 8:59 AM
For 2007, the draw will take place with the provincial winners (Dublin, Kerry, Sligo and Tyrone in one bowl) and the third round qualifier winners (Cork or Louth, Galway or Meath, Laois or Meath and Donegal or Monaghan in the other).

The draw is open with one exception - teams that met in the provincial final cannot face each other again in the quarter-final.

superhoops, were ye chatting? i thought it was an open draw, kerry v dublin final can occur.

You mean, I was right ;)

mon_cutie07
19/07/2007, 12:42 PM
it would be great to see Monaghan getting the Sam as they never have, would be excellent to see it, but me dont think they will, probably just ginxed it now, anyhow i reckon either Kerry or Tyrone to go home with sam maguire!!:ball: finger's crossed for monaghan tho, their not that bad!!:D

19/07/2007, 12:46 PM
i thought it was an open draw, kerry v dublin final can occur.

You mean, I was right ;)
Would that be a new experience Paul? :)
Whereas Superhoops and myself had a respectable draw you are still missing the gist of it.

Bank Of Ireland SFC Semi-Finals
Sunday 19 August (Sligo v qualifier) v (Tyrone v qualifier)
Sunday 26 August (Kerry v qualifier) v (Dublin v qualifier)

Dublin and Kerry cannot meet in the final.

19/07/2007, 1:14 PM
probably just ginxed it now

that should be j instead of g.

I dont understand if its an open draw geysir, how they cant, but ill take your word for it....is that from the GAA site?

if they have a completely open draw then it should by rights be possible for dublin to meet kerry in the final.....

19/07/2007, 1:42 PM
I thought you would be the last one to correct spelling or grammer:)

It's easy to see from the RTE site that Superhoops already provided the link for
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2007/0718/draw.html?gaa

Provincial champions are seeded in the QF draw
so it's not a completly open draw.

"The pairings for the All Ireland semi-final are preordained with the Sligo v qualifier and Tyrone v qualifier on one side of the draw -and Kerry v qualifier and Dublin v qualifier on the other."

19/07/2007, 5:39 PM
Kernan steps down as Armagh bainisteoir. No surprise really.

ollie
19/07/2007, 6:43 PM
I'd expect a few of the team to follow him...

19/07/2007, 9:31 PM
Would that be a new experience Paul? :)
Whereas Superhoops and myself had a respectable draw you are still missing the gist of it.

Bank Of Ireland SFC Semi-Finals
Sunday 19 August (Sligo v qualifier) v (Tyrone v qualifier)
Sunday 26 August (Kerry v qualifier) v (Dublin v qualifier)

Dublin and Kerry cannot meet in the final.
Geysir, help me out here!

Unless I have totally misunderstood the draw there are only two pairings that cannot play in the All-Ireland Final:

Dublin cannot play Kerry
Tyrone cannot play Sligo

All other pairings of the teams left in the draw are possible? Is that right? :confused:

19/07/2007, 10:37 PM
Geysir, help me out here!
Unless I have totally misunderstood the draw there are only two pairings that cannot play in the All-Ireland Final:
Dublin cannot play Kerry
Tyrone cannot play Sligo
All other pairings of the teams left in the draw are possible? Is that right? :confused:
You have it.
I only mentioned that Dublin and Kerry couldn't play in the final because that was our starting point.
Only the winners of their respective sides of the draw can meet in the final.

RTE (feckers) are not showing the triple x rated Donegal V Monaghan, instead they are showing Derry V spineless Laois.

20/07/2007, 1:52 AM
Dont think many would think that Tyrone's defence is rock solid. Their full back line is the weakest part of their team and were exposed several times yesterday under the high ball, particularly by Freeman and Corey when he moved up from full back. It was poor finishing by Monaghan that cost them the game in the end. Corey missed 2 great goal chances, one of which was a great save by Devine.

Tyrone have great forwards and Sean Kavanagh is probably the best footballer in Ireland, he is certainly the best midfielder, but Monaghan showed yesterday they are vulnerable. You have to wonder when a team like Tyrone is eight points ahead why they did not put it away more convincingly that they did. Maybe they are not as good as many of us thought.

no Im sorry i dont agree, i saw that game and i thought that tyrone were in cruise control, they wwere good and put their foot off the pedal, i mean they were never likely to lose that game

20/07/2007, 9:16 AM
I thought you would be the last one to correct spelling or grammer

its grammar ;)

And mine is second to none, unless i was rushed when writing a reply because of doing it on the sly at work.....

shedite
20/07/2007, 9:35 AM
One of the victims of that car crash yesterday was Kilkenny goalkeeper James McGarry's wife, Vanessa.

Story here (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gaa-stars-wife-is-killed-in-horrific-multiple-crash-1040487.html)

Sad situation. Will Sundays game be called off?

Soko
20/07/2007, 11:02 AM
One of the victims of that car crash yesterday was Kilkenny goalkeeper James McGarry's wife, Vanessa.

Story here (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gaa-stars-wife-is-killed-in-horrific-multiple-crash-1040487.html)

Sad situation. Will Sundays game be called off?

Why would it be called off?

nedder
20/07/2007, 11:29 AM

please tell me your not serious??

gilberto_eire
20/07/2007, 12:22 PM
''The GAA has confirmed following consultation with members of the Management Committee and the C.C.C.C that this Sunday's triple bill of All Ireland Hurling quarter finals in Croke Park has been postponed. The decision was taken at the request of the Kilkenny County Board and as a mark of respect to the late Vanessa Mc Garry (wife of current Kilkenny player James Mc Garry), who was tragically killed in a road traffic accident yesterday.''

i taught it was the GAA's decision till i read that....i personally think he should have told the lads to play on, 4 counties have been gearing towards this game for the last few weeks

20/07/2007, 12:25 PM

It's a GAA tradition that if an opposing team has suffered a bereavement/tragedy the match will be postponed. It exists at every level of the game. I'm a little surprised both matches were called off but it's a gesture that will be appreciated and understood.

Marked Man
20/07/2007, 12:55 PM
Derry V spineless Laois.

Would that be the spineless Laois that beat Tyrone & Meath in last year's qualifiers, and Derry in the year befores?

Soko
20/07/2007, 1:04 PM
please tell me your not serious??

No, deadly serious. I just saw now that funeral is scheduled for Sunday so that would have left an awful dilemma for the Kilknenny players

They only called off both games because they need a double header to justify playing Croke Park. Terrible fixture congestion for the Stadium on the way now

Soko
20/07/2007, 1:05 PM
Would that be the spineless Laois that beat Tyrone & Meath in last year's qualifiers, and Derry in the year befores?

No, the spineless Laois that rolled over like dogs to ensure they would be playing in those qualifiers

Ceirtlis
20/07/2007, 2:31 PM
No, deadly serious. I just saw now that funeral is scheduled for Sunday so that would have left an awful dilemma for the Kilknenny players

They only called off both games because they need a double header to justify playing Croke Park. Terrible fixture congestion for the Stadium on the way now

Ya the games had to be called off, it is an amateur sport after all. RIP to the people who died in the crash.

20/07/2007, 2:58 PM
RIP to all the people who died in all the crashes :! !

booster 03
20/07/2007, 6:35 PM
not a regular poster on this site but i must commend the gaa on postponing the matches for sunday as a mar of respect.. on another note i offer my condolences to all effected over the accidents.. and to james mcgarry, a top keeper and our toughts are with him at this time...

on another note..... LIMERICK for the all ireland!!!luimneach abu!!"!!

20/07/2007, 8:34 PM
i thought you were a kiwi?

21/07/2007, 1:18 AM
will this mean that all fixtures for croke park in the next few weeks will have to be put back a week?

nedder
21/07/2007, 9:12 AM

I probably picked you up wrong. Absolutely the correct desicion to postpone this match.
These games are now fixed for next Saturday, so no real knock on effect for other games

Torn-Ado
21/07/2007, 12:19 PM
its grammar ;)

And mine is second to none, unless i was rushed when writing a reply because of doing it on the sly at work.....

Thats an I not an i...

Second to none, eh?

21/07/2007, 2:26 PM
Paul, are Roscommon minors still in the hunt to defend their title?

21/07/2007, 2:38 PM

No, they were beaten by Galway in the connaght final on july 8th

Torn-Ado
21/07/2007, 2:40 PM
I'm going to log into Galwaybayfm.ie in while to listen to Galway crash and burn in the championship again.

21/07/2007, 5:46 PM
No, they were beaten by Galway in the connaght final on july 8th
I think that means they must still be in the hunt.

21/07/2007, 10:03 PM
theres no qualifiers at minor level......

HolylandsMan
22/07/2007, 12:09 AM
theres no qualifiers at minor level......

There is, to some extent. There are quarters finals involving both the provincial finalists, as well as the provincial winners.

22/07/2007, 5:44 PM
Thats an I not an i...

Second to none, eh?

caps lock and the shift key do not work ;) nice try though:)

they are playing carlow on the august bank holiday. They were unlucky to lose to galway in fairness, they got their captain young garvey sent off ( for no reason, and i amn't being biased ) when they were level or a point behind, then they were still in the hunt in injury and galway got a goal to win by 4 points. FOD made them hang around and watch the presentation and all that, great gesture and idea it will stand to them later on in this championship hopefully. They are still in it, seems laois or derry are the team to beat though.

22/07/2007, 7:18 PM
...they are playing carlow on the august bank holiday.........They are still in it, seems laois or derry are the team to beat though.

Paul, you've got that wrong, you are playing Laois. Beaten provinical finalists cannot play each other in the quarter finals.

The draw is;
Galway v Carlow
Laois v Roscommon
Cork v Derry
Tyrone v Kerry

22/07/2007, 8:11 PM
so you are right. i thought because it was going to be in portlaoise ( as this is the case I beleive but has to be announced ) that it wasn't laois. I remember reading though that laois were better than carlow, but carlow got a load of goals in the game if i remember correctly. So that could be a good sign.

22/07/2007, 8:36 PM
so you are right. i thought because it was going to be in portlaoise ( as this is the case I beleive but has to be announced ) that it wasn't laois. I remember reading though that laois were better than carlow, but carlow got a load of goals in the game if i remember correctly. So that could be a good sign.

According to the GAA website details of venues/times will be confirmed on
30th July.

22/07/2007, 11:05 PM
im always right

23/07/2007, 8:22 AM
how is that feo? you were wrong, just like I was :D

According to the GAA website details of venues/times will be confirmed on
30th July.

i know people ;)

26/07/2007, 8:17 AM
that was meant to read tullamore/ennis above, i only noticed this now.....

ollie
26/07/2007, 3:27 PM
AI Quarter finals coming up this weekend. A few good games there...
Wexford - Tipp
Kilkenny - Galway

Limerick - Clare
Cork - Waterford

How do ye think it will go?
I'd personally go for tipp, KK, Limerick and waterford to win. Can't really see Cork winnning considering their current form and the injury to Niall McCarthy.
Bar the tipp game they can all go either way imo.

26/07/2007, 3:37 PM
Wexford v Tipp - Wexford by 2 points to restore some pride
Kilkenny v Galway - Galway have the ability but Kilkenny should take it by 4 points
Limerick v Clare - Will probably be a horrible match, Limerick should have just enough.
Cork v Waterford - Cork will bounce back and win by 5 points, a pity because Waterford have been the team of the year.

27/07/2007, 12:00 AM
Tipp, Kilkenny, Limerick and Waterford, imo.

I'm sure my granda, he's from the Devil's Bit, my grandmother, she's from Abbeyfeale, and my ma, she's from Dungarvan, had no influence on my opinions. :D

gilberto_eire
27/07/2007, 2:55 AM
Wexford v Tipp - Wexford by 2 points to restore some pride
Kilkenny v Galway - Galway have the ability but Kilkenny should take it by 4 points
Limerick v Clare - Will probably be a horrible match, Limerick should have just enough.
Cork v Waterford - Cork will bounce back and win by 5 points, a pity because Waterford have been the team of the year.

oooh your a funny person...wexford and offaly have fallen so much the last 3 yrs they arent far of the dublin/antrim standard..... tipp will make bits of them.... back us at 4/1.... 2yrs ago we were the same price and beat them in croker.... thurles just does'nt suit us plus we dont play there as much as KK do!!

27/07/2007, 10:25 AM
oooh your a funny person...wexford and offaly have fallen so much the last 3 yrs they arent far of the dublin/antrim standard..... tipp will make bits of them.... back us at 4/1.... 2yrs ago we were the same price and beat them in croker.... thurles just does'nt suit us plus we dont play there as much as KK do!!

Can you explain why? :confused:

noby
27/07/2007, 11:00 AM
How can any true hurling county say that Thurles doesn't suit them. Best pitch in the country by a mile.

This is my fear. There are only so many times a year you can beat Cork. If our full back line can put in a half decent performance, the forwards are playing well enough to give it a fair go.

gilberto_eire
27/07/2007, 11:56 AM
Can you explain why? :confused:

i dont know but we've taken two heavy defeats to KK down there in recent years!.... in fairness though its not a neutral venue for a few counties because most big championship games are played there. its too close for KK too, only ppl in Portumna on the Tipp border have it easy coming from here!.
Croker seems to be a slippier pitch so more chance for our nippy full-forward line to turn there defenders!

27/07/2007, 12:22 PM
How can any true hurling county say that Thurles doesn't suit them. Best pitch in the country by a mile.
I have heard that said often enough.
Why is the Thurles pitch regarded as the best?

Ceirtlis
27/07/2007, 12:27 PM
There is no possilble logical line of thinking that Galway should beat Kilkenny on Saturday, but stranger things have happened especially in the GAA.
Id expect Cork to beat Waterford by a couple of points because they nearly did even though they were missing key players earlier in the year,
Clare to beat Limerick, they seem they have to turned around the atmosphere in the camp and i dont rate Limerick that highly, their battlers but they have already had plenty of battles this year already,
For Wexford-Tipp see Galway-Kilkenny. Wexford either get hammered or pull out a win out of nowhere, in the last few years it is mostly getting hammered but seeing Martin Storey on the telly last night cocksure they were going to get something has put doubts in my mind.

Aberdonian Stu
27/07/2007, 1:31 PM
I'm a Tipp follower, I like Semple but it's over rated as a pitch. It's big advantage, from a hurling perspective, is that it's huge.

I think that's great but that there are too many pitches trying to go for the whole concept of being huge. Hurlers love it, but having had one of the biggest club pitches in the country as the home pitch I played on for 6/7 years I think it's important that players who flourish in on the big pitches get tested on tight pitches once in a while.

Semple is very good and excellent at being big but it's not the be all and end al of pitches.