View Full Version : Damien Duff
05/11/2009, 12:43 PM
Ya he does provide that relief, true, but with 15 or 20 mins to go i can see hunt diong the same as an impact sub, again id rather duff, but we do have backup for that in a less important scenario(as described), if that makes sense, whereas when really needing a goal from those situations i mentioned earlier we dont have anyone that comes close to duff.
Wolfie
05/11/2009, 1:04 PM
IF Duff is not available, I'd like to see Lawrence and McGeady start.
DeLorean
05/11/2009, 1:07 PM
IF Duff is not available, I'd like to see Lawrence and McGeady start.
I'd expect that to happen. He did it against Italy and it worked reasonably well.
endabob1
05/11/2009, 1:30 PM
I can see Lawrence starting on the right regardless so it would make sense of Duffer is out to play McGeady there
Conflicting reports here:
BBC website
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8343985.stm
Fulham website dated yesterday:
“There’s not much chance of Andy Johnson and Danny Murphy being fit for the weekend game," revealed Hodgson. "We’re hoping Damien Duff will be available for the game on Sunday.
Ideal scenario, Duffer is fit but only plays the last 10/15 mins of the game on Sun.
SuperDave
05/11/2009, 2:35 PM
Conflicting reports here:
BBC website
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/8343985.stm
Fulham website dated yesterday:
“There’s not much chance of Andy Johnson and Danny Murphy being fit for the weekend game," revealed Hodgson. "We’re hoping Damien Duff will be available for the game on Sunday.
Ideal scenario, Duffer is fit but only plays the last 10/15 mins of the game on Sun.
Yeah i think the other post was from an older story. I saw the Hodgson cage quote on sunday or monday so hopefully things are looking better.
and hopefully fulham's medical team are better than arsenals!
EastTerracer
05/11/2009, 3:39 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/1105/1224258166790.html
Duff has told the FAI he expects to be fit.
richieos
05/11/2009, 4:44 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/1105/1224258166790.html
Duff has told the FAI he expects to be fit.
Thats great news. We needed someone like Duff to help beat Switzerland in 2005, but he was injured, and we'll need him now.
Noelys Guitar
05/11/2009, 7:42 PM
Great news. His current form could be the difference between the two sides. Or at least give us a realistic chance of qualifying.
Paddy Garcia
05/11/2009, 7:50 PM
Great news. His current form could be the difference between the two sides. Or at least give us a realistic chance of qualifying.
Agree, if anyone is likely to put us thorugh - its Duffer's time.
DeLorean
05/11/2009, 8:03 PM
Yeah the more I think about it, the more I think we need him. I'd prefer if McGeady wasn't the one to lose out though.
back of the net
05/11/2009, 8:23 PM
If Duffer is out , i would prefer Lawrence on the right and Hunt on the left, both players are better at tracking back(and our main aim is not to concede an away goal) and have better set piece and crossing/final ball delivery than McGeady. Mcgeady is technically better than Hunt, but i just think his final ball is poor plus his tendancy to drift out of games for long periods could be hurtful especially against a team with the attacking threat such as france.
Would prefer to have mcgeady as someone to bring on if we were losing in croker.
But just my opinion
05/11/2009, 10:38 PM
If Duffer is out , i would prefer Lawrence on the right and Hunt on the left, both players are better at tracking back(and our main aim is not to concede an away goal) and have better set piece and crossing/final ball delivery than McGeady. Mcgeady is technically better than Hunt, but i just think his final ball is poor plus his tendancy to drift out of games for long periods could be hurtful especially against a team with the attacking threat such as france.
Would prefer to have mcgeady as someone to bring on if we were losing in croker.
But just my opinion
Im prob going to get slated for this, but I dont think McGeady has really ever put in anything more than average performances for us. Considering the number of appearances he has for us and his goal ratio for celtic, he has yet to score for us. His end product for us isnt great and probably the worst out of Duff, Hunt and even Lawrence. The one game I remember where he did impress me was Georgia at home when the chips were down.
I see him scoring and playing well week in week out for celtic but that hasnt translated to the Irish team.
back of the net
05/11/2009, 10:57 PM
Im prob going to get slated for this, but I dont think McGeady has really ever put in anything more than average performances for us. Considering the number of appearances he has for us and his goal ratio for celtic, he has yet to score for us. His end product for us isnt great and probably the worst out of Duff, Hunt and even Lawrence. The one game I remember where he did impress me was Georgia at home when the chips were down.
I see him scoring and playing well week in week out for celtic but that hasnt translated to the Irish team.
agreed
Have no doubts in his technical abilty but playing the SPL week in week out is not helping him progress as a player
Would have lawrence hunt and duff ahead of him in alot of games (especially away from home against better opposition)
For me Mcgeady has to move away from the SPL and on to a technically better league.
He has spent enough time up there and needs to move on for him to prove his worth as an international player.
Have never seen him play a game for ireland where i have left the game at full time,going WOW what a great performance by mcgeady.
He has moments of brilliance in Games where he shows his very good ability , but far too often he drifts out of games and his end product is poor.
Apologies to any mcgeady,celtic or SPL fans on here(not trying to annoy anybody) , im just speaking as an ireland fan.
Would love to see mcgeady prove me wrong and have the game(s) of his life against the french but just cant see it happening unfortunately
Colbert Report
06/11/2009, 12:10 AM
What's keeping McGeady at Celtic? No disrespect to supporters of the SPL, but surely he'd be better suited playing in the Premiership or even Spain where he wouldn't be hacked down every time he beats a full-back? I'd assume he'd be on much better money playing for someone like Everton or Spurs.
i understand the reservations about McGeady's performances for us so far though personally i have been impressed anytime i have seen him for Ireland. The last game against Italy in particular. His delivery was poor at times but he had the Italians chasing shadows for large parts of the game.
Hunt has proven that he is really not a starter at this level. An impact sub? Yes, and a very good one too. I would still start McGeady over Hunt at this stage.
Just my opinion and i understand the arguments on both sides.
billybunter
06/11/2009, 3:30 AM
i understand the reservations about McGeady's performances for us so far though personally i have been impressed anytime i have seen him for Ireland. The last game against Italy in particular. His delivery was poor at times but he had the Italians chasing shadows for large parts of the game.
Hunt has proven that he is really not a starter at this level. An impact sub? Yes, and a very good one too. I would still start McGeady over Hunt at this stage.
agreed. i have a sneaky feeling Duff will be immense in these last two games. His experience and ability to retain possession will be a huge factor in our qualification.
06/11/2009, 8:28 AM
What i ilke about duffs out pouring is that, effectively he is saying. "well im not really too sure about being available for my club, but nothing is going to stop me being available for my country". Have to say I love that attitude.
Yard of Pace
06/11/2009, 9:00 AM
What i ilke about duffs out pouring is that, effectively he is saying. "well im not really too sure about being available for my club, but nothing is going to stop me being available for my country". Have to say I love that attitude.
Duffer is such a gem. It's probably somewhere earlier in this thread but Hodgson said it's just about impossible to stop him playing for Ireland. Add to that that he travels to our matches when injured to be a supporter, spends most of his free time asleep, has no idea or care for how much money he has and lets his mum take care of it, once described his younger self as a "fat oul yoke", lived up a mountain in Blackburn...I love him.
I remember reading a story about him when he was a kid about to play a match. The coach was giving detailed instructions to each player one-by-one but when he got to Damien he just looked at him, smiled and said "Duffer, you just do what you do."
Junior
06/11/2009, 9:41 AM
What's keeping McGeady at Celtic? No disrespect to supporters of the SPL, but surely he'd be better suited playing in the Premiership or even Spain where he wouldn't be hacked down every time he beats a full-back? I'd assume he'd be on much better money playing for someone like Everton or Spurs.
Loyalty?
Boyhood Club?
Trophies?
Great Facilities/Stadium/Home crowd to match and in most cases better than anything the EPL/La Liga has to offer?
Hasnt done his international career any harm so far?
He's seen how moves to the EPL (for example) have worked out for the likes of Liam Miller, Maloney etc.. ?
Has anyone actually gone to the continent and succeeded -we seen what happened to Robbie unfortuantely?
He will be earning decent money (Im guesing about 20k per week) obviously he could earn more elsewhere but maybe money isnt his motivation and wouldnt that be a nice thought?
His family is in Glasgow?
I am sure all those possible arguments could be counter-argued and Im not saying they are correct, just putting some possible reasons forward that a young lad might be happy where he is - He's still only 23 years of age.
Interestingly, McCarthy would have had lots of those thoughts going through his head but still opted to make the move to Wigan and good luck to him I really hope it works out for all our benefit!
McGeady nearly left last year after his few bust ups with Strachan but all that seems to have settled down now and Mowbray has expressed McGeadys importance to the team.
No doubt McGeadys game needs to improve in lots of areas - Final ball, shooting/goal scoring, defensive duties. However in the last few seasons I would say all these areas have improved, some more than others (defensively) though not as quickly as Id like.
There is definitely an argument to say moving to a stronger league will help this improvement process but there is also an argument that without having already improved them, he will quickly find it difficult to 'bed' himself in to a side in the EPL / La Liga etc.. and his career could go backwards from there - its a fine line in my eyes.
PS: I think you are kiiding yourself if you think EPL / La Liga defenders would be unwilling to 'hack' him down....
06/11/2009, 9:50 AM
I remember reading a story about him when he was a kid about to play a match. The coach was giving detailed instructions to each player one-by-one but when he got to Damien he just looked at him, smiled and said "Duffer, you just do what you do."
That was Brian Kerr, think he said something like "forget what I told the other lads, just go out there and cause them problems"
06/11/2009, 10:39 AM
Duffer is such a gem. It's probably somewhere earlier in this thread but Hodgson said it's just about impossible to stop him playing for Ireland. Add to that that he travels to our matches when injured to be a supporter, spends most of his free time asleep, has no idea or care for how much money he has and lets his mum take care of it, once described his younger self as a "fat oul yoke", lived up a mountain in Blackburn...I love him.
Ya, he was back on the plane to london from slovakia with us, however he did play up on the limp, as he booked in right behind me and he wasn't limping but when he got up the stairs to the gate he was limping in front of all the fans :D Pointed this out at the time, but he wasn't as small as you'd think he is, he just stoops when playing.
I also said this at the time, but against bulgaria away, there was this irish supporter in a wheelchair, he came up towards the pitch and was clapping. Duffer came all the way from the other end of the pitch while the others were embracing eachother and clenching fists, duffer was oblivious to the rest of them, came over to the guy in the wheelchair took off his jersey and handed it to the guy in the wheelchair, and clenched hands with him. Ill never forget that, it was one of those emotional moments you'll always cherish.
Noelys Guitar
06/11/2009, 11:10 AM
I thought Kilbane had his best game for us for awhile against Italy. And that for me was down to McGeady causing the Italian right side of defense and midfield so many problems. He had them bamboozled at times and that stopped any forays up their right hand side. If McGeady starts to score more goals and his last ball improves then we have one hell of a player.
DeLorean
06/11/2009, 11:22 AM
I think some people don't get McGeady. Just because his crosses are poor he's considered to have no end product. I think he's invaluable. He gets defences on the back foot turning towards their own goal. Defenders hate people running at them and he makes them uncertain and nervous. He wins loads of corners, free kicks, throws, etc. and provides much needed relief to a side that are generally chasing possession. That said there is room for improvement but I think he's the most talented player we've had in years.
Junior
06/11/2009, 12:20 PM
Agree with that. Add to it also the ability/willingness to take passes in tight difficult positions without losing possession and the link up balls that he plays in to attacking players feet, looking for the one-two etc.. The final ball complaint is generally one of his crossing, which I agree needs to improve but this is just one facet to his game. McGeady is not a traditional winger.
06/11/2009, 1:07 PM
Lads a wingers real role is to provide crosses/chances for the forwards, if he has no end product then he can do all the schimying in the world and relieve pressure but if he isn't providing assists for goals and a team is struggling to score goals i.e. us, then he really isn't adding any value.
If lawrence starts setting up goals for us over the next few games, then you would have to go with lawrence. Which I think trap would do if that were the case.
07/11/2009, 3:42 PM
from the preview of the Wigan game tomorrow on Fulham's official site: http://www.fulhamfc.com/Club/News/NewsArticles/2009/November/RoysWiganPreview.aspx
"I don't think we're going to have any major changes to the personnel we had with us on Thursday evening in Rome," said Hodgson. "We might be able to add Damien Duff back from his injury to the squad.
08/11/2009, 1:30 PM
Duff starts VS Wigan according to Sky Sports News
zenokelly
08/11/2009, 1:56 PM
Jaysus, don't know if that's a good thing
carloz
08/11/2009, 2:05 PM
Balls, i would prefer him just to come on as a sub. Wigan would be quite physical too. I have everything crossed
The injury cant have been too bad if hes fit to even start. Fingers crossed now that he picks up no knock or injury of any sort.
Emmet7
08/11/2009, 3:13 PM
I think some people don't get McGeady. Just because his crosses are poor he's considered to have no end product. I think he's invaluable. He gets defences on the back foot turning towards their own goal. Defenders hate people running at them and he makes them uncertain and nervous. He wins loads of corners, free kicks, throws, etc. and provides much needed relief to a side that are generally chasing possession. That said there is room for improvement but I think he's the most talented player we've had in years.
If you could combine McGeady's skill with Andy Reid's end product and Stephen Hunt's work rate, you'd have one hell of a player.
twoenz
08/11/2009, 3:35 PM
I'm one of the ones that doesn't get him. Yes he runs at people, but nothing comes from it 99% of the time. He's selfish and has an awful record for someone with nearly 30 caps.
I think one of the reasons that he hasn't left the Celts is that he likes being a big fish in a small pond. The other would be that no-one's made a move for him.
TerryPhelan
08/11/2009, 3:38 PM
6:40 Hendry Thomas concedes a free kick for a foul on Damien Duff. Aaron Hughes takes the direct free kick.
16:06 Hendry Thomas challenges Damien Duff unfairly and gives away a free kick. Jonathan Greening restarts play with the free kick.
28:10 Foul by Mohamed Diame on Damien Duff, free kick awarded. Aaron Hughes restarts play with the free kick.
60:26 Unfair challenge on Damien Duff by Hendry Thomas results in a free kick. Aaron Hughes takes the free kick.
66:50 Foul by Mohamed Diame on Damien Duff, free kick awarded. The free kick is delivered left-footed by Damien Duff from right wing, Hendry Thomas makes a clearance.
Seems like Duff is taking a bit of a kicking out there, but is giving their defence all kinds of trouble. His cross into the box led to Wigan conceding the penalty.
08/11/2009, 5:01 PM
That's Duff for you. If he's not supplying good balls he's drawing fouls. Back to the old Duffer. Hope he has no reaction to the injury and hope he gets through tarining this week in tact.
Played the full game so all going well he should be fine for the play off. The number of fouls he can draw will be vital to us as set pieces seem to be one of the areas where we are strong and the french are potentially weak.
Murfinator
08/11/2009, 7:34 PM
Duff and hunt are very good at winning frees or a throw in / corner whereas McGeady is more likely to lose possession I'd say.
EastTerracer
06/12/2009, 2:45 PM
Trap is at Craven Cottage this afternoon and he will be well pleased with Damien Duff's performance in the first half. Hopefully he is also taking a look at Andy Reid but he's had a very quiet first half.
For some reason Niall Quinn is sitting with Martina Navratilova!
06/12/2009, 2:46 PM
For some reason Niall Quinn is sitting with Martina Navratilova!
She's mad for him obviously!:rolleyes:
dan o d
06/12/2009, 3:04 PM
is the sunderlandvfulham match on tv?
fu1ham
06/12/2009, 10:28 PM
Duffer was very quiet today although he did play in Pantsil for the cross for the goal. Didn't look himself at all though, which is a bit surprising seeing as he only played about 20 minutes on Thursday and couldn't have been tired.Carrying an injury maybe? Reid was peripheral throughout, a few good crosses , no tackles . Hasn't he slimmed down though!
christo
21/02/2010, 3:23 PM
Duff gets another goal today, he's starting to look like he is picking up form again since Newcastle
fu1ham
21/02/2010, 7:33 PM
Duffer was fantastic today as he was against Shaktar the other night. Wonderful goal to go with it. It's either him or Zamora for player of the season.
Carr was solid for Birmingham, not international standard though. Made a mental note to check out Fahy, then forgot, as he was so anonymous. It's a real shame Baird isn't ours. A truly gifted footballer, despite his og.
dan o d
21/02/2010, 10:32 PM
best goal i think ive ever seen duffer score- great build up and deadly strike
22/02/2010, 1:25 AM
Highlights (http://www.mysoccerplace.net/video/fulham-vs-birmingham-highlights-2-1). Duff's goal about 45 seconds in. Nice strike!
22/02/2010, 4:11 PM
Certainly one of Duffs best goals, he seems to be getting back to his best.
06/03/2010, 10:29 PM
he was absolutely brilliant for Fulham today and played almost a free role popping up on the left, right and threading passes to Zamora through the middle. What a run of form he is on at the moment - long may it continue. Form is temporary, class is permanent.
07/03/2010, 2:46 AM
could have won the game for Fulham with shots from outside the box on a few occasions too
SwanVsDalton
07/03/2010, 4:12 AM
Wouldn't get carried away with today's performance, more workmanlike than wizard-like - but he seems dangerous every time he picks up the ball, very encouraging. Long may it continue (as someone pointed out).
christo
13/03/2010, 10:08 PM
Won goal of the month on MoD there