View Full Version : Damien Duff

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

M@ttitude
08/12/2004, 1:07 PM
Ah come on now, did you even hum it??

08/12/2004, 1:12 PM
No, I ignored that one!

You were clearly in the West Stand so then. :D

Will you be there on Sunday to watch Duffer winning another penalty?
I think Chelsea have too much for Arsenal in midfield and although the tight pitch will restrict Duff, he should still be more than a handful for Cole and/or Hoyte depending what role he plays.
He's surely aware of the fact that the Arsenal keepers really struggle with crosses and dead ball deliveries.

08/12/2004, 2:03 PM
I think fantasy football also shows the public view that Robben is more effective than Duff. Robben is selected by 50,000 teams while Duff is just selected by 20,000 teams. Duff and Robben are their to score and assist goals and the public clearly think Robben is more effective. Never mind the fact that Duff costs 9.3m and Robben costs 9.9m. It really annoys me. :mad: A lot of end of season awards are voted by the fans and if there was a vote between the two tomorrow Robben would win without a shadow of a doubt.

It was good to hear Ally (sp?) McCoist last night saying that when Duff went off for Robben Chelsea lost their spark. An interesting fact BTW is that Chelsea's 3 CL goals conceded have all come when Duff had been substituted so they have not conceded 1 CL goal when Duff was on the pitch. :)

5 goals and 7 assists in 14 CL and premiership starts BTW. What would we do without Duffer? :p

08/12/2004, 2:10 PM
No, I won't be there. I only get tickets for Arsenal sporadically. Just as well at £34 a go.

It'll be an interesting game though. I'm hoping for an Arsenal win but not sure they'll cope without Vieira and the two Brazilians. Chelsea have yet to be properly tested yet though. They've won against MUFC, L'pool and Newcastle but anyone would have beaten MUFC on the first day of this season and Newcastle were missing a lot. Liverpool were utter rubbish on the day too.

Anyway, enough about English football...

08/12/2004, 2:15 PM
Anyway, enough about English football...

It's virtually impossible to discuss Ireland players without mentioning English football I'm afraid.

08/12/2004, 11:28 PM
I have to say I think Duff is an exceptional talent, it is always a pleasure
to watch him play.

Probably the most talented Irishman to ever kick a ball.

(Apart from me :D :p ).

09/12/2004, 2:11 PM
Ranieri on Robben and Duff :-

"Robben can grow to become the best player in the world but he's young and I don't want to put too much pressure on him.

"He asked my ideas about football and I told him I wanted him to be the key to open the door. He has everything, like Duff. When he signed I thought fantastic, 'I have two Damien Duffs!' My mother was very happy!"

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/sport/football/articles/15202447

12/12/2004, 5:15 PM
Jesus, talk about high praise:

Mourinho:
“Damien is our best player, he has been for the last six weeks. He is capable of winning a game on his own and his performances in our recent matches have been fantastic.

“Since Arjen Robben came back from his injury, everyone has been talking about Robben, Robben, Robben, but people forget about Damien. He has scored some incredible goals, his movement in an attacking and defensive sense is fantastic.

“We are going to Highbury to win this game and we’re in confident mood. All our forwards are in good form but Damien is the best of the lot.”

Condex
12/12/2004, 5:30 PM
He had a quiet game today against Arsenal.

Adrianovic
12/12/2004, 5:56 PM
He didn't get into the game at all, I agree with Condex.

Having said that, very few players stamped their authority on the game, I could count them on one hand.

Ade

13/12/2004, 12:17 AM
Nice to see Mourihino giving Duff some praise.

Talanted manager, talanted player.

ken foree
13/12/2004, 6:28 PM
duff was quiet against arse because he defends (more than robben it appears), i believe he's added more of that tracking to his game since mourinho came in there. mourinho's quote above cites both duff's attacking and defensive positioning when singling him out as chelsea's best player over the last six games. cole generally keeps duff quiet though and robben did on one occasion skin about 3 arse players including cole down their left in the 2nd half, he might be a bit better attacking but duffer is all-round?

14/12/2004, 12:31 AM
The goals against Chelsea suggests Mourihino is a defense minded manager,
he knows that if you don't conceed goals you won't get beat, which
is important in Europe.
He does seem to have shifted into a more attacking mode recently,
either because of critism about the low number of goals scored or
because he how has Robben who is not shy about putting the ball in the back
of the net!!.

I think Duff sees himself as a provider of goals, he seems very unselfish and
he will usually pass rather than have a shot himself.

It must be worrying for managers playing against Chelsea with a big threat
from both wings, it opens up the centre of the pitch for other players
to find space to score.

I have to admire Duff's sublime skills though, he is great when he has the
ball at his feets, his feet always seem to be just that split second faster
than the defenders feet, which often results in them being left for
dead!

He is a class above the rest of the Irish squad in that respect and probably
one of the best players in the world in doing what he does.

In terms of 'trickery' I would say he is the best in the world!!

SaucyJack
28/01/2005, 10:32 PM
I didn't see it, is it on the net anywhere.?..I checked the Chelsea site and no luck

29/01/2005, 11:28 AM
I didn't see it, is it on the net anywhere.?..I checked the Chelsea site and no luck
Don't remind me please. I was at the game and it sickened me.... You may get it on the united website..... ;)

Aldini98
31/01/2005, 12:57 PM
Its great, Rio ball watching, classic stuff !!!!!!!

08/02/2005, 3:47 PM
(Apologies for the sloppy formatting)

KERR DELIGHTED WITH IN-FORM DUFF
By Ian Parkes, PA Sport
Republic of Ireland coach Brian Kerr has hailed Damien Duff as ``a special
talent'' after overcoming the fear factor of playing for Chelsea.
Duff will win his 50th cap tomorrow in less than seven years when the Republic face Portugal in a friendly at Lansdowne Road.
``For someone so young to get to 50 caps is remarkable when you consider the likes of Chris Hughton [current assistant manager] took 13 years to win 53 caps,'' Kerr said.
``His performances have been fantastic, while he has this consistency and
desire to play for the international team, a love for playing.
``There maybe a frustration he hasn't scored for a while, but when you see his work rate and honesty in both defending and attacking, and the fact he is
prepared to do whatever for the team then you cannot criticise that.
``For me, he is a special talent and it looks like he is right on top of his
game.''

Duff has become a pivotal figure for both Ireland and Chelsea in recent times,
more so at Stamford Bridge now he has won over Jose Mourinho.
Initially, the £17million price tag appeared to hang heavy round his neck
following his high-profile move from Blackburn in the summer of 2003.
But after overcoming that personal battle, Duff was then faced with another
when Mourinho arrived last summer to replace Claudio Ranieri.
Used only sparingly at the start of the season, the 25-year-old has played his way into Mourinho's affections, notably so when used in tandem on the wings withArjen Robben.

Kerr, who described Duff's contribution to Ireland over the years as
``immense'', added: ``I think when he first signed for Chelsea there was a huge challenge for him. I remember he had a feeling it might be hard for him to be inthe team.

``There was fear as he looked around at the type of players they were signing, although I personally I had no doubts.

``But he has risen to the challenge. He has met it head-on and shown he has the mental strength and the physical and technical ability to survive and be a top player.''

Given a licence to roam, rather than shackled to the left, Kerr feels Duff has
grown in ability, stature and composure since his move to Stamford Bridge.

``There have been obvious improvements in his game,'' added Kerr.
``He has got stronger, become more mobile and there is more of an acceptance from people he can play on either side of the pitch, which has not always been the case.
``Some people say he has to play wide left and hug the touchline, but I've
always felt he should have a bit of leeway in some games to move about, show hismobility and ability to get on the ball and get in more threatening, central positions.

``I'd like to think we were ahead of Chelsea in using him in a freer role, but
the fact he is playing on either side, and that there are also defensive demandson him at Chelsea, have helped him and he works hard on that.

``It is vital players understand they have responsibilities to the team when
they have not got the ball, as well as when they do have it, but then he has
always been a good team player.''

The only question mark to Duff's name at international level is the fact he
has scored just six goals in his 49 appearances to date, but Kerr remains
unconcerned as he said: ``His ratio has been decent enough since I came in.

``I have had thoughts about trying to accommodate him more on an inside
position, but the way the team has developed with other players coming through has meant we can still play him wide.

``It means the team is well balanced and it is still a threat. It is not that
important who scores the goals, and we've generally been getting enough to win matches.

``But he's doing fantastically well. Maybe if we had as many matches as
Chelsea over the season then his scoring rate would be higher.''

Kerr has confirmed he will start with a 4-4-2 formation, with Duff and new
Tottenham recruit Andy Reid on the wings, while Robbie Keane and Clinton
Morrison spearhead the attack.

However, there is no Roy Keane due to a knee injury, with Stephen Carr
training but requested not to play by Newcastle manager Graeme Souness as has hehas only recently returned from a knee ligament problem.
end

08/02/2005, 3:51 PM
Kerr has confirmed he will start with a 4-4-2 formation, with Duff and new
Tottenham recruit Andy Reid on the wings, while Robbie Keane and Clinton
Morrison spearhead the attack.

Why is it Kerr seems to like giving out the odd bit of info about whos starting before friendlys and not the whole thing? Ah well, I would have prefered to have seen a bit more experimentation with Elliot and McGeady but Kerr treats these high profile friendlys like competitive games so it's no suprise, all four players would easily start in a full strenght team.

finlma
08/02/2005, 7:05 PM
Let's just try win it and get our FIFA ranking up.

Who really cares about our FIFA ranking? Its all about winning the qualifying games and qualifying for big tournaments. If we loose a freindly but one of the younger players shows a lot of promise then we have more to gain than winning a boring game with a lucky goal.

onenilgameover
08/02/2005, 9:53 PM
To be honest I'm not really worried about the result at all. We have won alot of these friendlys and we must not get over confident on the back of these results...after all they are home games and not qualifiers. The match on the 26th v isreal is most important and I reckon we might need a kick up the backside before then. Portugal will be a tough side if there bothered to play.

08/02/2005, 10:23 PM
To be honest I'm not really worried about the result at all. We have won alot of these friendlys and we must not get over confident on the back of these results...after all they are home games and not qualifiers. The match on the 26th v isreal is most important and I reckon we might need a kick up the backside before then. Portugal will be a tough side if there bothered to play.
Well they've no real primadonna's in the team that I can think of, maybe Deco. I'm sure they'll be up for it.

20/02/2005, 4:40 PM
pulled up vs newcastle and still hobbling round the pitch. chelsea laready down to ten men after using 3 subs at half time and bridge got injured 2 minutes later

onenilgameover
20/02/2005, 8:01 PM
Anyone got the aftermatch scoop on this? Hopefully its not too bad. I was listening to it on 5 live so didn't see it. No news straight away must mean he isn't that badly off. Might miss the Barca match.

20/02/2005, 8:05 PM
Doubt its anything serious. He hurt himself going in for a very good tackle on Carr is his own box. Both of them clashed with Cudicini.

Eirambler
20/02/2005, 9:19 PM
On 5 Live tonight they just said he was a doubt for Wednesday.

So it doesnt sound too bad.

AmenToThat
20/02/2005, 9:49 PM
Seemed like he was hobbling which weird as it seems I was glad to see.
When I ever see him grab his shoulder then Ill start to worry..............

4tothefloor
20/02/2005, 10:44 PM
As long as he's not playing against Liverpool on Sunday, that's all i care about for the immediate future! Hopefully nothing too serious, minor knock i'd say

22/02/2005, 3:18 PM
His knee injury means he can't run.

Hopefully nothing serious.

Eire06
22/02/2005, 3:19 PM
That'll be a major blow for Chelsea....

Is it a very serious injury how long will he be out??

Bridge is out too

Chelsea defender Wayne Bridge has been ruled out of action for the rest of the season with a double ankle fracture.
The left-back picked up the injury in a challenge by Alan Shearer during Sunday's FA Cup fifth-round defeat to Newcastle.

The 24-year-old was stretchered off the pitch and underwent surgery yesterday before the club confirmed that he will be sidelined for the rest of the current campaign.

22/02/2005, 3:23 PM
big blow. they've no-one creative in the side now. can't see them beating barca at all

22/02/2005, 3:28 PM
I couldn't give a monkey's about Chelsea vs Barca! Not in the bigger scheme of things. I just want a fully fit starting XI for Israel!

There was no mention about how long he'd be out but there was no suggestion it was serious. Still, many of these cruciate injuries look innocuous at the start.

22/02/2005, 3:53 PM
I couldn't give a monkey's about Chelsea vs Barca!
This has put me on a real downer. I was really looking forward to watching Duffer in the Nou Camp. :(

Chelsea: Cech, Ferreira, Carvalho, Terry, Gallas, Tiago, Makelele, Lampard, Cole, Drogba, Gudjohnsen.

Closed Account 2
23/02/2005, 1:02 AM
soccernet says he's out of the game in Barcelona, doesnt say about this w/end at Cardiff, I dont think it will affect the match in Israel tho.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=325771&cc=5739

23/02/2005, 9:49 AM
Article on Sky Sports. how chelsea fare with and without Duff.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=257706&CPID=8&clid=&channel=France

FarBeag
19/03/2005, 8:57 PM
Whats your assessment of Duffers performances lately.In my opinion he appears to have gone off the boil a little.He looks a little predictable and my fear is that he may lose his place as Cole is playing very well and Robben is back. I was at the game today and Duff was brutal,it was like ground hog day,maybe its Mors tactics.

19/03/2005, 11:51 PM
I saw a little of him on MOTD he looked OK, some nice touches, Cole has
to work hard for a place, but is obviously half decent.
All I am bothered about is that he is fit and ready for the Israel match, which
he is.
Duff is Chelsea's best crosser of the ball, and take the corners, no point in breaking your legs against Crystal Palace, as long as he is in good shape
for the Israel match am happy.
He is due a big game and I hope its next week!
Class is permanent :)

20/03/2005, 12:05 AM
Whats your assessment of Duffers performances lately.In my opinion he appears to have gone off the boil a little.He looks a little predictable and my fear is that he may lose his place as Cole is playing very well and Robben is back. I was at the game today and Duff was brutal,it was like ground hog day,maybe its Mors tactics.

Nobody in their right minds would pick Cole over Duff.

Colbert Report
20/03/2005, 7:31 AM
Duff had better pick it up or he'll be back on the bench. He should have gone to Liverpool instead.

M@ttitude
20/03/2005, 10:24 AM
Crazy talk lads.. Duffs a legend!

carnstien
20/03/2005, 1:36 PM
Duff had better pick it up or he'll be back on the bench. He should have gone to Liverpool instead.
I dunno about that boss. If he's getting his game with the best team in Europe I don't see why he should be anywhere else.

Duff has been quite since Robben got injured but I think that could be because he is a marked man. When Robben returns and there is two of them to watch, Duff will get more space I think we'll see a different player.

fergalr
21/03/2005, 12:42 PM
I was at the game on Saturday as well and while Duffer was quiet, its unfair to say he had a poor game. His status at the champions elect is unassailable and Mourinho always goes out of his way to praise him. For the Irish team, its great that we have somebody who is playing for the best coach in Europe and is a key member of one of the best teams.

As for Joe Cole - those who slag him off obviously haven't been watching the progress he's made this season. He's been great recently and JM is going to have a interesting choice in the coming games. I'll predict that Robben and Duff will be first choice and Cole will either be on the bench or (in some games) he'll play all three.

Donal81
21/03/2005, 12:51 PM

Are you a Liverpool fan? You'd want to be, nothing else can explain that nonsensical statement!

Babysis
21/03/2005, 12:59 PM
I was at the game on Saturday as well and while Duffer was quiet, its unfair to say he had a poor game. His status at the champions elect is unassailable and Mourinho always goes out of his way to praise him. For the Irish team, its great that we have somebody who is playing for the best coach in Europe and is a key member of one of the best teams.

As for Joe Cole - those who slag him off obviously haven't been watching the progress he's made this season. He's been great recently and JM is going to have a interesting choice in the coming games. I'll predict that Robben and Duff will be first choice and Cole will either be on the bench or (in some games) he'll play all three.

I was also at the game (enjoying the corporate facillities of the Bridge - and lovely they were too). Duff is playing superbly at Chelsea.
He doesnt have to have to be involved in every move of the game, because when he does get involved he does it well. We were pleased to see him come off early and will be nicely rested and injury free for saturday

As for Cole, he has stepped up a gear, and when he stays on his feet he is turning in to a cracking player :D

21/03/2005, 1:09 PM
He won't drop Cole in this form. Gudjohnsen will most likely be the player dropped for Robben's return.

btw, I was in the Mont Clare hotel yesterday, right beside the Merrion Square carnival. Apparantly Duffer was at the carnival with his girlfriend.

21/03/2005, 4:16 PM
I think Mourinho has given him too defensive a roll. The number of times you see Duffer tracking back is unbelievable. Chelsea work from not conceding onwards so Duffer doesn't get the opportunities going forward he should (i.e. 1 on 1). He's done well at both ends of the field when I've seen him but Mourinho should try and allow him great offensive opportunities but then who can argue with his record ?

In other words: don't worry about Damien. In what he does this Saturday that counts.

21/03/2005, 4:32 PM
There is nothing wrong with Duff's ability. Its the team he's playing in thats the problem. Murhinho is a defensive minded coach and since he (and raineriri to a lesser extent) took over, he placed a bigger emphasis on Duff's defensive game.

The other problem is that he is playing in the EPL. Its all 4-4-2 (mainly) and the team is set up to knock down weaker teams quickly rather than trying to play good football. Its typical anglo saxon mentality and is like watching a rugby team line out in two rigid banks.

Hopefully when roben comes back they can revert to 4-3-3 and facilitate the players like duff and roben who have more individual skill.

brine3
21/03/2005, 10:59 PM
Nothing to worry about, apparently he's Abramovich's favourite player.

FarBeag
22/03/2005, 9:55 PM
Did you hear his interview on Sky this evening.Claims he is playing the best football of his career and it's down to Mourinho, who he quotes as been the best manager in the world.Mourinho is also reported to be going to Israel to watch him(close relationship ha) .Maybe he his saving himself for Saturday please god.

22/03/2005, 10:31 PM
Mourinho is also reported to be going to Israel to watch him(close relationship ha) .Maybe he his saving himself for Saturday please god.
Mourinho will be going to Israel this week for the following reason:

LISBON, (AFP) - Chelsea's Portguese manager Jose Mourinho said Saturday (5th March) he would travel to Israel later this month to watch mixed teams of Palestinian and Israeli children play football as part of a peace initiative.

He said he has been invited to visit the country by Israeli Vice Premier Shimon Peres and would also give a talk to Palestinian and Israeli football coaches during his stay.

"It is a different challenge, but one which I could not turn down," Mourinho wrote in his regular column in "Dez", the weekly magazine supplement to top-selling Portuguese sports daily Record.

"It will be my modest contribution to the strengthening of ties of understanding and friendship between these two people who, like me, desire a peaceful future," he added.

Mourinho gave no exact dates for the trip, saying only that it would take place during the second half of the month during a break in the English Premiership race.
So he will most likely go to watch Duffer play. :)

22/03/2005, 10:54 PM
Thanks for that, I just saw a repeat of that interview.
Some othe Duff stuff:-

http://icwales.icnetwork.co.uk/0600soccer/0200news/tm_objectid=15316118&method=full&siteid=50082&headline=joe-turns-on-the-style-name_page.html

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/hi/sport/6017188.html

Looks like Mourinho is spoilt for choice, you might as well hand him the
Premiership and Champions League trophys now.

Lets hope Mourinho is not giving coaching tips to the the Israeli coach though!! Thats the last thing we need.