17/03/2007, 9:58 PM
1 run needed!!

17/03/2007, 9:59 PM
O´brien cant wait any longer he is going for it

17/03/2007, 10:01 PM
It's won I think Johnson hit a 6 into the Irish crowd!!

cavan_fan
17/03/2007, 10:01 PM
Unbelievable, this ranks with the all time Irish sporting achievements

17/03/2007, 10:03 PM
Unbelievable, this ranks with the all time Irish sporting achievements

The greatest.

Phenomenal, I'm shattered.
Me nerves are shot

What did I say about not finishing with a flourish. :D

Got the 133 in the end...

onenilgameover
17/03/2007, 10:05 PM
Unbelievable. Have a nice flight home lads!!!!!

17/03/2007, 10:05 PM
Fantastic, a 6 to finish.

17/03/2007, 10:07 PM
What are they (sky folk) talking about unbelievability for,
We always believed :)

17/03/2007, 10:07 PM
there saying that it goes down as the biggest upset in cricket history, well done to all involved.

17/03/2007, 10:08 PM
Pakistan! Who are ye!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

17/03/2007, 10:14 PM
So If Zimbabwe beat the dispirited brokenhearted Pakistanis and we have a moral victory against the WI do we still go through?

17/03/2007, 10:20 PM
Sound man Trent

Soper
17/03/2007, 10:21 PM
What a day, I am feeling very good today after the tension from the Zimbabwe match. Brilliant

Gaillimh Al
17/03/2007, 10:28 PM
Depends how much we lose by and they win by I suppose. Run rate might come into it as well.

Brilliant win for Ireland. Was listening to last 10 overs on 5 live extra. Tension was unbelievable. Poor Jon Kenny was doing the commentary and had to leave to do a Radio 1 report just as they were about to score the winning runs. Doesn't matter what happens from here on in. The team should be get a proper reception on their return home. It's not as if we're going to win the thing, but as with Italia 90, we're putting it up to the so-called big boys, announcing our presence on the world stage and our supporters are creating a party atmosphere and causing no trouble.
Looking forward to seeing the BBC highlights (1135). After the last game with Zimbabwe, their expert on all things cricket Jonathan Agnew was asked should the ICC be contemplating giving Ireland Test status. He scoffed and rubbished the suggestion, obviously thinking we'd be put on our place against the Pakistanis. Should be interesting.

Fair play also to Bangladesh for comprehensively beating India the day after finding out a team mate who missed out on the finals squad was killed in a motorbike accident.

17/03/2007, 10:31 PM
Net run rate. It's complicated, explain later.

Is now a good time?;)

17/03/2007, 10:38 PM
Not really! But it's not actually so desperately complex. Basically, Net Run Rate = average runs per over for minus average runs per over against. Ireland's is currently +0.274, which isn't great.

If Ireland do qualify for the Super Eights (assuming they don't beat the WIndies in doing so) they'll be at something of a disadvantage in that only points scored against other qualifiers are carried forward. Pakistan are out and Zimbabwe are unlikely to advance.

17/03/2007, 10:40 PM
Is now a good time?;)Ireland got 133 runs off 41 overs, a run rate of 3.24 runs per over. Pakistan got 132 runs and were bowled out so their run rate is calculated as if they used all their 50 overs so it's 2.64*. That gives Ireland a net run rate of +0.6 (one minus the other) and Pakistan a net run rate of -0.6. Those are added up for each match you play like goal difference. That's my understanding anyway.

*The reduction in the number of overs in Ireland's innings may affect this, I'm not sure.

17/03/2007, 10:43 PM
You're wrong somewhere anyway, as the actual figure is 0.274, as Sheridan has.

cavan_fan
17/03/2007, 10:46 PM
Is this like San Marino beating Ireland at football!

17/03/2007, 10:47 PM

This was more out of the ordinary..;)

17/03/2007, 11:01 PM
I thought everybody knew that Jamaca was good place to grow Grass.
Wy were they so surprised?
Were the conditions more of a detrimental influence on the Pakistanis than on the Irish?

17/03/2007, 11:31 PM
Just got in - and have to say:

\o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/ \o/

A great, great day for the National Team and a great, great day for the foot soldiers that make up the Irish Cricket Union.

Could face England in the first round of Super Eight games should things pan out as they should.

Well done to all.

SO, SO proud

Seriously thinking about heading out for the Super 8 games

blutil
18/03/2007, 1:02 AM
brilliant stuff - cmon ireland. not trying to blatantly plug this or anything but heard on the radio that the jerseys are sold out until may ! :o so set up this quickly tonight http://www.cafepress.com/irishcricket (mod take down if this isnt allowed)

2legged tackle
18/03/2007, 1:49 AM
I watched the match(is that what you call a game of Cricket) tonight and ws good to see Ireland win. But what is the Super 8's?:confused: What is an inning?:confused:
Is there world rankings and if so where are Ireland and finally Is the Irish team basicly Australia's B team.:confused:

cavan_fan
18/03/2007, 7:11 AM
I watched the match(is that what you call a game of Cricket) tonight and ws good to see Ireland win. But what is the Super 8's?:confused: What is an inning?:confused:
Is there world rankings and if so where are Ireland and finally Is the Irish team basicly Australia's B team.:confused:

The top 2 teams in each group go into one big 2nd round group and play each other once (apart from the other team from their first round group.) It goes on for a month and is frankly overkill but the idea was that it would be Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan and all the matches mean t more money especially in India/Pakistan whcih is where the majority of money in cricket comes from. I can imagine the ICC (Cricket's FIFA) are p*ssed off this morning!

An innings in one day cricket (like in the World Cup) is the max 50 overs one team has to score as many runs as possible. There are 2 innings in a one day match (one for each to bat)

There are ICC rankings. At present we are 13th. This is a bit misleading as very few coutries play any cricket at all. But to put this in context there is an enormous gap between the top 8 or 9 teams and the rest. I would class us as the cricket equivalent of the Armenian football team and Pakistan as the equivalent of the Italian team. (Imagine Armenia putting Italy out of the World Cup)

Finally yes we do have a few Aussies/South Africans in the team who qualify through residency. But thats not unusual. Our best player (Ed Joyce) is playing for England whose best player (Kevin Pietersen) is South African.

Louth4sam
18/03/2007, 10:45 AM
Does anybody know what odds the two teams were? What a result!! If anybody told me that id be sitting in a pack pub on St. Patrick's day with everybody watching Ireland beating Pakistan in cricket i would of had them committed

18/03/2007, 11:53 AM
Seems to me in Cricket that a minnow has to outplay the class team in all aspects of the game in order to win. A wee bit different than in soccer where a minnow might be defending all the game and hit a sucker punch with one chance.
Full marks to the captain for an outstanding example of leadership.

18/03/2007, 12:52 PM

3 aussies im the squad, one south African. The rest Irish born.
In the England squad there's a Kenyan, 2 South Africans and an Irishman. Which means there are more Irish born players at the World Cup than English

18/03/2007, 4:16 PM
You're wrong somewhere anyway, as the actual figure is 0.274, as Sheridan has.So I see, it must have something to do with the overs being reduced. On the cricket world cup site (http://cricketworldcup.indya.com/scores/html/live/pkir1703.html), they've calculated Pakistan's run rate based on the number of overs they used despite them being bowled out. I assume this is because of Ireland not getting a full 50 overs as it hasn't happened in any of the other games.

18/03/2007, 5:01 PM
Here's what Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Net_run_rate) has to say on the subject.

3 Heroes
18/03/2007, 5:22 PM
RIP
Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer has been taken to hospital after being found unconscious in his hotel room.

Early reports on Sky Sports News state that Woolmer was found in his hotel room unconscious at 10.45am on Sunday morning.

Woolmer was staying in the Pegasus Hotel close to the Sabina Park ground where Pakistan were playing their group games.

After being found on the floor on his hotel room, with signs of vomiting, Woolmer was examined by doctors before being taken to University Hospital in Kingston.

"We have taken Bob Woolmer to the hospital and he is in the emergency ward. We don't know anything more at the moment," Pakistan team media manager Pervez Mir told AFP.

It is not yet known what caused Woolmer to be admitted to hospital, or what his condition currently is, but the signs are certainly worrying for the Pakistan coach.

The Pakistan team spokesman continued: "We saw him last night but having not seen him early today two of our officers went to his room and with the help of hotel staff entered.

"He was found unconscious there.

"It is too early to say whether he has suffered a heart attack. We are awaiting medical reports."

Woolmer, 58, had come in for intense criticism after Pakistan were dumped out of the World Cup following their shock defeat against Ireland.

The former England Test player's contract as Pakistan coach expires at the end of the tournament, and there were already major doubts about whether the former South Africa and Warwickshire coach would stay on with the PCB or not.

skysports

18/03/2007, 5:25 PM
Pakistan coach Woolmer dies

March 18, 2007

Bob Woolmer, the Pakistan coach, has died in a Kingston hospital after being found unconscious in his hotel room hours after his side's elimination from the World Cup. He was 58.

More to follow.

red bellied
18/03/2007, 5:26 PM
Just been confirmed on Rte news that he has died.

stickyjoe
18/03/2007, 5:59 PM
Could face England in the first round of Super Eight games should things pan out as they should.

if things go as they should with us and england finishing 2nd now we`ll play them in the very last game of the super eights I think.

Beat them to put us into the semis and send Freddie off to drown his sorrows :cool:

kingdom hoop
18/03/2007, 8:27 PM

i dont think football is the best sporting analogy, rugby is probably more accurate. in which case i would say it'd be like romania knocking south africa out of the world cup. what a fantastic win. six games versus the best teams in the world probably coming up, huge. well done to all concerned

18/03/2007, 8:29 PM
I'd say Pakistan are very vulnerable now. Wouldn't be surprised to see Zimbabwe beat them and still dump us out.

18/03/2007, 9:41 PM
Hopefully the West Indies destroy Zimbabwe and ruin their run rate. I'm not counting the chickens yet. Only 50% through the group.

18/03/2007, 9:44 PM
If anything Pakistan will want to win for Woolmer. Hope so anyway (for him more than Ireland)

18/03/2007, 9:49 PM
Good point. His last day on this planet and probably the worst day of his career with a country calling for his head. Very sad. RIP.

19/03/2007, 12:39 PM
Earthquake reported in Trinidad...

Big Duane takes a flying catch for Bermuda - India 3/1.

Funny stuff, watch out for the catch and Joe Brolly-style celebration on YouTube.:D

cavan_fan
19/03/2007, 1:28 PM
if things go as they should with us and england finishing 2nd now we`ll play them in the very last game of the super eights I think.

Beat them to put us into the semis and send Freddie off to drown his sorrows :cool:

There is a slightly unusal way of doing this in the world cup.

Instead of D1 in the Super Eight draw being the first placed team in Group D and D2 the second placed team, the positions are decided in advance. D1 will be Pakistan if they qualify (irresepctive of whether they finish first or second) D2 wil be the Windies. IF we qualify instead of Pakistan then we will be D1 (even if we come second). Equally if England qualify they will be C2 (Kiwis will be C1).

So we will play England on the 30th if we qualify.

I think this is being done because everyone expected they knew the final 8 teams and it allowed fans to plan their itinerary. It only works of course because you play all the other teams.

19/03/2007, 2:44 PM
West Indies and Zimbabwe are currently playing in our group. West Indies but Zimbabwe in to bat first. They are currently on 49-3 (13.5 overs).

19/03/2007, 2:50 PM
Cricket: As explained to a newbie...

You have two sides, one out in the field and one in. Each man that's in the side that's in goes out, and when he's out he comes in and the next man goes in until he's out. When they are all out, the side that's out comes in and the side that's been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.

When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who stay out all the time and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have been out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game.

Am I right or wrong?

I think I'm out!

19/03/2007, 4:34 PM
T5eYZOp1VzQ

19/03/2007, 4:58 PM
It will be a while before I get sick of watching that video!