View Full Version : Cricket World Cup 2007
Pages :
[
16]
18/04/2007, 1:22 PM
Trent says he would have batted first anyway. (The inveterate toss losers defence mechanism?)
Maninga is still on the sick list.
Any predictions for our opening partnership?
18/04/2007, 1:23 PM
Would have batted anyway. Sri Lanka at full strength minus Malinga, who hasn't been risked. Ireland have selected Kenny Carroll, the only squad player not to feature to date, in place of Andrew White. An opening batsman by trade, he's been picked at number 8. Presumably his selection is a pat on the back for making the trip and possibly an opportunity to avail of his part-time chinaman bowling. Botha has been promoted up the order to 3, hopefully to provide Morgan with a buffer against the new ball, as I've been advocating all tournament.
18/04/2007, 2:10 PM
It's a firing squad out there.
28/3
18/04/2007, 2:18 PM
3 down in 4 deliveries.:(
Hugely disappointing tournament from Morgan.
Player .......Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s
EJG Morgan 9 9 0 91 28 10.11 179 50.83 0 0 2 11 1
18/04/2007, 2:22 PM
So much for the hype. Just goes to show why we need to keep our best players at home. Morgan has consistently chosen Middlesex ahead of Ireland but he's fooling himself if he thinks he's got any chance of playing Test cricket with a record like that.
Was thinking the exact same. Only a couple of weeks ago Ed Joyce called him the best young batsman in county cricket. Mind you he's probably on a par with Vaughan at this stage in ODI
The Botha experiment worked well...
18/04/2007, 2:33 PM
Hype, there's hype in Irish cricket?
They are starting to dig in a bit now. 42/3 14 overs
Says on cricinfo that our lads are wearing black armbands
Any Idea why?
18/04/2007, 2:43 PM
According to a message posted by the squad on CricketEurope today, it's for John McCormick, who was a prominent figure with North County CC.
The other aspiring test cricketer has scored 3 runs off 25 balls
18/04/2007, 2:48 PM
No harm in that at the moment. Get to 85-100 and then play some shots, plenty of big hitters to come.
18/04/2007, 2:56 PM
47-5 now, getting destroyed I'm afraid.
18/04/2007, 2:57 PM
make that 47-6. Carroll's World Cup over before it begins.
Serves me right for laughing so much yesterday evening I suppose.
18/04/2007, 2:59 PM
No harm in that at the moment. Get to 85-100 and then play some shots, plenty of big hitters to come.
Or get yourselves out and leave it at 48/6, either is good.
18/04/2007, 3:02 PM
49-7. Painful.
Captain Fantastic run out
18/04/2007, 3:07 PM
Trent was unlucky but I suppose that will be just a footnote.
18/04/2007, 3:09 PM
Last 5 ovs 5/5 RR 1.00
:eek: :( :(
18/04/2007, 3:17 PM
We were 28 for no loss.
Then 9 wickets for only 26 runs.
18/04/2007, 3:20 PM
Ha-ha SIX! Legend Dave. :D
18/04/2007, 3:21 PM
they think it's all over...
18/04/2007, 3:23 PM
In a way I probably feel like how a lot of uninterested "football fans" felt during the football world cups. Great craic while it lasted, but ultimately not that important.
Definitely some great memories, Zimbabwe & Pakistan updates by text message while I was on holidays, Rankin's early wickets against England and a really good win over Bangladesh.
Well done lads.
Now to bowl out Sri Lanka for under 60.
18/04/2007, 3:27 PM
What happened to the old fashioned cry of Howzat, these Sri Lankans scream like seagulls.
18/04/2007, 3:27 PM
What's Ireland's record last wicket stand?
18/04/2007, 3:39 PM
77 all out just failed to beat lowest total of the world cup.
All out for 77 in 27.4 overs
Last wicket partnership of 23
18/04/2007, 3:40 PM
Looks like the wooden spoon. Now to listen to that sky pundit with the toasted face.
18/04/2007, 3:47 PM
When you think about it, the demands of the Super 8 were hellish for a group of mostly part-timers. Every other country bar the seemingly-invincible Australia put in at least one poor performance so it was asking too much for us to be at our peak and stay competitive in every game. SL even bottled out by resting players against Oz whereas everyone treated us with a level of respect.
What an experience for everyone though (Well except maybe Kenny Carroll although at least he got a deadly holiday out of it:) ).
18/04/2007, 3:51 PM
The fat lady has just sat down again. 1/1
18/04/2007, 3:54 PM
Couple more early wickets and this could be fun :)
18/04/2007, 4:09 PM
Good catch by Carroll, his WC is just beginning.
18/04/2007, 4:11 PM
25-2 3.2overs
18/04/2007, 4:50 PM
Tanked by 7 wickets. Its a steep learning curve and they had to start somewhere. Fair play to them.
18/04/2007, 4:55 PM
And so Ireland's sojourn comes to an end. 2 wins and a tie was more than we could have hoped for and competitive in all the other games apart from against Oz and Sri L. Great interest generated in cricket (as a cricketer I am glad). We couldn't have asked for more.
Well done to all concerned.
TheBoss
18/04/2007, 5:06 PM
They made Cricket popular during the WC, they gave their all and were shattered in the end.
18/04/2007, 5:06 PM
I wonder how Sky will fill the 5 hour space in their schedule?
18/04/2007, 5:32 PM
To answer my own Q, they are going to do a special on Ireland's world cup story starting 7pm Sky time.
I am guessing the team been on the beer since Sunday & this game has come too soon for them to sober up?
New Mascot for the Ireland Cricket Team? :D
BBC (http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42669000/gif/_42669959_duck_44x44.gif)
Mascot in the Pavilion (http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/pic/AUN/CJ10803~Duck-Duck-Bath-Posters.jpg)
TheBoss
18/04/2007, 6:27 PM
Looks like a Duck !
...ding! :p
19/04/2007, 12:18 PM
Overall, we had a lot of fortune against Zimbabwe. Bray held it together superbly and we were crucially aided by some comical hot potato fielding.
I thought that was it for the bandwagon.
But the game against Pakistan raised the bar higher. The crowd were brilliant, on the tear from start to finish and the performance with a wonderful recovery by the team when the batting order looked to be falling to bits. One of the truly great sporting victories by a national team.
The game against Bangladesh just showed how far the team had come on from the opening game, played for victory knowing they could win and played like winners.
TheBoss
19/04/2007, 3:00 PM
Has anyone noticed the Bread Company ''Johnston, Mooney & O'Brien'', often hear the advertisement on the radio.
Funny coincidence :D
TheBoss
19/04/2007, 11:20 PM
We are to finish 8th, after West Indies did not attack the Bangla's when they were weak allow their NRR to be ahead of us.
kingdom hoop
21/04/2007, 1:46 AM
"There are good young kids coming through. The big thing for us would be to hang on to those kids and not let them go off to county cricket. That is something down the track we're going to have to look to do,"
TheBoss
21/04/2007, 1:33 PM
I think most would choose Professional over Amateur.
onceahoop
21/04/2007, 1:43 PM
I think most would choose Professional over Amateur.
How about the ICU offering some sort of part time contract. There are a lot of games coming up this summer.
TheBoss
21/04/2007, 3:58 PM
That would be a a step forward, but would it stop players going over ?
TheBoss
22/04/2007, 11:32 PM
Semi Finals
Australia v South Africa
New Zealand v Sri Lanka
Should be really exiting games, I expect a Australia v Sri Lanka Final, them have impressed the most and deserved to be in the Final.
I fancied NZ as outsiders but after the hiding the Aussies gave me no sure now.
Australia at 5/6 actually looks like very good odds now.