View Full Version : Cricket World Cup 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

15/03/2007, 9:48 PM
wow - unbelievable!

I'd love to have seen it on TV, but the BBC updates had to suffice. :)

The updates were quite good actually, bit of humour to them.

15/03/2007, 9:49 PM
5 wickets for last 10 runs. Zimbabwe tail order got really nervous when they should have had gone for broke.

Ireland had one chance at Rainford but he got a lucky run to let Matsikenyeri back in.

What chance Ireland picking up some points due to rain. :D

15/03/2007, 9:49 PM
Oh I see we have to play the West Indies and Pakistan, that sounds bad.

15/03/2007, 9:52 PM
That 2nd last batman was a nervous wreck, do you think he got himself run out on purpose?

15/03/2007, 9:54 PM
Ireland bowled horribly (well, innocuously), by the way. One legitimate wicket in the match (i.e., one that owed more to the bowler than the batsmen.)

Bit embarrassing that the three Irish interviewees afterwards were two Aussies and the Seth Effrikan. What must people think. :o

15/03/2007, 9:55 PM
That 2nd last batman was a nervous wreck, do you think he got himself run out on purpose?

Yep, defo. Had to leave the good batsman on strike.

Bray deservedly man of the match. Owes it all to Eddie Gormley's coaching.

15/03/2007, 10:01 PM
Jaysus, Martin Williamson (who wrote an infuriating Plucky-Irish-damning-with-faint-praise account of the defeat to England at Stormont) described IRL-ZIM as follows on Cricinfo:

Zimbabwe tied with Ireland in one of the greatest World Cup matches ever, the match at Sabina Park producing some of the most pulsating, enthralling cricket you could ever ask for. Zimbabwe will wonder how they threw away an almost certain victory, but while the points are shared, the day belonged to the Irish, and the body language as Ed Rainsford was run-out off the final ball going for the winning single could not have been more contrasting.

Steady on...

Someone jumped the gun captioning the accompanying photo:
Jeremy Bray reaches his outstanding hundred ... but it was in a losing cause

15/03/2007, 10:14 PM
Sheridan the bowling certainly didn't sparkle, but it was consistently economical and very disciplined, which always stopped Zimbabwe every time they threatened to pull away.

The fielding was really, really poor though. Half a dozen clangers and a few more that they really should have got. Also, we looked slow to cover the ground.

But the nerves must have been huge and Pakistan is a no-lose game. Paddy's Day, a presumably almost full ground and a cracking atmosphere guaranteed.

15/03/2007, 10:26 PM
It was indeed disciplined, but few of the bowlers carried a genuine wicket threat. They'll need to improve immeasurably before playing the big boys, because West Indian and Pakistani batsmen won't fall on their swords the way Zimbabwe did. Looks like we're falling victim to the English syndrome of picking bowlers for their batting ability (not that we're awash with options; I guess one of the Mooney brothers could come in for Kevin O'Brien or White, but the former has a big ODI hundred to his name and the latter batted well today.)

I really don't know what was up with the fielding. Nerves I guess. Excusable I suppose, but they've had long enough to get it right. It seems that all three departments (batting, bowling, fielding) can fire in isolation, but never in concert.

Some match though. What proper sport is all about.

15/03/2007, 10:33 PM
Some match though. What proper sport is all about.

Hopefully the cricket skeptics will find the world tiddlywinks championship to be equally as exciting as this tedious, minority sport. :)

Noelys Guitar
15/03/2007, 10:34 PM
Definetely nerves in the field. What a brilliant bit of Irish sport. Best chance will be against Pakistan (albeit slim)who are missing 3 players. Wish I was out there. Instead we will have to put up with Stans rants!

Noelys Guitar
15/03/2007, 10:39 PM
Hopefully the cricket skeptics will find the world tiddlywinks championship to be equally as exciting as this tedious, minority sport. :)

Exactly! Thats why it was such good craic today. No Delaney. No Stan. Less corporate bull**** than you will witness at Croker for the next 2 games. And how many postman are in the 22?

15/03/2007, 10:49 PM
Bit embarrassing that the three Irish interviewees afterwards were two Aussies and the Seth Effrikan. What must people think. :o
That no-one in Ireland really cares? Oh wait...;)

Enthralling last half hour or so, I must say. Shame about the couple of hours of tedium which went before. I reckon they should start these games with one team needing an unlikely but just possible target. Remove all the nonsense which goes beforehand!

15/03/2007, 10:51 PM
Ah p1ss off, you philistine.

15/03/2007, 10:52 PM
Ha-ha. All bets void. Crazy stuff.

I was trading on it on betfair and was in decent sized profit no matter who won. *******ds :D

Tie is better than nothing. Should have won the game but for the clowning in the field.

In fairness the Zimbabwean fielding was awful too

Fabulously entertaining though.

15/03/2007, 11:00 PM
I was trading on it on betfair and was in decent sized profit no matter who won. *******ds :D

Close to €11m on the game on betfair I noticed - all wiped due to one ball. :eek:

16/03/2007, 1:41 AM
Me da and bro are out at it.

They said the craic was brilliant and the atmosphere was absolutely rocking near the end.

16/03/2007, 7:00 AM
Yes, great game. Irish fielding hopeless but from the game looking dead and buried, they came back to tie the game. Some of the female fans were in tears from the emotions. With 9 needed from the last over we should have won the game. Part-time bowler bowls the last over :confused: Surprised at that.

Aidan Cooney on TV3 called the Irish centurian McBrady rather than McBray. :mad:

Looking forward to Saturday (after the rugger and the soccer results - lots of channel surfing on the cards).

16/03/2007, 7:40 AM
Aidan Cooney on TV3 called the Irish centurian McBrady rather than McBray. :mad:
Its neither, his name is Jeremy Bray

DaveyCakes
16/03/2007, 8:00 AM
A real Jeckyl and Hyde game from both teams, great entertainment.

There was enough good in the Irish performance to suggest that they could give Pakistan and the Windies a game...Some gutsy batting from Bray and the middle order, Generally good line and length from the bowlers, generally good fielding.

There was also enough bad in the Irish performance to suggest they could get hockeyed....Top order collapse, poor fielding in pressure situations, lack of any real threat in the bowling.

Tazskool
16/03/2007, 8:30 AM
Not really a cricket fan but it was nice to see that the smaller cricketing nations made the headlines for something positive...

I have noticed that there is alot of sledging from the Aussies about how the little teams shoudlnt be there and that pile of carp!!
At the end of the day it is good for the sport and liek any sport the more publicity it gets around the home nation and the world the better the sport will grow!!

16/03/2007, 9:44 AM
Aidan Cooney on TV3 called the Irish centurian McBrady rather than McBray. :mad: .....

16/03/2007, 9:51 AM
Listened to the last hour or so on BBC Five Live. I found it while channell surfing on NTL digital. Uninterrupted and had me jumping out of my chair. Great excitement. Pity we didn't nick it in the end.

16/03/2007, 9:56 AM
That was very entertaining.
Come on to **** Ireland.
Throw the ****ing thing.

When's the next match?
Might get the cans in.

DaveyCakes
16/03/2007, 10:10 AM
That was very entertaining.
Come on to **** Ireland.
Throw the ****ing thing.

When's the next match?
Might get the cans in.

Pakistan tomorrow, West Indies Friday

Sonic
16/03/2007, 10:29 AM
0 runs conceded in an over

wats an over:D

16/03/2007, 10:38 AM
Cheers Davey. Is that on Sky late at night?
Won't i look great asking the barman to switch from the rugby?

16/03/2007, 10:40 AM
Its neither, his name is Jeremy Bray

:o See he even confused me :o

DaveyCakes
16/03/2007, 10:55 AM
Cheers Davey. Is that on Sky late at night?
Won't i look great asking the barman to switch from the rugby?

It starts at 2:30, so the rugby will be into the second half by then (The Ireland rugby match is 1:30 isn't it?). You won't miss too much of the cricket (Unless Ireland get put in and get skittled) if you ask the barman to switch after the rugby:D

Highlights on BBC late.

16/03/2007, 11:34 AM
It starts at 2:30, so the rugby will be into the second half by then (The Ireland rugby match is 1:30 isn't it?). You won't miss too much of the cricket (Unless Ireland get put in and get skittled) if you ask the barman to switch after the rugby:D

Highlights on BBC late.

It's on Sky Red Button Interactive thing so it won't be available on NTL :(

Anyone reckon the pubs will be open to pushing that red button instead of showing whatever wicketless game is on one of the other channels:confused:

Feck it - it's only opposite Bangladesh v India. Sky should really make it their main game after yesterday's performance.

16/03/2007, 11:44 AM
Feck it - it's only opposite Bangladesh v India. Sky should really make it their main game after yesterday's performance.

Not a chance given the amount of South Asian cricket nuts in the UK.

16/03/2007, 11:48 AM
fantastic performance but not good for the nerves. The crowd seemed to be loving it as well. Fingers crossed they can put Pakistan under a little pressure - it's a game where they are expected to get walloped so have nothing really to lose.

Steveoc
16/03/2007, 11:56 AM
fantastic performance but not good for the nerves. The crowd seemed to be loving it as well. Fingers crossed they can put Pakistan under a little pressure - it's a game where they are expected to get walloped so have nothing really to lose.

You can say that again -my nerves haven't been that shattered in a long time, so I can only begin to imagine what it must have been like for the players.
A pity that wickets taken isn't used as a tie-break. With that last ball stumping, it would have been some ending to the game. Roll on Pakistan !!

If the tournament produces a few more games anywhere near the excitement of last night, even though the actual quality wasn't that great, it will be well worth watching.

16/03/2007, 1:36 PM
A pity that wickets taken isn't used as a tie-break. With that last ball stumping, it would have been some ending to the game. Roll on Pakistan !!.

Since I got pulled up previously, I'll mention that it wasn't a stumping. That attempt was not out but apparently as never shut up O'Brien (the keeper) ran down the pitch celebrating he threw down the stumps at the other end running out the non-striker.

16/03/2007, 2:21 PM
I think I understand that. The last batsman was not bowled out?

There looked to be a hint of obstruction when Ireland were trying to run out the Z's, when they were flinging the ball from one wicket to the other, near the end of the game, if there was then the umpire would have called it?

Any advantage to batting first in a one day game?

16/03/2007, 4:11 PM
I think I understand that. The last batsman was not bowled out?

There looked to be a hint of obstruction when Ireland were trying to run out the Z's, when they were flinging the ball from one wicket to the other, near the end of the game, if there was then the umpire would have called it?

Very seldom obstruction is called as usually all parties have their eyes on the ball and if a fielder does send a batsman flying on to the seat of his pants, he won't be run out in the spirit of the game.

As for batting first, depends on a host of matters such as conditions at the start of play: will it be conducive to the ball swinging etc etc.

I see "our man" Joyce got a duck for England today who are struggling so far against the Kiwis.

16/03/2007, 4:19 PM

Watch who wins the coin toss, and see if they decide to bat or not. That will tell you. It will depend on what will happen to the wicket as the game progresses - whether it will become more or less helpful to the batting side.

16/03/2007, 4:29 PM
Thanks for that.
So that's why the Toss is the first highlight.

stickyjoe
16/03/2007, 5:02 PM
England recovered well with Nixon and Plunkett to finish on 207. I would still fancy New Zealand to reach that.

Gibbs just hit 6 sixes in an over against holland :eek: :D

I read somewhere in the last few weeks that there is a documentary team following the Ireland team, does anyone know anything about this? Like when it started etc. it would be a fantastic programme especially if it started as far back as the ICC tournament in 2005 when we qualified.

stickyjoe
16/03/2007, 5:11 PM
What a catch by Flintoff :cool:

great start for england. Kiwis 3/2

16/03/2007, 8:15 PM
NZ need 11 from 60 balls, as the Monty Python sketch says, luxury.

16/03/2007, 9:34 PM
Get in there NZ :)

lofty9
17/03/2007, 3:02 PM
Ireland giving Pakistan a hiding so far :eek: 66-5!

17/03/2007, 3:11 PM
68/5 after 20 overs. Amazing scenes

17/03/2007, 3:13 PM
72/6 !!!

17/03/2007, 3:53 PM
103/7 30.2 overs gone

Pakistan still favourites but stunning performance by Ireland

17/03/2007, 4:06 PM
109 for 8

17/03/2007, 4:19 PM
130 for 8 now

17/03/2007, 4:48 PM
130 for 9.

Serious chance of winning now, surely?

17/03/2007, 4:57 PM
132 all out. Remarkable score. Thnk if we win, we're through to the Super Eight as well.

Botha with quite amazing figures of 2 for 5 off 8 overs.