View Full Version : Hull City owners to take majority stake in Dundalk?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Thewhitepele
06/09/2024, 8:25 PM
Haven't had an asterisk on the league table in a few years now. Fair play Dundalk.

Remind me again what happens if Dundalk go belly up before the end of the season? If I remember correctly all their games become void. What would that mean for the league table?

06/09/2024, 8:27 PM
It's here - https://foot.ie/threads/295008-Table-with-Dundalk-fixtures-expunged

It's in no-one's interest for them to fold that quickly though. That's a sure-fire way of not getting paid.

oriel
08/09/2024, 3:25 PM
Possible news on a 100% take over from Ainscough early next week, 2 local based and one other company in a consortium that is looking to buy off BA, and that seemingly has gathered pace over the weekend.

Still a disgrace BA is hiding in Boston, not taking calls, and knowing full well his current employees have not been paid, of course everyone wants to see this mess sorted, but people going without wages is just not on, and that surely has to be addressed first.

total hoofball
08/09/2024, 7:49 PM
Who would honestly be wanting to take over Dundalk in this mess with escalating debts, players/staff not being paid, legal actions pending from ex-players and inevitably further financial skeletons lurking in the Oriel Park closet?

I had a read again over Pages 9-11 of this thread again and most could see this Dundalk takeover by no-bobs Ainscough and his phantom investors ending up in this ****show. To think some Dundalk fans were losing their minds at Pat Hoban leaving as if he and his agent didn't see the writing on the wall

sbgawa
08/09/2024, 8:21 PM
Im struggling to see how BA can find someone to take over a company with debts of ??? 1.5 million and pending legal actions etc AND on the brink of relegation to Div 1 which will mean the "asset" of European Co Efficient will be next to zero by the time it is relevant again.
Examinership would keep the club alive while writing off debts but examinerships are unpredictable.

oriel
08/09/2024, 10:36 PM
It seems a takeover could be happening next week. Debts are big that's for sure, but you can deal with them if there is a structure, revenue for a start will need a payment plan but that can be done.

Rovers went into examinership and most debts were wiped, not sure I agree with that, and would prefer if DFC didn't (yet it could happen) I would much prefer new group to take over and deal with the debt, slice and divide.

For Rovers, more you think of it, their route was like hitting the jackpot, all debts forgiven, then moved into a stadium that they paid very little towards, but granted monthly rent is now upped from 8k to 20k (I think), high price but to be fair its a great facility as anchor tenants and they have very strong crowds / revenue so that's also fair. Cork City are in the same boat, its definitely the way forward for LOI clubs, to rent off local authority or FAI sub club (MFA). Derry / Waterford / Galway etc have similar set ups, all playing in very good grounds that they don't own but is a good facility.

Whoever buys DFC will pay zero for the purchase but will take responsibility for the debt, as for the coefficient, that's like a pension plan, its only relevant if you are around for it, and Dundalk won't be making europe any time soon.

Bohs had millions written off, Shels were forced relegated for huge financial debts not sure how their debt was covered, Derry also for dual contracts, Drogs for some reason escaped same fate with huge debts, again not sure how that ended. Cork City had issues in the past in a lot of guises, hard to think really of a club that was 'clean' last 20 years, for some reason St Pats spring to mind as one. Sligo R maybe also.

In summary, almost every club in the current PD has had major financial challenges, and not getting away from Dundalk either this is obviously a repeat of 2012, and 1994, and 1973 when we had to sell Irish Internationalist like Tommy McConville, and Turlough O'Connor, it just seems to be boom and bust all over again.

The cycle of Irish football, but what is a change now is, a lot of clubs are (relatively) stable, and have a good set up, obviously Dundalk are not one !

Horrible week but we live in hope, and maybe some good news this week.

08/09/2024, 11:17 PM
Rumour is that a Dundlk fan was in Belgium over the weekend and picked up €150m and is dressed as a white night! If that were true you'd still battle scorned people past with scores to settle and agendas to drive with contacts in the game pushed to be awkward. Old guard to return and do same old stuff. BA may look up the look before you leap adage, but there was few oversights that may have been pertinant to a buyer that may not have been entered in the diary, fold or not, limp on, or have a billionaire owner back it would not be a surprie to see some legal fun and games over the next while.

Did Bohs have millions written off? Shels and Drogs went all out austerity, why Shels current position is such a big deal for their old original fanbase from early 2000s. The rest bar St Pats, Sligo and Dundalk have been through examinership or are new clubs that may or may not have bought rolls of honour. Waterford FC were the quietest about it, a name change disguising a new company and cutting debt adrift and were caught out on European participation, damn all questions were asked bar that.

Not sure whether Id want Dundalk to cut debt loose through examinership especially if creditors are local businesses. Dont have 20 odd years to wait ala Shels to see a recorvery so maybe pragmatism rather than doing what I would consider the right thing and pay every cent, restructured or not.

One thiing is for sure multiple owners in a short space of time is a club killer in the same way that multiple managers is a team killer. No matter what the wealth of a club owners mad fookers will tear things apart, as will the self important egos, those that are just not up to the level required. I think that was spotted by this owner but didnt have the deep pockets to stay in the game while change happened. All Id ask is that a new owner brings in new staff in key positions - finances, operations in the main, facilities management/development planner, football side of things a technical director over youth development, scouting and even a proven director of football type, so not much. Football admin and media people are great.

An updated History of Dundalk FC uncut would be a singular income stream as it would be a worldwid bestseller from Abibi to Bill, Fillipo to ZZahibo nd Magilton - no stats, a behind the scenes exposé with all the angles, rants and rumours untangled by the individuals themselves, owners, agents, local journos and supporters itk.....it'd be a Netflix docudrama in months!

NavanBohs
09/09/2024, 8:42 AM
Bohs had millions written off

We did not.

09/09/2024, 9:40 AM
It seems a takeover could be happening next week. Debts are big that's for sure, but you can deal with them if there is a structure, revenue for a start will need a payment plan but that can be done.

Rovers went into examinership and most debts were wiped, not sure I agree with that, and would prefer if DFC didn't (yet it could happen) I would much prefer new group to take over and deal with the debt, slice and divide.

For Rovers, more you think of it, their route was like hitting the jackpot, all debts forgiven, then moved into a stadium that they paid very little towards, but granted monthly rent is now upped from 8k to 20k (I think), high price but to be fair its a great facility as anchor tenants and they have very strong crowds / revenue so that's also fair. Cork City are in the same boat, its definitely the way forward for LOI clubs, to rent off local authority or FAI sub club (MFA). Derry / Waterford / Galway etc have similar set ups, all playing in very good grounds that they don't own but is a good facility.

Whoever buys DFC will pay zero for the purchase but will take responsibility for the debt, as for the coefficient, that's like a pension plan, its only relevant if you are around for it, and Dundalk won't be making europe any time soon.

Bohs had millions written off, Shels were forced relegated for huge financial debts not sure how their debt was covered, Derry also for dual contracts, Drogs for some reason escaped same fate with huge debts, again not sure how that ended. Cork City had issues in the past in a lot of guises, hard to think really of a club that was 'clean' last 20 years, for some reason St Pats spring to mind as one. Sligo R maybe also.

In summary, almost every club in the current PD has had major financial challenges, and not getting away from Dundalk either this is obviously a repeat of 2012, and 1994, and 1973 when we had to sell Irish Internationalist like Tommy McConville, and Turlough O'Connor, it just seems to be boom and bust all over again.

The cycle of Irish football, but what is a change now is, a lot of clubs are (relatively) stable, and have a good set up, obviously Dundalk are not one !

Horrible week but we live in hope, and maybe some good news this week.

Can I ask one question, and this isn't to wind up or insult Dundalk fans. I like you, wouldn't be a big fan of clubs going into examinership to escape paying bills, ideally the club would find new owners who would come in a manage the debt while trying to professionalise the club so that it can actually stand on its own too feet but, will the majority of Dundalk fans get on board with that after a few years of mediocrity, perhaps even in the FD?

The whole "we want our club back" brigade, all commented at the time that they didn't care if the club couldn't compete for titles and if it had to even go PT in the FD for a while, they just wanted the club back but as soon as it became clear the local lads weren't putting any money in they were soon ran as well.

oriel
09/09/2024, 10:01 AM
Can I ask one question, and this isn't to wind up or insult Dundalk fans. I like you, wouldn't be a big fan of clubs going into examinership to escape paying bills, ideally the club would find new owners who would come in a manage the debt while trying to professionalise the club so that it can actually stand on its own too feet but, will the majority of Dundalk fans get on board with that after a few years of mediocrity, perhaps even in the FD?

The whole "we want our club back" brigade, all commented at the time that they didn't care if the club couldn't compete for titles and if it had to even go PT in the FD for a while, they just wanted the club back but as soon as it became clear the local lads weren't putting any money in they were soon ran as well.

I remember clearly, one game during the middle of the SK era, possibly 2017, I said to my HT pint crew in the upstairs bar (at HT !) that I would gladly 'give up' one season of going to win the league (2013-2020, Dundalk finished 2nd, 1st, 1st, 1st, 2nd, 1st, 1st, then poss 3rd) if the monies could be diverted into ground improvements for one year,
(SK only wanted budget spent on the sqaud) so yes I would gladly take a period of not competing if it meant the club could get back to being run properly, and then move on to gradual ground improvements.

oriel
09/09/2024, 10:03 AM
We did not.

How did Bohs manage the millions then that was booked as losses?

NavanBohs
09/09/2024, 10:12 AM
How did Bohs manage the millions then that was booked as losses?

Well the bulk of it was managed by selling our main asset, Dalymount to DCC in an agreement to rent it back off them. Some remaining immediate debt was covered by a members' levy agreed upon at a club AGM/EGM in mid-2015, and a plan was put in place to repay all other outstanding debt over the next year or two from our income. We've run a tight ship and been debt-free since, thankfully.

Shinkicker
09/09/2024, 10:22 AM

The way Dundalk have fallen from Grace it's probably best they go down, rebuild with realistic budgets, goals and stadium plans under the guidance of a competent board with proven financial capabilities in place. Possibly a new fan joint venture. It may take a season or two to do it but it has to be done and could be for the better long term. Get rid of the current clown BA, pay the players and start the rebuild now. All said it's a shame to see this happen. As stated in earlier posts other clubs have had tough times went down and came back or managed to stay in the PD knowing they would not be challenging for anything for a few years.
Nobody here has the answers and when we play Dundalk, for 90 mins you are the enemy but we support you in your fight for survival long term.

09/09/2024, 10:22 AM
Well the bulk of it was managed by selling our main asset, Dalymount to DCC in an agreement to rent it back off them. Some remaining immediate debt was covered by a members' levy agreed upon at a club AGM/EGM in mid-2015, and a plan was put in place to repay all other outstanding debt over the next year or two from our income. We've run a tight ship and been debt-free since, thankfully.

And the rest of it was paid by selling the ground a second time

oriel
09/09/2024, 10:26 AM

Yes, totally forgot (not sure how) you sold the ground, and that was indeed a big asset. Agreed also on Bohs run as a tight ship. Decent crowds now to boot.

09/09/2024, 10:29 AM
Wasn't it a Bohs fan on here who pointed out how they had sold the ground three times and still had it?

EatYerGreens
09/09/2024, 12:52 PM
When will Dundalk/LOI fans (or football fans more generally) learn?

As far back as when Peak 6 rocked up at Oriel with all sorts of promises, Dundalk fans were warned repeatedly on here by multiple people that it would not end well. The response of pretty much every one of them was various shades of "Haha - you're just jealous/bitter".

If you allow yourself to be passed around like a cheap whorr in pursuit of glory, don't be surprised if the only constant is that you keep getting fcuked.

Meanwhile well run clubs in the league (of which there are few - but Sligo definitely spring to mind) are cut out of the trophies by the financial doping at clubs like Dundalk.

Irish football needs to find a way to live within its own means and not just get into the car with any stranger that flashes their lights at them.

Shinkicker
09/09/2024, 12:52 PM
Wasn't it a Bohs fan on here who pointed out how they had sold the ground three times and still had it?
Why? Do you want to buy it from us, again?

dundalkfc10
09/09/2024, 2:46 PM
Who would honestly be wanting to take over Dundalk in this mess with escalating debts, players/staff not being paid, legal actions pending from ex-players and inevitably further financial skeletons lurking in the Oriel Park closet?

I had a read again over Pages 9-11 of this thread again and most could see this Dundalk takeover by no-bobs Ainscough and his phantom investors ending up in this ****show. To think some Dundalk fans were losing their minds at Pat Hoban leaving as if he and his agent didn't see the writing on the wall

Of course we lost our minds. Out best player and club captain had a year left on his contract and was let leave for a few grand.

Any decent owner would have said if you want to leave, you can go when your contracts up (Word is Hoban and O Donnell had a big falling out and that's why he wanted out in first place)

09/09/2024, 3:36 PM
When will Dundalk/LOI fans (or football fans more generally) learn?

As far back as when Peak 6 rocked up at Oriel with all sorts of promises, Dundalk fans were warned repeatedly on here by multiple people that it would not end well. The response of pretty much every one of them was various shades of "Haha - you're just jealous/bitter".

If you allow yourself to be passed around like a cheap whorr in pursuit of glory, don't be surprised if the only constant is that you keep getting fcuked.

Meanwhile well run clubs in the league (of which there are few - but Sligo definitely spring to mind) are cut out of the trophies by the financial doping at clubs like Dundalk.

Irish football needs to find a way to live within its own means and not just get into the car with any stranger that flashes their lights at them.

For the umpteenth time EYG you gloat with the benefit of hindsight, jaysus even Mystic Meg was correct on an occasion! To repeat myself for your benefit the P6 mess wasnt a forgone conclusion, if eg, Mike Tracey had stayed as chairman it would all be a different story, Bill single handedly was duped by agents and P6's error was not putting the breaks on. Probably ageist but Matt needed a plaything for his elderly mad Dad, P6 werent looking to leave until fans wanted the out. From what has been said by people like MT the Bill phase would have passed and a review done, and cost cutting also but cutting from paying Zahibo 8k a week. Losing SK was the catalyst and the messing with managers, a pandemic wasnt much of a help and not using any sort of avalable furlough chewed through reserves also. The ship would have righted itself bar pretty much a perfect storm. It is irrelevant in the grand scheme but it would be like me saying it will end in tears with the appointment of Higgins or that Derry can spend what they like but wont win a league, year after year i'd be able to gloat about being right until eventually Im not and I say nothing. Club ownership and management will always eventually eventually turn sour - even when Jack Walker tried to future proof his efforts at Blackburn beyond his life it went bad. Derry wont always have a billionaire owner!! Cork and FORAS and their sworn adherence to sensible budgeting failed, Rovers were almost a missed penalty from a big change in ownership and at the whims of non fans. Football by nature is cyclical, Dundalk FC/Athletic/United or some variation of the club will win the league again one day, I hope we will be around for it and I will point out to you my own Mystic Meg skills EYG! Local owners at Dundalk fall out and leave the club worse than P6 did, where was your harbinger of doom then, or after an unknown, financially and otherwise with BA? You had no greater insight in to P6 than anyone and were commenting in hope at the time. Taking credit for something

Again to repeat you will find that the majority of Dundalk fans were not rubbing their hands accusing people of being bitter - I, Ezekiel, L4S, Holidaysong and others on here were cautious in our views on P6. I was far more positive about things after listening to Ainscough!!

When it does come to selling a club, particularly in LoI often beggars cant be choosers. In Dundalk's case more recently its more be careful what you wish for. What assets do Derry and clubs have bar players out of interest that is of tangible value when grounds are not owned by the club. Co-efficients are only of value when qualified for Europe which eg Rovers may not have if one of the stakeholders decided to bail.

On whether Outspoken's question on whether fans will get on board after years of mediocrity - I can only base an answer than nearly a decade in the 1st division didnt kill us. I would say that there would be 1-1.5k gates give or take. But bar the few there is still a sense of most looking for others to do the leg work to improve things. During the BETOP campaign, organised by Ezekiel if I recall, I was cold calling lists of fans to try and get advance sales of tickets, generating money to bring Oriel u to spec to host the European game. As part of that we'd also ask people about multople ticket sales for families or to direct people that might be interested in attending to contact id say 25% more or less said fook off we're not doing your job for you - completely missing the point of the efforts. So there is no straight answer, a mixed bag of angry people, self satisfied people that they got rid of the yanks, and a retur to the fans who will go 'whats the point they're sh1t', things go from we to they very quickly.

Having said all that maybe some multi millionaire will look at Larne and think that there still may be an opportunity to own a football club that could play a Chelsea in Europe on a relative shoestring.

2 Year Contract
09/09/2024, 5:46 PM
Ainscough statement:

There are a lot of reports out there that the club is experiencing financial difficulties. Unfortunately, those reports are true.I was hoping to secure investment in August but, for various reasons, that did not come through.
I am working hard to keep it going but my immediate concern now is that the club can carry on for the remainder of the season.
I am actively seeking investment and I am exploring all possibilities about the ownership of the club to ensure that happens.
I will continue to speak to any interested parties and I remain fully positive that we can secure the injection of cash that we need to keep us going.
Regarding wages, I can confirm that there was a delay in paying the wages last week.
I am aware of the distress that this caused our players and staff and I would like to assure them that this was a temporary issue which will be resolved in the coming days.
I want to thank our players, staff, supporters and the wider community for their support and patience at this time and want to let them know that we are working extremely hard to turn this situation around.
Brian Ainscough

https://www.dundalkfc.com/club-statement-brian-ainscough/

Mad stuff really. How can you be so reckless that you take over a club and commit to player and staff contracts knowing full well you will require an investor during the year in order to even honour those contracts just for this year. Mind boggling stuff. Whatever about him wanting to take over the club during the off season, it’s even worse that he was allowed to do so

D24Saint
09/09/2024, 6:29 PM
There has to be real concerns now that they don’t see out the season. It would be a disaster for the league. As for what happens next season to them is another story. If they manage to hang on it’s safe to assume it’s looking like a long rebuilding job will be required.

09/09/2024, 6:31 PM
There has to be questions asked of the FAI and the League executive too. How could they have permitted the purchase of Dundalk FC by Brian Ainscough if he couldn't prove he had the money to see out even one season of football at Oriel Park?

ger121
09/09/2024, 7:02 PM
The FAI is to Governance, as the LOI is to profitability.

ger121
09/09/2024, 7:09 PM
Ages ago I did a quick back of a cigarette pack calculation of how much money Dundalk made in Europe from 2014-2023. I had it down as €15 million.
Crazy (It isn’t really) to think it was all wasted away and the club not only has nothing to show for it in 2024 but is €1.2 million in debt and staring down the barrel of going into Examinership or even worse if they can’t find another sugar daddy.
I feel sorry for the Dundalk supporters and I hope they are looking at what options could be available to them to take control on their club.

oriel
09/09/2024, 7:09 PM
Not even as much as an apology to the staff, players and mgt. Translated 'I've run out of money guys, and willing to sell to the quickest offer, oh and I won't be coming back to Ireland, good luck now'

Chancer

oriel
09/09/2024, 7:15 PM
Ages ago I did a quick back of a cigarette pack calculation of how much money Dundalk made in Europe from 2014-2023. I had it down as €15 million.
Crazy (It isn’t really) to think it was all wasted away and the club not only has nothing to show for it in 2024 but is €1.2 million in debt and staring down the barrel of going into Examinership or even worse if they can’t find another sugar daddy.
I feel sorry for the Dundalk supporters and I hope they are looking at what options could be available to them to take control on their club.

2016 winnings paid for a new pitch, Louth CC planning fees, kitting out the YDC, then buying / paying the best players to win 2018 and 2019 leagues, and 2020 cup, got quite close to the league 2017 in the end but Cork and Maguire were much better. 2020 group stages left 2m in the account for StatSports to just run down, not spend a cent of their own money.

Would have been smaller euro monies in between for sure, prob over 1m some seasons, but absolutely nothing else to show for it. Wages, trophies, memories, now debt, that's about it.

Quite depressing really.

joey B
09/09/2024, 7:19 PM

I agree with this aswell,Statsports come out of this looking terrible,you could say they seen Ainsclough coming and couldn’t flog it quick enough to the first eejit willing to take it……

Jack B
09/09/2024, 7:26 PM
This is grim stuff all around. Dundalk were already heading down a dodgy path but the manner in which Ainscough took over just made something like this feel inevitable. Dropping Kerry in the manner he did, stating that his decision to do so and purchase Dundalk only happened over the course of a matter of weeks etc, red flags all over the place.

As much as there's all the room in the world for schadenfreude at other teams' expense the line gets drawn at situations like this where people's actual lives and the league as a whole are and could further suffer for it. Feel for Jon Daly in particular who sacrifices a lot in terms of family life for this line of work that as of right now he's not even being paid for, on top of how precarious the situation is on the pitch. Hopefully in the short term at the very least they can see the season out and have everyone paid properly, anything after that might be a bonus at this rate.

09/09/2024, 7:29 PM
I seem to recall a post here after Dundalk reached the groups in 2016 along the lines of "It seems a lot of money to **** away, but we'll give it a go"

Mission accomplished, it would seem.

Also, Ainscough seems to be quite lax with his tenses. "There was a delay in paying the wages [...] which will be resolved in the coming days."?

Abbeyman
09/09/2024, 7:50 PM
Can LOI clubs afford to run professional squads ? Doesn’t look like it - Dundalk got 15million from Europe and are now in danger of going bust …. Reminds me of the water companies in the UK , some peoples just extract all the money out of the club and then shrug their shoulders saying we’ re broke ..

09/09/2024, 7:52 PM
Ainscough statement:

https://www.dundalkfc.com/club-statement-brian-ainscough/

Mad stuff really. How can you be so reckless that you take over a club and commit to player and staff contracts knowing full well you will require an investor during the year in order to even honour those contracts just for this year. Mind boggling stuff. Whatever about him wanting to take over the club during the off season, it’s even worse that he was allowed to do so

Wages a temporary issue, resolved, yet questioning the ability to see out the season financially.....did BA read back his 'statememt'?

Also Dan's tweet, a bad look for Statsport, BA but no comment on Andy Connolly as part owner with Statsport, Friend and isource by any chance, no part to play in internal conflict and bad press at the club. No comment on C.O.O. or whatever the most recent title Martin Connolly had with his sudden departure and reasons? All reporting about the club, national and local seems quite selective depending....

oriel
09/09/2024, 7:56 PM
StatSports got away with murder, as said many times on here, they 'took over' with 2.1 M in the bank, and got 550k euro money in year 2, wages were modest to ok, and SOD was hired / duped on the pretence they meant biz. They didn't spent a cent of their own money.

Also it should be noted, it was a SS led takeover, as one of the previous owners had a 1/3 share. When BA came in, seemingly the prev owner didn't want to sell to him, the 2 SS boys wanted to offload, he was out voted.

What a mess, I think regardless of what happens now, there is no way we will get a PD licence for 2025. There could be worse news ahead though if a takeover doesn't happen, as BA clearly doesn't give two fxxxs.

Wages have got to be paid, that has to be no 1 priority though, feel so sorry for the staff, players, mgt, they don't deserve this. I get (to an extent) the online joy a lot of other fans have on this but its not fair on the people who have not been paid.

D24Saint
09/09/2024, 8:04 PM
What are the immediate implications if the wages aren’t paid soon. Are points deductions an option for the FAI and what options do the staff and squad have ? Are they held to their contracts or are they free to walk if they wish.

09/09/2024, 8:15 PM
What are the immediate implications if the wages aren’t paid soon.
They're smacked and told not to be naughty, but basically let off?

09/09/2024, 9:21 PM
I seem to recall a post here after Dundalk reached the groups in 2016 along the lines of "It seems a lot of money to **** away, but we'll give it a go"

Mission accomplished, it would seem.

Also, Ainscough seems to be quite lax with his tenses. "There was a delay in paying the wages [...] which will be resolved in the coming days."?

Imagine what his Irish Oral was like.

09/09/2024, 9:23 PM
What are the immediate implications if the wages aren’t paid soon. Are points deductions an option for the FAI and what options do the staff and squad have ? Are they held to their contracts or are they free to walk if they wish.

Us losing the league in the event of them emulating Monaghan would be * chef's kiss *

09/09/2024, 9:26 PM

I love the classics!

09/09/2024, 10:04 PM
Can LOI clubs afford to run professional squads ? Doesn’t look like it - Dundalk got 15million from Europe and are now in danger of going bust …. Reminds me of the water companies in the UK , some peoples just extract all the money out of the club and then shrug their shoulders saying we’ re broke ..

To be fair, this wild overspending and mismanagement by Dundalk owners isn't exactly representative of the league as a whole.

Clubs need to live within their means, but there's no reason professional football cannot be sustained in a town like Dundalk, as long as they're not stupid about it.

09/09/2024, 11:56 PM
Imagine what his Irish Oral was like.

His modh coinníollach was probaby great if it was what he would do with a football club if he bought one! Mine was all about dífhosttaíocht so could school him on would happen if he bought a club he couldnt afford....

I love the classics!

Like a basketcase wasteful bankrupt Dundalk FC still likely to manage to build a new ground before Stranrolar is finished after Harps redesign the redesigned redesign design?

10/09/2024, 12:06 AM
https://x.com/DanielSextonIRL/status/1833236598458372434

10/09/2024, 8:48 AM
The 1903 have now set up a go fund me despite their statement 48 hours ago stating such measures were not required at this time. They've released a couple of really poorly thought out statements this year, their heart is in the right place but jumping the gun seems to be an issue.

Will be interesting to see the uptake, hard to see them having the same outside support as 2012 and even some Dundalk fans reluctant to give money to the current regime for another short term fix. There's only so many times you can ask supporters to do this. Surely forming a proper unified supporters trust capable of at least part owning the club should be the ultimate goal.

10/09/2024, 9:17 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41281726.html

He does not come across well in that interview at all.
Hopefully Kerry will be ok, but couldn't imagine Dundalk fans are too happy either. Seems happy to do whatever he likes for his own gain, basically admitted as much. Where would he be off to next, when the opportunity arises?

Amazing how we all perceive things differently because I thought he was very confident and assured throughout that interview. I really like him and I'm quite happy with him at the helm.(and I'm someone who can be called a dlk septic sceptic blxx btw ?)
He might only last 3 years but he'll add extra value to the club along the way imo.

From December last year.
From the way he left Kerry, and then that interview, it seems obvious he was only in it for himself. This shambles was entirely foreseeable.

Is it an option for Dundalk to choose to not fulfill the season, accept relegation, and at least save on wages for the rest of the year?
It's horrible on the players, but it sounds like they won't be getting paid anyway. If they're released, they would be free agents and could sign elsewhere (have I got that right?).

Another Bohemia
10/09/2024, 9:28 AM
https://x.com/DanielSextonIRL/status/1833236598458372434

Correct me if I'm wrong but there seems to be several inaccuracies in this thread.

We supported our team, that’s all we can do.

According to other posters you also ran peak 6 out of the town so you did more than support and arguably it wasn't supportive.

I wish we were like Sligo but if Cork who have a huge catchment and a stadium ready made for them couldn’t make it work then I don’t see how we can realistically unless someone else provides the ground.

Cork City FORAS did work though. They saved their club won some trophies. Their folly was trying to keep up with free spending Dundalk instead of waiting for the wheels to fall off.

Our success wasn’t built on money, it was built on sensible stewardship and a great manager in a great town with an amazing football culture and legacy.

A great manager who had a hand in spending a huge amount of money. Probably more than any other club could budget at the time. Was there some good stewardship? Sure but let's not pretend there wasn't vast amounts of money spent on the squads under Kenny after the first couple of seasons.

Since Peak6 fans of other clubs have been saying that the way Dundalk are run doesn't look sustainable, it doesn't look right, where's the money going, this is going to end in tears and I hope the fans are saving for a rainy day. Meanwhile a lot of the talk from Dundalk supporters comes across like the quote from Ned Flanders father "We've tried nothing, and we're all out of ideas!". Well I know I'm not going to reach into my pockets when the clubs own fans can't be arsed to actually do anything and save their club.

D24Saint
10/09/2024, 10:06 AM
I’d imagine an away match is a headache this Friday for Dundalk. Is there a team bus arranged and paid for ? Or will players that haven’t been paid be asked to find their own way down to the RSC. I’m not sure how LOI teams fund transport to away games is a pay per trip arrangement or do they get invoiced.

joey B
10/09/2024, 10:22 AM
The 1903 have now set up a go fund me despite their statement 48 hours ago stating such measures were not required at this time. They've released a couple of really poorly thought out statements this year, their heart is in the right place but jumping the gun seems to be an issue.

Will be interesting to see the uptake, hard to see them having the same outside support as 2012 and even some Dundalk fans reluctant to give money to the current regime for another short term fix. There's only so many times you can ask supporters to do this. Surely forming a proper unified supporters trust capable of at least part owning the club should be the ultimate goal.

Fairly disastrous from them there,releasing the 2 so close together and asking for money in the second one ….

Buckett
10/09/2024, 10:41 AM
They're not football administrators, they're supporters that are getting desperate so I would cut them a bit of slack. Best of luck to them. If they raise the money though, I don't think they should just hand it over to BA without receiving at least a percentage of the club in return.

10/09/2024, 10:46 AM
Rte sport article seems to indicate the money will be used to pay salaries. Now they didn't have quotes from anyone in the 1903 outside of the statement which just talks vaguely about supporting the club.

I'd agree with many on here and elsewhere that any funds raised shouldn't just be handed over to help this owner paper over the cracks.

This isn't the second time in 12 years the fans have had to get the begging buckets out, there's only so many times you can go down that route. I admire anyone giving money towards it to try save their club but they'd definitely be far better off trying to find a long term fan ownership model (50/50 perhaps) than just giving another failed owner their hard earned cash.

placid casual
10/09/2024, 10:53 AM
As sure as night follows day,there was always going to be a time where the bedsheets would be coming out at dundalk.

D24Saint
10/09/2024, 11:32 AM
Rte sport article seems to indicate the money will be used to pay salaries. Now they didn't have quotes from anyone in the 1903 outside of the statement which just talks vaguely about supporting the club.

I'd agree with many on here and elsewhere that any funds raised shouldn't just be handed over to help this owner paper over the cracks.

This isn't the second time in 12 years the fans have had to get the begging buckets out, there's only so many times you can go down that route. I admire anyone giving money towards it to try save their club but they'd definitely be far better off trying to find a long term fan ownership model (50/50 perhaps) than just giving another failed owner their hard earned cash.

Don't know much detail on the demographics of Dundalk would the town have the wealth in it to sustain a fan owned model ?