View Full Version : Hull City owners to take majority stake in Dundalk?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

05/09/2024, 10:11 AM
Tbf I think they have invested a bit more in off the field staff than some clubs have. The main bulk of the investment was probably over the years building a massive full time squad in the 1st division and trying to get the team promoted repeatedly. Caulfield didn't come for peanuts, and Ollie would probably be the most expensive assistant coach in first division history. I'm not saying the lads are being paid a fortune, but they certainly aren't being paid minimum wage either.

I don't think they'd be anything other than scrapping with Dundalk/Drogheda without the large outside investment.. Perhaps Cunningham aside they're probably not paying a bunch of individuals very high wages, but there's a decent sized squad and staff all full time, that surely would not be cheap and impossible to run self sufficiently with crowds the size they have.

I think Galway are in general doing excellently, on and off the field and it's great to see, but it would be very naïve to think it is some sort of miracle based solely off of excellent and prudent running of a club.

Clubs who qualify for Europe have to publicly publish accounts if I'm not mistaken, it would be interesting to see a bit more closely.

oriel
05/09/2024, 11:59 AM
Legacy issues and poorly managed from at least 3 previous owners have all contributed to this mess.

When p6 left, there was 2.1 M or so in the bank, and the then owners led by StatSports just ran that money down in 2 years, and still made a loss even with 500k euro monies in.

A huge gripe with Dundalk fans was the money not invested from 2016-pre covid on any spectator improvements. 2 new pitches were installed (1.6M), YDC re-fitted, new gym, players canteen, new dressing rooms, video room, add in 500k or so paid in legacy planning fees for the actual building (back to a previous owner), new club offices, new merchandise shop, can't think of more but that was it really, absolutely zero to show for it, spectator improvement wise.

Group stage 2020 profits would only have funded post covid, and also to add the 2016 group stage apart from all of above in bold was all spent on player budgets during the Kenny era, all it achieved really was winning the 2018 and 2019 league, then the cup in 2020 on the final whirlwind.

Attendances are hoovering around 2,200 to 2750, comparing that with even Shels or Pats its around 1,500 below (20k min ticket sales less per game).

The club has been badly run since almost to the day that p6 (part 2) took over, this would be a year after Kenny left, and probably after the end of the last league title season of 2019, enter Mad Bill, then Covid, then P6 part 2 turned toxic, then StatsSport led group took over at end of 2021, stayed all of 2022 and 2023, didn't spend a single cent of their own money, each season DFC were the final club to tie down players, they then left end of 2023, then enter the mostly unheard of one man show that was Ainscough end of 2023, and this is where its at now.

He obv didn't do his due diligence, there seems to be tax issues, local supply debts, he didn;t raise the investment he was talking about.

That's about it, a right royal mess and no idea where the club goes from here. New owners again, but what are they buying, a hobby ? Other than that the only thing would be the uefa coefficient of 8.5 but that's only good if they qualify for europe, staying afloat is more the concern.

Then you have the likes of this !!

https://x.com/LiveatOriel/status/1831622449114304581

05/09/2024, 12:37 PM
Do the many dundalk fans on here not have anything to contribute in regards to the future of their club.
They're never short of an opinion when it comes to talking about any other LOI clubs.:)

I agree with Outspoken above. I have in the past, more than once commented on the fickleness and sense of entitlement of many Dundalk FC supporters. Not all of course, but half joking full in earnest swipes at those who think and behave as if the club is privilaged to have them at games and that the club should pay them to be supporters. There has been failed attempts to build supporters groups that would pay weekly/monthly subs to help the clubs finances. The Co-op being the main one - voting on spending to bounce back from relegation but being aghast at the suggestion of co-op membership being an annual membership rather than once off. I think myself that subsequent schemes more imploded and dwindled rather than fans refusing to make the financial contribution. I had no love for the messing of P6 but if they were sticking around with deep pockets their messing may have resolved if Bill had gotten tired, but to lobby to push out deep pockets, well at the very least they would have grabbed grant money with applications probably given to specialist companies to do. There were no shortage of anti-American sentient rather than just P6 are messers with some saying they'd rather the club in the 1st Division rather than be American owned. Personal political attitudes pervading a sporting entity. People stated that that ownership was dommed to fail from the begining, I disagree albeit they were happy to get out when fans started protests. There was no shortage of onfield success along with the crazy stuff. Eyes were wiped with the sUbsequent local ownership and Imo a catalogue of individual and collective mismanagement and messing that was up there with Bill in a different way came to light under this current ownership. The legacy of dysfunction lies more at the door of local self importance type than P6. Ainscough may have underestimated the job, the full picture may not have been disclosed, maybe 'investors' didnt materialise....doubt anyone really knows. Accounts will indicate where the debt was accumulated in the most part and then questions can be asked on why buy a club with such debt if not in a position to manage it.

I think the clubs future could be more at risk than previous hairy times though I dont know that for certain, maybe there are interested owners but we get to be less picky. Its obvious that the problem has been more than just money with vested interests and a lack of ability in key off field roles - maybe the peter principle kicked in from growth during the Kenny era to a level where the calibre of some paid staff needed addressing. Im currently personally weary of decline and the battle to carry on to fight another day, hopefully as in the past its survive and can thrive again. Right now its tough to watch things at DFC but its not much of a surprise and current circumstances are years in the making.

On supporters groups, in the past when a supporters clubs ran the Lilywhite Lounge its was seen as wondeful work being able to 'raise' money for the club - it was lazy fundraising as the bar would always have generated income, what was raised beyond bar takings is what I would have measured fundraising by and Im not sure its was game changing, thats going back to the co-op years. The Trust did work and saved the club if Matthews was going to wind it up and they did facilitate the joint ownership that led to the Kenney era off success. Supporters got complacent and you make hay when the sun shines and that didnt happen at all. I dont think there were eve annual club awards nights organised. Current supporters groups were formed wth the best of intentions but again imo where taken over by person/people that have political agendas beyond football, as a group was building it was splintering just as quickly. At a very base level if people left personal and political ego at the door itd be a start to a fix without a cent. The wealthiest of clubs can flouder with fractured internal workings.

05/09/2024, 12:38 PM
If they're not going mad on wages but losing €1.2m a year, then they've a serious problem somewhere else.

Somewhere else.......and some goind mad on some wages!

Glen Of Aherlow
05/09/2024, 12:48 PM
I do wonder if the Galway model is even sustainable for Galway. I was at one of their games this season and was really impressed with the amount of young people at the game. It will be interesting if they can sustain it given they have lots of competing sports which have more of a traditional fan base.

Those competing sports don't have the same fan culture that you find at LOI games and i think that's one of the things that attracts young people

2 Year Contract
05/09/2024, 12:56 PM
That's about it, a right royal mess and no idea where the club goes from here. New owners again, but what are they buying, a hobby ? Other than that the only thing would be the uefa coefficient of 8.5 but that's only good if they qualify for europe, staying afloat is more the concern.

Think the Uefa coefficient is something that was mentioned by journalists as being one of the strong selling points of the club in recent years when it was up for sale at various points. It’s becoming less of a relevant selling point for Dundalk now though as the cycle only includes the most recent 5 seasons, meaning Dundalk will lose the 2020 group stage campaign in their next Euro campaign (2026 at the earliest) and will continue to lose those coefficient points from 2021 & 2023 the more years go by without European football

sbgawa
05/09/2024, 1:20 PM
Dundalks Co efficients at the moment are 8.5 and hostorically are
2019-2020 2
2020-2021 3
2021-2022 2
2022-2023 0
2023 2024 1.5
2024 2025 0

Obviously 25/26 will be zero and they lose the 2 points from 2020 so they will be 6.5 going into the following campaign if they qualify through next seasons league or cup
If they dont qualify next year they lose the 3 from 2020-2021 and will be down to a coefficient of 3.5 which wouldnt get them anywhere seedings wise.
If Ainscough is getting money for Dundalk as opposed to walking away its hard to see how Eujrope (as you said) is part of any valuation

redobit
05/09/2024, 2:57 PM
To be fair I don't think they are going mad on squad wages. Id say they're middle of the pack, more than Dundalk, Drogs, Waterford but less than the Dublin clubs? The only 2 that would push the wages up Keohane and Cunningham. Can't think of anyone else that would be on big wages.

Gary Buckley doubled his wage when he left the Showgrounds for Galway.

05/09/2024, 3:29 PM
Dundalks Co efficients at the moment are 8.5 and hostorically are
2019-2020 2
2020-2021 3
2021-2022 2
2022-2023 0
2023 2024 1.5
2024 2025 0

Obviously 25/26 will be zero and they lose the 2 points from 2020 so they will be 6.5 going into the following campaign if they qualify through next seasons league or cup
If they dont qualify next year they lose the 3 from 2020-2021 and will be down to a coefficient of 3.5 which wouldnt get them anywhere seedings wise.
If Ainscough is getting money for Dundalk as opposed to walking away its hard to see how Eujrope (as you said) is part of any valuation

It's only based on 5 years, so the 3 from 20/21 will already be gone and we'll be down to 3.5 even if we qualify this time next year for the European campaign 26/27. Absolutely grim to have thrown that away.

2021-2022 2
2022-2023 0
2023 2024 1.5
2024 2025 0
2025 2026 0

Buckett
05/09/2024, 4:36 PM

How do you know that?

JC_GUFC
05/09/2024, 4:42 PM
Im just wondering if Dundalk cant get their ownership model sorted out would they be nearly better getting out of the loi altogether temporarily? JC knows all about what happened to Galway Utd a decade and a half ago and it actually did them no harm getting out of the league and getting back in when Salthill Devon/Mervue Utd didnt work out. Whats happened at Galway Utd now is phenomenal and the model a lot of loi fans want!

Dundalk Town FC - do it before the third tier and you'll just join in Division 1 again!

Although things worked well on our return in 2014 being out of the league for 2 seasons was a disaster. Thankfully I live in Dublin so was able to get my LoI fix but for anyone who lived in Galway who was used to going week-in-week-out it must have been terrible. Obviously not comparable to Dundalk's fall but after a miracle survival under Jeff Kenna in 2008, in 2009 we were pretty competitive but then obviously we came to 2011 which was embarrassing going to games.

I'll happily drop Longford out of the league if it means a local billionaire comes in to bring us to Europe :D

Haven't Longford been bankrolled by Munnelly over the years, obviously he doesn't have the same money as the Comers but he's done brilliant things for the club, or maybe that was under a previous owner.

I do wonder if the Galway model is even sustainable for Galway. I was at one of their games this season and was really impressed with the amount of young people at the game. It will be interesting if they can sustain it given they have lots of competing sports which have more of a traditional fan base.

It's a good question, which I don't have an answer to either. There have been some good ground improvements this season, in particular the bar! Galway is notoriously fickle in support for its sporting teams. Connacht look to be at a fairly low ebb at the moment, although their stadium will be receiving a big upgrade in the coming years.

If they're not going mad on wages but losing €1.2m a year, then they've a serious problem somewhere else.

I don't know the full finances but I wouldn't believe everything I read either. If you've invested in a club and are being interviewed you'll always overinflate your investment. Also what seems to be conveniently ignored in all of this is that these are our sponsors. Do other clubs receive €0 in sponsorship? 10 years of sponsorship is a lot of money for any club.

Exactly - also halved the number of rs in his name to join us!

redobit
05/09/2024, 5:07 PM
How do you know that?

There aren't too many secrets in fan owned clubs.

Buckett
05/09/2024, 5:57 PM
But why would the buying club tell the selling club what they're going to pay a player? Buckleys agent was probably fishing for a bigger contract and told ye his wages would be doubled

05/09/2024, 6:22 PM
Haven't Longford been bankrolled by Munnelly over the years, obviously he doesn't have the same money as the Comers but he's done brilliant things for the club, or maybe that was under a previous owner.

Jim Hanley has been keeping the show on the road for many decades. Phil Munnelly owns the company sponsoring the stadium thou, and has been involved in some capacity for a number of years, they're very much putting money in to keep the club alive vs actual meaningful investment to go anywhere. I think the longford situation was done to death in another thread a week ago, so we don't need to go over that again. Not to diminish what they're doing the club wouldn't exist without them, but it is very different. We have 1 full time employee.

wonder88
05/09/2024, 7:46 PM
It seems that the long throw in is getting more use in recent weeks, Shamrock R, Drogheda and tonight Dundalk. What do fans of those clubs think of it?

Buckett
05/09/2024, 8:08 PM
If a Caulfield team does it, it's "agricultural"!

redarmyfaction
05/09/2024, 8:37 PM

And he was stealing a living in terms of availability in his last period at the Showgrounds.

05/09/2024, 8:43 PM
It seems that the long throw in is getting more use in recent weeks, Shamrock R, Drogheda and tonight Dundalk. What do fans of those clubs think of it?
Rob McAuley had a great long throw on him for UCD back in the day.

It's always great to see one lined up.

05/09/2024, 11:48 PM
If you have a player who can actually do it properly it's great, then again, the Dundalk goal tonight was off a terrible long through in, pure luck that it got flicked into Kenny's path so maybe that shows by just hurling it in there it causes a bit of mayhem.

05/09/2024, 11:50 PM
BREAKING

Dundalk players wages yet to be paid according to Daly after tonight's game, sounds like he hasn't been paid on time either. Worrying to say the least

joey B
06/09/2024, 12:04 AM

Tony McNamee with us has a decent long throw,I do remember us getting a winner against Derry at home with a header straight from one of them,not sure if they were that effective down through the years though , probably was other goals from them but I can’t think of them off the top of my head….

2 Year Contract
06/09/2024, 12:08 AM
BREAKING

Dundalk players wages yet to be paid according to Daly after tonight's game, sounds like he hasn't been paid on time either. Worrying to say the least

Makes the decision to give Daryl Horgan a new 2 and a half year deal just 4 weeks ago all the more mind boggling

06/09/2024, 12:14 AM
Makes the decision to give Daryl Horgan a new 2 and a half year deal just 4 weeks ago all the more mind boggling

It's been a long running rumour around the town that someone else is footing the bill for his wages

Dermobohs
06/09/2024, 5:18 AM
Tony McNamee with us has a decent long throw,I do remember us getting a winner against Derry at home with a header straight from one of them,not sure if they were that effective down through the years though , probably was other goals from them but I can’t think of them off the top of my head….
Anto Murphy when at bohs was like getting a corner, great throw on him.

Another Bohemia
06/09/2024, 6:22 AM
If Dundalk are not paying wages at what point will they be removed from the league? And what are the rules around games already played? I think when Monaghan folded all games were voided and any points awarded from the results were also void.

06/09/2024, 6:59 AM
BREAKING

Where you seeing that?

06/09/2024, 7:19 AM
It was in a post match interview with LMFM. The audio is on their twitter.

sbgawa
06/09/2024, 7:20 AM
The manager said it in an interview after the gasme and they had it on the town end podcast last night.
Apparantly he said that they would be paid but there is a meeting with the PFAI.
I didnt hear the interview just repeating what they said on the podcast.
Plus the between the stripes boys are tweating it.

Cant see them folding its money down the drain for Ainscough if that happens limping on whule trying to find a buyer might make more sense.
I wouldnt like to see Dundalk fold as we were nearly there in Rovers

For interests sake if results were expunged

Shels -10 points from 4 games , Rovers 4 points from 3 and Derry 5 points from 3.

Shels 24 42
Derry 26 44
Rovers 24 35

I realise Rovers are currently 6th but Sligo and Galway Waterford fans can do their own Maths;).

Again for Dundalk fans i wouldnt like to see this happen. Cant really Dundalk are to big a club you would think.

redobit
06/09/2024, 7:56 AM
If Dundalk are not paying wages at what point will they be removed from the league? And what are the rules around games already played? I think when Monaghan folded all games were voided and any points awarded from the results were also void.

Yeah it was 2012 and all points gained against Monaghan were removed. It was the year we won the league and it made things a lot tighter at the top of the table as we were the only team to have won all our games against them, so it didn't go down too well in the NW as you might expect.

Different scenario here Id say. Mons folded, cant see that happening with Dundalk. More likely a points deduction and players are released from their contracts as free agent to sign for new clubs. A long way to go before than happens mind.

Louth4sam
06/09/2024, 8:08 AM
If we're not paying players we should be and deserve to be relegated as it's effectively cheating. We've signed players you can't afford.

06/09/2024, 8:16 AM
It was in a post match interview with LMFM. The audio is on their twitter.
Thanks. It's on RTÉ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2024/0906/1468683-daly-dundalk-have-failed-to-pay-players-and-staff/) as well now actually.

ger121
06/09/2024, 8:47 AM
Players going without wages…and so it begins…

06/09/2024, 8:47 AM
Haven't had an asterisk on the league table in a few years now. Fair play Dundalk.

Another Bohemia
06/09/2024, 9:19 AM
Yeah it was 2012 and all points gained against Monaghan were removed. It was the year we won the league and it made things a lot tighter at the top of the table as we were the only team to have won all our games against them, so it didn't go down too well in the NW as you might expect.

Different scenario here Id say. Mons folded, cant see that happening with Dundalk. More likely a points deduction and players are released from their contracts as free agent to sign for new clubs. A long way to go before than happens mind.

Yeah I suppose my thoughts were is there a winding up order already in progress in the background from other people owed money? Usually the playing staff signalling their lack of payment is the last stop on the train to folding. Before that other bills would have been pushed aside, usually the tax man would be unpaid at this stage as well. Worrying signs tbh. They may scrape to the off season but it'll be a long tough winter if that's the case

LTFC
06/09/2024, 10:00 AM
This is a bit more worrying than the other cases we have had in the past. I could stand corrected on this, but the clubs that have dropped out and come back are able to do so mainly because there is no significant asset on their balance sheet - ie they dont own a ground, Galway, Cork, Treaty/Limerick, Waterford. Where they do own the ground the risk of debt is that there is an asset that can be sold to pay debt, and potentially lose the ground. I appreciate we are only hearing breaking news, but this is a worry for one of our stalwart clubs.

06/09/2024, 10:11 AM
Dundalk FC don't own the site that Oriel Park sits on though, it is owned privately and leased to the club. Which could possibly be a blessing in disguise here.

dundalkfc10
06/09/2024, 11:58 AM
It's obvious now why Ainscough was so mad the Pats game was called off 2 weeks ago

I'd imagine the income from game was due to cover the wages and that's why he is telling them they will get them in a few days

Worrying times all the same.

The biggest issue even if we do stay up, no Prem Division licence unless the pitch and floodlights are upgraded. That's going to cost a few hundred grand (although I do know we have applied for some grant to cover some of this, James Rogers mentioned it on his podcast)

JC_GUFC
06/09/2024, 2:18 PM
And he was stealing a living in terms of availability in his last period at the Showgrounds.

Injured on the first day of this season too and has missed half the season. Finally seems to be getting back to fitness. Caulfield seems to love him as he was selecting him despite being clearly unfit for a few games.

oriel
06/09/2024, 2:32 PM
Even if Dundalk manage to see out the season and somehow get to and win a play off, I can't see us getting a PD licence after the last 72 hours of events.

We are either in the FD in 2025 already or worse wound up and have to re-form, unless something spectacular happens, and that's highly unlikely, we could be looking at this very shortly:

DFC* 1903-2024

*Formed as GNR / then Dundalk GNR, but there were direct links, and first season in LOI was 1926 I think, so not far off 100 continuous seasons in the LOI.

06/09/2024, 2:35 PM
It's a tough tough business. With wages spiraling and 'investors' at a lot of clubs it's hard going. If you cut the budget too far you end up in trouble anyway as fans and sponsors rapidly lose interest. Hope Dundalk come out of it OK.

But I fear there are turbulent times ahead for the league, not just Dundalk.

06/09/2024, 2:40 PM
Even if Dundalk manage to see out the season and somehow get to and win a play off, I can't see us getting a PD licence after the last 72 hours of events.

We are either in the FD in 2025 already or worse wound up and have to re-form, unless something spectacular happens, and that's highly unlikely, we could be looking at this very shortly:

DFC* 1903-2024

*Formed as GNR / then Dundalk GNR, but there were direct links, and first season in LOI was 1926 I think, so not far off 100 continuous seasons in the LOI.

1926/27 was the first LOI season. The 'GNR' part of the name was dropped after 4 seasons.

JC_GUFC
06/09/2024, 2:50 PM
It's a tough tough business. With wages spiraling and 'investors' at a lot of clubs it's hard going. If you cut the budget too far you end up in trouble anyway as fans and sponsors rapidly lose interest. Hope Dundalk come out of it OK.

I think the learnings from Dundalk and others before them, which are never learnt, is to actually invest in the club when the going is good, and not just the first team.

It's been point out over and over that all of Dundalk's "winnings" from Europe were just spent on players bonuses and wages in subsequent years.

Galway United don't have a whole lot of tangible assets from the Comers' investment but the big project the club are working on is a training base which would be an absolutely huge achievement for the club if it could be gotten over the line.

Shamrock Rovers could be on shaky financial footing if they miss out on Europe for next season, which isn't beyond the realms of possibility, but Tallaght Stadium has been improved beyond all recognition and although Rovers don't own it they're the anchor tenants.

For the first time in my lifetime following the league there is at least talk of government support for clubs, so although Dundalk may be in a terrible situation at the moment I actually think the future of the league is looking very positive.

LTFC
06/09/2024, 2:54 PM

Its the hope what kills you! As my club struggles at the foot of the 1st you do ask is it worth it....but then you realise that there may a few emperors new clothes clubs out there and if you stay in the mix well you never never know.

If you had told me that Dundalk, who in 1 year earned almost as much as they had in all their previous years, would now be short of money, I would not have thought it possible. If I recall correctly, the earnings from europe that year, which were then held up by the FAI , also hastened the departure of the FAI CEO.
Can I ask a stupid question, where did the money go?

oriel
06/09/2024, 3:00 PM
Its the hope what kills you! As my club struggles at the foot of the 1st you do ask is it worth it....but then you realise that there may a few emperors new clothes clubs out there and if you stay in the mix well you never never know.

If you had told me that Dundalk, who in 1 year earned almost as much as they had in all their previous years, would now be short of money, I would not have thought it possible. If I recall correctly, the earnings from europe that year, which were then held up by the FAI , also hastened the departure of the FAI CEO.
Can I ask a stupid question, where did the money go?

Per my post yesterday, most of these points:

Legacy issues and poorly managed from at least 3 previous owners have all contributed to this mess.

When p6 left, there was 2.1 M or so in the bank, and the then owners led by StatSports just ran that money down in 2 years, and still made a loss even with 500k euro monies in.

A huge gripe with Dundalk fans was the money not invested from 2016-pre covid on any spectator improvements. 2 new pitches were installed (1.6M), YDC re-fitted, new gym, players canteen, new dressing rooms, video room, add in 500k or so paid in legacy planning fees for the actual building (back to a previous owner), new club offices, new merchandise shop, can't think of more but that was it really, absolutely zero to show for it, spectator improvement wise.

Group stage 2020 profits would only have funded post covid, and also to add the 2016 group stage apart from all of above in bold was all spent on player budgets during the Kenny era, all it achieved really was winning the 2018 and 2019 league, then the cup in 2020 on the final whirlwind.

Attendances are hoovering around 2,200 to 2750, comparing that with even Shels or Pats its around 1,500 below (20k min ticket sales less per game).

The club has been badly run since almost to the day that p6 (part 2) took over, this would be a year after Kenny left, and probably after the end of the last league title season of 2019, enter Mad Bill, then Covid, then P6 part 2 turned toxic, then StatsSport led group took over at end of 2021, stayed all of 2022 and 2023, didn't spend a single cent of their own money, each season DFC were the final club to tie down players, they then left end of 2023, then enter the mostly unheard of one man show that was Ainscough end of 2023, and this is where its at now.

He obv didn't do his due diligence, there seems to be tax issues, local supply debts, he didn;t raise the investment he was talking about.

Buckett
06/09/2024, 3:06 PM

DFC* 1903-2024

There's a lot to be said for a well-made DVD and PowerPoint presentation

LTFC
06/09/2024, 3:10 PM
Thanks for that.
It is a salutary lesson. If a club does get a large , and lets be honest unexpected windfall by Irish soccer standards, on how to blow it!

dansultheman
06/09/2024, 3:17 PM
From a Kerry FC point of view, looks certainly like we dodged a bullet. Perhaps Kerry's occupancy in the League could have been very short lived.

Hitman
06/09/2024, 3:37 PM
Has Fran Gavin popped up to claim credit for creating the environment yet?

06/09/2024, 4:37 PM
Has Fran Gavin popped up to claim credit for creating the environment yet?

Is he still burrowed away in Abbotstown? How he ever kept his job was beyond me.

wonder88
06/09/2024, 7:58 PM
Yes I recall the Anto Murphy of Bohs long throw now that's it mentioned. A great asset to have for any team, which I think will become more popular.
Sad situation about Dundalk. If games are going to be moved against the participation agreement there need to be a financial compensation for the club that is not in Europe. What Stephen Kenny was looking for recently went against any sense of fair play, so whoever in the FAI over-ruled the head of the league has questions to be asked of.
However Dundalk, or any club should not be living day to day to cover their working capital. What been posted here shows how bad the management off the field has been at Oriel in recent years. It is also a warning to other clubs if the player wage bills are not brought under control in the league soon.