View Full Version : Hull City owners to take majority stake in Dundalk?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16

oriel
17/09/2024, 10:26 AM
Lads all this bickering, am I the only one who thinks the league, be it premier or first will be worse without a Dundalk team, time to circle the waggons whether you like them or not, we've all known for years that the model wasn't going to work but would you rather go to gortakeegan than Oriel

Ah Vinnie you would miss if we had to go, from parking at the Train St, quick pint, maybe food in Kennedys, short walk to oriel, if in stand nip into upstairs bar in the stand for a drink, bit of banter.

I had the craic with loads of decent Rovers fans who drove up in the past and met them in these spots.

oriel
17/09/2024, 10:28 AM
Hopefully things are looking good now, but won't be 'celebrating' just yet, nothing signed and sealed, and we are by far not out of the woods, but things appear to be moving:

From all but dead in the water on Monday am (still not confirmed mind) to a possible comeback of dreams..............

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/louth/news/life-line-of-two-local-interested-parties-may-rescue-dundalk-fc-at-late-late-hour/a149134041.html?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=seeding

Kiki Balboa
17/09/2024, 10:37 AM
BTW - Anyone done a welfare check on Maxi and called in on local petrol stations to see if he's been round yet?

Maxi is an absolute Gentleman of a man.

This post reminded me of 2006 when the League of Ireland thought it was so much better off without Dundalk, and kicked us out of the Premier league because our DVDs weren't as nice as others.

At the same time, Drogheda officials were lobbying for reorganising the league so Dundalk would fold and all of Louth could support one team.

A decade later, it was Dundalk - not Drogheda or Galway - that was a major part in rejuvenating the League, both domestically and internationally, and is synonymous with being a true hotbed of LOI football.

Fortunately, Dundalk got over the pompous and sanctimonious attitudes back then, and will do again now.

Obviously, having a border/industrial town have pride in itself still offends a lot of people here, who just wish reprobates like us would go away or at least, know your place in 'our' football.

17/09/2024, 12:56 PM
Yes. But you still argue the toss over the obvious.

Id argue the toss over you believing you had some profound 'foresight', and that you are incorrect in your assessment of the particulars of P6 who are not responsible for the current situation.

Commenting about P6 at every opportunity? WTF?! I honestly think this BA situation at Dundalk is affecting your mental health

BTW - Anyone done a welfare check on Maxi and called in on local petrol stations to see if he's been round yet?

Another snide comment be it on Maxi or P6 or Dundalk or my mental health, nice!. You have commented extensively on P6 before during and after their ownership including the 'too soon' stuff when I first suggested that you were repeating yourself for not getting the credit you felt was due. You havent applied the same obsession to other club ownerships or even the subsequent Dundalk ownership sagas? But fair enough to put an end to this you were on the pulse EYG well done, credit where it's due, genius intuition!:rolleyes:

So there may be a new American/local owner at Dundalk, premature to call it yet but we know even less about these than previous. BA investors staying on too. As has been suggested Id like the two interested groups to get involved even just to get Donal Greene on the board, his expertise would be particularly handy to have and a former player and fan, best of both worlds, avoid SCARP and a fans voice on the board. There is now also a call for supporters to unify and rebuild the Trust with the Supporters Club and little fiefdoms might end. If ths comes to pass it will be the greatest of escapes and arguably the clubs biggest achievement if it unifies and ends complacency not just with supporters but the town in general. It was mad hearing people that have been generally indifferent over the years, and big occasion regulars only, suddenly invested when the club was all but gone.

A N Mouse
17/09/2024, 1:05 PM
My ire had to do with EYG commenting at every opportunity about P6, and now, where was the foresight to make absolutely legitimate calls of doom with BA last winter. There is no comparison between current and previous owners and P6 when only one in that group did what was demanded by fans and didnt leave the club on the brink. Flawed but not the chancers that they were labled the day they bought the club. The madness of things is that it wouldnt be a shock if there were people in common if there was a white knight effort however little im actuay expecting that to happen. What was different about BA, hope I suppose, what he was saying made sense, no big promises, cliched soundbites - I never said never with this guy, I do try to give things a chance before rolling out the 'careful now' signs.

I also dont see it as particularly unusual for football fans to bask in the glory of a successful era - whats the point otherwise. I dont recall and winding up of rival fans that was any different to other eras and bya and large on here its good natured and civil.

You will have to be more specific about the latter highlighted comment!?

We all behave like dicks on here, at least from time to time. And not saying it was any more obnoxious than what went before, but I do believe some exchanges stifled debate and contributed to falling engagement that's being discussed elsewhere. And while nobody wants to see a club disappear, there will be a few people who are taking a measure of happiness in the discomfort, real or imagined, of certain posters - I don't see anything particularly unusual in that for this forum.

I won't pretend to be over all the ins and outs of the saga, but the departure from Kerry raised a few eyebrows. The 'bring in investors' thing was a big red flag, there different ways to phrase it, but that exact one always screams empty promise to me. And yeah I was referring to Roddy Collins, how many times was that proffered as an inducement for taking him on as manager?

At some point you quizzed EYG on Derry fan's foresight. There were people asking questions, and pointing out what was going on before the **** hit the fan

A N Mouse
17/09/2024, 1:07 PM

This post reminded me of 2006 when the League of Ireland thought it was so much better off without Dundalk, and kicked us out of the Premier league because our DVDs weren't as nice as others.

At the same time, Drogheda officials were lobbying for reorganising the league so Dundalk would fold and all of Louth could support one team.

A decade later, it was Dundalk - not Drogheda or Galway - that was a major part in rejuvenating the League, both domestically and internationally, and is synonymous with being a true hotbed of LOI football.

Fortunately, Dundalk got over the pompous and sanctimonious attitudes back then, and will do again now.

Obviously, having a border/industrial town have pride in itself still offends a lot of people here, who just wish reprobates like us would go away or at least, know your place in 'our' football.

That an awaful lot of pearl clutching for someone that gotten over their pompous and sanctimonious phase :D

17/09/2024, 3:42 PM
Yes. But you still argue the toss over the obvious.

We all behave like dicks on here, at least from time to time. And not saying it was any more obnoxious than what went before, but I do believe some exchanges stifled debate and contributed to falling engagement that's being discussed elsewhere. And while nobody wants to see a club disappear, there will be a few people who are taking a measure of happiness in the discomfort, real or imagined, of certain posters - I don't see anything particularly unusual in that for this forum.

I won't pretend to be over all the ins and outs of the saga, but the departure from Kerry raised a few eyebrows. The 'bring in investors' thing was a big red flag, there different ways to phrase it, but that exact one always screams empty promise to me. And yeah I was referring to Roddy Collins, how many times was that proffered as an inducement for taking him on as manager?

At some point you quizzed EYG on Derry fan's foresight. There were people asking questions, and pointing out what was going on before the **** hit the fan

I cant apologies for being a dick, its second nature but I dont think Ive stifled debate, I enjoy it to tedium which could effect engagement, if this is the case I do apologies and am hard skinned enough to take it being pointed out. I dont recall taking issue with any Roddy comments, par for the course albeit I do like the chap equal part chancer and equal part self belief and again someone who would laugh at caracature of himself, he is a flanker after all. I am probably the worst at mentioning GLITW classics like 4th biggest budget or selling thing twice but I would class that as good natured slagging at worst and I havent fallen out with any Bohs fans over bees and no mow may in Dalymount.

I havent basked in the demise of other clubs, proper dickish behaviour, but have absolutely questioned how Cork, for example, under FORAS, with a constitution that ruled out past errors broke their own rules - I dont think fan owned models generally work, some sort of hybrid is needed imo (like Rovers) and Cork were an example of this but trawl this forum and you will find me stating this opinion but you wont find any pointing the finger shouting and stamping my feet with I told you so. Ive asked questions about Rovers and the risk to their fan 50% and while being sacrosanct they were a (hyperbolic) penalty from risking their shares on Euro money, though my point was more to do with thinking Bradley is not as much a managerial great irrespective of his record, that they should not have been in that footbaling situation, than finances as Rovers wouldnt go to the wall even if fans had to give up shares beacuse they have significant value and DD would love to have a Celtic feeder club to himself.

Dundalk fans have no say in the runnig of the club but I have been openly critical on the best fans in the league and questioned levels of wider activism, that I see a whole lot of a sense of entitlement, joked that some Dundalk fans think the club should pay them to go to games, cited Sligo as the polar opposite with regard to fan contribution to finances beyond matchday/season tickets. Im not blind to the issues, I have no choice but to hope that owners are not charlatans and if they are let them be very very wealthy ones like P6 who as Ive said previously let a messer in but were not pulling out until fans called for it and under their ownership won leagues and cup, Europa League groups, paid all players and staff in full during a worlwide pandemic shutdown and didnt go on furlough, Committed more financially to club development than others, didnt drain the cash reserves when leaving the club and left it solvent - so where exactly is the 'told ye so disaster'?

Ifs and buts - if SK had stayed I have little doubt that P6 would still be here and Dundalk would have more league titles, its was a particularly unique set of circumstances that occured (losing SK, Mike Tracey with pandemic performances thrown in) and the subsequent demands of fans that changed that ownership so was it the failure its claimed to be by Mystic Smug? Or almost the exact opposite - fans wanted them out so they went leaving money and sliverware....THE error of Dundalk fans of recent when they werent ready of willing to step in to the breach.

People vilified Gerry Matthews, who took on the club when others wouldnt, built the YDC, refurbished the stand, relaid the pitch did a bunch of expensive work on an old ground that chews up money, to the tune of 7 figures +. Yes he ws difficult to deal with when his own businesses were crumbling and he wanted something back out of the firesale of DFC but his tenure wasnt a disaster nor was he the doom overlord property developer that he was called then. P6 were ridicuous at times but history will reflect on their ownership in more relative terms in due coure as has been the revisionist view of GM's ownership.

The current situation AGAIN has nothing to do with P6. I questioned EYG himself not Derry fans as a whole. He is entitled to his opinion, I question why his need to repeat it regardless of our different perspectives. He had no more idea of how things would pan out any more than I do with predicting when Derry might actually fulfill their potential and win the league, maybe this year maybe not, who knows. To claim otherwise is just bs. Ive a prediction, real foresight which I will in due course, confirm multiple times in hindsight how accurate my prediction was - A LoI club will have financial difficulties in the future! and I will say I 'see I knew it would happen!!!' Or maybe I should just regurgitate double contracts and NewCo Derry City FC and just say I knew that was going to happen all along and dredge it up at opportune moments it would be no different - I had no idea that was happening but Im claiming i knew it al along!?

I know Maxi is a cartoon like character on here, he was so idiotic it was ridiculous, he served his time for that and he truly regrets it, he lost a lot more than time served as a result - he will continue to be infamous but the coment on his wellbeing I think is distasteful and commenting on my mental health is lowbrow, a lazy retort.

joey B
17/09/2024, 3:53 PM
John Temple,a barrister is the man leading the Dundalk takeover per Dan McDonnell

17/09/2024, 4:00 PM
John Temple,a barrister is the man leading the Dundalk takeover per Dan McDonnell

Have St Pats settled their case with Dundalk S'OD yet? Never heard of him but there will be professional obligations to his membership of the bar to act in a responsible manner. Could be an excellent development, person to have involved, he could be a disaster and not have the backing. We wil have to wait and see what the future brings!! EYG any predictions?

sbgawa
17/09/2024, 4:04 PM
Pats case still rumbling along, last i heard

redobit
17/09/2024, 4:37 PM
It's not just the players who aren't being paid but also local businesses as well who may not be so open to giving their services to the club for nothing.

And of course it goes further than the local Dundalk area. Dundalk are down to play Sligo Rovers this weekend, if they go bang before then where does that leave us ... no home game and 20k in the hole with wages to pay to players and staff. So for Kiki to say Sligo Rovers fans seem to be taking delight in Dundalk demise is laugable.

17/09/2024, 4:49 PM
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/news/dundalk-fc-target-of-a-takeover-by-investment-group/a1418276062.html

"We want to bring the club to a UEFA category four venue in an effort to compete with Tallaght Stadium for both national and European games”.

This type of chat makes me wonder if they live in the real world.

joey B
17/09/2024, 4:53 PM
https://www.dundalkfc.com/takeover-agreed-with-john-temple/

Takeover confirmed on Dundalk’s social’s.

It’s most importantly great news for Dundalk fans and the institution of Dundalk Football Club but also good news for the integrity of the league,talk of expunging results that seemed a real possibility would have been an awful look for the league…..

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/09/2024, 5:12 PM
Great to see it getting sorted.

Is Ainscough gone? He shouldn’t be let near a club in this country again

Burnsie
17/09/2024, 5:18 PM
Hang on, do we want the FAI to carry out rigorous due diligence on new owners or not?

RealJohn91
17/09/2024, 5:22 PM
Happy for Dundalk that they will still have a club till the end of the season at least. The statement mentioning them still needing to assess the viability of the club and it's facilities wouldn't inspire confidence in the long term though.

17/09/2024, 5:27 PM
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/news/dundalk-fc-target-of-a-takeover-by-investment-group/a1418276062.html

"We want to bring the club to a UEFA category four venue in an effort to compete with Tallaght Stadium for both national and European games”.

This type of chat makes me wonder if they live in the real world.

Peak 6 didnt make such grand statements but sure he is a local man so everything will be grand like it was last time compared with people who had no attachment to the locality. Love this comment "examine the viability of the club and its facilities going forward", So if they find its not viable???

I dont think its wrong to have lofty ambitions. Its possible on an incremental basis and to knock plns for stadium development comes across as damned if you do damned if you dont. Negatives are based in the unknown which is always the case with new ownership yes? Why was BA selected over this consotium last year? Positives are of course the stay of execution, the hope that a new owners will be a success and do the right things but that is always an unkown. It is good that the alternative group are being met with, that investors from BA efforts have stuck and are being facilitated. As with any consortium and board there will be a lot of voices, if the second group are included they were advoacting a fan minority stake, there can be too many voices too. Comments from the new owners when previously unsuccessful were a little odd in mentioning solar panels to reduce cost, sensory rooms, cofee shop but maybe creating an activity hub will work along with necessary additional non football income streams. As per our norms at Dundalk FC in recent yers I will hold off judgement on new owners until such a time that there is somethin to judge. I think we can call BA's ownership a fail bar averting the ultimate disaster in the end.

EatYerGreens
17/09/2024, 5:29 PM

I don't think anyone genuinely wants to see Dundalk go out of football (bar perhaps the odd brain-dead Drogs tribalist). The league would definitely be worse without yee.

But I do suspect many fans just wish yees hadn't collectively been such insufferable pr!cks for large parts of the last decade, when the club was to various degrees built on sand and a lie. There were years where this forum became essentiailly unvisitable due to the constant petty Dundalk-Cork sniping and chest-beating that used to go on.

So no-one wants Dundalk FC to go away, as you self-pityingly claim. It's the arrogance that needs to go. Hopefuly this sorry episode (which helps no-one in the league) injects a bit of much-needed humility into your fanbase. Though judging by the closing lines of your post above, I won't hold my breath.

EatYerGreens
17/09/2024, 5:31 PM
Hang on, do we want the FAI to carry out rigorous due diligence on new owners or not?

Sure where's the fun in that?

17/09/2024, 5:33 PM
So from missing wages to 24 hours until liquidation to takeover confirmed - all in what, two weeks?

Typical LoI weirdness if nothing else

2 Year Contract
17/09/2024, 5:37 PM
Happy for Dundalk that they will still have a club till the end of the season at least. The statement mentioning them still needing to assess the viability of the club and its facilities wouldn't inspire confidence in the long term though.

Agree with this, a pretty alarming opening statement from a new owner that suggests they too don’t have the money to carry the club on long term. With no real good options though they keep the show on the road for Dundalk which is the main thing even if this crowd are only a stop gap solution

EatYerGreens
17/09/2024, 5:38 PM
Have St Pats settled their case with Dundalk S'OD yet? Never heard of him but there will be professional obligations to his membership of the bar to act in a responsible manner. Could be an excellent development, person to have involved, he could be a disaster and not have the backing. We wil have to wait and see what the future brings!! EYG any predictions?

I'll tell you in 2 years time :cool:

17/09/2024, 5:40 PM
I'll tell you in 2 years time :cool:

I have no doubt but if its rubbish once will do;)

17/09/2024, 6:00 PM
Delighted that Dundalk will still be in loi till season end. No mention of BAs sanctions though?And agree that it is a weird statement to make from the new owner.

17/09/2024, 6:01 PM
Not so sure it's "a proud day" for Dundalk as stated by the new guy but it keeps them alive anyway. Sounds like the other bidder will probably be getting involved down the line.

kksaints
17/09/2024, 6:05 PM
Wouldn't be keen on that statement, reads very much like a short term job.

joey B
17/09/2024, 6:29 PM
Agree with this, a pretty alarming opening statement from a new owner that suggests they too don’t have the money to carry the club on long term. With no real good options though they keep the show on the road for Dundalk which is the main thing even if this crowd are only a stop gap solution

At least they’re honest anyway,no snake oil salesman stuff like the previous owner,the hard work would appear to have to start now though…..

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/09/2024, 6:33 PM

Their tweet before it about don’t worry etc hopefully doesn’t come back to haunt them

17/09/2024, 6:33 PM
I don't think anyone genuinely wants to see Dundalk go out of football (bar perhaps the odd brain-dead Drogs tribalist). The league would definitely be worse without yee.

But I do suspect many fans just wish yees hadn't collectively been such insufferable pr!cks for large parts of the last decade, when the club was to various degrees built on sand and a lie. There were years where this forum became essentiailly unvisitable due to the constant petty Dundalk-Cork sniping and chest-beating that used to go on.

So no-one wants Dundalk FC to go away, as you self-pityingly claim. It's the arrogance that needs to go. Hopefuly this sorry episode (which helps no-one in the league) injects a bit of much-needed humility into your fanbase. Though judging by the closing lines of your post above, I won't hold my breath.

That pretty much sums up League of Ireland clubs in entirety, arguably 1st division amatuer clubs are more stable currently than most premier clubs. None are long term sustainable in its current guise without benefactors. Rovers might be an exception but still need European money to balance the books. Humility would also recognise that Derry would be doomed a long time ago and would be again without O'Doherty. It is pure luck that there is an exceptionally weathy businessman that is also a supporter who is willing to cover what would be very large losses. If he gets bored or pops off this world and his family lack his interest? St Pats the same. Waterford are potentially a court case from their ownership being sued, Comers propping up Galway. Bohs fans are not fickle but if they were to eternally be mid table? Up until Statsports ownership Dundalk were basically the same model ownership as others today so deacde of being built on sand and a lie? that was 2021 when they took over, 3 years ago? Most of Dundalk most recent succes was not under billionaire owners eg 2016. Its this kind of sweeping comment Ive challanged previously - humlity in to a fanbase, are you suggesting that all Dundalk fans are the same or indeed that there are not or wont be arrogant Derry fans. Tbh there are not enough Dundalk fans contributing on this website to get a sample beyond what 10 posters, do you profile by what you see on social media?

While Im not saying all ok but Drogs v Cork mid 2000s and all the 6 finger cousins stuff, Bohs v Rovers as examples of bickering in the past on foot.ie. Sligo and Rovers and conduct in the Showgrounds, there are more, so hardly unique between Dundalk and Cork. What level of interaction is acceptable in a rivalry, I dont recall a whole lot of moderaton needed!?

total hoofball
17/09/2024, 6:37 PM
Shels, Galway and Waterford the big winners out of today not worrying about expunged results anymore as this Dundalk takeover to prevent extinction going by their statement smacks of an expensive sticking plaster solution

placid casual
17/09/2024, 7:10 PM
What's the worst that could happen:):):)

17/09/2024, 8:28 PM
What's the worst that could happen:)

Depend on who you are asking PC, if its all a hige success for yerself it'd be Dundalk winning league titles again:o

Obviously its to find out that a consortium of owners dont have the finances, that they are not banking on getting investors in as they go without having a minimum of being able to see out a season as per submitted licencing accounts. We are still scant on detail. I do feel hopeful after tonights supporters meeting in Oriel, that there is a common cause and a willingness to dig deep to both develop a rainy day fund and engage with the club on specific projects eg getting the YDC up to spec and functioning fully. Sligo was the example used in terms of the sort of amounts of money that should be a target. There seems to have been a considerable response from the business community of Dundalk so they will play a roll an id say there will be a upward trend in sponsorship type income. Finanicing full time positions to do what Bohs have done to grow support, connect with the community in general rather than just football outrech/coaching and growth not based on or fluctuate depending entirely on the teams performances is very doable. It has been a kick in the arse warning that maybe breaks the let someone else do it cycle. If we are here again at some stage and unprepared I will actively become a Shamrock Rovers....something as I will have absolutely given up all hope.

17/09/2024, 8:29 PM
Shels, Galway and Waterford the big winners out of today not worrying about expunged results anymore as this Dundalk takeover to prevent extinction going by their statement smacks of an expensive sticking plaster solution

We can put the asterisk league win away for a other year thankfully.

placid casual
17/09/2024, 8:49 PM
Depend on who you are asking PC, if its all a hige success for yerself it'd be Dundalk winning league titles again:o

Obviously its to find out that a consortium of owners dont have the finances, that they are not banking on getting investors in as they go without having a minimum of being able to see out a season as per submitted licencing accounts. We are still scant on detail. I do feel hopeful after tonights supporters meeting in Oriel, that there is a common cause and a willingness to dig deep to both develop a rainy day fund and engage with the club on specific projects eg getting the YDC up to spec and functioning fully. Sligo was the example used in terms of the sort of amounts of money that should be a target. There seems to have been a considerable response from the business community of Dundalk so they will play a roll an id say there will be a upward trend in sponsorship type income. Finanicing full time positions to do what Bohs have done to grow support, connect with the community in general rather than just football outrech/coaching and growth not based on or fluctuate depending entirely on the teams performances is very doable. It has been a kick in the arse warning that maybe breaks the let someone else do it cycle. If we are here again at some stage and unprepared I will actively become a Shamrock Rovers....something as I will have absolutely given up all hope.
Best of luck Nesta. Honestly. Best of luck.

Shinkicker
17/09/2024, 8:51 PM
Not sure of the full takeover details, but Dundalk cannot sit on their laurels. They need to go down a division, take the government funding promised and use it wisely while reducing the wage bill and keeping fans interested and engaged. The above will be hard for the club to do and for supporters to take. Today is a good day for them but their troubles are far from over. I'm de lighted to hear they survived.

17/09/2024, 9:15 PM

To be fair, if I were a Dundalk fan, I'd take the short term fix over liquidation right about now.

oriel
17/09/2024, 9:17 PM
Not sure of the full takeover details, but Dundalk cannot sit on their laurels. They need to go down a division, take the government funding promised and use it wisely while reducing the wage bill and keeping fans interested and engaged. The above will be hard for the club to do and for supporters to take. Today is a good day for them but their troubles are far from over. I'm de lighted to hear they survived.

This is good, 'need' to go down ? If Dundalk are relegated on the field, we will deserve to go down and on merit.

If debts are paid and all staff paid on time rest of season that's a start, its obvious the club needs to get better at admin and how its run, I don't think anyone is in celebration mode on any other level that the club is still alive.

Was there a 'need' for Bohs to go down a division in mid 10's during the last crisis, or was it better they competed in the PD and kept going?

17/09/2024, 9:27 PM
Best of luck Nesta. Honestly. Best of luck.
https://media.tenor.com/TaZHgDy29bEAAAAe/not-sure-if-serious.png

But I shall take it!! You'd really miss us if we were gone PC!

Kiki Balboa
17/09/2024, 9:42 PM

You sound like you are crying into your wheetabixs as you type.

17/09/2024, 10:06 PM

Dont see why there is need to be relegated, if it happens it happens, as long as nothing is broken in an attempt to stay up 2025 or whenever. Premier Division = bigger crowds, more sponsorship, less travel costs but of course, outside chance of Europe even with some balance. Id see it as an opportunity to throw the gauntlet down to supporters as a fundraising target, if you want a competative side, keep being full time then get cracking on helping fund things. Another decade in the 1st Division if relegated could kill me nver mind the club!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/09/2024, 10:20 PM

I would hope the government funding is ring fenced for the pitch and lights like they applied for

17/09/2024, 10:47 PM
It is but at least its now not having to come out of an owners pocket to gain a 2025 licence so in a round about way its a discount. There is more to run on this whole saga but squirelling away a SPG wont be part of it.

oriel
17/09/2024, 10:57 PM
I would hope the government funding is ring fenced for the pitch and lights like they applied for

It's a grant that will be paid towards these items, most probably held against payment of same less say 250k contribution by the club. Seems a quite loaded question offered.

EatYerGreens
17/09/2024, 11:49 PM
You sound like you are crying into your wheetabixs as you type.

Thank you for proving my point :D

Shinkicker
18/09/2024, 7:53 AM
This is good, 'need' to go down ? If Dundalk are relegated on the field, we will deserve to go down and on merit.

If debts are paid and all staff paid on time rest of season that's a start, its obvious the club needs to get better at admin and how its run, I don't think anyone is in celebration mode on any other level that the club is still alive.

Was there a 'need' for Bohs to go down a division in mid 10's during the last crisis, or was it better they competed in the PD and kept going?
I'll rephrase that line "it is likely Dundalk will relegated down a division and whilst there they need to.........." and please read the last line of my post again. Re Bohs it was in the past, we've learned our lesson and turned our club around without being relegated. This is probably down to the input from supporters and the board running a very tight ship. There was the Dalymount to DCC deal too. All of which seemed to have made a better club with greater support. Are Duldalk in a position to do this? most likely No. You'll have to do it from a lower division. Remember others have had to do it this way too and are in the running to win the league this year. If Drogheda beat Bohs on Friday we could be joining you. You have survived, which is great. Take the opportunity to do great things.

oriel
18/09/2024, 11:13 AM
Dundalk have survived, but the patient still needs treatment, and not out of the woods by any margin.

We still may end up going down, and if so it will be on the field and we'll have to admit we were not good enough, take our medicine.

From where things stood on Sun afternoon / night, and again up to most of Monday, to still have a club operating was nothing less than a miracle.

A lot of work to do and lessons to learn.

Another Bohemia
18/09/2024, 11:27 AM
Am I the only one who sees this new owner as potentially a copy paste of Ainscough? He has investors to see out the season, sure, but after that? Where does the money come from? There is still a significant debt & the prospect of relegation? Even the statement said they would be reviewing the financial viability of the club? The debts already point to professional football not being viable so is part time or amateur football something the Dundalk public can get behind? There are still so many questions imo.

ltfc_2004
18/09/2024, 12:02 PM
I remember John well from Ogra FF days so he shouldn't have too much trouble getting money from the government. All in all it just shows that every LOI club is maybe about 2 weeks from going out of business if things go even a tiny bit wrong !

18/09/2024, 12:17 PM
Am I the only one who sees this new owner as potentially a copy paste of Ainscough? He has investors to see out the season, sure, but after that? Where does the money come from? There is still a significant debt & the prospect of relegation? Even the statement said they would be reviewing the financial viability of the club? The debts already point to professional football not being viable so is part time or amateur football something the Dundalk public can get behind? There are still so many questions imo.

No certainly not, I think nearly eveyone has said that this lacks detail and info is scant with comments that do the opposite of fill with confidence. Its all relative though, get to season's end is priority 1 and go from there. This ownership may also have the potential to set the club up to thrive, imo especally if other interested parties are brought in to the fold and some level of fan ownershp considered which was definitely not the case with previous owners. There was contempt for fans in the lack of engagement previously prior to BA though BA was willing to engage plenty in the pubs around Oriel with fans and talk about appointing king and missing out on Kenny among other things. But yeah there is plenty to run on this, I believe there is a meeting today with local companies, probably a number od creditors among them, that could be on debt or converting debt, or writing it down or committing to paying it in full so hence scant on detail until that meeting happens. It was said previously that it would take 3mil to mae the club sustainable by this group so at least they have figures where BA just talked about bringing in investors. If we are relegated in November it would be easier to enter SCARP but burning local business is not somehing Id be happy with so yup plenty more rope in this saga.

A N Mouse
18/09/2024, 12:33 PM
I cant apologies for being a dick, its second nature but I dont think Ive stifled debate, I enjoy it to tedium which could effect engagement, if this is the case I do apologies and am hard skinned enough to take it being pointed out. I dont recall taking issue with any Roddy comments, par for the course albeit I do like the chap equal part chancer and equal part self belief and again someone who would laugh at caracature of himself, he is a flanker after all. I am probably the worst at mentioning GLITW classics like 4th biggest budget or selling thing twice but I would class that as good natured slagging at worst and I havent fallen out with any Bohs fans over bees and no mow may in Dalymount.

I'm not singling you or anyone out, though some of the whining noises about everyone wanting Dundalk to disappear would make Stuey Byrne cringe. Maybe R2 should turn the trash compactor back on, just to make the whining noise stop :p

Don't think there many on here get a bye ball when it come to calling someone else a gob****e. But jfc the place was was desperate. Whether it was Dundalk/Shams, Dundalk/Cork or Dundalk/anyone else, the seeming multiple personality ****-posting that people got shat on for trying to interject in. Or the pile on for disagreeing with the hive mind - the common factor in making this place a cesspit was a usually a handful of Dundalk posters. And yeah similar went on before when other teams had their purple patches, but it was derailing threads not an entire board.

I will say whatever your issue with EYG, and it may or may not be related to this thread, for ****s sake take your own advice and say it once, clearly. Repeatedly calling someone out for a perceived slight that's not immediately obvious in context is definitely dickish.

Signed - A FeckingHypocrite