View Full Version : Hull City owners to take majority stake in Dundalk?
Pages :
[
13]
07/10/2024, 2:26 PM
Next weeks wages could be courtesy of LMFM
why would that be? Where are LMFM based?
smasherdrog
07/10/2024, 3:39 PM
why would that be? Where are LMFM based?
Louth/Meath radio , based in Drogheda
07/10/2024, 7:26 PM
Dundalk sue LMFM for false reports and threatemed by JT, tongue in cheek comment. LMFM permanent studios are in Drogheda.
Shearer
09/10/2024, 10:33 AM
Is there potential for another brawl for all when Drogs and Dundalk meet on final day?
oriel
09/10/2024, 10:56 AM
:note:
Is there potential for another brawl for all when Drogs and Dundalk meet on final day?
Hey yeah you, with the sad face, come up to my place and live it up...............................:note:
Jack B
09/10/2024, 11:08 AM
Still not great noise coming out of Dundalk by the sounds of things. Obviously something drastic needed doing the keep the club going but it doesn't seem like they're onto much of a good thing with the new ownership either.
Shearer
09/10/2024, 3:40 PM
:note:
Hey yeah you, with the sad face, come up to my place and live it up...............................:note:
Who could forget. I couldn't believe Dan McDonnell saying that the fines both clubs got was not newsworthy, surprised there weren't big fines.
On a similar note, I've noticed a few digs in recent months between James Rogers and Dan McDonnell towards the other on their respective podcasts. What's the story?
09/10/2024, 4:52 PM
At the start of 2023, JR reported that our owners were looking to sell the club. DMcD ran an interview the next weekend with one of the owners completely denying it and essentially accusing that it was fabricated. JR was proven to be correct.
09/10/2024, 8:51 PM
The glorious local ownership group ended up at odds with eachother and had their ways to spin their sides too.
Knocklyonhoop
09/10/2024, 11:52 PM
Surely the club wasn’t sold, but just given away? Who would pay to take on a liability?!
Shearer
10/10/2024, 8:26 AM
At the start of 2023, JR reported that our owners were looking to sell the club. DMcD ran an interview the next weekend with one of the owners completely denying it and essentially accusing that it was fabricated. JR was proven to be correct.
Ah yes I remember but never made the connection, thanks for that.
I enjoy both pods and don't like to see them not getting on.
Slartibartfast
10/10/2024, 11:28 AM
excuse my ignorance , but what is james rogers pod called ?
joey B
10/10/2024, 11:29 AM
excuse my ignorance , but what is james rogers pod called ?
The Press box
sbgawa
11/10/2024, 6:53 AM
I was going to start a new thread called Dundalk FC rescue but the title of this thread could still be relevant after listening to The Press Box podcast.
Who even knows who currently owns or will own soon DFC and who is behind / with John Temple.
His motives could and hopefully are 100% towards getting DFC going again properly but according to the Press Box currently the Academy in Dundalk have been told there is no money for them.
Have the FAI allowed a takeover where the new owners are allowed pick and choose the bills they pay? or are the wages just being underwritten by them and the rest of the club is supposed to fund itself??
IF thats the case then so be it but that should be made clear.
Its just as well Drogs look safe becasue if they did finish behind Dundalk and bills arent being paid i could see a legal chalenge coming.
They made the point on the Podcast that having an academy is part of the Licence requirements.
They also made the point which is fair that JT statement taking over the club was that he and his group would "underwrite the players wages until the end of the season" did not mention the Academy so he was living up to his commitment.
It seems possible that the FAI have allowed a takeover to simply limp the club to the end of the season when things will be allowed to fold but the league will have finished so it can happen quietly.
Again JT did say assess at the end of the seaon or words to that effect so taht would be consistant but it felt a bit more optimistic than it does now.
I hope im wrong but you would be worried after listening to James Rogers on the Press Box.
There is no reason to believe JT is anything other than an honest broker and its costing him money at this stage so he deserves credit for that but a bit of comunication would help assuage worries
The lack of transparancy leads to speculation and the previous lack of transparancy doesnt help.
Another Bohemia
11/10/2024, 7:27 AM
I was going to start a new thread called Dundalk FC rescue but the title of this thread could still be relevant after listening to The Press Box podcast.
Who even knows who currently owns or will own soon DFC and who is behind / with John Temple.
His motives could and hopefully are 100% towards getting DFC going again properly but according to the Press Box currently the Academy in Dundalk have been told there is no money for them.
Have the FAI allowed a takeover where the new owners are allowed pick and choose the bills they pay? or are the wages just being underwritten by them and the rest of the club is supposed to fund itself??
IF thats the case then so be it but that should be made clear.
Its just as well Drogs look safe becasue if they did finish behind Dundalk and bills arent being paid i could see a legal chalenge coming.
They made the point on the Podcast that having an academy is part of the Licence requirements.
They also made the point which is fair that JT statement taking over the club was that he and his group would "underwrite the players wages until the end of the season" did not mention the Academy so he was living up to his commitment.
It seems possible that the FAI have allowed a takeover to simply limp the club to the end of the season when things will be allowed to fold but the league will have finished so it can happen quietly.
Again JT did say assess at the end of the seaon or words to that effect so taht would be consistant but it felt a bit more optimistic than it does now.
I hope im wrong but you would be worried after listening to James Rogers on the Press Box.
There is no reason to believe JT is anything other than an honest broker and its costing him money at this stage so he deserves credit for that but a bit of comunication would help assuage worries
The lack of transparancy leads to speculation and the previous lack of transparancy doesnt help.
Just on top of the academy part. The licensing process for next year is underway at the moment or possibly nearly complete. If Dundalk aren't actively funding their academy can they even get a license for next year?
11/10/2024, 9:00 AM
What happened with the other group led by the ex player? I thought there were going to be talks about their getting involved as well?
sbgawa
11/10/2024, 9:08 AM
Just on top of the academy part. The licensing process for next year is underway at the moment or possibly nearly complete. If Dundalk aren't actively funding their academy can they even get a license for next year?
I'd actually forgotten that the licensing process was underway that must be why they were making the point about the Academy being funded by others.
I suppose if the new owners review things as promised at end of season which is only a few weeks away they will commit to funding going forward and that might get them out of trouble
ToberonaTornado
11/10/2024, 11:50 PM
new trust setting up.https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GZoH_RjXQC45xly?format=jpg&name=small
12/10/2024, 12:29 AM
Is it nit picky to be slightly irked by typo in a 1st official press release? as well as the use of as well as as coloquial as it may be.:eek:
12/10/2024, 9:46 AM
Is it nit picky to be slightly irked by typo in a 1st official press release? as well as the use of as well as as coloquial as it may be.:eek:
I did instantly notice the typo last night. I suppose given they haven't held an AGM yet they don't have elected officials such as a media officer
12/10/2024, 10:21 AM
There's more than one but it doesn't really matter.
There was an article on Dundalk's financial woes in this month's When Saturday Comes. Mad that they have had 5 sets of owners in 9 years. Brian Ainscough quoted as calling Oriel Park a pigsty after he took over. He was a real emperor with no clothes who didn't even see out a full season in charge before he ran out of money.
12/10/2024, 2:47 PM
There's more than one but it doesn't really matter.
In the grand scheme no! But if wanting to present a professional front and maximise credibility especially when there is a silly tug of war going then yes it matters on some level. Its not a social media post or on a message board where its chit chat, its a formal statement and imo at the very least fix the blue and red squigley underscores. I noticed straight away, outspoken also but I did wonder whether it was something that people bother about these days. iIs not quite like one supporter group putting out a release with text talk years back when Nokia phone texts were hijacking the spoken word!
dundalkfc10
12/10/2024, 3:07 PM
new trust setting up.https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GZoH_RjXQC45xly?format=jpg&name=small
One of the lads behind this (allegedly) owns part of a barbers in town. I would be very worried about where his funds are coming from (not by legal means)
As for John Temple, he dosnt have a penny so I do wonder where he is getting the money to pay the first team and pay nobody else it seems
The FAI obviously let him take over the club as they didn't want the **** show of us going bust mid season and everyone's points changing
I know a few younger lads who play with the youth teams and have been told most of them have already agreed to move to new teams next season mostly Newry, Warrenpoint (they have loads lads from town playing with them as it is) Drogheda and Shels
Can't blame them to be fair when they don't know if they will be able to have a game each week
I can't see us having a team next season, I hope I'm wrong
12/10/2024, 7:55 PM
Wow! It amazing how the key source of info in Ireland, maybe particularly about Dundalk FC in this case, start in the hairdressers and barber shops of the nation! Nobody knows whats in the works at all!
There was an article on Dundalk's financial woes in this month's When Saturday Comes. Mad that they have had 5 sets of owners in 9 years. Brian Ainscough quoted as calling Oriel Park a pigsty after he took over. He was a real emperor with no clothes who didn't even see out a full season in charge before he ran out of money.
I like that mag, used to subscribe, usually an excellent read usually right to the point, some excellent stuff in it, and amazingly they seem to feature an Irish Football story at least twice a year, going on hols soon, will be nice reading, cheers for the shout.
Oh BA was a bluffer and no mistake.
One of the lads behind this (allegedly) owns part of a barbers in town. I would be very worried about where his funds are coming from (not by legal means)
As for John Temple, he dosnt have a penny so I do wonder where he is getting the money to pay the first team and pay nobody else it seems
The FAI obviously let him take over the club as they didn't want the **** show of us going bust mid season and everyone's points changing
I know a few younger lads who play with the youth teams and have been told most of them have already agreed to move to new teams next season mostly Newry, Warrenpoint (they have loads lads from town playing with them as it is) Drogheda and Shels
Can't blame them to be fair when they don't know if they will be able to have a game each week
I can't see us having a team next season, I hope I'm wrong
Thanks for your positive view on things dfc10 ! Quite a flippant post, mentioning a small biz owner who is only one of 20 or so founders of this group. There are 2-3 accountants, biz leaders, one former DFC chair and local authority reps on the committee, and it hasn't even launched yet, but don't let that alter your unwavering support.
Dundalk will be in biz next season, and should have a competitive budget in the FD. Time to take our medicine and get better on and off the field.
12/10/2024, 9:53 PM
Thanks for your positive view on things dfc10 ! Quite a flippant post, mentioning a small biz owner who is only one of 20 or so founders of this group. There are 2-3 accountants, biz leaders, one former DFC chair and local authority reps on the committee, and it hasn't even launched yet, but don't let that alter your unwavering support.
Dundalk will be in biz next season, and should have a competitive budget in the FD. Time to take our medicine and get better on and off the field.
Out of interest is this based on solid info or a kind of hope sounding like a sttement of fact? I'll take any reassurances at this stage, within reason, licencing application and issues like floodlights and pitcg progressing unless those are deferrable for 1st Division?
oriel
12/10/2024, 10:04 PM
Christ Nesta, do we need to add you to the list of doom and gloom.
Let me re-phrase me it, Dundalk supporters both local and outside the town are moving heaven and earth to try their hardest hoping that we will have a club in business next year.
One of these is a new Trust, if you want to help out and join / contribute that would be great, if not and you want to continue posting negative messages on here while doing nothing, I am not sure how that helps things.
12/10/2024, 11:44 PM
Eh no you dont need to add me, Im already on the list, the clarification is appreciated, Im hopeful too and will step up in any way I can in due course, but I also know its the hope that can hurt! I was actually hoping that maybe there was some clarity provided by JT that Id missed or that a new trust and SC had oulled together fully.
13/10/2024, 9:05 AM
Out of curiosity, do Dundalk really need to be pushing a 'competitive budget in the FD' next season, or spending a year or two focusing on paying off their massive debts and being thankful to have a club at all?
13/10/2024, 10:14 AM
Out of curiosity, do Dundalk really need to be pushing a 'competitive budget in the FD' next season, or spending a year or two focusing on paying off their massive debts and being thankful to have a club at all?
Exactly. I've already had fans talking to me about pushing for europe when they get back up, mind boggling
13/10/2024, 10:19 AM
Exactly. I've already had fans talking to me about pushing for europe when they get back up, mind boggling
TBF, they're just echoing what their new owner was saying.
Another Bohemia
13/10/2024, 10:36 AM
It is exceptionally hard to have sympathy for them if this is the nonsense being pushed
RealJohn91
13/10/2024, 11:12 AM
I saw some Dundalk fans on social media bemoaning the fact they let Hoban and Shepherd leave the club and that they would've been challenging with them still at the club. It feels like the situation the club will be in for the foreseeable future still hasn't hit a portion of the fanbase despite everything.
13/10/2024, 12:26 PM
I saw some Dundalk fans on social media bemoaning the fact they let Hoban and Shepherd leave the club and that they would've been challenging with them still at the club. It feels like the situation the club will be in for the foreseeable future still hasn't hit a portion of the fanbase despite everything.
Couldn't believe that commentary either, the last thing the club needs is more contracts they can't afford.
13/10/2024, 1:20 PM
But lads you are just being negative....
Stevie mac
13/10/2024, 1:44 PM
Lads come on Dundalk would of easily been 20 points better off if we hadn't of surrendered Hoban to Derry and had of executed the option on Shepard.
I don't believe in counter factuals but they'd of easily turned some defeats into draws and draws into wins
13/10/2024, 1:54 PM
With hindsight having Hoban off th payroll was probably good. It wasnt good that he was let go for next to nothing imo. The thinking behind these comments, I have heard them plenty also, is that without a clamity keeper and with a striker who scores that we could be in a Euro spot, add that to the solidarity lump sum and you've added around what the debt is to income. The must be not so obvious flaw is the papering over cracks and no gaurantee that that money would have been used as it should, ye know like paying tax bills. Tbh the players that came in, including transfer fees were not on buttons and Hoban/Sheppard were not necessarily budget cuts. Cant recall which player released during the summer but was reported to have been that was on silly money like €1200pw or something, €27k pw is the reported current player wages. keeping the likes of Hoban, proven striker, well its better to pay him money you dont have than some unknown flop.
Its ok to hope for something like bouncing back to the Premier Division quickly and looking to qualify for Europe again. Its very optimistic to think it will happen, but if debts were cleared by an owner and the money is there then let people dream. I think its a load of self consoling 'sure if relegated we will just get promoted straght away and be back in Europe 2027' rather than really not getting it. Sure target the cup 2025 too abd have promotion and Europe on the wish list.
If its hard to have sympathy pity the fools!
Afraid of us gate crashing your title charge next season Nigel:D
13/10/2024, 2:14 PM
Afraid of us gate crashing your title charge next season Nigel:D
Them's fighting words.
I wouldn't expect Dundalk to come up at first attempt but I`d be expecting a decent season, yes bigger fish to fry on debt / ground / lights / ownership / DFC trust take off, take your pick, but would still think there will be a decent budget.
No point going down just to repeat seasons 2002 and 2003, many forget we finished 2nd and 3rd last.
But lads you are just being negative....
Free country and everyone entitled to their opinion, would like to think majority of Dundalk fans will get behind the Trust. It seems to be the only way forward that I can see.
placid casual
13/10/2024, 8:11 PM
There's a real bang of People's Front of Judea situation off those in oriel pk at the moment.
Sort yourselves out.
13/10/2024, 11:29 PM
There's a real bang of People's Front of Judea situation off those in oriel pk at the moment.
Sort yourselves out.
Oh Monty Python has already been referenced, cant remember if here or on OW!
13/10/2024, 11:41 PM
Free country and everyone entitled to their opinion, would like to think majority of Dundalk fans will get behind the Trust. It seems to be the only way forward that I can see.
Are we sure now, really really sure, nearly all on the same page?! I was starting to thik we'd have to dust off Dermot Ahern to help broker a Peace Process MkII (MkIII if counting the GM and Trust MkI saga too).
14/10/2024, 3:38 PM
Are we sure now, really really sure, nearly all on the same page?! I was starting to thik we'd have to dust off Dermot Ahern to help broker a Peace Process MkII (MkIII if counting the GM and Trust MkI saga too).
He was at the 1903 meeting so seen it all play out.
Trust the Trust !
ToberonaTornado
14/10/2024, 10:21 PM
Wow! It amazing how the key source of info in Ireland, maybe particularly about Dundalk FC in this case, start in the hairdressers and barber shops of the nation! Nobody knows whats in the works at all!
Whoosh! lol.
Top level local reference there Nesta,,pity nobody else got that :-)
If the new trust do eventually gain control of Dundalk FC and solve some money problems ,guarantee we'll be in the 1st division way longer than a lot of our fans think. long term project but at least we still hjave a club.
14/10/2024, 11:06 PM
I see Dundalk asking fans to buy virtual tickets for Fridays game. The club must be in dire straights but as much as you'd love to do it as a fan and help your club, could you really part with the money when there has been so little clarity from the owner. What's to say thousands buy the virtual ticket and yet at the end the club is still melted down at the end of the season? The sole focus from the fans now should be creating one unified trust and getting as much money in the kitty as possible let it be to buy into Dundalk FC should it be saved or to get a new club up and running for 2026.
ToberonaTornado
15/10/2024, 12:43 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwBfsTfYx00&t=1813s