View Full Version : Troy Parrott F AZ Alkmaar b.2002

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33

25/09/2024, 4:48 PM
Making his (senior) European debut about now, leading the line at home to Elfsborg of Sweden.

Was on the bench for two Champions League games in 2019/20 but never played. And has nine goals in nine Youth League appearances before that.

Bigger challenges than Elfsborg to come too - Spurs of course, plus Bilbao, Roma, Fenerbahce and Galatasaray. Ludogorets and Ferencvaros complete the fixtures. They'll probably be looking to get into the last 24 from that - Elfsborg, Ludogorets and Ferencvaros seem winnable ties.

texidub
25/09/2024, 6:20 PM
Scores a peno to put AZ 3-2 up. Great to see.

Razors left peg
25/09/2024, 8:34 PM
Just curious if the standard of opposition allows for Parrotts goal to be celebrated? Are they L1 standard, Championship?? I need to know before I can tell if its a good thing that he got the winning goal in a European game. Also, it was a penalty, does that even count?

Eirambler
25/09/2024, 8:36 PM
I'll celebrate any Irish senior squad player scoring a penalty given how bad a lot of them seem to be at them.

25/09/2024, 9:17 PM

26/09/2024, 8:10 AM
Just curious if the standard of opposition allows for Parrotts goal to be celebrated? Are they L1 standard, Championship?? I need to know before I can tell if its a good thing that he got the winning goal in a European game. Also, it was a penalty, does that even count?
I think in fairness most of us are able to take the calibre of the opposition and the type of goal into account when building a view of a player without taking offence if someone suggests that not all goals are the equivalent of wonder goals against Man City.

Exgrad
26/09/2024, 10:41 AM
I think in fairness most of us are able to take the calibre of the opposition and the type of goal into account when building a view of a player without taking offence if someone suggests that not all goals are the equivalent of wonder goals against Man City.

I knew penalties wouldnt count.

26/09/2024, 2:09 PM
I knew penalties wouldnt count.

Penalties are worth 0.85 goals by my own rule book (depending on the standard of the opposition of course its worth can fluctuate). You get the full credit if you win the penalty too, with additional points over the 1.0 for style of winning it..

Another example, is a goal where you take the ball from inside your own half can be worth up to 2.0 in the SkStu statistics (depending, obviously, on how deep you were when the run started and how many mugs you made of the opposition on your way). A Nayim beats a Beckham but both over 1.25 and so on...

Razors left peg
26/09/2024, 3:08 PM
Penalties are worth 0.85 goals by my own rule book (depending on the standard of the opposition of course its worth can fluctuate). You get the full credit if you win the penalty too, with additional points over the 1.0 for style of winning it..

Another example, is a goal where you take the ball from inside your own half can be worth up to 2.0 in the SkStu statistics (depending, obviously, on how deep you were when the run started and how many mugs you made of the opposition on your way). A Nayim beats a Beckham but both over 1.25 and so on...

But what if a Nayim was the 4th goal in a 4 nil win against Middlesborough and a winning penalty was against Real Madrid... who grades higher on the SkStu statistics? :confused:

This is good though, I need someone to be the arbiter of happiness allowance for goals scored so I don't find myself being happy about goals against Ross County or Ajax unnecessarily.

zero
26/09/2024, 3:24 PM
But what if a Nayim was the 4th goal in a 4 nil win against Middlesborough and a winning penalty was against Real Madrid... who grades higher on the SkStu statistics? :confused:

This is good though, I need someone to be the arbiter of happiness allowance for goals scored so I don't find myself being happy about goals against Ross County or Ajax unnecessarily.

I concur; we need some way of extablishing xH (expected happiness) versus actual otherwise we're randomly experiencing emotions purely on the evidence of our own eyes with no stats whatever to back it up - which I think we can all agree is no way to support a team.

26/09/2024, 4:15 PM
xH = (((ToG + SoG) - xG)) + (AP*IQ)) / RQO + GN

expected happiness = (((Type of Goal + Style of Goal) - xG)) + (Age of Player * Irish Quotient)) / Relative Quality of Opposition + Game Narrative

A starting point anyway. We'll wait for Snappers to weigh in though.

Razors left peg
26/09/2024, 4:27 PM
Jaysus this is gonna be like waiting for VAR to confirm a goal. Everytime someone scores I'll have to refer to SKStu formular to see if I can jump off my couch... but it's perfect, just what was needed around these parts. We can call it the Dontbegettingcarriedaway Theorem

26/09/2024, 7:59 PM
Jaysus this is gonna be like waiting for VAR to confirm a goal. Everytime someone scores I'll have to refer to SKStu formular to see if I can jump off my couch... but it's perfect, just what was needed around these parts. We can call it the Dontbegettingcarriedaway Theorem

We'll set up a Cantankerous Goals Committee for the more controversial ones.

Grafter
26/09/2024, 8:43 PM
Scores a peno to put AZ 3-2 up. Great to see.

Touch of the Aldridge Shuffle about that Peno, bodes well. Must say he carries himself very well in interviews I've seen since he arrived in the Netherlands.

seanfhear
26/09/2024, 10:06 PM
Touch of the Aldridge Shuffle about that Peno, bodes well. Must say he carries himself very well in interviews I've seen since he arrived in the Netherlands.
No Steve McClaren Duchy going on yet ? !

samhaydenjr
27/09/2024, 12:19 AM
So what you're saying is that playing against a mediocre club side is better preparation for playing a mediocre international side than playing against a top club side?

Novel.

Essentially, yes

27/09/2024, 9:58 AM

expected happiness = (((Type of Goal + Style of Goal) - xG)) + (Age of Player * Irish Quotient)) / Relative Quality of Opposition + Game Narrative

More commonly referred to as the Strichter scale.

Snapshot
27/09/2024, 10:57 AM
Ask your SkSvengali. His theorem embraces goals from lesser gods in lesser leagues. Every goal is celebrated, every opponent worthy. At last, Scott Hogan and Will Keane can be celebrated as two of our greatest goalscorers.

27/09/2024, 1:23 PM

All [ ] x 0 if scored for Celtic

27/09/2024, 2:50 PM
Ask your SkSvengali. His theorem embraces goals from lesser gods in lesser leagues. Every goal is celebrated, every opponent worthy. At last, Scott Hogan and Will Keane can be celebrated as two of our greatest goalscorers.

SkSvengali :D :D

Razors left peg
27/09/2024, 6:22 PM
SkSvengali :D :D

Its a better name than what I usually call you !!!

27/09/2024, 9:40 PM
That poor horse is flogged to the bone, lads. Time to send it to the glue factory.

Some interesting quotes here from a Dutch journalist:
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/maybe-he-will-prove-mourinho-wrong-troy-parrott-has-chance-to-shine-on-european-stage-with-high-flying-az-alkmaar/a3254868.html

I liked the chant they sang.

“After the game, fans chanted, ‘Parrott’s on fire’ to Freed From Desire,” says Broxterman. “What I wrote is that he was freed from desire at that moment… from wanting to score that one goal, and after that, it was like a ketchup bottle – waiting for it to pop and then it starts to flow.
It'd be nice to have something to mix in with "Ireland (clap-clap-clap)" and ... I dunno. The Fields of Athenry? Lansdowne wasn't in singing form any time I've been recently.

Fans at the AFAS Stadium appeared to take to the new arrival almost instantly, handing him an inflatable parrot from the crowd after his home debut – a narrow win over NEC Nijmegen.
Pungate bedamned! Anyone have a photo?

27/09/2024, 9:45 PM
Can do better than that

Snapshot
28/09/2024, 5:55 AM
That poor horse is flogged to the bone, lads. Time to send it to the glue factory.

It's relevant if consistency means anything.

Supreme feet
28/09/2024, 7:54 AM
The 'age of player' part of SkStu's equation is relevant. As is knowledge of said player's known limitations at international level, career trajectory and ceiling for improvement.

For example, if Ike Orazi gets on for Reims and scores in Ligue 1, it's going to generate more excitement than, say, James Collins scoring for Derby or Callum Robinson scoring for Cardiff.

28/09/2024, 8:21 AM
Are you saying the level of excitement generated varies inversely to the age of the player in question?
https://frinkiac.com/img/S02E01/845622.jpg

29/09/2024, 6:31 PM
Scores again tonight, against Utrecht.

I think that's 16 goals in his last 16 games at club level

08/10/2024, 5:14 PM
Interview with Parrott, or at least extended comments from a presser.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2024/1007/1474081-maturing-parrott-ready-to-bring-az-form-to-ireland-fold/

24/10/2024, 12:13 AM
Parrott interviewed ahead of return to Spurs with AZ
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/13238363/troy-parrott-interview-tottenham-return-for-az-alkmaar-forward-with-no-regrets-after-becoming-eredivisie-sensation

rebelmusic
24/10/2024, 8:58 PM
Had a full game against spurs. Was anonymous in the first half and had a few good moments in the second. I was watching his off the ball movement and he really needs to improve his hold up play. Had a couple of lovely through balls but yeah, I wouldn't be comfortable with him starting a game where we know we won't have possession for 70 minutes.

Razors left peg
25/10/2024, 2:56 PM
Had a full game against spurs. Was anonymous in the first half and had a few good moments in the second. I was watching his off the ball movement and he really needs to improve his hold up play. Had a couple of lovely through balls but yeah, I wouldn't be comfortable with him starting a game where we know we won't have possession for 70 minutes.

Funny how 2 people can watch the same game and come away with completely different opinions. Id completely disagree that he was anonymous in first half, thought he worked his socks off in the 1st half in particular. As the central striker he spent so much of his time defending on the edge of his own box. Multiple times he was covering in the full back positions too. I thought he was actually a bit quieter in the 2nd half when he tended to stay further forward as they were a goal down. Thought his movement off the ball was good and there was a few times he made some off the ball runs that really should have been found with the ball by his team mates.

I wouldnt say he was brilliant yesterday, but he was good and Id trust him in our team a lot more than some others in games where we have smaller amount of possession because of his work rate and willingness to defend.

Olé Olé
27/10/2024, 6:54 PM
Scores a penalty.

A goal scoring striker in the top flight of Netherlands, Scotland and England this weekend.

Olé Olé
27/10/2024, 7:58 PM
Credited with an assist too and they went 2-0 up but drew 2-2 in the end.

02/11/2024, 8:04 PM

02/11/2024, 11:12 PM
Likes a goal against Feyenoord

zero
01/12/2024, 11:50 AM
rested / dropped? for AZ today.

Eirambler
01/12/2024, 12:56 PM
Probably just rotated as they're playing both domestic and European football at the moment. But maybe telling all the same that they don't see him as being completely undroppable.

08/12/2024, 2:01 PM
Back in the line-up for today's bit game at how to Ajax - and scores to put them 1-0 up with 25 to go.

Demesne Lad
08/12/2024, 10:51 PM
Back in the line-up for today's bit game at how to Ajax - and scores to put them 1-0 up with 25 to go.

Took his chance well.

tNeeNLhXmNA

seanfhear
08/12/2024, 11:15 PM
Took his chance well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNeeNLhXmNA
Was it ~ Hippy Grandad in goal day at Ajax ? !

09/12/2024, 8:47 AM
Great finish by Parrot and good involvement all round from looking at the highlights above.
I'm completely biased in that I've really admired this young fella and his style of play since watching him as a kid underage for us, and would always consider him a starter for us once fit, but now that he's a first team regular at a club like AZ and scoring regularly, I just can't fathom how he's not considered central to our senior team.

dr_peepee
09/12/2024, 10:41 AM
Glad hes doing well but if Ferguson and Smodics are fit, he wouldn’t start for me…

Eirambler
09/12/2024, 11:42 AM
Great finish by Parrot and good involvement all round from looking at the highlights above.
I'm completely biased in that I've really admired this young fella and his style of play since watching him as a kid underage for us, and would always consider him a starter for us once fit, but now that he's a first team regular at a club like AZ and scoring regularly, I just can't fathom how he's not considered central to our senior team.

There are still too many issues with him and he doesn't have a definite position. He's not a lone striker, he's not really a midfielder either and he doesn't have the pace to play out wide.

Can play as a second forward in a 2 man front line but that's about it. He's a useful option to have, particularly off the bench, but unless he finds something extra it's hard to make a case for putting him in the starting team.

09/12/2024, 3:28 PM
I think he was unlucky not to get more meaningful minutes in the NL all the same. In a team asking a lot of questions maybe he's one of the answers.

Eirambler
09/12/2024, 7:35 PM
Right now I don't think he is. If I want an out and out centre forward it would be Ferguson, Idah or Cannon rather than him. Szmodics is a better support forward than him. Johnston, McAteer and Ebosele are better out wide, as well as Ogbene when fit. Azaz is a better attacking midfielder. I think it makes sense that he's not playing much for us at the moment.

09/12/2024, 9:01 PM
I think that's a bit harsh. Ferguson has one club goal all year. Idah is blowing hot and cold at Celtic; he'll pick up a goal coming on as a sub against a demoralised weaker team but too often he doesn't impress when given a (rare) start. Szmodics is doing ok for Ipswich and Cannon is certainly one to keep an eye on, though the Leicester spell is a concern.

But Parrott has 21 club goals this calendar year, in a tougher league than Idah and many of them for a relegation side. He's still showing a great knack for being in the right place at the right time; the goal against Ajax is another good example of that.

None of that lot are the finished article yet, but I think he's way ahead of Idah at the moment, and a legitimate alternative to Ferguson.

Eirambler
09/12/2024, 9:09 PM
Unlike those other players though (possibly other than Szmodics), I don't think you could/should play Parrott as your main centre forward. Idah has been hit and miss, but he'll use his size and pace to hold the ball up, run the channels, work the defence etc. Parrott is technically better, but he can't really do those things, which are close to essential requirements for your striker.

Similarly, while Ferguson isn't playing brilliantly, I don't think you could just take him out of the team and slot Parrott in. He's just a different kind of player.

09/12/2024, 9:44 PM
No, I get that - but Parrott has a poacher's knack I think. That's exactly what I'd want in a centre-forward first and foremost. Ball across the box, and there's someone who can anticipate, get in front of the defender, and score. A lot of his goals have looked simple and I think that's a big positive.

Idah was very poor holding the ball up against England for example, and his close control has come in for regular criticism this season. The others are all much of a muchness for me (agree Sammy maybe a slightly different kind of player to the others)

elatedscum
09/12/2024, 10:50 PM
Troy's an interesting player. Arguably his best performances as a senior international came alongside Obafemi as a pair. At underage level, he was excellent playing off Adam Idah. He's also been used wide as part of a 3 to mixed results.

I don't see why he couldn't lead the line, he's tall, he's good in the air, he wins enough 50/50s, his movement is good, I'd describe him as medium pace (faster than Szmodics and Ferguson, slower than Idah and Cannon and a tonne slower than Obafemi) and yet, he's always looked better as part of a pair.

I do feel he's been a very influential player for us. 1-0 down against Andorra into the second half, he scores 2 to turn it around. 97th minute winner v Lithuania. early 2nd goal against Scotland to solidify the lead, 92nd minute winner against Hungary. The goals to caps ratio isn't amazing but a lot of his caps have been him being brought on in stoppage time, in fact you could combine the minutes from 10 of his irish caps and end up with just 60 minutes of football.

Drummerboy2
16/12/2024, 9:12 AM
Another goal for Troy last night against NAC Breda. They got two late goals to win. I think Troy offers us something different that our other strikers. He is our most creative striker, and can play as an old fashioned No 10. I still have high hopes for him. He is getting great European experience in the Europa league also.