View Full Version : Troy Parrott F AZ Alkmaar b.2002

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

liamoo11
02/05/2022, 12:09 PM
I'd say they are delighted with the way the playoff draw has worked out. a derby is never great, but they should have too much for Wycombe. Regardless of who they face in the final, they'll be underdogs, and their opponents will be under incredible pressure (Weds or Sunderland)

Be great if they got to final. I see mcgeady was on bench at weekend maybe has 20 mins in him in the next few games if they looking for a spark. Does shopido get any game time now for Wednesday or ciaran brennan?

Eirambler
02/05/2022, 5:51 PM
Shodipo got a run a few weeks ago but didn't do much, has disappeared from the team sheets again lately. Brennan came in when they were missing a few centre backs but is well down the order now. I doubt we'll see much if any Irish involvement for Sheffield Wednesday.

Same at Sunderland, just McGeady who is coming back from injury. And Wycombe have Horgan obviously but that's it. So really it would be good to see MK Dons go up from an Irish perspective, regardless of what you might think of that club.

03/05/2022, 2:54 PM
A 5-0 win for MK Dons to finish the (regular) season - four goals for Parrott's strike partner but none for Troy. I know it's a team game and Parrott may have picked up an assist or two, but you imagine that has to smart!

Looks like they're going to miss out on automatic promotion by a point behind Rotherham, so into the play-offs.TV on Thursday and Sunday

Exgrad
04/05/2022, 1:24 PM
There was a long article on Parrott in The Athletic last week

https://theathletic.com/3275505/2022/04/27/troy-parrott-i-thought-everything-would-be-plain-sailing-but-thats-not-the-way-it-goes/

05/05/2022, 8:35 PM
Disappointing performance for MK Dons against Wycombe tonight. While MK Dons dominated the first 30-35 minutes and Troy acquitted himself well in that time with some nice touches, runs and a pot shot or two, he was largely anonymous for the remainder - but no worse than anyone else on the team. They'll be disappointed that they came out so flat after a great performance at the weekend.

Conor Coventry and Warren O'Hora were also outplayed by a pretty physical and pacey Wycombe attack.

08/05/2022, 9:47 PM
Scored the only goal this evening but MK Dons lost on aggregate and his league season is over.

10 goals in 47 appearances isn't great, but it's definitely a solid breakthrough season, and prospective new clubs may be swayed by 5 goals in his last 10 (plus the goal v Lithuania of course).

I'm not convinced he has it in him to hit double figures in the Championship next season, but he could do quite well given another go in L1. An interesting summer ahead I think.

Edit - I see Scott Twine was top scorer with 20, but three years ago he scored just one goal in a half-season at Waterford, and that in a 4-1 defeat away against UCD!

Olé Olé
09/05/2022, 7:43 AM
I don't see why he should try League One again next season. He's had a great last few months and I'm sure MK Dons would love to have him back. But he really should be using the momentum he has gained from the last few months and test himself at the Championship or an equivalent level. He has almost 60 League One games now over 18 months and while he has toiled for a good portion of 12 months of that, he was 19 throughout it.

09/05/2022, 8:05 AM
Oh I think he should try to jump up alright. It's a question of will there be a reasonable offer. (ie regular starter, and preferably not fighting relegation cos he'd probably develop better in a team where goal chances weren't at a relative premium)

But if you were a Championship club, would you look at the 20-year-old who struggled at the start of the season but certainly came good after Christmas, and in the last two months in particular, or would you be looking at the 22-year-old at the same club who scored 20 league goals, assisted another 13, and was named in the team of the season?

Eirambler
09/05/2022, 8:15 AM
I'd say there's a good chance MK Dons manager Liam Manning will be on his way to a championship club - currently favourite for the QPR job - I'd say he'd go for both, and maybe Coventry also.

Having Parrott, Idah and Obafemi all playing regularly in the Championship next season would be very interesting.

dynamo kerry
09/05/2022, 8:23 AM
I'd say there's a good chance MK Dons manager Liam Manning will be on his way to a championship club - currently favourite for the QPR job - I'd say he'd go for both, and maybe Coventry also.

Having Parrott, Idah and Obafemi all playing regularly in the Championship next season would be very interesting.

Let's face it, the championship is a decent league and given the concentration of pretty much all the best players in the world in the English Premier league..its still the 6th highest supported division in Europe. Standards in England have definitely risen.

Twine has had a great year and has really shown huge maturity in game play. He's bound to move up. He's 24 I think. I don't think any club at that level has room for more than 1 main man so stands to reason troy would appear to be second fiddle. I'd say his background stats will looks good though.

Twine also proof that the right man in the right place with the right manager is the formula. Even lukaku struggled at Chelsea this year. I don't envy troy. The next move is going to be interesting. I hope he has a good agent.

Jd2793
09/05/2022, 8:24 AM
Oh I think he should try to jump up alright. It's a question of will there be a reasonable offer. (ie regular starter, and preferably not fighting relegation cos he'd probably develop better in a team where goal chances weren't at a relative premium)

But if you were a Championship club, would you look at the 20-year-old who struggled at the start of the season but certainly came good after Christmas, and in the last two months in particular, or would you be looking at the 22-year-old at the same club who scored 20 league goals, assisted another 13, and was named in the team of the season?

his numbers were decent enough this season especially when you take into account the non performance from nov-jan ish. i think championship clubs will definitely look at him. i just hope spurs make the right move for him with a team who'll suit how he plays. mk dons were one, i dont think his 2 previous loans were good at all. he obviously was poor at both clubs but style of play has a huge impact. his attitude seems completely different in comparison to when he made those 2 loan moves too, i think that'll only help him when he steps up

dynamo kerry
09/05/2022, 8:27 AM
Also the Wycombe keeper seems to have played a blinder. Mk dons have been a revelation in terms of style. Troy made the best of that. He clearly learned a lot. I was worried about him myself but I have to say, fair play.

I notice no one is commenting on young horgan in the Wycombe side...🤔

Eirambler
09/05/2022, 9:38 AM
Wycombe hardly attacked all game so Horgan didn't get a sniff. Wycombe is about his level, if they ever aspired to be more than a Championship/League 1 yo-yo club he'd be the sort of play they would need to move on.

When you look at the attacking talent coming through now - Parrott, Idah, Ogbene, hopefully Obafemi as well as more established types like Robinson and the attacking midfielders like Knight it's hard to justify Horgan taking up a squad place any more. He's a decent enough sort or player but a bit below the level we need and he's unlikely to improve at this stage.

09/05/2022, 9:43 AM
his numbers were decent enough this season especially when you take into account the non performance from nov-jan ish.
Well you can't really say "He played well except for that three-month spell when he didn't play well"

Will a Championship club look at him and think "Hm - he took until after Christmas to really get up to speed with L1; we can't risk that he'll take that long to get up to speed with the Championship"?

Jd2793
09/05/2022, 9:49 AM
Well you can't really say "He played well except for that three-month spell when he didn't play well"

Will a Championship club look at him and think "Hm - he took until after Christmas to really get up to speed with L1; we can't risk that he'll take that long to get up to speed with the Championship"?

thats grand so sure, l1 for the rest of his days because of a 3 month spell of inconsistent performances at 20 years of age. he was good up until the november break then his performances dipped. didnt take him that long to get going at all

09/05/2022, 9:55 AM
thats grand so sure, l1 for the rest of his days because of a 3 month spell of inconsistent performances at 20 years of age.
I'll take "Things I never said" for 200 please

Exgrad
09/05/2022, 10:13 AM

Any champiosnhip team that is looking at him for next season has probably been scouting his games over last couple of months, where he has done well. There will be more importance placed on that than the drop off in form a young player experienced. Nations league games could be important for him is he gets a run.

09/05/2022, 10:38 AM
Is there even an outside chance he could make the bench for Spurs before the end of the season? Unlikely to do so against Arsenal on Thursday, but their final two games are Burnley on Sunday, and Norwich on Sunday week.

Eirambler
09/05/2022, 10:42 AM
Possibly the last game if it's a dead rubber, but they might prefer some other young player that has been there all season and hasn't had much or any senior game time instead of him.

Incidentally I think I read that it's back to five subs in the EPL next season, so hopefully that gives more opportunities to fringe players who make the bench but rarely if ever play. The likes of Okoflex, Costelloe, Ferry, Ferguson etc.

09/05/2022, 12:08 PM
Any champiosnhip team that is looking at him for next season has probably been scouting his games over last couple of months, where he has done well. There will be more importance placed on that than the drop off in form a young player experienced. Nations league games could be important for him is he gets a run.
That I certainly agree with (and have said as much before).

Hopefully he'll get a move up a division and do well. But I wouldn't have it as a sure thing, and if he did have another season in L1 next year and showed significant improvement (like Bazunu this year), then that wouldn't be a bad outcome either I think.

Diggs246
09/05/2022, 12:46 PM
Stay with MK dons for another season. This is where he has started to deliver
Why change now? Its too risky to have another Millwall. He is a confidence based player.

Eirambler
09/05/2022, 1:06 PM
Had a quick look at the MK Dons forum this morning and the general view is that their team next season will pretty much be Dean Lewington (who was there when they were still called Wimbledon) and whatever 10 players a new manager decides to sign to play alongside him.

So Parrott staying there would be unlikely to offer the consistency that staying on would usually bring.

I really think he has kicked on in the last few months in terms of his physical development as well as his all round game. I think if he had the right attitude all the way since pre season a move to the Championship wouldn't be in doubt. So hopefully he doesn't lose out because his stats aren't as impressive because he only turned the corner around December time.

09/05/2022, 4:40 PM
It's clear that the right side, with the right coach and football philosophy is going to be crucial for Troy. There's a huge amount of fluidity between leagues generally in England, and top 6 L1 isn't miles off bottom half chship - so he probably should be looking at a Coventry, Preston, Blackpool even; but maybe South England is better for him, so the likes of Reading might not be worst.

I've no idea of what style of football most of them play, but I do know Coventry have been getting lauded for their approach to youngsters and playing decent football.

Razors left peg
09/05/2022, 4:52 PM

Obafemi also didnt get up to speed this year until around Feb and has been great since. Young players sometimes take a bit of work from themselves and also the coaching staff to get things right. Like Obafemi the penny seems to have dropped in regards to working that bit harder in training and the results from it are now starting to pay off.

Personally I'd like to see him at a higher level than L1 next season. Hes probably not ready for Spurs 1st team but hes proven he is more than capable at L1. He didnt do very well in his last loans in the Championship but hes developed quite a bit since. I agree that he needs to go to a club that plays decent football. He also shouldnt be signed as 9. He definitely plays a lot deeper than that and he roamed quite a bit in the MK Dons team.

I wouldnt be surprised to see him have a super preseason with Spurs and play well in some friendlies. Hes an intelligent footballer and I think he will look better surrounded by better players. Its going to be interesting to see where he ends up next season.

JR89
13/06/2022, 3:02 PM
Linked with QPR, Swansea, Boro, and Preston according to Alasdair Gold, but that Spurs are looking for him to play as a number 9 during the loan move.

Insidetherock
13/06/2022, 3:25 PM
Wouldn't it be great to see him at Swansea and have him and Obafemi playing together week in week out

Demesne Lad
15/06/2022, 6:47 PM
Linked with QPR, Swansea, Boro, and Preston according to Alasdair Gold, but that Spurs are looking for him to play as a number 9 during the loan move.

Scott Twine outperformed Parrott in terms of goal scoring for MK Dons (45 League appearances, 20 goals, 13 assists) and Hull City have now offered £3m for him. A possible indicator of Parrott's current market value? In spite of his physique and potential as a target man, I'm not sure that Troy is by nature the predatory, goal hungry forward we all want to see in an Ireland shirt. Obafemi, though 7 ins shorter, is more that kind of personality. "It's a funny old game" to quote Greavsie.

Jd2793
15/06/2022, 6:52 PM
parrot is definitely a 2nd striker/ no10 type. Not a 20 goal a season player. very impressed with him in the last 2 irish games, hopefully he kicks on in the new season.

16/06/2022, 3:07 AM
I didn't see the second Ukraine game, but I enjoyed his performance against Scotland. He's made big steps this year, and scored a few goals for us. He's certainly earning his place in the squad, and hopefully can kick on a bit. A Championship loan might tell us a lot next year and challenge him appropriately.

13/07/2022, 9:58 AM
Interviewed on Spurs' preseason trip to South Korea - https://www.football.london/tottenham-hotspur-fc/players/troy-parrott-antonio-conte-tottenham-24473199
Seems he's happy to go out on loan again this season

football.london understands that Parrott's own plan is to spend another season out on loan before returning to really challenge for a place in the first team squad at Spurs in the 2023/24 season. The youngster is desperate to make his mark at the club that brought him over to England in 2017.

A long line of Championship clubs are believed to be interested in taking him on loan, including Swansea, Middlesbrough, Preston and QPR. Parrott's current deal with Spurs runs until the summer of 2023 but there is an option within that contract for the club to extend it by a further year.

Parrott's plan for the future is shared by Tottenham and he is getting the chance to leave an impression on Conte in Korea before the club pick the perfect loan move to continue his progression with plenty of game time as a number nine, rather than the number 10 role he played with MK Dons.

Spurs playing a K-League selection at 12

seanfhear
13/07/2022, 10:35 AM
One thing Conte will have shown Parrot is the fitness levels that Conte expects at premiership level. I am not at all saying that Parrot has any trouble doing that, but he will certainly know having been trained by Conte and his staff.

Razors left peg
13/07/2022, 3:59 PM
One thing Conte will have shown Parrot is the fitness levels that Conte expects at premiership level. I am not at all saying that Parrot has any trouble doing that, but he will certainly know having been trained by Conte and his staff.

Hes the fittest player in the Spurs squad according to The Athletic article I posted in the preseason thread a couple of days ago.

tommy_c12000
13/07/2022, 7:03 PM
Hes the fittest player in the Spurs squad according to The Athletic article I posted in the preseason thread a couple of days ago.

He’s certainly in the top 17 or so at the current time….
pZ2bSnZcJio
Can see him “winning” the last run towards the end. But basically there are ~17 or so together throughout, with 2 others slightly behind. The big hitters are all chilling out early. A young enthusiastic Troy busts his gut at the end to win, good to see, but wouldn’t read too much into it. His attitude certainly seems on point right now, he has improved, probably destined for a top half championship loan. Hopefully he will hit the season running

14/07/2022, 7:17 AM
He’s certainly in the top 17 or so at the current time….

Can see him “winning” the last run towards the end. But basically there are ~17 or so together throughout, with 2 others slightly behind. The big hitters are all chilling out early. A young enthusiastic Troy busts his gut at the end to win, good to see, but wouldn’t read too much into it. His attitude certainly seems on point right now, he has improved, probably destined for a top half championship loan. Hopefully he will hit the season running

the point where you realize the Ireland international section of the forum has run out of proper issues to discuss and disect ......

JR89
22/07/2022, 12:11 PM
Talk that Sunderland have already submitted a bid, and that there's interest from QPR and PNE too.

JR89
25/07/2022, 10:22 AM
Having a medical today at Preston.

Diggs246
25/07/2022, 11:53 AM
Are we happy? do they play a number 10 behind the striker ?

CSAD
25/07/2022, 12:06 PM

Genuinely would be better going back to MK Dons…am absolutely dire loan.

seanfhear
25/07/2022, 12:11 PM
Not that important really but interesting that they do a medical for a loan move. I suppose there are reasons for it.

Eirambler
25/07/2022, 12:25 PM

It really isn't. Another season in League 1 would be a wasted year for him now, he has moved on from that level. Cameron Archer went to Preston for the second half of last season and scored 7 goals in 20 appearances. As a result he may well get a shot with the Aston Villa first team this season. So that's the template they're looking to follow with Parrott.

Diggs246
25/07/2022, 12:42 PM
It really isn't. Another season in League 1 would be a wasted year for him now, he has moved on from that level. Cameron Archer went to Preston for the second half of last season and scored 7 goals in 20 appearances. As a result he may well get a shot with the Aston Villa first team this season. So that's the template they're looking to follow with Parrott.

But how do they play? Are they set up in a way to suit him?

Millwall wasn't good and let's hope he can avoid a repeat of that.

Eirambler
25/07/2022, 12:49 PM
Preston seem to play some OK stuff these days. Pretty typical Championship stuff, but not hoofball.

Here are Archer's goals for them last season to give an idea of what role Parrott might be expected to play.

oFtIKgSlsF4

Diggs246
25/07/2022, 1:05 PM
Preston seem to play some OK stuff these days. Pretty typical Championship stuff, but not hoofball.

Here are Archer's goals for them last season to give an idea of what role Parrott might be expected to play.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oFtIKgSlsF4

Thats great and thanks
Surely thats the key. If he fits in as a 10 then he will do very well. I'm not sure he is fast enough to be an out and out 9

25/07/2022, 1:53 PM
Speculation has been that Spurs were insisting that wherever he went on loan it’s to be as a number 9. I think that’s where Preston are short too so he’ll most likely be their main central striker. Hopefully he can start the season well.

Exgrad
25/07/2022, 2:03 PM
Looks like one of the reasons he's going to Preston is so that he gets a chance to play as a 9:

https://theathletic.com/news/tottenham-troy-parrott-preston/oRGVMRoSoTnJ/

He has been linked with Middlesbrough and Swansea, with Sunderland and QPR believed to have expressed interest as well.
But manager Lowe, who replaced Frankie McAvoy last December, may have specified a particular position – No 9 – for Parrott, which could be what Spurs would prefer.

Trequartista20
25/07/2022, 3:02 PM

Really? I'm surprised by this reaction.

What would a good loan move have looked like to you?

Olé Olé
25/07/2022, 4:07 PM
Speculation has been that Spurs were insisting that wherever he went on loan it’s to be as a number 9. I think that’s where Preston are short too so he’ll most likely be their main central striker. Hopefully he can start the season well.

Do they play 3-5-2? I'm having a look here at a match report from their friendly with Hearts 5 days ago and it looks like they do, with two strikers playing that game - Evans and Riis. I would assume that Parrott is going to partner the big man Riis who got 16 goals last season. They seem to be very short of striker options outside of Riis with Ched Evans being 33 (and being Ched Evans) and Seani Maguire is probably a victim of the formation given that he was playing wide forward in a 4-2-3-1 and doing his best work there.

Parrott is going to get as many games as he wants.

25/07/2022, 4:40 PM
Move confirmed, and a new contract with Spurs until 2025
https://www.pnefc.net/news/2022/july/pne-land-troy-parrott-on-loan/

25/07/2022, 4:42 PM
I had read the same accounts about Spurs insisting on a club that will play him as a 9 so this seems to fit.

I also see it as a possibly promising sign as to Spurs perspective on Parrott. It wasnt too long ago that some reports were saying that they had, for all intents and purposes, given up on Troy as a future Spurs starter but this would suggest that they do actually have a vision for him and how he can fit with their long term plans. His performances for Ireland maybe reopened their eyes as to what he can do if given the chance. If they were purely looking at moving him on in the short term, you'd imagine they'd have been fine with him spending another season in a 10/wide striker role, proving himself at a higher level and solidifying his market value as a support striker.

Maybe I am reading too much into it, getting a little giddy. :)

liamoo11
25/07/2022, 5:58 PM
Do they play 3-5-2? I'm having a look here at a match report from their friendly with Hearts 5 days ago and it looks like they do, with two strikers playing that game - Evans and Riis. I would assume that Parrott is going to partner the big man Riis who got 16 goals last season. They seem to be very short of striker options outside of Riis with Ched Evans being 33 (and being Ched Evans) and Seani Maguire is probably a victim of the formation given that he was playing wide forward in a 4-2-3-1 and doing his best work there.

Parrott is going to get as many games as he wants.

I watched the highlights of the game at the weekend where they played Leicester to see how Brady was doing at left wing back and they played 532 same as we have set up in recent games with the width coming from the wing backs and the strikers staying central. The ris lad is no number 10 so I'd say the best parrott will get if they play together is to be a 9 and a half!